2011 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

167 total reviews. Showing 12 of 15 on this page (3 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by lazysmurf97 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review


Terror on Rural street is a fantastic haunt.  Everyone was super friendly and organized.  The haunt was well thought out and produced.  It was very high tech. There were plenty of actors and animatronics everywhere. We never experienced a dull moment or lull in activity.  The gore and costume effects were fantastic.  Just when you think the haunt is over, there is even more beyond the next turn!

Signage / Visibility / Location


It was very easy to find this haunt. We used a GPS and it took us straight to the location. There were signs off the main road that pointed the way.  Once we were in the parking lot, there were even more signs.  There was plenty of free parking available as well.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There was a heated wait area with benches. This haunt serves concessions that includes food and beer.  Also, they have a designated smokers area and port-a-pottys available. They have a nice graveyard scene that is lit up with Halloween lights.

Actors' Performance


I thought the actors did a great job.  The man who lines you up to enter the haunt stayed in character the whole time. The makeup was very well done. I especially enjoyed the dental victim's face makeup. The very first room was an old time bar scene with a bartender offering deadly bloody Marys.  It was very well done.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets were fantastic. You went through lots of different rooms and each one was done completely different.  You couldn't tell in some of them if it was a real actor or something 'else.'  Many of the rooms played tricks on your senses and that made the haunt even more frightening.  Everything was perfectly decorated to match the theme of the room. The special effects were great too. There was plenty of blood and gore to go around. We enjoyed the claustrophobia maze the best!

Length


It took us about 20 minutes to go through the entire haunt.  There were three people in our group. Toward the very end, the group behind us did catch up to us.

Crowd Control


Each ticket to the haunt had a number on it. They would call  numbers up to enter the haunt so that everyone was spaced evenly.  I think this was very well done. The security officers were very friendly. At one point, a group of children needed to be helped out because they were too frightened. The security guards did a good job of helping them. Also, they have cameras throughout the haunt so if you need assistance, they can help you right away.

Most Memorable Moment


The most memorable moment for me came in the monster room.  I am not going to say more because I don't want to ruin the surprise, but it was great.

Summary

I would highly recommend going to this haunt. It is appropriate for everyone 10 and older.  There are some dark, tight places to go through and also some stairs so make sure you are able to maneuver through that sort of thing.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by Budda after attending on Friday, October 7, 2011 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Having attended Dr. Scary's last year my wife and I returned for another good scare. Our overall impression was that the haunt had been revised enough to create a fresh and even more intense experience. Read on to learn about the pros and cons.

The Cons.
First, the bad news. The entrance to the haunt is from a dark road onto a narrow private drive that leads through a campground. Two employees were posted at the entrance to sell admission tickets and direct visitors to the haunt. Neither of them wore reflective garments, carried flashlights or showed much situational awareness regarding traffic. They parked a golf cart nearby, thus restricting traffic even more. My advice is to go slow and watch out for pedestrians, as they are apt to step in front of your vehicle. The same problem arose when we reached the parking area for the haunt. Several people were standing in the way even as they directed us to pass by, which I declined to do until they stepped aside. Once again, none of them wore reflective gear or carried flashlights and there were plenty of children running about so be careful. In terms of safety, I considered the situation unacceptable for a public event.

The second problem was that even though we arrived at 7:38 PM and the event was scheduled to open at 7:30 PM, we waited until 8:20 PM when the event was finally ready to open. We were actually the first customers in line and Dr. Scary's was simply not ready. That lack of planning is irksome, especially considering we had the same experience last year.

The Pros.
If you are still reading this then I assume you are willing to tolerate the previous complaints. The haunt was well worth the wait and provided plenty of entertainment value, with 39 actors hidden inside ready to scare the devil out of us. There was plenty of spooky atmosphere, ambient sound effects, movie-like sets in each room, and the entire haunt was quite well designed. I enjoy haunted house events but generally laugh my way through them. Dr. Scary's has proven to be the most frightening of the haunts we have visited in recent years. The staff and other visitors have always been friendly and in spite of the intensity of the scares, it was a family-friendly atmosphere.

Summary

This is well worth the drive and a good scary value for the money. Be sure to check out this haunt.

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (2)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by crazypeople after attending on Sunday, October 9, 2011 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

So my wife and I desided to visit our first haunt this year and since we live in Oshkosh we miss ATOLS, we drove up there. When we came arround the corner we saw it. A giant wreck of a building. My wife said are we really goin in there? Walking up I thought the freeky sounds all arround was a nice touch. The line was long but seemed to move along quickly. The clown was strangely funny. Lots of fun and food outside. We bought our tickets $20. They put us with three nice kids. We got to the rule lady we recognized from oshkosh. That laugh! Walking up the stairs someone popped out of nowere. The darkmaze was far to long (good long) My wife wanted out. Then the Hospital was huge and kept on changing lots of jumps. look out for the cell doors. The one that got me was waling through the morg the guy yelled I need bodies so we went faster to be stopped by the heads I jumped when one started talking and my wife wee ed when she saw the thing standing there. Then the sparking girl made us jump again. the swamp was cool, I thought we would get wet. There was catacombs and vampires and a creapy little guy in the dark shadows.(fun) Then down some steps where a goofy clown gave us 3d glasses. Wow it was hard to walk through. Ok be ready for cinderella. I was totally FREAKED! thats not right! the circus tent was a lost party that we couldn't get out of. The bodybag silde was a blast.

Summary

Nice fun time. The sets sounds and lights look better than ever. I think we will go back next weekend so we can see it all. Other than to much to see, that was realy fun.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 7, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Ah yes. Nothing like enjoying the fright season by traveling to an abandoned high school in the dark of night with your girlfriend. Haunted High is your "classic" haunted house with flair of the modern era. If you are looking for the scare tactics of yesteryear such as moving floors, trapdoors, sound scares, and simple but great effects this is definitely the haunt for you.

This is a perfectly themed haunted house. Haunted High takes place in an abandoned high school and that theme is kept throughout the entirety of the haunt except for a few areas. I was impressed with how much the haunt operators really pulled you into this world without going over the top and creating a sensory overload.

I had A LOT of fun at this haunt. So did my girlfriend. There were definitely moments of good scares but it was more than that. This haunt is HUGE. It felt like an adventure and from finding your ways through dark hallways to getting scared in the Nurse's Office everything was pulled together nicely to create a very fun "ride".

This is a haunt that everyone can enjoy. Even if, like me, you looking for the "hardcore" haunt you WILL have fun at this event. Give Haunted High a try...if you don't mind going back to a much darker version of school.

Signage / Visibility / Location


As long as you MapQuest or plug the location into your GPS, once you get in the area you cannot miss it. Just look for the school bus that has Haunted High on its front and side. There is also a sign along E Forest Rd. Also once you pull into the parking lot, attendants will guide you into a parking stall. Then just walk along the length of the school and you will find the main entrance.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The front desk is very well organized. It is split up according to what you will be using as payment. All you got to do is find the right desk and you will be good to go. After you receive your tickets you will have horror movie clips that you can watch as you wait.

The waiting area was wide open and neither my girlfriend or I ever felt constricted or pushed. Once you get to the front of the line you are greeted by a crossing guard that had a very unfortunate accident. The guard will take your tickets and sort you into lines all while make every attempt to creep you out.

Total time waiting in the line was 20 minutes but because of the openness of the waiting area and the entertainment provided by the crossing guard it did not feel nearly that long.

Actors' Performance


Most of the actors did a good job of sticking to character, making a good scare, and generally making the haunt fun. There were exceptions however. Some actors seemed tired and others just did not put in any effort. The biggest disappointment was when Angie and I ran into a few actors that were not prepared for our group coming through and others that missed their mark and missed an opportunity to make a great scare.

Luckily these "hiccups" were few are far between, and for a haunt that does not hire professional actors I was pleased with the scares that the actors did make. Not to mention that some scares were so exceptional Angie almost cut the circulation off in my arm.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Simple and not overpowering. The haunt used what was already provided by the abandoned school to their advantage. Add in a few effects, blood spattered walls, and some ghouls to walk the hallways and VoilĂ !, you have a haunt that really pulls you into the environment. It really did not feel fake. Practically everything in this haunt in terms of rooms are rooms that you could find in any high school. This haunt is a prime example of using the environment to your advantage.

All the scenes, props, and special effects were set just perfect to provide an amazing atmosphere. All the effects and trip lines were set to provide the best possible scare. This haunt did a great job with bringing an old high school, quite literally, to life.

Length


For 15 dollars this haunt may seem pricey but, not including wait time, this event was 45 minutes long. Also, as I have already said this haunted house is huge. The haunt takes over the entirety of the old school which just adds to the fun. You are going through an actual building, people. You not going through something that was put together in an empty shed. This haunt is long so make sure you set aside some time.

Crowd Control


Waukesha County deputies were available on site. So should anyone at the event try to ruin it for others or create a disturbance the problem would quickly and easily be taken care of. Also, as I already mentioned, the wait area is open and so are many of the rooms in the haunt. Thus you should never feel uncomfortable in terms of space.

Most Memorable Moment


All I will say on this one is that you never really graduate until you walk out those doors.

Summary

One word. Fun. From those that get scared easily to those that are seasoned "haunters" this event will satisfy everyone.

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 7, 2011 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my first year attending Green Bay Fear and it is a haunt that I will definitely be returning to. They have combined a way to incorporate all the things that leave you nightmares. As you enter, you are lead down a path in the woods. You never know whats lurking in these woods. After the woods you are lead to a very detailed haunted house set into the woods. As you enter, you can just feel that there is something not right with this house. From the beginning, you feel as though there is a chance that you will not make it out alive. As you tour the house, you are lead into room upon room that is filled with things you can't even imagine.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt is very easy to find. They have signs out front and people standing by the drive directing you to the parking area.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Being the beginning of the haunt season there wasn't much of a wait but they do have a very creepy clown waiting for you. If you opt for the RIP admission they have a live band for your entertainment as well as hot chocolate as you wait to enter.

Actors' Performance


I felt as though the actors did an outstanding job. They stayed in character the entire time and truly made you feel as though they lived in this house.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes in this house were very unique. They actually made it look like a house of your nightmares.

Length


It took about 30 minutes to complete the entire haunt.

Summary

Overall, this was one of the better haunts that I have ever been to. I would recommend it to anyone over the age of 14 that is looking for a good scare.

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by x0char0x (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 7, 2011 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Terror on the Fox is one of the largest haunts in Wisconsin. They have been around for 15 years adding more and more every year. They start you off on a train ride which is extremely unique. On this train you feel as though your worst nightmare is coming true as smoke starts to pour in and you will be left stranded in the middle of the woods with monsters and ghouls attacking you. After leaving the train you are lead down a path into the woods where if you bought the combo admission or just the regular admission you are divided. We got the combo admission so we headed to the 3rd Dimension. As you entered into the 3rd Dimension you are thrown into a freak show literally. You are at a circus that is unlike any circus you would go to as a child. After leaving the 3rd Dimension you enter the Void. The void was something I have seen done at other haunts but on a bigger scale. It'll definitely leave you with anxiety as you are walking through and you end up lost in the darkness. After the Void, you enter their 3rd haunted attraction Torment. As you are walking through, you enter room after room of a school like setting except its like a school for the dead. Finally, you are lead down another trail in the woods to the last attraction Ominous. It is a house unlike any house you have ever seen. This has always been my favorite at their haunt. You wind down hallways of terror and doom and you don't know what to expect around each corner.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The location of this haunt is very visible. It is located right on a major road and they have a lighted sign out front so you cant miss it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There wasn't much of a wait when we got there but they do offer concessions. I didn't see any actors outside for entertainment though.

Actors' Performance


I felt the actors did a good job. There was a couple spots in the house where they were out of character which threw it off. Also, in the Void and Torment there could have been more. There were a few rooms that could have been a lot better with even just one person in there.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes and props at this haunt are unlike anything I've ever seen before. You can definitely see the effort that was put into it.

Length


It took about 45 minutes to get through the entire haunt. They were about 15 minutes a piece.

Summary

Overall, it was a good haunt. In my own opinion, I feel as though they are trying to do too much with not enough help. I would recommend it to anyone who loves haunts over the age of 13.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by owlie after attending on Friday, October 7, 2011 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

WOW! Every year this haunted house gets better. All three have been improved from last year and the level of detail still amazes me.

I totally agree with Haunted Attraction Magazine, this is the #1 "Must See" haunted house in America, you MUST go there!

Don't bring your kids under 10, this haunt is way too scary!

Summary

Gets better every year, must see!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Sub & Pub!

by comewhatmay927 after attending on Friday, October 7, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Very brief but fun. This is a short self guided tour along the lake where you encounter actors telling various maritime ghost stories from the Great Lakes. If you're driving a long way for this tour, plan something else as well. While it's fun, it's over quickly. We went to a haunted house afterwards. The combination equaled a great night.

Summary

Brief but fun.

View all Haunted Sub & Pub! reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by comewhatmay927 after attending on Friday, October 7, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This is definitely unique. If you're tired of the same old haunted house, come to this one. Each scene is a disturbing scene from history. The house is very interactive. The actors will grab you, push you into cages, et al. Be prepared. There were also slides, a vortex, and lots of extremely loud noises. I highly recommend this one. The actors were exceptional. It was like being in a very disturbing play.

Summary

Interactive, well done, unique, loud.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by ntothep after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This year's haunts are even more detailed than last year. I love that they don't sit back and rest on being a great haunt, they add more and change things up. This year's is the best I've ever seen! With three haunts it's at least a hour of thrills and I personally loved Torment the best. The detail in the other two haunts and scares is ridiculous but the surprises don't stop in Torment. Just crazy cool! They earned every bit of that number one ranking. Loved it!!!

Summary

Great haunt, great scares. Something different in each haunt but all three for the price is a great value and well worth the run out to the Waukesha Expo Grounds. Great haunt!!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by jesterman after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Our group attended this haunt for the 1st time. There was no line, we walked right in. Don't let the parking lot fool you, it looks full but they are in a multi use building. The actors did an awesome job. They had a wide variety of scares to make you scream and jump. Many dark hallways to venture down and you don't know what is around the corner. The actors did a great job of staying in character. It was like a big fun house. Everyone in our great had a great time.

Summary

I give this a haunt a double thumbs up!! They have an awesome haunt!!! We would for sure go back again.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by jesterman after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 4 a.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Attended the Hartford Jaycees Haunted House and 8 ppl in my group were disappointed. They didn't have many actors to scare you, they relied on props to scare. Also you have to watch out so the props don't hit you. I suggest if you have allergies that you don't attend. All 3 ppl in our group that have allergies got sick before they finished the trail. They did have some good scenes outside, like the skeleton band. That was cool.

Summary

If you have allergies I would suggest not attend.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by jensen26 after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I visited meadowbrook haunted cornfield on the 1st of October,with some of my friends. It was a perfect nite to go.The weather was nice,it was extremely foggy which added to the "haunted" feeling. The field has you wandering through different "themed" scenes.. there are alot of props and creatures,the thing I liked most was you never knew when an actor was going to pop out and scare you! The scenes are very well prepared . Im 22 years old and these actors scared the daylights out of me! You can never be to sure of what is next or if something is following you!

Summary

The haunted cornfield was awesome! I would definitely recommend it to any one who is looking for a good scare! I give it a 5 out of 5 stars!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Robinson90 after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunted house never fails to amaze me, we go every year and they get me every single time! I suggest this place to everyone I know, you won't be disappointed. If you aren't screaming you're laughing, it was such a great time

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2011 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by Scareycrow after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2011 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Awsome House! I was blown away. I've attended for several years, but this is the best yet! Awsome Tech/Special Effects! Awsome Actors! The group behind us started to catch up, because I like to take my time and really look at the decor. My favorites were the Squeeze maze, Mad Scientist, the Mad Dentist and the Large baby in the High chair. There's so much more - but I won't spoil it for you... Um, I think I'll cancel my dental appointment until after Halloween!

Summary

Don't be fooled by the parking lot, since the Schauer Center also has events going on with parking in the same lot. There was a short wait time and well worth the money! Hang on to your purse in the Squeeze maze - if you drop anything it would be hard to find. There's Perfect balance between Scare, Theatrics and Special Effects!
I'm not easy to scare, but they got me this year!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 22nd, 2019 12:08 p.m. CDT 1.6.3