ad-header-top

2010 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

221 total reviews. Showing 13 of 15 on this page (2 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by halloween after attending on Saturday, October 23, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

This was a fun haunted high school! VERY clever use of an old school. There was a great deal of creativity and effort put into Haunted High. The actors were very good--good at blending in with their surroundings and then surprising you, good at keeping the pace and keeping groups apart, and very good at interacting when appropriate. Crowd control was good--very organized. We arrived at 7:15pm and waited 75 minutes. It took about 20-25 minutes to get through, and the pace was good. This is a recommended haunt for younger children, too, as it is not quite as scary as some other haunts in southeastern WI.

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield

by kmarie0218 after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This haunt was a lot of fun! The grounds are spooky and it sets up the mood. They have a covered waiting with actors milling about to scare you. The wait was a little longer than we expected, but it was nice when we went through - we never ran into the group ahead of us nor did the group behind us run into ours. Well, not until a girl from their group went running past us in sheer terror (despite the "no running" rule). LOL. They don't sell concessions, which I think may be a drawback. I'd suggest beverages at least! (By the way, there are 2 port-a-potties on site.) There's no over the top gore. As you work your way through the cornfield you encounter goblins and ghosts and along the way there are a few buildings to wander through. We had screams at every turn.

Summary

All in all it's good, creepy fun for the whole family. I'd definitely go back again next year to see what else they come up with.

View all Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by linda380 after attending on Friday, October 15, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I have to say the haunted walk was awesome. I enjoyed that very much...as far as the staff and securtiy I can't say they were very hospitable. After a lecture by the staff in the waiting area, they sent a security guard with us that kept pushing us along, literally. What happened to the We cant touch you rule. The actors did a great job, the fake pop up props weren't so great. We all realize the staff works hard, but realize people are there to have fun.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by linda380 after attending on Friday, October 22, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Not scary at all. In fact there were so many people in the haunted house at once, that we kept running into the groups in front and in back of us. I especially appreciated the lecture I received from one of the monsters telling me I was walking to fast. Kudos to the glow in the dark polka dot persone hiding in the corner...you were the only true scare.

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by portrgirl after attending on Friday, October 15, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

This was an incredibly disappointing haunt. The setting offers so much, but Meadowbrook Farm does not use it to their advantage.

First, we got there shortly after 8:00 pm planning to buy our tickets and enjoy the bonfire for a bit before going into the cornfield. However, we were told that our numbers had already been called twice and if they were called a third time, we might not be able to go in. Instead we had to wait in line with absolutely no scary atmosphere for about 30 minutes.

The actual cornfield maze wasn't really any better. It was long, at about 40 minutes, but had the fewest live actors of any haunt I've been to. Scenes were set up into cleared out areas of the cornfield, most with inanimate objects, some with animatronics. Nobody and nothing to startle or scare. Many of the scenes didn't even seem to fit the setting (pirate ships?). Where were the demented farmers jumping out with pitchforks and following the group?

After 20 minutes of that, the rest of the maze was interspersed by small shacks, some with live actors waiting outside or in, but still, no really good scares. Certainly no startles. The one good shack was a room that confused you until you were trapped in a shrinking section of it for about 5 minutes. Two members of our group somehow missed this and went on without us though.

As we exited the haunt, two actors were heading in. I expected a scare from them, but they weren't even in character and just nodded at us as they walked by. Not good.

Summary

The inability to enjoy the farm setting prior to entering, the $20 price tag, and the lack of scares makes this a dud of a creepy cornfield. Mostly, it was a walk through a cornfield maze that was slightly boring at times. It would be good for some kids though.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by portrgirl after attending on Saturday, October 23, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This has to be one of the best haunted houses I've been to in years. The scare factor is high with a live actor (or two or three) around nearly every corner. The makeup and costumes are fantastic (the clowns are some of the scariest I've ever come across). The acting is fantastic. But the true star of this show is the venue.

The old, abandoned high school is left pretty much intact, with some spooky additions, of course. Instead of a maze of tiny halls and small rooms that are hard for even four people to cram into, this haunt uses the cafeteria, the auditorium, the hallways lined with lockers, the boiler room, etc. and lets your imagination, along with the help of live actors and props, work for you. And does it work!

We got there at 7:00 pm and ended up waiting about an hour and a half before getting in; however, it was in the old gym and warm. The haunt itself probably took 30 minutes to go through, but it feels like it takes so much longer. You'll find yourself walking up and down actual school steps and covering all three floors of the school. Unlike the houses where they just trick you into thinking you're going up and down, you literally are in this one.

I have two complaints. In the waiting area, they projected soundless clips and trailers of scary movies, but didn't have any live actors trolling about. The addition of even two (one for the area with tables and one for the waiting line) wandering about in character would really add to the scene. The other is the incredibly loud volume of the frequent announcements. But at least nobody could be confused about when their number was up.

Summary

This is a great haunt. If you only go to one each year, go to this one.

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by JJrakman after attending on Saturday, October 23, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Easily the best haunt I've been to so far as of this date in SE Wisconsin.

The line wait was fairly quick, they sold munchies in the gymnasium where the line gets to wait, and they projected horror movie trailers on the wall to keep one occupied.

The gymnasium though could benefit from some extra simple Halloween decorations on the walls. There's so much wall space to play with here.

The actors for the most part gafve great performances, though one did come out of character to tell me that, "I might want to hold up a bit." Which was one minor problem they had. They seemed to have a problem with keeping groups separated in the haunt. I was walking fairly slow, yet kept bumping into the group in front of me which kept stalling and standing in place. Then at one point the group behind be caught up to me too. So that by the end of the haunt, I think there were roughly 5-6 groups of people all together at once. I think they could use a little help on when to let up on scaring a group of girls, and getting them through so that groups behind don't catch up to them. Also, there are ways to delay other groups without having to come out of character. Coming out of character should really be saved only for the most egregious infractions like violence or something.

The haunt really knew how to use chainsaws to a great effect. And being in a real high school helped the setting quite a bit.

The money for the entrance was well worth it. Many places will charge 13 bucks and last 5 minutes. This easily took us 30-45 minutes to get through. It's really big.

One of the best vortex rooms, and black light polka dot rooms out there. The mirror room was awesome, though It could have been better with black lights I think.

Something more could be done with the auditorium at the end, not sure what, maybe more zombie audience members and some show on stage relating to halloween rather than the Blues Brothers.

Also the security people, in vests and yellow shirts, could have had some simple face paint on at the very least. Same thing with the retired cop at the head of the line. Their presence breaks the illusion and lessens the scare factor at least in those areas.

The stairwells could have benefited from some more weird lighting. Maybe placing a bloody hand-print over one of the light globes so it casts a red shadow or something.

Anyway, totally fun stuff, really scary, this is a Halloween MUST SEE! Do NOT miss it!

Summary

Easily the best one I've been to this year so far!

MUST SEE!

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Elements of Fear

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 22, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review


I'll be upfront. This is not the type of haunt for those that really seek to be scared. It appears that the haunt was more focused on younger viewers or those that want an entertainment only haunt. To sum it up in one word, it was, simple. This is not an entirely bad thing, however. It provided a few effects that I actually have not seen in a long time. As a whole, though, the haunt left a lot to be desired.



When my father and I arrived at the haunt we were required to take a number and wait in a small room that left little in ways of entertainment. The idea of taking a number would not have been so bad if there actually appeared that there was a line.



When we were finally called we had another wait outside the doors to the haunt. One time I actually entered early as the actors were re-setting due to the lack of instruction. After we were finally admitted we were quickly whisked away to a room where they had a séance (I was able to really "take in the first scene".) The whole experience of the séance would have been a lot more enjoyable if I had not heard all the actors talking and coughing in the background.



This interference was so bad that the actor who was doing the séance was required to improvise with "what the spirits were saying." I will say, however, that I saw some neat effects in the room but they just could not make me forget about the interference.



From there we were moved out of the room by the unrested spirits and through the rest of the haunt. Again some pretty cool effects but a lot was left to be desired. Decorations, and scenes were minimal. Further as we walked along I caught several actors that were late in their scares or that were not ready.



All in all it was an interesting haunt and for a charitable purpose had a good cause and provided a, however short, form of Halloween entertainment.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The visibility was not an issue. The haunt has a large marquee sign with flashing lights that directs you into their parking lot. It took awhile to find the signs that directed us to the ticket booth but once we did it was easy to find out where to go. A word of caution...the sign comes up fast and you are driving on a thoroughfare so watch for that sign and gradually slow down.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Both wait areas...the one adjacent to the ticket booth and the one right outside the haunt's doors provided little in the form of entertainment. The one near the ticket booth only provided refreshments and snacks and a showing of the movie "The Sixth Sense". Outside the haunt doors all you have is a list of rules to read and nothing else. Again (so you do not make the same mistake I did) wait at the front doors of the old church until you are called. In the end the wait time was much longer than the actual haunt itself so be prepared for that.

Actors' Performance


For actors who are volunteering their time, the performance of the actors' was okay. I would have liked to hear less chatting from behind the scenes and more scares (by actors) that did not rely on screaming but with volunteers this is understandable. The actors' performance was still enjoyable though, especially those that were working in the "medical wing" of the haunt.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets and scenes were definitely minimal. I saw little in the way of setting a scene. In most parts of the haunt I could still see the floor and walls of the recreational center we were in. This minor detail, however, was overshadowed by the simple yet cool effects the haunt used. The type of effects used, such as a rocking chair that rocks by itself, were old school but still so awesome. I have to say that I have missed those type of effects as haunted attractions have become more technologically advanced. Bravo to this haunt for using those effects and using them well. Go and check them out. You will probably enjoy them as well.

Length


Unfortunately the length was disappointing. About 5-8 minutes in length. Even if you wanted to slow down to take in the sets or get that extra actor to pop out at you, you would not have been able to as the actors prevented you from doing so. Even when I thought there was more I was disappointed to find out the door I had opened was an employee access path and the door next to it was the exit. I would have really liked to seen more.

Crowd Control


With the separate waiting areas, the number cards, and the walk to and from each area crowd control was good. I never saw a long line waiting or people pushing their way through.

Most Memorable Moment


Although I do not like giving scares away this time I got to. It appears that this haunt actually uses "plants". The first haunt I have EVER been to that does so. What I mean is that they put an actor or actors with your group who are subsequently, later, pulled away by the monsters and freaks. I thought this was awesome and I wish more haunts would do something like this. Definitely a big thumbs up to this haunt for doing this.

Summary

In the end, Elements of Fear, was a short form of Halloween entertainment. For a charitable haunt, I can tell they definitely tried their best. So if you are interested in a quick "haunt jaunt" and seeing some old school effects I would highly suggest checking this place out.

View all Elements of Fear reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by Drejo after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We absolutely LOVE this haunted house. My fiance and I are older and want the crap sacred out of us. I tell you what, this is definitley the place to be! Every year we go to a different haunted house every Saturday night in the month of Ocotber and we always make it to the Splatterhaus at least once. We have not found a haunted house yet to compare to the excellent sound effects, props, rooms set ups, and actors' costumes this haunted house has. It is guaranteed to keep you on your toes and leave you urging for more! We have gone to this house for the past three years and a couple of times when it was in a different location and it is always set up a little bit different in the inside. I would suggest that if anyone is looking for a haunted house worth the money, this is the one to go to. When we went last weekend the wait was fairly long but at least they do not make us stand in line the whole time.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by Drejo after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I love how this haunted attraction is located in a huge old factory. It would be awesome if they could find a way to use the whole factory for the haunt instead of just the three stories (We thought all five stories were going to be used prior to going). The best part of this attraction was the 3-D haunt. I think a lot of the actors were very good at playing their parts. The cost is a bit higher than other haunted houses in the area but it did take us a bit longer to go through it than other haunted houses too. Louder and jumpy sound effects could have added to this experience. Overall I know our group had a good time and loved the fact we did not run into other groups in the house.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield

by sg25466 after attending on Friday, October 22, 2010 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This is so much more than a haunted cornfield - its an evening of thrills and chills that are sure to please everyone! From the moment you pull up to the road you are thrown into an atmosphere of lighting, special effects, a hearse and ghoulish characters approaching you. The holding area is a virtual haunted museum in itself, with a skeleton bride in a casket, spooks banging on the side of the building, black lights and a friendly but haunted hostess. As you travel unguided through the maze at your own pace, there is a creepy new and exciting display at every turn, and a monster waiting to jump out and spook you standing right behind it. There seem to be new additions every year, and none of them disappoint. The monsters range in age and size and truly want to scare you. We have been attending this event every year since it began - for six years! - and it gets better and better every year. This is one Halloween ritual my family always enjoys. It is good fun for all at a great value (there are even coupons on the website).

Summary

This event is what you make of it. If you do not want to be frightened, the monsters will not touch you so you can just walk through and enjoy all of the wonderful Halloween displays. But if you are in the mood for a good scare, leave yourself open to the fun and enjoy yourself.

View all Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Barn & Trail

by FleshEater02 after attending on Friday, October 22, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This haunt seemed to have expanded this year. As usual, great props and attention to detail. Loved the walk in the woods, especially with the full moon.

Summary

A good haunt. Supplies some scares real (Michael Meyers) and imagined wandering in the woods in dark gets you on edge.

View all Haunted Barn & Trail reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by FleshEater02 after attending on Friday, October 22, 2010 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This haunted house delivered. The actors were great. The dark maze did its job of raising anxiety. The props were awesome and rooms were well created. Have to say I loved the scary clown in the outside maze. Enjoyed the adventure. Cool to get "gifts" when you leave. Thanks. We wished we would've be able to purchased a speed/fast pass at the house. Not a big fan of waiting in line around all that cigarette smoke. But that option was only available online. Would have paid extra cash on the spot to jump the line.

Summary

Great haunted experience. Super atmosphere and actors!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by mcdougal13 after attending on Friday, October 22, 2010 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is the best haunted house in Manitowoc. I talked to them afterwards and the actors said that they do it for the fun of it. My favorite part was the end, right before we got out (don't want to give anything away).

Summary

This haunt is very well built and these people put a lot of time into it. I recommend this haunt for anyone who needs a good scare.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Fin 'N' Feather Haunted Woods

by navyneild after attending on Friday, October 22, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

HAD A BLAST! EVERYONE SHOULD GO CHECK THIS OUT!

View all Fin 'N' Feather Haunted Woods reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 17th, 2019 5:34 p.m. CDT 1.12