2010 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

221 total reviews. Showing 10 of 11 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by touradn after attending on Friday, October 1, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This was my first visit to the current location. It is a very unique and creative haunt. To me there was more acting there than I think any places I've been to. Very entertaining and fun, but the fear factor was average in my opinion.

Summary

I recommend making a visit.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by iamcold4651 after attending on Sunday, October 3, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt goes above and beyond. Some of the most demented stuff I have seen in a haunted house so far! They even had a spinning room! Crazy stuff! There were tons of monsters inside, some of the best and scariest actors ever - There were even some people up in the ceilings! A must for any Haunted House fan!

Summary

Burial Chamber Rocks!!!!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by Mercedesb after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

One of the better haunted houses in the state but this year they seemed to have more props than other years. Not exactly more scary, in fact it makes it more cramped since they send you in larger groups. i missed alot since i spent half the time crammed in a corner. Last year it was number 1 on my list of scariest places in the state. the actors are great and they get you in the mindset to really get into it and fully enjoy the experience. there was less interactive scenes and less actors, and again alot of loud and unrealistic props that were not very scary at all. The little people are great though! they send chills down my spine every year!

Summary

All in all, a little less props and more actors. potential high scare factor and interactive with a little bit of everything for those with a variety of fears. i will continue to go every year!

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by Mercedesb after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Very different approach to the haunted house. You couldnt predict what was going to happen next and the fact that everything was hand build/made brought a "real" feel to it. I am not easily scared and this is the first place out of many that really scared me. There is a plot and you are considered as involved as the people leading you through it. its not a ahh oo look at that, walk through then your done, Multiple conversations with the actors about the plot and interactive. I ran a few times and i know i missed parts of the best spots in the area so i can only imagine how much better it would have been if i wasnt so scared at the moment. all in all best haunted house in the state that i have bee to so far! keep it up!

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by Jailhouse Jonny after attending on Friday, October 1, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Went 1st night open. Very little wait time, plus indoors at a pizza parlor and a bar in the same building was a nice touch. Like that they kept up the theme throughout. Good special effects. The monsters were scary, but well behaved (no touching rule was followed).

Summary

Good theme, good waiting.

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by majorXpsycho after attending on Friday, October 1, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Although this was not the opening night for Terror on the Fox, it was a very soft performance because the weather was bad and it is still early in the Haunt season. I was very aware that it would probably be very slow and that it wouldn't be the "best" experience, but I was too excited (rain or shine) not to go! We bought our tickets online at $22/person. You can just do the train ride and main haunt for $14/person.

Terror on the Fox is easy to find as long as you know how to get to Broadway. From there all you have to do is watch for their large flashing sign.

Before you travel the path to the haunt, they have a small "treats" stand with your basic Halloween treats. They also have a gift stand where you can buy several different Halloween related objects (however much smaller than previous years). For those of you with small or weak bladders there are plenty of port a potties at each portion of your journey!

The most redeeming and unique thing about Terror on the Fox is the train ride which will always be the beginning of your adventure. There are no other haunts that offer a haunted train ride and it really is a unique, "must see" experience. The train ride started with a very creditable story line, but there was only our group and another. We didn't see any ghouls until the ride was about ¾ over. The actors did a good job scarring one of our friends twice, but in that situation I think a lot of ankle grabbing could go a LONG way! The smog machine at one point became very overwhelming and we had difficulty breathing.

The 3rd dimension of fear was the first stop for us. Like the website states it looks like a toxic hazard, however I'm wondering if this portion of the haunt was supposed to be in 3-D? Again because of the rain and early season, our first experience inside this portion of the haunt was unprepared actors standing and talking (as was the theme for most of our time in all houses).

The "Void" was exactly how it sounds … nothing but darkness for a very extended period of time. Normally I don't like a lot of darkness, but towards the end when the rooms really start to open up I found myself very nervous. We did not see any "static" or "electricity" so I don't know if that is just a kink that will work its way out? As always it ended with everyone's favorite … the vortex!

Torment Reanimated was the final portion of our journey. From the distance it resembled a scene from Beetle Juice, with ghouls dancing around the top of the mansion with much better costumes, than the dabble of face paint the other ghouls displayed in the other two exhibits. Considering how slow the night was, I have to admit that the dedication of the dancer is OUTSTANDING! I don't know where he gets all that energy, even with a very small crowd. At this point we all thought, it's going to improve dramatically from here on in. While walking in the door you see a series of scenes which flow in similarities and even work from a story board perspective, but the acting this night really haunted this venue. Even though there was only one other group aside from ours we managed to run into them in the haunted house. We tried to slow down, but that just resulted in unprepared actors.

I have attended Terror on the Fox every year for at least 10 years. It is amazing how much it has grown! I like the fact that they continue to expand which helps extend the experience. They also do a GREAT job of getting rid of what isn't scary and keeping what works. You can clearly see that A LOT of time and effort goes into this haunted attraction. I know from previous years that the acting has always been a hit or miss, but typically if you go on a busier night (unlike us) you will have a much better experience. If the 3rd Dimension was in 3-D (I think it was supposed to be) and the Void had more actors and sparks, the potential for this haunt to be on top is very attainable. I will definitely go back later in the season!

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by thatdudeman after attending on Friday, October 1, 2010 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Directions: Very easy to find.

Waiting Area: Its in a heated area inside part of a school. There is food to buy if your into that sort of thing. When we got there there was almost no line so we waitied an amazing 5 mins. We had to 2 people in our group so we were thrown with a group of 4 people that we did now know.
The Good News
The haunt: It took us about 15-20 mins to go through the haunt. The whole begining part i thought was actually the best part in the whole haunt. The bus/police thing was a slick idea. There was a solid 8 mins if not more of 3-D. Which was actually pretty cool. Some of there electronics where really cool.The building itself its is in is awasome. I have been through a lot of vortexs in my time but boy did theres make you almost fall over. Most of them i can just walk through without using the bars at all. This one i almost fell over.Some of the actors that they had to do "funny" things did it really well. Who you gonna call??
The not so good news
Ok i will start out with the actors. The actors that they had to "scare" you did not do so well. There was quite a few actors that broke character. Some areas i thought had too many actors and they kind of used the same scare format for a lot of the rooms. What i mean by same scare format is you would walk into a room and there would be an actor waiting for you. They would have you either sit or stand in a specific area. They would tell some story and then actors would pop out. So it became very predictable. I will say that i think there electronics are way ahead of the actors. For a place that is called the hubertus house of horror i expected to get scared really badly and i go with very open minded.The girls got scared pretty good a few times.I think i would be as disapointed if it was not called "of horror" i think they should call it hubertus house of amuesment.I was watching the other guys in in the group that i did not know and they did not seem very scared either.
Top performers
The guy on the busy was awasome. He was in a jail outfit and so i asked him what he did to go to jail. He smiled creepishly and said rape. It was kind of funny and eerie at the same time. The ghostbuster guy with the hat was fricken funny. By no means at all was the area scary but it was funny i just wanted to stay and talk to that guy.
Details
I must give them cudos on detail. I just wanted to stay in each room and look at all the stuff. Tho they did overkill a bit on the use of spiderwebs and paint splotches i still think the place was very detailed. Each set told there story not only through actors but just from the stuff in it.
Buzzkill
I saw a few soda cans and bags of chips laying around. It kinda kills the mood.

Summary

Overall it was fun, i cant deny that!!! What they did not have in scary they made up with amuesment, high detailed rooms, and cool gadgets and gizmos. I understand they they run off of voulenteers but they need some "scary" actors that do not just pop out and say rawr. I admit i had fun, i came out laughing but was a bit disapointed that it was not scary. So i would consider this hautna double edged sword. On one side its cool, fun, detailed. On the other side, not so good actors and no scene that i would define as scary and or gross/nasty.
Would i come back??
I could see myself coming back every other year. So i will still be looking for a places that "scares" me. This haunt has just about everything but the great actors and reall scary stuff in it. Once they figure that out it will be one of the best haunts out there. 12 bucks i thought was a good price. but please make it more scary!!!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by chloe after attending on Friday, October 1, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Couldnt wait to go knowing this has been fabulous in the past, celebrated my Birthday with 8 others and we were not dissapointed. The actors are top notch and never "screamed AT us" but scared us with their "creepiness" and creative noise making. There was one point where my sister and I ended up "getting lost" only to be going in some sort of circle of cloths! Very "scarelarious". This is by far the most elaborate haunt out there, the attention to detail is amazing (I like to take time to look at scenes and props to enjoy the time and effort put in). The 2 Manors and Unstable were very scary AND very fun. I love being scared but not with cheeziness, and thats what I love about this haunt, the actors are really good and you can tell they love what they are doing and their goal is to creep you out. They added Labyrinth this year and it was awesome! We ended up in there for a long time. Kudos to the actor with the cute voice who lured us to "trust" him over and over. This was a great addition and was an extra treat in this economy since the owner did NOT raise his price this year but added a 4th event! (got our coupons from the website). With money being tighter this year for everyone, if this would have to be the only haunted house for me for the season....I would be satisfied!

Summary

We make the rounds every year and this is the haunt that I NEVER have ANY complaints about and the only one I know I can take guests too and KNOW they will enjoy!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Dells Ghost Tour

by comewhatmay927 after attending on Saturday, September 25, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I've been on lots of Ghost tours all over the country, but this one ranks as one of the best. The stories were all unique from one another, some (like the dancing ghost that harasses Dells hotel patrons) were just unique period.

The tour guide was charismatic and entertaining, there was little lag time between tour locations, and tour members were encouraged to share their own paranormal encounters. The fact the moon was almost full, and the wind was blowing, most likely helped as well.

The night started a little slowly because of mechanical problems with the bus, but all tour patrons were compensated with free entry to The Dells Comedy Club following the tour.

Summary

Fun and creepy. I highly recommend this event!

View all Dells Ghost Tour reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Dells Ghost Tour

by khughett after attending on Friday, September 17, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

The tour was given from a bus. There was no getting off the bus at interesting sites. A spotlight was used to illuminate some points of interest. Since it was dark you had no idea where you were. No literature was given out providing a map or addresses of the "haunted" locations or references for getting further historical information. Stupid jokes were used to provide interest between locations.

Summary

A huge waste of money and time.

View all Dells Ghost Tour reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Milwaukee Ghosts Walks

by HappyHistorian after attending on Friday, October 1, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Our tour guide Michael was great. He made the tour interesting and fun. I am pretty well read when it comes to the paranormal in and around SE Wisconsin and I only knew about on of the locations before the tour (The Phifster Hotel), and the stories they told were new ones to me. A fun way to spend an hour and a half if you're in the third ward on a weekend evening.

Summary

Recommended. A lot of fun.

View all Milwaukee Ghosts Walks reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 23rd, 2019 8:28 p.m. CDT 1.6.3