2003 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

269 total reviews. Showing 5 of 15 on this page (10 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by Natedevil after attending on Friday, October 24, 2003 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

noticeable

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

i had to wait 20 minutes

Length

20 minutes

Actors' Performance

the chain saw guy and the tent were cool but the rest not to impresive

Appropriate For

10

Summary

some of it was good but the rest wasn't scary

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by scaredy cat after attending on Friday, October 24, 2003 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Pretty visible. Not a lot of street lights because it is the country so be prepared. The lighted sign in front of the farm is very helpful.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Not a lot of entertainment, but I didn't expect any. The grill fires were warm and smelled good when we waited in line. The wait didn't bother me because the atmosphere was really festive and fun--and I was with a fun person. It's a good idea to wear warm clothes.

Length

Not sure. I was too busy having a good time before, and during the event.

Actors' Performance

Excellent. I am not an experienced haunt-hound, but the actors were great at surprizing me--this happened several times--especially during the tent area. Right away some actors jumped out at me, and I wasn't sure where to go, but they pointed me in the right direction! It was pretty dark in there and I think someone squirted water or something on us, and one of the scarey folks in there said it was "blood". Someone behind me was holding onto my coat, and I thought it was the guy behind me, but when I looked around I saw a skeleton hand!!That was a surprize! The woods walk was very fun and I loved the outdoor experience. A+++ for this haunt.

Appropriate For

Not really little kids unless they have an adult with them.

Summary

This was a great time. We were a little confused about arrival though. We pulled into the driveway, and were not sure what to do. There was a line of cars. We figured out that a woman would take our $, stamp us, and then we would drive down a single lane track toward the woods. This was all ok, we just didn't know about it. Like a mentioned before, after parking the truck near the woods, we had to wait in a line, but that wasn't bad either--the fires were nice. We were dressed warm and we were ok. However, I noticed a lot of kids who weren't. Several were only in jeans and sweatshirts.There was a young woman in dress-up shoes, a flimsy top and thin leather jacket. She must have froze! When you go to this haunt make sure you bring warm clothes.This was really a great experience for me. I definately recommend it.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by scaredy cat after attending on Friday, October 24, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We found it pretty easily because we know Oshkosh pretty well. I'm not sure if others could have though. Once we were on the right street, we saw a lighted sign.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There were some scarey people dressed up and walking around. A polite guy in a skull mask carrying an ax greeted us as we got out of our truck. It was a hoot.

Length

I'm not sure how long. I was too busy looking at everything.

Actors' Performance

Excellent`e. I thought the clown room was especially well done. All of the actors did very well.

Appropriate For

????saw a few kids there.

Summary

This was one of my first experiences with a haunted house, so I am not a gore-hound or anything. So, I thought this was scarey! The nice Dr. who analyzed us when we entered the asylum diagnosed me with separation anxiety and he was right! I was holding my boyfriend's hand pretty tight! This was a really fun experience.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

The House of Shadows

by coppertop_069 after attending on Friday, October 24, 2003 at about 3:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Pretty easy to find, it is deeper into town though

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Movie and refreshments

Length

20-25 min

Actors' Performance

Awesome!!! they had people walking around scaring people in the begging and then inside was really scary

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

I will remember this haunted house for awhile..right now i cant talk and my head hurts from screaming so much.

View all The House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by crewfan20 after attending on Friday, October 24, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good location, very easy to get to from hwy 43

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We got there about 7:30, so it had just opened, we only waited about 15 minutes, it should have been quicker then that but they shut it down for a minute because some girl ran into a wall and got a bloody nose! Ha

Length

about 20-25 minutes

Actors' Performance

Performance was good, they were trained well.

Appropriate For

13 and up

Summary

I was at it last year, and I think this one wasn't quite as good, still a good house, but one to many long dark hallways where there could have been something to scare us, other then that, it was excellent.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by sagitariousbaby79 after attending on Sunday, October 12, 2003 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The map was very good to follow. If you went to it last year it was in a diffrent location this year.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was only some music inside the mani waiting area, but if you were not in it you were left with nothing but cars in the parking lot

Length

the event took exactly 25- 30 min. to run through and I had heels on.

Actors' Performance

the performance was ok but not as good as last years performers

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

There was a one hour line just to buy the tickets and an additional three hour wait to get into the haunted house. If you want to make a drive make sure to get there early otherswise you might end up waitning in line and getting to a booth and getting nothing but the hand.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by Boo-t-ful1 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 8 a.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

just Llamas, goats and a baby kangaroo to look at.

Length

We arrived, saw the Llama's, went through the corn maze, did the hay ride,bought a pumpkin and left all within 1hr.

Actors' Performance

None..

Appropriate For

Family, very small children

Summary

Nice place but did not feel it was worth the drive for us to visit (we live 40+ miles away). Not sure if we'd return again.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by eagle046 after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Love the giant ghost. Really easy to see.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The waiting room moster were a rather decent quality. The Old barn as a waiting room added to the experience.

Length

25-35min

Actors' Performance

The house had an execellent flow to it. References were made through out the house to up coming and past rooms, really tied it all together.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

The house had a lot of scares and the actors in most of the rooms definetly added to the great experience.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by likestobscared after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Following the directions on the website makes it really easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There's a wait because of the amount of people getting there and the timing of allowing people to enter the maze, but once you start your adventure it's great to see all the effort and imagination put into the scenes. There's a stand where you can get some popcorn or beverages while you wait. Might be nice to have more food choices as you might be in line awhile on a busy night. (waited about an hour)

Length

It's longer and more exciting than any haunted house I've been through and well worth the $10 to get in.

Actors' Performance

I feel the actors provided a great scare around every corner!! Excellent job guys! There's alot of diversity in the scenes to spark your imagination before while you lose track of the idea that you might have someone pop out of the corn ahead of you. Lots of fog and strobes in place which make it creepy, although the strobes can get repetitive in some spots where they're bunched together but they do help you see some of the work that was put into the creatures :)

Appropriate For

10 + up

Summary

I've been to this maze before in the past and can only see improvements in the future. It's alot better than previous years... Gave some suggestions to the owner about some of the scenes / scares.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Hinchley's Haunts

by sevenson after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

With the help of the directions off of the website, very easy to find!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Very reasonable! While waiting to begin the creepy fun, the farm had a tv/vcr with fun Halloween based or ghoulish movies to watch, a gift shop area with plenty of items on hand to buy, and numerous picnic tables around to sit down while waiting to begin the creepy fun!

Length

Roughly 20 minutes of pure shocking terror!

Actors' Performance

Fantastic! The people running the haunt did know how to surprise and shock at the good points in time during the tour! The timing of the ghouls and monsters running out to scare the people was well coardinated!

Appropriate For

12 to 50 years old

Summary

Unfortunately at the time we went to the event it was raining so we could not take the pleasure in riding on Hinchley's hayride, but it was still a good time to be had no matter what the case! The amount of work and effort made by the employees at Hinchley Haunts to transform a simple barn into a world of horrorifying fun was well recognized by myself and the group of people I was with! The trip out to Hinchley Haunts may be a long drive for some, but it is well worth the trip!

View all Hinchley's Haunts reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by Kegz after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 7 a.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

pretty easy to find. One sign on the highway mislead us. But overall very easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Entertainment sux. There's nothing but screaming from other people. That's it. Would like to have some music or something.

Length

20 mins

Actors' Performance

Performance was good. Not that scary though. There was one part that made me jump. Other than that, not that scary.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

Well, it has a great theme, but it wasn't scary. Pretty predictable. I'd recommend it to thse people that just like to go to haunted houses for soemthing to do. If you want to be scared out of your mind, don't go here.

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Hinchley's Haunts

by Pendragon93 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 7 a.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Great Map Located on their site! Excellent directions. Barn was all, spooky-lite up, and visable from street.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wait time was not long. There was a barn with tables, t.v (playing Ghost Busters!), nicely priced refreshments, and a little shop. :)

Length

There was two events a Haunted Hay Ride, and a Haunted House. Unfortunatly we were not able to take the hay ride due to rain. But the the Haunted house ran about 20 minutes.

Actors' Performance

The haunted house ROCKED! The hinchley crew put together a horrorific display of sights and sounds! Their actors were very true to form, and had some of the best costumes & props I've seen in a wisconsin, haunted, event!

Appropriate For

8-99

Summary

Keep up the excellent work! Will be returning soon!

View all Hinchley's Haunts reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Schuster's Haunted Forest

by COPNATASHA after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

very visible from highway........love the fire pits at entrance with people w/ traffic cones/signals

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

lots of "spooks" wandering the grounds, scaring people...... very neat.

Length

haunted hay ride - 30 mins haunted corn maze - 45 mins - 1 hour

Actors' Performance

OMG!! Amazing.....the Spooks were excellent.

Appropriate For

ages 8 and up (the haunted part of it)

Summary

Just amazing, lots of entertainment, craft sale, lots of good food, tons of pumpkins (even "Boo" pumpkins)

View all Schuster's Haunted Forest reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by scaryfun after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Not too hard to find, I got directions from their website. They could have used a couple more signs though.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Good food, music and a cool video game where you can scare people in the house.

Length

20-25 minutes

Actors' Performance

Great as always

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

Splatter Haus has always been one of my favorite haunts to go to and this year is no exception. The sound is out of this world like it always is. The monsters hit their cues when they should and the house as a whole is great. Some of the rooms were sort of the same as last years house but they are in a totally new location so even though some of the room ideas were reused they are different because of the layout of the house. We showed up on a Sat. night and were lucky to get there early because by the time we left the line to buy tickets was getting pretty long so if you are planning on visiting Splatter Haus take my advice and get there early if you don’t want to wait a long time. Even if you would have to wait a while to get in the house is still well worth it.
I also really liked the video game they had in the waiting area. You get to scare people inside the house and watch it on the video screen, great idea!
If you want to visit one of the best hardcore in your face haunted houses then Splatter Haus is for you. I highly recommend it. Note to the Splatter crew: Keep up the great work and I can’t wait to see what you have in store for us next year.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by scaryfun after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find with directions from website if you have never been there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

A couple of people dressed up wandering around.

Length

about 15 minutes

Actors' Performance

Could be better.

Appropriate For

8 and above

Summary

I have made it a point to visit Terror every year since they started and it was always a really good haunt. I say, “was” because something is different this year. The house was not scary at all and just did not work. The sets are the same that has been in there for several past years and I wish they would build things new. What was really poor when I visited was the acting of the monsters. I had one tell me he lost his dog and then started to call out for the dog yelling “Fluffy, Fluffy”. I had another monster that was saying, “I want my mommy” I don’t know what is up with that but it sure is not scary! The rooms could have been o.k. if the actors would have been better but they were terrible. You go outside into a grave yard which was a neat idea. At the end they had a guy with a chainsaw but there were security people standing all around hanging out with him so that was lame. I was really disappointed that we waited to get into the house as long as we did and then have it so bad. Note for Rural Street next year, get things back to how you were in years past and build some new rooms.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 23rd, 2019 4:07 a.m. CDT 1.6.3