ad-header-top

2003 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

269 total reviews. Showing 6 of 15 on this page (9 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by Andi after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 8:30 a.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The farm was easy to find - the signs were bright and very visible.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We didn't have to wait to do any of the activities (corn maze, hay ride, picking pumpkins, petting animals).

Length

The corn maze took about 30 minutes to go through, the hay ride took about 15 - 20 minutes (including picking the pumpkin).

Actors' Performance

The corn maze was great! There were lots of things to look at on the walk through. It was also really neat to be able to pick our own pumpkins from the field! There were lots of great ones to choose from!

Appropriate For

Age 6 and up

Summary

There were a lot of neat things to do at the farm, and we had a great time! It was a very enjoyable experience!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by Dan K after attending on Friday, October 3, 2003 at about 7 a.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Thanks to guided assistance from a passer-by, we followed him straight to the house. Once we got close it was easy to depict out. Most of that confussion is our fault of sloppy preperatons for directions.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

No entertainment, but pleanty of snacks and refreshments. Good ones too. Ticket call system always a plus.

Length

Took about 20min. to complete the event. A little short.

Actors' Performance

I think the guys here slipped a little from last year. I was not as impressed as compaired to the year before. Some of it was the same. Staff encourages group interactivness while going through the haunt. Some scenes were good, others cheesy. Good balance between dark hallways and rooms. Don't add anymore though. Seems to be less characters than last year. The ones you did have however did perform a good act. Need to improve on level of scare, and use of effects. I understnd that everyone has a differnet budget, but you guys pulled if off in the past.

Appropriate For

12 & up

Summary

This event I gave a "2", but I know they are capable of doing better from attending years in the past. Improvement suggestions would be that it could be a little longer. Do something with the bus. If you decide to keep the slpatterd paint room, at least get the 3-D glasses back. It was getting old, but if you must keep it in the plan, get back the glasses. The room themes need improvement. Just aren't scary. What I did like were the characters. You could tell that they wanted to be there and performed well. The reputation of this house prevents it from getting a "1". Not everything needs major improvements, but these minor changes will greatly increase the quality of this haunt.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by Dan K after attending on Friday, October 3, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Doesn't stand out, but can find easily with directions.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Snacks and refreshments are available durring your wait. Video games are also available. Good use of ticket call system for waiting.

Length

About 25min. to complete house.

Actors' Performance

Little different from last year. It seems this year there were fewer characters than the last. The amount of dark hallways were a little much. It's ok to have them from one room to another, but don't make it half the house. Quality of the rooms were so-so, but needs improvement on the scare factor. Good use of effects.

Appropriate For

12 & up.

Summary

I scored this event a "3", but a "3.5" would be a more acurate rating for this event. It does need some work, but at the same time it was a good house. Too many dark hallways lowers the excitement. Change around the organization a bit, add a few more characters, and you'll have a great house. Nice twist to the end by the way.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by Dan K after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Being virtually out in the middle of nowhere, the lights they had were more than adequate to identify the place. Easy directioins.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

No wait. A portion of the way through both mazes there are rest areas with refreshments to take a break.

Length

There are two mazes. Each took about 1hr. 15min. to 1hr. 30min. to complete. Length depends on how good your guesses are on which is the right direction.

Actors' Performance

I was very happy with the operations of this event. The staff was well organized, and very courtious. The mazes themselves were very well planned out. The difficulty of the mazes was well ballanced between keeping you guessing, and not countineously walking in circles. The length of the mazes were a good size being not too short or exhaustingly long. Very well planned. Aside from the football rivalry theme behind this event, throught the maze there are a serious of numbered posts corralated to questions where the correct answers will lead you in the right direction. Guess wrong, you'll end up where you started. There are even several catagories of questions which you are able to choose from. Nice touch.

Appropriate For

All ages. Probably not for kids who don't like to walk very long.

Summary

I give this event a "5" on overall quality becasue this is a maze, or mazes, that keep you guessing and have a real fun time with. The football theme is great, along with the trivia questions to help you through. For those who truly become frusterated, you can cheat and look at the map to help you get back on your way. Congradulations guys.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by dragcamaro after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very good ,......was easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

didn't really have to wait long, they did have a guy come around and try to scare you.

Length

15 minutes roughly

Actors' Performance

The people/actors that they had were trying. Some were quite into it... but it seemed very forced. Certain parts lacked meaning or idea, for example a guy throwing a bucket on the ground and asking me if I wanted to play with him, really didn't make sense or scare me???

Appropriate For

12-17

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by HKITTY after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good, seemed like better signs were up.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

about 45 minutes. Must have been a problem for awhile. Cops went in.

Length

30 minutes

Actors' Performance

Great. Been to it every year, last 3 years. Need to retire just a few things.

Appropriate For

14+

Summary

Seem like there are two ways out. If you take the first exit, its done. If you brave the last dark hall, its a hoot! You end up in a room of doors that keep leading you back the the room of doors. Only one leads out and you never get to go out that door. Took about 5 times before the Ghoul finally leads you to the right door. (Watch for the Vampire)

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by Loether after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The location was very easy to find..Hence the name is Terror on Rural Street.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Ehh...The waiting took about 10-20 mins Music/food/games

Length

30-45 mins

Actors' Performance

Well the monsters really interacted with us! literally cuz some of the groups ahead were really slow...and we ended up waiting for them to get ahead more so we didnt catch up to them earlier. (between the wait we ended up listening to some cheap tecno music and interacted with some monsters..Listening to them complain how bored they were...hehe..) over all some of the actors tried their hardest.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

Well at the end we ended up getting kicked out for no reason at all. we were stuck in a hallway in the dark and our group was in the middle of two other groups fighting over which way to go...long story... :(

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by redneckgurl after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find, once you turn on Pilgrim Way, there are signs showing you where to go.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The people were walking through the line getting in your face. When they found someone that they bothered, they kept at him/her for a while.

Length

Train ride was about 10-15 minutes. The house only took us 8 minutes to walk through

Actors' Performance

I thought the rooms were done fairly well, but they need to do more thanget up in your face and growl. I was not happy with the house and it was no where near the best in the area as some people claim.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

They need work, plan out something for each room. The skeleton was cool!

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by otter45 after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

15 minute wait

Length

about 30 minutes

Actors' Performance

The performers were great. They always knew just when to jump out.

Appropriate For

12 & up

Summary

I definitely recommend this event. It has become a yearly tradition for us. The overall feeling in the maze is creepy. So fun!!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by hosewoman after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find - Sign on corner with an inflatable ghost.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Music, concession stand (it has a good variaety of food and halloween toys) and monsters floating around

Length

30 minutes or so

Actors' Performance

Good. Characters were really into their parts, didn't seem like they were just reciting some lines.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

It was a great house... even better that there was a trail before the house. The best haunt I have seen this year!

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by erosastar after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

5 minute wait

Length

15-20

Actors' Performance

poor

Appropriate For

uner 5

Summary

give me a brake not worth the admission price. we laughed throught the entire thing. my horror movies at home scare me more

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by erosastar after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

after finding the directions to the new location, you would miss it because all there is, is a parking sign. we drove past it and had to turn around

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

we waited for about an hour

Length

bout 30 minutes

Actors' Performance

performance sucked, don't get me wrong the costumes where good, but timing was off in alot of the rooms. too much walking around in dark mazes. liked the music,

Appropriate For

12 years of age

Summary

good music, bad timing for scares, didn't think it was scarey but was better than the one we had gone to earlier that night. but not worth the cost of admission.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Lindners Pumpkin Farm

by eveelynn after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good signage.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None. But you could hear the other "victims" screams at times. That's always exciting.

Length

Pretty long, 35-40 minutes to get through the maze.

Actors' Performance

Very good. We were scared plenty of times. I never heard such a blood-curdling scream before from one in our party. She was really freaked out.

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

Lots of things coming out of the field at you, you never know who's real and who's not. We were led around in circles for a bit, that was fun. Not just your run of the mill maze. The full moon helped the mood, too.

View all Lindners Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by eveelynn after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find, lots of strobes.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Didn't have to wait, but we were "harassed" by the good doctor while trying to buy our tickets. It was funny!

Length

20 minutes or so. Seemed like we'd never get out of there sometimes! Good and scary.

Actors' Performance

Everyone was quite good. The "drool boy" was unnerving, and the doctor was funny in a twisted way.

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

I'm a nurse, so I HAD to visit this haunt! It was everything I'd expected. All of the characters were excellent! Kudos to Bedlam, (Love the shirts!).

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by eveelynn after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find, right on Forest Home Ave.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None tonight.

Length

Pretty short, a few minutes, but you can linger and make it last longer.

Actors' Performance

Very good, they scared us! I never even saw the girl in the doggie cage till it was too late!

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

It was pretty neat because you go in and out of multiple buildings, you don't know what's up next. The dogs barking were pretty cool, too.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 17th, 2019 6:26 p.m. CDT 1.12