ad-header-top

2004 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

180 total reviews. Showing 8 of 15 on this page (7 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by gnomethief after attending on Sunday, October 3, 2004 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Relatively easy to find, I got directions off the website -- only one sign which was on the theatre.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We waited inside for about 20 minutes, there was a video in the lobby. Lots of space. At one point two of the actors came out and went to the bathroom.

Length

Maybe 10 minutes, you watch a video before you go down to the basement and get some information about the history of the theatre.

Actors' Performance

The only scary things about these 'actors' was their acting - they were terrible. The different rooms were so corny and poorly decorated.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

This little girl 10 year old girl in the other group didn't even get scared. This was, by far, the worst haunted house I have been to in my life, and I have been to over 20. It was really short, and did not have anything to do with the fact that the theatre is really haunted. The lights are on for about 75% of it. A huge waste of money and time.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

by beckylynn1227 after attending on Friday, October 22, 2004 at about 4:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

If the driver wouldn't have known where she was going we would have never gotten there :)

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

not scary, it was nice though well lit clean bathrooms,scary music playing

Length

we were in line for about 30 min went really fast though lots of things to read on the walls

Actors' Performance

it was ok, played there parts well

Appropriate For

i would say 10+

Summary

I am 24 not scared that easily, this haunted house was ok not overly scary but ok.... really long drive to get there though

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

by Sean after attending on Friday, October 22, 2004 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Sign was small from the road, so need to know more info the website. Good place for a haunted house.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Inside wait area with vending machines and restrooms close. Stood in line for over 30 min.

Length

Stood in line for 30+ minutes. Good use of up stairs area of the building. Excellent theme rooms, good twists and turns through the mazes. The "dot" room was the BEST.

Actors' Performance

Actors were good. More than at the Darkness, but special effects, lighting, and music were better at the Darkness

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

See this first before the Darkness and you won't be as dissapointed.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

by ConceptGuy after attending on Friday, October 15, 2004 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easily found. The signs weren't brightly lit or anything, but if you've ever been to Alpine Valley...you already know the way.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Spacious, but we were some of the first customers of the evening. There was music playing, and reading material on the wall about historical hauntings in Wisconsin. We had maybe 20-25 minutes to wait.

Length

Again, we were some of the first people there that evening. The ticket-taker was new, and was initially allowing too much time between groups going into the Fear. This made our wait longer than it should have been, but it was not unpleasant.

Actors' Performance

Most were very much into their roles. Our problem was that there were a couple of people in our group who were so terrified that they almost ran through the place - not a good pace to truly enjoy the actors' efforts.

Appropriate For

13 and up

Summary

It's great to see the people from Rainbow Springs back in the haunted house business! I don't know if they had any logistical problems, but everything seemed to run smoothly. You just can't replace the aura of Rainbow Springs *that* easily, though. I'll be looking forward to seeing what they do for 2005.
NOTE #1: If you go, plan to GO SLOWLY. Make it last! There are lots of good scares, and some hysterical moments if someone in your group is easily frightened!
NOTE #2: The only reason The Fear didn't get a 5 for Scare Factor is because I'm an old guy. Being truly scared for me is the spectre of a tax audit.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by leeG after attending on Friday, October 15, 2004 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

it was fairly easy to find. after getting off the freeway, it was on one single long road.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

there was no entertainment, you just stood in line and waited for your turn.

Length

there was not much wait time, about fifteen minutes.

Actors' Performance

actors were pretty good. They stayed in there parts, and had good costumes.

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

I didnt like all the crawling that you had too do, it would have been fine if there wasnt so much of, it but it was a little over done. I didn like the creepy heres ride, it just got my heart racing, but for any one planning on going, try to get into the herse first. It makes the ride more exciting. Great haunted walk over all. i would definaltely go again.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by dodruth after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Great signs, great location

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Decorated very nice. Roaming actors added to the atmosphere, lots of other stuff to do.

Length

Wait for Fear Factory was about 5 Minutes. Wait for Zombie Zone was about an hour.

Actors' Performance

Fear Factory actors seemed to come out of the walls, the 3D effect witht the glasses was amazing. The Zombie Zone was scary..my girlfriend peed her pants when the chain saw guy got us.

Appropriate For

7 yrs and up

Summary

Zombie area was really spooky..didn't know what was going to happen next. Going next weekend with out of town friends.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by not_scurred after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We found it right away...pretty easy to find

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

When we went it the "shows" must have closed down or done with because we didnt see anything..there were a couple of "scarry" people walking around but they didnt really do anything, they didnt scare anyone..was pretty boring.

Length

We waited about an hour to get into the haunted house. We got right onto the train though.

Actors' Performance

Like everyone else said the actors were pretty good..some werent as good as others. Most of the chicks inside the haunted house werent scary at all.

Appropriate For

10 and up

Summary

I think this haunted house was all right..i personally dont think it was worth the $11 and the hour wait.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by morguewitch after attending on Sunday, October 17, 2004 at about 1:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Saw one sign. Had been there before

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

train was fun. The facade of the house is awesome.

Length

20 minutes for train and about 10 minutes to get into the house. Was inside about 15-20 minutes. Good.

Actors' Performance

They do their best. Alot of hissing and growling.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

Alot of effort went into the artwork and design of this house.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by ScurredOfClownz after attending on Sunday, October 17, 2004 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There was a sign on each side of the building and the line was set up with ropes and buckets.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There were quite a few different creatures walking up and down the line, the skull faced guy with the spikes got me the worst.

Length

Our wait time in line was like 10 minutes and it took about 15 minutes to go through.

Actors' Performance

EXCELLENT!! I enjoyed every minute of it and did not know what to expect. The make-up was good and the masks were very scary. The clowns were the worst, I screamed all the way through the room they were in.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

Overall it was an awesome place and definitely worth the money!

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by KATEE S after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy. Looked on the web site and had no problems at all

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

I really enjoyed the entertainment that was there. Actors scaring in the lines, People dancing in towers

Length

45 minutes to an hour

Actors' Performance

Most were very good.... Just a few that didn't seem to be getting into the mood But overall, very enjoyable

Appropriate For

13 and older

Summary

The wait didn't seem too bad. There was much going on and lots to watch. There were people dancing in the towers, awesome light show, actors working scaring people in lines. I go every year, and this event keeps getting better and better. Something new each year. Highly recommend...

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by larryrahl after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

well placed from interstate to Memorial Mall

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

small, but fast moving

Length

20 min. to entrance of rules room

Actors' Performance

all seemed to be inspired by the roles they were playing

Appropriate For

13+

Summary

well designed house, with great attention to detail. Pace through house allowed adequate time to observe detail, yet still be moved along to each room.

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by Brandonveepee after attending on Friday, October 15, 2004 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Overall, it's very well posted. Takeing into consideration it is in the country and no available streetlights are provided, it's very easy to see and with the directions on the sign(s) on Hwy P and also the ones provided with on the site, made getting there very easy.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

I really enjoyed the fire and everything. Not to mention the enormous amounts of pumpkins as well as food that's available. It's obvious that alot of time and effort went into the overall Farm. Haveing the option of feeding the animals was a great idea, it introduces kids from cities to experience first hand nature easily and safely.

Length

The wait was not bad. I did come a little early as I know it fills up fast from last year. But indeed, well worth it!!! The entertainment provided from the bunnies was hilarious. As well as some friends I met while standing in line. Thanks!

Actors' Performance

I thought the actors were excellent. It's an obvious note that they took the time and effort to play who they portray. Anyone can put a mask on and act...but it takes talent and time to "become" that mask and that creature/person/ whichever. Overall, they did an excellent job. Just when you'd think no one was there or watching you, you're dead wrong. And even the props were frigtening at times. Thanks again for the laughs/scares!

Appropriate For

9+

Summary

Again, thank you for another great year, and the family and I do look forward to next year as well!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

by KermieD after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 4:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find at the Sunnyview Expo Center off of Hwy110 on Cty Y

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

A few people walking around with masks and assorted weapons--standard fare

Length

15 minutes

Actors' Performance

The opening sequence detailing the rules via a movie is brilliantly done. Perhaps it was that it was the first night and nobody had found their "groove" yet and that we were in a group of 7, but performances seemed somewhat flat.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

Production value here was unparralelled. A lot of work was done to make this event look professional. Unfortunately, it was done at the expense of genuine scares. By the end of the event last year, you were really on edge wondering where the next scare was coming from. This year, unfortunately, it was style over substance. Had they managed to combine the scares from last year with the production value of this year, I would have been asking for 6's to rate this. If you go in a large group, split the group into smaller groups of no more than 4 people.

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Lurch after attending on Sunday, October 17, 2004 at about 5:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Having not been from the area, we had a very difficult time locating the house. However I place the blame on us for not having gotten directions beforehand. A few signs would have been helpful, though.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We did not come on a particularly beautiful night. Kind of cold, dirzzleing, windy. So I was less than thrilled when we had to wait outside for about 30 minutes when there was only about 15-20 people in line. A little entertaiment would have been nice to get our minds off the cold, but there was no music, no light show, nothing really to look at, and very few actors. The actors that did eventually come around were brandishing chainsaws but didn't exactally appear murderous or crazy. They just kind of strolled on by with a sputtering chainsaw in thier hands, looked at us, but never really made an attempt to scare anyone. Other than that, we waited in silence until we got to the inside waiting area, were good music was being slaughtered by techno re-mixes. And once again, no actors to watch. Heavy music outside the house and creepy music inside would lessen the wait and provide entertainment.

Length

Inside the house, we waited for about another 20 minutes. When we got to the ticket counter, we were informed that Blood City was closed early, so we went through Burial Chamber only. The detail inside the house was moderate at best. Many rooms are sparsly decorated, there is no cieling at times so one could look through and see the roof of the building, which was a constant reminder that I was not in a haunted chapel or forest, but in a wearhouse. Some very cool things could be done with so much space. Making sets up to the cieling would be time consuming, but worth it come Halloween season. I'd say about half of the house we walked through was complete darkness. This is a cool and scary effect sometimes, but it just gets annoying and frustrating after a while. At one point I was actually in pain, when an incredibly loud jack-hammer type noise went off. My ears were sore and my head was throbbing, so after the first one, I had had quite enough, but it continued throughout the length of the hall. When using loud things like that, they are best used sparingly.

Actors' Performance

Although we did go through the house late at night, I would still expect the actors to get a little effort to push themselves and remain enthusiastic, and in character, up until close. Only about three actors had a slice of enthusiasm and energy left when we came through. Some just sat in one place and stared, some got up real close to your face and made a little hissing noise, others were just plain angry and looked as though they wanted to go home. I was shoved aside by one such actor as he passed me in a hall. He just wanted to leave, and was probably doing so. Also, three actors in three seperate parts of the house used this line to scare people:...Hello! They popped around a corner, yelled hello, then went away. One actor, after having used this line and after seeing that we were not scared by it, actually asked, "Why aren't you guys scared?" We politely apologized, gave a fake scream and ran out of the room. Total house time:15 minutes.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

There was one particular line given by an actor that I agree with. After being asked if it was our first time there and after having said yes, she said, "Oh good, we like new victims."

Yes......victims indeed.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue (CLOSED)

by HauntDude after attending on Saturday, October 16, 2004 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It wasn't too hard to find, and there was only one sign out front.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

It was great to wait around a bonfire because it was cold out. Laughing at people getting stared at by zombies and watching people run out of the woods being chased by chainsaws was cool too.

Length

The wait wasn't too bad, the time flies when you can wait where ever, not just in a line. The length of the house and woods was perfect.

Actors' Performance

The actors were great. Great makeup, but the costumes were only ok.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

It's a great scare for only 8 dollars and i would recommend it to anyone.

View all The Morgue (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 17th, 2019 6:03 p.m. CDT 1.12