2010 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

221 total reviews. Showing 12 of 15 on this page (3 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by bobbrieko after attending on Friday, October 15, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is my 3rd year visiting and it always amazes me that they keep getting better. This haunted house's attention to detail is awesome from the make up to the decorations inside the houses. Also 4 different haunted houses in one place for a great price what more can you ask for.

Summary

If you are going to visit one haunted house this year definitely make it this one. Easy to find, good price, and lots and lots of scares. Must see!!!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by beezers after attending on Friday, October 15, 2010 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This house is over the top. The actors are great and always in character. They interact instead of just reading lines back. The detail was great in the first one. The second one was real dark and tough to get through. The third has some real sick character in it. The fourth is just flat out crazy and these guy are doing a great job in this very tough maze. The price seemed high at first but when you look at the fact that you are going into four really big haunted houses it is very cheap, less then $8 a house. If you only have time to go to one place this is the one you want to go to.

Summary

From the time we got in line to the time we left there were monsters everywhere and they really know how to get you scared and worked up. This one does deserve the great reputaion they have been getting the past years as number one.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering

by NightCrawler after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I went to 3 places on the 16th and this one was by far the best! I really did not know which figues were real or fake actors. Excellent use of props and unique scenes!!!! Price was right $12 per person and NO LINES. This is a hidden secret and all should go. It is a little short but by far the best value I have seen so far this season!

Summary

EXCELLENT!!! 8.5 out of 10!!

View all Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by NightCrawler after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

3 time attendee:
Train ride is good but there is a lot that could be done to make this a very scary experience. Train ride was boring plain and simple.
The next complex was very fun but appeared to be very similar to previous years.
The main haunted house was also good but very similar to past years.
I went VIP and cost around $50 to avoid the lines. Honestly not woth the cost with the limited changes from past years. If you do not go VIP plan on long lines!

Summary

Good experience but changes/updates need to be done I give it a 7.5 out of 10.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by NightCrawler after attending on Monday, October 18, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: High

Review

1st time visitor to The Burial Chamber. Nice set-up 3 attractions. PLUS's go to ability of actors, prop usage & set up. Negatives go to LONG lines, if you don't go with the VIP to skip them forget going! COST is absurd for 2 people to see everything it was $80 and I bout tickets online and when I got there and saw the lines I had to upgrade, there could be a lot more done with the Haunted woods (just skip it). I would give it an 8 out of 10 but with the costs, in my opinion it is a 5 out of 10.

Summary

If time is an issue and $$ is not by all means go it is a great attraction but again I can't stress the long lines and cost associated to skip them.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by btweezy414 after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

We arrived at the haunt around 7:30ish. Place was easy to find, and from what I can tell only street parking. There was a line of probably 20 people, so not bad. They had 2 or 3 creatures lurking around which is always fun. The line was not far enough back but when it got busier I’m sure, the winding part of the line had a nice size screen with an old horror movie playing on it to entertain those in line. So after about 15 minutes or so of waiting it was our turn. We went up the stairs to the ticket both and purchased our tickets. The couple in front of us could not pay as they did not accept credit cards. So we got placed in group with 2 others making ours a group of 4. The rooms are a little small but the actors made good use of them and really stayed in character. Everything was going really well, until bout half way thru we caught up with what seemed 2 other groups. We tried to delay it some but still caught up to them in the next room and eventually it was a 15 person or so back up. Which can be a major buzz killer. It continued to be stop and go the rest of the way thru.

Summary

Overall I thought the house was nicely setup and the actors are placed well within the sets. Minus the timing problem we ran into in the middle I would recommend this house. It took around 15 minutes to go thru….

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by zombie-aholic after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

A group of 6 of us went to The Dark Side this past Saturday and it ROCKED OUR SOCKS! Arriving right around 9 we bought our tickets and stood in line. We waited about 40 minutes and then ventured up the hill listening to the story of the farm.

Once we arrived at the mine we were broken into groups of 2 and began making our way through the foggy and ghoul filled mine. All I have to say about this area is beware of the clowns!

After we finished the mine it was a short wait at a fire until our entire group was ready. About 40 of us got onto the wagon and were taken into the woods. This part was extremely creepy given there is little to no light and you cannot always see what is coming before its too late.

After our ride we were dropped off at a second fire and once again broken into groups of 2 and sent through the woods. This was my favorite part! The actors were in multiple places and scaring you when you least expect it. Also they were very creative in where/how they scared making this portion very creepy.

Finally after the woods we walked through the corn maze and once again we were scared senseless. A perfect end to a great haunt!

Summary

This haunt is a gem! The scares are top notch and there are many of them as well as great sets, lighting and music. The actors are in your face, scary as hell and dont break character. I thought there were alot more actors then there actually were. It felt like 100 people scaring me throughout the night but there were only 38! What The Dark Side lacks in numbers they make up for with creativity and just pure terror! I would recommend this haunt to anyone and everyone I know!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by princesszombie after attending on Sunday, October 17, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This haunt is becoming a must see each year. Ive now attended the last 2 years and was impressed both years. I wish I could go on a Saturday or Friday and get the full expirence of this haunt.

Summary

Overall I had a fun time, only down side was that it seemed to be a bit short staffed which might have been due to the fact that I attended on a Sunday. Great job this year guys, will be making a trip next year as well, cant wait.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by love to be haunted after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 4:30 a.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was my 3rd year attending Splatter Haus, in a word it was amazing! the only downside for me had nothing to do with the house or its actors was simply that the group in front of us was ridiculously slow so we kept catching up to them no matter how many times i tried to slowly manuver the house. in fact the actors actually helped with this in trying to keep us in certain rooms longer so that we were not bumping into the group on front of us. The house itself was a little darker than i'd prefer but that also help in the disorientation factor. Hats off to the surprise clown as i totally didn't see that coming and maniac inmate for his excellent energy. Also to Mr. Pig for popping up again after you've exited his room when you least expect it. All in all I definately recommend :)

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by melvinjc after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

My group was under the impression that there were 4 haunts to go through. After we got through the 1st haunt, we come up the the main house and then realize the one long haunt is really 3. Many people I spoke to had the same thought. Seemed they were a bit short staffed. The main house was visually amazing. Overall a decent haunt.

Summary

May not have purchased the combo had I known I was only going through 2 houses. Always recommend the main house.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by gregory_carlson (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Do you like to interact with lots of actors who just ooze (sometimes literally) Halloween?  If you like all of that in an intimate setting full of creepy scenes then make sure you visit Mar's Haunted House.


I feel it is important to note that you should not judge this haunt by it's 'cover', it may not be impressive at first glance but once you are inside prepare yourself for an experience you probably won't find elsewhere.  Mar's has quite a few mature actors that really work their areas, whether it be to scare, surprise and have you laughing (or all of them at the same time).

The passageways throughout are narrow, uneven and FILLED with everything imaginable and quite a few things I don't want to imagine again after seeing them.  I had props, scenery and actors constantly in my face or at my ankles.  Some of the scenes were better than others but the actors are really what make this haunt and they should be an example to other haunts.  Get good people, keep them year after year and let them grow into their parts and become GREAT haunters.

Everyone has ideal things that they look for in a haunt, and while I really like to be scared I also like to be entertained by people that are enjoying themselves just as much.  Mar's might not be the scariest haunt you'll visit but it may be the most fun you'll have getting scared.

Signage / Visibility / Location


It was the only place where you could see long lines of people waiting by a hearse right in Milwaukee.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait was over 40+ minutes and curbside.  There isn't any seating, that I saw, but there are a number of creatures and characters walking through the area to keep you entertained.  There was also a movie showing if you were on that side of the building waiting.

Actors' Performance


I don't know that there wasn't an actor that didn't hit their marks, scare or surprise at least one person in our group AND provide some of the best one-lines and come backs in any Haunt I've been to.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The overall atmosphere was very intimate, creepy and kept me off balance.  They really make the best use of the space they have, as all of it was filled to the hilt with detailed scenes, a few static and animatronic props but more than anything it was filled with LOTS of actors.

Length


About 15 minutes will get you through the haunt, some of the best parts are when you are stopped, waiting for the next scene to empty and you are left with the actors in the area.

Crowd Control


The Mar's staff and police were present and in control.  The lines were well managed as well as incoming foot traffic walking to the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


There was a scene with a small room with a bed in the floor and a bearded man dressed as woman in full gown.  His dowdy gown was backless, displaying his hairy back while he kept us entertained with humorous & witty conversation (and maybe creeped out a little) while he 'managed' the traffic.  There were many other fantastic interactions throughout.

Summary

If you're in Milwaukee you really need to visit one of the oldest haunts in the area.  You'll have a great time and won't regret it.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by gregory_carlson (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

If you like your haunts loud and over the top, you better visit Hauntfest in West Allis.  Be prepared to be inundated with loud music, sound effects, bright lights and movies...  And that's all before you get into the haunt!


The entrance into the haunt itself is a 'moving' elevator that goes haywire, we were closed in with with a girl who played her part with manic intensity and perfect timing to what was going on in the scene.  It was the high point of the haunt, but don't take that to mean it was the only fun to be had.

This was my first experience with inflatable walls, luckily the other girls in my group had no qualms with pushing me and I easily discovered the way through.  There were numerous dark areas with surprise scares to keep you on your toes.  

Keep in mind, Hauntfest is a "Don't touch" Haunt but that doesn't mean that the others in your group won't push, pull hair, grab shirts or do other things with reckless abandon.  You might want to try and ensure you know everyone in our group so you aren't surprised like I was.  I simply wasn't prepared for 4 women I don't know to go on a crazy rampage the second we were in until the moment we were out.  You have been warned.

Hauntfest is as much an 'Event' as it is a Haunt, passing on the creepy atmosphere and going for the loud carnival.  There were LOTS of young kids & teens to which I think that suited them well.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Hauntfest is at State Fair park, who doesn't know where that is?  Find gate 4 and listen for the haunt sounds/music.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There was a large wait area with some seating, movies played on a large inflatable screen and refreshments were available.  That's good, because the wait was very long at about 90 minutes.  Actors were present, most of the screams heard were for the guy with the chainsaw jumping up on people.

Actors' Performance


Let me first state that the actress in the elevator at the entrance was great, she gets groups for a captive performance was the best throughout.  There were a few others that did stand out but some rooms we entered had the haunters standing together talking until they saw a group come through and then darted about, which was a bit of a disappointment and not really gonna scare someone.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The balloon walls & ceiling were fun but the best was the shock wall.  Again, the elevator was great but otherwise nothing of note stood out.

Length


Going through the haunt took about 20 minutes.  We were delayed in some areas to keep the groups separate and we didn't see any other visitors while were were in.

Crowd Control


The crowd was large, but with Hauntfest security and police present there weren't any issues.

Most Memorable Moment


Some of the darker areas had 'shock walls' and the group we were with were pushing me into the walls but the most memorable was the elevator at the entrance.

Summary

The loud, over the top atmosphere wasn't exactly for me but if you are looking for a wild night to meet your friends and go through a haunt this is the place for you.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by louiscyphre (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review


Freakin' Exhaustin'! This is one haunt you want to set aside the whole night for, 'cause it's going to put you through the ringer and back again. Sweet satan, it's a 45 minute hike through a maze of the tallest corn this reviewer and companions have ever seen, they grow 'em big up there in West Bend, maybe it's something in the water, something like...Evil! You're literally wandering through corridors of corn here, it must have been 15 feet high, I kid you not, constant reader, twice the height of a normal person. There's a nice mix of animatronic and live actors sprinkled throughout the haunt, as well as various scenes and little buildings placed at spots in the maze to keep your interest up. You're literally trapped in some of the scenes, too, which is wonderfully unsettling, we ended up banging on walls at one place to try to find an exit, of which there turned out to be none -- these ghouls don't screw around!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Follow directions from Google, very easy to find, it's on a working farm that appears to have the farmer's house right smack in the middle of all the action, that must be very sweet as they lay their sleepy heads down upon their pillows and fall asleep to the screams of terror emanating over their rolling hills and pastures.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment



As I said, it's a working farm, and there are a bunch of things to do, like shop in the little store (lots of Halloween stuff and craft stuff in several rooms), and you can get stuff to eat at a little stand that gives its money to a German Shepherd rescue organization; it has things like hamburgers and brats and popcorn and candy bars and there are a bunch of picnic tables at the bonfire that you can go eat at. You buy your tickets at the store checkout counter, and then get a bracelet with a number on it. They have an LED sign system with several locations on the farm, so you can wander around a little and watch for your number to be called; they call numbers in groups of 50, and then you go line up and wait to get let into the haunt. There's also a "quickline" ticket that allows you to get directly in line without waiting.



There are also a bunch of living animals in various fenced-off areas that you can marvel at or bother while you wait, like a donkey (whose braying was pretty creepy), emus (yes, emus), ducks and geese, llamas, goats, and then there was Bunnytown, which has little bunnies all romping about, apparently impervious to the terror being visited on the humans only tens of feet away -- where is your sense of decency, little bunnies? There's also a bonfire you can go sit around; there appeared to be a large man in a black leather hat and coat with a cane tending the bonfire, and I got the impression he may tell spooky stories or something, but we didn't hear any while we were there, though we were there quite early. No ghouls wandering around that we saw, but that was okay, the freakin' haunt is 45 minutes long, and you don't really need any pre-show entertainment.

Actors' Performance


Now, there are a mix of animatronic and real actors in this haunt, sometimes its hard to tell who is who, but the actors we did definitively run into were topnotch and taking their terrorizing (and being terrified, sorry about abandoning you, oh Strung-Up-By-the-Giant-Spiders-Guy!) very seriously. Shout out to the gentleman running the Meat Treats stand and there's a scene where the walls move and you are literally locked in with a bunch of horrifying ghouls who really really really mean business. Also, excellent clownwork, these clowns really know how to work it..."Never trust anything a clown says!"

Sets Scenes / Props / FX



We were impressed. Scenes have clearly been thought out, and the ghouls haunting them are really good, but beware, it's a really long maze, and there will be some lag-time between the more coherent scenes and the things that just sometimes pop out of the corn on hydraulic lifts. This is actually okay, though, there's something really cool about just walking through a literal tunnel of 15-foot high corn and seeing the moon shining down on you as you wait to see what's around the next bend. They obviously really put a lot of time into this and it's clear someone here really really loves Halloween and scaring the peoples. Some of the animatronic stuff is really extremely convincing, there were actually a couple of times in which we were never sure if what was going on was animatronic or a live actor, which is a compliment to the animatronics and not a slam on the excellent actors!



Also ghouls are placed in odd locations, like above you and on the ground level, which makes things even more disorienting and unsettling.



Loved that there were also emergency exits thoughtfully placed throughout the haunt, helpfully marked "Chicken Gate," and just to add a little extra sumthin' sumthin', there appeared to be ghouls lurking just behind the "Chicken Gates!" Perhaps chicken is a favorite delicacy amongst the ghouls, and this ends up acting like a kind of feeding trough.
Oh, there are also lots of strobes and fog machines and stuff, so be ready for that; man, they don't kid around with the strobes, either -- bring your epileptic friends if you want to see a real show! Kidding!



HERE THERE BE SPOILERS:



Excellent excellent excellent op-art house with accompanying op-art clown, and a really cool decaying pirate ship. Very cool webbing area with a screaming web-cocooned man, and one house with the uplifting title of "Welcome to Hell," boasts not only a scene where you're locked in with a bunch of ghouls, but then the ceiling, which has huge spikes in it, starts to slowly lower, and, good lord, there's no door to get out of. There's also a giant octopus, yes, a giant octopus, now how cool is that?

Length


Wait for us was negligible, we were there early, and the haunt itself took 45 minutes or more to get through. It's an entire night's entertainment, you won't need to go to another haunt that night.

Crowd Control


They let you in groups of 4-6, and people are spaced out well, we could hear groups behind us sometimes, but I think the ghouls would try to delay people in order to let other groups get ahead.

Most Memorable Moment



Disorienting House with its Disorienting Accompanying Clown, and Welcome to Hell.



And just to say it again, two words -- Giant Octopus.


Summary

Corn-tastic! The Haunted Cornmaze at Meadowbrook Farms really puts you through your paces, and you get 45 minutes of exercise in, to boot. It's kind of Terror on Rural Street (Hartford)'s country cousin, which is high praise. We had a most excellent time and would recommend this highly.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Walk

by Carl after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Great haunt for the price!! Alot of twists and turns! Very cool being outside in the woods instead of in a house.

Summary

I would definately recommend this haunt! Took us 40 minutes to get through the woods versus houses that only take 10-15!

View all The Haunted Walk reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by carlykarl after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

We went to this haunt yesterday with a small group of four. We got there around 9:10 and it was pretty packed. We bought our tickets and then stood in line, asking everyone that had gone through if it was scary or not. As expected, most of the said, "you'll have to decide for yourself."

<b>Signage / Visibility / Location</b>
Make sure to print out some directions before you go; they do have signs pointing to the direction your are suppose to go once you get off the highway, but its also nice to have a little extra help. Also, please note that the haunt is at the END of a road, so even thought it feels like you're going to the middle of nowhere, keep driving, you'll get there eventually.

<b>Wait Area / Line Entertainment</b>
When we got there and saw how long the line was, we seriously considered leaving, but one of the members of our group convinced us to stay. Surprisingly the line went rather fast because they split the it into groups of 25 or so. There are no actors entertaining the line, but since you are at a farm the line forms around the pony pen! Also, they did have a table which contained a wide variety of refreshments available for purchase.

<b>Actors' Performance<b/>
The actors were great, and had no trouble screaming in anybody's ear. There were quite a few funny actors (e.g. some 12 year old boy calling us star trek geeks? weird) that did take the scary out of the atmosphere, but we were reluctant to have that.

<b>Sets Scenes / Props / FX</b>
You get for different settings for the small price of $15. First, is the mine shaft, which you are told the history of before entering. Honestly, this was one of the greatest set ups that we have ever been to. You could tell that they spent a lot of time, and money, on this part. You were slit into groups of two and then allowed to enter. It was filled with smoke, sand, grass, stairs, strobe lights, dark rooms... we think you get the point. It was great! After surviving the mine, you wait around a fire for the rest of the group to come out of the mine shaft. Eventually a large tractor comes and takes you on a ride to your nest destination. On the tractor you experience numerous ghouls, sounds, props, and interactive things as it drives you around a spooky woods. Be on your toes while on this tractor, there are definitely somethings that happen that you would never expect. After the tractor drops you off in the middle of the woods, you wait for a few moments before being split into groups of two again and venturing into the dark woods. There are many scares in this part and the props add a good effect. You then finish this haunt by entering into the corn maze. We must say, out of everything this haunt had to offer, this was definitely lacking some actors.

<b>Length</b>
We agree that this is one of the longer haunts we have been to. It took about an hour to get through, which we thought was great.

<b>Most Memorable Moment</b>
We would say the mine shaft. Everything about that place was great.

Summary

For $15 we can honestly say it was worth the price. It's an event for people looking to have a good time. It may not be scary for everyone, but honestly, you'll have a blast. We will be back next year, there is no doubt about that.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 22nd, 2019 12:15 a.m. CDT 1.6.3