ad-header-top

2011 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

167 total reviews. Showing 14 of 15 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by Emily123 after attending on Friday, September 30, 2011 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have been attending ATOLS since it was in Oshkosh at the fairgrounds. I loved going to it every year when it was here, so when it moved to the factory I had to go see it there. The new building is amazing and it adds a good effect to the haunt itself. The building is creepy and that adds to it. When you get there, you get to wait in line inside with a funny clown named BoBo entertaining you. We waited in line for about 15 minutes and then went to hear the rules. That lady was very funny.

Actors: The actors seem very experienced and into their characters. They seem very passionate about what they are doing.

Make Up: The make up looked really good, especially on the characters in the hospital ward. Blood wasn't overused and the gore was spot on. There were no areas that were exposed.

Scenes: You could tell that the scenes had a lot of time and effort put into them. They were very detailed. My favorite room had to have been the one with all of the skulls put together. The rooms look natural and had no visual flaws. The props used were very good and could tell they spent a lot of money on them. The props were not cheesy like other haunts I have seen. Another one of my favorite effects was the mattresses going across the floor.

Length of haunt: The haunt took roughly 45 minutes start to finish and is longer than many I have been to in the state.

Layout: The layout is very good and rooms flow very nicely.

Summary

Overall I think this haunt is a must see. In my opinion, one of the best haunts in the state. If you are thinking about going here think no more and GO!

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by skare-me after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Awesome job to all who put this show on.We haven't been here in a while but wow! The ait a hort but even if it a long who cares? Food, drink and warm waiting area.
The rooms were decorated to perfection. Costumes and makeup
professional.I was sad when it was over :(

Summary

Without to much info my favorites were, BIG baby (stinky) , Dentist and his freaky paitent(that girl still scares me)I brushed that night, Taxidermist room with large mouse ..yikes. Black hallways always got me with a scare.
I may even go again

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Green Bay Fear is the haunt that everyone is talking about this year!  The Beja Shriners have done a great job marketing the haunted house from the very creepy commercials ran late at night on TV to the very cool T-shirts I see past victims wearing out and about.  The commercials were so professionally done that the anticipation of attending Fear was almost as great as the scares once you arrive.  When you arrive at the haunted house you have the option to purchase a general admission ticket for $15 or a RIP/VIP ticket for $25.  The house itself is great and well worth the $15, but for $10 more you can't afford NOT to go RIP.  You get to skip the lines, socialize, eat smores, have unlimited hot cocoa, sit around a cozy bonfire and listen to an AWESOME live band on a creepy stage.  There were people of all ages hanging out in the VIP area.  The outside of the haunt with its large structure and broken wooden fence help to create a frightening atmosphere.  As you enter the haunt, a creepy actor helps instruct you to put on the 3d glasses that are not NEEDED, but definitely compliment the haunt perfectly. 
Green Bay Fear is a MASTER in 3d effect.  Most haunts rely on the heavy luminescent colors to create scares, but Green Bay Fear using the 3d effect to enhance the already very scary sets and props.  The detail in each room is very realistic and the actors are very well placed, I'm not even certain if some of the noise coming from the actors was human.  It has been a LONG time since a haunted attraction has made me scream, but Green Bay Fear accomplished this goal not once, but TWICE. 

Signage / Visibility / Location


Fear is located right off of Hwy 41 and Shawano Ave.  (on the corner of Taylor on Bond St in Green Bay).  There are signs guiding you to the entrance as you get close, but not until you get closer.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There are two different options for the wait area ... RIP (VIP) or general.  In the VIP area you can experience a HUGE stage with a live band playing ghoulish tunes, unlimited hot cocoa, bonfire, smores and much much more.  For only $10 more this is the BEST VIP in the Midwest!!  My only concern with the VIP is that eventually EVERYONE may want to go VIP style and the wait for VIP may become long.  This was not the problem at ALL for us when we attended, but I can foresee it possibly happening in the future. 
I walked over the general admission area and I believe I saw they had a PSYCHIC doing readings in the wait area along with other entertainment.  The wait is outside so please be conscious of the weather! 
As you begin to the haunted house there is a very awesome haunted trail that is dimly lit with torches.  The trail lasted about 12 minutes and the ghouls are very well placed for maximum scare. 

Actors' Performance


The actors did a phenomenal job.  They climbed up walls and dragged their bodies on the ground.  There was never a moment any actor was out of character, they had great follow through and managed crowd control perfectly.  The costumes and makeup were above and beyond and helped complete the entire experience.  I also loved that the actors didn't only go after one person in the group, they had no favorites ... everyone got scared!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


From start to finish there is not a single area that hasn't been decorated in great detail.  The fluidity from room to room was perfect and the 3d effect is definitely their forte.  Most haunts that do a 3d effect focus on just the fluorescent colors, but FEAR combines detailed sets with just the right amount of luminescence to help compliment the overall effect.  

Length


The walk on the trail leading up to the house/vip area lasted about 12 minutes.  The house lasted around 25 minutes (perhaps longer), at one point you are led outside and then redirected back into the haunt for MORE scares!

Crowd Control


Crowd control was great, the actors entertained you while they made sure you never ran into another group. 

Summary

In conclusion all I have to say is that Green Bay Fear is a must see this year and if you like being entertained and scared then you can not afford to miss Fear this year!

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by katie_kiesow13 after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 6 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

We arrived at this haunt just before closing and there were still a lot of people there - a good sign. We waited about 30 minutes before we entered the haunt which starts with a creepy dark walk through the woods. Once you enter the house, each room presents a new face and a new scare. The make-up, costumes, and FX are all pretty good. The actors all do a good job - a few of them stumbled over their lines. I appreciated that each room had an interactive actor who had a story and a presentation and encouraged us to stick around with him/her for a while, there wasn't much jumping out and yelling "boo," they went for the bigger scare, which I like. The only thing I was disappointed about was the number of animatronic scares throughout the house. They don't do much for me and I was let-down in a number of rooms because they relied on those creatures to scare us. Buzz-kill. Overall, though, a good haunt that lasts pretty long, so definitely worth it.

Summary

Check it out. It's fun and the actors are pretty good. Take your time on the woods walk - it's one of the scariest parts.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

I enjoyed Terror on Rural Street just as much this year as I have in the past. They always do an exceptional job! We were really early in the season, so the wait was quite short, but don't expect the same to be true if you're visiting closer to Halloween - they tend to get quite busy. As usual, the make-up, costumes and effects were incredible and had my group terrified at every twist and turn.

Signage / Visibility / Location


It's located in the Activities Center in Hartford, so it's quite easy to find. Plenty of parking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


As I mentioned, we didn't wait in line very long, but they do have a few actors walking around scaring people. The wait area is heated with benches, so that's nice. Also, they serve concessions (including beer!) now, so be sure to check that out.

Actors' Performance


For the most part, I thought they did a good job. I just wish there would have a bit more actor interaction (i.e. conversations and a story line instead of just jumping out at us).

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This haunt provides some of the most sophisticated sets, scenes, props and FX that I've seen in the state. They really put their heart and souls into making this haunt great!

Length


We waited about 15-20 minutes to get into the haunt and it took us about 20 minutes to walk through the whole thing.

Crowd Control


There wasn't much of a crowd to control, so I'm not sure how they'll handle more groups during the busy nights, but we've never had problems in the past.

Most Memorable Moment


There are a couple of areas in the house where you're in complete darkness, surrounded by inflatable walls where you literally feel like you can't go anywhere. A nightmare for a claustrophobic person like myself!

Summary

Overall, as usual, an excellent haunt that I suggest to anyone in the area. I'd even say it's worth the drive if it's kind of far for you. Keep your eyes open - you won't want to miss anything in this haunted house! Be cautious - there are creatures everywhere...

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The House of Bathory has been my favorite haunt for the past couple of years. This year once again it remains at the top of my list. They have always been one of the only haunts left that has an "old school" style haunt. I have always loved the interactions that take part in each and every scene. By doing these interactions, it makes you feel as though you are part of the evil doings that are happening around you. I will warn you they are not afraid to touch you in this haunt. Dead by Dawn Productions chose a history theme for their haunt this year which I have never seen done by any other haunt I've ever been to. From the minute you walk up the steps in the House of Bathory till the minute you exit I felt as though I have traveled back in time to witness and take part in the horrific events that have happened in the past.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt is located right on the main street of downtown Manitowoc. It is very easy to find just look for the Mad Hatter sign that's in the window.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


This haunt does have an outdoor wait area so with the unpredictable weather of Wisconsin make sure to dress appropriately. They did have a magician for your entertainment while you wait in line.

Actors' Performance


The actors really did an excellent job at assuming their roles of people from history. They all fit their roles perfectly and executed them without any flaws.

Length


It took about 25 minutes to walk the entire haunt.

Summary

Overall, this is a must see haunt. I would recommend it to anyone over the age of 15 just because of the more adult nature of some of the scenes and the scares that wait inside.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 7, 2011 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

In all my years of attending haunts, this was by far the biggest surprise I've come across!  The idea of a haunt put on by a school or school district always makes me a little leery. Haunted High has caused me to reevaluate that thought!  Frightening, intriguing, and awe inspiring, this haunt has it all.  When I think of what made Haunted High stand out, one word comes to mind, innovative!  Crazy terrain tricks, dedicated actors, and an ending that is nothing short of amazing!  I don't know what the budge for Haunted High was, but it's safe to assume they used every penny wisely!  I would recommend Haunted High to anyone looking to have a spooky fun night!  Bravo Haunted High, Bravo!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Haunted High lacks in the area of signage.  I drove right past it, as it is set back from the street, and the gigantic high school across the street diverts your attention from it.  The haunt is well lit, and once you spot it, it is very noticeable, but an illuminated sign would do it wonders.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Awesome waiting area!  A big screen shows horror movie trailers, which is my favorite waiting line time waster, and an extremely weather damaged gym floor makes for a fun walking adventure!  A few actors were also available for spooking.  In all this was a great waiting area!

Actors' Performance


Dedicated and playful, the actors in Haunted High were top notch!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The best of the best!  I was surprised numerous times, and the finale was so impressive words can't describe it! I don't want to give anything away, just know that the finale blends two pop culture items I could care less about, and made a show that I sat through in amazement!  Truly remarkable stuff!

Length


Times vary, depending on how long you sit though the final act.  We sat through the entire show, so we were in there for a good 45 minutes.

Crowd Control


The crowd was controlled the entire time.  There were no chances for out of control behavior!

Most Memorable Moment


Definitely the finale.  Like I stated above, this was truly remarkable!  You have to see it to believe it!

Summary

Haunted High is the best haunt I have attended in some time!  Innovation mixed with dedication and technical skill, Haunted High does it as well as the best haunts around.  A+

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Nightmare Factory is a haunt that I have added to my must see list. I have always been a fan of them when they were located in Oshkosh and now that they moved into an actual Nightmare Factory it has completely blown me away. Room after room is filled with things that would only be created in a nightmare factory. I was left completely surprised and impressed around every corner.

They start you off at what looks like the loading docks of an old factory. Once inside you are lead up an old stairwell and leads you to the 3rd floor of the factory. Once the door opens you are thrown into a world that only the dead would live in. About half way through, you reach a point where you enter a 3-D effect style haunt. The 3-D effects usually don't do much for me but I was actually impressed by theirs. They kept with it the entire way through and each scene contained scenes I would never think to put into a 3D style haunt.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this is very easy to find. They have a giant spotlight out front and it is located right off of the main street of downtown Manitowoc.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We did end up waiting in line for approximately 20 minutes. In those 20 minutes, we were thoroughly entertained by BoBo the clown with his crazy jokes and antics. He definitely knew how to entertain a crowd.

Actors' Performance


The actors in this haunt did a very good job staying in character. It was like they actually became their particular character in the haunt. They knew exactly when to surprise you and what to do to really get under your skin.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes in this haunt are typical haunt scenes but you can definitely tell the extra time and effort that was put into them. They are set up extremely well and laid out perfectly.

Length


This was one of the longer haunts that I have been to. It is located on 3 different floors so it takes a little while to walk through the entire thing. I would say it was about 40 minutes of scares.

Summary

Overall, this is one of the best haunts that I have ever been to. I would recommend it to anyone over the age of 14.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by ghostfan after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I attended these haunted houses last year and had a great time so I was excited to bring a group of friends to check it out this year. We were definitely glad we went! They kicked it up a notch this year with the three haunted houses. Each one seems longer, and they were entertaining the whole way through. Some of the monsters were funny and some were scary.

Summary

As a Halloween enthusiast, I highly recommend attending the Wisconsin Feargrounds. The scares kept coming, and it is worth the $30.00!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by jack1776 after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I am not sure where to begin, I love this haunt. The setting is right in the middle of nowhere, but my GPS took me right to their lit sign. There were creatures working the parking lot before you even entered the store to purchase tickets. Their concession area was the best I have ever seen. Popcorn candy and pop of course, along with hot dogs, nachos, hot chocolate, cider, cappuccino and those giant pretzels I love. The que was in a giant barn and wound around huge hay bales the actors worked on top of. With all the activity it did not seem like 45 min. before we were getting the story of the farm and heading up to the ominous mine shaft entrance. I swear this is a real mine shaft that ends up in a great haunted house. When you come out there is a fire and actors doing a fortune telling bit to entertain you until your whole group is through the house. Next you are loaded on a wagon. Not just any wagon, this thing has seats and special effects built in, along with a sound track that matches the scenes. The natural eeriness of the ride is only enhanced by fire breathing demons and dragons, and ghouls that attack the wagon. I lost track of how many scenes we traveled through over what must have been 100 acres and then as the sound track says “Just when you thought it was over” they get you off the wagon in the middle of a pine forest. There is another bon fire here and someone to send your group through the woods 2 or 3 at a time. Again there is a ton of scenes including a grave yard, cabin and slaughter house that will blow your mind. And if that was not enough there is a trail through the corn field where actors come out of nowhere to chase you through. Our group of 4 had a great time. When I checked my watch I figured we were just entertained for about an hour. One last stop at the concessions area for a pop and a great looking sweat shirt. We could not stop talking about what we liked best.

Summary

The dark side is like 4 haunts in one. With the enormity of this place I cannot wait to see what they offer next year.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by frightnightfun after attending on Friday, October 7, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I attended on a Friday night and, as mentioned previously, the parking lots made it look as if the place was hopping, but the cars must have been mostly for the other events in the area. We bought our tickets and went to the waiting area, which was relatively empty. There are concessions available (even beer this year...YAY!) The concession area and entry were decorated and dark. Kinda cool. There were a couple of actors in there working the small crowd. We waited only about 15-20 minutes before our numbers were called. There were three other groups that were lined up in an orderly fashion and a ghoulishly wicked actor explained the rules and warmed up the groups. The groups were about 4-5 in number. Just the right size. This is always a very well operated and organized event.

Once inside the house, each area was filled with great detail and props to fit each scene and very little seemed to be carried over from last year. There were many dark hallways but there always seemed to be some type of surprise waiting in each. The detail and make up was awesome. The actors were all great and always stayed in character. There were many special high tech and mechanical FX that blended well with the live portions. The groups were well spaced. It took about 20 minutes to go through the entire house.

Some favs; The Dentist, the Trophy room, RUBY…oh…..and nobody puts Baby in a corner! At least not this BABY! WOW!

Overall very entertaining although, maybe not as in your face as years past.

Summary

Still my favorite event. Well run and always worth every penny! We go here every year and as usual, this event is still one of the top Haunts in Wisconsin.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Dave to the Grind (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Looking to hit up a few haunts in one night? Why not go where you can hit three in one stop? The Burial Chamber offers three high-quality and high-scare haunts, as well as a coffin simulator all in one place! Two of the haunts, Adrenaline and Insanity, take place in a huge warehouse and Phobia takes place in the woods. The coffin simulator places you inside a real coffin, which moves and shakes while playing sounds of your own burial. All offer different and unique experiences that will have you terrified and completely entertained. This is THE place to go if you are an avid haunt seeker. Get there early and enjoy the terror that awaits you!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to locate. Just about 5 minutes off Hwy 41 in Neenah. The complex is easy to see from the road with plenty of signs, flags and decorations. The multiple-beam spot light should be a good tip that you’re in the right place!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Since there are three haunts, there are three lines. All had actors to scare and amuse, as well as movies playing. I would strongly advise to get there early, especially if you are going to more than one haunt there. A VIP option is available to skip the wait, it can be pricey but it can save you hours of time. A timed entry is also available online and might be worth checking out.

Actors' Performance


All of the actors did an outstanding job and put in a great effort. Throughout the indoor haunts the actors did not skip a beat in scaring you when your attention is turned somewhere else. Some of the actors were very athletic. Many have the ability to jump up, swing, climb on walls, or crawl past you in a hair-raising fashion. The Phobia outdoor haunt had actors that were a little hokey with their use of a hillbilly accent. Still they all kept in character and were keen on sneaking into your group for a surprise fright. The actors tend to target the people in the group that are very afraid and timid.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Everything was extremely well done, great details all the way down to the cobwebs. The Adrenaline took you into a world where you felt like you were actually in a haunted house and not a huge warehouse. Their use of props, effects and a vortex made for a very good scare. The Phobia haunted woods gave you an eerie feeling with cricket sounds and a pond that put you in a Blair Witch world. Insanity had some of the best props, or should I say vehicles, I’ve ever seen. You do not know what to expect and these haunts do scare you. My only problem with Insanity was there was no ceiling set and you were able to see the ceiling of the warehouse. Though it did give the actors another place to scare you from…..

Length


Each haunt took you at least 15 minutes to get through. I liked that they had a set amount of time before they’d let another group through. It was very nice not to run into the group before you and have the frights ruined. The burial simulator lasted about 5 minutes.

Crowd Control


There were several lines, with three haunted houses, burial simulator, VIP entrances, concession and merchandise booths. The lines were easy to find and everything was clearly marked.

Most Memorable Moment


There were many but a moment I loved is when we somehow kept going through the same door into an autopsy room, we’d exit out of a different door but ended up in the same place again. Members of our group were asking if we were going the right way or asked if we had already been in the room. It gave you a feeling of actually being lost and not being able to find your way out.

Summary

Overall each haunt was excellent and each had my wife, and members of our group, screaming, running, jumping, sometimes falling and scared out of their minds. Each haunt was unique, scary, worth the money and the wait in line. The burial simulator was OK, it wasn’t too scary but if you want to know what it feels like to be in a coffin before you have to be in one, check it out. Burial Chamber is definitely a great night of entertainment. I would recommend getting there early and go with people that will help make the wait pass quickly. We noticed many people having a great time in line. Line entertainment also helps! Without the VIP passes you could easily be there until midnight, but believe me you will not leave disappointed. My wife has been going for 3 years and we will continue to go back each year.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Fin 'N' Feather Haunted Woods

by Sharkey after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

WOW! What a fabulous show. There is nothing scarier than finding yourself in the woods after dark. The attraction is quite extensive and really worth the money The horror movies with pop corn in the inside waiting area were great. After the woods they have a hugh club house with hot food and drink for partying including all ages. The best Halloween show I have ever seen. Go for it.

Summary

Once is not enough for this very scary walk in the woods.

View all Fin 'N' Feather Haunted Woods reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by JANISC-K after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

Save your money, not scary, not even fun.
Long wait in a hay filled barn, walk up hill to "haunted" mine, this is the only part that was ok (just ok), then to a "haunted hay ride" very predictable, then a walk through the woods and a "cornfield" (not a maze) with people "hiding in the corn to say "Raaar". we drove 1 1/2 hours to get there and was very disappointed.

Summary

If you truely like Scary Haunted Houses then dont waste your time or money on this one.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 7, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Very High

Review

If you're looking to totally immerse yourself into a nightmarishly good time, look no further. This year's Mars Haunted House once again offers an immersive experience that will excite your senses. Sets and passage ways are elaborately decorated with a keen attention to detail to provide ample visual stimulation. Encounters with ghouls seeking not only to scare the bajeezus out of you but also to creep you out make for both a bloodcurdling and chilling experience.

Traditionally I have declared this attraction to be Milwaukee's Scariest haunt. This year's edition of the Mars Haunted House once again makes a good case to continue as the area's top attraction. If you've enjoyed Mars in the past or if your just looking for a good scare or two you certainly won't be disappointed this year.

If you're into evaluating haunts with your senses you might find this helpful:

* Sight: Elaborate sets with great attention to detail. Lighting and
special effects were frequently used to surprise me even though I was expecting
it.

*Sound: Superb! The sound experience allowed me to become totally
immersed in many of the rooms….especially immediately upon entering this haunt!


* Smell: Ever wonder what death smells like?  …you’ll know the answer by the time you
depart this haunt.

* Touch:  Feel the splatter of
blood or a reaper breathing down your neck!

Signage / Visibility / Location


If the hearse parked by the front door and the elaborately dressed ghouls meandering along
the sidewalk don't catch your attention you may be dead already...but if you're not you probably wouldn't be the first person to drive past the site.


Wait Area / Line Entertainment



Be on the watch for Stiches & Violator! Words won't do justice for these ghouls…but trust
me, when you encounter them you'll know it! Elaborately dressed ghouls interact with you to heighten your anticipation while you wait to enter. The waiting line is all outdoors...so dressing for the weather may be a good idea if you're attending during peak haunting hours.


Actors' Performance



The performance of the characters outside was exceptional! Inside the haunt the actors’
focused more on scaring the bejeezus out of you than entertaining you.


Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Definitely worth checking out! With the total immersion and interaction with the actors and
sound in each room it's very easy to miss some of the attention to detail found in each room.... there are plenty of outstanding effects to keep you visually entertained when you’re not jumping out of your skin.  As was the case last year…at the risk of giving away one of the best effects found at this haunt the ”Laser Vortex” is definitely worth checking out.


Length


About 10-12 minutes


Crowd Control


Waiting line is clearly roped off and patrolled frequently by ghouls.


Most Memorable Moment


In addition to stimulating your sense of sight, sound and feel the Mar’s Haunt this year also excites your sense of smell. The smell of death was quite prevalent through many of the rooms I visited. The stench was so strong it seemed to linger in my nostrils well after my departure.


Summary

Once again, an outstanding attraction for those who like to be scared. While not completely redone this year, if you've enjoyed Mars in the past or you just plain like to be scared you certainly won't be disappointed this year.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 16th, 2019 5:03 a.m. CDT 1.10