2014 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

112 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Forest of Freaks

by MeganCottrell after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

WORST HAUNTED TRAIL EVER! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY UNLESS YOU WANT TO PAY TO SEE A BUNCH OF SISTER LOVING HILLBILLIES RUNNING AROUND IN CAPES AND BAD MAKEUP. WAITED OVER 3 HOURS IN UNORGANIZED CHAOS JUST TO END UP REGRETTING THE ENTIRE NIGHT.

Summary

Garbage

View all Forest of Freaks reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Shockwave Haunts

by brianne.ingersoll after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

What a fun haunt! First tip! Go early! We did, and had the run of the property! We didnt have any chance of catching up to another party, or one catching up to us while in a haunt. The actors do a really great job at hiding and scaring. I did A LOT of screaming which really isnt typical for me. Luckily they have a spot where you can buy soda or beer to sooth your throat if you need to. :)
NURSING HOME -Does make you laugh. Its different than what I've seen at a haunt before, and I liked it! :)
BLOODY MANOR is where I did most of my screaming. Loved it!
MALIGNANT MANAGEMENT is well set up and the actors do well at hiding, not as scary
The NEW MYSTERY HAUNT is something I've never done at a haunt either. It really messed with my sensory and caused lots of screams and laughs.
I'll be recommending this place to everybody!

Summary

Will be recommending to everyone!

View all Shockwave Haunts reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by leemehan after attending on Sunday, October 12, 2014 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Too bad it is the final year for The House of Bathory. I had a really great time and love this old style feel type haunted house when you can really take the time to walk through and there wasn't just a bunch of noise and flashing lights! It is actually my favorite and really stinks that this is the final round! Girl we had with us was crying from the get-go and probably shouldn't have been let in because she was too scared and cried the entire time! It sure is a fun time and I enjoy this one better than like all the other ones I have been to! Love the scary monkeys, the spinning bridge and slide! It was all fun and probably will do it a couple more times before the year is out! This is the final round and last dance so everybody please experience it because after this, you won't have a chance! Love this haunted house and it will be missed! Thanks for the bone chilling spooks!

Sincerely,

-Nick from Manitowoc-

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by Hauntfan after attending on Friday, October 10, 2014 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I returned to this haunted house with a new group of friends. We had a BLAST, well some of us did. I have to mention the creepy clown that followed us everywhere! One of my friends that came is deathly afraid of clowns, and having this creepy clown follow us made things even more scary and creepy. Around every corner, there was Dr. SCary...I just cannot figure out how he 'appears' in front of us so many times! Is it magic, or are there many people portraying him? I guess that is the mystery of this haunted house, and one will never know.

Upon my return, I jumped and screamed as much as I did last weekend when I came through. It is so much fun, and this house always keeps you on edge! There was a creepy little girl in one of the rooms, and took us completely off guard, and actually made one of my friends....well lets just say she should have used the bathroom before going in, because after that room, she did not need to 'go' anymore!

This house is scary, creepy, and caught me off guard around every turn. The actors are fantastic, and certainly know what they are doing. Our senses were on overload by the time we exited the house, and then it was on to Pandemonium! A whole new experience for my friends. It was amazing how confused and crazy you get while in there! I love the soundtrack, especially the dub step music. I do not hear that type of music played anywhere else. We really enjoyed the noises and sounds in the main house, the creepy overhead page was very distrubing, and sent my mind on paranoia overdrive.

Summary

They are #1 for a reason! Overloads all of your senses. Fabulous actors and attention to detail!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by karen.grallkoller after attending on Friday, October 10, 2014 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This haunt never disappoints! They add new adventures each year we go.
This group of ghouls really know what they are doing and the effort is really something.
the line was reasonable in a barn area, so away from the wind, but chilly.
The adventure itself takes a good amount of time to get through, from the mine shaft ,hayride and walk through the woods/maze, your talking at least 30 minutes!
It was a blast and well worth the price...we WILL be back again :)

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Screamin Acres Haunted Houses

by sweetmprecious after attending on Saturday, September 20, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I went as part of an advanced preview, and it was AWESOME! Since our group went before they officially opened (October 3rd, I think), they weren't completely done with preparations. They were about 90% done, and I have to say that I was seriously impressed! There was just a little bit at the very beginning that wasn't quite finished, so I can't comment on that (just the walls in the first building), but the rest was pretty rad.
Seriously, the sounds that the people made, the costumes, the length of the entire event, and the quality of all of the props, was VERY impressive. I am a bit of a snob when it comes to Halloween themed activities, and I host numerous annual parties, so I don't say any of the above, lightly. ;)

Your Halloween season just isn't going to be complete without a trip to Screamin' Acres.

Summary

Seriously. Check this place out. The props are amazing, the sounds the scarers make are great, and you get a lot of bang for your buck! This is not some quick five-minute walk around, folks.

View all Screamin Acres Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by btweezy414 after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I probably lost track of how many years in a row that I have attended the Wisconsin Fear Grounds but this year I made the trip earlier than usual. Myself along with a large group of friends really enjoyed the 3 houses they have. As always the first haunted house Morgan Manor was every focused on the actors and details as I would have thought. CarnEvil of Torment was good, but clowns dont scare mea great deal. For someone scared of clowns or circus freaks I can imagine this being very scary. The 3rd hosue was called BlackOut and they made us put a HOOD over our heads to go in it. What to talk about freaky! After we got the ladies settled down, we joined through this house which seeemed like a lifetime. I woudl say more but dont want to spoil the surprises for others.

Summary

If I can find more friends, I will be back at the Wisconsin Fear Gorunds again this season. If you love hautned houses they will not let you down!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by Hauntfan after attending on Friday, October 3, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

NO WONDER THIS HAUNTED HOUSE WAS VOTED #1 IN THE SE REGION! OMG! This place is awesome, I will be getting another group of friends to come with me and visit again! It is awesome! Best one I have ever been to in years! Actors jumping out at me around every turn. Their attention to detail is impeccable! There are a lot of things that I would love to mention that scared the [email protected]#$ out of me, but I don't want to give anything away. Kudos to the girl in the straight jacket, and the actor in the room full of tables an bodies-sorta looked like an autopsy room.This house attacks your senses from every direction. The second haunt, Pandemonium is crazy, and fun, oh, and did I mention the frustration of going in circles? I am not a wimp, and refused to use an 'I quit' exit., I wanted to be a 'winner' and find the end, and though it took me 47 minutes to find it, but I was successful. I will be returning this year for another visit, this haunt will definitely be one that I will revisit every season multiple times. I cannot wait until Friday, when they open again so I can bring more friends to enjoy this memorable and amazing place!

Summary

I now know why they are #1! Awesome, amazing, and memorable! This one is worth visiting more than once a season. I will be back!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by sheena.r.murray after attending on Saturday, September 27, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Burial Chamber is the perfect place to go for a wide range of scare tactics backed with an amazing team of actors and crew in a huge complex. I've been going for years now, and they never fail to amaze! Each year is a different experience, since they like to change up the sets inside the two houses in the warehouse as well as the various set pieces in the woods

If you go, make sure to wear durable clothes and sensible shoes. There are surprises around every turn, from all angles (If you go into Phobia, the haunted woods...just be careful not to run into the swamp! Stick to the path kiddos. More than once I've had to grab someone in our group to keep them from getting very wet). If you don't scare easy, I recommend teaming up with a group of strangers for your walk through. It's the best to watch people scream and freak over the creepy, crazy, and sometime gore filled goodness of the complexes. There is even a coffin for you to get strapped into for that Last Ride thrill if you are adventurous.

Check it out. I promise you won't be disappointed!

Summary

Scary fun for all!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by owlie after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2014 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Every year the Feargrounds gets more elaborate. The new haunted house Blackout is seriously intense. Morgan Manor is beautifully decorated with great actors and CarnEvil is freaky!

Summary

Amazing

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Wiscare after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2014 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage/Visability/Location: The Burial Chamber is located just off Hwy 41 which makes it an easy find. The building is hard to miss as you can see Burial Chamber painted on the side of the first building. They also have parking attendants so it's hard to miss.

Wait area/ Line entertainment: Burial Chamber offers 2 large video screens for your viewing pleasure while in line. They also have a few ghouls roaming around the grounds.

Actor Performance: Solid as usual. When you have 100+ actors it's hard to control them all but they do a good job.

Scenes/Sets/fx: Outstanding. The attentions to detail and props they use are phenomenal.

Length: Adrenaline was about 20 minutes, Insanity was about 20, and Phobia was about 15.

Crowd Control: Nothing out of the norm. Parking attendants parking cars and such. One thing I suggest is that you have customers not smoke in line. We stood next to a bunch of kids who were smoking and it was gross.

Most Memorable Moment: Where do I start. When we went through Adrenaline my friend kept picking me up by my jacket which had me laughing the whole way through.

Summary

Summary: This was my 3rd time going through Burial Chamber and it is always good. However, they don't change that much year to year. With a slower night you would expect them to let you go in smaller groups. Groups of more than 4 kind of ruins the experience since you don't see everything especially if you're in the back. At the end of our trip through Insanity there were probably 15 of us in a line.

3 haunts for $30 is a deal for what they offer. I recommend this haunt for any haunted house fan.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

It’s like Halloween threw-up all over this place!! That's probably the best way to summarize the Hartford Jaycees Haunted House. (...which is technically in Slinger) If you're looking for a haunted attraction that screams Halloween and actually wreaks of haunted house both inside and out look no further than the Hartford Jaycees Haunted House!

The venue for this haunt epitomizes Halloween for me as it came complete with a terrifying tour through the woods and a creepy old 3 story house. The outdoor portion of this haunt took my group approximately 5 minutes to traverse and featured several spooky sets along the way along with a few classic scares. Be sure to keep your guard up at all times during the wooded tour as there are interesting distractions along the way that will momentarily grab your attention so that the real scare can catch you off guard. While the outdoor experience was more of a scare if you dare to walk-through variety, the indoor experience was an interactive one featuring rooms with elaborately costumed actors that did an exceptional job of both entertaining me with their skits and creeping me out.

The tour of the house started on the 3rd floor balcony and wound down through the house until it spit me out through a cellar door. The rooms and hallways throughout the house were absolutely crammed pack full of ghoulish goodies. Be sure to always look up, down and all around to ensure you catch all the great scares! (Particularly in the stairwells) All the sets were elaborately detailed with many them containing hidden room exits and secret passage ways between the rooms.

Animatronics and special effects were plentiful and provided for some very unique visually stimulating experiences. Just about every room (...if not all...) contained an animatronic scare in it. The indoor portion of our tour took approximately 20 minutes to complete….for a total tour time of 25 minutes. This ranks the Hartford Jaycees Haunted House as the longest of the 3 haunted house tours that resides in the Slinger-Hartford-Hubertus area this year!

Special Kudos to the following actors who performances have permanently scared my memories:
* "Bed Time" girl for most realistic scream, ever!
* "The Butcher" who definitely looked and acted the part (seeing your face through the window still creeps me out!)
* "Sushi Man" who's adlib one liners still make me laugh
* "The Bar Widow" who's elaborate make up and costume were only outshined by her acting performance
* "Top Hat Man" who’s clever sense of humor truly tested how well you were paying attention.

Signage / Visibility / Location


This may not be the easiest haunt to find. If you're on HWY 60 in slinger look for the lighted portable sign with a flashing arrow on the north side of the road. Fireman’s park is an immediate right turn after you make turn north off of HWY 60. The Haunted House is actually tucked away after a short winding drive into the park.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


This haunt offers a heated wood shack with a concessions stand to comfort you while you anticipate the horror that awaits you. A tented staging area provides shelter from the elements as you undergo last minute preparations before your terrifying tour through the woods.

Actors' Performance


A good mix of adult and young actors delivered entertaining performances. None of them totally freaked me out but they were still very entertaining. A few of them were absolutely exceptional at adlibbing and allowed you to playfully interact with them

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Some really unique sets and a several outstanding special effects.

Length


Approximately 25 minutes.

Crowd Control


Numbered tickets allow you to purchase your tickets and assemble wherever you’d like while you wait. No long lines to stand in at this haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


Several to choose from...the Butcher and his freezer are still haunting my visions as I write this review!

Summary

The Hartford Jaycees Haunted House provides an exceptional balance of scares, ghoulishly gratifying visual treats and interactive entertainment making this haunt a fun Halloween destination for both kids and adults alike. The indoor waiting area complete with concession stand and movie room make this a howling good time regardless of the weather.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2014 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Fourteen years of creative, creepy and chilling concepts and counting for Terror on Rural Street. A techno haunt goer's dream come true, there has never been a year when I have been disappointed with the electrifying showcase of terrifying themes found at the Terror on Rural Street. This year was certainly no exception. A few of my favorite rooms this year were the eerie eye doctor, the slithering snake room, the horrifying Hall of Pictures, the apparitional hall of bones and the hair-raising Heart Surgeon that will assuredly make your heart skip a beat.

Terror on Rural Street features several Cinema quality sets, many of which are pimped out with a dedicated sound system and special effects you won't find any place else. Portions of this haunt are an interactive style haunt with rooms showcasing a unique theme and a skit performed by volunteer actors. While the actors may be volunteers the costumes and make-up were professionally done and very realistic. This was most evident during my encounter with the bizarre and somewhat eerie eye doctor. While it’s very easy to get distracted by the very engaging doctor be sure to take note of the a keen attention to detail the facial make-up his counterpart showcases.

Admittedly not all of the acting performances knocked my socks off nor did every room send me off screaming to the next. But what Terror on Rural Street lacked with its actors and potential scare factor it more than made up for with its dazzling special effects and elaborate sets. Scares and surprises frequently came from unexpected flashes of brilliant light, dedicated room specific sound systems and a variety of lifelike techno effects.

Here are some interesting tidbits for those of you who are particularly interested in the quality of your haunted experience or may just be wondering "how did they do that?"
* Each room and hallway is under constant surveillance by staff members with a very keen attention to detail. These staff members remain in contact with the ghouls and monsters lurking in the shadows and rooms around the haunt to ensure they are always perfectly positioned and timed to scare the bajeezus out of you and your fellow haunt goers.
* A staff of Professional theatrical make-up artists with over 25 years of experience volunteer their time at Terror on Rural Street.
* Terror on Rural Street is a not for profit organization. Proceeds from this event go to support Hartford Community Service Inc. Scholarships, Community Projects, and area Non Profit Organizations
* Curious about how this haunt can churn out so many new sets each year? A workshop full of additional sets and props found directly behind this haunt is used to construct new sets year around.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Don't let a full parking lot scare you away before this haunt does! Terror on Rural Street shares it's parking lot with the Schauer Art Center and the Wisconsin Automotive Museum. Not all the cars parked in the lots may necessarily be for Terror on Rural Street.

This haunt can be found right off the main drag (Hwy 60) in downtown Hartford. Look for the flashing sign to point you to the parking lot. Great location. An abundance of well lit parking and a warm place to hang out while you wait. The court yard between the waiting area and the entrance really set the tone nicely.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


A heated indoor waiting area with a concession stand that features beer and mixed drinks. If you're of drinking age be sure to try the syringe style jello-shots! By the way...all proceeds from the concession stand benefit the Schauer Arts Center which is located just next door.

Actors' Performance


We had a lot of fun interacting with the performers in many of the sets. Most notable were the performers of the eye doctor and the heart surgeon. Elaborate costumes and finely detailed make-up really enhanced appearance of all performances.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


A nice variety of sets and some superb special effects. For those of you who traditionally checkout a few different haunts every year you'll appreciate the creative concepts and elaborate sets that have the look feel of a genuine movie caliber set. Compared to other haunts, the rooms here were quite spacious...a nice perk for those who don't particularly enjoy being squeezed into a room when your grouped with complete strangers.

Length


My tour lasted 15 minutes which included getting lost in the maze.

Crowd Control


Waiting room with concession stand is fairly spacious. Plenty of room in the court yard to wait also. Patrons are free to roam about until the Reaper calls their number to be assembled for final preparations before entering the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


Several to choose from for me...I particularly enjoyed exploring the multi-level sets and the open heart surgery observation deck.

Summary

A fantastic venue along with a nice variety of sets, creative ideas and exceptional special effects make Terror on Rural Street a haunt definitely worth checking out!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

While I've only visited The Hubertus House of Horror 26 of the 31 years this haunt has been in existence I'd like to nominate the 2014 edition as the best Hubertus House ever! If you're concerned at all that a 31 year old haunt would be gruesomely stale don't be. Only a few of the best techno-scares from 2013 were redeployed for this year's edition. With the exception of the haunted school bus ride all the others were modified to sensationalize your scare. (...which, on a cold creepy night, taking the bus to a haunt IS better than walking, right?) The remaining rooms (...too numerous to count while you're getting the bejezus scared out of you!) have been completely transformed into a scaretacular visual extravaganza.

Similar to 2013, this year's journey begins with bizarre bus ride that transports you to the shadowy doorsteps of the Hubertus House. Your haunted journey then begins on the third floor of the house and sends you spiraling down through a whirlwind of creepy corridors, multiple mazes and countless rooms that each carry unique themes and actors performing ghoulish skits.

The special effects this year totally rocked my world! They were frequent, very creative and effective in not only entertaining you but keeping you immersed in the action. Rooms with extraordinary effects that I enjoyed the most included the creepy chamber of hooded figures, the candle lit caverns, the mad scientist, the wild elevator ride, the mine shaft, the construction site and the multiple Vortex rooms. (...yes, you read it correctly…there are multiple Vortexes!) ...note... given the unique surprises and effects found in each room my list of favorites would most likely change after each tour.

The Hubertus House is an interactive style haunt with each room containing a unique theme and skit performed by costumed actors/actresses. The ages of these actors appeared to cover the spectrum from high school kids to adults. While this haunt does contain a little gore and some loud scares I'd say it's definitely suitable for haunt goers of all ages.

Signage / Visibility / Location


This may not be the easiest haunt to find but if you're on the right road you really can't miss it. Also, if you come across a mass of parked cars in what feels like the middle of nowhere you've probably found the right place

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


One of the best wait areas around! The Hubertus House leverages a school gymnasium to keep you warm, well fed and entertained while you wait. The concession stand was well stocked with sweets, popcorn, drinks and even burgers. Costumed actors also popped in occasionally to heighten your anticipation of what was to come

Actors' Performance


A good mix of adult and young actors delivered entertaining performances. None of them totally freaked me out but they were still very entertaining. A few of them were good at adlibbing and allowed you to interact with them

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Some really unique sets and a several exceptional special effects. First times and annual Hubertus House haunt goers will be dazzled with this year’s thrills.

Length


Approximately 15 minutes.

Crowd Control


Get your tickets early! This place fills up in a hurry. Numbered tickets allow you to purchase your tickets now and come back later in the evening for immediate entry into the waiting line.

Most Memorable Moment


I swear those hooded figures are still following me!

Summary

Of the 3 haunts in the Holy Hill area this one was my favorite. A scaretacular visual extravaganza! In my opinion this year’s edition of the Hubertus House of Horror is the best ever!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by JeanneCihak after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2014 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

As Halloween fanatics, we've set up an itinerary for the month of October to fit in as many Haunted houses as we possibly could. Being it's last year, House of Bathory was definitely on that list!

From the very first room it was obvious that it wasn't like any haunted house I've been to before. It was interactive and told a clear story in almost every room we walked into. I wish I could go into more detail over specific things that had us screaming or afraid to go forward but that would spoil the fun. So, I'll just say we had to fight among ourselves over who had to go first most of the way.

Summary

This place was great and we were there opening weekend, I can't even imagine what it will be like closer to Halloween. Go see it!

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 23rd, 2019 10:59 p.m. CDT 1.6.3