ad-header-top

2003 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

269 total reviews. Showing 3 of 15 on this page (12 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Notscaredsoeasily after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The place was easy to find. The directions were so clear only a blind person would get lost.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There were a few gouls out and about screaming and yelling at people attempting to scare them. There was a cassette recording that played over and over every 10 minutes or so that told a story of the place and welcomed everyone. There was a fog machine along with a cemetery made out of styrofoam blocks. Not bad overall. Waited about two hours.

Length

Since the even was self-guided we took our time. Took approximately 15-20 minutes to go through.

Actors' Performance

I was impressed with the creativity and variety of the different scenes. However, it was just another "haunted house" to me. It had more decoration and and ornate details than normal haunted houses though. However, the method of being scared was the same throughout-people yelling at you from corners, loud noises, and sudden appearances. I'm one who doesn't get scared that easily and still didn't get scared.

Appropriate For

Middle school and older

Summary

If you want to see some really cool scenes and things like that, go right ahead. However, I think spending five minutes in a graveyard when it was pitch black out would've given me a better scare than the Burial Chamber. I wouldn't spend another ten dollars to go also - not really worth it.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by tygercsw after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find...signs everywhere and police monitoring.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Great! Goats and animals to feed, food & drink to get.We even got glow sticks, and believe it or not, those kept us busy! It didn't take that long to get into the maze because they monitor the ticket sales so well and control the crowd.

Length

We had to have been in there for almost an hour! It was great!

Actors' Performance

There were scares around almost every corner - some expected (like all haunted events have), but some really caught us off guard! We still jumped at the ones we expected at times. They had all types and ages of people working, so it was really cool to get the different types of scaring methods they used - the stilt-walkers we the best!

Appropriate For

All ages, but older kids and adults after dark

Summary

This is the best haunted event I have ever been to! I think I have hit about every one in my lifetime, but for the price, you get the best scares. It is long, too, so it is worth every penny.I don't really do these haunted events anymore because I am 28 years old, but I will DEFINITELY be back next year! I actually was scared in a good portion of it and that is pretty hard to do to me! Keep it up!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by Zangz after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2003 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

With the diriections, very good.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We got there 45 minutes early, so the only wait we had was the 45 minutes before they opened. Once they opened, 10 minutes tops. Again, we got there EARLY.

Length

They claimed about 35 minutes. I think it took us about 20.

Actors' Performance

The ghouls were great, when the timing was right. We found ourselves, bunched up with the group before us. So we missed out on a lot of scares, but did see the performances.

Appropriate For

13 and up.

Summary

Like last year, this haunt had a lot of energy and adrenalin behind it. However it seemed to be almost an exact replica of last year. They also heavily relied on dark mazes which made up a good 80 to 90% of thier show. More scenes, less dark mazes and something new would have made it as good as last year. But still a good show.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

The House of Shadows

by Beth W. after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The house is HUGE... easy to see.. the signs leading to the house could be a little bigger

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Very good actors... the hearse and the skits they do are ammusing

Length

seems like it took forever... but then again... it was about 30 minutes and you go through 3 floors

Actors' Performance

most of the actors and rooms were awesome... you had to bend over through tunnels, floors move, walls move, the actor really stayed in charactor inside the house. Very interactive.

Appropriate For

all ages

Summary

they have a not so scary first for the little kids and then a very scary for adults or older kids. I was very impressed with the detail and the work that went into the house.

View all The House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Cavanaugh's Carriages Haunted Hayride

by cheezyiam after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

very easy to find good directions

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

not bad only about 20 min for everyone to get on wagon

Length

a little over 30 mins

Actors' Performance

good performance actors did good job. the guys with the microphones on wagons did very good joba nd made it really fun

Appropriate For

6 and up family type haunt

Summary

good night out for the family if your looking for a real scare not the place but for the family thiw=s is the place a real nice time good job. again not to scary but good time would like to see more things in the woods and mor people jumping out

View all Cavanaugh's Carriages Haunted Hayride reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by partyhar after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 4:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

descent if paying attention

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

great music and food

Length

20 minutes, but we rushed through

Actors' Performance

great, one of the best ive been to. loved the rooms

Appropriate For

14+

Summary

extremely long wait. we sat on the hill for 3.5 hours plus stood in line for a good 20 minutes

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by Nicole after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 4:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Great signage... good location

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None... could have definitely used some - they have great actors at this haunt and a couple would be great in the lines.

Length

EXCELLENT! Seemed a little shorter than last year, but still a long haunt... about 20-30 minutes.

Actors' Performance

EXCELLENT! Actors get into their parts. However, this is the 2nd haunted outside/walking event we went to on this night and this place too had actors that just stood there as we walked by - most were good but about 1/2 dozen just stood there as we walked by - maybe that's what we get for being at the front of the line - we missed out on scares.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

Actors need to work on timing... just don't scare the middle and end of the group. Makeup and costumes were great and some of the scenes/obstacles you must manuever through are very unique and cool. One thing we missed was the big finale from last year which ROCKED - this year's ending was very anti-climatic... the end was disappointing after the great finale that they had in 2002.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by Nicole after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Limited signage (should be lighted)... good location (3 min. off of Hwy 83)

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None - as we left there was one ghoul circulating through the lines... could have been more... we waited for 1hour with no ent.

Length

Excellent - worth the $... about 20 min. to 1/2 hour.

Actors' Performance

Lots of short, little, young ghouls. Many didn't pop out at us, but popped out at the people behind us so we did get any scares... need better timing.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

We were a group of 2 couples in our late 20's, they paired us up with a mom and 5 kids (ages 5-7) and a couple teenage girls - bad move. I became a "mom" to 2 of the poor little ones who latched onto my legs and now need therapy. We couldn't enjoy the haunt because I was to busy "protecting" these poor kids (who aren't even mine). The length of the event rocked - worth the money, good scenes. Actors just need to work on timing a little bit better... there were parts when we didn't have the kids with us and they still didn't scare us... they just stood there.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by Lisa after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Kinda hard to find very dark and if you dont look close you can miss the sign.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

nothing really, but just the outside of this place is very scary. We had to wait about 25 min not bad at all.

Length

30 min

Actors' Performance

This place was awesome, this is my 1st year coming to this house and I loved it. It is very different from all the other houses I have been to.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

Well so far after going to a lot of houses this year this has to be my #1 even after visiting Spatter Haus. This place is so creepy looking driving up and when you see what you have to actually go threw it scares you even more. I loved the spinning box that was very cool. You guys had just enough scenes and scares for the whole group. This place is worth the drive and trust me I will be coming back next year to see what you have in store for us, keep up the great work.:)

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by Lisa after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very Easy to find with the directions they give you.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was hardley any wait entertainment only a video game that lets you scare people that is in the haunted house, very cool idea! Spent about $10.00 on that game.

Length

it was about 25-30 min, but waited 3 hours to get in to the house!!! So make sure you get there early

Actors' Performance

I was not pleased at all this year, to many black hall ways, after a while they get kinda of boring and not scary, you had a lot less scenes than last year. I was not happy at all with Splatter Haus this year.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

I have been coming to Splatter Haus for 4 years now and everytime I go it gets better and better, EXCEPT THIS YEAR. Maybe it was the new location and you didnt have enough space to make more scenes so thats why you had to add the narrow black hallways, I dont know, but for next year you should search for a better location so you can make your house the best like it always has been or change what you have. I was very dispointed this year. I always come here at least 2 times in OCT but not this year, sorry guys. Before we came to Splatter Haus we went to the Windgo Manor and that was awesome, but we figured we would save the best for last, and I am sorry to say that house was better than Splatter Haus, and I have never seen a house better than Splatter Haus. Hopefully you guys can do better next year!!!

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Hinchley's Haunts

by bobhoast after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find, got distracted by another hay ride on the way from madison on 12/18.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

A 8 inch tv in the corner playing kiddie spook movies(ghostbusters, Hocus Pocus, etc.)

Length

Not counting the wait, about 5 minutes through the haunted house, 15-20 minute hay ride.

Actors' Performance

Hay ride with evil laughts and screams, it was pretty cool but it was cold. I only had a sweatshirt you will probebly need a coat.

Appropriate For

Children

Summary

Good story line in haunted house, had interesting decorations. The haunted house actors were very good! Paid 10$ per person for collage night. Considering the 2 hour combined wait for the haunted house and the hay ride, Not worth the money.

View all Hinchley's Haunts reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

by scoobs3812 after attending on Friday, October 10, 2003 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

How hard can it be? East Town Mall

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait was about ten min.

Length

It took about 20 min to get through.

Actors' Performance

The house was ok......some of the walls were down from earlier that night. Um, It's more for the younger ones.

Appropriate For

8 and up

Summary

GO!!! ITS FOR SUCH A GOOD CAUSE!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by xjallen after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Use their website directions, keep an eye for signs and you'll be alright

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Lots of great metal music, but could have used some Rob Zombie, Marilyn Manson and Nine Inch Nails in the mix.

Length

35 minutes.

Actors' Performance

Great scares every time. Wish there was more makeup work done for costumes more than masks.

Appropriate For

16+

Summary

I thought this was excellently well-done. Creative and kept you guessing. Continues to be my top favorite for 2nd year in a row.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by scoobs3812 after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Even though there was construction, it was east to get to.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait for the train was about 2 min. For the house it took about 45.

Length

Going through the house took about 15-20 min......yeah we were being rushed.

Actors' Performance

The train ride got worse than from last year. Wasnt as dark or foggy. The actors weren't as good either. Except for this guy with braided hair and a bloody face.......he seemed to get into it more. The house has awesome props. The actors don't scare you as much as they use to. They are quiet and just come up to you.....just staring at you. The group that came in after use caught up and then there was twelve of us walking in a row and made the house "worse".......

Appropriate For

12 and up

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2003 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by Bubbly after attending on Friday, October 17, 2003 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Had a problem finding it. Missed the sign for the turn the first time through.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Music and a couple making out on the embankment by the highway

Length

Approx. 35 min

Actors' Performance

Excellent! Scared me half to death!

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

We got there later in the evening so there was a long waiting period (3hrs). I had 2 12 year olds with me and it would have gotten verylate for them. They allowed us to go through the line without waiting because of the lateness the hour. It was appreciated

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 22nd, 2019 10:00 a.m. CDT 1.8.19