ad-header-top

2004 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

180 total reviews. Showing 8 of 15 on this page (7 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

by banditracer489 after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It's on the south side of Hwy. 50. There's a well lit sign next to a barn that you can see from the road.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Indoor turnstile. Not much room for entertainment however a couple people came through. It was evident they were going to the bathroom, however they kept character.

Length

approximately twenty minute wait. Took exactly 12 minutes and 38 seconds to complete the barn.

Actors' Performance

Decent acting, but a few monsters shy of a full load. Had no problem with pushing as mentioned in other reviews.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

Pretty good startle barn. Only one real mind trip for me[plastic room]and there wern't enough actors to make it effective. It would be a climactic ending if there were more monsters. I was left able to get to into the music and walked right by the end head banging. {will forever associate Pantera's this love with chainsaw's]

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

by Eclypse01 after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We followed the directions off the internet and it worked just fine! No problems finding the haunt. There was a big white sign and people helping park the cars. There were even torches lighting the drive by the parking area.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area was inside a building with plenty of seating in bleachers. It was nice because it was cold out and we were able to sit in a warm building. There were people dressed up scaring everyone that was waiting. That was fun watching people jump. It was very entertaining. There was also a light show that cast over the walls and ceiling!

Length

We waited for about 30 minutes tops. It wasn't bad at all. We got there pretty early, a lot more people were coming in after we sat down. The haunted house took about 25-30 minutes...depending on how fast your group walked.

Actors' Performance

The actors were really into their roles. It was awesome. I think our group screamed in most of the rooms we walked in! The actors really stayed in character and kept it interesting. It was fun too because we were followed a majority of the time by the actors. They also cut into our line a few times, so you really didn't know who was holding on behind you...a member from your group or a monster!?!?! That made it fun. The props were also cool. You could tell a lot of effort went in to making this haunt. Great job!!!

Appropriate For

11+

Summary

The only thing we didn't like too much was the fact that you could see the ceiling of the building and the tops of the walls/dividers for the rooms...it was just too open, which meant that more light was let in and it wasn't dark enough in some areas.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue (CLOSED)

by oosh0rtyoo7 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2004 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Make sure that you have good directions of how to get there, because once it gets dark outside the haunted house isn't that noticable from the road.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The bon fire was a great feature to have. It kept everyone warm and it set a great mood like telling scarey stories around a campfire.

Length

It was a tremendous wait. We waited about 2 and a half hours but there were so many people there that it was expected. Plus they send you in, in small groups taking more time but increases the scare factor.

Actors' Performance

I felt the costumes were great, and there were tons of actors. However they didn't scare me too much. Most of them were talking to each other. I think being so late they were sick of being there and wanted to get out.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

Get there early! The actors will be ready for you, and the wait may not be as long.

View all The Morgue (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by oosh0rtyoo7 after attending on Friday, October 8, 2004 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was pretty easy to find. Once you got close you could tell their was a haunted house by the people around and the house that was visible from the street.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

It was nice to wait inside, expecially since it was pretty cold outside. There were a few actors in costumes walking around which somewhat put us into that haunted house excitement mood.

Length

It wasn't too bad of a wait, maybe 20 minutes at the most but then again we were there pretty early.

Actors' Performance

I felt overall the actors did a really good job. However I did not like that one particular actor followed us throughout the whole house. It was quite annoying if you ask me.

Appropriate For

11+

Summary

It was nice that there were two haunted houses available on one location, and the story about the place really being haunted before entering was quite entertaining.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by spookyme after attending on Friday, October 15, 2004 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

there was alot of driving in the country, but once you got to the woods, there were alot of orange lights so it was easy to see

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

there was a heated building where you could buy concessions.

Length

there was maybe a 15 minute wait in line to enter the woods. the walk was at least a half hour long.

Actors' Performance

the actors were excellent. everyone stayed in character and were very spooky.

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

Driving in a herse was a great start to the haunted walk. There was maybe a little too much crawling for being rainy and out side, beacuse everything was muddy, but it didnt take away from the scary experience. There was alot of different sets for being in the woods. It could have been better if people were allowed to go in smaller groups, because the people in the back didnt get to see everything beacuse of the large sizes of the groups. This hauted house proved that you could not over do chainsaws!! it was over all worth the drive and the $10

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

by alissa after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The signs were big but difficult to see in the dark, should have put some glow sticks out to catch the attension easier since we were from out of town. Once on the main road, you could see people w/glow lights directing traffice.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait was outside, but didn't matter since the wait was relatively short. The concessions were good...w/minidonuts! The music was less desirable...music that most of the people I was with, never heard of.

Length

Not a long wait at all. That was great! Event took about 15 minutes to go thru and had an excellent and unique beginning. (not giving it away)

Actors' Performance

Overall, the actors did fine...one followed me for sometime by tapping two people behind me on the shoulders to get behind me...took me awhile to notice it wasn't the guy behind me.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

I think they did a decent job, I liked the slide...it was fast! Watch out for the person in front of you! Could use some more popping out of the darkness.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

by cheezyiam after attending on Friday, October 15, 2004 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

good

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

not to bad moved people thru at good pace

Length

took maybe 15 min to go thru kinda short

Actors' Performance

copuld have used more actors and props but the ones they had did a good job. some were a little off

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

there was no carnevil and things for all ages as advertised and the housewas small but for first yaer they did ok. i think they tried to copy terror on the fox to much. ive been to better and to worse

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

by scully_gurl after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We didn't really have a hard time finding it because we had been to alpine valley before...but there weren't any signs at all. One at the enterance but none on the way up. We actually passed the enterance because we didn't see the sign and wasn't sure if that was the right enterance.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

It was nice because the wait was inside so we didn't have to worry about the cold. There was vending machines if you wanted candy or soda too. But no real entertainment or anything.

Length

We waited about 20-25 mintues. It took us about 15 mintues to get through the house.

Actors' Performance

The actors weren't all that great. They just sort of talked to you. Not very scary at all.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

I was actually really disappointed. I was expecting it to be a lot more, and a lot better. It was ok, but no where near what rainbow springs use to be. Not worth the 9 bucks we paid either. And then on top of that we had to pay parking which didn't seem right. I honestly got scared 2-3 times. Like I said, it was ok if you are bored and looking for something to do, but if you want to get scared this isn't the place.

I think one of the problems was our group caught up with the group in front of us so the surpise factor was then gone. They would scare the people in front and then we knew what was coming. And not only did we catch up with the group in front of us, but the group behind us also caught up with us. So there was a group of like 30 people going through.

The security was very nice though. We locked our keys in the car and they were very helpful.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by lysergicerberus after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 4:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We passed the event up, but knew it as we did. It is well lit, especially considering it is on a very dark stretch of road. No signs that we saw, but look for the orange lights.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area was cold and muddy. There was a bonfire however. No entertainment other than hearing groups ahead of us screaming their heads off. The office where you buy the tickets is indoors and there are some snacks and pumpkins for sale.

Length

The wait went faster than it looked like it was going to. Approx. 20 minutes. They send groups of about 10 through at a time, which helps speed the line up. The event lasted approx. 30 minutes+. There were a few times we thought it was over, but it wasn't. Gotta love that!

Actors' Performance

VERY WELL DONE! The actors were very into their roles. Guys, girls and children... all were intense and scary. Great makeup and good hiding spots.

Appropriate For

13+ (Blood effects and very high scare factor)

Summary

I heard this stated by another reviewer, but this is definately the sleeper of the year. Everyone, including me (27 year old male), was scared at some point. These guys create an all out sensory assault on their audience. They use every means available to them to create fear. LOTS of actors. Creat mazes. Lighting was excellent. Plenty of distractions and surprise4s. A word of warning, be prepared to crawl through the dirt. It sucks at first, but it only amplifies the scare factor. GO TO THIS EVENT!!!!

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

by browneyedhunny15 after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Not very visible because it was in a building besides all the signs/ Sturgeon Bay fairgrounds

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Sort of scary, people reaching out windows and grabbing you

Length

10 min. wait at the most

Actors' Performance

Pretty good

Appropriate For

6 and up

Summary

we knew a lot of people in there and they tryed to scare us.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by Monsterfan after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good, no problem

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Entertaining show during wait

Length

approx 30 min

Actors' Performance

In the house, very good! The train ride was not so scary, but it was enjoyable.

Appropriate For

10 & up

Summary

The scenery is awesome, very professionally done, best I have seen!

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

House of Shadows

by mrblood after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Directions to the house are a somewhat hard to see, one has to be very observant to make sure they don't miss them.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

I've attended this event nearly every year for the past 6 years, and the wait usually has excellent entertainment, with monsters interacting with the customers, a back story being told to pump up the crowd. This year the line was set up different, you would purchase a group ticket then wait in a tent area until your number was called. Horror movies were shown on a large screen in the tent, but there were no monsters interacting with the crowd.

Length

It seemed to be a slow night, our two groups waited about 20 minutes before we got in...past years the wait was sometimes over an hour.

Actors' Performance

Most of the actors were excellent! There were a few that didn't stay in character the whole time but overall the show was very good.

Appropriate For

10 and up.

Summary

This years house was better than last year, but not the best I've seen at this location. There were some very creative scares, the opening scene was great, and at least three other scenes stick out in my mind as done very well. I liked the dark maze as well, the whole house was very well done. What it needed to round out the whole experience was more of a back story told to the patrons to build it up a little. Great job everyone!

View all House of Shadows reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by nurunr4 after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The location was visible because of the line of people waiting.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

No entertainment, just a roped off area for the line. Occasional ghouls walking by.

Length

Our wait was about 35 minutes. If it's cold (which it was), you can park near and switch off members of the group sitting in the car (we did not).

Actors' Performance

The actors did a good job of being scary, coming up behind you from within the maze when you were not expecting it, and making you nervous to pass them.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

Our group had a 10 and 12 year old boy in it, and they handled the scariness pretty well.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

by angelhalo after attending on Sunday, October 17, 2004 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

SUPER EASY TO FIND! THERE IS A HUGE SIGN THAT NO ONE COULD MISS!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

NO WAIT AT ALL. THERE IS FREE PARKING, W/ ATTENDANTS SHOWING YOU WHERE TO PARK. THERE ARE SOME MONSTERS WALKING AROUND SCARING PEOPLE AS THEY BUY TICKETS.

Length

THE BARN WAS ABOUT 20-25 MINUTES, THE HAY RIDE WAS ABOUT 30 MINUTES.

Actors' Performance

GOOD, ESPECIALLY ON THE HAYRIDE...GOOD STUFF. THE BARN WAS GOOD AS WELL, BUT I THINK THEY HAY RIDE WAS MORE SCARY.

Appropriate For

12 AND UP

Summary

MY FRIENDS AND I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO FIND REALLY GOOD HAUNTED PLACES TO GO TO, AND THIS ONE IS PRETTY DARN GOOD. THERE IS ALMOST NO WAIT *ABOUT 5 MIN* TO GET INTO THE BARN, AND IT'S SET UP VERY WELL. I REALLY ENJOYED THE HAUNTED HAYRIDE. THE ACTORS ACTUALLY JUMP ONTO THE WAGON AND SCARE THE BA-JESUS OUT OF YOU, AND THEY HAVE A LOT OF CHAINSAWS! THIS WAS AWESOME AND I RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

by spoiledangel2061 after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 5:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The Haunted house is hosted by the Floral shop.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

For the wait area, you just stood in front of where you were going in, but there's NO LINE!

Length

There was like only a 30 second wait!

Actors' Performance

The actors scared me to death! I was running almost the whole way through! It is very scary, even if you go for a tour around the place!

Appropriate For

It's appropriate for ages older than 12. I'm 13 and I don't get scared very easily, but WHOAH I was scared!

Summary

This haunted house was the best one I've been to so far, but that's my thought. If you come here and you have to go to the bathroom.....I would think about going before you're go in. If you come to this haunted house, you'll have the best time of your life!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




November 17th, 2019 5:26 p.m. CST 11.0