2010 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

221 total reviews. Showing 10 of 15 on this page (5 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by HocusPocus after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

If you attend just one haunt this year, check this one out! There are a plentiful supply of scares and special effects here to satisfy even the most discerning tastes. A long dark winding road leads to this venue that features a weathered barn, a terrorizing trail and a vintage 3 story haunted house.

The weathered barn accommodates both the a heated waiting area and a concession stand. A haunted trail complete with graves, tattered shacks, a creepy creak crossing and a tortuous tunnel of terror (...just to name a few of the scares found along the trail...) get your heart racing before you've even entered the main attraction. The 3 story haunted house features an abundant variety of themes, special effects and interactive experiences with ghouls.

This year's edition of the Hartford Jaycees Haunted House had more props and special effects than in past years. Not all of them may rock your world but if you measure the value of your experience by the sheer number of effects this haunt will totally blow your mind.

One cautionary note...if you're adverse to getting dirty or crawling through low passageways this haunt may not be for you.

Here are a few of the highlights from this haunt:

** Length: it took 21 minutes for our tour group of 4 to complete the haunted adventure. (this is nearly twice as long as the Milwaukee haunts!)

** Venue: A terrorizing trail complete with a tunnel of torment prelude your adventure through a 3 story house. The journey through the house takes you from a 3rd floor balcony all the way to the bowels of the basement.

** Sets / Scenes / Props / FX: Both the haunted forest and house are crammed packed with props and special effects. If you have an eye for detail you'll be blown away with the elaborate decorations found throughout this haunt. ...in fact, the venue is almost packed full of props and sets to a fault as some of the rooms become a bit cramped with 6 adult bodies in the room. The house features several secret passages, trap doors, live actors, animated mannequins, holographic images and even a vortex.

** Actors Performance: I wouldn't go so far as to say every acting performance blew my socks off this year but there are certainly some very entertaining performances.

** Sound: Not once was I distracted by the sounds coming from an adjacent room during our tour. Given how many rooms are packed into this house that fact just blows my mind. All rooms appear to be well insulated and equipped with a more than adequate sound system to make you feel as if your group has been totally isolated from the outside world.

Summary

If you go to just one Haunted House this year make it the Hartford Jaycees Haunted House! (...which is in Slinger...) The sheer number of sets, props and terrain make for a very unique experience. Even the most discerning critics are sure to find this haunt to be a classic adventure.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by nlsteinhoff after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

LOVED IT! Best one I've been to in a long time.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review


Looking for the mecca of haunted houses? Look no further than the Hartford/Slinger/Hubertus area for 3 of the states scariest attractions! As they are just a few minute car ride apart, avid haunt fanatics are certain to be foaming at the mouth at the opportunity to frequent these three ghoulish gems.



Arguably the best venue of the 3 is Hartford's Terror on Rural Street. Located right off of Hwy 60 it's very easy to find. The parking lot is well lit and offers a plentiful supply of spots. The waiting area is heated and indoors and offers a wide selection of treats and beverages as well as an occasional spook or two to heighten your anticipation of the terror that's to come.



...and then there's the haunt.



I've attended this haunt with the same group of friends for a number of years now. Traditionally this haunt has been one of our favorites...and this year was no exception. A few of the scares were eerily similar to last year but there are also a few new scares to keep the avid fan of this venue sufficiently satisfied.



The fun and scare ratings indicated on this review reflect the collective feedback I received from everyone in my group.



Favorable Comments from the group included:


** I had a blast interacting with the actors.

** I think that corpse splattered real blood on me!

** played peek-a-boo with a hole in the wall...got the crap scared out of me in return!

** Great attention to detail with the costumes and set design.

** Just when I thought we reached the end there was another room!

** Liked the Vortex...loved the laser room!


Rather than to leave you wondering why Terror on Rural Street didn't receive a perfect score the following comments were made:



** a couple dark hallways had uneven floors...nearly tripped a few times and I'm sure the person behind me would have fell right on top of me.

** too many dark hallways for my taste...not really comfortable with a complete stranger bumping into me from behind.

** Caught up to the group in front of us.

** felt rushed as the group behind us entered the room before the actors in our room were finished.

** I was stuck in the back of my group of 6 the entire time and missed what was going on in a few of the rooms.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Right off the main drag (Hwy 60) in downtown Hartford. Looking for the flashing sign to point you to the parking lot. Great location. An abundance of well lit parking and a warm place to hang out while you wait. The court yard between the waiting area and the entrance really set the tone nicely!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


A couple 15ft tall ghouls provide entertainment for those choosing to wait outside. A heated waiting area with concessions is also a bonus.

Actors' Performance


We had a lot of fun interacting with the performers. Some may have been a bit young or inexperienced which may explain the pacing issues indicated in the comments above.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


A nice variety of sets and some pretty descent special effects. For those of you who traditionally checkout a few different haunts every year you'll appreciate a few of the rooms which showcase some creative concepts. Compared to other haunts, a few of the rooms here were relatively quite spacious....a nice perk for those who don't particularly enjoy being squeezed into a room when your grouped with complete strangers.

Length


Not the longest haunt I've toured but at 18 minutes I felt as if I got my money's worth.

Crowd Control


There wasn't much of a crowd when I attended but there were several law enforcement officers present so I'm sure nothing would get out of control if there was one.

Most Memorable Moment


The laser room/hallway. As I was stuck in the back of the group I'm not sure if there was anything in this room to scare you....but the special effect here was sensational.

Summary

As always, this haunt did a solid job of entertaining everyone in our group. A fantastic venue along with a nice variety of sets, creative ideas and solid special effects make this the best haunted venue of the area. It may not have all the bells and whistles to knock everyone's socks off but it will definitely satisfy your thirst for a ghoulishly good time.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by seriousehauntedgoer after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I had the time of my life, Best show I've ever seen! The actors were very real, they all had their own unique skit which was very surreal. not just a simple "boo or Raar"
The set was amazing. I loved the florescent room with the sad clown (my favorite) Everything was unique and each room was differnt in its own way, not the same thing throughout.
The set was done very well, lots of thought and engineering went into this. The train was very real looking. Definately upgrade to the VIP tickets, worth every penny. I personally have never seen anything so cool and scarry. I think I even came close to having an accident :(
I WOULD RECOMEND GOING EVEN IF YOU DONT LIVE NEAR THE AREA. the hotel pacakge was a great upgrade if you like to be a vip for an evening,or from out of town or both

Summary

WELL WORTH A RD TRIP

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Youth Go's Haunted House

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review


Neenah's Most Haunted celebrated their 25th year of fear this year. Neenah's Most Haunted is a non-profit haunt and all the proceeds go to help youth in the area. There are no animatronics and all of the rooms are designed by the students themselves. I have often said that the imagination of the youth is much more creative than most adults and they contribute greatly to anything "haunted". The students of Neenah's Most Haunted attend a class in the summer that teaches them how to design and how to scare. The students or "scharacters" (as they are referred to) comprise of up to 70 different actors throughout the entire haunt. The night we attended there were about 40 "scharacters" acting because of homecoming that weekend, but you couldn't tell as every corner masked a ghoul or two.



Finding Neenah's Most Haunted isn't difficult as there is a very well lit sign and plenty of ghouls wandering about the grounds. As we walked to the enterance one of my friends reached for the door of a port-a-potty and a large masked man with a chainsaw came barreling at him. It was at that point that we knew we were in for a real treat! The tickets are only $10 at the door (the most inexpensive I have seen yet) and again they go towards a really good cause. I will admit that the admission price had me concerned that this haunt may not be very scary. Boy was I wrong! From the moment you leave your car until the moment you get back in (that is if you make it out) there are ghouls surrounding you. The wait is outside so be prepared if the weather does not cooperate. The wait to enter the house was brief, but for me it seemed long as a werewolf was intent on making me his next victim.



As we entered the Haunt we were grouped into a clan of 7 people. The introductory room contained two very well versed "scharacters" and they were disturbing in a very good "off-putting" way. They taunted and teased our group until everyone was ready to leave the room screaming. However, we could not find a way out! The theme of mysterious exits echoed throughout the entire house. Nothing was what it seemed and even a veteran would find themselves confused and trapped. Each room was very carefully designed and there was never a point that we felt we were in a "non-profit" haunt!



My biggest moment of fear was walking through a hallway and hearing someone in our group say "those are REAL spider webs". I'm still uncertain if they were or not, I just knew I had to get out of there! You will notice ramps throughout the house, but that is because this haunt is 100% wheel chair accessible. We played a good game of "Ring around the Rosie, but after that each member of our group slowly disappeared. We regrouped and finally found the exit, but to our friends dismay the masked man with a chainsaw found him once again. The entire haunt took us about 25 minutes without a second of downtime. The only bad thing I can say about this haunt is that I wish I would have been able to make it to "The Hallow's", their haunted walk through the woods. The Hallow's is usually put on the opening weekend and is set at Memorial Park. It is only $5 to enjoy the fear of The Hallow's and I look forward to enjoying it next year when Neenah's Most Haunted celebrates their 26th successful year.

Summary

Neenah's Most Haunted may be inexpensive and not highly commercialized, but don't let that make you think that they can't scare you. They have been around for 25 years because they ARE that good! I recommend this haunt to those who want a great haunted attraction for a great price.

View all Youth Go's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by CC2 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I routinely attend this attraction as the producers of the house and trail do a nice production year after year.

There is ample space in their waiting area that is an old barn. One area allows visitors to watch movies while they wait. Last year the movies were projected on a wall. This year the movie while we visited was shown on a fairly small television.

The Haunted House and Trail has one of the better equipped snack bars I've visited with a huge selection of Halloween candy.

Waits at this attraction tend to be long. My party waited appx an hour between arrival and entrance and the attraction was not as busy as I've seen in previous years.

The trip through the attraction begins with a stroll through a torch lit woods. More props and scenes have been added to the woods this year. There are always well placed crew waiting for you in the dark.

One then enters the house after passing through a silo/tunnel that features some effects inside.

The trip through the attraction features three separate episodes where the visitor will need to crawl and that is excessive. In particular, there is a need to crawl through part of the tunnel outside the main entrance to the house and that can become muddy during wet weather.

This year's house is prop heavy and the sets are elaborate, which is always appreciated.

Scenes tend to feature a lot of dialogue from the actors, which can be difficult to hear and don't add much to the effect of the scares.

Also, some sets were dark and it was difficult to appreciate the make up and costumes of the actors.

My party agreed that the best actor's performance was in an area where the "procurer" with a shovel speaks to you in his Southern accent about his purpose before the scares begin. His role was very well portrayed.

It takes about 25-30 minutes to negotiate the attraction.

It can be a bit tricky to find as it is located off of Hwy 60 in the fireman's park in Slinger and the signage is rather subtle at night unless you know where to look for it.

Summary

As has been mentioned in a previous review, I felt this haunt relied too heavily on pop up/pop out props vs live actors and that diminishes the intensity of the scares. With overuse of that kind of a scare, the house takes on the features of a carnival midway trailer.

This year's house features a very nice animatronic effect of a girl with a morphing face that is worth the price of admission and probably the best feature of the visit. If feasible, pay attention to it for a while as it has many evolutions. Routing of visitors may necessitate you having to rush through this area, however.

All of the performers in the house gave good efforts, however, there was one scene featuring a hard rock music scenario that went excessively long and featured a loud horn that was overused.

The walk through the woods is always a highlight of this stop as very few other attractions have such a resource available and the producers of this house do a good job of utilizing it.

The creators of this house always do a solid job of decorating and it pays to look around to appreciate their efforts as there is lots to see.

Desite some of the criticisms of this attraction, it is certainly worth a look due to its elaborate sets, the previously mentioned animatronic effct and the presence of the torch lit woods.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by willyscream165 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I thought the house was really good this year. I remembered a few things from last year but most of it seemed new. My favorite part was the whole first part of the house. The basement and all the way up to the zombie thing was awesome! The 3D was cool, too.

Summary

We always make a stop to Hubertus every year and have never regret it!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by MattT after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Rather easy to find. Parking in the back of warehouse and out front where you exit the haunt. They had signs saying where to enter and guy outside if help was needed.

Was very little wait when we went. Group of 5. I did enjoy the fact that they don't rush you threw the haunt to where you are on top of the next group if you are slow/fast walkers.

The actors where very good. Did enjoy the clown at the start. Along with the guy who had like neon tubing running over his body. Looked rather cool. Few the rooms where kinda blah as to only had one person in the room and only thing in the room was few props. Nothing special in terms of design. Was good haunt.

Summary

For the price id have to say 4/5 Stars $12.50 seems odd and for being shorter then most i have been to around $10 i could have seen worth paying again for.
Fear 4/5 stars
Fun 5/5 as are group did enjoy laughs watching few the girls in are group run from the chain saw at the end.

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by MattT after attending on Friday, October 1, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Great haunt. We had to this one yearly. Cost for the haunt is very reasonable for the size and time it takes to go threw the haunt. As you wait in line to get tickets they have some snacks and such you can buy. The ride in the hearse is fun. And i like how they drop you have at random spots in the woods.
The actors where good. Getting you at random times wouldn't think they would scare you. Few even jump outta no where from the woods. Good haunt!

Could use few less chainsaws. Seem to be few to many

Summary

Over all very good haunt. Works great for bigger groups seeing as can all go into the hearse as group and go threw the whole haunt as one.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by christinak after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

We took a rode trip from Waukesha to Neenah just to see these haunted houses. Figured it would be worth our while since there are 3 Haunted Houses on Site! WOW! Seriously, each haunted house was sooo long, I kept wondering WHEN IS THE END?! The actors were so into their rolls it was AWESOME (some were quite freaky) Each house was different than the next. THe final tour was the outdoor tour and that was foggy and freaky out there! I felt like I was in a scary movie, for real. We upgraded to the VIP and skipped the lines. That allowed us to get some swimming/hot tubbing at the Comfort Inn - free shuttle service to the Burial Chamber was the way to go!

Summary

Made a long fun night out of haunted houses! I recommend the Burial Chamber-you gotta do all 3 tours.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by TrickyLady03 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

I heard about this haunt from a few people who read great reviews for it. I also did my homework and looked at the website and reviews and thought it would be great, especially the way people described it. Now I have been going to multiple haunted houses now since I was about 11-12 so Its been about 14 years now that I have been going. I love a good scare and a good scary atmosphere. Unfortunately when we went to The Dark Side with high expectations of being scared out of our minds, we were saddly mistaken. When we got there we saw lots of little kids around the ages of 7-10 and thought it was weird for kids that young to be there with it being so highly scary. Well at the end we knew why...it wasn't scary at all. Timing was bad on the actors part and the set up of the "cave" or "mine shaft" was so cramped and unbelieveable it was laughable not scary. You start with the mine shaft and then work your way to the carriage ride through the woods and go walk through a small portion of the woods and end with a corn maze. Sounds cool right? Not so much. The only somewhat scary factor of it was the ride through the woods just because the setting was pitch dark no lights and you could hear rustling of things you didn't know. It was a mind freak type of deal. And the only reason it takes an hour and a half to go through is because through the mine shaft you have to go in groups of two and through the little walk through the woods it is also groups of two. We were highly disappointed with this.Plus we did get lost pretty bad on the way there and back. Not a fun experience.

Summary

The eight of us that went were highly disappointed. The haunt had great potential but didn't surpass it. I don't think we will go again.But it is a good haunt for younger crowd, saw 7-13 year olds.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by Dr Caligari (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 6 a.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review


I had a lot of anticipation for going to this haunted house. This was my first time to what is becoming a classic. Hauntfest has been known for the attention to detail that they give there haunted house every year. It's got a great location that is accessible to those both in and outside of the city.



It is interesting to see the area usually given away to cream puffs, cows, and nature conservation booths filled with a large crowd gathered together blasting themselves with sounds of horror and enjoying the enjoying zombies and serial killers running pell mell all over the State Fair grounds.



The haunted house that they awaited held nothing back and was nothing short of amazing. The attention to detail in the scenes and the non-stop pace of screams and scares made what probably was a fairly short haunted house seem much, much longer.


Signage / Visibility / Location


Being that the location is State Fair Park, I don't think that most people would have any issue finding this. I did not notice much signage for the actual haunted house near the gate, which may make a person not familiar with the fairgrounds uncertain as to where to enter.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


For a waiting area, the people at Hauntfest can't have a much better one. The whole area is haunted and you can choose where to enjoy yourself while waiting for the haunted house.

You can enjoy music, a movie, or just people watching outside.

I will also say that everybody should try out "The Last Ride" while waiting to get to the haunted house. It is a few extra dollars, but it is worth getting a taste for what is going to happen to your mortal corpse after you have left this plane of existence.

That being said, I will note some issues. The night I was there, the wait was easily over an hour. If your not into dancing to hip hop or having yourself blasted with music outside (from the movie screen + from the music at the front of the house, which clashed most or all of the time), the experience may leave something to be desired. I think more people fall into this category than Hauntfest would want to think. Some people just looked miserable waiting to get in.

Actors' Performance


The amount of actors inside the haunt and the quality of their performance will leave an impression in me for a while. They maintained their character and their energy at a level that I would not have imagined they could have. The hard work they put into their characters showed.

I was especially impressed by one bloody fingered female zombie that worked the crowd the majority of the night. She stayed in character no matter what the crowd did, which is a testament to how good she was. Neither was she an exception, when looking at the other actors. It just helped lend to a truly great experience inside the haunted house.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


It is hard to get special effects and scenes of this caliber outside of a major amusement park. Whether it is walking through an 'outdoor' scene with wood chips underneath or staggering through a disorienting cage maze, the little touches that are added throughout really help put you, mentally, into the scene which they create. They utilized animatronics, but only to flush out the environment of a scene, which is often better than making it a centerpiece, as I have seen done in a lot of haunts.

This place is character-driven and the effects take a back seat to them, but this tends to give a better experience for a live-action haunt.

Length


It seemed longer than it probably was. I thought the length was appropriate for the fast pace of the haunted house, which may have left one overwhelmed if it had been too long.

Crowd Control


I was given a ticket without any instruction. The individuals working with the haunt were not that helpful with communicating to people what was going on, which led to large quantities of people looking lost after getting in. It also led to a lot of people asking: "Where is the Haunted House?" In all honesty, the staff looked overwhelmed the night I was there. Luckily, the crowd was fairly well behaved and there seemed to be little issue other than confusion.

Most Memorable Moment


Besides "The Last Ride" (which I will remember for a long, long, time), there were many good scenes in the haunted house. It would be hard to pick my favorite.

It probably would have been trying wrestle my way through the great morgue scene that they put on. Body bags are creepy.

Summary

Stellar haunted attraction, though the somewhat unpleasant wait to get in tended to take away from the experience.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by benofthedead after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

After getting tickets for this event, you get the benefit of waiting inside until it's your turn to go in. Not only does this haunt have excellent scene setups, but they also have worked in good transitions between many of the rooms. (Characters often interact with as you move from one scene to the next.) I'm a big fan of subtleties like that.

I didn't time how long we were in there, but it was longer than most haunts I've been to. One negative is we did catch up to the group ahead of us a few times. Fortunately, when we asked "should we wait?" one of the actors in a scene said yes. (I'm not a fan of actors breaking character, but I do appreciate it in this instance, as it allowed us to fully enjoy the event.) The actors in that scene continued to do their "thing" (I don't want to give anything away) until it was time for us to move on.

They use a 3-D effect in a portion of the haunt that is awesome.

Summary

I had a lot of fun in this event. The people at Theater of Lost Souls work hard to give you good time. I want to go there again next year....which is the best compliment someone can give a haunt.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

13th Nightmare Haunted House

by benofthedead after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

After seeing their scenes, you wouldn't think this was a haunt in its first year. Each room has a completely different theme and feel to it. With the option of ordering tickets online in advance with a specific entrance time, we didn't have to worry about waiting in line at all.

They could have used a few more actors, but I'd have to say the commitment of each actor was very professional. No breaking of character...each "creature" was a "creature" for as long as you're there. And the characters were well played.

I'd like to go back next year and see how they've grown.

View all 13th Nightmare Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by Dr Caligari (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review


Ahh...The Country...Rolling Hills...The sweet smell of freshly cut silage...The red barns....The Zombies.....



...Zombies???



Yes, something sinister has arisen out in Stoughton and it has taken over the farm. The adventure here doesn't just leave you inside, but it takes you outside into the dark, mysterious woods behind the barn. You get to experience all the trappings of a rural haunting.



I arrived early at the farm, which I had little difficulty finding. I enjoyed the wait watching the different families wait to get into the haunt. I was actually surprised at the amount of families there, as most of the crowds at the haunts I have frequented as of late have tended to the high schooler/college-aged groups. I have, usually, seen more adults/kids inside the haunt, than waiting in line. It actually was a relief to me to see families in attendance. It is diversity of ages here and the atmosphere of the haunt reflected that.



The haunted barn actually was a barn, with all the trappings of a barn and scenes which seemed to depict a more rural way of haunted living. This does not mean that the haunts special effects were any less than the larger, more big budget haunted houses. The special effects here were great and more effectively used than in many other places.



It was also cool having an actual outdoor graveyard and outdoor haunted woods, rather than having to put up with a cheap, indoor imitation.



I enjoyed my experience and recommend this haunt to anybody in the area. It could be considered a long ride from the city, but I think you will enjoy it, as I did.


Signage / Visibility / Location


The atmosphere of the haunt borrows a lot from it's surroundings. I honestly can not think of a better place to have a haunted barn. The Haunted Barn is right off of Hwy 51 near Stoughton. There is a big, lit up sign nearby to direct your attention to the activities at the farm. I had no difficulties in finding it, even though I am all that familiar with the surroundings.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There wasn't much of a wait at the Haunted Barn. They had several different snack stands from noted area vendors. They also had a small gift shop where they were selling small Halloween items. A few spirited actors worked the crowd. It was a great experience, which got you in the mood to see what was setting people screaming inside.

Actors' Performance


Very good. Everybody knew their lines and you just really never know where these actors will pop out from.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Really good, realistic scenes for the setting that you're in. Like I say, a lot of their props and scenes borrow from the setting they are in, which is a nice touch in an age where haunted barns seem to want to be just haunted houses in a barn.

The people here who set this haunt up also take you up/down/around all over, which creates this really disorienting effect, which just adds to the experience.

Length


It was a very good length. Over 30 minutes total.

Crowd Control


There were no crowd issues outside the haunt. The pacing in the haunted house, due to the fact that the groups ahead of me seemed to be going really slow and the groups behind me were faster paced, had some issues. It was such that, by the time I got out, I think I had run into several different groups total.

Most Memorable Moment


Going down a dark hallway and suddenly noticing that zombies seemed to be surrounding me on every side...even above me...

Summary

Overall, a really enjoyable haunt. The trip to get there is worth every mile.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 19th, 2019 10:42 p.m. CDT 1.6.3