2010 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

221 total reviews. Showing 14 of 15 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by bunnehop after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

So we went to this haunt before. We expected alot of the same stuff, but this year they really did well. They have some scary stuff that applies to everyone. One of the things they have is something that moves, I won't give it away tho. I also like the real machetes they use. Some of the actors have great makeup that looks soooo real! Be prepared to get scared, I usually don't but they did get me. It was outside so a little cold but the fires seem to help. They were there to scare us and seemed like they all enjoyed what they were doing and scared us on cue.

Summary

This has to be one of the scaryiest haunts I've ever been too. Its worth checking out, easy to find.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review


I attended Fear several years ago when it was just know as the Shawano Manor. I must admit, it didn't do anything for me then. I'm just not a fan of 3D haunts. At the time, that was their claim to fame. This year, they advertise that they have gone back to more of a 'old school' style of haunts. Needless to say, I was very curious!



After you get your wristband, your journey starts out with a stroll along a wooded path. The tiki torches are a nice touch along the path! It creates a lot of shadows, and makes the dark seem that much more dark. There seemed to be only two actors working the woods when we went through. I'm sure this was because it was early in the night. I would hope that normally they would have several more, as there's a lot of opportunities to get some scares in there! Once you're out of the woods you wait in front of the house. If you upgraded to the RIP package, you get to sit by a nice warm fire with some hot chocolate. Not only that, but you receive a high quality T-shirt and there is a live band playing there. They looked a little cold while I was very content by the fire taking it all in. Despite looking cold, they sounded good!



The house itself looks great from the outside. It's very creepy looking as it hovers over you. Once you walk in, you're handed a pair of 3D glasses to put on. I was a little worried at this point. Again, not a fan of 3D. But my fears were scared away quickly enough! The first few actors were VERY impressive, a great little show that helped set the mood. There were many themed rooms, and I was impressed by how many actors they had in each one. Although there were 3D elements throughout the house, they helped enhance the rooms rather than take them over. We had many good scares, I loved it! I did not see one actor break character, they all did a great job!



I admit I was a little bummed out when we walked through a door and it brought us outside. I thought it was over, but to my surprise, there was more! As we started to walk back in another door, I turned around and saw many eyes staring back at me. Only a foot away and very quiet. Following us. Watching us. Now THAT creeped me out! I really do not want to give too much away, or is my memory blocking out the horrors we saw? None the less... we left the house smiling and laughing, thankful we made it out alive!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Fear is very easy to find, with easy access off of Hwy 41 in Green Bay. They have a large, lit sign in their parking lot that you can see as you approach it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There wasn't much of a wait as we went early. As I stated above, if you have the RIP package, you get to wait by a fire and listen to a live band. If you didn’t upgrade, waiting in front of the scary house is a cool experience also!

Actors' Performance


This is where Fear really shines this year. Most of the actors seemed to be of high school age, and their performances were INCREDIBLE. Some had a story to go along with their room, others were just there to scare the crap out of you. Kudos to all the actors involved, I was highly entertained!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


I was impressed with the details such as the stone pillars before you enter the woods and the front of the house itself. In the rooms where it was light enough to see, I enjoyed looking around and seeing all the work they put into it.

Length


The length is about a half hour. We felt like it was a good length of time and there was plenty going on throughout it.

Crowd Control


When we attended this haunt, there were only a few people waiting to get into the attraction, as it was still early in the night. With that said, there were several times our group 'bumped' into another group. Bumping into another group can make you feel rushed, and can sometimes ruin some good scares if it happens to a group right in front of you. This is really my only concern for this haunt. It's a small issue that can be improved pretty easy.

Most Memorable Moment


Remember how I stated that I’m not much of a fan of the 3D effects? Well… hands down the most memorable moment for me was a room filled with long chains hanging from the ceiling. On these chains were Jason styled hockey masks that were magnified with the 3D effect. Doesn't sound very scary, does it? Trust me, I received a very good scare in this room! Check it out!!!

Summary

I'm so happy that I went to Fear this year, it was so much fun! Fear is not just a clever name. The amount of scares that we received will keep it high on our list to visit again!

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by spookshow babe (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review


This will be my 8th year visiting the ghouls and goblins at The Mars Haunted House and what I can tell you is that every year I have been impressed with the set designs and the actors performances!



The atmosphere starts before you even enter the haunt, the actors in line are ready to tease and taunt you to get you ready for the scares inside. The haunt does a very good job at making you feel afraid once you make your way into the first room and they tell you the history of the building REALLY being haunted as floor boards rattle violently beneath your feet.



As you make your way through the creepy hallways you can hear monsters lurking in the dark and getting ready to scare you. The great thing about Mars Haunted House is they build up your anticipation before the scare happens, and most of the time it will come when you least expect it! I love that the actors will follow you into the dark hallways slamming on the walls and yelling at you to make sure you are afraid, this is always that "little something extra" that impresses me in haunted houses.



There are very well designed rooms throughout the haunt that make you feel like you are in another world and keep you distracted from the scare up ahead. The make up effects and masks are top notch, even when they get in your face, which they are not afraid to do, and you see all the blood and decay! One of the best things in this haunt is halfway through they add a bit of humor to lighten the mood a bit, it is a great way to calm you down just before the last few scares! I recommend this haunted house to anyone who enjoys a great creepy atmosphere and good actors that are ready to stop at nothing to scare even the bravest of souls!

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location is easy to find if you google map it. It is pretty much right off the highway. There was a sign on the building and a hearse right outside to help you find it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The line was short when I went, but they had an actor outside in a GREAT mask that did a good job in that short time to entertain me with his wits.

Actors' Performance


All the actors did an outstanding job of getting into character and using unique ways in the room to scare me! I love that they followed me down the dark hallways and were not afraid to get in my face!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets were very detailed and well thought out and the props were placed appropriately to build suspense.

Length


It took me about 30 minutes to get through the haunt.

Crowd Control


They did a great job of making sure that the crowds were small and that they would not run into eachother inside the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


My favorite moment was halfway through the haunt when one of the actors worked with another actor to add some funny elements to the haunted house. It was unexpected and distracted me from the scares up ahead!

Summary

The atmosphere was great, the sets were really creepy, the make up fx were very well done and all the actors did a fantastic job! I highly recommend this haunt!

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Terror on Rural Street has always been one of my favorite haunts to go to. Right from the beginning they bring out the scares and the fun. As you are creeping around the completely dark hallways you just never know what to expect to be lurking around. From all around you, you hear whispers and someone breathing down your neck. They have different scenes set up bringing out everyones worst fears. Their scenes are also interactive making you a real part of the scene.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt is located right off the main highway. There are signs telling you directly where to turn. Very easy to locate.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is inside of a heated building which is always nice. Inside they have concessions set up with food and drinks that you can buy.

Actors' Performance


The actors did a very good job at this haunt. They stayed in character the entire time and were right on target with their scares.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes in this one were very well put together. There was this one room that I just loved. It left you feeling like you were walking into another world. Loved the lights! The actors costumes were amazing. There was a lot of details involved that I would never think of including.

Length


It took about 25 minutes to walk through.

Crowd Control


Terror on Rural Street did a very good job with line control. They make sure to space everyone out so you don't end up running into another group as you are going through.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment would have to be walking out of the vortex. There was a small step that I somehow missed and scared me. All I could say to my friend that went with me was something about yellow tape. You kind of had to be there for that one haha.

Summary

Overall, I enjoyed this haunt. I would recommend it to anyone over the age of 13. It is very fun and very creepy.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 1, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review


The Haunted Barn is a haunt that I feel is a must see. This was my first time attending this haunt and I was left very impressed. The use of their space is simply amazing to me. They have you going in and out of building, through the woods, past graveyards, you just never know what to expect around the next turn. It truly makes you feel like you are inside of an eerie haunted farm.



The house portions of this haunt have very detailed and creative scenes. They had scenes set up that I haven't seen really anywhere else. There were monsters lurking in all the right places.



The wooded portion was one of my favorites. Although it did start off kind of slow it definitely picked up speed as you wondered further into it. As I walked further into it not only did I have the actors scaring me but the atmosphere did as well. There is just something about wondering in the woods not knowing where you will end up that has always creeped me out.



It isn't over yet when you walk out of the woods, you are then led back into the house for more nightmares that came to life.


Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt was perfect. It was set a very rural area giving the added feeling to the haunt. It was very easy to find, there is a flashing arrow right at the driveway with signs directing you where to park.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is set up with a concession stand and other various tents with food, drinks, and other misc. things. There are a few actors outside working the line for entertainment as well.

Actors' Performance


The actors were amazing. They were always in character and you never knew when to expect one to be hiding. My favorite would have to be who they called "Edna" watch out for her! Although, in the wooded parts they could have used a few more actors.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The Haunted Barn has very creative and detailed scenes. They added a lot of variety to it and you never know what to expect around the next corner.

Length


This was actually one of the longest haunts I've ever walked through. It took me about 45 minutes to get through the entire haunt.

Crowd Control


Being that it was so early in the haunt season there wasn't many other people there. But the people that were I never ran into while inside of the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


I went to this haunt with my boyfriend and there was one part of this haunt that really caught him offguard and scared him. It was hilarious to see a grown man scream like a little girl. Very well done!

Summary

Overall, I really enjoyed this haunt. It was a lot of fun and left you scared at the same time. I would recommend this is anyone over the age of 13.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by luvhauntedhouses after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have been to a lot of Haunted Houses and this one has to be one of my favorites so far. My husband and I live about an hour and a half away. Very creative. Since I have been to so many, I really don't get that scared anymore. But this one scared the crap out of me. From the floors that dropped, to out of nowhere little scary suprises. Great job! I will be sure to make a trip again next year!

Summary

At the top of lists for a must see.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by AuroraWindStorm after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

So Much Better than last year!!!
less empty spaces and much more of a over all theme than last year, when it was theme by room.
Line wait was pretty good. Loved the webcam screens to watch the people ahead of you getting to crap scared out of them

Summary

Sophmore year of Haunted High was much better than its freshman. I really hope they can keep this venue going in future years.

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by bwswim1650 after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

All four haunted houses were awesome!!!! The actors were very realistic and the props were outstanding!! I normally don't get scared easily, but I found myself jumping at every corner!! I would highly recommend this haunted house to anyone that loves a good scare!!!!

Summary

I really enjoyed attending all four of the haunted houses!! I thought it was really priced reasonable and was defiantly worth the experience!!! I also thought it was a really good idea to have a indoor waiting room so you don't freeze while you wait! These were probably the best haunted houses I ever been to!!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Seventh Circle Haunt

by BR1234 after attending on Sunday, October 3, 2010 at about 9:30 a.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is the best haunted house i have been to and it was my first haunted house and i swear there makeup looks real and the people who play in this haunted trail are scary!!!!!

View all Seventh Circle Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by PIWI after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Great job this year. The changes were great and myself and the others we went with had a blast. Phobia keeps getting better and Insanity took it to another level of coolness. I am so glad that this is one of my required haunts to go to every year.... KUDOS

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by vintage_blue_eyes after attending on Friday, October 1, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The Burial Chamber is AMAZING! One of the best haunted houses I have been to. Adrenaline was insane! They had actor coming down from the ceilings and actors coming out from behing pictures to scare you when your not expecting it. Insanity is just like it was described, basically a crazy house on drugs! It was so detailed and set up very well & I'm happy that they warn you before you go in that it is pitch black and that they do have low ceilings so you do not crack your head on it. At one point their was a pig guy, who cut up a man and blood sprays at your face! It had amazing effects!! Phobia was a really awesome haunted woods! It's creepy to begin with because you are in the "elements" & it feels like a blair witch project. It was super creepy when a few actors crawled out of the swamp in camo and you could not see them coming at your feet. They actors are unbelievable here! None of them broke character & kept scaring our group until we left. Some actors were crawling on all fours through gravel! That is some dedicated actors!! I would go back to the Burial Chamber in a heart beat! You completely get your money's worth & if your worried about lines, they have screens set up playing tv shows and movies the entire night so you are never bored!!

Summary

Burial Chamber is above and beyond amazing! If you want to scream and have a good scare spend $25.00 and enjoy!!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering

by SpEncEr_SlAughTer after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is a truly amazing haunt! I can not begin to say enough great things! I am just amazed that this is a non-profit haunt! This is the best first year haunt I have ever seen. The amazing high-detailed sets, and very great actors were outstanding. This one gets a 5/5 in my book!

Summary

I really encourage you to go to this haunt! It's well worth the money, and it has some very unique sets and very intricate scenes. Even if you didn't like the haunt, the money goes to a good cause. The elevator, and the birthing room were very amazing! Great job!

View all Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by SpEncEr_SlAughTer after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Burial Chamber is always a great stop if you want to get the snot scared out of you! It was very good, but it didn't seem like they changed much from last year.

Adrenaline - 4/5 This house did not change very much from last year, and I was slightly disappointed. I really got sick of the air cannons real fast. At one point, I couldn't even hear out of my left ear. It was still a great haunt, and still very scary. I really did enjoy the chopper, and the train. That was really sweet.

Insanity - 5/5 Insanity still is my favorite haunt at the Burial Chamber. I really did like the vortex this year, and I really did like the claustrophobic closet. That was pretty brutal!

Phobia - 3/5 The scenery was very great, but the actors didn't have much energy. I actually stumbled across some actors talking to each other while we were going through. I still did get my number of startles and scares though!

Summary

The Burial Chamber is a very great haunt, and I recommend it to anyone who wants a good scare.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by kathleena25 after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I make sure to attend this haunt every year and it never disappoints me. Not for the faint hearted. You may think you've taken a walk in the woods before, but were you ever chased through them by a mad man brandishing a chainsaw? Pretty Scary stuff...this haunt is filled with many chainsaws so beware. It was a perfect chilly October night to attend this haunt. When we arrived there were a couple actors walking around scarring people, which is always an added bonus. They did a great job scaring the crap out of people while they waited to take the hearse into the woods. They chased one girl around the entire park. The wait was very short. Although I have gone at a later time and had to wait about one hour to get in. The set up in the woods was spectacular. Great props, and the actors were always in character. I also enjoy that part of it's in the woods and that they had some rooms with scenes as well. In one room I thought my sister was behind me and I turned around and it was one of the actors right on me...scarrryyy. They utilize the woods and the rooms so well. A MUST SEE!!!

Summary

This haunted woods is a must see! I might even go back a second time. It's well worth the cost.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by touradn after attending on Friday, October 1, 2010 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This is my 2nd time visiting. Last was at a farm house or something near Sheboygan. I really like this place every time I go. There is a little too many dark walkways in my opinion, but I absolutely love the props and special effects. I had a blast!

Summary

A must see!

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 22nd, 2019 11:35 a.m. CDT 1.6.3