2010 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

221 total reviews. Showing 11 of 15 on this page (4 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review


In you enjoy scary adventures that allow you to participate in your adventure rather than being limited to just being a spectator then you’ll love Monster Mayhem! Sure, you can limit your involvement in the Monster Mayhem experience to being just a mere spectator…but if you’re looking for an opportunity to maximize your thrills by totally emerging yourself into a horrific adventure you’ll definitely want to check out Monster Mayhem.



It’s not often you encounter a haunt that actually gives you a mission to complete. The unique aspects of this haunt don’t stop there. Custom made special effects and a very unique consistent themed story line for the entire venue give you the opportunity to play a role in this adventure. Probably the best way to explain the theme of this haunt is to liken it to a mix between Aliens and Resident Evil. What I particularly enjoyed about Monster Mayhem is that you don't just see and hear scary things....you actually get to FEEL them on a few occasions!



The superb acting, special effects and the detailed story line at Monster Mayhem made this a very enjoyable experience for me. While every scene didn’t motivate me to run for the hills there were a few rooms that made me jump or quicken my steps. As a result, I gave this attraction a 5 out of 5 on the fun scale and a 3.5 out of 5 on the scare factor. This is definitely a haunt for all ages and not just adults.



(note: one thing I’d like to point out…I attended this haunt on opening night and then again two weeks later. The experiences were totally different. One of the key elements of a participatory event is the interaction between the actors and the participant. As the actors were just getting acclimated to their roles on opening night I found the thrills to be a lot more intense on my recent journey through Monster Mayhem than on the original.)

Signage / Visibility / Location


Located in the basement of Paulo's Pizza / Pub. There are signs for the haunt but they're not nearly as obvious as the signs for Paulo's. Located right on the corner of 51st and Howard you can't miss Paulo's....but you may miss the signs for Monster Mayhem.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Doesn't get much better than this! While you wait....order a pizza, have dinner, play a few games in the arcade or listen to music in the pub.

Actors' Performance


These guys REALLY get into it…especially when you’re in the spirit of the adventure.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


If you have an keen eye special effects, the props/FX at Monster Mayhem are worth checking out!

Length


I must admit, the length of this haunt did feel short but the visual entertainment was definitely worth the price of admission.

Crowd Control


Both times I attended this haunt there wasn't much of a crowd to control. Given that the venue is at a Pizza Parlor / Pub the logistics of how the Haunt patrons mix with those from the Pizza Parlor Pub may be interesting....but as this is their third year of business I would suspect that they've worked out any potential bottlenecks with the flow of traffic through the establishment.

Most Memorable Moment


I really enjoyed the elevator rides…both realistic and disorientating.

Summary

Fun for the whole family. If you enjoy scary adventures that allow you to participate in your adventure rather than being limited to just being a spectator then you’ll love Monster Mayhem! Sure, you can limit your involvement in the Monster Mayhem experience to being just a mere spectator…but if you’re looking for an opportunity to maximize your thrills by totally emerging yourself into a horrific adventure you’ll definitely want to check out Monster Mayhem.

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The House Of Bathory is unlike any haunt I've ever been to.  Across the board, they stand out from all the others.  I was a little worried with the location being downtown Manitowoc.  I like my haunts in the middle of no-where, as it helps set the mood!  But what they lacked for in location, they made up for in creativity!

One of the big differences is the theme of the haunt.  It centers around Alice In Wonderland.  I never really thought of that story as spooky or even remotely scary.  That all changed after attending this haunt.  It's very interactive, making you a part of what's happening.

As we were about to enter the haunt, something happened where they said it would still be a few minutes.  As we waited, one of the employees entertained us with a baby monster puppet.  It was great!  I don't know how many times she had to put on a little show like that with the puppet, but she was great.  I was highly entertained! 

Once we were allowed inside the haunt, we were ushered into a room where we sat down at a large table.  The mad hatter was there, as well as the rabbit.  They made small talk and really took the time to set you up for a big scare that was about to happen.  This happened several times!  Tweedledee and Tweedledum also set us up for another scare.  I sure wasn't expecting it when it happened!   

One thing to note: At this attraction, they are allowed to touch you.  I can't recall the last haunt I've been to where that was allowed.  It startled me!

Another strength of this haunt is their use of sounds and music.  This was the only haunt that I attended this year that played some old school, scary music.  Loved it!  They also used several iconic monsters throughout, mixing the Alice In Wonderland story with more of the traditional monsters that we associate Halloween with.

Signage / Visibility / Location


It was pretty easy to find.  We saw the long line of people waiting to get in as well as all the hearses parked in the front.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There is a line that forms down the sidewalk.  Again, nothing scary about it.  But they did a GREAT job of entertaining while you waited.  They had a show based of the Match Game TV show that was quite funny!

Actors' Performance


These people really knew how to act!  It was very entertaining throughout the haunt, each actor played his/her part very well.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Many of the scenes and props were hand-made, and it showed in some rooms.  But this event was actor driven, with the props only playing a small part.  I'm STILL trying to figure out how they made Alice grow!

Length


We were in and out of the haunt in about a half hour.  We wanted more, but it was a good length of time and it's well worth the money.

Crowd Control


Considering how this haunt really takes the time to set you up for a scare, crowd control is very important.  We never had an issue with bumping into another group either in front of us, or behind us.  Well done!

Most Memorable Moment


Michael Myers made an appearance at this haunt, I think he must be following me!  At the end of the haunt he was following us, and then just disappeared.  Like in the movie, you KNOW that he will spring out of no-where!  I was so pre-occupied with where he was going to jump out of, that I took my focus off of what was happening in front of me...  until it was too late!  For the record, I think that was the highest I ever jumped at a haunt.   

Summary

Amazing.  I've always preferred the old school, dark haunts that scare the heck out of you.  The House Of Bathory is nothing like that.  It's unique and entertaining!  There are less scares here than a traditional haunt, but the scares you do get are BIG!  You have to attend to really appreciate it for what it is.  I hope to attend next year!

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by parthenope after attending on Wednesday, October 20, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was the best experience for the money. I got a whole night of great scares and great laughs. The effects were wonderful and so were the actors. They were even entertaining while I was waiting in line.

Summary

This haunted house scared me so much that I died. Then I came back to life and it scared me to death again. I'm an writing this review on a ouija board.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering

by blazepi13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

I attended Oblivion Haunted House in Menasha, WI (http://www.oblivionhauntedhouse.com/) last weekend with Mr. K, the easily frightened, and Cousin K, the former haunted house actress.  Tickets for Oblivion are $12 at the door, though they can be purchased online through their website (or their iPhone/touch app!) for only $10 and discount coupons can be found at various locations around town.  For the amount of thought and detail that went behind the production of Oblivion, this haunt is incredibly reasonably priced.


Upon arriving at Oblivion, the first thing I noticed was the loud music blaring from the building.  We purchased our tickets and, while making our way towards the entrance, found a wood cutout photo-op (bring a camera!) and promptly stopped to take pictures.  Just as we were switching places, we were greeted with a gas mask-wearing ghoul straight out of 'My Bloody Valentine' who, after scaring us thoroughly, was nice enough to hold off on chasing us with his pickax to pose as the "skeleton" next to our "vampiress" and "Frankenstein."  We were chased past the concessions which sold, among other things, glow necklaces for $1, and headed towards huge doors and the source of the loud music.

After entering Obliviiion, we were greeted by two not-so-alive "hosts" - one who was quite taken with Cousin K's neck - and we were shown a video about the rules of the house.  This was a technologically advanced way to present this information to us, but with the minimal information included in the video, I'm not sure it was necessary.  We were then shuttled into an elevator operated by a fantastically gory ghoul and arrived at the haunt  - 15,000 square feet of an elaborately decorated warehouse.

The attention to detail and production value of Obliviion is extremely high.  There were animatronic characters that Cousin K swore were real people and there were real people in places we didn't think were possible!  There were several elements in the haunt that I hadn't seen in previous haunts and everything seemed just a little too real.  The scares in Oblivion came fast and often, so you really get your money's worth!  The loud music throughout the haunt kept us from being spoiled by earlier groups' screams.  We spent about 20 minutes in Oblivion, but we were hurried along by a panicked Mr. K who pushed us through many a room in his efforts to evade following ghouls.

Signage / Visibility / Location


We didn't have any problems finding Oblivion.  If you have an iPhone, you can use their app to put the directions right into your Maps!  Otherwise, using the directions on their website should get you there with no problems.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There wasn't any wait to get in to Oblivion, though there are plenty of opportunities for food, photos, and scares right outside of the entrance if you do find yourself in a line!

Actors' Performance


The actors in Oblivion were fantastic.  Everything seemed realistic and energetic.  We especially loved the host in the first room of the haunt who was both eerie and cheeky at the same time.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Again, I can't say enough about the sets and effects.  It is obvious that the designers of Oblivion paid incredible attention to detail.  The make-up artistry was above and beyond and the gore was incredibly realistic.

Length


Oblivion lasted around 20 minutes.  This was a little short, especially compared to other haunts I have attended this year, but it was just as frightening!

Crowd Control


Loud music keeps you from getting spoiled from groups ahead of you.  We were the only three in our group so we didn't experience much of a crowd.

Most Memorable Moment


I really enjoyed the hall of curtains - I felt like I was heading into Narnia!  I also think the exit was phenomenal...and that's all I'll say!

Summary

Oblivion is a great haunt for those seeking attention to detail and a more high-tech experience.  It's a little short, but, for $10, it's a great price.

View all Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review


In my opinion, the House of Bathory is a definite must see. I first attended this haunt three years ago and have gone back every year to the point where it is now my favorite. They incorporate a lot of the old school haunt. I will warn you they do touch you in there. They are also very interactive. In every scene, they make you feel as though you are apart of it. Just by having you crawl through tight spaces or answering questions that the monsters or demons have for you.



This year they went with the Alice in Wonderland theme. They did a really great job at keeping the theme throughout the entire house. However, I wouldn't exactly call it a Wonderland. You can't even begin to imagine what is waiting for you around the next corner.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this is very easy to find. It is located right on the corner, just look for the line standing outside.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area of this haunt is located outside so with Wisconsin weather you should dress accordingly.

The line entertainment just blew me away this year. I went on a night where they have all different hearses on display. They also had a hay wagon set up with people dressed up sitting on it playing the match game from the 70s. This was by far the most creative line entertainment I have ever seen at a haunt.

Actors' Performance


The actors in this haunt blew me away. They were always in character and always knew what to say to get your heart racing. Their scripts fit in perfectly with each scene and it really made you feel like you were in a very twisted Wonderland.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets and scenes were amazing. Every scene was set up very creatively and perfect. Everywhere you looked there was something. The House of Bathory definitely uses every inch of their space wisely and efficiently.

Length


I would say it took about 30 minutes to walk through the entire haunt.

Crowd Control


They do a great job at crowd control. They limit the groups to no more than 8 people which is perfect. To me, going in with a large group takes so much away from the haunt. Not once did I run into another group during the haunt. They space them out so everyone enjoys themselves in it and you aren't rushed.

Summary

Overall, this is still by far my favorite haunt. Their choices of scenes and scares are by far the best I have ever seen. I would definitely recommend this to anyone over the age of 13.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Youth Go's Haunted House

by blazepi13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Now in its 25th year of operation, Neenah's Most Haunted is the longest running non-profit Haunted House in the Fox Valley and its experience shows.  This haunted house is a fundraiser for Youth Go, a non-profit youth drop in center in Neenah and is fully wheelchair accessible.  At only $10 a ticket, it is also a budget-friendly haunt!


Getting to and finding Neenah's Most Haunted is easy.  The directions on the Haunted Wisconsin website got straight to the haunt from far away and the lights, hearse, and lawn littered with patrons and actors (called "scharacters") let us know we were at the right place!  Mr. K, the easily scared, and I arrived around 8:00pm and there wasn't anyone in line so we pretty much had the house to ourselves!  From the moment we got in line to the moment we left we were constantly surrounded by "scharacters."  What was great about Neenah's Most Haunted was the amount of interaction we had with them - we spent quite a bit of time in the first room chatting with a couple of them and they kept scaring us over and over again, even when we were expecting it!

What really stood out to me at Neenah's Most Haunted was their use of false and hidden exits.  We were constantly searching for a way out and oftentimes came to a dead end.  Luckily the "scharacters" weren't too cruel and, after a while, would give us a little hint towards where we should go.

Upon exiting, Mr. K and I were both reflecting on what our favorite parts of the house were, when out of nowhere came a man with a chainsaw!  Mr. K ran to the car and jumped in, leaving me outside to be chased around the car!  The people at Neenah's Most Haunted are enthusiastic and full of energy from start to finish, and I think that's what makes it such a great haunt for a great cause.

Signage / Visibility / Location


It's easy to get to Neenah's Most Haunted and it's very easy to see from the street - just look for all of the scharacters running around!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We didn't experience any wait, but I imagine the wait is much longer if you are there later at night or later in the season.  The wait is outside so dress appropriately and be prepared to be scared while waiting in line!

Actors' Performance


The actors were fabulous.  They attend classes on how to scare and it shows!  We were really impressed with how even the youngest actors had no problem at all interacting with us and could have kept us there, creeping us out, for hours!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Again, the sets/scenes/props were great (and designed by the same youth who run the house).  There are no animatronics and no holograms, which gives every room a very realistic feel.

Length


The whole haunt, from start to finish, lasted about 20 minutes.  We probably went through a little more quickly than usual because we were the only two in our group and Mr. K kept running away from the "scharacters!"

Crowd Control


We had no issues with crowd control as there were no other patrons present at the time we attended the haunt (though there were people lined up when we left).

Most Memorable Moment


I don't know what to call it but the hall of tubes.  It was really scary to be so crowded in and have no clue where I was going!  I also really enjoyed how personal everything felt.  Instead of just being screamed at we were actually able to interact with people.

Summary

Neenah's Most Haunted was a lot of fun for a good price.

View all Youth Go's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by blazepi13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 15, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The Haunted Barn in Stoughton, WI (http://www.the-haunted-barn.com/) was, hands down, one of the best haunts I have been to...EVER.  I agree, that's a bold way to start a review - but hear me out...  


I attended The Haunted Barn with my two friends: the easily-frightened, Mr. K, and the curmudgeon ("I just want to warn you guys, I never enjoy these things..."), Mr. G.  Upon arriving at the barn, which was easy to find, we were greeted in the parking lot by a purring cat and the smells of seasonal sweets cooking in the snack stands.  We were happy to find out that parking is free.  Admission to The Haunted Barn is only $10, but bring cash - no credit cards accepted!

The line to get into the barn was short at our 8:30pm arrival (though it was much longer by the time we left!), but we still had time to meet some of the creepy characters lurking about - including a hilarious Beetlejuice who kept making appearances throughout the haunt.  Upon entering the barn, we were surprised to find very detailed, very creative, and very creepy scenes with fantastic characters.  Mr. K was scared by pretty much everything and Mr. G, against his prediction, seemed to be very much enjoying himself!  

After making it through the barn, we began our trek outdoors through an open area.  The air was crisp, the sky was full of stars, and the surroundings were beautiful.  I should note, at this point, that if you plan on going to The Haunted Barn, wear clothes appropriate for the weather and wear shoes that you would feel comfortable wearing while walking up and down hills.  After walking through the open area, we headed into the forest.  The darkness of the forest, the rustling of leaves, and the anticipation of what was to come made this, in my opinion, the best part of the experience.

After a long walk around the grounds, we were pretty thoroughly spooked, but we weren't done!  We were guided into a final building with even more rooms and corridors and some amazing lighting effects.  Upon exiting, Mr. K was breathing heavily and his eyes were wide, and Mr. G was in awe of the visual effects.  Without giving too much away, I, at one point, actually refused to go into a room and had to just close my eyes and run!  The three of us agreed that The Haunted Barn was our favorite haunt thus far.  Originating in 2004, The Haunted Barn has had 6 previous years to perfect its craft, and it shows.  I highly recommend this haunt and hope you all have a chance to enjoy it as we did!

Signage / Visibility / Location


The Haunted Barn is right off of Highway 51 in Stoughton and directions can be easily found on their website (http://www.the-haunted-barn.com/directions.html).  In the middle of the country, it's easy to find the haunt as it has lit up signs that draw your attention to the farm.  The location is ideal - what's creepier than an old farm at night?!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Though our wait to enter was short, we still experienced good entertainment and good smells coming from the snack stands while in line.  Bring some extra money because the scents are sure to build up your appetite!

Actors' Performance


The actors were fantastic.  One of the character's scream was so blood-curdling I thought it was a tape!  What I enjoyed was that not every actor was there just to jump out of nowhere and scare you - some just creeped you out enough by just sitting and staring.  They did a great job building up anticipation.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Fantastic!  The creators of The Haunted Barn take you in and out, up and down, and play with your perception of space.  The lighting effects were fantastic and the use of darkness was even better.  Even though parts of the barn are pitch black, the creators used a lot of tactile elements to prevent you from walking into a wall.

Length


We took a while going through everything to be thorough and to take in our surroundings, so the entire haunt took us around 45min - 1h.

Crowd Control


We had no issues running into anyone else until we got to the forest.  At this point we just paced ourselves and held back a little, enjoying the stars, until we were properly spaced. The pacing is controlled again before entering the last building so that nothing gets spoiled!

Most Memorable Moment


I really enjoyed being in the dark forest at night, rooms that played with your perception of size, and the pitch black ending of the haunt which I don't want to give away - you'll have to see it yourself!

Summary

Definitely worth going to.  Highly recommended!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review


Burial Chamber has always been a favorite haunt of mine to attend to. They have four different attractions that you can attend, Adrenaline, Phobia, Insanity, and the coffin ride.



Adrenaline was the first haunt that I went through while I was there. From the beginning you could tell you were about to walk into something that would make your heart start racing. There were monsters lurking everywhere and you just didn't know where the next one would be.



I then headed to Phobia. In the past I was never really impressed with the wooded portion of their haunt but they definitely added some very much needed changes. They included scenes along the trail that let you thinking you were walking through woods with cannibals living within it.



Insanity was the last portion that I attended. They start you off by watching a movie explaining what you might see inside the haunt. This part of the haunt I was a little disappointed with. I felt there were too many dark mazes and the scenes they did have set up didn't have actors as a part of it making the scene come to life.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt is very easy to find. It is located right off the highway. You can't miss the spot lights and the crowds of people waiting to get in.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area of this haunt has different concession stands. They also have music and giant screens set up to entertain you while you wait. They also have monsters creeping around scaring you even before you go into the haunt.

Actors' Performance


I thought the actors needed to be a part of the scene a little bit more. I noticed more of them were about popping out of no where and scaring you. I like more of the interactive haunts.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes were amazing in this haunt. They had all the gore that was needed.

Length


The haunts were actually pretty long. It takes about 20 minutes to walk through each one.

Crowd Control


They send you in groups of 8-10, which to me I feel is too many. When you are in a big group of people its hard to actually get the mindset of what is really go on around you. However, with the masses of people that attend this haunt I understand why they do this.

They did a pretty good job at spacing the groups apart. However, in Phobia the group behind me did run into me. I don't think this is Burial Chambers fault though because it was a group of kids and they ran through the entire thing.

Summary

I would recommend this haunt to anyone 12 and over. Be sure to arrive early enough so the line won't be as long.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by katie_kiesow13 after attending on Friday, October 15, 2010 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

I have visited this haunt for the past several years and I was pleasantly surprised this year to see how much had changed from the previous seasons. As always, I LOVED the walk into the haunt which takes place on a darkened forest trail where monsters and ghouls lie around every corner. It really gets you in the mood for the haunt to come. Once I arrived in the haunt, I found a few rooms that I really enjoyed. My favorite was probably the morgue (I think that's what it was...), but not because it was scary, but because it was absolutely hilarious. The actress who is in the "body cabinet" was absolutely wonderful - and she and the actor in that room had such a great chemistry. I loved the interaction and script in that room. Also, the makeup, costumes, decorations... it was all quite well done. On the other hand, many of the rooms rely on animatronics for the true "scare" which greatly disappointed me this year again. I actually got hit by a few of them, which really took away from my experience. The hard-rock room was really overdone and I didn't really see the point besides holding us up before we could move on (perhaps crowd control?) but my group got really bored in there. Regardless, we did have a good time and enjoyed a lot of what the haunt had to offer.

Summary

I suggest this haunt to 12+ or those who will appreciate a well done haunt, even without many actor scares.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 15, 2010 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review


The Hubertus House of Horror has quite a few unique characteristics that I haven't seen used in any other haunt this year - which I thoroughly enjoyed! When you arrive, you can purchase your tickets and wait in a heated area where they serve concessions and can even play arcade games. Although it's not scary (though there are some actors in costumes walking around), it's really nice to have something to do when the wait can be quite long -about an hour and fifteen minutes when we were there- and to be able to stay warm is well worth it.



Once you're on your way into the house... the bus is fantastic and something I've never seen before. The house (school) featured plenty of different rooms so it keeps you entertained. The other thing that's different in this house which I had never experienced before was 3D glasses! They hand them out and you wear them through I think 3 or 4 different rooms and the paint like... comes off of the walls... it's a crazy feeling! It was kind of difficult to keep the glasses on, and I felt a little dizzy... but I thought it was something different and new and I applaud this haunt for trying something outside the box! Overall, I enjoyed this haunt for it's innovation and new ideas, but I wasn't entirely scared through the majority of it. Definitely a good choice for a younger crowd, though!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Quite easy to find using a GPS or following directions from the website. Plenty of signage to get you there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


A nice heated area to keep you busy and entertained. Food concessions are offered as well. A few actors walking around in costume, but nothing too creepy.

Actors' Performance


I thought that many of the actors did a good job. The first guy that we encountered (a man in all silver) was excellent. He held me back while all of my friends got on the bus and he was really great. Also I liked the girl in the Freddy room.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


I thought the sets were really well done. These excellent volunteers here obviously put a lot of time and effort into this haunt and it shows!

Length


The wait was a little over an hour when we arrived and the walk through the house took maybe twenty minutes. I thought it was pretty good for the price.

Crowd Control


They use a ticket system like most other haunts, so you don't have to wait in line the whole time. Though little other crowd control was necessary.

Most Memorable Moment


Probably the bus ride.

Summary

I would recommend this haunt to those who are easily spooked and enjoy a new and innovative haunt with activities, rooms, and characters you haven't seen elsewhere.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

13th Nightmare Haunted House

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review


This is Dare To Dream's first year putting on a haunted house, and it's held in a old church. I’m not sure how I feel about a haunt being in a church. Granted, it does add to the creepy factor. But I can see how this might offend some people. I have to admit, I was creeped out before I even entered the haunt! Old churches can be creepy. Add some mood lighting and some spooky music, and I didn’t want to enter!



Our first few seconds in the house, we received a slight scare right off the bat. A wall with skulls caught us off guard as we walked by. As we walked into the next room, Michael Myers was waiting for us. Now, I have a soft spot for MM... and I’m not talking about any of my organs. The first Halloween movie was the inspiration for many of my early nightmares! So having Mikey following us throughout the haunt just seemed right to me. The actor had the mannerisms down pretty good, from the slow strides to the dog-like cock of the head. He was taller which helped too. One word of advice though: Dirty up the mask and suit. Both looked like they were just purchased. Mess up the hair. Get some wear and tear in the gray overalls. Make it look like Mr. Myers has been around the block a few times.



There was a great scene where we walked down a long hallway, and there were little girls (I would guess around age 10) screaming on either side of you ALL the way down the hall. It felt like we were in an insane asylum. They were behind doors, so I couldn’t make out what they were screaming. Not scary, but visually creepy as Michael was still following/chasing us!



It felt like there was a lot of dead space. More actors can easily fix that.



The final scene had some vampires in it. We walked by as they acted out a quick skit. Another word of advice: Get in our comfort zone. People are paying to get a good scare, so give them what they’re asking for



Not a bad first year effort, but there’s much that can be improved. I think the time spent in the haunt is the most important to improve on. Make people feel like they are getting their money’s worth. You can do this by blocking exits with actors, doing more skits in more rooms, etc... Personally, I would think that 20 to 30 minutes is a reasonable amount
of time to spend at a haunt.



An old church is a great fodder to build a story around and use to your benefit.



Some people will drive from other cities (like we did), so give them something to talk about on the way home.

Signage / Visibility / Location


There was no real signage for this haunt until you actually find the house. We had a GPS, so it was easy enough to find that way. The actual sign for the haunt is hard to read at night. It was a black sign where the letters were hard to make out until you're right next to it. In a residential neighborhood, and I was able to see the old church lit up when we were about a half a block away.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There was no line, and no apparent entertainment if there would have been a line. Some of the actors/children were standing outside talking.

Actors' Performance


The actors really gave it their all. With some continued experience under their belt, they’ll end up giving many customers some good scares and maybe even a nightmare or two! They might want to avoid being outside the house when they are out of character, as this takes away from the spooky vibe the old church creates.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets and scenes were good. You can tell that they put a lot of time into their first year. A great building block to build on!

Length


We were in and out of the house in 10 minutes. We left scratching our heads, asking ‘Is that it?’ I believe that is the shortest haunt I’ve ever attended.

Crowd Control


Unfortunately, we were the only ones there. We were a bit on the early side, so I do hope that it picked up as the night went along.

Most Memorable Moment


We started up our car, ready to leave. As we started to drive away, I could see Michael Meyers standing in the exit at the front of the house. He was watching us! I nervously waved to him as we passed, and he slowly brought up his knife. Classic!

Summary

There is a lot of potential for this haunt to become something that will have people talking. Their website looks GREAT, it just needs more meat. It's their first year, so hopefully they can learn from this year and come back bigger and better!

View all 13th Nightmare Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Seventh Circle Haunt

by BR1234 after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

So I heard Seventh Circle Haunt got better so I figured its close and it cheep! Things where different and when i knew someone was going to pop out no one did then later down the trail someone did! I like that the changed things and they added new things!! I recommend you go its cheep and scary!!!!

View all Seventh Circle Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue - CLOSED

by lauriecolon after attending on Friday, October 15, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is still my favorite haunt in the area! Every year they have something new.

View all The Morgue - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by THEMANWHOLAUGHS after attending on Monday, October 18, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I've never had so much fun while being so horrified in my entire life. Loved it!

Summary

The costumes,atmosphere,sounds, and overall themes were spot on.The actors gave it there all. Where do they get these weirdos?
If I wasn't scared out of my pants then they'd make me roll on the ground laughing.The price for going through four houses is pretty cheap too.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by angel25babe83 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

i went with a couple of friends and we had a great time the lines were a little long and the price is 30 but you really do pay for what you get. they seriously have almost every persons fear. four houses and they each take about 15 minutes. morgan manor unstable have so many themes all very well thought out torment is dark and has alot of small places to go through so if you have a problem with that i suggest you quit right away lol and the labrynth is a little crazy all of the actors are very much into their rolls

Summary

we had a great time and are looking forward to next year to see what comes of a new house

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 20th, 2019 11:44 a.m. CDT 1.6.3