2011 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

167 total reviews. Showing 13 of 15 on this page (2 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by smmass after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wow what an amazing job they did this year again. All new house with very tight halls and really fantastic new things this year. The lines were long so we knew it would be worth the $10 entry fee. The trail was way creepy and that guy on the car was really scarey. There was also a corn maze along with a spooky bus ride. but the house was the shining star. Tjere are a lot of unexpected things coming from every direction. It is worth every penny and the profits go to the southern door school district.

Summary

This is a must see haunt! Worth the $10 for sure. We are going back again

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by witchy1 after attending on Sunday, October 16, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Plenty of Parking in lot or around haunt, haunt was very easy to get to, we had no problem finding it. They had monsters tormenting people in line while you waited. We got there at 6:45, and were quick to get in once 7 PM hit. I was w/ 2 other people, and we were able to go in as our own group. The rooms were very detailed, although it was pretty dark at times so you couldn't really see all the detail. About 3 of the rooms we went in there were no actors in, so that was a little disappointing. I'm not sure if this was because we went on a Sunday and they were short or what. The actors all stayed in character very well. We never ran into anyother groups while we were in the house.

Summary

It is definately a good haunt to go to, I've been going to this haunt the past 3 years and it's never been very disappointing.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by colran97 after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

As a family we always attend 1 new haunted house every year, this one I must say is my favorite. The facility is very nice. The actors are great and the makeup is wonderful! We take 3 daughters with us ages 10, 12 and 19 and this was their favorite haunted house also. As Mom, I normally just enjoy the momentary jumps and not knowing where they came from surprises. This time was different, I actually found myself being freaked out a little. My favorite room was the hog eating monster dining room.

Summary

We drove 1 1/2 hours to visit this haunted house, I would say it was very much worth the trip. There are actors from beginning to end. We went early in the season, early in the evening and there was not much of wait and the concessions are one of the best around. I would highly recommend this to anyone, except ones with little ones, I think under 10, if they are sensitive this might be a little too much for that age group.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by snogged after attending on Friday, October 14, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This house is a personal favorite of mine and I look forward to going every year. Once again, they did not disappoint. The monsters were fantastic and the effects and set design were top-notch.

I think my favorite bits were the animatronic snakes and the Claustrophobia Maze.

Summary

I suggest this haunt to anyone in the area and anyone willing to drive the distance for an exceptional scare.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield

by snogged after attending on Friday, October 14, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was my first time at the Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield and I thought they did an exceptional job.

The wait was short, the make-up and costumes were awesome, and my group and I jumped more than a few times...even when we spotted a monster in the corn and knew he or she would be coming to get us.

Highlights of the trip included the corn maze itself, the little buildings spread throughout with lots of surprises (Watch Out For The Guy With The Chainsaw), the spinning tunnel, and the junkyard.

Summary

This haunt is definitely worth the drive and the cost ($10). They only have street parking, but we had no trouble finding a place to stick our car.

Go check it out!

View all Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by scardiepants after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

WOW! I went to this haunt 2 years ago and was impressed back then, but it seems as if the whole place had morphed into one giant living entity ready to scare the daylights out of you.

I loved this place the first time I went, it was super scary. This year was 1,000 times better! I was freaked out the moment I walked into the waiting area. The first haunted house was very creepy to me. The actors kept saying the oddest things to us. Near the end we couldn't walk fast enough to get out. The second house was uber-scary, super dark and twisted. The lead person in our group couldn't figure out which way to go, and you could tell the actors really enjoyed scaring us. The third house was set up like a barn, lots of animals and all of the actors were like hillbillies, which is completely different than the first 2 houses they have.

Summary

All said and done, these haunted houses are completely worth the money. Our group had so much fun, I would maybe consider coming back before Halloween is over with a different group of my friends.
What a great experience!!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering

by edarden after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is a fanatic haunt! It all started with the parking lot, creepy and scary actors roaming the parking lot giving you a “do I really want to do this” feeling. At the entrance we were entertained by a great actress who entertained everyone in the group and made our wait not feel like a wait. We took advantage of the RIP tickets so we got right in.
The haunt itself was awesome! Not just scary but messes with your mind with visual illusions and lighting. You’re directed through a maze of halls and rooms where tricks are played with your mind. The set design and costumes are amazing. The detail makes each room attraction believable. The actors are second to none! The did not just stick to a script and sound recorded, they were believable in their parts and changed the dialog from the first trip through. I don’t want to spoil the surprises so I will just say if you can only make it to 1 haunt this year, this is the one to go to! Our group went through 2 times and it was even better the second time, even though we knew what to expect the actors made the experience like new again.

Summary

Our group drove over 200 miles round trip to go through the haunt. Before we left the parking lot we were already makeing plans for next years trip. This haunt is worth the drive no matter where you live

View all Oblivion Haunted House; The Gathering reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Forest of Freaks

by courtneykiesow after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Forest of Freaks Was AWESOME! Im not one that really gets scared of "Zombies" but let me tell you i was scared the whole time!!! There were some dissapointing things like 1: we (my husband,me,my two sister in laws ect)spent a 1hr. drive getting there to find out that we would wait about till 11-11:30. 2:There were 2 characters that said some pretty mean things to my sister in law and my husband that i wont repeat. I know that they didnt mean it but still it bothered them both,Otherwise i thought it was pretty good we all had a good time! I really liked one part torwards the end but i wont spoil it for any one ill just say that it felt very very real!I thought it took awhile to get threw but it all depends if you get stuck in a dead end. Forest of Freaks you did a great job!!! I cant wait till next year to see what you guys come up with.The characters all did very good jobs with staying in character and they were also fun. I also thought it was creepy how the whole time that we walked threw they would call out to our names..pretty Creepy. I would reccomend the Forest Of Freaks to anyone. 2 THUMBS UP!!

View all Forest of Freaks reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Fall Family Fun

by Rachaelwild after attending on Sunday, October 16, 2011 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Me and my friends went last year and this place is the best! We fell to the ground at least 6 times! It is totally scary this year. There are more scenes and it looks alot different this year. They keep changing it around. I'm going again! this is a real scary haunt and they use real looking weapons and throw maggots at you again. This really creeps us out.

Summary

This is the best haunt that I have been to so far this year. Lots of good scares and a good time. Some of the monsters make you do crazy things and the makeup jobs on some of them are really cool.

View all Fall Family Fun reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Horror in the Dark at Olin Park: The Castle

by Budda after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt is located in a sprawling park, on a hilltop where an old pavillion stands. The building contains a well designed haunt with a room layout that is dark, atmospheric and uses every square inch of space to good effect. Visitors are carefully spaced out so we could hear others screaming all around us, but did not bump into the folks ahead of us. We encountered a large cast of actors in costume and they created plenty of scary encounters. This haunted house is unique in our experience this Halloween season, as actors are permitted to touch and bump into the visitors. It took about 20 minutes to make our way through this excellent haunt.

Once outside, visitors may walk along a haunted trail in the woods. The trail is wide and there was just enough light with a nearly full moon to stay on the trail, and barely see the figures along the trail ahead of us. Costumed actors were well hidden and ambushed us repeatedly, making the haunted woods trail a good match for the inside haunt.

Summary

At $8 admission this haunt is a real bargain, and was a highlight of the Halloween season among the four haunts we have visited thus far. Between the haunted house and the haunted trail we probably spent 30 minutes in the fun zone, well justifying the 20 minute wait to enter.

View all Horror in the Dark at Olin Park: The Castle reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by law2122 after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Haunted High was a waste of money and time. I would onlyy go there if you like to wait in line for 2 hours and not be entertained. They seem to rush groups in the school. The group who was behind us caught up to us in a matter off minutes. I did not get scared once even thought i was in front with my group. The actors missed there cue a number of time and only scared the people in back.

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by fright101 after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

After you purchase your tickets you will have to stand in line waiting for a hearse to pick you up and take you to your destination. Its about a half mile ride to the start of the haunted forest. The only problem with that was the hearse was very old and not very well taken care of. The exhaust from the tail pipe was leaking into the hearse and made everyone inside feel very light headed and two people in our party nearly passed out before we got to the forest. We pleaded with the driver to stop but he kept on going and didn't stop. Once we got to the forest area and the dizziness went away we all enjoyed it. I did notify them but not sure if this has been fixed, so you may want to opt to walk and not take the hearse.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by beezers after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Wait was long. Que line actors were aweful. Came out of character several times and hit on girls in line. One removed his mask to blow his nose, gross. This haunt has three types rolled into one. Haunted mine shaft, hay ride, and corn maze. Mine shaft was pretty good but needs lighting work. It was hard to see scares in the glare. Hay ride was pretty good. Corn maze was muddy.

Summary

Very good effort on this one. Needed some help in some areas but over all pretty good. The actor at the start of the corn maze was good and the roving character at the slaughter house had great vocal sounds. Very creepy.

Enjoyed this one pretty well.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by beezers after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Big building. Volenteer staff needs work with timing.
We were in line and the fire alarm went off and we were evacuated from the building. Lost our place in line. Waited again and just as we got within a couple of groups the alarm went off again and we were evacuated again. They tried to get people back in by ticket number but we lost our place in line again. They should have checked to see if the fog would set off the old alarm system.

Summary

For a volenteer house this one was pretty good. The Rocky Horror part was lame but it may have just been the first night or lack of fog which wrecked this.

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Shadow Manor

by Budda after attending on Friday, October 14, 2011 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Upon arrival I was impressed with the well prepared parking attendants dressed in reflective clothing and carrying flashlights, who directed us through the large and well maintained farm property. There was ample parking and the entire layout is designed to handle a large crowd.

There was no large crowd to be seen and our party of four entered the 3D clown house attraction immediately. The 3D effect was very impressive and it was quite fun. This was my first experience with 3D glasses at a haunted event and I was happy with the outcome.

Moving on to the larger haunted house I appreciated the well designed rooms, giving the impression that we were wandering through an actual house of sorts. There were interesting and creepy room sets and props, but very few actors. The young lady actors we encountered played their parts especially well. It may have taken 20-25 minutes for us to walk through both events, and the fear factor was rather low.

At the end of the event we entered a large dining area with a considerable variety of food and beverages. Each staff person we met was very friendly and the Eugster farm is well managed and family friendly, day or night.

Summary

This is a well planned haunt but it would have been far more entertaining and scary with several additional actors. There are better haunts nearby that charge less for admission. I hope next Halloween season will bring some improvement to the haunts.

View all Shadow Manor reviews

Comments: (1)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 20th, 2019 11:21 a.m. CDT 1.6.3