ad-header-top

2011 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

167 total reviews. Showing 11 of 15 on this page (4 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by katie_kiesow13 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 21, 2011 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

We had a great time at this haunt! It was completely different than last year. There were a few rooms that were incredibly unique and interesting that were really enjoyed. I would suggest going early in the evening to avoid a wait since the later it gets the longer the line is. Definitely a good house to check out, though.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find using GPS. It's right on the main street in Hubertus. Plenty of signage and parking available.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is in the school cafeteria so it's nice and warm (yay!) and they offer concessions which is convenient. We got there about 9:30 pm and the wait was just over an hour and a half. There were a few actors walking around in costume, but otherwise nothing creepy or "setting the mood" while we waited.

Actors' Performance


Overall I thought most of them did a good job. A few actors had a hard time remembering lines but others had a good time with improvising and interacting with our group, which I liked.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Most of the rooms were really well done - very creepy! I really liked that they used more interaction with actors and less animatronic scares. They use more masks than they do makeup, but it still worked well. My favorite room was definitely the autopsy room - the set and f/x in that room were incredible.

Length


It took roughly 20 minutes to make it through the entire haunt. It seemed like it took even longer because they stop you in each room to talk to you and interact instead of just shuffling you through quickly.

Crowd Control


We were the first group through after a quick safety check, so there wasn't anyone in front of us. The group behind us caught up to us once, but one of the actors left the room and held them back so it seemed to work pretty well. There was a little difficulty with the group size. They put you through in groups of 8 and it seemed a little big because we were constantly waiting for everyone to fit into the rooms, so that was a little tough.

Most Memorable Moment


Between the autopsy room and the tunnel. Everyone I was with had a really tough time walking through the tunnel without falling over. I always love those. Both rooms were great!

Summary

Definitely a must see. I suggest for everyone 12+ (unless you scare easily... then maybe a little older). It was a lot of fun!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by freaksjay06 after attending on Sunday, October 23, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Thank you Hartford jaycees for a awesome show! I absolutely loved it! Three of us went out to slinger last night to experience the 27th season of HJHH. Let me say the detail and the technical aspect did not disappoint. They cram so much into the house it is crazy!
We got there about 8:35 or so went into the house about 9:25 or so. We waited a little bit. The neat looking old barn did have heat and treats and a movie to watch while you waited for your ticket number to be called.
We went off through the haunted forest first which was short and sweet. Then made are way to an unique crawl feature before knocking on the door to doom!
The actual house was jam packed full of animatronics, ghouls , detail and fun. The actors were theatrical not relying too much on scary but still fun. Made us jump enough times which was awesome! Creepy humor was included in most of the actor's dialogue. I loved that part as well.

Summary

Overall if you came to pee your pants this haunt can be missed. But, if you came to jump, experience quality acting and sets then make Hartfor Jaycees a stop on your haunt tour!

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by lazysmurf97 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 22, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I went to the Wisconsin Fear Grounds with 5 friends on a Saturday night. We were excited for a scary and good time and we were not disappointed! Everyone was really friendly and went out of their way to help us.  Unfortunately, due to time constraints in our group, we were only able to visit 1 haunted house, Morgan's Manor.  I would recommend going to all 3 to get the full experience.  We got the fast passes, which were amazing. I highly recommend getting them. We basically had no wait time once we got our wrist bands. They gave us an awesome coin to enter the haunt, which we all wanted to keep but couldn't.  Once we entered the haunt, time seemed to fly. We were not disappointed with the sets or the actors. 

Signage / Visibility / Location


It was very easy to find. We used a GPS and it took us right there. We did see a large sign on the road to help us. We were coming from Madison, so every bit of signage helped!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Luckily we were able to get fast passes otherwise the wait would have been about 90 minutes. I would recommend getting one. The ticket line was intimidating  but it moved really fast so don't worry.  We didn't really have any line entertainment until we reached the front.

Actors' Performance


The actor's did a good job. The gentleman at  the front of the line stayed in character very well.  I wish there were more actor's but the ones who were there were enjoyable.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This was very well decorated haunt. Not too much blood and gore, but lots to look at.  Each room had a theme and it was decorated accordingly.

Length


As I mentioned, we were only able to do 1 of the 3 haunted houses. It took us about 15 minutes to do the whole thing once we were inside. 

Crowd Control


Very good crowd control! There were lines and ropes directing you where to go. There were several ticket windows available to make the line go faster. You are able to purchase advance tickets online if you don't want to wait in the ticket line. We saw lots of people taking advantage of this option.

Most Memorable Moment


For us, there were really two memorable moments.  When you first walk into haunt there are some figures that you assume are animatronics. That is, until they try to chase you!  The second moment is along the same lines. There is a chair. That is all I will say so I don't ruin the surprise!

Summary

I would definitely recommend going to the Wisconsin Feargounds. It is worth the wait and the drive.  There is food and drink available if you are hungry.  Everyone is really friendly and helpful to guide you on your way to enjoyment.  Once inside, expect to be frightened!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by earthangel129 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 21, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

A very wonderful and unique haunt that capitalizes on the fact that they are at a great location.  Terror on the Fox located at the Railway Museum in Green Bay, WI, is a first-rate unique haunt that will entertain a large range of age groups.  Scary, funny, outrageous, these are just a few of the words I would used to describe this haunt. 



This was my first year at Terror on the Fox and I will come back.  It was fun, creepy, and had things that I really hadn't experienced at any other haunt before.  This is a great area that includes free parking, a creepy train ride, 2 smaller houses (3rd Dimension of Fear and The Void,) which you can add on for an extra charge and a creepy walk through the woods and the main event a large traditional looking haunted house with surprise guests outside for line entertainment. This final house is called Ominous  Sanctum.  I had a very good time and believe you should see for yourself.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Easy to find, you should have no problems and once you get close there are big signs for the Railway Museum which is where the haunt is located.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Ticket purchasing is pretty average.  They do have a small gift shop and a place with pizza for sale.  The wait in line looked like it could have been awhile but we were in a VIP group and we warm next to a bonfire waiting for our train to pull up and let us on.  The people who worked the ticket booth and who escorted us around were very friendly and helped us out with anything we needed.  Some of the line entertainment consists of riding on the train, creepy ghouls lurking, and there might be a surprise type of entertainment during the wait into the main house but I will not give it away.

Actors' Performance


Very good I did not encounter one who wasn't in character and didn't stay in character-way to go ghouls and booys!  Their make-up and voicing were done very well. Funny and creepy the best combo you can ask of haunted house actors.  I must give a special "Thumbs-Up" to the creepy man who allows you to enter the final haunt, Ominous Sanctum.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Props or lack there of (as in the Void,) are well placed and work well in the haunts.  My favorite prop in any of the areas was, well I don't want to give it away, but it does involve an unfortunate run-in, for one young lady, with a shovel.

Length


This haunt took about an hour from lining up for the train until we came out of Ominous Sanctum and headed back toward our car.  The train ride is about 10 min, 12 min for the 3rd Dimension of Fear and The Void and about 25 min the entire Ominous Sanctum, including a short walk through the woods.

Crowd Control


Very well controlled and organized.

Most Memorable Moment


My most memorable moment was when I was ghoul-knapped away from my party and secluded by a creepy ghoul into a tiny room.  He had me walk down a very short room and then when I turned around a new door had opened and I walked out separated from my group. It completely turned me around and walked through in a big circle through areas I had already been and then finally found my party again and they were behind me?  How cool!

Summary

Overall a worthwhile ride into a creepy haunt that has been doing a great many years-I believe it is 15 years now!  Good for you Terror on the Fox.  Now, everyone else quickly and safely get  to Green Bay and visit Terror on the Fox

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by earthangel129 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 21, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review


I attend The Burial Chamber Haunted Complex every year.  I have never had a lackluster experience at Burial Chamber.  Every year there is some new ghoul impressing me with their acting skills or a new fun prop or special effect.  Burial Chamber is huge and there is something for all haunt lovers.  The complex includes two traditional-style haunts,  a spooky haunt through dark woods called Phobia,  and a simulated casket ride!  An amazing amount of actors, outside entertainment and of course everyone's favorite (or at least mine) the mini-doughnut truck-YUM!


Trust me when I say, if you have never been to the Burial Chamber you need to go and if you have been there-go again.  I hear if you bring your bracelet from the previous year you get a dollar off of admission.  This is a haunt you have to experience!

Signage / Visibility / Location


The signage and visibility for finding The Burial Chamber is always excellent and every year Yahoo Maps directs me with no problems or worries.  Parking is free and you may get to park close or a tad further away if you come around the time I was there-because it was already packed with people.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Waiting lines are separate for each of the four haunts. Be assured that depending on whether you chose to purchase the VIP package, where you get to jump the longer lines but still will wait on a busy night, you can wait for up to an hour plus for one haunt or another. I recommend splurging on the VIP but if you can't watch the videos, short TV/movie clips, and enjoy the rest of the line entertainment.

Actors' Performance


Just like every year the actors at the Burial Chamber did not disappoint.  They are quiet and creepy, loud and intimidating, and keep to character wonderfully.  The costumes and make-up are equally pleasing.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


There is plenty to look at while in these haunts and the props are  very high quality.  Some of my favorite scenes are the autopsy room  and the entry room for Insanity, in which you watch a video and then exit the room in a non-traditional way.  Fun, fun, fun!

Length


The Burial Chamber takes about 15-20 minutes for each of the three main haunts and about 5 minutes for the Last Ride Burial Simulator.  Excluding the line waiting and other stops for bathroom and refreshments; the haunts take about a total of one hour.  We were there for almost 2 hours from parking to getting back into our car.

Crowd Control


Crowd control is great at Burial Chamber with plenty of people to help out.  I love how it is so well controlled and set-up without looking like you are in a corral with security all over.  Security is there but is friendly and not overtly visible.

Most Memorable Moment


This year I would have to say my most memorable moment was going in the Burial Simulator.  I have been before but for those of you like me-give it another chance, it is slightly different and just as creepy.

Summary

Overall, it was another wonderful year at the Burial Chamber with scares, laughs, and a smile all the way home-after I remembered it was all just pretend...wasn't it?

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by courtneykiesow after attending on Friday, October 21, 2011 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The Haunted Barn was pretty fun. My husband and I and a friend attended it around 10pm. Definantly was worth the drive and the money. We had lots of fun. Beetlejuice was GREAT!! He stayed in character the entire time he startled me a few times but other than that he was my fav.The wait in line wasnt bad at all. and while your wating around you can buy some snacks as well as "getting burried alive". It was pretty cool.I dont like clowns AT ALL and right as you enter there are 2 but other than that I dont think there was any more of thoes so if you are afraid of clowns you dont have to worrie about them once you get past the entrance. I think that once you get outside that they could have had some more characters to fill in some empty spaces but otherwise I thought it was pretty fun it isnt the scariest but it was fun, so if your lookin to have fun with friends and or family I think that this would be a good haunted house to attend.Oh and I will warn you that there are very thight spaces and a couple steps. so be careful!!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Onalaska Jaycees present "Infestation"

by Scaparillio after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

I see my former review was removed. So once again, extremely displeased with this place. Can't help but get offended with 2 rooms that stick out to us rhe most. Nursery and a school room setting. What are these folks thinking. I hope someone can explain this fact. Very offensive. I hope who is in charge changes these thoughts however they are "thought" up.

Summary

Terrible. Go see a movie.

View all Onalaska Jaycees present "Infestation" reviews

Comments: (3)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by wm after attending on Sunday, October 16, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Let me just type this now and get it out of the way. THIS IS THE BEST HAUNTED HOUSE AROUND! I love going to as many as I can, but none can compare. This haunt is put on by PROFESSIONALS, and it shows! There are so many scares through-out!

The wait area is inside a warehouse, and this year they show a movie instead of playing loud music. The video game is also fun, where you can control an automated scare inside the haunt and watch as you scare someone! The food is decently priced, and the merch booth is great.

There are a few rooms that were reused from last year, but that didn't make it any less scary! A great touch this year is the one and only Freddy Kruger! The music is a bit too loud, but that probably helps distort you a bit and assist in the sensory overload that you go through. I honestly never screamed so much at a haunt before. They are that good.

Summary

Again... the best around, period. Parents, please do not bring your children to this haunt. It's very extreme, I would not recommend for anybody under 14. Can wait to hit it up again next year!

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue - CLOSED

by wm after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

For many years, the Morgue has been one of my favorite local haunts. From the walk in the woods, to the wait area, to the Morgue itself... I lov it all! It's been two years since I've attended, so I was very excited to visit once again.

I have to be honest and say that the woods let me down this year. There were only two 'monsters' in the woods, and both were texting on their phones. ZZZZZzzzz. The woods really help set the mood for the rest of the night, so this was a let-down. To be fair, I know that the Morgue relies on volunteers, and it's a different group every night. I also noticed there were black lights in several places in the woods. To me personally, this took away from the scary walk in the dark.

When you go to the Morgue, be prepared to wait a good hour or two. This haunt has always had great 'word of mouth' press going for it, and there are always big crowds there. The wait area is done EXTREMELY well; it's the best outside wait area in Wisconsin! A huge bonfire that they always keep roaring big, a very good concession stand, videos or a movie playing on a big screen, and lots of space to move around. They normally will have some actors lurking around getting a few screams before the fun really starts.

Since I've been in it last, they have changed up the Morgue quite a bit. But one thing that hasn't changed is the Morgue witch. She's always there at the entrance, every year, greeting you with her pale face and dead eyes. She's basically the mascot from hell! When she meets you at the door, it's like coming home!

I won't give away any of the fun inside the Morgue, but it will not disappoint. Another solid year from the underdogs that always have been the best kept secret in the area. Do yourself a favor and check it out. A lot of fun at a great price!

Summary

Three levels of terror, that's how I sum up the Morgue. Always a solid haunt! It's also great to see they have a very nice website now! If you're in the Green Bay area, make sure you hit this one!!!

View all The Morgue - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by nullracing after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dr. Scary's at Jellystone Campground in Fort Atkinson was awesome!! Well worth the wait and money! The props and people working there were unbelievable!!! Had a nice theme and kept you interested and scared. The people/characters did an absolute fantastic job. They definitely could of been professional actors!! I have gone to many haunted houses/barns/woods and this by far has them all beat!!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Emslie Haunted Barn - CLOSED FOR GOOD-

by elancaster after attending on Thursday, October 20, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I took my little sister who's 9 and my boyfriend to this barn thinking it wouldn't be to scary. I'm 16 and I really don't get scared to easily but this haunted barn was so well set up and kept you going through wondering when it would all be over. It's a lot longer then I thought and for only $8 it's well worth the money. I would recomend this to anyone! It was probably the best haunted house I've been to which is saying a lot! Stop wasting all your money on other haunted houses, go to this one!

View all Emslie Haunted Barn - CLOSED FOR GOOD- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by Rachaelwild after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Review
Me and my friends went last year and this place is the best! We fell to the ground at least 6 times! It is totally scary this year. There are more scenes and it looks alot different this year. They keep changing it around. I'm going again! this is a real scary haunt and they use real looking weapons and throw maggots at you again. This really creeps us out.

Summary

This is the best haunt that I have been to this year! Lots of good scares and some of the monsters make you do crazy things. The makeup jobs on some of the actors are really cool!

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by melbader2013 after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

It was an epic failure of a haunted house. There was barely any people jumping out or anything. I was extremely disappointed and so were the other 3 people with me. Luckily we got the tickets half off so we didn't waste too much money. I would save your money and go somewhere else. The mine shaft was ok, but the walk through the corn feild was EXTREMELY pathetic. And the woods were really lame too. The ride was alright i guess.

Summary

Not that great, would not go there again.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by aaronrg2 after attending on Sunday, October 16, 2011 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This being the sixth haunted house of my season this year, I was very impressed. I travel to large haunted houses in Illinois and in the county, and was glad to learn that a very good one is located here in Racine. Stationed in a creepy factory warehouse, the team of creators use the surroundings to their advantage. You can smell the fear- literally. Great sets, good actors, and multiple levels, all for $12.50. Don't miss out this season!

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by CC2 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I have attended this event in the past and continue to be impressed with the production.

I will detail some specifics of the haunt in the effects section, but I want to be careful not to foreshadow too much of what you will experience at the Fear Grounds.

The Fear Grounds is one of the more highly decorated attractions in the State, and rightfully so.

I attend a lot of Halloween productions around the nation and the Fear Grounds presents on a high level.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The Fear Grounds are located on the grounds of the Waukesha Expo Center.

Follow signage to the Expo Center to your destination.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The Fear Ground wait area is a covered barn, of sorts. You will wait in corrals before being sent in small groups to enter the attraction.

Actors will visit you along your way as you wait.

There is a snack trailer at the Fear Grounds, as well.

Expect long wait times. This is a popular attraction.

Actors' Performance


Comparatively speaking, the actors at the Fear Grounds give you quite an inspired performance.

They make efforts to attend to the guests and interact in attempts to scare and startle.

Dialogue is witty and we were impressed with the make up and characterizations of the performers.

The presentations were quite polished.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Morgan Manor in particular is very elaborate and highly detailed. Try to be sure to look about you when you visit to appreciate the efforts of the producers.

Morgana's Torment presents an extensive series of mazes to confuse and disorient the guests. This makes for a distinctive, different and challenging Halloween experience.

Unstable is probably the most interactive with the actors and their dialogue is amusing. The theme of this haunt is redneck, hillbilly country life and you will pass through numerous sets where you will get to experience their chores, first hand.

Length


Completing all three attractions at the Feargrounds took us about an hour.

Be sure to allow ample time for your visit.

Crowd Control


Crowds at this attraction can get quite large.

Crowds are moved through a series of corrals before being led into the attractions in small groups.

Law enforcement is present on site, as well.

Most Memorable Moment


I have a hard time thinking of one particular moment to highlight as I enjoyed all of my time at the Fear Grounds.

If I were forced to pick a highlight, I would say the entire passage through Morgan Manor.

I appreciate detail and the entire route through the Manor provided much to attend to, which just increased the startle values for me since there is so much to notice.

Summary

The Feargrounds is rather expensive compared to its peers, but it provides a high caliber entertainment experience and three separate attractions for the price of your admission. This is a highly recommended stop for Halloween enthusiasts. This is certainly one of the premier haunts too experience, if you can. It may be too intense for young visitors.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (1)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 23rd, 2019 2:31 a.m. CDT 1.8.19