2010 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

221 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review


This is Oblivion’s first year in action. You can purchase tickets online for only $10, but make sure that you purchase them 200 minutes before the house opens that night. When we went to purchase tickets online 2 hours prior to the opening of the attraction it gives a notification that states “tickets must be purchased 200 minutes in advance”.



Walking to the haunted house, the first thing you notice is the smell of treats. They had quite the selections of treats and toys, but chocolate covered bacon is what really caught my eye. I feared the heart attack I might encounter in the haunt, so I did pass on the bacon. As you approach the haunt you can hear loud music and the outside is well decorated with laser effects and props. There were two great areas for dancers, but since we were there right before they opened there were no ghouls in them. Before you reach the outside, you are given the option to purchase glowing necklaces/headbands for $1. As explained to us the glowing necklaces help you to determine who is a friend and who is a foe.



When you first enter the haunt, you are lined up (similar to an amusement park ride) and shown a video. The actress in the beginning was great at encouraging ghoulish talk. The most unique thing about this haunt is the elevator ride in the beginning. I grasped the elevator wall fearing that it would drop at any minute, but alas the ride was over and everyone was safely on their feet. The attraction is in a warehouse that is 15,000 square feet! I would have liked to attend later in the evening as it would have given the volunteer ghouls more time to find their "niche". However, there were a few natural born ghouls that left their mark.



Oblivion started construction in November of 2009 and the detail and props definitely showed the hours well spent. I do not scare very easily, but there were several areas that caught me off guard. Expect the unexpected at Oblivion and even if you are prepared to be scared ... they will get you! I had to stop at one point because I couldn't figure out how the ghoul managed to drop from the sky. One room contained the MOST disturbing scene I have seen thus far ... the blood, screaming and acting was too real!



The total time spent going through the haunt was 14 minutes, however it seemed much longer. Our group surpassed the glowing necklaces, but we were paired with another group that had them. The necklaces were great for seeing where you were going, but I would have preferred wandering in the dark. Our "big guy" was in the back of the group and he was followed by a ghoul the entire way. He explained that it was freaky because he was never "safe".

Summary

Oblivion is a great haunt for those seeking the high tech commercialized haunt at an extremely affordable price. It is short, but the time is well executed.

View all Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by CC2 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review


The Hubertus House of Horror has been around a while and I attend it routinely.



Creation/re-creation of the house requires a good deal of effort throughout the year to change things up, and staff there are always attentive to trying to keep things as fresh as they can, which is appreciated.



The house features a nice swamp scene and a restaurant with a butcher that wants some acknowledgment, as well.



You will also have an early session with Santa that was an interesting twist.



There is an excellent animatronic effect that awaits you.



There is also a surprise after your instructions before entering the house.



I went with a group of three to get different reactions to the haunt and my guests felt there was too much glow make up at one point in the house and they felt the 3D aspect was not much of a novel experience.



Some of the scenes had rather poorly hidden actors lying in wait, so those scares were unremarkable.



I'm not sure if in week two of the season the actors aren't quite at peak performance, but some of the scenes were slow to develop and the timing was off. There were some awkward waits for the scare during my visit.



The house begins with a bus ride that has essentially zero scare factor and doesn't really provide much of an enhancement to the experience.


Signage / Visibility / Location


If you can find your way to Hubertus, you should be able to find your way to the House of Horror. Look carefully for a small sign on the left side of the road near a church off of Holy Hill Rd, if you are approaching from the highway. The exit will be on your left in front of the church.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


For our visit, a local radio station was doing a promotion with giveaways in the gym. Wii system games were available as were other arcade games for a fee.

Hubertus has a nice snack area available and ample toilet facilities.

Actors' Performance


The house's actors gave nice performances and seemed invested in trying to startle the guests.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The Hubertus house routinely adorns its rooms with lots of props. It featured one of the best scenes that I've seen thus far this season with a zombie that notices you watching him.

Length


The trip through the house takes about 25 minutes, depending on your pace and how quickly you are permitted to enter various rooms.

Staff at the house gatekeep entry into the different scenes and sometimes you will catch the group before you and hear what you are about to experience.

Crowd Control


The House has a system of lining up guests in 3 lines preparing them to enter the house. this works effectively for routing people into the attraction. Ticket numbers are announced and written on a chalkboard inside the gym so that you know what ticket numbers are able to enter the house.

Most Memorable Moment


The house features an animatronic that is outstanding and also includes a sensory effect. It's been the best scene I've experienced so far this season and in itself validated the price of admission.

Summary

I hate to be critical of an old classic in Hubertus, but I felt the scare and startle factors were a bit lower this year than usual. Perhaps scenes will tighten as the season progresses. For those in the Milwaukee area, I still recommend the attraction as its creators routinely put forth a good effort to diversify the haunt. Despite not being particularly scary per se, I feel this attraction is worth a look. The very fact that you are wandering the corridors of an old house will be chilling enough for some, but for those with higher expectations than just an old, creaking house this may not be a maximum experience.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review


House of Bathory is back again and they continue to go above and beyond every year. The theme this year is, "Alice in Wonderland", but do not expect tea and cookies at this party. It's in your face, or rather I should say "beyond in your face". (Yes, this IS a touch haunted house. If that bothers you, then I recommend going elsewhere). What makes the House of Bathory such a success is the outstanding actors, fine detail, and unique creative designs. The actors are primarily high school age or younger. Think the younger ones can't scare? Think again! Every actor is there on a volunteer basis because they live to scare year round! They even open the Haunt in the summer and may open it in December as well. This isn't your typical 4 weekends and its over ... they live for this stuff.



The Mad Hatter invited us to dinner and he had us laughing and trembling. The details of the rooms do not consist of your typical electronic, technologically advanced props. Most of the rooms and hallways appeared to be something you would see in a classic horror movie. The "Alice in Wonderland" theme flowed flawlessly from start to finish with an added bonus "scene" at the very end! There are no concessions and the wait outside has some ghouls wandering around, but as "Dead by Dawn" explains on their website ... they are not there to serve warm doughnuts, they are there to "scare the S*%@" out of you. And that is exactly what they do best!



We were fortunate enough to go when the wait wasn't very long, but I know from previous years the wait can be long. However, the wait is well worth it as they specifically make sure that every room is properly prepared for each victim. You will never have to worry about being rushed or running into another group. The staging of the haunt is meant to play out like a movie rather than herding cattle through hallways and glancing at rooms. According to the website if you are 21 or older you can buy your tickets at the door and wait at a nearby bar until bartender summons you. PLEASE make sure to bring a designated driver if that is the route you choose. At only $15 a ticket you can't afford NOT to attend this haunt, no matter where you are coming from. I am uncertain the EXACT length of the haunt, but we estimated it at about 25-30 minutes! My group is already making plans for a second visit this year!

Summary

House of Bathory is THE place for fear seekers. I would NOT recommend this haunt to anyone who scares easily and is afraid to get on their hands and knees. If you think haunted houses aren't scary, then this IS the haunt to attend!

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by CC2 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review


One never knows what they will come across in a cornfield in Washington County, as it turns out.



On your visit to the Haunted Cornfield, you will traverse a glowing spider web and eventually meet its spitting creator.



There is a pirate ship with its captain and a surprise guest.



Throughout the field, you will encounter glowing red and white eyes staring at you from the dark amidst the sounds of the night.



There are witches brewing concoctions in cauldrons and aliens that have found earth to be a fertile area for colonization.



You will meet the Wolfman and will contemplate a solitary walk through a graveyard.



On your trip, you will pass through a house of confusion with tapestry the same pattern as the walls.



Prior to entering the maze, there are plenty of options for how to spend your time.



The Cornfield is a pumpkin farm and has an impressive array of pumpkins, squash and gourds to buy.



There is also a gift shop on site selling Halloween themed gifts and a snack area selling cider and caramel apples among other fall treats.



The staff maintain a raised fire pit and snacks are sold in that area.



I am told they tell scary stories around the fire. When I visited, people sat and enjoyed the warmth in silence awaiting their call into the field.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The Cornfield is in a fairly rural location. The directions on the website are helpful and my GPS found it with no difficulty.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Once actually in line, there isn't much to do but wait once your ticket number grouping is called.

Prior to being called, there is plenty of browsing to do through the rows of pumpkins, in the gift shop and around the grounds.

As was mentioned, there is a very pleasant bonfire to sit by to pass the time while you are waiting for your group to be called.

There is a digital message board near the fire that lets you know what groups are currently able to wait in line.

Plenty of snacks, etc. are available.

This is really one of the more rich Halloween environments to pass time in.

Actors' Performance


I particularly appreciated the actor's portraying animals in an area where you eventually end up in a shrinking cage.

Overall, all of the live performers in the field had invested involvements with us and seemed to enjoy their roles. Costuming and make up were above average.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The creators of the cornfield did a remarkable job of setting up scenes in the field and having lots of audio and smaller scenes in-between the major stops.

There is plenty to pay attention to in your walk through the corn. Quiet moments are few and beware when it becomes too quiet.

Warning: there is a very heavy reliance on strobe lights in the field if you are sensitive to that.

Length


Depending on the pace of your walk, your journey through the field should take you about a half hour.

Crowd Control


For my visit, groups were being called 50 at a time. Groups were sent into the maze in about 5 minute intervals and they were allowing individual couples and small groups to enter on their own vs in pre-set groupings like 8 at a time, etc. This added to the wait, but improved the overall individual experience.

Most Memorable Moment


For my group, we particularly appreciated the scene with a pirate ship and also the area that eventually evolves into a caging. The actors in that area in particular gave very lively performances.

Summary

I really enjoyed this event. The walk through the field really makes you have to keep your wits about you and there is some kind of stimulation either audio or visual throughout the field. This was a very satisfying visit and is highly recommended.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by JoeyJr after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Sensory overload for me, but I'm not a teenager anymore! LOL If you are into loud music and being lost in the dark you'll love it. They put on a good scare! By the end of the haunt my nerves were definitely rattled.

Summary

Not my bag, but well done!

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by JoeyJr after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This was our first year visiting this haunt. Dawn was an extremely gravious host! The haunt was fantastic. The details in the rooms are over the top. Loved it!

Summary

Great haunt and totally worth the money!

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by JoeyJr after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I was disappointed to hear The Theater of Lost Souls moved to Manitowoc, however we had so much fun in previous years we felt it was worth the drive. We were NOT disappointed! The new location is excellent.

Summary

Great haunt!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by cbranger after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

I went to the Factory of Fear in Racine with quite a few people from my school. It was relatively easy to find other than the few detours due to the construction in Racine. There were signs and a gentleman outside to help people if need be.
There was parking right next to warehouse where the haunt was located. There weren't that many people there so we were able to walk right into the building without much of a wait. There was also a carnival truck there selling various snacks if you wanted. Nothing to special.
Once we paid and got our ticket we went up some stairs where we waited. You were able to be in a group up to 4, but some exceptions were made for 5. Obviously everyone is freaking out because we don't know what to expect with this haunted house. All we could hear is screaming and the sound of a chainsaw. Once you walk in you're put into this dark room and all you see in the far left corner was a clown sitting in a chair. I for one thought that the clown was fake and that as we walked by and weren't scared by it, but then all we heard was laughing from behind us and the clown was on our backs. Quite scary. The other parts were like a typical haunted house you walk through dark hallways and go into various rooms with different settings. But what I wasn't prepared for was random characters jumping out of the walls. That's scared the you know what out me. But these characters really liked to follow you. So I wouldn't be in the back. Some of the rooms were kind of disturbing and quite scary. My favorite scene was probably the reenactment of "The Ring" girl, I thought that actor did every well and it scared me. The haunt was relatively short, about 10 minutes, but it was only $12.50.

Summary

Reading reviews from last year for this haunt I was skeptical of how good it would be and honestly expected it to be a poor haunt, but overall I thought it was very good. The actors were great, the scenes were disturbing, and it had strobe lights! I would really recommend this haunt if you live in the Milwaukee area and don't want to go to far and don't want to spend too much money. Thanks for a good time Racine Factory of Fear!

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review


I have to say that this is the first time that I have visited this haunted house even though that I had great things about this haunt since I was 16. I am happy to say that those excited murmurings proved true.



The event started off slow. I had to wait for my number to be called and then have the rules of the house explained to me by a mad doctor but after that the fun began! The entrance was perfect. A creepy door, slowly opening and fog pouring out. This opening, in one word, was creepy.



The attention to detail and entertainment value only continued. The scares began only seconds after I set foot in the haunt. These guys know how to scare. They used extreme darkness and strobes well. When you expected a scare because of the set-up they didn't scare you. When you passed that point that is when they got you. I loved it. They really had the art of the haunted house down to a science.



I have to be honest, at the beginning I was nervous when I heard this haunt had inventive animatronics. I have often found when haunts start collecting animatronics they start relying WAY too much on the technology and not enough on living and breathing actors. Terror on Rural, however, knew what to do with this technology. They used it to help the actors do what they need to do. This was great to see.



I will touch more on this later but right now I have to say that you can tell that the men and women that run this haunt put their all into making it highly entertaining. The scenes and effects were amazing. They were some of the best that I have seen in a long time.



One of the most interesting aspects of this haunt is that it forced those within the 4 or 5 person group (even if they were strangers) to come together and hold on to each other to get to the next area. Why? This house had some VERY dark areas. We are talking you-cannot-see-your-hand-in-front-of-your-face dark. So get ready to get close to whoever. That may be the only way to get through without running into a wall.



Quite simply this place was great. Just entertainment value alone makes this event well worth visiting. Terror on Rural Street had no lack of scares, no lack of effects, and no lack of fun.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Easy navigation AND easy to find makes this haunt fast and easy to get to. The haunt did a great job in putting signs where they were visible.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


It appears that this haunt does a great job in moving people through the house. I arrived at 8:30PM, not long after the event had started, and I only had to wait about 6 minutes before my number was called and I was admitted into the house. The waiting area had a concession stand available and had stilt walkers in costume outside for entertainment. All in all a pleasant area while waiting to enter the house.

Actors' Performance


One word...Excellent. I have been in the haunted house industry for over 6 years and I have always stood by that actors are what make or break a haunt. The actors at Terror on Rural Street constantly stayed in character, even if you attempted to have a casual conversation with the spook. The actors were definitely on their toes. Exceptional work on their part.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets and scenes were detailed and fitted the theme. Many sets were interactive where I was squirted with "blood" from an operating table to where I had to push my way through body parts hanging on a rotating and bloody wheel. This really made me feel part of the experience.



The props were also great. The haunt did a great job of making the room look like it is supposed to look. The "operating room" did not just have a table and medical instruments. This haunt's room had everything that you would expect to find in a mad doctor's lab. The effort to pull the person into the scene is obvious and I really enjoyed that effort.



Finally the FX. I won't ruin what you will find in the house but what I will say is that I saw some amazing FX that I have never seen before. The FX were definitely a new way of distorting your concentration and focus. Everything you need to make a good scare. So go and check it out. I think you will be impressed too!

Length


Not including the miniscule wait the whole house took about 35 minutes to get through (and I have to admit I was walking pretty quickly...to the dismay of the two girls behind me). I will add, however, that this haunt did such a good job at distorting your senses and messing with your mind that it felt as if you had been in the house much much longer.

Crowd Control


There was no crowd to control when I arrived but the event had this problem under control (I am sure) with two Washington County deputies being on site and monitoring those that were coming and going.

Most Memorable Moment


I really do not like this part because I do not like giving scares away to those that are heading to the event so this is all I will say...there is no crosswalk to speak of, so watch out for the car. :p

Summary

This haunt had something for everyone. If you do not jump at least once during this haunt there is something wrong with you. Great scenes, great actors, and great fun, this haunt is definitely a 5 out of 5.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review


I really enjoyed this haunt this year! We arrived pretty late on a Friday night (around 11 pm), so it was really busy and we had to wait quite a while to get into the house - we got in around midnight. However, there was plenty to keep us entertained while we waited - there is a concession stand, a DJ playing music, and scary movies playing on a giant screen. I actually feel like the wait made the haunt seem scarier because we kept seeing people coming out crying or screaming, so we were psyching ourselves out a bit.



Once inside the haunt, we were put in an elevator (creepy!!!) and moved on to a ton of really creepy and well designed rooms with some great actors. Some people may not agree, but I acually really love children actors since I think they're incredibly creepy, so I liked that in this haunt. And I got a lot of weary looks from actors, too - they relied more on a psychological thrill than jumping out and saying "boo" as often as possible, and I think that's great!



The haunt plays with the senses a bit too; it's difficult to explain how, but you'll understand when you go through. There's a few mazes in this haunt and WOW did we get turned around and confused, but it was pretty entertaining. I liked this haunt more this year than I did last year, so kudos for making it even better this time around!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find - it's located at State Fair Park.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


They use a ticket system, so you don't have to wait in line the whole time. You get into line once your ticket number is called, so that gives you time to walk around and check out all the other things going on. There's a lot of actors walking around scaring people, which is always fun.

Actors' Performance


I really thought they did a good job. Like I said above, it was more psychological and less jumping out and hoping they scare you, and I really like that.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


I like the scenes that messed with your head - the elevators, the mazes, the tunnel!

Length


We waited to get into the house for about an hour and then it took us maybe fifteen minutes to get through the whole thing.

Crowd Control


They did a good job of crowd control. I'm not sure if they served alcohol here or not, but there were certainly a lot of drunk people and I think I saw a few bottles of beer... but I'd rather they didn't allow it since I saw plenty of vomit. I just don't think haunted houses mix well with alcohol. But they did have plenty of police officers on hand for any problems. Otherwise, it was all pretty well done since they used the ticket system and you didn't have to wait in line for quite so long.

Most Memorable Moment


I think the mazes (both red and white and cage mazes) were really disorienting and a great addition to this haunt.

Summary

Nice job Hauntfest!

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Animeko after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The Burial Chamber Complex has everything you know and love about great haunted houses, and more.

If you love the haunted trail experience, head to Phobia, where you'll run into creepy hillbillies and tons of actors that pop out of everywhere. (Personally I don't get scared by actors popping out at me anymore, so I wished there were more characters to interact with. I would have loved to see that classic chainsaw man too!)

If zombie army men, a toxic acid chamber, a clown on stilts, creepy surgeons that try to operate on you, a train that rushes in front of you, and actors that climb all over the walls, sounds like your idea of classic haunted house-y fun, Adrenaline is where its at. OR if you want a little crazier, highly entertaining experience fully equipped with a Vortex and several fun rooms after you're entirely disoriented- Insanity is right up your ally.

For opening weekend, I was truly blown away at the quality of this haunt, and I have a feeling that it's only going to get better. Other than my comments above regarding Phobia, my only other desire is for the actors outside to find more ways to jazz up the crowd. However, the videos were really entertaining and there were plenty of snacks available to keep us occupied, and the longest my group waited in line was 45 minutes.

The Burial Chamber Haunted Complex is definitely a haunt you can't miss this October. I had an awesome, AWESOME time, and can't wait to go again!

Summary

A must see haunted attraction!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review


Monster Mayhem is really a unique haunt in Milwaukee and I enjoyed it! I was a little disappointed that there is very little "scary" atmosphere when you arrive since it is located in the basement of a busy restaurant and you actually have to walk through part of the restaurant to get to it. We had a short wait and once inside, you completely forgot that you're in a restaurant basement.



The hallway (stairwell) we waited in was fun and scary since there were actors in there with us (and by the way, kudos to the actor in the stairwell - so creepy!!). Also, the guys on the intercom, though not at all scary, were incredibly entertaining and we liked them a lot! What I liked the most about this haunt was the unique theme employed throughout - I won't say much about it, but everything was connected and there was a story to follow, and I really liked that! Also, they used quite a few actors in makeup and costumes as opposed to animatronic scares, which was really nice. Lastly, although the trip through the haunt was pretty quick, my friends and I really enjoyed that there were scenes throughout that caused you to stop and listen to the actors rather than just running straight through without any interaction. Overall - well done!


Signage / Visibility / Location


I used my GPS and it was really easy to find. It's located in the basement of a restaurant, so there is plenty of parking. Once inside the building, just follow the signs to get to the entrance.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


You can sit in the restaurant while you're waiting, but we didn't have to wait very long, so we went right in to the hallway/stairwell entrance. While waiting to enter here, there was a little entertainment in the form of creepy actors and entertaining individuals on an intercom who kept talking to us.

Actors' Performance


I thought the actors did a great job - they really interacted with all of us which I always appreciate! It's an interesting concept to involve the audience in the whole storyline, but I really think it worked well for this haunt!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


It was all pretty standard. Lots of darkness and some interesting and unique scenes that I enjoyed. I really enjoyed the elevators!

Length


It took us maybe about 10 minutes to get into the house and maybe another 10 minutes to make it through the whole thing.

Crowd Control


None was needed while we were there.

Most Memorable Moment


The doctor(?) we saw after decontamination... and the room with the "two buttons."

Summary

Nicely done. Although I wasn't scared very much, it was extrememly entertaining, which is just as good!!

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by JJrakman after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The haunted forest was really a lot of fun. I was surprised at how big the haunt was, and the variety of "rooms." The price was reasonable, and the wait was fast. They sold some treats for those waiting as well. The hearse ride to the beginning of the haunt was a unique touch. The little bonfires here and there added a nice atmosphere.

Some constructive criticism:

The only real negative was that the hearse had the smell of gasoline inside. So much so that it began to make myself and others a bit nauseous. Immediately after getting off the hearse, you enter a room that they spin around several times. This added with the smell of gasoline doesn't make for a good combo.

Also, the chainsaws were a bit overplayed. The first one was a hit, but by the fourth, fifth and sixth chainsaw they start to become cliche and lose their effect. The chainsaws also reeked of gasoline.

The actors for the most part were great though they could use work on developing a character rather than the standard boo scare. And some of the actors could use some improvement on their costumes as a few wore little more than a rubber mask with a t-shirt and jeans.

Overall though, it was a lot of fun and worth the price.

Summary

Great fun, lots of fun, but room for improvement.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by robone after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This is the first time our group ever took the almost one hour drive from Appleton to Brussels and everyone of us were so glad we did. I think this was there opening night so we weren't expecting much But we got a lot. Best 10 bucks I spent in a while. Not only were we freaked out by all of the special effects,we were there laughing our butts off too! They have a ton of actors with great make up jobs as well.

Summary

It's worth the trip and plan on staying for a while, ...not because of long waiting lines but because of so much to do and go through. (the vortex still has my head spinning)

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Fin 'N' Feather Haunted Woods

by bearybear after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The haunted house and haunted woods were scary to say the least. The Haunted house with its dark maze is really frightening. The haunted woods are well done with a lot of scare everywhere.

Summary

I would highly reccommend it.

View all Fin 'N' Feather Haunted Woods reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 23rd, 2019 7:43 p.m. CDT 1.6.3