ad-header-top

2004 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

180 total reviews. Showing 9 of 15 on this page (6 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by 20Chee-B04 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2004 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There are no signs on Ashland or any neighboring streets, but as soon as you get on to Broadway it's quite easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Some actors were walking around the parking lot to get people in the the "Scared" mood.

Length

There was about an hour wait to get on the train and about 15 minutes once off the train.

Actors' Performance

Most of the actors didn't seem like they wanted to be there, they lacked enthusiam. Others seemed to do ecceptonaly well, overall the actors were really good.

Appropriate For

11 and up

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by martinzzz77 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2004 at about 4:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Fairly easy to find. Parking lot is a mess though.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Waiting area is outside in the woods. Pretty cool light and sound show.

Length

Barely waited 5 minutes for the train but waited about 45 minutes to get into the house.

Actors' Performance

Very good. Put on a good show and I got scared quite a few times.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

Cool train ride before the house. Long wait in line but it was worth it.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by martinzzz77 after attending on Saturday, October 2, 2004 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find. No sign but big letters on the building for the Burial Chamber. Blood City is around the side.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Indoor waiting for quite a few people.

Length

It was the first night and there was no wait at all.

Actors' Performance

Pretty good. Didn't seem to be that many though.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

Was pretty good. Nice set up. Could use a few more actors though and some more out of no where scares.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by martinzzz77 after attending on Sunday, October 10, 2004 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find. Plenty of parking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Nice and warm. Could be a litter darker though. They were showing documentation of ghosts on tv while waiting.

Length

Waited about 1/2 hour. Line moved kinda slow.

Actors' Performance

Most were pretty good.

Appropriate For

9+

Summary

Seemed kinda short. Too many lights sometimes made it feel not so scary. We didn't know where we were supposed to go quite a few times. I did get startled on a few occasions.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by blondeaechica after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2004 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Very easy to find since I've went the past 2 years.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wasn't much going on on Saturday

Length

We didn't wait at all for the train but we waited about 45 minutes to get into the house.

Actors' Performance

The actors were everywhere. You seen them right as you walked into the room and there were just too many... it sucked. Only a few times did anyone jump out at us. A lot of them just stood around as if that was scary enough. All they really did id got in my face and growled and stuff... It really wasn't very good.

Appropriate For

8+

Summary

I can't believe this was rated within the top ten in wisconsin. I've gone many years in the past and this time was the worst... it seems to be going down hill every year... i was very disappointed this year.... Not worth my money.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by Eclypse01 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2004 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The directions were good. It was really dark and kind of hard to see. We ended up passing the road that the pumpkin farm was on, but it was no big deal. We were watching for the road signs and saw it as we passed, so we just simply turned around. There was a big pumpkin sign outside the haunt on the right side of the road. It was a little weird driving up the driveway to the place because in order to get to the parking area in the way back, you needed to drive past the ticket area and wait for all the lines of people to move so you could drive through to find the people helping park the cars. The parking wasn't very structured either. A few cars ended up parking people in while we were there. The workers did however make an effort to find the drivers of the cars.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area was outside, along a barn and bunny pen. That was probably the most entertainment, watching the bunnies hop around. There was one guy that walked around in costume, but he wasn't scary. In fact, I don't even know what he was supposed to be!!! Some sort of deranged police officer or something from years ago?!?! There was a vending area and halloween store with pumpkins and gourds to buy. There was also a large bonfire. My biggest complaint was that the tickets, food, and store were one building with only one person at the register. This took FOREVER. I don't understand why they don't split up the store/food and the tickets!?!? People were waiting in line forever to buy the stuff!!! It was very irritating.

Length

This was the worst part! We ended up waiting in line to buy tickets for over 45 minutes, close to an hour. Then the line for the corn maze was over 2 and a half hours long. They did have a bonfire that you could wait by, but unless you had enough members in your group to have some wait in line while others went by the fire, you weren't able to go over by the fire (w/o losing your place in line). The line moved very slowly. We didn't get into the corn maze until after midnight sometime. The corn maze took a good 35-40 minutes to walk through.

Actors' Performance

The actors were really into their roles, which made the corn maze fun. They were very energetic and were able to catch us off guard. It was also cool because the corn stalks were over 6 ft. tall in most areas and the path through the corn was only wide enough to make your group walk in single file line (This was scarier because you couldn't huddle together and were right next to the stalks!) There could have been a few more live actors, but the props were awesome. It kept you guessing as to which were real actors and which were just props!!!! Good job guys. It looked like a lot of hard work was put into the maze...that makes it even more fun to experience!

Appropriate For

11+

Summary

Dress warm...it gets very cold at night and you will thank yourself for packing extra clothes! You will wait a while to get in, but it is nice to see the hard work put into the haunt. We also talked to a worker and he said that they usually only get about 30 people stopping there in the first hour or two and then they are suddenly hit with 200 people showing up!!! GET THERE EARLY. You will not want to wait in line that long.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by Bart S after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2004 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

easy to find just off hwy 172

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

consession stand burger was great and I got a cool scull at the gift shop

Length

The Linbe was long but the weather was great and the light show and actors out front gave us something to watch while waiting. The house doesn't follow a story line but the detail in the rooms is great with some cool animatronics

Actors' Performance

some good some so so

Summary

The black light show that changes the outside of the house was great.
How do they make that stuff invisable?

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by Eclypse01 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2004 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We have been there many times before, so it was routine to us. Following the directions makes it really easy. The only bad thing is that there are barely any street lights so it's hard to see the street signs. Otherwise, most of the turns you make are at stop signs, etc... when you have time to look around and see what streets you are on! The building is pretty lit up and there are people helping park so it is easy to see where the haunt is.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We waited in the gymnasium, which was nice. It was warm with plenty of chairs to sit in. They had a vending area with anything from nachos and soft pretzels to hot dogs and cookies! If you are running late and want to get there before the rush, don't bother eating...they have plenty of food! There were also video games lining the wall.

Length

We only waited for about 30 minutes. We got there before a longer line of people started showing up. (Rule of thumb-If you want to get into the haunted house sooner, show up earlier.) If you are in a smaller group(2-3), you might be in luck...they make sure you have a group of 8 going in to the haunted house. We only had a group of 6 so they asked around for a group of 2 to join us. So if you are in a smaller group, you can usually get in right away!

Actors' Performance

The actors were great! I loved it. This was so much better than last year. They improved a lot! The props were great and the actors were awesome. They put a lot of work into this haunted house and you can tell. Great job all around!!!

Appropriate For

11+

Summary

They go by the numbers on the tickets, so don't just start forming a line. They will call off the numbers they are looking for and write them down on the board. Just make sure you are listening to what's going on!!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

by Monsterfan after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2004 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Good, you can't miss the resort/ski hill where the haunt is at.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Good. 100% indoors, with a snack bar, & there is a bar upstairs of the waiting area for those of legal age.

Length

Approx 30-40 minutes, but you're inside & warm.

Actors' Performance

Outstanding, don't know what the other negative reviewers of this haunt were looking at or expecting, I was scared numerous times, as well as amused by some of the humor in some of the scenes. My group was completely petrified by the last monster, a big guy done up in blackllght makeup who appeared out of nowhere looking like a linebacker from hell!

Appropriate For

10 & up

Summary

This is a great family haunt!! It has great scares that startle without grossing you out. Of course, it doesn't have the same built-in ambience that "Rainbow Springs" had, but that place is gone, so moaning about that doesn't really matter, you have to judge this haunt on it's own merit!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by sturino40 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2004 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

good signage, but you have to keep your eyes sharp or you'll go past it

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

None, though the people in front of us were kinda funny looking

Length

we arrived at 900 pm and did not get to the haunt until 1035. but that had to do with the dozens of people who kept skipping. they would call their friends, tell them where they were and then you would have 30 more people in front ot you.

Actors' Performance

AWESOME, i have never been to a house with SO many actors. there must have been 50-100 actors. AWESOME

Appropriate For

Teenagers +

Summary

Amazing, the BEST attraction i have been to in 5 years. The fact that you are in a woods and then go through seperate scenes is great! this is the event to go to if you plan on going to only 1 this year. you will not be disappointed.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by Stepherz2007us after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2004 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was pretty easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The guy that was dancing was pretty good and kept us from getting bored.

Length

For the train we didnt wait very long but the haunted house we waited like 15 mins..which wasnt too bad.

Actors' Performance

They were good, some of the girls werent that scary though, they just stood there.

Appropriate For

12-and up

Summary

The train ride could have been better, it wasnt that scary but the haunted house was really awesome and pretty scary!

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by melisme7 after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2004 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

I've seen posters up everywhere for it! The location is great too. It's very easy to get to from wherever your coming from. Them being right next to The National Railroad Museum really helps it have an edge.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

It was just really starting to get busy when i got there. The wait area before he train was kinda lacking, but on the train i was scared s***less. And it was all girls too which rocks! I mean they even followed you off in the train into the woods and everything! The length of wait in front of the house was a little longer than i would have hoped, but the people in the towers in front made it seem less lengthy. The UV show was wicked! :)

Length

I waited for the train probably about 5-10 minutes. In front of the house was between 20-30 minutes. That was my own fault though for going at probably primo hours. The house itself was just wicked. It was very well layed out that you didn't knw what was gonna be in the next room. The only thing that was kinda bad was we caught up with the group in front of us right near the end, but other than that. I give it two thumbs up!!

Actors' Performance

They were so awesome! It was so cool how you could pass a person and then see them later in the house. It's like they would appear out of nowhere. And the chics on the train were wicked. There were these two guys though that stand out to me. I was waiting in line with my friends and they just charged us and then hit the ground right before us and i don't know like army crawl. It was so scary!

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

I would recommend everyone add this haunted house to their "To Do" lists. It is well worth it.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by spookyme after attending on Friday, October 1, 2004 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

there was a white sign on the side of the road pointing you in the right direction.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

it had a nice covered indoor seating area with a concession stand. A few actors walked around. I liked how they called off numbers for entering the house, verses the standing in line method.

Length

Being opening night, and raining, there was hardly anyone there. My boyfriend and i even got to go in just the two of us, which makes the experience a lot better than a huge group.The house itself took around 20 minutes to walk through

Actors' Performance

actors didnt have much real acting parts other than to pop out, but they were good at that.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

There were a few good surprises, but not as great as i had remembered the years before to be. A lot of the elaborate stuff there before isnt there this year. it defiantely is worth going to, becuase it will always be one of the best, but if you have been there before, i warn you that you may be dissappointed that it didnt out do itself this year.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

by spookyme after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2004 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

very easy to find lots of orange lights, and a scary herse parked out front.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

the wait area was well set up with concessions and bathrooms. there was good eerrie music and fun lights.

Length

the wait was about a half an hour, not too bad. The house lasted maybe 15 minutes, but we walked kind of fast.

Actors' Performance

there wernt enough actors throughout the house. The ones they did have were dull and lifeless, no pun intended.

Appropriate For

10+

Summary

I thought this house had alot of potential to be better, but wasnt the best i had seen. There were a lot of places actors would have scared anyone like inside coffins, or behind the mist, but it was mostly motionless props. I was dissappointed not seeing the angel of death after hearing the actors acream " shes coming for you", or "she will get you!" Loud screams caught me off guard but were not too scary because noone popped out. I would say it was worth drving to, as long as you go to both houses in elkorn!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2004 season rather than the current season.

by spookyme after attending on Saturday, October 9, 2004 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

it was very visible, being that it was the only huge sign out in the country. the little drive in was cute and a little spooky. it was unfortunate to have to pay for parking seeing as the haunted house is $9 as well

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

waiting inside was nice, you stayed warm.

Length

We waited about 30 to 40 minutes. The event lasted quite a long time, but depending on how fast you rush through it, i'd say it took 25 minutes to go through

Actors' Performance

actors stayed in character very well. they were very believable for the parts they played.

Appropriate For

12+

Summary

i thought this was a very well done haunted house over all. It had so much to look at and cool extras like a slide and parting tunnels. There was a little humor in some of the rooms as well. It defiantely was a much more entertaining haunted house rather than scary. But that isnt necissarily bad, it was very fun to walk through and not being as scary, you look around more rather than crouch over and stare at the ground. Excellent haunted house, i recommend it to any real haunted house fans!

View all reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 21st, 2019 8:57 p.m. CDT 1.8.19