2010 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

221 total reviews. Showing 13 of 15 on this page (2 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by louiscyphre (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 10, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

An enjoyable storyline-driven haunt in Milwaukee located underneath a fifties-themed working pizza parlor. This is one of those haunts where you're a legitimate part of the story, in that you interact with characters throughout and outcomes are dependent on your participation. It also has a couple of godd**ned scary points where companions and I thought we were going to have heart attacks, which would make for really good publicity for Monster Mayhem, I suppose. Oh, and read the website stuff before you go -- it has some background information on the storyline that will help you put things in context.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find, right off the interstate, Google maps very clearly lays it out, and there are big signs for Paulo's Pizzeria. Lots of parking, big parking lot shared by many businesses, all of whom are unlikely to have visitors at haunt time, I would think. I think there's a bowling alley across the street if you want something else to do post-haunting. There also looks like there's plenty of street parking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


This is a sweet deal. There's a huge pizza parlor, retro-themed for the fifties, with things like vintage jukeboxes, vintage soda machines, booth-side mini-jukeboxes with fifties and sixties tunes on them, etc. We had dinner there before they opened (their pizza has that really good bubbly-but-crackery-crust pizza that this writer grew up on in Midwestern Illinois) and there are tons of tables and booths. They also appear to have an extensive appetizer menu and there's a whole other barroom and a separate vintage videogame/arcade room for the kiddies or the kids at heart (I have the heart of a small boy myself...in a jar on my desk! Bada Bing! I'll be here all week!), really all that one could ask for as one is waiting to fulfill one's mission to investigate the strange occurrences and disappearances in the basement formerly housing Blazzin' (sic) Lasers (actually, I think that Blazzin' (sic) Lasers is the off-season purpose of the haunt space).


You buy your tickets at the back of the restaurant and there is some kind of projector which may in the future (we were told by the ticket lady) show footage of people in the haunt, which seems like a very very clever idea. Due to the time pressures of having to work the next day, we got there when they opened and were the first guests for the night (I would not recommend this, you want to go later in the evening so the ghouls are all warmed up and hungry for blood, but if you don't want to wait, Sunday night at 7 is a good time), so there wasn't really any wait for us.

They give you wristbands once you've paid, and I think they said they call out numbers for people to get ready and then get in line. The waiting area to get in is a concrete block stairwell, lit with green lights and haunted by a zombie lady and an extra-special surprise we heard about but didn't get to see, as we were lame and went on a Sunday night instead of the more usual times of Friday and Saturday and apparently the extra-special surprise doesn't work on Sunday nights. Ghouls these days! Back in my day, ghouls would walk a mile uphill, with just bloodied stumps for legs and dragging themselves forward with skeletal flaking hands, just to work on a Sunday night. I tells ya, no respect.

Actors' Performance


This was great, even though we were there on a Sunday night (okay, now I will stop saying that), these guys were convincing and obviously really into their storyline, dead serious actors who are intent on drawing you into the unfolding plot. You play an important part at certain points, and they treat you like you have a role to play in the action yourself. Ghouls were good, and there's this cage filled with slavering ghouls in various stages of undress crawling all over each other that seemed just awfully...unsettling.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Fewer scenes than one might get in other haunts, but there's definitely more plot going on than the stereotyped haunted houses of Oh No It's Freddy Krueger, and around that corner, it's Jason! And there's Michael Myers! And a Clown with Big Fangs eating a Baby!


I think they're really trying to give you an adventure here, not just scare you with various disconnected things jumping out of the dark, so, what they lack in cliche, they make up for in interactional opportunities. I love that stuff! We were given a mission by the guy at the front and had to play it out over the course of the haunt, almost like those LARP thingies all the kids are playing these days.


Hot Tip -- they asked for some kind of number code at one point (I think it was four digits), that we hadn't gotten, and so they weren't able to deactivate the bomb and the guy at the end told us we failed our mission (Sorry guys!). So, keep your eyes peeled for a number code or listen more closely to information the characters give you and you might, just might, get to stop the bomb from going off, though I'm not sure why that means you complete your mission. If I had a hoard of zombies and ghouls running amok, I would probably make it my mission to explode a bomb down in there.

Length


Oh, about 15 minutes to get through the haunt, a little short, but that might be because we were there, yes, on a Sunday night. Again, we had no wait, but when we left, a line was already snaking up the stairs and into Paulo's Pizzeria.

Crowd Control


They sent us all in twos, and this was important in the plot, not sure if they do this on the busier nights. It was really fun, much more interaction that way, but also less fun, in that you don't get to go through the whole thing with your friends if you have more than one.

Most Memorable Moment


The cryogenic chamber and its Occupant...

Summary

Enjoyable haunt where you play a more active role in things and all the characters connect up into a grand plot that relies on you to do more than just be scared. In some ways, it kind of made it scarier, in that it seemed, I dunno, more real, and you had to take things a bit more seriously.

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by CC2 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review


I attended with two other people to get different perspectives on Terror on Rural this year.



Both of them raved about the actor's make up and the large and elaborate sets.



On the trip through Terror, you will pass through a prison lock up, witness an electrocution and observe an operation on a patient with very active arteries.



There is a crematorium to pass through as well as an area featuring hanging, wet meats.



There are some nice sensory effects this year with a tunnel filled with changing patterns of light and another hall with walls that will close in on you backed by strobe lighting.



Depending on how easy you scare, you may not find Terror particularly chilling, but at the very least there are some nice scenes to explore and staff that want to startle you.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Terror on Rural is just outside of the downtown area of Hartford with lit signage to locate the house.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The house has a covered waiting area with benches and a snack bar. There are ample portable toilet facilities.

Actors' Performance


Everyone working at Terror when we visited gave good performances and seemed to care about creating a startle. Special remark goes out to the nurse who showed us her Facebook page and shared a few other jokes before encouraging us all to get flu shots.

Also, the "prisoners" in the jail cells gave particularly enthusiastic performances.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


As was mentioned, the people in my group were very impressed with the make up on the actors at Terror on Rural, and I have to agree. The make up artists are to be complimented.

The sets were lit well enough to appreciate the detail.

On our visit, we found ourselves stopped in an area with a dropping floor effect for several minutes. Apparently, staff were trying to regulate traffic through the house, but the dropping effect got old after about 10 occurrences.

As per usual, the sets were impressive and detailed.

Length


It took approximately 20-25 minutes to walk through the house.

Crowd Control


Visitors are routed through the house in an efficient manner. Ticket numbers are called in groupings and once inside the waiting area of the house, staff will assemble you in lines and share a few jokes with you.

Most Memorable Moment


All in my party agreed the most memorable moment of our visit was the walk through a tunnel featuring changing patterns of green lighting on the wall with a few actors waiting along the display.

Summary

Terror on Rural is always worth a stop. The staff routinely give invested performances. None of us found the attraction particularly scary this year. There are a few startles, but we tended to notice where people were hiding and some of the scenes are kind of predictable. Despite those issues, Terror is still a recommended visit and the effort that staff put forward to produce the house is apparent.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by blud_sckr after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I really enjoyed this event for all 4 houses for one price. Great scenes and decorations. My only complaint would be lack of scare factor. I scare VERY easily and I screamed maybe 3 times during all 4 houses. I'm not sure if it was an "off" night, but the actors weren't very impressive with their antics and their timing was off. Also, I would have liked to of seen more actors on the grounds between the houses (however, the man in the garbage can before the Labyrinth was pretty funny). I would definitely go back next year, but I'm hoping I'll scream much more often.

Summary

Fun and entertaining, worth the price, but don't expect a high scare factor. If you do get scared a lot, then you must have gone on a good night!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by sydney000 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I really enjoyed going to the wisconsin feargrounds because I got to go through 4 haunted houses instead of just one for the price that I paid. All four of the haunted houses are scary in their own way and you never know what to expect as you go through them. The actors there are scary and yet some are funny which makes the experience all the more entertaining!

Summary

You get your money's worth when going through all four haunted houses. I would definitely recommend to others.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by tasha1819 after attending on Monday, October 11, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I really enjoyed going to the wisconsinfeargrounds. I went 10/9/10 at like 10pm. The reason why i like this hainted house was because there is not ONE but FOUR haunted houses. I like that it took up time i feel like i didn't drive real far for only half an hour, i was there for a lomg time. I also liked that the people that work there could come up with quick come backs when you said something to them. I was freaked out the whole time, I laughed alot, and i was even groused out a few times. What more could you ask for in a haunted house.

Summary

So basically this was the best haunted house i have been to in Years!!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by mklady after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was our first year attending this haunt. We were not sure what to expect after we read the review but ad the saying don't believe everything you read. This is a great haunt and had some great scares. I loved the 2nd floor with the 3D very cool affects. The whole doctor scenes were also good and loved when the doctor tried to give someone in our group a shot.

Summary

We enjoyed this haunt and will most likly be back next year to see what new things they will add since this is there frist year in a new spot and have alot of potentail for growth.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by mklady after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Last year we attended this haunt for the first time and loved it so much we came back again this year and were not disapointed. They do a great job of scaring and you can tell everyone loves what they are doing. Loved the tea party in the beginning and crawling through the garden.
The ending was great.

Summary

We have decided this haunt will be an annual event for us and can't wait to see what they do next year. This is one you don't want to miss.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

13th Nightmare Haunted House

by mklady after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

For a first year haunted they had excellent scenes. The one thing they did lack was actors could use more. I would also recomend using "the corners". There is a lot of potential for good scares they just need to find the right areas to use. Loved the Zombies getting in my face and the one screamer good job.

Summary

Like I said lots of potential and would love to come back next year to see what they can do after having a first year under there belt.

View all 13th Nightmare Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by Dioxide_Dolly after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I loved this haunt! When we got there, there was a bunch of people in line, but there was a DJ and videos to watch while you wait. They kinda do this thing where they call up your tickets so you dont have to stand in line the entire time. Inside the house, there's always something happening around every corner! My favorite room had these skulls on the walls... they were cutting this guy open!!! I'm going again this weekend with my friends for my birthday! I think I'm gonna ask about working there...

Summary

Its AMAZING. I can't wait to go again.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by huffypuffer after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I loved hauntfest this year. Every year it gets better and better. It was a wait to get in but at least there was cool stuff to do in the dj room and they had a cool coffin ride that made you think you were getting loaded into a ambulance and taken to a graveyard. The house was cool i never knew where i could turn i kept going thourh wrong doors and hitting dead ends with creepy jumping actors there. the animated head that tells you about the house is awesome!

Summary

It didnt scare me alot but my girlfriend was frightened.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by Marion Crane after attending on Friday, October 1, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Of all the haunted houses I have been to this is by far my favorite. Every room was amazing and the actors worked well as a team. Lots of unsuspecting scares and the haunt lived up to it's theme. I went through twice and it was definitely worth it!

Summary

This is truly a unique experience. I have visited many theme parks and the interaction is comparable to Disney World or Universal Studios. This haunt definitely makes it a point to involve the victims.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by OnceBitten after attending on Sunday, October 10, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I really loved this house. It was totally new and fresh this year.
The wait was not long, the outside monsters were great and really freaked my friend out. The house as a whole was just great. Great detail, great scares, and terrific actors.

I always love this house and I was really impressed with the total transformation it took this year. A lot of work and talent went into it and I highly advise you to go check it out!

Summary

What a way to start out my Haunted House tours for the year. It was a great show and I can't tell you how much I enjoyed it.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by kathleena25 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We arrived to a shop that was called MadHatter. The staff were very friendly and the line was short when we arrived. Even though the line was short the wait was somewhat long. I came to figure out that it took a while so that they can ensure the best experience in the haunt and so that no groups could catch up. It was worth the wait even though we waited in a short line for about 45min. In this particular haunted house it wouldn't work well if a group caught up with how it's set up with the theme and rooms. The theme this year is Alice in Wonderland. Loved it! When we first walked in they sat us down at a table where the Mad Hatter and the crazy rabbit told us the story about Alice and the Queen. After they finished telling the story the lights went out. Sorry no spoiler alert here. If you want to know what happens go check it out. It was very entertaining and a great start to entering the haunted house. Also they can touch you in this haunted house which adds to the scare factor. They did such a great job with the story, utilizing the space of the haunt, and visual of the theme. The rooms were very detailed and visually stimulating. The actors did a fantastic job scaring the crap out of myself and my group. It's hard to scare the people who were in my group and each one had many scares in this haunt. There are many obstacles in this haunt for those who have problems with there knees. The House of Bathory is well worth it if you can bare the parts in the haunt were you need to craw. Once you reach the end and think it's over...think again.

Summary

Overall you will love this haunt! We drove two hours to attend this haunt and it was well worth it. You will leave this haunt talking about how amazing it is. This Haunt is always a favorite of mine. If you want the whole package in what a haunted house should be like go visit the House of Bathory! Well worth the wait in line and price.

Also if you go with a group over 15 you get a discount, which is an added bonus.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Cadaverella04 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Burial chamber was awesome! we went through all 3 houses and Insanity was by far the best! The actors were so creepy and one dude even sprayed me with water from his saw! Can't wait to go again!

Summary

A+++

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by ghostfan after attending on Friday, October 8, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We chose to attend all four haunted houses and were not disappointed! Each house was different and scary in their own way. The characters were both scary and funny. Even the "tough guys" in our group got frightened.

Summary

Overall these haunted houses are amazing, and I definitely recommend visiting them. It is worth spending the money to go through all four!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 22nd, 2019 12:02 a.m. CDT 1.6.3