2003 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

269 total reviews. Showing 6 of 15 on this page (9 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

The House of Shadows

by misscandy1978 after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

If Your From The Area Easy! People Not From Around might have Trouble ButWe Tell Them Just Follow The Erie Music!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Did Not Exspect anything in the Line But Oh my They Sneak up on Ya !! Scared the crap out of me!!!

Length

Very Acceptable! Its Worth Every Penny!

Actors' Performance

Overall The Haunted House is Awsome!! I am usually very hard to scare but They managed around every nook and cranny that I was not exspected to be scared it was the oposite I was freaked out!!!

Appropriate For

Not The Fauint Of Heart

Summary

The House Will keep Coming back For More

View all The House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by Shaylo51786 after attending on Wednesday, October 29, 2003 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find if you take 41, not so easy to find if you take the back roads like we did. but there is a huge parking sign on 41 that will let you know you are there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

no wait at all, cute wait area with a "death train" theme and cheap concessions.

Length

the trail to the house was about 5 min. and the house itself maybe 15.

Actors' Performance

this was a great one. the trail to the house was scary as hell! i fell on my ass in the woods. once you get up the stairs to the house you find out that the set is very well done and the props are awesome. jaycees does a great job in presentation. the actors were all in character for a wednesday nite!

Appropriate For

anyone 11+

Summary

this one was probably scary just because it was so different and so well done. best one so far!

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by MysticRainzz after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 1:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was a bit hard to find due to constuction and the fact that Mapquest gave us the wrong directons

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

right away for the Haunted train ride, about 30 min for the Haunted House.

Length

15 min for the train and 30 for the haunted house

Actors' Performance

The train ride was unique but could have used a little more equal scare factors on the top...( it's a double decker train) The haunted house was AWESOME!!!We really enjoyed it a lot. Some thing new and different in every turn you make AND quite frightning as well!!!! VERY IMPRESSED!!

Appropriate For

10 and up with parent

Summary

We have to say that it was well worth the trip..(we drove up from Milwaukee) One thing .. THE GIFT SHOP..HARDLY NOTHING WORTH GETTING THERE..It would have been great if we could have gotten some t-shirts or some other keepsake.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by sniper50cal after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Great. Right on the corner can't miss it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

about 10 minutes. Security guy was pretty funny.

Length

15-20 mins

Actors' Performance

Was overall pretty good, some areas without scares, but made up in other areas.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

In the first greenhouse could have been more spooks and less smoke. The fog made my friends eyes water and my throat sting. I didn't get to go through no corn maze. In some of the other greenhouses there could have been more scares, but the house at the end was great...very scary. The fat guy's belly wouldn't let me through the door. All but two of the performers were awesome and had some great lines...very little screaming in the ears.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by luvtobescared after attending on Friday, October 24, 2003 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The directions are good, however there is some terrible road construction that you have to go through to get there that really narrows the road and makes it incredibly bumpy, but other than that it wasn't too bad.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None, really, until you get in the line for the house itself, and then there is music playing and a few spooks creeping around.

Length

It depends on how long you have to wait in line for tickets, etc. We waited in the ticket line about 20-25 minutes, and then in line to get on the train for probably about 15 minutes-the train ride over to the house takes about 5-7 minutes, and we waited in line to get into the house for about 35-40 minutes. Once you get into the house, it takes about 15 minutes tops to go through.

Actors' Performance

I am sorry to say not very good at all. The "haunted" train ride was hardly haunted-I only saw 2 spooks, and if you were on the upper level of the train like we were, you only got to see the tops of their heads, because there was none up by us. The outside of the house was awesome-a huge jumbotron shows you what is going on inside the house, and there was some creatures dancing in the windows of the house to the awesome music that was playing, but the people who were supposed to be spooking around and scaring us outside while we were waiting in line were lame.....they put almost no effort into what they were doing, and it almost seemed like they did not want to even be there. The inside of the house itself was okay...there were a couple small scares, but for the most part it was pretty boring. The only cool things were the vibrating room with the bridge that made you feel like you were going to tip over, and the polka-dotted room near the end (if you could stand the horrific sewer smell by that point). Overall just NOT VERY SCARY.

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

Not worth the $11.00 admission price-a big disappointment. Won't go back to this one anytime soon.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by luvtobescared after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2003 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We drove right past it at first, there is no lighting at the end of the driveway, but there are signs there marking it, they are just hard to see in the dark.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

They were playing some awesome metal music the night we were there, plus the location itself is extremely creepy....2 very old abandoned buildings set back in the woods a little ways, with not alot of lighting....it gave me goosebumps just standing in line, and it wasn't because of the cold!

Length

Approximately 30-35 minutes, depending on how quickly you make your way through the dark maze near the beginning of the house.

Actors' Performance

Excellent!! The actors working here were awesome-they definetely knew how to lurk in the shadows and jump out at just the right time for that maxium scare effect. There is one guy with a chainsaw as you are nearing the end of the house that is totally insane-he almost made my aunt wet her pants!! These people were really into it-you could definetely feel it. Also, there was a terrifying, very real illusion of the twin girls from the movie "The Shining" that scared the bejesus out of me....the location that they are placed in almost makes you feel like you are in the movie itself.

Appropriate For

15 and up

Summary

I had heard the stories and read a little about this place REALLY being haunted before we came, and I was hoping for a little sign of this while we were there, and I think I got it. In the very beginning of the house, shortly after you enter, there is a pitch black area that you have to walk through, almost like a maze. As we were going through this area-and my aunt and I BOTH heard this-we began to hear what sounds like little kids voices, like kids playing together and laughing. It was very faint, but it sounded like they were right on the other side of the wall that we were walking next to. It made every hair on my body stand on end, and my heart feel like it was about to jump out of my chest. I loved it. This house is incredible, and I would recommend it to anyone who loves to get the crap scared out of them. This is the best haunted house I have EVER been to. I will definetely be back next year! Thanks to Dead by Dawn Productions for giving me the best scare I have ever had anywhere!!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by WillysNini after attending on Friday, October 24, 2003 at about 1 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The location I have known for some time but if I wouldn't have it does have some signs, they could be better!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None, snack stand is about it.

Length

I think about 25 minutes or so.

Actors' Performance

The actors did a nice job, some where really good. I liked the decor, good stuff but getting a little old year after year. I still like it though. I would have liked to of been spooked more. I like the scare not just to walk through and jump once or twice. The thrill is what I am looking for. The darkness is what they should be taking advantage of to put a fright into a few people.

Summary

Get rid of some of the old stuff, like the guy vommiting and change it up some. Scare us that is what we want. I think if there would have been more scares I would have enjoyed it a lot. Make me scream!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by WillysNini after attending on Friday, October 24, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The location is hard to miss. There is not very good signs at all.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wasn't any, snacks.

Length

30 minutes maybe.

Actors' Performance

The actors did a good job, esp. outside! Inside the people where a putting on a story like play so to say.I wasn't into all that. I would much rather go into a house and get scared, not hear a story! Also sending groups of six people in at a time isn't the greatest when the rooms are so tiny, the people at the end never get a chance to get scared much less even see the spook coming. They actors did try to change the lead person but I ended up at the end all but going down one flight of stairs and for me it sucked!! It would have been better if four people where in a group.

Summary

Have smaller group sizes and maybe not try to put on some stage show, just scare the living jeebes out of people, that is what they are there for, if I wanted to hear a story line I'd go to a movie or play.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by WillysNini after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

They had in a video to watch, was cool.

Length

Not really sure.

Actors' Performance

I thought the place was great. Lot's of spookes and screams. They did a really good job and I would recomend it to anyone who wants to go there.

Summary

Great characters, good design. Props where great.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by Shaylo51786 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

hard to find. we had to ask directions. it was a pretty long drive from the milwaukee area and definitely not worth the drive if you are just hitting up main st. mayhem.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

no wait at all! we waited 5 min. for a screaming group of girls to exit and then we headed in.

Length

not long...maybe 15 minutes.

Actors' Performance

well done. check out some other houses in hartford as well, but this one had a very unique set up. expect lots of crawling...that was the scariest part. the dark tunnels were almost over done. the man flying from the ceiling in the flourescent room is AMAZINGLY SCARY! very nice props...actors were a little less enthusiastic. overall well done!

Appropriate For

anyone

Summary

this was the first one we went to this year and it got us ready for some of the other ones. do this one early on...!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by Shaylo51786 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was pretty easy to find, we got directions at a nearby gas station which was fairly entertaining as the owner was a little bit of a smart ass!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

VERY LONG WAIT! Minimum 2 hours. You get ticket #'s and they call you 50 at a time. Go when its not too cold. you will be outside for quite sometime but there is a heated building with concessions.

Length

at least 30 minutes. We kept running into the group in front of us and at first the timing was off because we were in the back.

Actors' Performance

VERY WELL DONE! it wasn't as scary as i thought it would be but it was definitely entertaining. Awesome ending with leatherface from chainsaw massacre. All in all the props and set were amazing. this is one of the better ones!

Appropriate For

anyone 12+

Summary

very well done. i was in the front (i made my way up there) and that was when it got terrifying! make sure you have someone to hold onto!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by pepsi2 after attending on Friday, October 24, 2003 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

very good directions to haunt easy to find. lighted sign in front we were greeted by a girl right away where the money was collected very good system saves alot of hassle because we could get in line right away

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

the wait was about 30mins but very fun they have a palm reader who offers to read your palm while in line at no charge. the staged power failure and scare from witch on roof was awesom

Length

It was a perfect time length not to long not to short good for the money.

Actors' Performance

the performance of the actors in the woods is absolutely incredible. they are the best i have ever seen. they will scare you....the actors in the tent house of horrors are practictly invisible which is soooo cool if for some reason the woods wasnt scary (which is doubtful) you will find the tent unbelivable the whole haunt is awesome from start to finish

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

everybody i came in contact with from the girl collecting money up top and scares in line to the concession stand and the guy releasing the groups were all extremely freindly..the whole experience is trully worth seeing

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by jason_420 after attending on Friday, October 24, 2003 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Pretty easy to find, but if you have trouble there is a big sign on top of the building with a spotlight on it

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Not much of a wait really, but there isn't much to keep you busy while you do wait.

Length

20-25min

Actors' Performance

Everyone seemed to do a very good job and really enjoy what they were doing.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

They have really good potential and it's pretty impressive for the first year. The maze isn't too long, which is good. I'm not too sure about the music...it's a little loud but not too bad, at least they do a good job of mixing the stuff. The special effects of this house really set it apart from any other house I have been to. Can't wait to see what they do for next year.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by blondieemt after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

No wait at all if you go to the seance first. if you dont prob. a good 30-45 min wait

Length

30-45

Actors' Performance

very good, alot of actors that are not affraid to scare you. They dont evren joke arowned with you, whitch makes it a better experience!

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

There are alot of dark hallways that people are hidding in so watch you back, thay'll come up and scare you. I have never screamed in a haunted house at all before this one. very good! Deffintly makeing a trip for this one again next year! P.S. watch out for the spraying toilet!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by blondieemt after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2003 at about 10:30 a.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

If you get tickets for both "A Seance Of Blood" and the "Burial Chamber" you can usual get in relay fast. 15min

Length

45Min

Actors' Performance

Very good and very believable

Appropriate For

14+

Summary

Right afer the seance, if you have tickets for the burial chamber there is a door that you can go right into to skip the whole line. so you get into the haunted hause right away. best way to go. This was alot of fun. If you dont like to hold hands with people this might not be for you.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 22nd, 2019 12:53 a.m. CDT 1.6.3