ad-header-top

2003 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

269 total reviews. Showing 3 of 15 on this page (12 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by Boo Brady after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Location is visible & easy to find; the street full of cars is a dead giveaway

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Arcade games & a concession stand; waited roughly 10-15 minutes.

Length

Somewhere around 20 minutes.

Actors' Performance

The performance has been better in past years.

Appropriate For

Ages 8+

Summary

Overall very disappointing; many actors/spooks were under the age of 18. Instead of blood-curling screams, I got blood-curling yelps. No good scares.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by Bobgoblin after attending on Sunday, October 12, 2003 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Kinda got me confused since its just a sign that says parking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

They have added a interactive video game. That was about it. No actors lurking outside or anything

Length

Around 30 minutes.

Actors' Performance

Very Good as in use of everything. One thing i would like to see more of is character interaction.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

Excellent House I Loved It.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by Hearseman after attending on Sunday, October 12, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find and see. Had neat looking posters of their logo in front windows.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

No wait, no entertainment.

Length

Took us about 5-7 minutes to go through.

Actors' Performance

"Coin taker" actor was good, read my comments for the other actors.

Appropriate For

???

Summary

When a new haunt shows up I am always excited to check them out so Sunday night my wife and I visited “Halls of Bedlam”. The outside of the place looked cool with large posters of their logo hung up and lit with a strobe. You pay your money and are given a coin to get into the haunt. I thought that was kind of different so we proceeded to walk down the hallway to give the guy our coin. The “coin” actor was pretty good when we could hear him but unfortunately another actor close by was pounding on the walls so hard we could not make out what he was saying. From this point on the house went nowhere. The halls were lit up so much that you could see where the scares were coming from, what little scare there was. Most of the actors thought that standing in your way and not letting you pass is scary. It is not scary at all it is very irritating. Several of the monsters also need to practice better personal hygiene. It was only 7:30 when we went through so they were only working for 1-½ hours but some had very bad B.O. The worse part of the whole house (and I am not making this up) was when one of there actors wanted to French kiss me. Sorry guys but Gay monsters are not scary no matter what you believe. I should have went back in and talked to the management of the place but by the time I exited I was so pissed off by the whole experience I just needed to get out of there. Sorry but due to my experience I cannot recommend this haunt to anyone, it was a big disappointment.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by trevor after attending on Sunday, October 12, 2003 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was very easy to find, right on highway 50.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

A few monsters walking around.

Length

15 minutes

Actors' Performance

The performances where not very good a lot of them just stood there.

Appropriate For

8 and up

Summary

They have really cool ideas they just need to work on there acting somemore.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by hosewoman after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

OK. It was not too hard to find since we have been there before.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

People walking around. Nothing too interesting

Length

25 Minutes

Actors' Performance

It was OK. There were alot of dark hallways with nothing going on. Haunts are the same as years past - you know what is coming by the prop that is used.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

Disappointing. The worst haunt I have been to this year! Don't waste your money!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by cleopatra after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It is located in a small town called St. Nazianz, about 10 miles off of Hwy 43 ... there weren't any lights out front of the enterance so we drove right past it at first!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We only waited 10 min., we were there early because we hoped to beat the "rush". However, there was some concessions.

Length

40 - 45 min.

Actors' Performance

Performance was excellent, we were there for opening night. The actors never left character, and there were even young children acting out.

Appropriate For

Anyone without a heart condition! Oh, and they should be at least 14.

Summary

I could not believe how scary this haunted house was. The house was actually in an old nunnary ... which is famous for its REAL hauntings! It was frightning before we even went in. Plus they let our group go seperately, with no one else which made it more enjoyable. The graphics, among so many different "surprises" were amazing. Walking in the dark down a large hallway in an old nunnary is frightening enough without the added scares! I don't know if others experiences will be different, but the monsters do get a little "touchy feely" ... I had a chainsaw all over me ... I was scared! It is slightly out of the way, but worth the drive!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by cleopatra after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very difficult to get too! There is major construction so we went up and down broadway 4 times before we finally asked for directions ... then they told us that we had to go beyond the signs that said "NO THROUGH TRAFFIC" ... once we figured that out, it was no problem.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There are concessions as well as a gift shop!

Length

10 - 15 min, not including train ride.

Actors' Performance

The actors were all highschool volunteers, and I believe it was there first night ... so a little practice might have been helpful!

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

The train ride definitely makes this haunted house unique! Compared to previous years, the special effects and props were great! They were not scary, but very well put together.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by cleopatra after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2003 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Located right in Hartford, there was construction, but nothing too impossible to get around!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

They had games, concessions, and a coffin and herse display! There was also a warmer area to sit and wait. We waited about 1 hour and 15 min.

Length

It was about 40 minutes, however, you were held up a lot in certain rooms so they could prepare before you entered the next room.

Actors' Performance

The actors were pretty good, I screamed a lot! Everyone stayed in character, except for one skeleton that decided to dance.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

Was a lot of fun, didn't enjoy the amount of dark hallways you needed to walk through. Also we were forced to go with another group that was pretty rude to the actors and really destroyed the experience! I don't know if it's the cool thing to do, but all the "wise cracks" get pretty annoying.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by DRAGOSINI after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

easy directions but no sign on entry and it doesn't even look like the right place,thought it was a company picnic.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

none...had excellent entertainment at the last location but the new location lacks any sort of ambiance

Length

long but empty in too many places where there could be a spook or two. Also they make you go in with 8 people groups , by the time everybody gets in a room its over if theres something to surprise you

Actors' Performance

worn out acting,poor sets and bad use of high ceiling,some good mazes and winding passages but they get old,there were next to no realy creepy effects,some of the rooms looked ok but nothing even happened in them.

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

loved the loud heavy metal music but the sound system could of been used for better sound effects

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by Killah after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 3:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

I have been coming to this haunted house for years, the location of it is great in reference to the "spookiness" of the woods. However, this year road construction made it a little difficult to get to the house.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Absolutely Amazing!! This is the only house I have seen in WI with a live front show. Many of the actors enjoyed scaring me as well as my girlfriend. What interested me aside from other houses, is that the actors don't concentrate on "just" the girls, but the entire crowd as a whole.

Length

I was a little upset at the length of the house. It was so good, that I wish it was longer. It didn't help that it rained, but it helped to set the scene.

Actors' Performance

As like all haunted houses, some actors were "good", some were very poor. ( I'm really not scared when they just stand and look at me) Not that it's made up by the others, but some actors almost made me %$#@ my pants. I can remember the actor with a devilish red bloody face that followed my girlfriend and I through the entire house. If more actors could do the same, the experience would have been much more dramatic, not that it was all ready.

Appropriate For

PG-13 is a good rating for them, however some areas were a little more horrific.

Summary

The train ride was a little boring. It started off great, but when you see all the actors you tend to blank them out when they scare you multiple times. I especially liked the polka dot room. The huge monster was very impressive. My only grudge I guess would be that some of the actors may have needed to "step it up"

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by djchubrock2000 after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 5:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

big blow up pumpkin thing on the top of there building

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

no wait but they do have a pond with a live alligator in the front

Length

about 15-20 min

Actors' Performance

performances where pretty good the guy that flyes above you is the best you can't even see him

Appropriate For

8 older

Summary

I wish it was like 45 min to see what else they could come up with everything was pretty tight

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by butterfly after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 3:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

signs made it easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

pretty lame. some guy walking arounnd ina fire fighter costume, kind of disrespectful

Length

10-15 minutes tops

Actors' Performance

actors were just reciting their lines. It wasn't all that scary.

Appropriate For

all ages

Summary

the props were horrible

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by Dead after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find! The reflective tape made it much easier to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

NOT LONG AT ALL 10 min.

Length

1/2 hour Depending on how fast you go through.

Actors' Performance

Awesome! Actors truly know how to scare. They have great time. All the actors played their rolls very well.

Appropriate For

It's perty horrifiying so i would say...teens/adults

Summary

GREAT JOB! it's about time dead by dawn productions comes back to have a better haunted house than splatter haus! You guys are great every year. But this one is more creative and you don't use technology to scare customers. you use natural things, tallent and creativity. GREAT JOB! can't wait till next years!!!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by monstercreator after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

with directions, very easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

no wait

Length

25 minutes

Actors' Performance

rooms were very good, but action started before end of group got into room.

Appropriate For

over 12

Summary

make sure you're at the front of the group or you can miss alot. groups bunched together alot. need more time between. super dark, walls in hall very close together--up & down was cool--super awesome music.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by monstercreator after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2003 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

hard to see from road. glad there were signs to follow.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

no wait--walked right in.

Length

20 minutes

Actors' Performance

made me jump a number of times. many things that looked to be props were real people. people did a great job!

Appropriate For

over 12

Summary

hallways could have been darker, but it made it easier to get from room to room. wonderful attention to detail in rooms. sound efffects very effective.

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 17th, 2019 6:14 p.m. CDT 1.12