ad-header-top

2011 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

167 total reviews. Showing 13 of 15 on this page (2 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 28, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This was my first experience of The Haunted Barn in Stoughton. On first impression this haunt looked exciting. The grounds were abuzz with visitors and screams could be heard throughout the grounds. Needless to say, all in all, this haunt did not disappoint.

Easily located off of Hwy. 51 in Stoughton this haunt is easy to find. After turning on to Hwy. 51 all you need to do is look for the flashing arrow sign and you will be guided in by staff from there. Parking is a plenty and you will easily find the ticket booth to begin your adventure.

As I already mentioned this haunt was BUSY. Even so the wait time was roughly 15 minutes. Don't worry though even while you are waiting your actors will be around to keep you entertained. At no time was the wait ever boring, which is certainly a nice change of pace. Even if the actors weren't out and about the screams of your fellow haunters would do the trick.

All in all this haunt was a fun time. There were times were I was disappointed. Spacing was a major issue (although you must remember this was Halloween weekend that I attended). Throughout the haunt I kept running into the group before me and the group behind me kept running into me. At one point I had to stop because several groups got held up in the house. Although we eventually had an actor that kept us entertained while the groups were being spaced out it took awhile.

At one other point the groups bumped into each other but we were able to keep moving. The other issue was the lack of actors in some areas....especially the woods. I know first hand that it is not easy to scare people in an outdoor environment but even in the house there were areas that an actor could have made an excellent scare but there was no one around.

Other than spacing and times of no scaring or interaction this was still a fun haunt. The scenes and props were simple but enough to "set the scene". Of most important note was the actors. Although some scares were not powerful the actors were having fun. This was contagious. It made the whole haunt that much more entertaining.

 

Summary

As I have already said, all in all, this was a fun haunt. Not including wait time the whole haunt took about 40 minutes to get through. This IS a indoor/outdoor haunt (don't let the word barn fool you), so dress accordingly. This was a good time and a good way to wrap up the Halloween season.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by Budda after attending on Thursday, October 27, 2011 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was our last scheduled fright of the season and it was worth the wait. The event is well organized with ample parking and we heard the screams and laughs of patrons all the way from the parking lot. For $10 admission we were let inside, after a very brief wait. There is ample room inside the building for visitors to wait, so cold or wet weather should not deter anyone from attending.

This haunt uses plenty of mazes, tight corridors and some physical challenges that would make it difficult for especially large persons. The classroom setting and the room with a moving wall were especially unique. There were enough actors in costume to provide plenty of startling moments. It took 30 minutes to walk through the haunt.

Summary

This is a good value and provides some scares that are unique among haunted houses. It was a fun and scary event.

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering

by Wiscare after attending on Thursday, October 27, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is easily one of the best haunts I have ever seen. Located in a warehouse right off the highway makes it easy to find. Our first trip through was great taking in all the great work and attention to detail with a great waiting line scene. All the actors did a grear job. The music in all rooms is a great thumbs up and the fact it has a great bass to the music was awesome. Very top notch scenes that I can tell were not at all cheap. Also it was nice talking to Erick (owner) of the haunt and talking haunted houses with him. The second time my group went through I went first and knowing where some actors were I still jumped a bit. Once again easily one of the best haunts yet.

Summary

Top notch haunt that I wouls suggest to all my friends, I don't even care if it was a drive of 2 hours. A+ haunt.

View all Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Wiscare after attending on Thursday, October 27, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I went to the Burial Chamber 2 years ago and loved it. Over the 2 years i would think they would change a lot of sets and make it better. It just didn't have a good scare factor to help me say it's one of the best in Wisconsin. I did like the length of the 2 haunts which made my time worth while. I am very glad I bought the VIP tickets or my group and I would have been there for awhile. I also like the fact that a lot of the actors in the haunt are very athletic hanging from boards and jumping all over.

Summary

All in all my 2 hour drive up there was not a total waste of time but it could have been better.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by smmass after attending on Thursday, October 27, 2011 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

This house was easy to find by the big light that shined in the sky. Bobo was fun before we entered the house. I was not personally thrilled with the 3D thing. I guess that might be just me though they had some really cool art in there. The horn was reallt cool. The really loud music was not appealing either. I did like the interaction the actors had with the guests coming through. The rooms seemed to big for the amount of actors they had. I guess i just expected more scares than art at the house. A bit pricey at $17 a person. I want more scares!

Summary

I guess i would try it again next year. They did have some really good makeup, but just not worth the price.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

13th Nightmare Haunted House

by smmass after attending on Thursday, October 27, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

We arrived at the old church which was changed into a haunted house. Since it is ony their second season, they did quite good. We were confused though where to go when we got to a door leading us outside. We were not sure if we were supposed to go up the stairs so some signs of some kind would have helped. I liked how they used kids in their house

Summary

All proceeds go to a childrens theater group. Parking came be an issue but there was no waiting when we were there

View all 13th Nightmare Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Six Feet Under

by teachermimi after attending on Friday, October 21, 2011 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Downtown Waukesha has a wondeful additon this year..this haunt! If you want to be entertained and spooked, then this is the place for you. I highly encourage you to check it out. The story told by the actors is fantastic. The darkened maze is a plus to the spook factor. Please go! You will not regret it..if you make it out alive. :)

View all Six Feet Under reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Millers Pumpkin Display

by memoriesmadebydawn after attending on Tuesday, October 25, 2011 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: N/A

Review

for many years on halloween after the kids are done trick-or-treating we load up and drive over to golke rd. we try to go a couple of times but halloween night is a for sure!!! he takes the time to create beautiful art on a pumpkin and then on top of that he has a huge display in his yard for everyone to enjoy. what is better than FREE halloween fun?

Summary

free halloween fun for all ages!

View all Millers Pumpkin Display reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by tripletranch after attending on Wednesday, October 26, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Our group of 13, a mixture of teens and adults visited the Dominion of Terror on this chilly October night. When we arrived there and although it wasn't real busy, it had a great atmosphere for a haunt, and the excitement began right there... in the waiting area.
A "high energy" actor (clown) managed to keep everyone coming and going on edge and wondering when and where she would appear next. Never breaking character, she was superb and managed to get a few shrieks out of our group.
We broke into three groups and were entered into the haunt accordingly. Rules are given in the first area and then you wait until the door opens to draw you in. From there it was a well detailed, and well staffed haunt. The actors were all sharp and witty even while talking to them they stayed in character with their responses. The sets were well planned, and there were a variety of themed areas. I particularly enjoyed the area with the "lobster looking" creature that made a friend scream and that was the beginning of my jacket almost being torn off. The haunt had a good length to it, and there was never a dull moment. There are a lot of cool illusions added in this haunt so pay attention and do not try to rush. Keep a steady pace and don't crowd the group before you and ruin the surprises ahead.

Summary

This haunt was well planned and executed. Security staff was on hand for any issues and portable toilet facilities as well as a concession stand with snacks and drinks. You can buy a lighted pendant if you feel it may be too much and they will take it easy on you. Not the rest of your group, but only you. That was a cool idea and I actually saw a few young girls use this option. This haunt is worth the visit, highly recommended.

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Trail Of Terror

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2011 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Oconto Jaycees Trail of Terror is a frightening HANDS ON experience. What I like the most about smaller town haunted attractions, such as Trail of Terror, is that they do not rely on the use of popular animatronics and props. All of the props at Oconto Jaycees Trail of Terror are original and appear custom made. Trail of Terror is a lengthy guide through a very dimly lit forest located about 20 minutes North of Green Bay. They are located right off of 141N on Cty Rd J. You will know you have arrived by the roaring bonfire and numerous vehicles parked on the road. The Trail of Terror is probably one of the longest Trails in the State of WI and YES you can EXPECT the actors to fall from the sky and grab you at ALL times.

Signage / Visibility / Location


They are located right off of Hwy J, which is a simple left off of HWY 141N. About 20 - 25 minutes North of Green Bay. The setting is in a very spooky and LARGE forest. There is a sign proclaiming the location and you can not miss all of the vehicles parked on the road.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


In the Wait area you can enjoy refreshments around a HUGE bonfire along with tons of ghouls wandering about.

Actors' Performance


Trail of Terror has by FAR the MOST amount of actors I have ever seen at a haunt. You should expect to be grabbed, caressed, and jumped on by at least 3 - 4 actors at a time. The actors are really what MAKE this haunt frightening!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


All of the sets and scenes are original and custom made. You will notice REAL dead animals (careful those who are afraid of blood). There are several unique scenes set throughout the entire trail.

Length


The entire trail from start to finish took us an HOUR to complete, making it one of the LONGEST trails (and attractions) in WI!!

Crowd Control


You are led by a very SLOW moving guide, so you will never run into other attendees ... you will only hear their screams in the distance!

Most Memorable Moment


There were several memorable moments, but the most memorable was an actor that literally fell from the sky and felt like he almost landed right on me ... I still have no idea how he did it, but it still gives me chills!

Summary

In conclusion Oconto Jaycees Trail of Terror is for those who are looking for an "original" Haunted Attraction that allows the actors to touch and grab you. If you live in Northeastern WI, this is definitely a Haunted Attraction you will want to attend!

View all Trail Of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by HocusPocus (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 21, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I’ll admit to this upfront, my experience at Nightmare factory was more of an unfortunate nightmare than a frightfully fun time.  As a result my review of this haunt may be a little unfair to a haunt that many have reviewed favorably.  (Although honestly of the 6 haunts I’ve been to this year I don’t think I would have placed this one in the top 5.)  Here’s what went wrong with my experience…it’s probably unlikely that you may experience the same misfortune as me but for what it’s worth….

Nightmare #1…the waiting line incident.  It’s mostly outside and unfortunately while I was waiting a car driving by decided to hurl an egg into the crowd.  My guess is that they were trying to hit BoBo the Clown who was nearby but they missed…and hit my friend standing next to me.  With no local law enforcement patrolling the area and numerous parked cars along the street obstructing you from getting a clear view of the street (including a large snack wagon) there appears to nothing in place at this haunt to discourage incidents such as this.

Nightmare #2…the dark hallway incident.  This haunt, like a few others, features a few really dark hallways.  Typically you don’t find ghouls dashing through these hallways but at this haunt there was.  Have you ever wondered if the ghouls in these dark hallways can see you when you don’t see them?  I’ll admit, I have always been a bit curious.  Unfortunately for me, I found at the hard way when a little ghoul ran right into me in the middle of a dark hallway.  OUCH!  The incident knocked the wind out of me but at least the little ghoul was nice enough to apologize and turn on a flashlight to show me the way through the rest of the maze.

Nightmare #3…not every ghoul may know you’re in the room.  As a result of Nightmare #2 I arrived in the next room a few seconds after my group.  The ghoul in the room had already jumped out and was waving an object with a long wooden handle…not exactly sure what the object was but as he spun around in a move that I originally thought was meant to scare me the long end of the handle caught me square in the stomach.  In hind sight the ghoul obviously had no idea I was there as he was just as surprised to see me as I was at being struck.  No apologies from this ghoul though…just a surprised look and then he continued to carry on with the show.

Nightmare #4…when these ghouls smell blood, look out!  I’ve never seen this before at a haunt.  There were a few ghouls at this haunt who were perfectly positioned to scare those stuck in the back of the group.  In every instance these ghouls actually intentionally walked right past those in the back just to scare the group members in the front.  Admittedly the girl in the front of our group was really scared and it was fun watching her get freaked out but on the other hand everyone else in the group paid to be scared as well.  As a result of this and being stuck in the back of our group there wasn’t a single instance at this haunt where anything made me jump.

Other than these misfortunate instances The Nightmare Factory is a decent haunt.  The 3D section is pretty cool visually and features a trick or two but it doesn’t have much in terms of scare factor.  The non 3D section does contain a little gore and has a few cool concepts but it lacked the oomph to make me jump.

Signage / Visibility / Location


It’s really hard to miss this location as your drive by.  Strobe lights flashing in the windows, search beams illuminating the sky and a great big snack wagon parked just outside of the entrance.  Street parking was plentiful and I heard rumors that there was a parking lot nearby.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Bobo was VERY entertaining…by far the best actor I’ve come across this year.  Wait area REALLY stinks.  The waiting line is mostly outside which appeared to be totally unnecessary.  The line moved every 15 minutes and only about 25 people were taken from this line at a time.  Once you finally reach the front of this outside line you are taken into another waiting area inside.  Not sure why this haunt needs two different waiting lines where other haunts get by with one.  Also, waiting in line is totally old school…many other haunts have incorporated a ticket numbering system so you don’t have to stand in one place for an hour.

Actors' Performance


Outside of Bobo the remaining performances were brief but adequate.  The sets at this haunt are not ‘skit’ style so not much theatrical acting was required.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The 3D rooms were sharp but this haunt lacks the jaw dropping and eye popping special effects found at other haunts.

Length


At the onset of this haunt we were informed at the pre-haunt instructional that the haunt would last about 45 minutes.  After touring the entire facility my watch read 24 minutes.  Approximately 16 minutes for the upstairs haunt and 8 for the 3D haunt.

Crowd Control


Outside of a roped line and one costumed actor there was nothing else present in terms of crowd control.  Patrons were left on their honor to respect the line and those around them.

Most Memorable Moment


Bobo and his antics.  Definitely the MVG (Most Valuable Ghoul) of this haunt!!

Summary

My experience at Nightmare factory was more of an unfortunate nightmare than a frightfully fun time. The Nightmare Factory is a decent haunt but lacks the oomph to really put a good scare into you.  The 3D section is visually entertaining and features a trick or two but it doesn’t have much in terms of scare factor. 

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (2)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by Dave to the Grind (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 21, 2011 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Ever wonder what the Salem Witch Trials were like? How a chat with Charles Manson would go? Check out the House of Bathory and you could experience these and many other nightmare scenarios. Every turn takes you into a different situation throughout various dark times in history. The dialogue and interaction with the actors make you feel like you stepped back in time. There are plenty of scares along the way. I never knew what to expect the whole way and even to the frightening end which had us running out into the street.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Just about 10 minutes off the freeway by downtown Manitowoc and easy to find with navigation. We had no problem spotting the place since it had three hearses parked out front with various ghoulish decorations.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is waiting on the side walk. There weren’t any live actors for entertainment when I was there, but the hearses had many displays to keep you occupied. The storefront type windows leading to the haunt had displays and music was playing.

Actors' Performance


Probably the best I’ve seen this year. We were taken into all kinds of different eras and scenarios throughout the haunt. Each was heavily acted and each one pulled off their character perfectly. The children acted well, whether they had spoken dialogue, creepy singing or just grabbing your ankle for a fright since touching by the actors was allowed.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The interior decorations and props were excellent in taking you into a different world, and there were plenty of them. There was excellent detail from the walls to the costumes. They even added heat and smoke at one point to add to the terror of the situation they were creating which I won’t ruin. Props included a vortex and a cool slide down to another level.

Length


The length was approximately 20 minutes. The scenes they took you to had plenty of dialogue and the haunt encompassed three floors so it lasted and was worth $15.

Crowd Control


There wasn’t much of a crowd when we arrived but they had someone out there communicating with the people in line and making sure things were flowing fine.

Most Memorable Moment


There were many moments I enjoyed but I think the one I loved best was right in the beginning. When a little puritan girl “befriended” us, then when we walked into another room with two adult puritans, she grabbed my wife’s hand and told one of them she was the witch. Which lead to a trial and many frights.

Summary

Overall it was a unforgettable and a truly scary haunt. I wasn’t sure what to expect since the outside felt more like a storefront instead of a house, but as soon as we were lead up the stairs we were taken into a past world. We then moved on through all floors of the building to other worlds and situations. The acting was impeccable and I loved how we were involved in the situations, dialogue and then sent screaming. The House of Bathory is one of my favorites this year and I’ll go back next year.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Horror in the Dark at Olin Park: The Castle

by Wiscare after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

When my group and I got here there was no line and made our time a lot easier. This haunt is what is tells you a medium scare factor but it was fun. Dark hallways are a must in every haunt. Interacting with customers is a plus. But, the length is disappointing, yes i know there is a certain amount of room to work with but I was wanting more.

Summary

Overall pretty good haunt for the price.

View all Horror in the Dark at Olin Park: The Castle reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by Wiscare after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Once my group and I got there you could tell this is a good haunt. By the cars in the parking lot you could just tell there was going to be a long wait. Tickets prices were not that bad, $12 for a haunt that is about 45 minutes long is not a rip off in any way. The wait was entertaining with "monsters" roaming the parking lot and the line. I didn't think the line was to long compared to some i've been to. The idea of actually telling the rules directly to the customers is smart because a lot of these sets take a long time to build and a lot of money goes into them. For the house I thought it was good but I would make it more interactive and have more actors. The trail was also OK but again more actors are needed. All in all I liked it.

One big down side was the group in front of us was going way to slow and the group behind us was going way to fast, so i would have an actor stop groups on getting to close.

Summary

This haunt is money well spent. I'd suggest this to my friends that are looking for a fun time.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by VC_Cakes after attending on Friday, October 7, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

We absolutely loved this attraction. We traveled up from Milwaukee to check it out, and were not disappointed. The actors were committed, and the setup was great--the way one attraction led into the next. The corn maze had a great creep factor as the characters closed in before re-directing us in such a way that heightened the sense of being lost/disoriented, and some mild panic at who (or what) might be on your heels or around the next bend. I can't say enough about the bus--that's something I've never experienced in a haunt before, and it was definitely a very cool way to get from one attraction to next. It was definitely an unsettling ride. The mansion itself was nicely done, and there were some good scares, and some fun scenes. We really enjoyed the actor who was offering us a bit of his "snack." Nothing (for us personally) was a pee-your-pants or I-won't-sleep-for-a-week scary, but there were a couple of genuine screamer/good startle moments, and I definitely would recommend checking this one out if you have a chance. Very fun!

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 16th, 2019 5:07 a.m. CDT 1.10