ad-header-top

2003 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

269 total reviews. Showing 7 of 15 on this page (8 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by titan-6 after attending on Sunday, October 26, 2003 at about 1 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was kind of a circus finding your way around the construction. A few signs in better locations would fix those problems.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

It was a Sunday so I would expect a shorter staff than normal so I can understand only having the one monster who was going through the lines.

Length

15 min.

Actors' Performance

As far as the actors go, I was sorry to say I wasn't too pleased. A lot of what I saw was growling. That might scare some people, but I personally (and I think a lot of people would agree with me) was not scared. There were however some monsters in the house that worked very well at what they were doing.

Appropriate For

9+

Summary

Excellent house as far as atmosphere goes. There were some very cool props used, most notably, the "impaler" prop. For those of you who don't know, it's about a 10 to 12 ft. monster, I won't give away what he looks like or what he does, but it's very cool to see in action. Lots of very detailed rooms, I don't want to go off on any single room except to say for a majority of the house a lot of effort was put into making this house look like it does. There is a downside to this house though, I wasn't too impressed with the performance of the actors/actresses of the house. There were a lot of people in the beginning of the house who just walked past you and really didn't give half and attempt at a scare. The people who did attempt the scares only got low growls out and most of the people of the house were in plain sight when you walked in. For some constructive criticism, try hiding some more or plan the rooms for better scares. There were lots of unused areas that looked incredible but had little or no scare value at all. I really enjoyed coming to the house. The train is cool and adds a good element to the overall quality of the event. There are lots of really good things in this house. The people in charge of putting this house together have a keen attention to detail. I love that!

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by sweetcandy53704 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2003 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

real good directions on their website, had no problem finding it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

long wait, almost 2 hour wait once inside building. had a "scary" cowboy guy walking around in the lines, scarying people. had the tariot card reader, my friend & i did it, and we both almost got the same answer.... they had a movie playing also, and a few food choices. the chili was tomato soup with a few noodles & hamburger pieces in it.

Length

roughly 25 min.

Actors' Performance

it was good, we went in a group of four, would have been better with a group of 2, that way front & back get the scares. the telephone got us good.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

pretty well put together, no corn maze, it was wrecked a few weeks before we went. would go again.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by sunnyo after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find.Things are marked pretty well.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We got there early, so only waited about 20 min.

Length

I would say about 1 hour,

Actors' Performance

AWESOME!!! They did a GREAT job!! A lot of time put into this one. Very scarry! A lot of fun!! I want to go to it again.

Appropriate For

10 and under should have parents along

Summary

This was one of the best I have ever been to. AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME!!!!!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by Nicole after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2003 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good location - good signage.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Good - had a ghoul, and one tall-costumed character.

Length

Very good for the low price. Seemed much longer than last year!!!

Actors' Performance

Ok. Lots of little teenage gals just shrieking in your ears. The older actors did a great job. We heard the actors are all volunteers which is nice, but they aren't as interactive as other haunts.

Appropriate For

8 and up.

Summary

The haunt seemed longer than last year! The maze was a great addition. Good sets/scenes, actors just need to stop shrieking/screaming in people's ears and start growling or coming up with clever/scary lines to say to patrons.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by Steven after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2003 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It is really easy to find and parking is good.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We waited like two and a half hours with getting tickets and then waiting in the actual line. It was well worth it. The hearse takes our about fifteen people every five minutes

Length

It was a pretty long time I would say about a half an hour from start to time you get in the hearse.

Actors' Performance

It was great the rope brige was awesome and so was the costumes and characters. You go trough several shacks and a trailer home that cross over the trail. There was great detail put into things even smells.

Appropriate For

ages 12+

Summary

It was great lots of high and low points. When you end you get to an open area you just walk through till you get to the big fire pit it would have been great to be chased out by leather face! The fact to you ride out there in an old creepy hearse made it awesome. I can tell you any more.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by sara grath after attending on Sunday, October 26, 2003 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Finding this place was hard. Signs are just plywood with paint, no lights.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We had to wait 2 1/2 hours. It was a long, cold, dark wait. There was no 'wait entertainment'. Just port-a-potties that were very full and hot chocolate that was luke warm.

Length

20 minutes, maximum.

Actors' Performance

Not good. A lot of the time you are in the dark. The performers had smoked prior to us walking thru so it had a thick cigarette smell. It was pretty boring for the price paid and the length of line. Very disappointing. This opinion was shared by others who were ahead of us in line. Supposedly in 2002 it was better. It wasn't worth the drive from DePere for it.

Appropriate For

No one

Summary

Since this is a for profit event, I would have expected better entertainment. They have a magnificant structure, but little creativity. Even the person who opens the door for you was in costume.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by Funaholic after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2003 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We have been there many years in a row now, so we know how to get there. Once you get close you are sure to see all of the lights

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We could watch movies and some of the actors came out to mess with people while waiting in line, Cowboy is funny! We didnt wait to long.

Length

We were in there a good 45 min easy.

Actors' Performance

The performance was great all of the staff gave 100%. everyone was dressed from head to toe, they did not just have a mask and flashlight.

Appropriate For

9+

Summary

When we bought our tickets the staff was very friendly. In fact the whole staff in genral was very nice. Staff always questioned how we were and if we were having fun. Needs to be a little more gory. I think that they had Beetlejuice out there?

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by beebee54455 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2003 at about 1:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We were given numbers. Groups of about 20 were called at a time. We waited about 30 minutes.

Length

Around 40 minutes.

Actors' Performance

This was well worth the wait! Lots of interaction and surprises. My 13 year old said it was the most fun Halloween activity he has ever done. This was really fun. Funny and spooky!

Appropriate For

brave 5 yr olds and up

Summary

Younger children may be frightened! I had to reassure my 5 yr old that it was pretend a few times. Kind of gory.
Tip: If you sit on the "passenger's" side of the wagon, you can see more. If you sit near the on board monster you may have a few additional surprises!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by cheezyiam after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2003 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

very easy to find and very visable

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

the line moved at a good pace and we waited maybe 20-30 min

Length

around 20 min

Actors' Performance

awesome actors and very good scenes one of the ares best so far alot work and dtail was put into this house and it showed. i will be back next yaer and cant wait to see the changes

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

great job hope you keep this going for years to come

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by deedee after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2003 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

it was very easy to get too

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

you waited in a line outside toget tickets once you got inside it was a heated area with concessions music video games and michael meyers

Length

it takes about 25minutes

Actors' Performance

they did a wounderful job actors were very scarey and made you scream you never new what was comming and when you get outside st the end you think it is over is it?

Appropriate For

12 and up

Summary

if you get motion sickness easy i would not recomend you go the wait is a little long they call 50 people at a time but they do not have a lot of places to sit down once you are inside

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by Nicky75 after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Really easy to find. the park is right on a popular street, and they had signs for parking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

They had people in costumes standing outside, but we got there right away when it started, so there was no need for entertainment yet.

Length

about 15-20 minutes.

Actors' Performance

It was alright. There weren't any really spooky or scary creatures/monsters. Not many jumped out of places, they were mostly standing in the doorways or corners. One room had a person wereing a checkered costume that blended in with the walls, and it just stood there. nothing scary about that.

Appropriate For

7+

Summary

I wasn't impressed with this house. They had the rooms seperated mostly with black plastic with tears in it to walk through. (Like giant garbage bags) We got lost A LOT, including other groups, for we kept running into them. Many of the creatures had to point us to the way out due to all the possible exits. There was also one part of the tour that was all long white torn material hanging from the ceiling. it was so thinck, we got lost in that too. It was an interesting and amusing touch, but after a minute or two it got annoying to find the way out of it. I wouldn't go back unless they made some changes. It was tacky, and way too expensive. I paid $3.00 to scream my butt off somewhere else, and paid $8.00 here to get frustrated and lost.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by Nicky75 after attending on Friday, October 24, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find since it's right off of a major highway. They also had people directing you into the parking lot from the road.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

They had a guy on stilts in a costume and makeup. We didn't have a wait this time, so I think they'll have some characters like they had other years if there is a longer line.

Length

It took us about 25 minutes to walk through.

Actors' Performance

This was my 3rd year going, and it's different everytime. The path was also different. The creatures were god since you don't see most of them until they jump at you. They also had "rooms" in the path, so you have to go through them, and one was really freaky. They did a good job of hiding and blending in with the props. All in all, the performances were timed very well, and the actors got into it.

Appropriate For

12+ (But an 11 year old there did very well) Not for small kids though

Summary

For the first time in 3 years I didn't have to wait 2-3 hours to get in. I don't know if it's because the parking lot, and trail were different this year or due to the weather and first night of the event. (Same woods, just was on a different side this year). I do think that they should have it for more than 3 nights since people try and get in more than one haunt an evening/weekend. Also, their hours are not that great. My friend and I went later the same night after I had been there with my son, since she was busy earlier. And when we got there they were closed at 10:00. For knowing this place's past history, they should be open later since they have a reputation for a getting a lot of people. We even noticed 4 cars of teens turning onto the road to get there as we were leaving. They missed out on some business. I know last year we were there past 11:00. It wasn't as good as the other years, but was still an excellent spook tour, and I do recommend it for a few screams.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by c_l_3 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2003 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very good, easy to get to. Big white sign.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

not much, just a concession and a stereo playing some scary sounds

Length

about 20 mins

Actors' Performance

They really did a GREAT job. I had never been to a haunted house, woods, or anything. It was definitely a good one to be the first. I loved it afterwards but during I was so freaked out.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

IT WAS GREAT! EVERYTHING FROM THE VERY FIRST SCARE WAS AWESOME!!!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by sexymomma244 after attending on Monday, October 27, 2003 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

I think it was about an 1 hour wait to about 1 hour and 30 min.

Length

Probably about a 1 hour and 30 min. walk through

Actors' Performance

It was very fun! Anyone who loves scares when you don't expect them, you will love this scare. I had so much fun with my family, I was first in line and I got somescares but not all of them....... Alot better then lastyear

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

You should try to get in the back because in the front sometimes you don't get all of the scares, and in the middle yyou see everone jump and so it's not that fun! But it was alot better then last year. (The ending was a very big dissipointment)

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue - CLOSED

by Danie after attending on Friday, October 24, 2003 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We were able to find it just fine. The only problem was locating the driveway to turn into. The guy with the flashlight was not visible enough, but we made it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The entertainment consisted of scary music, which set the mood for going into the house, but too many people around to be entirely scared.

Length

We waited an hour before entering the house and once inside it took no more than 15 minutes.

Actors' Performance

I thought the house had a lot of potential. Some of the actors gave it their all, but most would not even attempt to scare you. They thought that by merely standing and staring at you would scare you, but they were mistaken. Also, all three groups that were called to the house ended up walking through as one huge group because the doorman did not give enough time for a head start, so there were too many people to be truly scared. As I stated before it had a lot of potential to be really good, but it did not make it for my scare pleasure.

Appropriate For

7-adult

Summary

Maybe you could talk to your actors and give them some pointers on how to scare the living daylights out of us.

View all The Morgue - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 22nd, 2019 1:14 p.m. CDT 1.8.19