ad-header-top

2011 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

167 total reviews. Showing 10 of 15 on this page (5 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The Haunted Barn is a haunt that I have added to my must see list. They have created a complete nightmare of horrors. From the beginning, you are left wandering in a world of darkness and surprise. There are monsters and killers lurking around every bend just waiting for you to entire their world. After walking through the first part of the barn, you are lead down a dark path leading into the woods. The woods really add to the effect of this haunt. You feel as though you are walking through some strange forest and you don't know who or what will get you. I will add that there were some dead spots in the woods. Just a few more actors, would have just blow it away. After the woods, you are lead back to the barn and enter more rooms of darkness and terror.

Signage / Visibility / Location


This haunt is very visible from the hwy. It has a lighted sign out front directing you into the parking area.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Being the beginning of the haunt season we didn't have any wait time to get in however, I did notice a few actors outside wandering around waiting for their next victim to approach.

Actors' Performance


The actors did a very good job. They always stayed in character and you never knew where they were lurking inside the haunt. I will say though there was a couple dead spots that would have been even better with an actor there.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The Haunted Barn has some very unique scenes inside their haunt. They have the layout set up where you don't know whats waiting for you around the next bend. Everything just leaves you with that eerie feeling and makes you think that you are entering a barn of terror instead of just a haunted house.

Length


It took approximately 40 minutes to walk the entire haunt. It is one of the longer haunts I've ever been to.

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable moment I had at the Haunted Barn would have to be watching my future brother-in-law's girlfriend scream and get terrified around every corner.

Summary

Overall, the Haunted Barn is a very well put together haunt. You can see the creativity and thoughts that are put into it. I would recommend it to anything that loves haunts who are over the age of 13.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by eekgeek after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

First impression- cool location, creepy old factory...plenty of free parking and food while you wait in line. Hillbilly was annoying but funny. After a long dark maze that seem to go on forever - you enter an insane hospital. (Watch out for the Dolly girl who clearly has issues) After exiting hospital, theres a cool swamp & cemetary area with zombies (probably our favoriate area). The other floor was all 3D blacklight - kind of an evil fun house with a lot of whack-o's. Since we all HATE clowns, we tried to rush through the circus tent as fast as possible, The exit slide was cool but one of my friends had a mini-skirt so she asked to use the stairs instead.

Summary

Pro’s: Very entertaining....LONG (48 minutes even with rushing through the evil clown area). One of the monsters tossed me some mardi-gras beads out the window while we were waiting in line. Very cool artwork in the 3D area.

Con's: No sexy MALE vampires that sparkle!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by princesszombie after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

This is one haunt worth checking out, they really take use of pitch black mazes, tight spaces and very loud sounds. At times it can be a sensory overload, but is still a fun time.

I am so glad this haunt has an indoor wait area, it was a chilly night when we went.

Overall, the actors did a good job. I wish that the actors would interact more with the group but in some of the rooms I can see where that isnt an easy task.

Sets were very good from what I could see, the lighting does kind of make really checking everything out a bit difficult. One room honestly looked like a scene out of a movie, don't want to give anything away.

We got there at 11 and we were back in the car by 1120. I wish it wouldve been longer.

Summary

Overall this is one haunt worth seeing. I wish they would bring somethings they had in sheboygan falls into this location because I really enjoyed the haunt there. If you are afraid of the dark this is one haunt that will get to you. Make sure the people in your group are going to be okay with get touched and bumped into a lot, sudden turns and pitchblack mazes make it impossible not to do this.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by bunnehop after attending on Sunday, October 2, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

All I have to say is WOW! This place is awesome! They drive you in a hearse then you have to get out and walk through the woods. I was here a few years ago and they really changed a lot of stuff. It's even better. It's also a lot longer then other haunted houses I've been to.

Summary

Its outside with fires leading the way, all the monsters are on cue and scared us over and over again. I'd describe parts to you but I don't want to give any parts away. My favorite part is, it's outside and really adds to the creepy effect. They have a snack bar where you buy tickets and it's easy to find.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by wodill after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Had a great time. while waiting in line, we were randonly chosen and given a free Pizza Hut pizza to eat while in line !!! How great is that!!! We also meet the owner of the haunt while in line, and talked to him and a little about their operation. The lines moved very fast. The haunt has great detail as always and awesome actors! ... thats why we keep going back.

Summary

well worth checking out!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by The Raven after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

I went through this haunted house the second night with the hopes of seeing a 5 story haunted house. Hoping to see the most scary haunted attraction in the state as they claim to be. This was not the case.

Well i started as a group of 10 then they split us into a group of 4. Nothing wrong with that.

The wait wasn't too long due to being opening weekend. About a 30 minute wait.

The attraction began at the 3rd level of the building, THE 3RD LEVEL, not 5 stories as they advertise.

The acting was very amatuer and plain. They would jump out at you then break character to tell you which direction to go...what's up with that?

The rooms: seems like a lot of work was put into them but not the actors bringing the room to life. There was a beautifully decorated Vampire Lair; but the Vampire Mistress just sat in a chair and hissed at you...most of the rooms were similar to this. Most of the walls had no ceilings so you had an idea of where to go.

Length: it took our group 16 minutes to get through. We were expecting 40 minutes that we read on HauntedWisconsin and there was a Security Guard or someone working for the haunt following our group almost all the way through. We were not a hostile group just came for some entertainment.

Summary

This haunted attraction is not good in my eyes. Won't be returning next season.

Overall I would give it about a 4/10

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by witch4ever after attending on Sunday, October 2, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Location: Easy to find in Racine with big signs.
Parking: Free behind the building
Line: Our group went on a Sunday night so there was no line.
Waiting area: They have one small room for people to wait in. If it gets busy and a lot of people are waiting, there will be a line on the street. No food or beverages for sale.
Haunt: Really great building for a haunt. Going into the building you start to feel that really anything could happen here. The actors were really into the event and seemed to be having a great time. The rooms are really big and have some great effects. They could have used the space a little better by forcing guests to walk around the room more so they get closer to the scares. The maze halls work really well to break up the rooms and keep groups from bunching up. Haunt took a good 25 mins to get through. We got to walk at our own pace without worrying about other groups. Great use of light and smoke.

Summary

We went on one of there discount days where you get in for $10. It was so worth the money. If you have the time I would recommend this to anyone that wants to take a trip down to Racine.

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by freaksjay06 after attending on Sunday, October 2, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

The last weekend in September seems really too soon for a haunt for some. Not for my friends and I. We hopped in car named Carl and headed to The Haunted barn for their first night if operation.

We arrived close to their closing time of 11 pm. there was a few groups that were going through at the time. This was my partner's second visit to the Haunted Barn and the scenery changed a little but very similar to last year. the scares were near and far between it seemed. The Haunt used the featured theme of Carnival very sparingly. It was present only during the beginning and kind of fell off my radar. The actors doing the scares were a little cheesy at times but still managed to make me jump a few times.
The length of this haunt was long but only because of the forest that was empty except for a few scare actors in the forest/cemetery. I will say that the props and detail is getting immensely better year by year. For example the awesome haunted mine that was neat. Also, the western style building with a porch and balcony was great to see.
To get to the haunt was easy there is two ways of getting there and both are equally easy if you coming from Madison. My favorite actor is Beetle juice. He made a triumphant but out of place return. He followed us through such as last year. b-juice was as clever and interactive as ever. Thanx for that highlight. Also, the clown like thing out side did not say much but he had great makeup. now if they could just fill those rooms up with more scares and more variety of things to experience next year I would give you a better rating.

Summary

Props and detail was most improved this year. amount and creativity of scares however still need work. I will still comeback for the next season just to see the Haunted Barn's improvements. this place has come a long way but still a bit of way to go.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by princesszombie after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This haunt is still one of my favorites. Great acting, love the fact that the actors interact with the group. For some parts I wish there would have been brighter lighting to have been able to check out the sets a bit more but still a very awesome and fun haunt. Great makeup, loved some of the lighting effects.

Summary

This was the first year that I was able to go to all 3 haunts and did the coffin ride. Coffin ride was different from the first time I did it and fun. Altogether everything took about an hour and a half to 2 hours with all 3 haunts the coffin ride and wait. If you are going to be traveling for a haunt this is one to check out if you aren't from the area. Once you attend Insanity you will understand this, I felt like I was going into Narnia."

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by comewhatmay927 after attending on Sunday, October 2, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Some of the most creative and well built rooms I've ever been in. Lots of very interesting concepts, not your run of the mill haunted house scenes. The creative minds at "Dominion" really put lots of thought and effort into this.

My only complaint seemed to be timing. Groups of patrons ended up catching up with each other, so some of the scares were spoiled. Despite this, the sets alone are worth admission. And there's a vortex room!

Summary

Inventive and extremely well built. Lot's of rooms!

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Hallows

by comewhatmay927 after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Went to this event last night and the event wasn't open.

Summary

Not open as advertised.

View all Haunted Hallows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by lazysmurf97 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Haunted Barn is a must see haunted attraction in Dane County!  The atmosphere was perfect for a haunted house and you never knew what to expect.  I really enjoyed the mixture of indoor and outdoor entertainment. At times, we felt like we were in a horror movie, especially while walking through the haunted forest.

I would highly recommend wearing good walking shoes and a jacket if you go on a cold evening.  There are many steps and bits of uneven ground to go through. Most of the steps are well lit, but we did stumble on a few that were not, so use caution. There is also a point where you have to crawl and a point where you have to walk hunched over, so if you are unable to do so, be aware. I appreciated that they did point this out prior to entering.

Signage / Visibility / Location


This haunt had the perfect location. It was easy to see off the highway. They had a large red light on the barn that could be seen from a distance and a large sign by the driveway.  It was located close enough to the city to be accessible but not so close as to lose the country atmosphere.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There was not a line when we went so we were able to just walk up and go in. They did have several actors in the area to get you in the mood for the haunt. 

Actors' Performance


Overall, the actors did a good job.  A lot of the scaring came in the form of loud screaming.  The costumes were very nice and thought out. There was a lot of attention to detail with the makeup including creepy contact lenses. We enjoyed the twin clowns that escorted us to the entrance of the haunt. They were just the right amount of creepy!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This haunt had wonderful scenery. You  go through a barn, a haunted forest and then yet another barn. You never know what to expect ahead of you or behind you for that matter! It seemed like each area was well thought out and planned.  The barn itself added a spooky feel and smell to the whole place. The props also had a great deal of detail and the gore effects were phenomenal, with lots of drippy blood in some scenes. There were lots of different 'rooms', each one varying from easy to get through, to wall touching adventure.

Length


It took us about 30 minutes to go through everything. We were moving rather quickly, so expect to spend longer if there is a larger crowd. 

Crowd Control


We did see a security officier on the premises, but there wasn't much of a crowd when we were there. Unfortunately, when we saw him, he was coming out through a door with a light on and it kind of ruined the scariness of that section of the barn for us. He did apologize though. I think we scared him!

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable moment for me came in the form of a man chasing us with a chainsaw.  He really frightened me and my friend just laughed at my reaction. It was great!

Summary

Overall, I had a great time at The Haunted Barn. I would highly recommend it to everyone.  As long as you dress appropriately and are aware of the physical requirements, you should have a great time.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Nightmare On Main

by wodill after attending on Friday, September 30, 2011 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Disapointed the moment we walked in ... there was no greeting or acknowledgement when we got there. no one in line and waited over 20 minutes to get in! ... really need to speed up the process. clean up and dress up the waiting line area would be nice too. Good try at scareing though.

Summary

Would not go back again

View all Nightmare On Main reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by wodill after attending on Friday, September 30, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

First time going though ... WOW!! loved it!!! The music is definatley loud all the way through, great scenes, props & characters. Well worth the 2 hour drive!

Summary

Will be going through again! ... not recommending for younger kids though.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by wodill after attending on Friday, September 30, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was our 3rd year going though, it gets better every year. It is well detailed and alot of effort went into the layout.

Summary

Definately one to check out and will go back again!

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




November 17th, 2019 4:00 p.m. CST 11.0