ad-header-top

2010 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

221 total reviews. Showing 14 of 15 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by witch4ever after attending on Friday, October 15, 2010 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Have been to Splatterhaus in past years and was excited to go this year. The wait was over 90 minutes long. They have a waiting area that was heated, but no seating and nothing to do. When we got in they sent as a group of 6. The first few rooms were great, with good scares, but then we caught up with the group ahead of us. They had slowed down due to a slow group ahead of them. This caused the group behind us to catch up with us. So now we were 4 groups together and as the later part of the group, we missed a lot of the scares in the rooms. They also had a lot of maze areas and the tunnel effect. While in the tunnel the group ahead just stopped and I was stuck there in the tunnel with no way out.

Summary

Having been to over 10 houses this year, I feel Splatterhaus could have been better and hope next year it returns to the glory of the S**t you pants days.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by witch4ever after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Monster Mayhem is a good themed haunt. They give you a mission at the start and follow through with it to the end. The actors are there to help the story along and to play with you some. Loved the foot gag, and if you have been there you know what I mean. Really well done effects and misdirection scares. Location was so easy to find and had dinner after since the pizza place was right there.

Summary

Having been to over 10 houses this year, I really liked this one and would do it again next year if they are open.

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Ghost Tours Of Kemper Center

by witch4ever after attending on Sunday, October 24, 2010 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Went on a Sunday night and was only able to do the tour and not the haunted house. The site never tells you that there are times when it is only the tour and not the house. The tour was okay but having just come from another house it was a giant letdown. The tour guides are great in keeping with the spirit of the tour but sometimes get in the way of the effects. Very low scare factor with actors just jumping out and screaming "get out" at you. The rundown look of the building provided a factor of fear but would have been so much better if they had played the actors and effects more low key so you could have thought you saw something in the shadows. More shadows, more lighting effects and more low key would have made this "real" haunted building so much more.

Summary

Having been to more then 10 houses this year, I would say this tour is good for younger kids and not one for people looking for a good scare.

View all Ghost Tours Of Kemper Center reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by witch4ever after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2010 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Been to Hubertus before and always liked it but this year was different. For the positives, they do a good job of blocking rooms so that the groups stay apart and had some good elements. On the other side, the rooms are not scary. Ghostbusters, really, a little outdated. They used the same tricks in every room, so you knew what was going to happen every time. Very disappointed by this house this year.

Summary

Having been to over 10 houses this year, I would not recommend Hubertus to anyone who wants a good house.

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Doom On Durham

by witch4ever after attending on Friday, October 22, 2010 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Can't give a good review, because we never made it in the house. House opens at 7, we showed up at 8. No one greeted us. We walked in and no one was at the ticket window, no one in the waiting room, and no one to ask questions of. After 10 mins, a girl came out of a room and walked past us and went through a another door. She came back out and past us again. Never said a word to us. After about 15 mins a boy came out and said they would open in a few more mins. We left at that point. We were treated so rudely by people who wanted us to give them money.

View all Doom On Durham reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by witch4ever after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Really great haunted houses. The two indoor ones are really good. Actors provide a scare or two. The haunt does a great job of changing things up each year and providing elements that you don't see everywhere. Loved the floor effects. The haunted woods is a slight letdown as it was light enough with the moon to see the actors when they were there. The woods could have used a lot more actors and more dark areas.

Summary

Having been to over 10 houses this year, Burial is one of my favs. Try to do it every year.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by spookshow babe (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 22, 2010 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

I think that because we went on a such a busy night and had to be grouped with 3 other people we missed out on a lot of the good scares. Also, we felt kind of hurried because another group caught up to us. I did enjoy the unexpected scares from above us and some of the actors did attempt to scare us in the back which I appreciated.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Its a pretty easy find if you mapquest the directions, its only a few minutes from HWY 41. The building is well lit and pretty big so it's hard to miss.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area was entertaining. There were a few actors messing around with people in line and a couple screens playing some music videos and funny youtube videos. There were snacks available and if you didn't want to wait that long you could get the VIP passes, which from what it looked like, was moving very quickly, maybe a 5 minute wait for them.

Actors' Performance


First I want to say that we went on a busy night, and we did get lumped into another group so unfortunately a lot of the time we missed the scares because we got stuck behind them. Some of the actors did try to still get a scream out of us which I appreciated, but a few of them just walked back to their hiding spots and let us keep walking which was kind of disappointing. Like I said though, it was pretty busy and getting late so I think they were sending in groups a little faster than normal.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets were pretty dimly lit which was creepy, but I would have liked to see them a little more. Some rooms were empty which added to the suspense because you were not sure if or when someone would jump out.

Length


I think it took us around 18 min to get through Adrenalin. Maybe 15 minutes for Insanity and about 10 minutes to get through Phobia.

Crowd Control


Being a busy night I felt they did a decent job of keeping groups small, but we did feel a bit rushed to go through the house since another group ended up catching up to us.

Most Memorable Moment


I enjoyed the lab maze in Adrenalin and the actors that came from places I would least expect... like from above!

Summary

I have been to a lot of haunts this year and this one, though it was good, didn't amaze me. I am the kind of person however that enjoys BIG scares and lots of gore. I am not really scared of the dark, so dimly lit rooms did not really frighten me and unfortunately since we were in the back of the group as I said, I think we missed out on a lot of the good scares.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by Monsterenergy164 after attending on Friday, October 22, 2010 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

It was very easy to find there is a big sign where you should turn. once you get there you can enjoy sitting around the campfire feed some animals and buy spooky things. after you buy your tickets you wait around and hear scary stories by the story teller. once they call your tickets you wait in line for like 10 minutes, it depends on where you are in line. but its well worth the wait.

Summary

Once you get in the first guy really scared me,one of the people that was in my group fell over, i didn't really catch what he was. my 2 favorite parts that scared me really good is the 2 warewolfs the first one scared me as we walked and the second got us by surprise because the first werewolf was chasing us.Both warewolfs were really good and make a good team. And the other part that got me good was the house where the ceiling comes down, i didn't expect it. all the actors were really good! we were in the maze for a good 40 minutes of pure scaring.Best Haunted Attraction i've been to all year!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by alowriderswife after attending on Saturday, October 23, 2010 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

All I can say was Unexpected...... from the length of the lines which was next to none we waited maybe 20mins, to the many different themes throughout this Haunt. It was great the actors on cue!!! Very nicely setup. The Monsters in the crowd were great they really interacted with you oh and yes did scare the crap out of ONCE!!!!
*** one note**** DO NOT I repeat DO NOT go to the bathroom with a crowd discreatly go alone or you will be in for a suprise THATS all Im saying-

Summary

Line starts outside of what looks like an abandoned building with some special guests also standing in line.... as your ready to enter the door magically opens to what appears as a old basement and the fun begins, as you go from room to room and try to grasp your bearings after entering the swriling room. Dont make eye contact with the Hillbilly Brothers they are creepy- oh and the dentist room really smells like a dentist office- can you make it out through the black maze? If you do pay special attention at the exit--- thats all im saying!!!!!

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by freddyk1369 after attending on Sunday, October 24, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Overall a good haunt the actors were all in place and very witty. They had a reply for everything we said. The scenery was also very decorative. Wait kind of sucked because we were the only ones in line but had to wait a half hour for the train but when the train got there the person on the train really got one girl in our group. We also ended up having group run into us towards halfway through the house.

Summary

Our group had a blast going through except for the wait and the group running into us. If you are going to go I would suggest getting the combo because we really enjoyed the bonus haunt but I did not get what the fourth attraction was. (Train, Bonus Haunt, and Main House)

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Forest of Sand Lake

by drehwinkel after attending on Saturday, October 23, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

What an amzing haunted trail, my family and I went and had a great time, the kids cried. This team put together a great scare for any age. They had nice warm bombfire for us to sit and drink hot apple cider. I highly recommend you to go you will enjoy it, and the price is the best I have found around only $5.00.

View all Haunted Forest of Sand Lake reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by halloween after attending on Sunday, October 24, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: N/A

Review

We were so lucky to get there by 6:45pm. We were waiting in the "holding pens" and at 7:00pm, all of the monsters came out! The costumes, make up and acting were phenomenal! That was probably the highlight of the evening! We toured the 4 houses--you really need to do all 4, which took a total of 40 minutes. The sets and decorating were wonderful. The 2nd house was the creepiest for all of us--darkness and claustrophobic hallways. Good pacing and organization throughout. None of the houses were very scary, however, just fun to see all of the special effects and set design.

Summary

Good sets, wonderful actors, not the scariest, however. Try to go on a night when you can use the $5 off coupon on their website. Do try to do all 4 houses, 1 by itself is not enough.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by gregory_carlson (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 23, 2010 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Monster Mayhem, as presented by Lister F/X, is a little bit different than your average haunt.  The same theme runs throughout and everything fits within the environment they have created.  My nephew and I thought that this allowed us to get more 'into' the haunt and it felt more believable (as far as haunts go) and I'll say that's a plus.


I personally liked the way they used actors to support the story, as they helped you through the designated mission, killing off the baddies as they came on.  I cannot say I've been to a haunt that had people 'helping' you get through quite like that.

I'll be honest here, when we saw the alien get released I thought it was just a prop.   When it got free and started chasing us it had this long-time haunter moving in quickstep.

This haunt has character and a sci-fi feel that I haven't seen elsewhere this season and it's really nice to have a change of pace instead of the 'same old, same old'.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Directa your feetza to Paulo's Pizza.  Right on the corner of W. Howard and 51st.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


You can wait and have a slice of pizza (might be the only haunt with that option).  Once in the queue/stairs we were entertained by the disembodied voice of the security camera operator, who was pretty funny.

Actors' Performance


Unique in that there were actors helping throughout to go along with the monsters/aliens.  The service men helping we pretty well done and you could tell they were comfortable with their parts.  This did a great job of immersing us into the overall haunt.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


There was a continuity to this haunt unlike any other.  They maintained the military base them throughout and all of the scenes, props and special effects supported the theme very well.

Length


We were through the haunt in about 15 minutes.

Crowd Control


Employee's were present throughout and the crowds were kept small enough to be manageable.

Most Memorable Moment


There was a few times where the baddies were either shot or took a victim and the audience got a bit of the overflow, so to speak.  Didn't see it coming either time, great surprise!  Oh, and the alien about halfway through.

Summary

Monter Mayhem will take you in a different direction than your typical haunt and I for one like the change.  Something you can enjoy while you get a sci-fi scare.

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Elements of Fear

by gregory_carlson (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 23, 2010 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Elements of Fear sounds like it would be pretty scary, but it you are looking for something more to the mild side of haunting this might be your ticket.


I was reminded of the 'old school' haunts from my younger years as I walked through.  There was a story told at the onset, but I wasn't sure that I understood all of it.  I think one of the cops was related to the killer?  Hmmm.

After that opening sequence we were brought into a room for a quick sit-down seance.  Goes to show that you can have some entertainment at a haunt on a low budget.  Moving on we met up with the killer we were warned of and 'lost' one of our group.

Before we knew it the haunt was over and we were back outside.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Good location, but not the easiest to see until you are right upon it.  Slow down when you are close so you don't miss the old church.  Plenty of parking right next to the event.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area was a Sunday school classroom, I think...  Refreshments available but not line entertainment other than a TV silently playing a movie.

Actors' Performance


The first haunt of the season that had actors 'acting'.  No one is going to win an Oscar but we got the point of the story.  The mistress leading the seance as pretty good.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Some sets & scenes were better than others.  I think the haunt started on a good note and might have lost it's direction as it went on.

Length


Maybe 10 minutes.

Crowd Control


There really wasn't a crowd.

Most Memorable Moment


When we realized that there were more 'actors' than expected.  It's really a DON'T TOUCH haunt.

Summary

Are you looking for a reminder of Halloween's past, before all the big-time money came in and made things crazy?  Want someplace to bring the younger kids?  Elements of Fear might be what you are looking for.

View all Elements of Fear reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2010 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by halloween after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2010 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Just an awesome haunt! Scary, creative, fun...the total package! If you see 1 haunt this year--make it Hauntfest!

Summary

Great Haunted House--worth the money!

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 22nd, 2019 2:26 p.m. CDT 1.8.19