ad-header-top

2011 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

167 total reviews. Showing 12 of 15 on this page (3 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by manders1319 after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2011 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

My friend and I are from Milwaukee which is about an 1 1/2 hours from Manitowac. We were pretty excited to go after seeing some of the reviews on here. When we got there by GPS which was easy to find we were not sure on where to park because there were not any signs for parking. As we were walking up we were talking about how it is five stories and it is probably a long haunt. This is not the case it is on only two levels of the building not the 5 it says in the advertising and took about 20-30 mins to walk through. The line was about 20-30 mins long (the first line) and there was a clown that was entertaining everyone in line. He then moved us into the the second line which took about 15 mins. Since we were only two they put us with a group of three which was no problem. We entered the house which was a dark maze and what I call the birth canal. You then went into where most of the actors were. The actors mostly just walked by you and snarled. The birthing room was cool but you obviously walk by it so fast you can't see as much as you would want to. The older guy holding the head and the old lady cooking was terrible. Most of the actors seem like they improve on the people walking through and just saying "look at my room" or " I killed all these people", yeah that is not scary at all. Really nothing in the haunt was scary to my group. There were some actors that would get out of character and in most of the fairy tale scenes it was just someone laying on the ground saying "help me" and there wasnt anyone in the Alice in Wonderland scene. We also walked out of the haunt twice because we didnt know where to go. The other nice scene was the clown room that you are going in and out of, it was creative. Other then that I think it was totally not worth the $17 we paid to get in.

Summary

I would rather go into a cemetary at night that would be more scary then this "haunted house". This was a big disappointment and would not go back to again.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 21, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

If you enjoy interactive skit style haunts that make you occasionally jump out of your skin then you’ll love the House of Bathory!  This was my first time visiting a Dead by Dawn Productions haunt.  They’ve been in the Haunted House business for 22 years now and it really shows.  Rooms are very well thought out and 100% original….with the exception of the Vortex room which you’ll experience at just about every haunt these days.  (Although I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of walking through a Vortex.)  To Dawn’s credit she does add to this Vortex a unique twist I haven’t seen at any other haunt.  I really enjoyed the skits found in each room.  The acting was superb and the actors were comfortable enough to involve haunt goers in the action.  What I really, REALLY liked about this haunt was that regardless of where I was in the group (first, last, middle….) the scares definitely me jump and I’m certain they will make you jump too!

I won’t spoil any of the scares waiting for you at the House of Bathory but the premise of this haunt is a journey through time with each room featuring a unique skit pertaining to a period of history.  From the pilgrims to the 70’s and featuring the likes of Charles Manson and Hitler…the skits, costumes and décor for each of these themes were masterfully orchestrated and performed admirably by spirited actors.  While this may not be the scariest or goriest haunt you attend you’ll definitely enjoy yourself and experience a few really good scares along the way.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt is located right on the main street of downtown Manitowoc. While the haunt itself wasn’t obvious to me…it’s located at a costume store which by the way has some exceptionally cool decorations…it was hard to miss the 5 hearses that were parked along the street and the ghouls that were patrolling the sidewalk leading up to the haunt.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The waiting line is located outdoor so dress appropriately.  Portions of the waiting line are located under the store canopies that appear on each of the store fronts along the street.  There were ghouls and eerily decorated hearses along the street although I didn’t not get a chance to interact with them

Actors' Performance


The actors were a lot of fun and performed their roles admirably.  They were certainly comfortable enough to involve haunt goers in the action.  I particularly enjoyed conversing with a few of the ghouls over a game of Monopoly…that is until they nearly scared the crap out of me!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Sets are creative with a lot of subtle detail that may go unnoticed if your not paying attention.  Particularly enjoyed a few exceptional special effects that made me jump as well as the acoustics/sound of many of the rooms.

Length


It took our group approximately 17 minutes to complete our journey.

Most Memorable Moment


There were several...but I particular enjoyed the very unique and surprising twist to my experience with Hitler.

Summary

If you enjoy interactive skit style haunts, The House of Bathory is a must see!  This haunt oozes with imagination and creativity and younger audiences will definitely enjoy themselves as much as adults who crave wickedly creative entertainment.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 23, 2011 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

I'll admit it, up until now I have boycotted Terror On The Fox.  I'm a lifelong resident of Green Bay, and TOTF is basically a local
landmark in it's own right.  The house itself has been around forever at numerous locations, well before the 15 years it now celebrates at the National Railroad Museum.  Year after year, there's tons of hype for this well promoted house... yet I was a let down the many times I visited.  That, dear readers, was several years ago.  Now things are different.  New management.  Lower prices.  A 'back to basics' approach.  I'm part excited, part leery of how this experience will unfold.



I attended on a Sunday night, which leads me to believe that they were lower staffed than if I would have went the prior few nights.  There was only one actor on the train, and it seemed like he was making small talk more than trying to get some screams out of the
passengers.  The train ride is one of the most unique parts of this haunt.  When they first started offering it 15 years ago, it was much more spooky.  There was no strobe or loud music.  Sitting in a dark train as it travels through the woods at night, with monsters creeping around you.  Now THAT was scary!



Before heading to the main attraction, you're directed to several large tents (IF you purchased the combo or VIP pass).  The first up was the 3rd Dimension of Fear, "Carney Rampage".  There was no rampage there.  It was short and disappointing, with no scares and lots of glow in the dark colors.  The actor tried his best to be funny, I'll give him that.



Next up was The Void.  Now this was very well done, and it proves that your imagination can be more scary than anything you can see.  It's pitch black, you can't see a thing!  Just a dark maze with some actors in it, but we jumped a few times!  I think they had on night vision goggles as their timing was spot on.  We must have looked so goofy to them as we walked around in circles.  After leaving the dark Void, we came to the Vortex.  If you've ever been to the Terror On The Fox, then you'll know of the multi-color tunnel that plays mind tricks on you.  In fact, most haunts have something just like it now, or something similar.  TOTF was one of the first to have it, if not the first...  but maybe it's time to retire it?  Maybe it's time to take back the claim of the area's best haunted house with something new and original.      



Up next is a short walk in the woods before you come up to the house.  Another part that used to be much more scary, as they used to have actors jumping out at you as you walked by.  But again, this was a Sunday night.  I hope that is something they still do on their busy nights.  Now, walking up to the house is impressive.  The location, the look of the house, the lights and actors...  it definitely has the WOW factor going for it.  I'm glad to see they went back to the 'run down' look for the house, and
not the neon day glow paint job it sported a few years ago.  There were two actors moving to the music, looking extremely creepy while still keeping the beat.  Not an easy task!



I want to take a minute from this review to address a particular actor that was in front of the haunted house.  Picture a pale Aaron Rodgers wearing a black cowboy outfit.  I don't think I've ever been as offended by an actor in an entertainment setting before as I was this night.  He was extremely rude and demanding.  I get it, this isn't a kiddy ride.  But this isn't my first rodeo either.  He crossed the line several times by screaming in our faces with his demanding tone, talking down to us.  I also didn't
appreciate his holding a straight blade to my throat multiple times, real or fake.  You were way out of line A.R., this is SUPPOSED to be entertaining.  I ended up ignoring and walking past him into the house after several minutes of him berating us.  I digress...


We enter the house in all it's glory.  It really is something to see if you've never been there.  The amount of detail that's there is incredible.  I wish I could have spent more time in each room, taking it all in.  Some rooms I remember from before, but I didn't mind as they really are very impressive.  There was at least one actor in each room, and most did a good job at entertaining us.  There were only a few that actually scared us.  These were the sneaky ghouls that were actually hiding and jumped out when we approached.  'The Boss' near the end didn't have to hide though, he was terrifying just standing there.  The last room featured another TOTF classic, which maybe should also be considered for the retirement party at the end of the season.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Extremely easy to find, with lit signs as you approach. 

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


They have a nice concession stand and snack area.  Being it was on a Sunday, we really didn't have to wait.

Actors' Performance


All the actors stayed in character and some did a great job of getting us to jump!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This is where the Terror On The Fox shines.  Nobody can touch their scenes and visuals that they create.

Length


The 3rd Dimension of Fear was about 5 minutes.  The Void was about 15 minutes.  The main house is about 20 minutes.

Crowd Control


They do a very good job keeping the groups from bumping into other groups.

Most Memorable Moment


I don't know what was in that toilet, and I don't think I want to know!!

Summary

Terror On The Fox is a ton of flash and eye candy, one that should really be seen if you're in the Green Bay area.  It's put together very well, and seems to run very efficiently.  Unfortunately, it doesn't change much year after year.  I have seen some GREAT positive changes since the new management has taken over.  Now it's time to get those creative juices flowing and bring something new to the table.  I'm sure it's not easy try to scare the same community year after year.  But they did it once, they can do it again!   

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 23, 2011 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Mars Haunted House is a good haunt in the Milwaukee area. The makeup and the actors outside were incredible! It's a little shorter than some haunts, but some of the rooms were really quite interesting and worth the visit.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find with some signage out front. Located on the upstairs level of the building.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


It was pouring rain outside when we visited this haunt, so it was really unfortunate that the wait area is all outside on the street/sidewalk. I would have really liked some covered areas to wait under.

There were two actors outside in the rain with us who were by far the best actors in the entire haunt. Their makeup/masks, costumes, demeanor and acting were absolutely flawless and they were definitely my favorite part.

Actors' Performance


Inside the haunt, none of the actors talked to us. They mostly walked around creepily and jumped out at us threatening us with wicked stares and weapons of all sorts. I was a little disappointed in the lack of interaction or script of any sort.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


They rooms were interesting and different, but a lot of space was filled with just dirty broken furniture that didn't really fit the haunt for any reason besides taking up space. Some of the props were interesting and fun, but a lot of them  were things I had seen before - nothing really unique and different here.

Length


I would say that we waited to enter the haunt for about 10-15 minutes and we spent about 15 minutes inside. However, the reason we were inside for so long was because we kept taking breaks and stopping in the middle of the hallway to avoid running into the group ahead of us.

Crowd Control


A true disappointment. I understand that we were there just before closing and they probably wanted to rush us through to go home... but there weren't that many people there and we ran into the group ahead of us several times and the group behind us caught up with us, then, too. They really need to work on spacing groups out better.

Most Memorable Moment


Definitely the actors outside the haunt were the best and most memorable. I wish we would have seen more of them inside the haunt as well.

Summary

Not the most terrifying of haunts, but a good one to visit if you're in the area. I would suggest visiting early in the evening to avoid big lines and running into other groups.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by nevermind4494 after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Absolutely the best haunted house around! I have never found one that even compares to this! If you're looking for a great haunt with a decent price tag this is where you want to be! It's about an hour and a half drive from Milwaukee (totally worth it) and the signage is very visible.

We arrived and there were a ton of people there! I honestly can't even remember how long the wait was because we entertained ourselves the entire time! We got in the house and the fun began! I've been going to this haunt for the past 6 years and it is THE BEST!

Summary

The actors put on one hell of a performance! Their makeup/costumes are very detailed and it looks like they put a lot of time and effort into each and every person. The rooms are detailed to a T! Each room starts out where you basically see the room for what it is...then watch out - the lights go out and the music is loud and the monsters are out to get you! This one scares the absolute crap out of me and I couldn't recommend a better haunted house if I tried!

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by nevermind4494 after attending on Friday, October 28, 2011 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: N/A

Review

I have to say this was easily the WORST haunted house I have ever attended.

We arrived at the grounds around 8:00P to find out that it was $5.00 to park there, which was rather disappointing - you're already paying $15.00 for the haunt! At that point that should have been a sign to leave!

We entered in and there were not many people there, we purchased our tickets and waited around. The wait was well over an hour which was rather surprising as there were not a ton of people - but we didn't mind, especially if it WOULD have been worth it!

There were several actors outside and they actually made it pretty fun - especially the guy in the skeleton/clown makeup w/ the orange wig - AWESOME JOB! That was about the extent of greatness for this place.

We finally got in to the haunt around 9:30 and I have to say it was awful. The props were very cheap and nothing looked realistic. It seemed like all the actors were just little kids who screamed bloody murder right in your ear. There was no element of surprise and in a lot of rooms the kids were talking to each other before they even noticed you! It was all around a HUGE disappointment and a total waste of $15.00.

I scare pretty easy and I'm usually the one to go - "I want to be in the middle, not the front or the back, and I'm closing my eyes, plus I want you and you on both sides of me"...this one I walked in front without anyone by my side. Super disappointment, we will absolutely never be back!

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my first trip to the infamous Haunted Barn, and it lived up to it's legend!  Just hop, skip, and a jump from Madison, The Haunted Barn is easily the best haunt in the area.  Parking was ample, although I would suggest you take it slow through the lot, as it is all dirt and grass, and is easy to bottom out if you are not careful.  After we got our tickets, we entered.  The haunt is separated into 3 areas, 2 houses and an outdoor trail.  Both houses were frightening, relying on sensory tricks to spook you.  The trail was long and you were guided by lights which led you from house 1 to the second house.  Ghost and ghouls jumped out and got got some good jumps out of us!  We found ourselves taking a lot of time enjoying the detail they put into the haunt, it seemed like they take a lot of pride in their work.  Actors were great, playing it up the whole time!  As we exited, we were quickly greeted by Beetlejuice, who in true beetlejuice fashion, proceeded to goof on me for quite a while, it was great!  This haunt was fairly lengthy, which is pretty nice, just make sure you plan accordingly, as the line to enter was long!  In all I would say The Haunted Barn is one haunt you don't want to miss!

Signage / Visibility / Location


A marquee sign is illuminated, making The Haunted Barn hard to miss!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Actors roam around the waiting area, interactions were fun!

Actors' Performance


A+! Great job to all, they really know their craft!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Top of the line sets and props made it a visual masterpiece

Length


40 minutes plus line wait

Crowd Control


No problems

Most Memorable Moment


Beetlejuice, I love a good roast!

Summary

Haunt fans, this is one you don't want to miss.  It's central location makes it pretty reachable to a lot of people.  Bring comfy shoes and all your nerves, you are going to need them!  The Haunted Barn is a true haunted masterpiece!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by spookshow babe (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 21, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

It's hard to write a review when you are left speechless! Where do I try to begin...
I remember many years ago, when Splatter Haus was considered one of the best and scariest haunted houses in the area, and at that time, it was very true- however, over the years  they have lost that title and I truly feel that The Wisconsin Feargrounds has taken it! I remember going to this haunt years ago when it was just The Darkness and later when it became Morgan Manner. Even it's first year it was very impressive, with detailed sets, props and great make up/actors. As years went on you could see the passion they had for giving haunted house enthusiasts a whole new fun and yet scary experience. It has been wonderful watching this haunted house grow over the years and become the masterpiece in real horror and fun that it is now!  It deserves being voted #1 two years in a row, as one of the greatest haunted attractions in the Midwest. You can tell they put a ton of effort and thought into there attraction and it will leave you speechless!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Pretty easy to find, just look for the brightly lit expo center, there is a sign, however is wasn't lit, so be sure to watch for it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is covered which is nice in case of rain or a windy night. They had plenty of great monsters working the waiting area to scare people and keep them entertained. They literally seemed to come out of nowhere at times scaring even the guys in line trying to play it cool.

Actors' Performance


The best I have seen in a haunt this year. They do an amazing job of scaring you by the "bait and switch" method.. there are plenty of monsters EVERYWHERE in the haunted house, not just in rooms, so they really do a great job of catching you off guard. I love that the females didn't just scream in my ear, I really hate that in haunted houses, these actresses actually acted and had wonderfully creepy things to say. Another thing I loved was that there was one or two that would keep reappearing in other rooms which really threw me off guard.. how did they get there? Did I see them before? Did I back track? It was such a great method!!!!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets and props, again, the best I have seen in a haunted house yet! They were incredibly detailed and felt very real, they did such a great job of taking you out of reality and into there twisted world.  The make up effects on all the actors were very quality, using foam latex, contacts, high quality masks and wonderful costumes that you wont find  at a Halloween store, they all looked amazing and not of this world. They could just stand there and creep you out by there appearance alone! Some of the props in the 3rd haunted house were so gross and realistic looking I did not want to touch them, but had to in order to pass through the hall.

Length


I did all three, and you really should to! They were all very, very good and for all three is took about an hour to get through them, not counting the lines.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was great. The monsters kept people entertained, and we never bumped into another group while in the haunts. Also, they kept the groups small which was really nice and everyone was kept within there groups as well.

Most Memorable Moment


The whole thing was memorable. But my most memorable moment I won't share for the reason being that I want you to experience it without expecting it, that would ruin it. Another moment is less of a giveaway... All the actors inside were GREAT, but the ones who followed us around were exceptional. They really freaked you out after a while because it felt like they were really following YOU and never going to leave.. they followed all the way though all three haunted houses from the very start while waiting in line! I think maybe they had several actors in the same costume to achieve this, but either way it was really creepy! Made you feel like they were stalking you... I loved it!

Summary

This is hands down the best haunted house here and if you are a big fan of haunted houses, being scared, adventurous, or just looking for something fun and scary to do for Halloween you NEED to go to this one, you will NOT be let down! I will say that it is more expensive than most haunted houses, but you honestly get your moneys worth and then some! Another thing you may want to consider, is this one IS scary so I really don't think children should attend this haunted house, it is more suitable for late teens and adults.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by btweezy414 after attending on Monday, October 24, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

On Saturday night myself and 4 friends had the chance to visit what I call Wisconsin’s would must see haunted attraction of the year. We arrived around 7:10pm to find an already busy site. They had a great grasp on crowd control from the moment you get in line to buy tickets. They had a designated line for those who purchased their tickets ahead of time online (Which by the way was a great deal with the early special only costing $20 for all 3 houses) and another line with a worker in the front that when you reached her she would then separate you into one of 3 ticket booth window lines. Once we paid, we received a very neat collector’s coin which would be used for getting you into line, and also a wristband for those who are doing all 3 haunts. The line took us about 1 hour to make it thru, but there was plenty from the actors who made sure you visit everyone in line, to TV with different events happening leading up to the haunt.

We started with Morgan Manor, which I would describe as a whole as the much more detail oriented (in regards to the sets) house. Each room, you stepped in gave you the complete feeling that you where actually in this setting for that moment. I think the house could have used a few more actors and surprises to scare the guest, but it was still enjoyable and had our group on the edge of their toes.

Next up was Morgana’s Torment, which is very much a touchy feely house. By that I mean be prepared to walk thru lots of spaces that challenge you to find your way thru the dark, while being squeezed by different objects. We had a group ahead of us that even joined our group as they got lost in the plastic pipe maze in the beginning. This house will push you to the limit, and don’t take your guard down for too long, as this house is not actor free.

Finally we have the Unstable the haunted barn, which is a very well done countryside massacre. The farmers and other creatures are not very happy to in the barn, and they want you to join in on the misery. As you push thru the animal parts and other farm related objects, the surprises, keep you guessing from all angles.

Best part of the haunt: In the barn when the actors heard someone say the name of a lady in are group named Cassie, they seemed to almost pass it on, so that when we continued to other parts of the barn, the farmers all knew her name and kept asking “Where’s Cassie?”.

Finding the event was very easy if you follow the instructions via their website or use a GPS. They also have it mentioned on the Waukesha Expo Center sign.

The event cost $30 the night of or $20 for those who purchased tickets online under the early bird special. This is a great deal considering it is for 3 houses and last around 45 minutes to an hour.

Summary

Overall, even if you only have time for one haunt this year, make it the Wisconsin Fear Grounds, you won’t be disappointed.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 21, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Burial Chamber has been, and remains to be one of my favorite haunts.  This would be the dictionary definition of mega-haunt!  Three haunts in one, along with a coffin ride, it was well worth the ride.  The three haunts, 2 indoor and 1 outdoor, are different, and offer frightening fun around every corner. 




Let's start with Phobia Haunted Woods.  In Phobia you take a leisurely stroll though the darkest wooded trail around!  Uneven terrain and backwoods creeps keep you on high alert the whole time.   Bushmen, zombies, rednecks, oh my!  No doubt you will approached and asked to squeal like a pig!  Creepy!  Definitely bring shoes for a hike, sandals or heals will not be your friend in this haunt!



Next we have "Insanity"  Which is everything I love in a haunt, scary and creepy!  They market it as "a haunted house on crack", I can't agree more!  It's essentially a haunted fun house, killer clowns, visual effects, and disorientation.  Insanity is my favorite of the 3!



The last haunt is "Adrenaline", which is your run of the mill, haunted house, well maybe not run of the mill, as Adrenaline is beyond frightening!  Sensory deprivation and overload all in one!  Dark, loud, bright, quiet, this one combines everything a haunt should have, and does it without flaw. Hmmm, maybe this one was my favorite! 



In addition to the haunts, Burial Chamber offers "The Last Ride", a burial simulator.  You are 'Laid to rest' in a luxurious and spacious (not really!) coffin, where your final resting place is simulated.  The coffin bounces, shakes, and booms as you listen to the program.  Last Ride is fun, I HIGHLY suggest you remove your jacket before entering the coffin, I was boiling in there, which makes the ride less enjoyable.



It's hard for me to give an honest answer when I have to pick my favorite haunt, everything about Burial Chamber is great, it is what a haunt should be.  The staff at Burial Chamber continue to be the best of the best, putting everything they have into making sure you get your moneys worth, and giving you the best scares of the season

Signage / Visibility / Location


Burial Chamber has plenty of signage, it is hard to miss.  Marquee signs and flagmen are a plenty. 

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The waiting areas at Burial Chamber are great!  Actors interact, Big screens showing movie clips and music videos are all there to entertain you.  Hey, do you want to see a guy on stilts playing the bajo?  Yeah, they have one!

Actors' Performance


Dedicated!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


No surprise here, Burial Chamber spares no expense.  Everything was excellent!

Length


You will make an evening of it!  Each haunt is roughly 20 minutes long.

Crowd Control


No problems

Summary

Value/Time=AWESOME!  You can go to all the haunts in the area, you wont find a better one.  Bring a coat and comfortable shoes, it's going to be a long fun night!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 14, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I have traveled all over this region, attending the "biggest" and "best" haunts you can find... Monster Mayhem blows them all away!  I attended Mayhem two years ago, and was pretty impressed with the time and effort they put into it, so I wanted to check it out again, I wasn't let down.  When I attend haunts, I often find myself paying so much attention to detail and crowd reaction that my enjoyment takes a backseat, Monster Mayhem made it impossible for me not to have a great time!  Is Monster Mayhem scary?  Yeah, it has some good moments.  Is Monster Mayhem fun?  YES YES YES!  Laser tag with zombies and ghouls, how can you beat that‽ You can't!  The story line is interesting, a security breach has taken place and the area has been taken over by ghoulish creatures!  We were split into teams and the fun began.  Our goal was to shoot the other team members more than they shoot you, simple right?  Oh yeah, there are spooks hiding around every corner to throw you off your game!  Run, shoot, jump, scream, repeat over and over!  The play area is large, and there are plenty of spots to hide and attack.  The actors are all very believable, and coupled with the thrill of the hunt, our hearts were pumping and adrenalin was at an all-time high!  After about 20 minutes, our game was over, the scores were calculated (I did not win btw!) and we were taken to see the doctor for decontamination!  We had such a great time we went in for a second game!  After all was said and done, we walked out of Monster Mayhem sweaty and smiling!  If you are looking to have a good scare coupled with an exhilarating, fun time, Monster Mayhem is the end all, be all!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Because I attended Monster Mayhem two years ago, I knew were it was located, had I not, I may have had a hard time finding it.  I can't recall seeing a distinguishable sign at the entrance, which I think would help out a lot.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The waiting area is a pizza restaurant, not much you can do there.  Actors can't roam and spook you.  You can, however, enjoy a delicious pizza while you wait, so that's pretty awesome!

Actors' Performance


Top notch!  They really sell it.  Dedication seems to be job one with them!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Professional and impressive.

Length


Each game lasted roughly 20 minutes, long enough to work up a sweat!

Crowd Control


No issues

Most Memorable Moment


The whole thing!

Summary

My favorite haunt of the season!  I plan on going one more time before they close!

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 21, 2011 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This was genuinely one of the most unique haunts I have ever visited. It is completely different than last year and the concept is so interesting that we had a blast! The haunt concept: they put you right in the middle of a civilian training facility where they train you to kill the zombies and monsters that lurk on the levels below Paulo's Pizzeria. The most interesting? You actually play laser tag. They strap you into the suits and you get your instructions and off you go into the dark and scary twists and turns where monsters and zombies are around every corner. Although not entirely scary, it was so much fun that we really enjoyed it!!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Quite easy to find. Located in the basement of Paulo's Pizzeria. You have to go to the back of the restaurant to buy your tickets though, a little confusing with not much signage for the haunt.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We were there just before closing and there weren't any groups waiting before us, so we went right in. Not sure if you wait in the restaurant area if there is a line, but it doesn't seem like there's anywhere else to wait.

Actors' Performance


There were not a ton of actors in this haunt. Due to its setup and theme, they didn't need many. The actors who played the army general guy, the young girl zombie and the alien/dinosaur/monster-type thing... they were all excellent!!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Again, due to the theme and setup, they didn't require much, but what they had was pretty good. It took me at least 10 minutes of walking around until I realized I missed about half of the layout so I quickly walked through the rooms to make sure I took it all in - it's pretty massive.

Length


I would say that we waited maybe 5 minutes to go in and we were in the haunt for 20-25 minutes when all was said and done. A great length since so many other haunts are about half that. We really enjoyed how long it lasted.

Crowd Control


We were the last group in, so we didn't have to worry about anyone else. I'm not sure how they handle it when there's more people there, but I would guess that only one group goes in at a time. Fantastic.

Most Memorable Moment


A friend of mine and I were instructed by the army officer to push two buttons at the same time and of course failed to do so and we let the alien-like monster out of it's cage. Creepy! Also, the young girl zombie was excellent. Don't want to give away too much.

Summary

Definitely a must-see since it's such a unique concept. It's a lot of fun and good for all ages since it's not completely terrifying. The actors did a good job, but sometimes I was less concerned about them and much more concerned with laser-tagging the other team. Overall, a great time had by all!

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by Leatherface after attending on Sunday, October 23, 2011 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage/Visibility/Location
Splatterhaus is very easy to find. If your from out of town just map it, and follow your way into Two Rivers from I-43 on HWY 310.

Wait Area/Line Entertainment
Tonight was a Sunday night. So the line was very short about a 15 minute wait. They were playing Killer Klowns From Outerspace on the big screen. Love that movie

Actors' Performance
All out great job by all. Went through with my sister and she was running around in the rooms every time. Hilarious! Each time I come the actors are always ready and in your face!

Length
For a group of 2 we were in the "haus" a total of 20 minutes. Bigger groups would take longer so definitly worth the trip.

Summary

Overall it was worth every penny. Even bought myself a shirt for a souvenir. Very pleased they found a way to bring back the old twists and turns. The rooms were great. Hope to see a few more added next year, they had quite a few hallways. Can't wait to see what they do next year. Thanks Splatterhaus.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering

by Sneaky_Bush50 after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2011 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This event is truly top notch. After seeing what they did their first year we couldn't wait to come back and they did not disappoint. Even though we showed up only half an hour after opening the line was already out the door (they offer an R.I.P. upgrade to skip to the front of the line if you choose to as well). Inside we were greeted by three of Satan's finest ladies and a very witty vampire mistress.
The haunt itself in one word - INCREDIBLE. The detail of the makeup and scenery was second to none and made you forget that it wasn't real. If you come here thinking that you won't be scared than you are mistaking, around every corner there is something waiting to catch you off guard. The last scare had our group literally running for the exit which leads to a gift shop where you can purchase merchandise and get information for other local haunted houses.
The haunt is recommended for ages 16+ and we can see why. One scene in particular will stay with me for some time.

Summary

This haunt should be a must see on everybody's list this year and for years to come as well. You are bound to have a blast being scared and entertained by some of the best ghouls around.

View all Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Trail Benefiting Dane County Humane Society

by Budda after attending on Friday, October 21, 2011 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Located on the grounds of the Dane County Humane Society, the proceeds support wildlife rescue and rehabilitation, so the $8 entry fee supports a worthy cause. We began waiting a short time in line inside a decorated barn and visitors were spaced apart very well, so we could hear others screaming in the dark but were not bumping into other people along the way.

Flashlights are available at the ticket counter but are not required in order see, since the trail is dimly lit and there is yellow "caution" tape along the edge to keep people from straying off the path. Using a flashlight would have spoiled the journey and we found it easy enough to navigate in spite of limited moonlight.

There was plenty of spooky atmosphere, monster sound effects, abundant actors hiding and lurking about, and plenty of fun lasting the entire 25-30 minutes. When we exited the trail we were treated to hot cider and a bowl of candy, with an additional refreshment trailer nearby for those who wanted something else. This was our first visit to this location and we will return next year.

Summary

Having visited several haunts this season, this ranked among the very best and is a great value for $8.

View all Haunted Trail Benefiting Dane County Humane Society reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 17th, 2019 5:57 p.m. CDT 1.12