ad-header-top

2006 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

268 total reviews. Showing 7 of 15 on this page (8 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by Linny21 after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

I had been to country USA before and the event is located at the same fairgrounds so it was easy. There was also a sign at the stoplight and by the parking for the event.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

You wait inside a building so you are out of the wind, but it can still be chilly. They had actors walking through the lines and they were very good.

Most Unique

The girl walking through the lines with a syringe, very creepy! Also, the bubble room in the carnival of carnage!

Actors' Performance

The few that were in the houses were very convincing and creepy with amazing makeup.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

This is a unique house, especially the 3D carnival of carnage, go check it out!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by xxxblackvelvetxxx after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about noon

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There is no address to get to the parking lot where you meet to get on the bus but the directions I was given were very clear and easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Does not apply

Most Unique

With a charge of only 5 dollars you get to save your gas money, you get free soda and snacks, and you get to participate in trivia games to win prizes.

Actors' Performance

Does not apply

Appropriate For

15 and up

Summary

The haunted bus run is a great idea to travel with a group of people and see more than one (very high scare factor)attraction. It saves you the driving and the gas. You also get to meet people from different areas.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by xxxblackvelvetxxx after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The place was easy to find because there was so much traffic going on in the parking lot and there was a big ticket booth and herse in the front.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The waiting area was huge and there was so much commotion going on beyond it that it kept everyone interested. Every once in a while one of the actors would be peeking through and scaring people, so it wasn't as boring as most lines. Beyond the ropes they divide the groups and lock us in cages which I thought was a great idea to just kind of bring in a claustraphobia scare right off the beginning.

Most Unique

There were a few rooms that you could tell had a lot of money put into them for instance there was room full of body parts and soom of them moved. It was very eerie looking and different.

Actors' Performance

The actors were decent, nothing real out of the ordinary. I think a lot of them don't realize that they can go farther before they reach the boundary of a customer's space to scare people. They didn't use many props around them to their advantage to make each room interesting and different, but in place of that there was more decorations to make up for some of the lack of acting. I appreciated seeing more make up than masks though because it shows that more work went into it then costumes. I also appreciated seeing flexible actors who didn't just hide and walk around but actually crawled around.

Appropriate For

13 and up

Summary

It was decent but I still think the more the actors the better the scare. If there is too much of a lag between scenery and scare it wrecks the whole mood. I'd be interested in going another year just to see the change and possible improvements

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by dman after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

very easy to get to. great location

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

excellent!!! The VIP room is the best you get to watch a scare in the house which is very fun to watch it never gets old so spend the extra money for the room which has snacks for you and you get both houses

Actors' Performance

awesome very real like. most of the actors you would see on a hollywood set. great make-up too

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

its awesome i will keep going year after year

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by louiscyphre after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find from I-94, in the Waukesha Expo Grounds, plenty of parking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There's a little trailer selling treats and stuff, lots of area to mill about in. Waiting area proper is a series of cattle runners in a covered barn building. Basic ghouls in the waiting area, chainsaws, etc. When you finally get ready to enter the house, entrance looks great, though.

Most Unique

The Venture-Bros-looking floating giant skull which appears to be projected on the wall, or is it floating in the middle of the room, or is it right in front of you? And they seriously have the coolest changing portraits I have ever seen sprinkled through some of the more "haunted mansion"-y rooms.

Actors' Performance

Acting was uniformly Spectacular with a Sweet capital "S" inside the house; this is a serious haunt with serious ghouls, actors look great, are convincing, spooky, and game for interaction -- kudos to the eye-rolling little girl in the nursery, the kids behind the portraits, and the bunch of spooks in the coffin room. They also did a good job of paying attention to what you were doing and playing off that ("You think this is funny? This is not funny."), and saved up some scares for those in the middle or end of the group, as opposed to letting the people in the front of the line have all the surprises.

Appropriate For

Probably skews a little older, the disorientation of many rooms could get pretty intense. I did feel like there wasn't as much boring gore as in a typical haunt, though.

Summary

Someone clearly spent a great deal of money on this haunt, and it shows; very slick and professional-looking with high attention to detail in many scenes, while also not appearing soul-less or just there to grind its audience through as fast as possible. I and my companions had the impression that there were many details we likely missed due to not being able to take it all in at once. Great misdirection, some nice foreshadowing of ghouls/scares to come, some unification of theme running through the haunt (various rooms in a mansion, basement, crypt, mausoleum, etc), lots of disorientation with fog machines, well-placed strobes, etc, sometimes too much, actually. Also felt like you got many more actual scenes, versus dark maze time, than a usual haunt. Liked the smelly little homage to the "sloth" scene from "Se7en," too. Overall a terrific haunted house, acting, details, presentation, and scare factor very impressive.

HOT TIP: When you reach what appears to be the end, you will see two "Exit" signs separated by a short hallway; it appeared that if you went through them, you actually exited the haunt, but if you skip them and move down the hallway, there are a couple more spaces to experience before you find yourself exiting the haunt for good.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by xxxblackvelvetxxx after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The Mars House had absolutely no signage at all so it was a good thing that we were on a bus with a driver who knew where they were going otherwise we'd never find it. It was in a quite urban part of Milwaukee and was right next to a liquor store that seemed quite active at night. The people who worked there had no back entrance to come in through so we saw most of them walk around the block to come in. Many were in make up just walking around smoking which was kind of a spoiler.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We showed up early and were first so there was no real wait. It's an outside wait around the building if you do have to though. No entertainment before you get in but once you get to the ticket booth up the stairs it's quite cramped and unorganized. One negative thing I experience was that the lady working in the ticket booth was very rude and had no patiencs. I think she needs to take in the factor that people come a long way and spend a lot of hardworked money to come to their little haunted house that lasts at most 15 minutes so they need to show some respect.

Most Unique

There was a clown room that had a slow moving strobe light and it made the movements of the actors unexpected. There was not only the visual and the actor elements but they did wall air shoot outs, banging under the floor, and banging on the walls.

Actors' Performance

This place had a lot going on at every corner. They had just enough people to cover the area and in some areas an abundance. The special effects were really good and the actors scare timing was right on. For the second show of the night they were prepaired and ready for us.

Appropriate For

13 and up

Summary

I would definitely recommend this place if you're looking for a good scare and I would go back next year to see if they keep up the scare.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by xxxblackvelvetxxx after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Concidering the fact that it was out in the boonies/middleofnowhere doesn't make it easy to find in the first place. For such a big place it was quite dark. There was a sign in the front however that only said pumpkins and haunted corn maze which was confusing because we came for the haunted manor, so we thought we had the wrong place. There was also initially nowhere for our bus to park.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Don't let the ticket line fool you because once you pass through it you'll be ringin around the ropes for a while in line. It seemed like many people were confused as to which was the line for the manor and which was the line for the cornmaze. But whichever line you end up in it ends up painfully long because everyone's in the dark and there is nothing to do but stare and the same people who pass you over and over again.

Most Unique

There were a lot of neat props but that was all it had going for it. So much space but no one to fill it. There was a cool courtyard area in the beginning but once again no action in it. There was a cockroach room which I ended up seeing at another house so who knows who copied who but the redundace of that and the babydoll rooms and the clown rooms seemed to get old.

Actors' Performance

Concidering there wasn't many actors it's hard to judge. There was so much money put into the place that perhaps they didn't have any left over to pay people to work there? And the ones who did were quite timid and gave up on scaring after the first try. Main problem though was that you can't make up for live actors with plastic corpses.

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

I wouldn't go back but if you got nothing better to do, it's at least worth it to see the decorations inside.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Andrea06 after attending on Friday, October 13, 2006 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was pretty easy to find because I've been there before.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

It was chilly standing outside and there was only one actor running around but he did a great job.

Most Unique

The uneven floor or walking over the floorboards and having the actors hit on your feet from underneath. I loved the car too. And Grandma. She was probably one of the scariest because of the effect she created in the kitchen.

Actors' Performance

Awesome! The one that crawled on the floor was the best I've seen in a long time. He followed my friend for along time, and the effect from his hair was very scary, sorta like from The Ring.

Appropriate For

13+

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by wisnie24 after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

very easy to find...directions from website were very helpful

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

we arrived pretty early so our wait was about 45 minutes but after we finished walking through the house, the attendance tripled so i'd advise to get there early. they have a concession stand and a big tent for everyone.

Most Unique

the really tall monsters..i don't know if they were on stilts or what but they were really cool, the creepy santa scene was very different too.

Actors' Performance

AMAZING...very scary guy on a porch with a shot gun who gets a little too close to your face. they could've had more wandering monsters in the hallways but all in all the actors were phenomenal

Appropriate For

14+

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

by soapstar24 after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 3:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Location was easy to find. There was a sign by the road pointing to the parking area.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no wait area entertainment. My group had to wait for an hour and a half. The wait area is outdoors, so bundle up.

Most Unique

I did not find anything in the manor that I considered to be unique, but the dark maze at the end was fun because we got lost.

Actors' Performance

I only went in the haunted manor. There could have been more actors. Of the ones that were in there, they did a good job saying "boo" and growling.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

I had high hopes for this haunted house because of the very high scare rating that this site gave it. I would personally give it a medium scare rating. I scare easily, but this haunt barely had me screaming. I would have liked to have seen more actors and rooms with scenes rather than a few people jumping out and saying "boo." If you are looking for a haunt with a very high scare factor and realistic props, I would suggest looking elsewhere.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by louiscyphre after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Be warned there are unpredictable road closings in the area (the section of O that goes west from 67 around Ashippun (sp?) was closed when we went), and the directions we got off the 'net didn't take this into account; we ended up stopping at a gas station, who said they had had 10 people stop in in the last hour and ask the same thing -- I would suggest you just get to Ixonia or a nearby town and do the same, or you might want to call the number for the Farm and ask them for current directions... Other than that, there is plenty of parking, and the ride up to the Farms is pretty atmospheric with a nice sense of place -- there are spooky trees on either side of the road sometimes and it feels pretty isolated...

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Waiting Area is adequate, a large open building with numerous long tables and a small table with snacks. There are standing heaters, and there was about a 20 minute wait; you go in in large groups of 50 or more, which are split off into groups of 2 and 3 as you enter the various haunt(s). No entertainment at the waiting area while we were there.

Most Unique

Definitely the mineshaft; they did great job convincing you that you had just gone down a rickety staircase into a mine and were underground. Also, the hayride has a whole soundtrack playing on attached speakers, and there's a great Dot room (albeit in the middle of the forest).

Actors' Performance

Good job. The skull-faced witch who interacts with everyone before you enter the haunted forest was quick-witted, never broke character, and seemingly inexhaustible. Nice touch with her waiting for "just one more scream" before letting the next group go in. Some of the actors did some offbeat stuff, for example, just walking slowly forward down a long corn row toward our group and hissing. We enjoyed the enthusiasm of the initial tour guide and her ghost story, as well.

Appropriate For

Companion who owns a child indicated this would likely be appropriate for ages 8 years and up; there's not a lot of gore in particular, and there's plenty of space between scares so kids won't get overwhelmed.

Summary

$8 for all that? Wotta Country! The whole thing took more than an hour to get through, which was great, and they obviously enjoy putting it on. There are four distinct phases to the haunt, with the mineshaft, hayride, haunted forest, and eventual short haunted corn maze (They also offered what looked like an extended corn maze, "Mythical Midnight Corn Maze" or something like that, which cost an additional $7, but we didn't try it out due to time constraints)....the length of the haunt does result in short waits at each phase, however, so be dressed for waiting around outside in the middle of October. Also they do a great job setting the mood, with a walk up a hill in the middle of the farm under the stars, past creepy farm animals staring at you, and then telling you a ghost story about the previous owners of the farm (who,"according to historical records," went mad with a case of the "gold fever") before sending you into the mine...Overall experience very positive, not as scary as it might be, but relying more on atmosphere, pacing, and creativity.

HOT TIP: our group was split up during the hayride, and the ones in the middle of the haycart (is that a word?), on the ends, got more bang for their buck, as ghouls tended to attack from the sides, and there are a couple of things which swoop down and threaten the middle of the cart more. On the other hand, if you want the full effect of the soundtrack, sit in the front right behind the speakers.

ADDITIONAL HOT TIP: some Companions didn't get to hear the whole ghost story during the walk up the hill to the mine, as they were in the back of the crowd; I would suggest nudging your way up front if you want the full effect. Also, they send people in in groups of 2 or 3, so prepare to have large groups split up.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by spookster after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The drive from the freeway was dark, and I was afraid we were going to miss it because there wasn't a whole lot around there but the sign was lit by spotlights and easy to see.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was food inside the building where you buy your tickets and a person or two in costume by the line. The line looked long but didn't take more then 15-20 minutes. They took us in a group of 11, but my group of friends was 9 people. It wasn't bad being in a group of that size.

Most Unique

The room of dead babies. It isn't scary, just bizaar and almost funny. It's definatly random.

Actors' Performance

The actors do a great job in my opinion. They pop up in places I would never expect but most of the other people in my group (ages 16-17) weren't scared at all. I'm kind of a jumpy person which probably added to it.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

There were smoke machines throughout the course, so if those bother you I suggest you consider that ahead of time. The bridge over the swamp was awsome, probably my favorite part. I swear we almost fell in so watch yourself.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by moonie after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We had someone with us who knew exactly where to go. When we were in the building I'm not sure if we would have known where to go to enter the haunt if we weren't with someone who knew where he was going. You wait in a big room and I had no idea where to enter the haunt.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Big waiting area. You get a ticket and your number is called so you really don't wait in line. It was nice that we were able to sit down for the 20 minutes that we waited. We arrived at 6:15, doors opened at 6:30 and we were let in around 6:50. We drank hot chocolate while we waited ($1.00 a cup). It would've been nice if they played scary music or had a scary movie playing on their TVs in the waiting area. Instead we had to listen to a very loud video game. Once they call your number you wait in several lines like you do at Great America to get on a ride.

Most Unique

Right when we were about to enter the haunt a Police Officer came up to my husband and said, "You're coming with me." We didn't know what to think. (He was just kidding.) The bus was cute, but I read about it on this site so I don't think I enjoyed it was much as I would've if I didn't know about it. (Don't give too much away reviewers!!) But I will say chainsaws always freak me out and playing checkers was fun. The most unique character was the one who talked to us with no body. Loved the voice effect.

Actors' Performance

There wasn't too many real scares (ie jumps). We were the first to go thru for the night so maybe their timing was off a bit. Most of the scenes were top notch and looked like they came straight out of a movie. Bravo.

Appropriate For

15+

Summary

If your child is old enough to watch the movie Hellraiser than they are old enough to visit this haunt. There were many scenes that reminded me of that movie and small children shouldn't be allowed.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by cc2 after attending on Saturday, October 7, 2006 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

...good, lighted sign placement on the road prior to the entrance

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

indoor waiting w/ refreshments and portapotties

Most Unique

The tour starts w/ a walk through a woods lit with torches and then proceeds into the house. The sets were much improved this year. You could tell there was a lot of investment in this event.

Actors' Performance

Well done, good costuming

Appropriate For

11+

Summary

Recommend visit

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2006 season rather than the current season.

The Haunting at Hickory Oaks - CLOSED

by Randii after attending on Saturday, October 14, 2006 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

I map quested it, so I found it really easy. But once you get onto Forest Home you can't miss it!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

They had a happy clown and a happy kitty outside. That was it for the entertainment.

Most Unique

The 20 ft vortex tunnel was cool. The pick your own way made me want to go again just to see what was to the right (we went left). And the freak show was definetly the best.

Actors' Performance

The actors were awesome! Very very creepy! The freak show ring leader guy was the best!

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

I went with my older brother. And he said this was the scariest haunted hause that he's been to yet. I was a little disapointed that it was a haunted circus and there was not even one evil clown inside! I'm coulrophobic, but that's what makes the haunted houses so scary to me! Also I thought it was a little short. We went out the exit and I remember saying "that was it?". It didn't seem like it was 20 minutes to me.

View all The Haunting at Hickory Oaks - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 17th, 2019 5:44 p.m. CDT 1.12