ad-header-top

2003 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

269 total reviews. Showing 5 of 15 on this page (10 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by tigerman after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Saw it right away. It is right on Hwy 50.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Not too bad...30 to 35 minutes for the Haunted Barn. Fun while waiting with creatures and bonfire.

Length

Haunted House about 18 miutes, Hayride about 1/2 hour...and Harley Motorcycle corn maze forever.

Actors' Performance

Excellent...Little advice..Don't drink anything before you go into the barn!!

Appropriate For

16 and up

Summary

Been to many Haunted Houses and Barns,
this is one of the best if you like
to scream. Their incredible sound system and creatures..will keep your heart pumping..the entire time. A "MUST DO THIS ONE" for 2003!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by terrorman after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 3:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Location was great, easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

waited for a few minutes, security guards were nice.

Length

15-20 min, but its at your own pace. and it seems longer because is so scary.

Actors' Performance

AMAZING. for a first year house, this was an extreme suprise. the first greenhouse was scary as hell, lost our vision and our orientation...very haxy with bright lighting effects made it a good spooky start. the dogs were amazing, and all of the actors tuirned in great performances...the baby lady scared the heck out of us, as did the dog/moss/boy that got us before the house. but the scariest part of the whole night was the crazy guy tha ripped his door open with a claw hammer and smashed the wall right nest to us... i think i wet in my pants just a little bit there... we ran ran ran out of the house as most of the cast was chasing after us...

Appropriate For

teens and up...

Summary

didnt even see the concession stand at first we were so scared.. GO SEE THIS HOUSE IT IS A GEM. tickets are a bit pricy, but the house is great.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by scully_gurl after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 7 a.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

sign and inflated ghost make it easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

we waited about 20-25 minutes, no one was out scarying us, but they had ton of food, and toys and trinkets to but.

Length

about 20 minutes

Actors' Performance

Performance was ok...they needed better lines to say. Walking throught the tail all the had to say was "go away"...the trail was pretty cool, but it was really really short. You can see the house the entrie time, basically u walk from the front of the house to the back of the house, that is it. Inside the house the actors were ok, but they didn't really scare you. They talked to you and told you stories, and then as you were walking away some stupid prop would fly at you.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

This place is more of a family haunt, not really all that scary. They need more actors and to get rid of the props that fly at you. The ghoul or person who was talking to you would tell you their story and then would like walk over and press the button for the prob to then fly at you. So it wasn't scary at all, you knew what was coming. Again more of a family type atmosphere.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by scully_gurl after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

easy to find, right off the highway

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

we waited about an hour to an hour and a half in the rain....no cover until you are about to go into the house

Length

about 10-15 minutes

Actors' Performance

pretty good

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

overall it was pretty good, they need more entertainment outside, and it needed to be longer for the time we waited it was kind of disappointing that it was over so quick...also some place to stand when it rains would have been nice

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by Svart after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

If you know where JFK Prep is in ST. Nazianz, it's easy to find. However, on a dark night it's easy to drive past because there is no lit sign indicating where the entrance is. The location is spooky as hell. It's these old, dilapidated buildings that used to be a seminary and have long since been abandoned. It's hard to convey in text, but they were very eerie and foreboding by themselves.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Nothing too special. About a 10 minute wait. There was a girl that chatted with you when you were at the head of the line. There was music playing also, real metal music. Not an endless loop of Rob Zombie and Powerman5000 - but stuff like Helloween and contemporary death metal. No 107.5 junk here.

Length

About a half an hour...depending if you get lost.

Actors' Performance

I'm not going to give one of those lame reviews like, "OMG ROOFLE IT WAS TEH SUX0R!!11LOLOMG WTF!!!" The scares in this haunt were pretty well timed, even if you saw the group before you. They spent a little time on the scenes, and they did and especially good job with a spinning room that you got locked into near the end. Every haunted house has the cliched "dark maze" in it, but this one is unique in that YOU'LL GET LOST. I'm not meaning that you'll think you're lost because you're seemingly walking forever in the dark. No, you'll get totally *lost.* I'm still trying to determine if this is a good thing or a bad thing, because i was honestly scared at one point that i would not get out of this place. We were in an area that seemed like we were not supposed to be in, a huge expansive room that had half framed up walls that we were having to walk through and bump into, paint chipping off onto your fingernails, and electrical cords hanging all over the place. It felt like we were not supposed to be there, because of the unfinished feel of it, and how there was a lack of flow to it. Most haunted houses have a direct planned route that you follow, even if it's dark, you can tell what the next room is by the colored lights in the scene. But while we were lost in this hallway, there was nothing..big and open and you're running into stuff and it was very freaky. We finally opened up this stuck door and met up with the rest of our group and got back on teh path. I don't know if getting lost was just one possible way of going through the house. As if there's different ways you could take to get through to things. If this was the intention, it definitely worked. It seems like other people also had gotten lost, because there was this sense of irritation to them as we had. Scared, and irritated, because something unpredictable happened. The scares after that were pretty top-notch, also. A huge graveyard scene where people are diggin graves while Jason and Freddy jump out at you. A Hellraiser scene with clanking chains and Pinhead and his Cenobites cornering you. Evil clowns. EVIL CLOWNS! Oh yeah, there's the guy that chases you with the cahinsaw at the end and spits oily smoke all over your clothes, so don't try to meet chicks if you mind them smelling Eau du Husqvarna on you.

Appropriate For

Teens and up

Summary

It creeped me out, and i usually giggle at these things. I giggled at the "scares," but when i got lost, i got creeped out.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by donsailer after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Not to hard to find just dont miss the tiny street sign

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None at all kind of boring place

Length

30 minutes or so

Actors' Performance

The whole time we saw maybe 10 monsters very dull, and theres no maze just a trail, you cant get lost,The tiny seens they had were very untastfully done, no imagination, all in all the worst corn maze , I mean trail, I have ever been to. Go to the one in East Troy they try hard there.

Appropriate For

people who dont liked to be scared

Summary

There just trying to make money, there not in the halloween spirit.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by spook reviewer after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good...lighted marquee board out front. You need to drive all the way back into the fairgrounds (by boat launch)then loop around to get to the parking area. There needs to be a sign or two showing the way once people get in. And some sign showing the EXIT. We drove the wrong way on a one way road to get out!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

It was a rainy night so we went right in. The ticket taker said we could go through more than once if we wanted to.(I'm sure because of the weather and no lines).

Length

Unfortunately, we were in and out in WAY less than 10 minutes...not worth the $9 price paid to go through.

Actors' Performance

To be fair..the weather was poor, and they they advertise outside entertainment and "events" as part of the package which was not happening due to the sprinkles of rain. That being said, if the only thing happening is the house, the price should be lower. It was WAY too short. The house is a combination of inside / outside hallways. Of course with the bad weather, what spooks want to be in the outside corridors trying to scare you? None (they must be "fair-weather" fiends). They need more unique scenes, more actors and more length to make it worthwhile.

Summary

Nice try, but no cigar. It was good to see a haunted house back at the fairgrounds again, but they need a few more years worth of fine-tuning before its' worth the price. (even if you had a buck off coupon from a local pizza company it was too high). There was a supervisor who asked us how we heard about the event after we got out...they need to ask what people thought of the house first!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by spook reviewer after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Same as always...but Broadway is under construction...lot of potholes to get there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The haunted train ride to the house is always entertaining! The ghouls did a good job of making the ride fun.

Length

We went on a rainy night, so the line was short...only a 5 minute wait to get in which was great. It WILL be longer on nice nights. Our group of three took 20-25 minutes to get through...with the smaller crowds (rainy) the actors were able to spend more time with each group going through to try and scare them.

Actors' Performance

A+ job this year. I've been to many of their previous "houses", and this one was the best by far. Great scenes and a new layout. Actors had good energy for the late time of night we arrived.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by ListerFX after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

5 Min.

Length

15 min and other fun entertinment after.

Actors' Performance

The actors were AWESOME

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

For a new haunt they did a great job

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Hinchley's Haunts

by funkadet after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Only real difficulty came more from me being a city boy and unused to farmland roads

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Nothing during the WAIT, but you keep warm in this one building and they sort of start getting you to suspend disbelief as the "security patrol" walks you over to the haunt.

Length

pretty average for most haunts

Actors' Performance

Better than most. I really liked the coherent theme. It wasn't just a bunch of scary rooms put together slipshod, but more like the haunted houses I saw in Disneyworld last October, where there's a scary plot happening that your group has been sucked into. I was honestly surprised to see so much thought had gone into it, seeing as how I learned of the haunt from a flyer posted on an electrical pole on campus. There's also a haunted hay ride, which took longer (maybe half an hour?) and was fairly lame.

Appropriate For

all ages allowed in public :)

View all Hinchley's Haunts reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by peacockproducts after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 5:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

easy to find right there on packered

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

no wait what so ever

Length

15 min at the most

Actors' Performance

great performance by the man who takes your coins. others where good

Appropriate For

12

Summary

needs to be a lot longer for the price they want.it was a good idea gone wrong in the wrong hands

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by peacockproducts after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Not good have to go down a narrow drive or street that was more scary then the maze

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

none

Length

very short not even a maze more like a path and all the players where right there in the open

Actors' Performance

the first trailer part great the rest not good

Appropriate For

10 and younger

Summary

started out good but a total let down like i said not maze more like a path you have no choice where you want to go. and all the players are right there you never have to wonder where they are.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by peacockproducts after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

great location .found very easy cant miss

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

players where in the crowd and work the crowd to a tee

Length

not bad could have been a bit longer. Corn maze is huge but needs more players .it is huge

Actors' Performance

Very good everybody hit thier cues

Appropriate For

12

Summary

like isaid the maze is huge but needs more players in it you could wonder in it for hours. hunted barn is good needs a little more time wise

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by scary mary after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

very easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

short time

Length

10-15 minutes

Actors' Performance

excellent

Appropriate For

8 and older

Summary

staff was very helpful had an awesome time. will be back for seconds maybe thirds

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by cheezyiam after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

very easy to find good directions

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

noy bad at all only about 10 - 15 mins

Length

about 20 - 30 mins

Actors' Performance

very good acting and awesome props i can tell they did alot of and thought on this house. the lay out was great one of the best yet that i saw.

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

will be back and tell lots of friends about it great job

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 17th, 2019 5:35 p.m. CDT 1.12