2003 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

269 total reviews. Showing 7 of 15 on this page (8 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Hinchley's Haunts

by Nicky75 after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find. Right on the highway

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

They had a large heated shed with picnic tables, refreshments including cookies, soda, and hot dogs. They also had a corner with a tv playing movies. These things made the wait time not seem too long or boring.

Length

Hayride: 20-30 minutes Barn: 10-15 minutes

Actors' Performance

The actors for the haunted barn were great. They seem well prepared and knew what to do and when to do it. Seemed very organized. The hayride had a well organized performance for the introduction before actually getting on the hayride itself. The actors in the field were good too. I didn't see any flaws with their timing.

Appropriate For

9+ for hayride 12+ for barn

Summary

I took my 8 year old son because he really wanted to do something more scary for Halloween than what is usually offered for his age group. The hayride was great. It wasn't too short, and I even got a few screams in since I didn't expect some of the monsters to jump out when they did. They even interracted with the people on the ride, so that made us laugh as well as scream. The barn was great too. Had an alien theme. My son was scared, but he's not your typical 8 year old. These got him ready for something even more scary.
I do recommend these two events. Made for a good night of fright and fun.

View all Hinchley's Haunts reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by James after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was pritty easy to find. They had signs right as we got off the highway and they pointed me right to the place. The maze was really big also.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

They had lots of food and drinks. They had really good cyder there. They had people scaring in line so you were entertained while waiting to get in. They had fireworks and you could hear people screaming in the maze while you were waiting in line.

Length

It took me and my friends about 30 min to get though it.

Actors' Performance

They performance was really good i thought. They trailer was the best and they had guys on stilts that were really good, i thought they were fake at first. They had some really good costumes. Overall i thought it was really good scare.

Appropriate For

8 +

Summary

This is a very good place to go if you want to get scared.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by AngelBaby after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

good directions, found it right away.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait was rather long, and drawn out. We were really hyped about it when we got there, and even after the 45 minute wait for the ticket. After that we had to wait almost another 2 hours. We didn't get to go through the haunted house until almost 11. Other then that it was good, cuz we got to hang out.

Length

I'm not exactly sure the length of time it took us, but I would say about a half hour.

Actors' Performance

I thought it was really good. I was VERY scared!! the pitch black made it tricky at times, but overall it was a very good haunted house. I would come back to this one! I They did a good job scaring you thats for sure!

Appropriate For

14+

Summary

if u plan on going go early so you wont have to wait that long!

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by cryptkeeper after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There were lots of signs to get to the place. I found it very easy.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait was like 10-15 min

Length

30-an hour depend how fast you walk.

Actors' Performance

It was awesome well worth the money i'm even thinking about doing it again. There were live actors everywhere you never new where they were going to pop out witch made it even better. We even thought some of the actors were fake because they can stand so still. It was great. I will be back.

Appropriate For

ages 12 and up

Summary

I loved it. I suggest that everyone goes. There was fog rolling out into the parking lot and people screaming constanly and sound effects gallore.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by blondieemt after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

0-Min

Length

15-20Min

Actors' Performance

Ok, not alot of poping out and some halways that had nobody to scare you. The vampire act was prity lame.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

When we went there was no one there, so we got in right away. the first room that you go into has a-lot of fog. You also go down a slide witch is cool. at the end its a big maz, and you have to find your way out. There is some one to lead you out if you wish, but its to much fun to find your own way out! over all it was good.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by blondieemt after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 3:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very Easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

About 45-60 Min. Worth the wait!

Length

25-30Min.

Actors' Performance

Very good. I was the leader of the group and I didnt think actors would come up to the front of the line to scare you! P.S stay in a single filed line or you will get yelled at!

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

I think the bridge in the beging is the best! If you jump up and down its like your on a big trampalen! Lots of crawling and ducking. lots of fire pits if you get cold and have to wait. The ride in the hurst is the best in the beging. P.S. lots of cops so dont think of doing anything Illegal, you know what i mean boys and girls. lol

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by babs after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Not sure, I knew where the house was, having been there in the past, so I didn't really look for signs. There is a light-up marquee sign right at the entrance.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There waasn't much in the way of entertainment aside from a few toy bats, but with all the great snacks available, who really cares. There's ample room (when it's not crowded) so sit and wait, so make sure you've got interesting friends or a deck of cards.

Length

I'd guess 20 to 30 minutes.

Actors' Performance

I thought the actors really seemed to enjoy their parts and gave it great effort, they can't be blamed if their parts just weren't that scary.

Appropriate For

8 and up

Summary

I've always loved this haunt. It took over a week of coaxing to get my significant other to break down and go since his only other experience with this house wasn't great. We arrived at 7:30 and were told it would be about an hour before we got into the house. It really only took about half an hour four our numbers to be called (fantastic!) Hint- if you go with just one other person, you stand a much better chance of getting in quickly, they are constantly asking for anyone with a group of 2 to come to the front of the line.

The little girl who led us to the start of the haunt was fantastic, truely sinister. From there it was downhill. The majority of the scenes were not scary at all- most that could've been were made into more of a comedy act than a scare. There weren't any surprises, most everything was easily anticipated. Overall, I was pretty disappointed. The other problem was that the group in front of us somehow split in half, I'm not sure if half left, or what the deal was, but they ended up combining us, which made it impossible to cram our whole group into a room, so 2 or 3 people constantly missed the little that was going on in any given room.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by pblekpooh after attending on Sunday, October 19, 2003 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Can't miss it. Directions were perfect. Well lit and loud music mark it well.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Outside had 1 ghoul wandering around but you end up waiting inside where it is decorated nicely.

Length

20 minutes

Actors' Performance

Awesome!!!!! Would definately go again. Performers did an outstanding job. One girl kept growling in my ear and wouldn't leave me along - She knew it was freaking me out. Doll on bed was very realistic.

Appropriate For

over 12

Summary

This was my first time visiting. If my friends boyfriend wouldn't have been along we would have been stuck in there for a 3 hour tour! Very dark and confusing passages made for a great time!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by pblekpooh after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Well lit white sign - very long line of cars.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None, but they do have a concession stand manned by a ghoul.

Length

About 15-20 minutes

Actors' Performance

Excellant!! Almost peed my pants! Clown was very, very scary!!

Appropriate For

Over 12

Summary

Gentleman at front of the line was very nice - All the actors were very nice and did an excellant job!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by Nicole after attending on Sunday, October 19, 2003 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

A little hard to find w/construction, but once we went on the main road we found it... need more directional signage (that is lit) in front of the Train Museum (where the entrance is closed due to construction)... we missed the directional signs there because it was too dark.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Line ent. in the ticket line and wait for the train was VERY GOOD - the line actors really get in your face and know how to scare! Lots of different ghouls working the lines... it was fun to watch! There was NO line entainment in the line between the train and the house... and that was the longest line... could have done alot here since it's in the woods and dark... line entertainment here would rock.

Length

The wait between the train and the house was long... so we wished the house was a bit longer. If you count the house AND the train - it was worth it... the train makes it rock and makes it UNIQUE!

Actors' Performance

Good, but the strong blowing on the back of the head into my hair was weird... I don't care to get any cooties (germs) from the ghouls! Wished more were interactive... many just stood there. The ones who were interactive (did a strange purring/grownling thing) were EXCELLENT. Would have been more scary if more were interactive instead of just staring. The music/dancing schtick at the outside/front was cool (my favorite music) BUT having the guys in leather dancing is a bit unusual in a "Blue Oyster Club kinda way" (if you know what I mean.) People around us were joking about it.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

Overall one of the best I've seen this year! Loved the train! Costumes rocked... sets were THE BEST I'VE EVER SEEN!!!! The actors that were interactive were excellent.

Honest and constructive criticism: More actors need to be more interactive... several just stood there and we saw 2 talking to other actors as we walked by. The LINES: waiting in 3 lines was a bit much... 3 lines: one for tickets (which did move well), one for the train (moved ok) and one for the house (took forever). The waiting would not have been so bad if the line between the train and the house had line entertainment with live actors (maybe having ghouls abduct a 'planted guest' in the lines?)... and of course ghouls scaring line guests Lastly, the parking needed to be more organized - it was parking lot anarchy. The attendant basically told us that there was none, and that we shuold try another night?!?! (but we were from out of town, and that wasn't an option as we were anxious to see this house!). As the attendant told us this we saw an area about 100 feet behind him not being used that could easliy park 40 cars if it was organized better.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by Nicole after attending on Sunday, October 19, 2003 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

In a well-known mall... good location. Didn't see signage outside of mall.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None... but then again, there was no wait.

Length

Good for the price paid!

Actors' Performance

Pretty good - some interactive actors (the old/hobo guy was great!). Need more actors. Liked the misdirection schtick.

Appropriate For

6+

Summary

We found out the owner was age 19/20. Very impressive for someone that age to pull off a haunt like this! I've seen many by older and more experienced people that were disappointing and this was better than expected. Just need MORE crazy interactive actors... and it can really rock.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Lindners Pumpkin Farm

by doughy_cc after attending on Sunday, October 19, 2003 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Off the road, but they had huge pumkin signs.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Nothing really but the shrieks and screams of other mazegoers.

Length

About 5-10 min. max in line and about 20 minutes to walk through the maze but we have a tendency to walk fast...

Actors' Performance

Pretty good. A few scarers you could see or anticipate but at other times when you would expect one to jump out, none would.

Appropriate For

Kids, family

View all Lindners Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by lee after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It's a little out of the way. Some more signs would help.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

No wait at all.

Length

event was not very long

Actors' Performance

The actors on the inside were working hard; it was all the ones just hanging around outside that kind of blows it for you.

Appropriate For

9 and up

Summary

It's a very creepy place. I don't like haunts that I'm lead through. Great price, it was nice not having to empty my wallet. they have some great stuff just need to work on the presentation.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by lee after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Its not hard to find its in a shopping mall. There are no signs that I saw outside but if you know how to get to the mall you should find it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

No wait, got tickets and went right in.

Length

10 to 15 min. It was longer then I had thought it would be.

Actors' Performance

When I went there were not a lot of actors but the ones they had were doing there best. More actors and some better ones would help.

Appropriate For

9 and up.

Summary

For a newer haunt run by younger people and I'm sure being in the mall has it draw backs when it comes to setting up it's not to bad. It need some work, more sound deper in the haunt and more actors would be a big step. I give them some slack since the money goes to charity. If they learn and grow this will become a great haunt

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by lee after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

With the road construction, not knowing the area and the lack of signs it was a little hard to find. The parking was a mess, they had lots of open area to park but it was blocked by cars so you could not get to it. The had left 20 feet between rows of cars. They just wanted you to wait till someone left and take thier open spot.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

It was a about a 20min. wait to buy a ticket, 30min. to get on the train, another 40min. to go from the train to the event. There were plenty of actors working the lines.

Length

The event was not real long. 10 min. to walk through maybe a little longer. It was a quick walk through and it made me wonder why the line moved so slow.

Actors' Performance

Except for maybe a handfull of actors the acting was weak! Although this has been the same problem everywhere this year. The just look at you as you walk on by. If I wanted that I could walk around the mall.

Appropriate For

preteen and up

Summary

After waiting for a ticket and waiting for the not so haunted train(it was original and still neat)then having to wait next to the foulest smelling body of water (I'm talking sewage bypass)for the better part of an hour I was really hoping for a great house. The male go-go dancers doing the lipsync in the windows reminded me of the Blue-Oyster gay bar from the Police academy movies. If the actors inside would have given that much effort they would have a great haunt. The sets are great and there is a ton of detail to see inside just not a lot of scares. The trend this year for everyone seams to be charge more do less.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 23rd, 2019 10:25 p.m. CDT 1.6.3