ad-header-top

2010 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

221 total reviews. Showing 13 of 15 on this page (2 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by danceluvr95 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have been to The Haunted Barn the last 3 years and definitely think that this is the best year yet. It takes a longer to go through this year but well worth it. The layout is totally different and much scarier than before – you never know where there is going to be someone hiding ready to scare you from girls at the beginning to the guys at the end its one scare after another.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by cagagnon509 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

What an amazing time I had at this show! Everything is super detailed, including the outdoors, scenes inside the houses, and the actors. This haunted house delivers the most bang for your buck!

Summary

All of the houses are super scary, and the story behind it all really brings you into their world. I will return to this haunted house in the future.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by msscreamer after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

There have been several haunted houses I have wanted to go to and this one has been top of my list, and let me tell you... THEY DID NOT DISSAPOINT!!!! They have been rated #1 by the Jounal/Sentinal for so long and now I see why. I have no clue how these actors do this night after night, but they are 100% in character the whole time, and their fabulous costuming just adds that much more to it. This is one of the most comelling haunted houses I have ever been too. LOVE IT. That's all I really have to say, LOVE IT!!

Summary

REALLY cheap for SO FREAKING much!! One of the best I think!!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by VolentaGrabe after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is one of my favorite times of year, and going to the Wisconsin Fear Grounds has become a recent tradition with my friends and I. They always have OUTSTANDING haunted houses there, and this year they added yet another one!! Seriously, the detail in every room, every costume, each make up job, and ever detail each actor gives their characters is beyond imaginable. I rank these guys up there with the best of the best!! Take the time to go see them, but go through all 4 they are WORTH IT!!!!

Summary

Great haunted houses at one location, for a steal of a price!! On top of that you'll scream the whole time!!!!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by Rachaelwild after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We went to 2 haunted places that night and Bear Den Zoo was the scariest place that I have been to! Creeps were jumping out all over the place at us and some vampire threw maggots in my hair! That place gave me the creeps! I used to like clowns but now I hate them! The hearse ride out to the woods was great and scary. I can't wait to go next year!

Summary

Fun, scary and lots of blood and gore. I might go back again this year with another group. This place Rocks!

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by owlie after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The last time I went through Terror on Rural was probably about 5 or 6 years ago, and they have definitely improved a lot! The lighting effects were great, especially the vortex and the green laser hallway. The actors for the most part were great, with only one or two that seemed new. The asylum/jail room was especially frightening, and the car (you'll have to see!) made me scream and jump.

Summary

Fun to see if you don't mind driving!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering

by DIhomehaunter after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This being a new haunt I had to check it out. The detail was something close to Terror on the Fox, I love the use of the mini LED lights, the sound could have been a little louder. I've been watching the progress of their build on the Haunt World site so I kind of new what to expect, the pictures do no justice to the real thing. The monsters were ok. the prego lady was good as was the marinate man. nice job Oblivion crew

View all Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by owlie after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

With the $5 off coupon on their website that you can print out, $25 for FOUR haunted houses was an amazing deal. Every room was so detailed and the actors were great. It was a great mixture of startling noises, sudden appearances, creepy stares and gross outs. I even heard a guy admit that he peed himself halfway through Morgan Manor. Seriously.

Summary

A great deal and a GREAT scare!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by DIhomehaunter after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

These guys put on a hell of a show. I have to say they stepped it up on the detail in a lot of the rooms. The effects are top notch, as the lighting and sound. I can't wait to go through again. If your a Splatter Haus vet. they brought back some of the oldie but goodies. I can see why they put the dark hallways in, so your brain has time to recoup before it gets blasted again. My hats off to the Splatter Haus crew great job.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by collegeguy84 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Great Time! Really Scary!

Summary

We went with a group of 6 and being in our early 20s, you want it to be SCARY. It was actually pretty good. Very dark, in fact half of it was in the dark... with walls coming in on you and shrinking hallways. Although it would have been awesome with a few more actors, the ones inside were really good. Kudos pig head butcher and jail cell inmate. Go with friends and have fun. We drove two hours to visit and I thought it was worth it.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by gregory_carlson after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Decided to make my first Haunt visit to Haunted High and the plan worked out well. I had brought my sister's kids up for the weekend and brought them and my oldest (ages of 15, 14, 12 and 10) daughter for a great time! I have followed Danny Doble's progress on Facebook and was excited to see it in person.

Car parking is good, seems like there is more than enough parking close to the event. The wait line was great, filling the old gymnasium using caution tape and old school desks. Horror movie clips and video of those already in the haunt were projected on the walls. There was also a refreshment stand. Now let's get to the goods.

Our class session started with the group before us having a youngster too terrified to even enter. Good start in my opinion. For the next 30 or so minutes there wasn't a letdown either. Overall the atmosphere was great, going from pitch dark, to a little light. The best part was that most of the scares weren't predicable, since not all came at the darkest points or from the most obvious areas.

The mirrors area was great, one of the better vortex tunnels I have seen and hats off to our favorite scene with the nurse and patient getting 'treatments'. It was just plain creepy and all the kids wanted to move quickly past it.

The actors were all great (except one got caught texting by my oldest nephew) and had great timing. The group in the kitchen had some good one liners for our group. Overall, I was really brought into Haunted High by the energy of the actors. The atmosphere really was used to their advantage.

Summary

If you want to go to a longer tour haunt with lots of good scares that make the admission worth the cost, I suggest putting Haunted High at the top of your list of Haunts to visit this year!

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Schuster's Haunted Forest

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review


Ah outdoor haunts...how they have always held a special place in my heart. It takes a special breed of actor to work in and work with the elements to achieve a scare. Schuster's Haunted Forest did not disappoint. First and foremost I have to say that this attraction used strobe lights and darkness amazingly well. If you are expecting to be able to attain your night vision on this outdoor attraction you can just forget about that now.



There has always been something about wandering through the woods, freely, and getting scared that most people enjoy. The Schuster's have set their haunt up for success. When you begin the haunt you really feel as if you have been dropped off in the woods and you are working your way back home. This aspect I really enjoyed.



The haunt had plenty of scare variety. Haunts can get boring if all they are is actors jumping out and screaming. This haunt had a good combination of role playing type scenes and flat out jumping out of the darkness. The one thing I was disappointed in, however, is that there are some spots that are dull due to the lack of scares or scenery.



This minor "hic-up", however, was few and far between. The haunt still did well with keeping the creep factor up. Being in the woods alone (mostly by yourself) is enough to put anyone on a bit of an edge, but the way the haunt moves you around and pinch points that it puts you through it definitely keeps you up on your guard.



Schuster's Haunted Forest is definitely a must for those that want that "Halloween feel". Nothing quite beats woods, creeps, and only moonlight to guide you home.

Signage / Visibility / Location


A bit of a problem. A huge sign but no lights to speak of. You are coming to the haunt off of a highway so if you miss that sign...forget about it. You will definitely have to turn around and come back. There is also a distinct round barn on the property that you might be able to see. Look for that. If you have GPS or you are looking at addresses and the location is getting closer, slow down, and you will be able to see the sign. From there pull in and enjoy!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


During the day Schuster's is an entertainment farm with plenty to offer. The night is just the same. There is a market where you can buy Halloween goodies and gifts. There are also several concession stands were you can purchase snacks, drinks, and my favorite, kettle corn. There was also a bonfire and other smaller activities that you could do.

Don't have the nerve to be scared but still want to be out on a fall night. The event also offers the ability for visitors to take a night time tour of their corn maze. All in all there is plenty to do before and after the haunted attraction.

Actors' Performance


The actors did a great job, especially those that were in the positions of role playing. I never saw any actors break character and all actors kept to their roles. Further each actor had a unique way of scaring. This is refreshing to see as screaming gets boring and, eventually, annoying. This troop of actors definitely deserves to know that they did a good job.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


All I can say is that there is nothing better than use nature as your set. This may sound easy but to really make this type of attraction work you got to know what you are doing. The scenes fit the set...a mine shaft, a shack, and an old time carnival are all things that fit ones idea of a haunted forest. This definitely helps you feel as if you are in a movie. Finally the props and FX were appropriate as well as simple which was fitting for the landscape. Everything worked together to really create a first class attraction.

Length


The length all together was about an hour. The problem was that half of that hour was spent waiting to board a wagon, waiting to enter the haunt, and then waiting to be taken back to the farm. Granted the farm had a busy night, as they should, but what this means is that the haunt should be longer or a better way to move patrons through should be found. Is the wait worth it...I would say so but just be prepared for such a wait.

Crowd Control


Again another haunt that utilizes our boys in blue to help with crowds, disorderly people, and other trouble makers. Two Dane County deputies were there to assure that everyone behaved. Not one minute did I feel that there was going to be a problem.

Traffic control, on the other hand, left a lot to be desired. The event had A LOT of vehicles tightly packed into one parking area with little room to back out and head home (without hitting another vehicle). When I left there was a line of cars jockeying to get into a spot. That is another time you need to factor in.

Most Memorable Moment


I would have to say that the most memorable moment, honestly, was the wagon ride to the beginning of the attraction and from the end. The ride really sets the mood and brings the creep factor up. With the design of the wagon and hard core music playing as you are hauled off it really does set the mood.

Summary

Although this haunt has its rough spots it does not hurt the haunt itself. It is still well worth it to come out and brave the woods. I would definitely recommend this for anyone who wants a true Halloween haunt.

View all Schuster's Haunted Forest reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review


The Burial Chamber Haunted Complex is a haunt that I attend every year, and for good reason, it's that good! Some might ask if it gets boring... NO! Burial Chamber is outstanding each year, changing with the times to remain fresh for return guests. With three haunts and a simulated casket ride, you get your moneys worth in this haunt!



Burial Chamber doesn't give you three small haunts either, all three are huge, and time consuming! All three haunts are put together with the goal of making the customer satisfied, and spooked! The two indoor haunts are theme based, I won't give anything away, but I will say that both are different, and both are worth the price of admission by themselves. The third haunt, an outdoor haunted forest, is great as well. Something about a dark forest, with ghouls jumping out, and back-woods freaks screaming at you makes me wish this time of year was here forever! All three haunts prey on fear, and the actors are worthy of awards. All of the actors risk their bodies and voices to make this haunt one you will remember! For my money, Burial Chamber is the best haunt in Wisconsin! Two thumbs us, four stars, A+++!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Burial Chamber has plenty of signage, as well as parking attendants ready to show you the way to the haunt

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Lines for Burial Chamber were long, but this is to be expected, as this is one of the areas hottest haunts. There is no shortage of ghouls and freaks to keep you spooked while in line. Burial Chamber also has giant screens that play various music videos, horror movie clips, and other short videos that keep you in the spirit while you wait in line.

Actors' Performance


Year after year Burial Chamber continues to impress me. The actors in and outside of the haunts are well trained, seem to genuinely love what they are doing, and go out of their way to make sure you leave satisfied and spooked! My hat goes off to all the actors, as none of them phoned it in. I have a soft spot in my heart for anyone who is willing to crawl around on the ground the whole time they are spooking, and there were a few of them! All the actors seem to have little regard for their voices, as everyone one of them shouted and made noises that made my throat hurt! A+++

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Burial Chamber does not skimp on their set. The complex is huge, and I remember at times wondering about how much it must cost to put this on. All three haunts are well decorated, and the effects they use are top notch. But it was the little things that get me excited. At times you will think you have been walking in circles, they have a lot of disorientating tricks they pull! In all, Burial Chamber is tops when it comes to sets and scenes.

Length


Give yourself some time, all three haunts were long! Several times I thought to myself, "This has got to be over soon", only to be pleasantly surprised that it wasn't! It is long, but not a drag or boring! Any haunt that doesn't rush you though is a plus, and Burial Chamber seems to be all about getting you your moneys worth!

Crowd Control


Lines were under control, staff members as well as actors roamed the premises, I didn't see anyone out of control, so all was well. There was plenty of stuff to see while in line, which helps control a crowd well!

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable moment for me is a hard thing to pin point. I have always loved this haunt, that's why I go back year after year. There are a lot of sensory things that help the experience, which is always awesome. I always love the darkness of much of the haunts. A spinning tunnel is usually the icing on the cake for me. Personally, the staff takes the crown though. Everyone was so polite, and spooky, and awesome! The lady at the ticket booth was engaging, and seemed like she was really happy to see the customers. Great job to all!

Summary

Burial Chamber produces every year. This is a scary haunt, that is put together well, and is acted out flawlessly. Sets and effects are tops! This is the haunt to attend, I highly recommend it!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by spikeaura666 after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

i guess that marketing will buy just about anything. all the marketing that has been done to hype up the burial chamber had me intrigued, so we attended the haunt Saturday the 9th. and was NOT impressed, the floor in the house is so uneven i tripped and twisted my ankle, the "monsters" were more comical than scary, at one point i thought i was going to change my mind when one of them got in my face and just kept twitching his face back and forth but then ruined it when he told me i was "funny looking" that was just silly. the best part of the whole house was the guy that would twirl around in the hall way... he was great and dedicated to do that all night long, he was funny singing the limbo and all, but still not so scary...then we ventured out to Phobia, i was looking forward to this thinking that it would be So easy to make a woods creepy, we spent more time talking about our day than we did getting scared, we saw all the monsters before they came out to do their scare. i would have liked to see some fog in the woods and maybe some more monsters. seemed like they might have been short staffed all the way through.

Summary

if you are looking for a quick walk through then this is the place for you, just watch your step... i do not know that i will re attend this event in the future, its going to need more than marketing to draw me in, i would prefer a scarier haunt some thing with more darkness maybe some strobe lights and more in your face haunting and less comedy from the monsters....

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by cm3277 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I've heard a lot of good things about Morgan Manor, but had never seen it. I am so glad that I went! I cannot believe the amount of detail in the house, each room looks fantastic. The monsters were scary, and some interacted with us. Their makeup was fantastic. We were entertained the whole way through, from waiting in line until the very end. The only disappointment is that we didn't see the other three houses. I think we'll be going back next week to see the rest of them!

Summary

Highly recommended, you will definitely be entertained! I would suggest seeing all four haunted houses because the first one was so amazing!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 19th, 2019 11:09 p.m. CDT 1.14