ad-header-top

2011 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

167 total reviews. Showing 14 of 15 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by YourBloodyNightmare after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Mars has done it again! they have definatly stepped up this year and although alot of the rooms havent changed that much from last year they still managed to make it different. All the actors did an amazing job inside and out. In that I have a few actors I would like to point out and compliment that really got me. The girl in the cage....Outstanding! she did her acting to a T and made me believe I was in a Saw movie.. The guy in the poop room as disturbing as it is to see poop on the walls and ceiling and have it smell like poop for the man sitting in that room I give him props. He made me laugh til I had tears in my eyes... The Zombie by the curtain and bookshelf room that trapped us in the dining area was the trippiest thing ive seen with the twisting and twitching and being caught between that and the dog thing in the fireplace my group didnt know what to do and that Woman that bangs on the wall and pops out from behind it from utter blackness made me jump. I was not expecting that caught already between 2 actors. amazing job.... and lastly the giant guy at the end was awesome! never lost his energy and scared you all through that room

Summary

All in All it was a good haunt and definatly worth the money spent. I would Definatly go again. the only downside I could think of was the group in front of us ruining the scares. I guess it was just because they didnt want to show everyone else that they were really scared but then again you get those with every haunt. and to the actors that didnt get mentioned dont think it was because you didnt scare me or because you were not good enough to be mentioned. you all were great though I believe some could do more but those few really stuck out for me. Mars keep up the awesome work and TY for making me jump and be scared out of my mind

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by vampybrenda after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have followed this haunt since it was at the Grand Opera House in Oshkosh, to the Fairgrounds and now to Manitowoc. In fact this was the very 1st haunt I ever attended. It is nice to see how they have grown and gotten better every year and I was curious to see what they would do this year. I have to admit, looking at the building alone is enough to give me second thoughts about going in, but after we bought some snacks at the concession trailer we got our tickets and went in. Wow! the inside was even better thank last year. I loved the black maze area. Big shivers when I thought I had run into another group, only to find out it was a "monster" LOL. Black maze seemed to go on forever, and I am pretty sure we were in that area alone for 5 min. The new hospital set was amazing with some cool new scares including some girl getting a nasty tattoo. Loved the actors interacting with my group and how one guy had my boyfriend scream like a little girl when he popped up from no where. the Catacomb and Vampire lair look awesome and you can tell a lot of time went into these sets. We took about 5o minuets to go through the entire thing whic I was amazed at, because I cant recall it being that long last year.
The actors seemed to really enjoy themselves and put on a great show even staying in character when my girlfriend tried to flirt with one of the cute actors.
Second floor seemed to be a bit better this year with a few new surprises and pretty cool makeup under the black light.

Summary

All in all I have to say I continue to be impressed by this haunt and cant wait to see what next year has in store for me. Who knows I might even want to be a monster someday there.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering

by MarleneLady after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunted house really came out of the gate running. We attended last year and were blown away with how well done this haunted house was for being a first year.
We had read that they re did the whole thing. A lot of times I notice these places say that and you go back to find out they changed maybe one thing. This place was brand new. I am sad they got rid of the elevator but I was much more scared this year than last.

The detail and professional aspects of oblivions is off the charts! Their makeuop and costuming was even better than last year. They had some scents added this year as well that made the atmosphere even more unsettling and really transport you into a different dimension.

Acting was top notch. I loved the dancing girls in the front of their new indoor waiting but the actress who lets you in is a bit cheesy. Cute, but cheesy. I wish she would have been more 'scary'

Summary

Overall this haunted house is very scary and I think will give the other places a good run for their money. You really feel you got your money's worth at oblivions. If you havent been here yet, be sure you do go. You will love it.

Finding the building is a bit hard but once you see their tickets sign they have friendly staff to guide you and monsters running around outside.

View all Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

by CC2 after attending on Friday, September 30, 2011 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Meadowbrook Farm always presents with a very full Halloween experience. It is strong on atmosphere and charm.

There is an extensive area of pumpkins for sale, seasonal lighting around the trees, a large gift shop, a bonfire complete with scary stories being told, a concession stand and, of course, the corn maze.

It seems the corn is even taller this year and the atmosphere that comes with a moonlit walk through the field is beyond compare.

The tour through the field takes about 40 minutes depending on your pace.

Along the way, you will pass by elaborate sets and enter areas staffed with actors intent on bringing you startles.

The producers of this event do a nice job of having audio effects throughout the field so that even if you aren't seeing things, you are probably hearing things.

Summary

I always look forward to the corn maze. It has its own niche in the haunted house scene.

Per usual, this year's was an enjoyable visit.

Be careful to protect your face when walking through the corn as the leaves will be sharp against your face if you aren't paying attention.

The group I came with agreed that, if possible, the maze would be even more intense if more staff could be stationed amongst the corn.

The farm is a family friendly event, however, the maze may be intense for younger visitors.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by i_hop after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

After getting tickets for this event, you get the benefit of waiting inside until it's your turn to go in. Not only does this haunt have excellent scene setups, but they also have worked in good transitions between many of the rooms. (Characters often interact with as you move from one scene to the next.) I'm a big fan of subtleties like that.

I didn't time how long we were in there, but it was longer than most haunts I've been to. One negative is we did catch up to the group ahead of us a few times. Fortunately, when we asked "should we wait?" one of the actors in a scene said yes. (I'm not a fan of actors breaking character, but I do appreciate it in this instance, as it allowed us to fully enjoy the event.) The actors in that scene continued to do their "thing" (I don't want to give anything away) until it was time for us to move on.
They use a 3-D effect in a portion of the haunt that is awesome got to one of the room's an a guy in a dress pop's out at you he know what he is doing oh the clown did a good job keeping you on your feet

Summary

it was the best will be back with more friends next weekend

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by CC2 after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dominion of Terror routinely puts out a good product, but this year's version is particularly good.

The attraction has been entirely redone since last year and this year's version is geared toward more mature audiences in terms of its intensity and imagery.

There is high attention to detail in Dominion, including creating scents appropriate to certain scenes and environments.

The actors at Dominion routinely give excellent performances and this year's staff are no exception. Character dialogue is witty and quick.

The producers of Dominion make good use of their building and they put a tremendous amount of work into rebuilding their sets and coming up with entirely new concepts.

I don't appreciate recycled bits from year to year and Dominion gives you an entirely new experience for 2011.

Summary

The producers of Dominion of Terror have taken their haunt to new heights and it is a very high quality attraction.

The sets are very elaborate and well done. Costuming and actor investment are strong, as well.

All in my party agreed this was an excellent stop and we all would return.

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by CC2 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Fear Factory will present you with two floors of attractions. One of the floors is exclusively 3D effects and is themed on various nursery rhyme characters.

The principle floor is more traditional in its presentation, but features some elaborate sets.

There were numerous live actors throughout the factory who gave good performances, especially considering it was an opening weekend. The dialogue was fairly witty.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Fear Factory has a lot of space to work with and they put a lot of effort into their project. There is a spotlight in front of the entrance.

We had no problem finding the Factory using a GPS.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There seemed to be some effort on the part of the operators to allow for gaps between groups being sent in.

Despite there not being many people in line when we arrived, we had to wait about 20 minutes or so to enter.

There was an actor at the entrance who played the roll of a bumpkin and made attempts to interact with people in line.

Actors' Performance


Among the characters you will meet at the factory are Snow White, Sleeping Beauty, Cinderella, the Mad Hatter and numerous clowns.

The producers of the factory did a very creative presentation with their darker takes on nursery rhymes.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The attraction will take you through catacombs with walls of skulls, a graveyard, a walk through a swamp and extensive hospital scenes beginning with a mattress walk among the other environments in the haunt.

As was mentioned, one floor is devoted entirely to 3D effects.

The Factory made use of some interesting lighting effects and even featured a live guitarist at one point.

Length


It took a little more than half an hour to complete the two floors, walking at a leisurely pace.

There are some organizational problems with the layout of the house, however, as our group got off track several times and in one instance accidentally exited the main area and ended up outside the walls.

Crowd Control


The crowd was regulated by one staff person who allowed patrons to enter at fairly regular intervals.

It appears that if the line is long, it will exit the covered area inside the building and extend to an exposed area in front of the attraction, so be mindful of that in the event of rain.

There was one portable toilet inside the entrance area and a concession stand, as well.

Most Memorable Moment


My group agreed that two performances were the most remarkable experiences of our visit.

We found the person who affected the Cinderella character to have been particularly amusing. The clown who introduces you to the 3D area was humorous, as well.

Summary

Fear Factory is a large attraction and certainly worthy of a visit, if in the area. I haven't seen an entire floor of an attraction devoted to 3D effects before. The producers of the event put together a nice attraction and the actors gave invested performances. Good creativity was shown in the development of the sets and the overall concepts.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by Truebie31 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Although this haunt is a mere 2.5 hour jaunt from where I live, it was well worth the drive!  I took my 13 year-old daughter with me and we arrived early so we did have to wait about 45 minutes before there was enough people to go with us in a group.  The staff was very friendly as we waited including the 2 witches in the box office booth.  One of the greeters, Bobo the clown, also followed us throughout the haunt, but was not scary & provided much needed comic relief.  First stop is the Insane Asylum which included plenty of darkness & gore.  The rest of the haunt includes a strobe light section, a neon, 3-D (glasses provided) section with some cracked takes on classic fairy tales, a vampire/zombie lair, a jungle scene & of course, a clown room, hosted by Bobo.  Without giving too much away, I do have to warn against the very end.  There is a long, metal slide to get back down to ground level & exit.  An older lady in our group had a little trouble with this, but made it.  I am not sure if there is another way out if you are unable to use the slide.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Never having been to Manitowoc, the factory is very easy to find.  It is on Franklin Street & there are a few signs to lead you there.  Also, out front there is a hearse & more highly visible signs along with a nighttime premiere light.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Since we were early, there was no long line to wait.  If the weather is cooler, I would suggest a jacket because the waiting area is not heated & goes outside.  With the wind, we were slightly chilly.  The line entertainment was great; included Bobo & a nasty hillbilly dude with "blood" on his face that messes with visitors.

Actors' Performance


Excellent!  I couldn't say enough positive things about the wonderful actors.  They stayed in character even if people messed with them. I tend to have a bit of a potty mouth when I get scared & that did not phase them a bit.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Very detailed sets & props.  We were warned before entering to not touch the props, actors, etc.  Everything was wonderfully & grotesquely decorated!

Length


Very long & well worth the amount of money ($20).  Since we were the first group in, it ran about 45 minutes, which was right on the 45-60 minutes advertised.

Crowd Control


I can't say much for this because like I said we were the first ones in & there wasn't a crowd.

Most Memorable Moment


This had to be when we went into the clown room & Bobo singled out my daughter & myself as being very good visitors & after hugging us, gave us a "I hugged a clown today" sticker.  I also got to play the neon-colored piano with Bobo; he played high notes & I played low then we played with our feet!  

Summary

Overall, an excellent haunted attraction.  It was very scary at first, but then became more fun toward the end.  However, we still got scared & I screamed even when I expected it!  I would go again & highly recommend this haunt!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by kjlamb after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Mars was a great haunted house-they had all different kinds of scares and you never knew which way or where the next one was going to come from next. Just beware of the floor it ramps up and down harshly and sometimes without waring, and you may mistep and fall. Thea actors were great and took their roles seriously. The props were also not cheap either. It was a long haunt-took about 15-20 min to walk through. You definately get what you pay for and there are coupons at Halloween Express.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by BillFe after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Just simply fantastic! Beetle Juice does an excellent job. The twin clowns can be a menace without saying a word! You never know if an individual is a mannequin or a live person. Lots to be nervous about. I loved it!

Summary

enjoy the trip but leave the kids at home!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED)

by kjlamb after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Compared to previous years this haunt has definately gone downhill. All it is lazer tag with a story, them you are supposed to go out and shoot zombies (which I only saw one or two of) and each other. Which really does not make sense-because would not we all be on the same team against the zombies? The lazer tag guns are really senstive and hard to shoot.. The big "dino" monster they have walking around is cool.

Summary

Id skip it if i were you. glad i went when it was opening weekend and only paid 9.00. not worth full price.

View all Lister F/X Presents Monster Mayhem Haunted Laser Tag (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by AndreaR after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Loved it! The characters/actors were wonderful - the costumes, makeup, and portrayal of the character was perfect. Loved Beetlejuice and the twins (they totally creeped me out). The event is well worth your money, it lasts 30-45 minutes, depending on your pace. The decorations/scene setting, especially inside the barn, was amazing, these people really know what they are doing! I would have liked more interaction in the haunted woods, it was a pretty walk with all the lights through the woods, but not very haunted. Otherwise everything was great. My favorite thing was the vortex bridge. Words can't explain it, you just have to experience it!!!

Summary

Worth every penny!! I will definitely be back next year!!!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Schuster's Haunted Forest

by AllesA after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

The trek through the forest was difficult at times to tell if you were on the right path. You are led to different scenes that are played out pretty well. There are some areas that are a challenge to travel through and not for the claustrophobic. A little dissapointed this year not as many areas where they would try to scare. There were no monsters lurking around corners to frighten an unsuspecting guest. Perhaps it was early in the season, and had a lack of people.

View all Schuster's Haunted Forest reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by AllesA after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

The attention to detail in the makeup, costume and hair was terriffic. Each character played their part very well. I was particularily impressed by the erie twin clowns and the poor little girl looking for her lost cat. Also the horror and thrill was continuous. The haunted house is easy to find with a sign posted by the driveway and parking was plentiful. Definitely a must see haunted house.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

Terror on the Fox is back again with their 15th year of fear!  Located at the
National Railroad Museum in Green Bay, Terror on the Fox is home to 4
separate haunted attractions, including the ONLY haunted train ride in
WI and perhaps the Midwest!  It is the haunted train ride and large
collection of ghoulish props that keep visitors (including myself)
returning  every year.  I have been attending Terror on the Fox every
year since they first opened and it is great to see fan favorites such
as the vortex, claustrophobia, and giant room sized animatronics
returning each year.  There were quite a few "hiccups"  (lack of actors,
no 3d glasses, and props that were not working) when I attended this
year, but I am assuming that is because it was opening weekend.  

Finding the Terror on the Fox should be easy even to the foreigner as
there are huge billboards off the interstate boasting their existence. 
Parking is free and they have a very LARGE selection of souvenirs
available for purchase (including a haunted house night light).  I
purchased a hot cocoa and a LARGE cookie to enjoy while we waited  ...
but since the line was so short, we were asked to toss our beverages
before boarding the train.  Most of the wait is uncovered, so make sure
to dress weather appropriate and wear shoes that may get muddy.  While
you wait there are large projection screens displaying numerous ghoulish
videos to entertain you. 

The train is an old double decker passenger car and visitors can choose
to ride up top or on the main floor.  Smoke and strobe lights fill the
aisles while ghouls appear from beneath and above.  Passengers leave the
depot never to be seen returning.  The train ride lasted about 15
minutes and it takes you along the river, through a woods, and past
several antique train cars.

Once you exit the train, if you purchased a combo pass you are guided to
the entrance of "3rd Dimension of Fear", if you purchased general
admission you will do a brief walk through the woods and head straight
to the main house.  We chose combo and headed for the "3rd Dimension of
Fear". 

The wait was not long and soon we were inside the "3rd Dimension of
Fear".  I'm not certain if they were out of 3d glasses or if they had
not come in yet, but we were not given any 3d glasses.  The fluorescent
paints, props, and costumes looked harmless without the 3d effect.  The
"3rd Dimension of Fear" had a very creepy circus theme, but lack of
actors (only 2) left more to be desired.  If this particular attraction
had been in 3d and had more actors it would have made the extra $7 well
worth it!  The "3rd Dimension of Fear" lasted about 12 minutes.  As soon
as we exited the "3rd Dimension of Fear" we found ourselves entering
the "Void". 

The "Void" is exactly as it sounds ... completely void of anything but
darkness.  You will find yourself walking, arms stretched out, in a maze
of complete darkness.  You may even find yourself trapped and having to
retrace your path to find a way out.  The "Void" took us 9 minutes to
complete.  Once we exited the "Void", there was a brief walk through the
woods up to the main haunt, "Ominous  Sanctum".

Ominous Sanctum is the main attraction and worth far more than the $13 general admission.  The amazingly realistic design make this portion of the haunt seem as if you just stepped foot in to your worst nightmare.  The rooms are laid out perfectly and there is no "down time".  Every actor was right on cue and even when we got close to their face, we couldn't tell what was real and what wasn't.  You can clearly tell that years of hard work have gone into this haunt and it is time well spent!  The entire house took 25 minutes to go through and there wasn't a single repeated room or blank spot on the wall.  Ominous Sanctum definitely puts Terror on the Fox at the top. 

In conclusion, the total time it took us to complete all the attractions collectively was just over an hour.  I would probably skip the extra haunts and head straight to the main event, at $13 you can not find a better bargain for such a well planned house!  Although for an extra $7 if 3rd Dimension of Fear has 3d glasses and more actors I would definitely consider spending the extra money.  15 seasons and Terror on the Fox keeps getting better, I already can't wait to see how much they grow in the next 15 years!

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




November 17th, 2019 4:40 p.m. CST 11.0