ad-header-a
ad-header-b

This is the 2014 review crew. View the current year (2018) review crew here.

2014 Review Crew

Our Review Crew members travel to haunted attractions throughout Wisconsin to give honest and unbiased reviews. Follow them on Facebook and Twitter.

Expand Collapse

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2014 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The final stop on my tour of haunts this year was Haunted High presents Dark Carnival. Now in its second season of their new location, Haunted High has completely shed the school gimmick and has chosen to go for more of the straightforward haunted house angle. I hold Haunted High near and dear to my heart. As an educator I absolutely love that this haunt is put on as a fundraiser for the Oconomowoc School District, and as far as I could tell, the volunteers were young, probably students as well. Of the haunts I went to this year, Dark Carnival was the most reasonably priced. Tickets are $15 for regular admission, or you can bypass the line like we did for $23 with a fast pass. If you opt for the regular admission, expect to wait around an hour to enter the haunt, with the fast pass we were in within five minutes. Dark Carnival relies on darkness and misdirection to confuse you, to a fault at times as we went the wrong way a few times and had to circle around once and had to go though a backstage area that completely ruined the illusion. We weren’t the only ones that this happened to, it happened to the people in front of us also. Dark Carnival has some of the most interactive actors in the area! These kids engaged us, from “forcing” us into areas, to squirting me in the face with a water gun, to many other fun frights, these ghouls are a blast! Dark Carnival also has a few terrain effects that make walking more difficult; which is always fun in a haunt! Anything that messes with my equilibrium I’m all for! Dark Carnival also uses a lot of motion activated sensors, so be prepared to be startled! Unfortunately there is one down side to Dark Carnival, and it is that there does seem to be a lack of space. Of the haunts I went to this season, this was the shortest one. With that being said, I still love Haunted High because of the fund raising aspect. I really like the hard work and dedication that the staff and kids put into this haunt, you can tell that they give it their all, and they are all so very nice when you chat with them. Haunted High presents Dark Carnival is a reasonably priced haunt that will deliver giant screams!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Dark Carnival is on a main street, in what I believe is downtown Oconomowoc. There is a giant banner and a tent that announce that you are at Dark Carnival!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The line area in covered by a giant tent, there were no ghosts or ghouls roaming when we were there, but I recall some in the past, so we may have come at a bad time.

Actors' Performance


The actors are the best here! Engaging and fun! They deserve an award!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Dark Carnival is dark, just like the name suggests, but when it's not the sets are awesome! I don't know if the students have a hand in decorating, but if they do, bravo! Lots of motion sensors in here.

Length


We were in there about 20 minutes. We wished it could have been longer.

Crowd Control


The lines outside were well controlled. If you have read any of my other reviews you know I hate when we catch up to other groups. They had an actor inside asking if we were part of the group that we caught up too! it was great! She held us up so we were our own group again! That's crowd control!

Most Memorable Moment


Zombie Yard!

Summary

Dark Carnival is truly a terrifying haunt that turns out the lights, and startles your senses! For the price, it's one of the best haunt around!

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Descent Haunted House

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 24, 2014 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

Driving out to the House Horror Built definitely helps set the mood. Seemingly in the middle of no-where, it’s very dark and the only noise is from the passing cars. At first I thought this must be the wrong location, as it looks like any Wisconsin farm out in the country. When you approach the entrance, the lighted sign is like a beacon in the darkness letting you know you’ve come to the right place... or maybe the wrong place.

It was a mild Friday night, shortly after they opened. There were a few people before us but the wait was minimal. There are several rooms where they use a lot of fog. It’s hard to see in front of you until it’s too late, if you know what I mean. The actors were great! From the mother and her baby to the evil school teacher, they were all very entertaining. The 3D carnival was actually pretty good, even though I’m not a fan of them. Several clowns got me good!

Ultimately, the fun was over way too quick. We were walking fairly slow, and everything total was a little less than ten minutes. That was disappointing, especially since we were having a good time and we didn’t want it to end. This is a very creative haunt with talented actors in it.

There is A LOT of open ground on this farm land. It would be nice to see them add more to your experience like a maze or something either before or after the haunt. By adding to the experience, they can build on what they already have. With their awesome actors and their creativity, the sky's the limit!

Signage / Visibility / Location


It would have been hard to find if we wouldn’t have had a GPS our phone. Once you're close you'll see the lighted sign.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There wasn’t much of a wait. As soon as we purchased our tickets we had maybe a minute or two before we went in.

Actors' Performance


GREAT. They were always in character and they went all out. Even after we were out of the haunt, a few of them followed us out and were creeping behind us!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes were very good, and the props were believable.

Length


As mentioned in the review, this is the one negative of this haunt. Maybe 8 minutes to go through it. :(

Crowd Control


We didn't have any issues bumping into other groups inside the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


I’ve always had a soft spot for Freddy! As soon as I heard the music, I knew that bastard was near!

Summary

A great old school, home-made type of haunt. If it would have been twice as long, it would be one of the top haunts in the area.

View all The Descent Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 24, 2014 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

You know, there’s something to be said about the simplicity of a haunted cornfield. A few props, a few people in makeup jumping out at you, maybe some radios piping in some spooky music. Well, you can forget about that when you visit Meadowbrook Haunted Cornfield in West Bend! Meadowbrook has become a staple in my yearly haunting travels for one reason, and one reason only, they do it right! The website boasts that the cornfield sits on 6 acres, and the trail is nearly a mile long.

There are two options when buying tickets here, a general admission ticket, which is $22, with this option you must wait at the bonfire for your group’s numbers to be called and then you can enter the line. For $30 a Speed Pass can be purchased which skips the waiting area and you can head strait for the line. We opted for general admission, it was an unseasonably warm evening on the night we went, and the wait didn’t seem all that bad, plus sitting around a bonfire, not a bad deal! By the time we settled in by the fire, they called our number within minutes, so the fast pass wouldn’t have made a difference for us, but if it is slam packed, that might be an option to consider. The waiting line isn’t very exciting, other than some farm animals to your right that make noises every once in a while. No ghouls’ roaming to hype you up, but the wait was short, so that was sweet.

Once you enter the cornfield, it starts out pretty slow, something you shouldn’t get used too. Soon they hit you hard and loud with animatronics and noises in the night! One of the things that has made Meadowbrook a favorite of mine over the years is their animatronics. They are ahead of the curve, especially when we talk about cornfield haunts, they are fantastic! Scattered throughout the field are several stations or houses that you have to enter. These stations are usually inhabited by ghouls or zombies that will give you a good scare! Unfortunately keeping your own pace comes with its downside. We ran into the group ahead of us rather quickly, but slowed down and let them move up, and then were greeted by a group of apparent speed walkers behind us! We finally let them pass! My advice while in Meadowbrook Haunted Cornfield, take your time and enjoy yourself. As a seasoned vet when it comes to haunts, I always want to try new things, but I always find myself coming back to Meadowbrook, year after year it’s always one of my favorites. I’m continually surprised by what their budget must be, and how much time they must put into this haunt. The dedication the entire staff puts out there amazes me every time I go. Kudos to the owners and all of the staff of Meadowbrook for your hard work and commitment, you guys are amazing!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Meadowbrook is kind of hard to find if you haven't been there before. It's down a very dark road and it'll sneak up on you, but when you see it, you can't miss it! There is ample parking once on the premises and it is very well lit.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The bonfire is awesome! The website states that is the only smoking area, so if you are a smoker, this is your last call for smoking! It's warm and there is an awesome storyteller here! Who doesn't love a bonfire in October‽ After your number is called at the bonfire you proceed to the line to wait for the haunt. This line is not a particularly fun line, but it was fast moving, and at times the farm animals would make noises, so that was interesting!

Actors' Performance


The actors at Meadowbrook are great! They have the luxury of moving through the cornfield, so, there is a lot of room to roam. One actor got between me and my friend and as she was entering one of the houses, he wouldn't let me enter, making her stay in there by herself, he was a great creep! it's actors like that make the difference! One actor broke character, but that's only because he caused a group behind us to almost run us over, that's how great of a job he was doing, he creeped them out so much, they freaked out and bolted past us. He apologized to us for their rudeness.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Again, Meadowbrook is the tops when it comes to FX and cornfield haunts! All of their stations/houses are well done, and look professional, just like I've come to expect from Meadowbrook.

Length


We were in there a little over 45 minutes. Like I said, take your time, take it all in. There is a lot to see, these people put a lot into their haunt, this is art, take the time to appreciate it, don't speed walk though it.

Crowd Control


Everything was controlled. You are at your own pace inside the the cornfield. We let the group on our heels pass us, I don't like to feel rushed when I'm in a haunt, especially when it's a special place like Meadowbrook.

Most Memorable Moment


Meadowbrook focuses on details, it's hard to pin down one moment, but if I had to pick one, it was definitely being herded like cattle and nearly squished and impaled by spikes! That was awesome! If you get the opportunity, it's great!

Summary

After all these years, Meadowbrook is still one of my favorite haunts. With first class actors and props , Meadowbrook does what few haunted cornfields are able to do, scare you and deliver a quality visual experience. Meadowbrook takes you on a journey for nearly an hour and doesn't let you go until you come out of the other end with your heart racing and your senses on edge! Once again, Meadowbrook blew me away!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

No longer the new kid in town, Abandoned Haunted House Complex returns for the 2014 haunt season. Abandoned is two haunts rolled into one, it will take you all of 30 minutes to complete this terror filled attraction. You have two options for tickets at Abandoned, general admission, which is $20, or $30 for a VIP ticket. The VIP area is covered and heated. I opted for this as it was cold and the wait was 2 minutes! The two-minute wait is not typical however, in years past I have waited roughly 30 minutes in the VIP line. If you opt for the General Admission line, expect to wait anywhere from 1-3 hours, depending on the night and time. Abandoned does exactly what you'd expect, they turn out the lights, but that's the only thing that's expected in this haunt! Abandoned hits you with sensory overload, from touch, to scent, sight, to sound!

Ambush
The two haunts are Ambush and Hysteria, the first of which, Ambush, is an in your face, loud at times, experience, with ghouls popping out, complete black outs, blinding lights, and complete unexpected fun!

Hysteria
Hysteria, the second haunt in the complex, features more of the stuff you would expect from a haunt, only amplified by eleven! Abandoned somehow figured out how to take dark rooms and make them seem darker and scarier! This haunt is really where the senses get taken for a ride. You are going to feel, see, smell, and touch things that are unlike anything you've experienced at any haunt before. All of this plus quite a few area of uneven terrain and vibrating floors and walls! Wow, like I said, sensory overload!

When I’m looking for a haunt, this is exactly what I’m looking for. Be prepared to move! This is by far the best haunt in the area. Do yourself a favor, check it out, you wont be disappointed!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Abandoned doesn't get much easier to find. It's right off of the I94, and there is a huge spot light illuminating the sky which you can see for miles. The words "ABANDONED HAUNTED HOUSE COMPLEX" are lit up on top of the building.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The line is behind the building itself. Ghouls roam the grounds spooking the patrons as you wait! There are some props around to look at also. The VIP area was nothing to write home about. It was a covered area with a Port-a-Potty in it! Pretty boring, but hey, $10 gets you heat!

Actors' Performance


The actors are top notch. Funny, scary, and dedicated. These actors aren't afraid to play around, which I love! At one point, a hand came down from the ceiling and stole my friends hat! How fun is that?

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Living one town over, I know when they start working on Abandoned, and I can imagine how much work they put into it. With that being said, the props and sets are phenomenal! It's like you're being transferred into another world. The budget must be scary!

Length


It took me 30 minutes door to door. Take your time, enjoy yourself!

Crowd Control


The crowds were lined up orderly, no problems outside. We kept running into the group ahead of us. I don't like running into groups, I feel like it ruins the surprise of what's ahead if I can hear their reaction. This was very frustrating, and we kept slowing down, but of course would just end up running into them again.

Most Memorable Moment


There were several, without giving too much away, one involved something icky and wet, and the other involved a real tight fit!

Summary

One of the newest haunts in the area, Abandoned Haunted House Complex is a juggernaut headed for the top. Every year it gets better, and every year it I say the same thing, check this haunt out, you won't be disappointed!

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Ghost Boat: Season of the Witch

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Ghost Boat: Season of the Witch is a haunted attraction that is put on by the Wisconsin Dells Boat Tours company. The best way to describe this haunt is this your Dells Boat Tour, "after dark". If you want to get in on the action be aware that you have to reserve a seat with the Dells Boat Tour company in order to attend. The company offers various block times for you to arrive at the ticket office and subsequently board the boat. I reserved my seat for the 8:30PM time slot (the last tour of the night). Once I arrived at the ticket office (located right along the "main drag" of the Wisconsin Dells) and got my ticket, I was instructed to wait to board in the waiting area. The waiting area is cozy and has a Halloween themed video playing over the suspended TV screens. There was some décor but minus that, there was no other entertainment or things to do. We began to board the boat to start the adventure around 8:50PM.

Now you may be thinking, "Ah a haunted boat ride...that's unique...". Unfortunately, I have to report that the 35min boat ride (to the actual attraction location) is essentially a stripped down version of the daytime boat tours. There are no scares on the boat, actors, or other entertainment save for a pre-recorded soundtrack that details a story of a witch that used to roam the woods of the Dells. Make sure you dress for the weather. With no actors or scares and a long boat ride, you will get cold on a fall night very quickly (I know I did).

The boat will take you to one of the tourist stops on the daytime boat tour...Witch's Gulch - one of the area's legendary caverns. This is where the actual haunted attraction is located. Once you disembark the boat you walk through the cavern as a large group (i.e. everyone on the boat, which is approximately 35+ people). Laced throughout the cavern are appropriate haunted house props and of course, the actors. There are only a few actual "scenes" set-up in the cavern. As you walk through, guided only by Tiki torches, the ghouls of the night come out from all areas along the winding boardwalk. It was difficult to really enjoy the full experience due to being in a mass of people and having been an actor myself I also understand how difficult it is to scare such a large group.

After you get to the other end of cavern, you come to a clearing where you can buy refreshments and food from the tour stand. Once you buy what you want (or not) you head back through the cavern and back towards the boat. This is where the cavern attraction got fun. Now the Tiki torches have been extinguished, and you are split up into small groups. You can only navigate the path by feeling for the railings. At this point the actors excelled at their job. They used every available advantage they had to create a very harrowing experience and some quality scares. There were even scares that were done that I thought could only be accomplished with plenty of space. The walk back was the definitely the best part of the entire trip.

Once you make it back through the cavern you board the boat for another 35min cruise back to the boathouse. Here you better make sure you have some warmth because this time there is no entertainment whatsoever, not even a soundtrack (so make sure you bundle up and buy some hot cocoa at the tour stand). Once you're back a the boathouse that is it...you've experienced the Wisconsin Dells in a brand new way.

Actors' Performance


I give mad props to the actors at this attraction. You are given a very limited time AND space to accomplish what other haunts do over a greater distance and time. Bravo on providing a very fun way of experiencing a Dells landmark.

Length


All together the haunt was approximately 1.5 hours long. I must note, however, the ACTUAL haunted attraction portion is only about 15 to 20 minutes long roundtrip (i.e. you get to the tour stand and turn right back around). The rest of the time is the boat ride there and back.

Crowd Control


I was let down that the first time through was so congested with no pacing what-so-ever. Just do your level best to enjoy the cavern. Don't expect to get scared during the first walk through.

Most Memorable Moment


A chainsaw in Witch's Gulch?....yes please.

Summary

For those of you (I would consider myself as such) that want to get right into the scares and the experience once you are at the start of the attraction, I would not recommend this attraction. If, however, you like creepy stories and tours, combined with scares, Ghost Boat certainly fits the bill. I feel that due to the environment that Ghost Boat was derived out of (i.e. tours) it is not as powerful, as a haunted attraction, as it could be. Ghost Boat is, however, an excellent way to experience the Dells in a much different way. For me, that was the best part. I remember visiting Witch's Gulch as a kid during the day...it was really cool getting to see that same location at night. In conclusion Ghost Boat takes a different spin on the haunt season with a focus more on "mood" than actually scaring you.

View all Ghost Boat: Season of the Witch reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 17, 2014 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Dark Side...now this is a haunted attraction that I have some history with. I was with the Dark Side as an actor/actor supervisor when it first began in the early 2000s. This trip was my very first time through the attraction since I left for college in 2008, and this time as a customer. Needless to say I was impressed by how far the Dark Side had come. The route to the farm has always been a favorite aspect of mine. A long country back road dead ends at the haunt's parking lot. Once there you buy your tickets at the "general store" area where there are heaters, concessions, merchandise, and a tiny Halloween village displayed. Once you buy your ticket you enter the waiting line area which is inside the barn. This provides ample protection from inclement and cold weather.

The wait to actually begin the haunt was approximately 15mins (This would have been considerably longer if I had arrived any later than I did). I was a little disappointed that there was no line entertainment but I guess I was just happy that I was warm and out of the wind for the time being. After 15mins 35 of us began the walk up to The Descent and that is where the attraction begins.

The Descent
After the group was greeted by a kindly farm hand, people were paired off, and instructed to walk up the hill towards an old abandoned "mine". This was another trip were I was alone so when they got to me I made my trek up the hill and entered The Descent. The Dark Side does an excellent job of making it feel like you are going deep underground and everything around you makes you feel like you are in a legit mine. It wasn't long before the actors began to do their job....and an excellent job they did. All the actors used the nooks, crannies, and darkness of the "mine" to their benefit. Unfortunately I did not get the full experience of what I'm sure The Descent had to offer because the pacing of the groups became a bit of an issue. Shortly after entering I ran into a large group of patrons that had grouped up together. Thus I would suggest that when you make your walk up the hill that you take your time so that you can get the full benefit out of The Descent. Other than the pacing, The Descent was an environmental pleasure with lots of fun to be had.

Twilight Nightmare
You exit The Descent to a common area that has a large bonfire in the middle. Here again we waited for 15 minutes while people exited The Descent. Actors did spill out into the common area and kept all of us huddled around the fire entertained. After all 35 people made it through The Descent, we loaded up onto a wagon which begins the next attraction, Twilight Nightmare. Now this was a fun ride! With a fully "decked out" wagon that is pulled by a tractor we began our journey into the backwoods. Here, the Dark Side, shined. With actors that literally climb on the wagon and effects that completely disrupt your senses (such as gas explosions), Twilight Nightmare was a visceral onslaught. What made it even better is that this is no open field hayride. There are times that it feels like you are going to collide with trees of slip off the path into a river below. This is not a pumpkin patch hayride...this is the hayride from hell. With plenty of scares and unique effects (some that I would say are unique just to THIS haunt), Twilight Nightmare provides for a very entertaining ride.

Backwoods Revenge
Following the hayride, you are dropped off in the middle of a pine forest. Here you are greeted by an armed farm hand who reads you into what happened on the farm (namely institutionalized boys messing around with toxic waste) and warns you about what is ahead. Again the Dark Side excels in using the natural environment to set a really creepy scene. What I really enjoyed was the feeling of being able to "roam" the forest. The paths are not tight and there are even areas dedicated to one scene where you can take your time and walk around in the area. This is something you don't get to do too often in haunted houses. I was let down in that actors appeared to be few and far between in this area. I was all alone and was prime pickings to be stalked and scared, but unfortunately rarely experienced either. Chalking that issue up as a fluke, Backwoods Revenge still provides plenty of fun and a "free roam" environment that really makes you feel like you are in a movie.

Mephistopheles Lair
Once you exit the woods a wooden bridge takes you over a corn field and into the next attraction, Mephistopheles Lair. This attraction is small but, depending on your disposition, can be very frightening, or at the very least, frustrating. Without giving much away on this particular area, Mephistopheles Lair is a maze...and a really good one at that! Exiting is not as simple as you might think. There are no scares here...but it can get scary.

Schizophrenia
When you finally find your way out, you will follow a dirt path that will lead you into the corn. With deranged hillbillies calling out "fresh meat" from every which way in the corn field, you may just want to turn back. In Schizophrenia you are again given a pretty wide berth to navigate the area, letting you walk around and investigate as you please. Again the Dark Side excels at using the natural environment. Just being in a field with corn towering over you, at night, and hearing "things" move around is enough to make anyone skittish. Actors do a great job of exploiting the field and providing some top notch scares. There is no telling what is a prop and what is a "monster" in this attraction. You will just have to find out for yourself. Exciting from beginning to end, Schizophrenia could easily be a haunted event by itself.

Foxglove Nursery
Once you clear the corn you have one final trip...through the greenhouses. Foxglove Nursery has beautiful scenes and with the attraction being outdoors, everything about this greenhouse feels authentic. In this attraction you get more of the haunted house feel as flower beds and pot shelves constrict the path and close in above your head. Keep your wits about you, there are plenty of ghouls waiting inside to give you a scare. This was a great way to end the trip and by far felt the most "realistic" which always adds to the experience.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


I waited for 15 minutes at the start of the event, and another 15 minutes after The Descent.

Length


From start to finish the Dark Side is approximately 1 hour long (not including the wait times).

Summary

In the end the Dark Side uses what it has available (i.e. the farm land) to provide a very immersive experience. Unlike haunted houses where you know you'll be walking around inside a building, due to the outside nature of the Dark Side and the flow from one attraction to another, this haunt has been the one that felt the most "realistic" to me out of all the attractions I've ever visited. All the actors were committed and some amazing special effects were utilized to provide very entertaining attractions. If you like being outdoors, and having the ability to "move around" in a haunted attraction, the Dark Side is by far one of best places to visit.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Thursday, October 16, 2014 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Green Bay Fear has been around long enough now where people pretty much know what they are going to get. In the recent years they've changed it up to where it's just as much of a twisted carnival and freaky side show as it is a haunted house. Walking up to the entrance and ticket booth is impressive, with their stone pillars lit up and big top atmosphere just beyond. Once on their grounds, it's almost a 'choose your own adventure' depending on where you want to go. Off to the left is the VIP area with a nice big bonfire and a local band braving the elements for your entertainment. Straight ahead is the very funny yet slightly unnerving Baron Von Geiger as the self proclaimed 'World's Strangest Strongman'. Right next to the baron is Mr. Jingles' Funhouse and next to that is the Odditorium. Off to your right is the Hillbilly Hallow Haunted Woods and then finally the haunted house itself. Oh yeah, there's also a Voodoo gift shop and food galore. Whew! You definitely get your money's worth at GB Fear, but certain events are only for the RIP (VIP upgrade). General admission will get you the haunted woods, the house, and all the fun happening in the courtyard.

The woods was particularly chilling on this dark and windy night. They do a great job of using lighted areas vs. pitch black where you strain to see your hands in front of your face. Being this was a Thursday, the woods was not as populated as it should have been. I'm sure on a hopping weekend they have it packed with all sorts of creatures. With that said, the actors that were in the woods were superb. It was a nice mix of scary and downright funny. One section had me a little disorientated being surrounded by Christmas trees, presents and tinsel. For me, the WORST part of Fall is knowing that Winter is right around the corner... and I was taken aback by what I was seeing. Then a young girl wearing pig-tails and footie pajamas came skipping by yelling 'NO MORE CHRISTMAS'! It gave a good laugh, and I couldn't agree more. So I skipped away with her.

The house has a grand entrance that's impressive as you walk up the steps and enter its wide doors. There are twists and turns throughout with great lighting and lots of glowing neon. You can purchase 3D glasses to really make the neon pop, but you don't need them to enjoy it. Although there were a few times I really jumped, most of the house was light on actors and more fun than scary. And that's ok, because the focus at Green Bay Fear is entertainment with some scares along the way. You can definitely make an entire night here!

Signage / Visibility / Location


It's easy to find, but surprising how hidden away everything is until you enter past the ticket booth.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There are wait lines for the woods and the haunted house, but everything else you can enjoy as soon as you walk up to it.

Actors' Performance


Almost all the actors did a great job. Some where there to scare, and some where there to entertain.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


All the props and scenes are top notch. I was most impressed with the lighting, both in the house and around it.

Length


The woods will take you about 15 minutes once you're in it. The house is about another 15 minutes once in the door. Everything else you can move through as slow or as fast as you want! All things considered you will be there for a good couple of hours.

Crowd Control


There wasn't much of a crowd on a Thursday night.

Most Memorable Moment


NO MORE CHRISTMAS!!!!

Summary

Green Bay Fear stands apart from other Haunted Houses, simply because they've created an all night event with the focus of all things weird, odd or down right disturbing. Light on scares with lots of eye candy! This is a great place for the whole family.

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Haunted Mansion is more than just your typical haunted house. It is really 3+ attractions for the price of one! Upon arrival, the popularity of this haunted attraction is made known by the mass groups of individuals seeking a fun filled evening of scares. Tickets to the attraction are only $10, which makes this not only a GREAT haunted attraction, but also one of the most affordable ones. There are additional options to add the burial simulator or shoot ghouls with paint balls. Expect approximately a 30 minute wait before entering the beginning of the corn maze. The corn maze is dimly lit by torches and makes an excellent setting for one to get lost and run into hidden ghouls. There are several area's of sinking sand that will keep you diligent and cautiously moving forward. Angry dogs and chainsaws are waiting to dismember you throughout the corn maze and hold on tight as you can expect to be trapped and forced to lose your balance. Once you make it out alive, you are on to a school bus. However, this is not your typical bus ride, expect to be surprised in every direction by ghouls and scenes that were not at first visible. When you exit the bus, you are given a number and notified that you now may enjoy one of the many attractions while waiting for your number to appear. Take advantage of the surrounding haunted attractions and the wait time will quickly pass. The outside of the Haunted Mansion is finely tuned to make the hair on the back of your neck stand tall. There is live feed of victims attempting to escape from inside of the Mansion. There is no turning back once you are inside so be prepared for the unexpected. You will be forced to go alone and face your fears solo and if you can make it through alive, do not worry as you will eventually be rejoined with your group. You can expect to encounter all of your phobia's throughout the haunted mansion, and you may even discover new ones! The Haunted Mansion incorporates several favorite sets including the vortex and at the end, you have to let go and hope for a safe landing! Overall, The Haunted Mansion has masterfully incorporated fear and fun into one great affordable attraction!

Signage / Visibility / Location


There are a lot of signs and directions (including a large Billboard). You will drive down a lot of dark spooky roads, but rest assured that there are plenty of signs pointing you in the right direction. You know you have arrived when you see the large entrance sign.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait is outdoors. I chose the RIP option in order to skip the lines, it is an extra $10 ... but if you are the type that likes to avoid waiting and can afford the extra $10, I recommend the RIP. You can skip to the front of the line to the corn maze, front row seats on the bus, and skip the line into the house. There are a lot of ghouls all around and you will have vistors while waiting in line. I asked individuals in the front of the line to the corn maze how long they had waited and they said approximately 30 minutes. Once you arrive at the haunted house, you are given a number that is displayed overhead so you know where you are in your wait. While you wait, you can shoot paint balls at real ghouls, purchase goodies, sit around a bonfire or enjoy other haunt related activities. It is a great opportunity to make an evening out of being frightened.

Actors' Performance


Actor's were spot on with their scares and made us scream several times. There were a few actors (out of what seemed like dozens) that did not stay in character and in fact seemed rather exhausted and bored. The actors in the corn maze and on the bus were awesome, we laughed, screamed and I believe there were some tears shed behind us. The actor in the beginning and upon entrance of the haunted house had the perfect mixture of creepy.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This is really a multi-haunted attraction. You begin with a walk through a haunted corn maze, it is dimly lit with torches around a pond that reflects the gore. It is very easy to get lost in the corn maze and there are several area's of "sinking sand" that you must be cautious of. There are not a lot of props through the corn maze, but it is really not necessary to create that eerie sense of confusion and fear of the dark. The bus ride was a completely unexpected surprise, I do not want to give too much away, but it definitely exceeded my expectations. The haunted house itself has many unique aspects, if you can't go alone, then I recommend not going. Every scene was well done and there is a great balance of animatronics and sets. It is really difficult to tell what is real and which is a prop.

Length


We entered the corn maze at 8:58 and left the haunted house at 9:45, so approximately 40 minutes between all 3 attractions. The corn maze was about 8 minutes, but we moved pretty fast. The bus ride is around 12 minutes and the haunted house is just at 20 minutes in length. If you enjoy all that The Haunted Mansion has to offer, you can plan on being there for over 2 hours. There is a lot of extra's and we unfortunately did not have the time to experience everything that is offered!

Crowd Control


In order to keep the wait under control, groups are separated, but sent through quickly to keep the line moving. We did run into the group ahead of us and those behind us caught up ... so there was some concerns with crowd control. One thing I do want to add is that in the haunted house you are separated and forced to go alone. Anyone can act brave in a group, but if you can not handle the fear alone, then consider this your warning!

Most Memorable Moment


The bus ride was one of the most memorable moment for myself, it was unexpected and something very different from any other haunted attraction I have been to. The actors were great, and there is no sitting back and just enjoying the ride. The beginning of the Haunted House was also very memorable as I found myself alone, trapped and desperately seeking an exit.

Summary

In summary, I recommend The Haunted Mansion to anyone looking for more than just a "haunted house". Paintball, bonfires, treats, bus rides and corn mazes all add to a frightful evening. One that will make you laugh, scream and for some ... cry!

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Very High

Review

An abandoned warehouse in a dark deserted district in downtown Racine is where you'll find the Factory of Fear. While the once thriving business that inhabited it's walls is now dead and gone the spirits that inhabit this place are certainly not gone...and they've been busy...very busy manufacturing fear!

I was pleasantly surprised (literally) with my tour of the Factory of Fear. Comprised of two haunts, Devil's Nightmare and Blind Madness, this haunted attraction did not disappoint when it came to manufacturing fear. The first haunt, Devil's Nightmare, starts with a long climb up a cold and creepy stairway where you encounter a thick steel door...which no doubt is all that keeps the madness that lurks within this warehouse from escaping. Comprised of a mixture of dark corridors, cleverly crafted rooms with gruesome detail and a small army of masterfully made-up monsters, the Devil's Nightmare delivered one of the scariest journeys I've experienced this year. (...which at this time numbers 9 different haunts...) While some of the rooms portrayed themes similar to a few popular horror movies I was very pleasantly surprised by the creatively portrayed in a few of the scares.

The second haunt, Blind Madness, contains a creative mix of pitch black darkness and extreme lighting effects combined with a few skillfully positioned ghouls to provide a unique sense of fear. While the pitch black corridors of this haunt aren't over the top with regards to complexity the visual effects of Blind Madness haunt provided for a very unique experience.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Be sure to study your maps or set your navigation system prior to traveling to Factory of Fear. There were no signs leading me too this haunt from the north (Hwy 38/Marquette St.) which also brings you to the backside of this haunt that also did not contain any signage. This haunt is a lot more visible from 6th Street.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Tickets are purchased in front of the warehouse along 6th Street. While the ticket window is outside in the elements the waiting area located is located on the loading dock found behind the warehouse on Water St. While there was no entertainment for our lengthy wait there was an occasional visit by a creepy clown.

Actors' Performance


Skilled and effectively positioned the actors were successful in surprising me on several occasions.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Not the most high tech haunt I've toured this year but very effective in its use of the technology, props and set design to manufacture some great scares.

Length


Took my group 11 minutes to complete our tour through Devil's Nightmare and 5 minutes to complete the tour through Blind Madness.

Crowd Control


The waiting line meandered through the loading dock area without any real form or structure...perhaps the most disorganized haunt I've visited in terms of the waiting line. Arrive early and avoid any waiting line madness.

Most Memorable Moment


I'm not sure it had a name...but when I saw what appeared to be a 20ft creature looming over me I knew I wouldn't soon forget how shocked I was to see it!

Summary

Comprised of two haunts, Devil's Nightmare and Blind Madness, this haunted attraction did not disappoint when it came to manufacturing fear. Perhaps not appropriate for younger haunt goers, the creativity showcased by the Factory of Fear is definitely worth checking out for those who are looking to spice up their evening with a little fear.

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

A fairly new haunted attraction to southeast Wisconsin, the Hill Has Eyes, formed back in 2012, is an expansive outdoor haunted complex. This was my very first visit to this attraction and the trip certainly did not disappoint. The Hill Has Eyes welcomes you with a large tent, 2 bonfires, an audio/visual display, and (for the adults) a beer tent. The music is playing is heavy rock and accompanies the video playing on the big screen. Everything about this attraction's meeting area puts you in the mood for a fun time. Although there were no actors, at the time, prowling around the ticket line, the wait was no less interesting or fun. Due to time constraints I opted for the attraction's VIP pass (a $35 value that goes up as the season progresses). Spoiler Alert: This pass was well worth it and you will soon know why. So that being said this attraction makes a great first impression at the start. Let's dive into the meat of this haunt.

The Hill Has Eyes includes 5 attractions and each one varies from the other WHILE maintaining the theme of the haunt (check out their website) throughout the entire attraction.

Hooded
Hooded is the very first part of the attraction. When I came to the haunt I had to sign a wavier. This is a legit wavier as this is an expansive attraction that has many different components compared to other attractions of similar size. Part of that wavier advises you that you will be 'hooded' for the first part of the attraction. This is no joke. Before you enter the haunt you are required to put a black bag over your head and grasp onto a rope that runs along the trail route. All the while that you have a bag over your head and you are following a rope, the drill instructors will give you some "encouragement" and things will go bump in the night around you. A very interesting concept to a haunted attraction that pays dividends right out of the gate. Enjoy the sensory deprivation and let the attraction's actors do what they do best. You won't be disappointed.

Failed Escape
Following Hooded you get the chance to take a break at another common area that has a beer stand and a bonfire. Once you have your wits about you after the Hooded experience, Failed Escape will introduce you to the "storyline" of the Hill Has Eyes. In this area you follow a backwoods trail that leads you through trailer homes, abandoned vehicles, and dilapidated structures. All the while you will be stalked by the area's "residents". With some top notch animatronics, props, and acting, you will feel as if the title to the attraction is actually true. This a thrill ride for both your eyes as well as your nerves.

Hunger Hollow
You exit Failed Escape into the same common area you started. Again you are given the chance to warm-up by the bonfire and grab a brewsky. Once you are ready you can enter Hunger Hollow. This attraction is Failed Escape's bigger and badder brother. Again you will be overwhelmed by the amount of detail in the scenery. With great design comes great scares, and no other attraction that I have been to has proved this better than Hunger Hollow. Take your time, enjoy the sights, the monsters inhabiting the location love to play with their food. A woman that I was walking with during this trip put it best by saying, "this is like a roller-coaster". How true that line was. The Hills Has Eyes does an excellent job of pacing which allows you to have a "full" experience of the haunt versus being either really bored or overly scared. Hunger Hollow is indeed a roller-coaster ride.

Scare Lift
After you make it out of Hunger Hollow (if you haven't already turned tail and run) you come to the Scare Lift. In all honesty this is the most subdued attraction of the haunt but is creepy and disturbing in its own right. You will board an old ski lift that will take you to the top of the hill. All the while that you are suspended, there is nothing but darkness around you and the sounds of screams in the background. Although this lift may appear relaxing, don't get too relaxed, you aren't done yet.

Carnivore: The Devil's Carnival
Do clowns or carnies freak you out? Well then you are in for one final ride. Although smaller than Failed Escape and Hunger Hollow, Carnivore is a fun attraction using the twisted carnival theme. Even if you aren't scared by such a theme, the actors positioned there still do a good job of eliciting a scream or to. Watch the freak show and enjoy....just don't stay to long.. although they are just circus freaks they're still kin to the monsters you escaped earlier.

Length


Even with the VIP pass, which allowed me to pass-up the lines, the whole attraction, from start to finish is (wait for it) 1.5 hours long. The best part of that 1.5 hours? No second or minute of this attraction was boring. There are haunts that are shorter that charge just as much.

Summary

So my final thoughts on the Hill Has Eyes...No matter what entrance fee you pay (the basic or the VIP), every cent is worth it! Not only does the Hill Has Eyes have excellent pacing, strong actors, great scenes, and impressive animatronics and effects, but it feels really free. You can decide when you go on to the next line. If you want to hang by the fire for awhile, by all means. Sometimes it is just fun to watch as other people get scared. There in also lies there other great benefit to this haunt besides what I mentioned above....this haunted attraction is FUN! The Hill Has Eyes has to be, hands down, the most fun I have had at a haunted house to date (for the record I've reviewed 10 haunted house for HW and visited loads more). Even if you have the "tough guy" mentality, and believe nothing scares you, something WILL make you jump at this haunt...guaranteed. If not, well the fun you experience will still be worth your time and money. A shout out to all the actors and crew at the Hills Has Eyes...great job guys... you are MORE than deserving of the Best Haunt in the Milwaukee Area.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Youth Go's Haunted House

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 10, 2014 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Fun & Nicely Done! While this isn't the scariest haunt I've visited it most certainly offers a ghoulishly great time...especially for younger haunt goers. Despite the kid appropriate scares here adults will definitely enjoy the clever room layouts and polished performances of the ghouls. Neenah's Most Haunted is in its 29th year and the 5th year of the last 6 that I've visit this haunt. Each year I've been pleasantly surprised by the improvements and the superb job the young actors do portraying their roles. The years of experience are definitely evident in the creative room and hallway layouts, the elaborate detail found in many of the rooms and the articulately dressed and skillfully positioned ghouls. Perhaps the most noteworthy aspect of this haunt for adult haunt goers is the maze that awaits. While dark and potentially frustrating it certainly provides a uniquely chilling experience.

Signage / Visibility / Location


While there may not have been much in the way of signage to lead you to this haunt the location and visibility of the venue from the street make it very easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Come dressed for the elements as the wait line is outside. A few costumed actors roam the parking lot and waiting line to help build your anticipation.

Actors' Performance


Nicely done! The actors may have been youthful but their enthusiasm and ghoulish roles made their performances very enjoyable.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Elaborate set designs and secret passage ways make for a very visually stimulating experience. While this haunt may not have the big FX effects and props as some of the other venues the attention to detail and execution of each rooms theme more than make up for it.

Length


Took our group 15 minutes to complete our adventure.

Crowd Control


The waiting line was clearly roped off...but there was no line when my group attended this haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


Quite a few rooms standout....I particularly enjoyed the labyrinth of exquisitely decorated rooms connected by trick walls and confusing corridors.

Summary

Of all the haunts I've toured Neenah's Most Haunted did the best job of providing a ghoulishly fun time for haunt goers of all ages. While the scares here are definitely kid appropriate, adults will definitely enjoy the clever room layouts and polished performances of the ghouls.

View all Youth Go's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

New location...same great scares! I don't think I've ever been to a haunt and found myself marveling at how comfortably warm the rooms were. While the ticket line leaves you exposed to the elements the waiting area and both haunts are located in the heated confines of an abandoned Kmart...which I heard rumors was forced to relocate when demons which now lurk within moved in. The animatronic intro at Hauntfest is absolutely amazing and looks like the high tech marvels you see at theme parks like Disney.

Hauntfest is comprised of two haunts. The main attraction, "The Realm", starts with a wicked elevator ride that completely disorientates you prior to spitting you out and sending you along a dark maze of pitch black corridors and dimly lit rooms. Haunt goers who appreciate elaborate set designs with gruesome details will not be disappointed. Be warned though, over indulging in the visual treats will leave you susceptible to the ghouls who enjoy jumping out at you when you're not paying attention. While this year's edition of Hauntfest had several new twists and scares a few of the traditional favorites have survived the move...most notably the chain link fence and circus tent mazes. The second attraction, "The Big Top" features a circus like atmosphere consisting of a maze colorfully decorated corridors and energetic performers who are bent on not only scaring you but totally creeping you out.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Be sure to study your maps or set your navigation system prior to traveling to Hauntfest. There are no signs leading you too this haunt and the sign at the haunt is not on Hwy 100. The signs for Halloween Express which is located in the same building are a lot easier to see.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Tickets are purchased outside in the elements but the waiting area is located in the loading dock area of the old Kmart. A large video screen and sound system keep you entertained with music videos while you wait.

Actors' Performance


Energized and Effective! The actors may not be winning any Academy awards but they certainly had an abundance of enthusiasm and desire to provide a frightful time for you.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The animatronic intro to this haunt is amazing! Everything else pales in comparison but is comparable to what most other haunts showcase.

Length


Took our group 15 minutes to complete our tour through The Realm and 4 minutes to complete our tour through the Big Top.

Crowd Control


The waiting line was clearly roped off...but there was no line when my group attended this haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


I particularly enjoyed the twist that awaited with year's chain link fence maze...

Summary

New Location...same great scares! Quite possibly the most comfortable haunted adventure I've ever embarked on. Appropriate for all ages and themes to satisfy just about everyone's haunted hunger.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 10, 2014 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Tantalizingly Terrifying & Fantastically Frightful!! If you've never been to the Burial Chamber complex prepare yourself! The sheer size of this complex is quite impressive and what lurks inside will take your breath away. 2014 was my actually my 5th visit to Burial Chamber in the past 6 seasons. (I do believe this is Burial Chambers 6th season...) Over the past 6 years as a Review Crew Member I've been to many of the haunts in Wisconsin and I've yet to find one as massive as Burial Chamber...or as talented at terrorizing you.

Of course for all you Haunt Connoisseurs out there I don't have to tell you that it's not always the size of the haunt that matters. When it comes to Burial Chamber, not only is this complex well endowed, it employs an amazing arsenal of creeped out corridors, crazy creatures and good ole' fashioned in your face scares to maximize your ghoulish gratification.

Burial Chamber features two indoor haunts (Adrenalin and Insanity) that reside side by side and one (Phobia) that's outside. The layout of Adrenalin and Insanity are similar in that they are both comprised of a seemingly endless maze of cleverly crafted corridors consisting of a variety of themes. The journey through both Adrenalin and Insanity progresses continuously without stoppages for elaborate skits. Rooms here are more like themed corridors than rooms and your pace through these haunts are determined more by how quickly you walk than it is by the creatures lurking in the shadows.

Adrenalin
Consistent with prior years, the pace of Adrenalin is fast and furious as the ghouls are unrelenting in their quest to scare each and every visitor regardless of their position within a group. Yes, you read that correctly...you will be terrorized regardless of your position in your group as there is no place to hide from the menacing monsters lurking throughout the haunt. The lighting of Adrenalin is noticeably darker than Insanity but there was always just enough light for you to find your way without the worry of walking into a wall. The maze of dimly lit hallways of Adrenalin did an exceptional job of building my anticipation of the scares that await but unfortunately made it challenging for the true haunt connoisseur in me to appreciate how elaborate the sets and creatures were. Nonetheless, if you're looking for a good scare to get your heart dancing like Dracula's Discotheque Adrenalin will get the job done!

Insanity
Insanity on the other hand left little to the imagination. Sets were lit effectively...dim enough to encourage you to keep your scare guard up but light enough so that you could appreciate the amazing attention to detail with the sets and costumed actors. There were fewer creatures lurking in the shadows of Insanity but enough to make you jump occasionally. Gore and special effects were plentiful with several visual abominations that will torment your mind long after your exit. Lazer lighting, black lit rooms, a vortex, strobe lights, and trick floor were just a few of the visual stimuli Insanity offered up.

Phobia
Unlike Adrenalin and Insanity, Phobia resides completely outside and features a terrifying tour through the woods along with occasional petrifying passages through eerie dwellings found along the way. Rustling brush and sinister sounds heighten your anticipation of what’s to come as you proceed along a moon lit path. Similar to Adrenalin, the monsters in Phobia were menacing, highly motivated and acrobatic doing an exceptional job of appearing out of nowhere to scare each and every member the tour group regardless of position.

Consistent with prior years, I find it challenging to pick a clear-cut favorite out of Burial Chambers 3 haunted attractions. By far Adrenalin was the most terrifying while Insanity offers an amazing visual experience. Of the 8 haunted attractions I.ve been to this year Burial Chamber has my vote as the scariest most terrifying attraction!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find as it’s just a couple minutes from Hwy 41. The sheer size of this complex combined with several parking attendants flagging you into the parking lot make it nearly impossible to miss this place.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Come dressed for the elements as the wait lines for Adrenalin, Insanity and Phobia are all outside. Two large screens outside of Adrenalin and Insanity along with a few costumed actors help to build your anticipation. There's also a snack wagon parked out back to help satisfy your cravings for munchies.

Actors' Performance


The actors were very skilled at providing quick and unexpected scares. Nothing noteworthy in terms of an academy award type performance...but in their defense these haunts weren't designed to provide an opportunity for a theatrical display. Occasionally the actors would flash a performance that may creep you out.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Brilliant use of shadows and dimly lit hallways/rooms to maximize scare and creep factor. Set designs were very effective in immersing you into the theme of the haunt. Not the most elaborate set designs I've seen but definitely better than the average haunt. Enjoyed some of the unique concepts and special effects. Trick floors, falling ceilings, vibrating walls, tripped out lazer lights...there's a little bit of everything to keep you on your toes. I particularly enjoyed the cleverly laid out lab maze in Adrenalin and the bloody pig pen found in Insanity.

Length


Took our group 19 minutes to complete Adrenalin, 16 minutes for Insanity and 14 minutes for Phobia.

Crowd Control


Waiting lines for both Adrenalin and Insanity were clearly marked off along with the separate VIP lines.

Most Memorable Moment


Several great scares....the bloody pig pen in Insanity was totally insane!

Summary

If you're looking for a totally terrifying experience this Halloween look no further than Burial Chamber. Minute for minute Burial Chamber's Adrenalin and Insanity haunts provide more scare opportunities than any other haunt I've attended. Adrenalin's scares come early and often while Insanity showcases more gore and visual effects but still provides plenty of scare opportunities. For those who thirst for more thrills Phobia offers even more horrific haunted mayhem.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Hartford Jaycees Haunted House

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

It’s like Halloween threw-up all over this place!! That's probably the best way to summarize the Hartford Jaycees Haunted House. (...which is technically in Slinger) If you're looking for a haunted attraction that screams Halloween and actually wreaks of haunted house both inside and out look no further than the Hartford Jaycees Haunted House!

The venue for this haunt epitomizes Halloween for me as it came complete with a terrifying tour through the woods and a creepy old 3 story house. The outdoor portion of this haunt took my group approximately 5 minutes to traverse and featured several spooky sets along the way along with a few classic scares. Be sure to keep your guard up at all times during the wooded tour as there are interesting distractions along the way that will momentarily grab your attention so that the real scare can catch you off guard. While the outdoor experience was more of a scare if you dare to walk-through variety, the indoor experience was an interactive one featuring rooms with elaborately costumed actors that did an exceptional job of both entertaining me with their skits and creeping me out.

The tour of the house started on the 3rd floor balcony and wound down through the house until it spit me out through a cellar door. The rooms and hallways throughout the house were absolutely crammed pack full of ghoulish goodies. Be sure to always look up, down and all around to ensure you catch all the great scares! (Particularly in the stairwells) All the sets were elaborately detailed with many them containing hidden room exits and secret passage ways between the rooms.

Animatronics and special effects were plentiful and provided for some very unique visually stimulating experiences. Just about every room (...if not all...) contained an animatronic scare in it. The indoor portion of our tour took approximately 20 minutes to complete….for a total tour time of 25 minutes. This ranks the Hartford Jaycees Haunted House as the longest of the 3 haunted house tours that resides in the Slinger-Hartford-Hubertus area this year!

Special Kudos to the following actors who performances have permanently scared my memories:
* "Bed Time" girl for most realistic scream, ever!
* "The Butcher" who definitely looked and acted the part (seeing your face through the window still creeps me out!)
* "Sushi Man" who's adlib one liners still make me laugh
* "The Bar Widow" who's elaborate make up and costume were only outshined by her acting performance
* "Top Hat Man" who’s clever sense of humor truly tested how well you were paying attention.

Signage / Visibility / Location


This may not be the easiest haunt to find. If you're on HWY 60 in slinger look for the lighted portable sign with a flashing arrow on the north side of the road. Fireman’s park is an immediate right turn after you make turn north off of HWY 60. The Haunted House is actually tucked away after a short winding drive into the park.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


This haunt offers a heated wood shack with a concessions stand to comfort you while you anticipate the horror that awaits you. A tented staging area provides shelter from the elements as you undergo last minute preparations before your terrifying tour through the woods.

Actors' Performance


A good mix of adult and young actors delivered entertaining performances. None of them totally freaked me out but they were still very entertaining. A few of them were absolutely exceptional at adlibbing and allowed you to playfully interact with them

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Some really unique sets and a several outstanding special effects.

Length


Approximately 25 minutes.

Crowd Control


Numbered tickets allow you to purchase your tickets and assemble wherever you’d like while you wait. No long lines to stand in at this haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


Several to choose from...the Butcher and his freezer are still haunting my visions as I write this review!

Summary

The Hartford Jaycees Haunted House provides an exceptional balance of scares, ghoulishly gratifying visual treats and interactive entertainment making this haunt a fun Halloween destination for both kids and adults alike. The indoor waiting area complete with concession stand and movie room make this a howling good time regardless of the weather.

View all Hartford Jaycees Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2014 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Fourteen years of creative, creepy and chilling concepts and counting for Terror on Rural Street. A techno haunt goer's dream come true, there has never been a year when I have been disappointed with the electrifying showcase of terrifying themes found at the Terror on Rural Street. This year was certainly no exception. A few of my favorite rooms this year were the eerie eye doctor, the slithering snake room, the horrifying Hall of Pictures, the apparitional hall of bones and the hair-raising Heart Surgeon that will assuredly make your heart skip a beat.

Terror on Rural Street features several Cinema quality sets, many of which are pimped out with a dedicated sound system and special effects you won't find any place else. Portions of this haunt are an interactive style haunt with rooms showcasing a unique theme and a skit performed by volunteer actors. While the actors may be volunteers the costumes and make-up were professionally done and very realistic. This was most evident during my encounter with the bizarre and somewhat eerie eye doctor. While it’s very easy to get distracted by the very engaging doctor be sure to take note of the a keen attention to detail the facial make-up his counterpart showcases.

Admittedly not all of the acting performances knocked my socks off nor did every room send me off screaming to the next. But what Terror on Rural Street lacked with its actors and potential scare factor it more than made up for with its dazzling special effects and elaborate sets. Scares and surprises frequently came from unexpected flashes of brilliant light, dedicated room specific sound systems and a variety of lifelike techno effects.

Here are some interesting tidbits for those of you who are particularly interested in the quality of your haunted experience or may just be wondering "how did they do that?"
* Each room and hallway is under constant surveillance by staff members with a very keen attention to detail. These staff members remain in contact with the ghouls and monsters lurking in the shadows and rooms around the haunt to ensure they are always perfectly positioned and timed to scare the bajeezus out of you and your fellow haunt goers.
* A staff of Professional theatrical make-up artists with over 25 years of experience volunteer their time at Terror on Rural Street.
* Terror on Rural Street is a not for profit organization. Proceeds from this event go to support Hartford Community Service Inc. Scholarships, Community Projects, and area Non Profit Organizations
* Curious about how this haunt can churn out so many new sets each year? A workshop full of additional sets and props found directly behind this haunt is used to construct new sets year around.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Don't let a full parking lot scare you away before this haunt does! Terror on Rural Street shares it's parking lot with the Schauer Art Center and the Wisconsin Automotive Museum. Not all the cars parked in the lots may necessarily be for Terror on Rural Street.

This haunt can be found right off the main drag (Hwy 60) in downtown Hartford. Look for the flashing sign to point you to the parking lot. Great location. An abundance of well lit parking and a warm place to hang out while you wait. The court yard between the waiting area and the entrance really set the tone nicely.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


A heated indoor waiting area with a concession stand that features beer and mixed drinks. If you're of drinking age be sure to try the syringe style jello-shots! By the way...all proceeds from the concession stand benefit the Schauer Arts Center which is located just next door.

Actors' Performance


We had a lot of fun interacting with the performers in many of the sets. Most notable were the performers of the eye doctor and the heart surgeon. Elaborate costumes and finely detailed make-up really enhanced appearance of all performances.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


A nice variety of sets and some superb special effects. For those of you who traditionally checkout a few different haunts every year you'll appreciate the creative concepts and elaborate sets that have the look feel of a genuine movie caliber set. Compared to other haunts, the rooms here were quite spacious...a nice perk for those who don't particularly enjoy being squeezed into a room when your grouped with complete strangers.

Length


My tour lasted 15 minutes which included getting lost in the maze.

Crowd Control


Waiting room with concession stand is fairly spacious. Plenty of room in the court yard to wait also. Patrons are free to roam about until the Reaper calls their number to be assembled for final preparations before entering the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


Several to choose from for me...I particularly enjoyed exploring the multi-level sets and the open heart surgery observation deck.

Summary

A fantastic venue along with a nice variety of sets, creative ideas and exceptional special effects make Terror on Rural Street a haunt definitely worth checking out!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

While I've only visited The Hubertus House of Horror 26 of the 31 years this haunt has been in existence I'd like to nominate the 2014 edition as the best Hubertus House ever! If you're concerned at all that a 31 year old haunt would be gruesomely stale don't be. Only a few of the best techno-scares from 2013 were redeployed for this year's edition. With the exception of the haunted school bus ride all the others were modified to sensationalize your scare. (...which, on a cold creepy night, taking the bus to a haunt IS better than walking, right?) The remaining rooms (...too numerous to count while you're getting the bejezus scared out of you!) have been completely transformed into a scaretacular visual extravaganza.

Similar to 2013, this year's journey begins with bizarre bus ride that transports you to the shadowy doorsteps of the Hubertus House. Your haunted journey then begins on the third floor of the house and sends you spiraling down through a whirlwind of creepy corridors, multiple mazes and countless rooms that each carry unique themes and actors performing ghoulish skits.

The special effects this year totally rocked my world! They were frequent, very creative and effective in not only entertaining you but keeping you immersed in the action. Rooms with extraordinary effects that I enjoyed the most included the creepy chamber of hooded figures, the candle lit caverns, the mad scientist, the wild elevator ride, the mine shaft, the construction site and the multiple Vortex rooms. (...yes, you read it correctly…there are multiple Vortexes!) ...note... given the unique surprises and effects found in each room my list of favorites would most likely change after each tour.

The Hubertus House is an interactive style haunt with each room containing a unique theme and skit performed by costumed actors/actresses. The ages of these actors appeared to cover the spectrum from high school kids to adults. While this haunt does contain a little gore and some loud scares I'd say it's definitely suitable for haunt goers of all ages.

Signage / Visibility / Location


This may not be the easiest haunt to find but if you're on the right road you really can't miss it. Also, if you come across a mass of parked cars in what feels like the middle of nowhere you've probably found the right place

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


One of the best wait areas around! The Hubertus House leverages a school gymnasium to keep you warm, well fed and entertained while you wait. The concession stand was well stocked with sweets, popcorn, drinks and even burgers. Costumed actors also popped in occasionally to heighten your anticipation of what was to come

Actors' Performance


A good mix of adult and young actors delivered entertaining performances. None of them totally freaked me out but they were still very entertaining. A few of them were good at adlibbing and allowed you to interact with them

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Some really unique sets and a several exceptional special effects. First times and annual Hubertus House haunt goers will be dazzled with this year’s thrills.

Length


Approximately 15 minutes.

Crowd Control


Get your tickets early! This place fills up in a hurry. Numbered tickets allow you to purchase your tickets now and come back later in the evening for immediate entry into the waiting line.

Most Memorable Moment


I swear those hooded figures are still following me!

Summary

Of the 3 haunts in the Holy Hill area this one was my favorite. A scaretacular visual extravaganza! In my opinion this year’s edition of the Hubertus House of Horror is the best ever!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, September 28, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The Splatterhaus in Two Rivers is easily one of the best haunted attractions in Wisconsin. It is set in a very large building and you can count on a very lengthy walk (or run) through a cutting-edge haunted house. I often say the use of props can sometimes detract from the overall "fear factor" of a haunted attraction, but the Splatterhaus has mastered the use of high tech! It is very difficult to tell if a prop is real or not, and most of them will have you jumping, grasping the wall, ducking and pushing back the way you came. You move quickly from each scene and the flow of the entire haunt is flawless. From start to finish, there was never a moment I was not on my toe's watching out in every direction. I do not scare easily, but at the Splatterhaus, I actually welcomed the end just to be able to catch my breath! The actors have great acrobatics, and the strobe lighting is timed so well that what was there one moment will be in your face the next. The blood runs thick in the Splatterhaus, just make sure to walk guarded to avoid having yours spilled. If you want to impress your significant other by being "hardcore" then I recommend going to another haunt, as even the bravest will be frightened. If you are debating on which haunted house to go to this year, make the drive to the Splatterhaus in Two Rivers.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The Splatterhaus is located in Two Rivers and there is a large sign directing you to the parking lot. Be careful of lots of road construction if you are coming from the South.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


I attended on opening weekend, so there was no wait. Although, the wait area is indoors and there are plenty of photo opportunities and goodies to purchase. I would imagine there are more ghouls in the wait area during October.

Actors' Performance


Although it was the opening weekend, you would never be able to tell as the adrenaline and passion for fear can be felt in every single actors performance. This is not a haunt that you can walk through with your eyes closed as you need to be on guard from things above, below and on both sides of you. Strobe lights and special effects are used so effectively that the location and identification of ghouls is impossible. Just be prepared to scream and try not to run!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The Splatterhaus uses a lot of high tech animatronics. I am rarely frightened by props that are run by sensors, but these are unlike most I have ever seen. There were moments that I feared being mauled and impaled. There are so many different sets, that attempting to summarize them is difficult and no two rooms or areas are similar. Even the bravest (those willing to go first) are going to find themselves stumbling to get out of the way.

Length


The total length took 43 minutes. The path of destruction seemed endless and by the end I was ready to get out. I honestly did not think I could handle anymore!

Crowd Control


Since it was opening weekend, we were the only ones and therefore did not have any issues with crowd control The set up of the entire attraction was perfect for large and small groups. I do not anticipate any concerns with running into other groups. I do expect that closer to Halloween, this attraction will be very busy.

Most Memorable Moment


I still can not stop thinking about the impaling door that had no limits when it came to trapping us. Of course the most unique and off guard was the frightening clown the flew over head and almost removed our skulls!

Summary

In summary I recommend the Splatterhaus to anyone who is looking for one of the best in Wisconsin. It is worth a 2 hour drive just to witness the intensity inside. I do not recommend this haunt to anyone who is claustrophobic or scares easily. If you want a guaranteed scary haunted attraction, then I recommend the Splatterhaus!

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Alaskan Motel - CLOSED -

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, September 28, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Haunted Alaskan Motel is a haunted attraction set in an old 1970's abandoned Motel and Supper Club. Locals and workers have claimed to hear strange noises year round and there is a truly peculiar jukebox that will literally start and stop on it's own. It is difficult to find the Haunted Alaskan Motel as it sits behind the old supper club and when I attended there was no sign indicating it was a haunted attraction. You wait in the bar area and can enjoy food along with plenty of "spirits" which makes time pass quickly. No worries if the weather is bad as everything is indoors.

You purchase your ticket at the bar and when it is time for you to enter, you are taken out the back door to the abandoned Motel. I am personally a huge fan of haunted attractions that are inside of an actual building (not just plywood) and the Motel alone is a frightening sight. Be prepared to check in and hope that you check out alive. As you walk from the rooms, through dimly lit hallways and up stairs, all you can hear is the thumping of your own heart. The rooms are all set as if you were in a truly haunted Motel with extra sets in between. The actor's performance is phenomenal and the lighting makes it difficult to predict where the next ghoul will appear. I was caught off guard several times and I consider myself a "seasoned" haunted attraction attendee. Just when you think you might escape, you will find yourself back inside to endure more torture. Be prepared to get on your hands and knees and wear comfy shoes as there are certain area's you could lose your balance. I have never attended a haunted attraction with so many unique uses of the existing building. The Haunted Alaskan Motel is in their 3rd year, so you do not have to worry about it being over-crowded or waiting in long lines. I am certain this will become a favorite in Northeast Wisconsin, so make sure not to miss it this year! I would love to see the Haunted Alaskan Motel continue and I recommend it to adults and children over 16!

Signage / Visibility / Location


There are currently no signs. You must watch for the address or you might miss it. It is right on Hwy 42, North of Kewaunee.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is indoors inside of an old supper club with a bar! They have a great selection of beverages from your typical beer to apple caramel pudding shots. They also serve food, so come early and enjoy a great dinner and drinks. Be careful, because you never know who might sneak up behind you!

Actors' Performance


Horrifying, Blood Curdling screams, that you typically only hear in Hollywood movies, will surround you upon entrance into the Motel. There are no "dead" spots so be prepared to have "in your face" scares throughout this entire haunt. My personal favorite is the Green Goblin who is not afraid to come out of the dark, where scales meet skin and deep heavy breathing will have you ducking and running. Another favorite is the human butcher, this was one time I was seriously considering an early exit!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The motel itself is very frightening. The building is from the early 1970's and not much has changed since that time. There are stories of strange noises year round and a mysterious jukebox that randomly starts and stops without anyone around. The jukebox will decide what to play and when, it has a mind (or spirit) of its own. The sets are all original, so no overly done "animatronics" ... you walk inside a multi-level motel that still resembles a haunted motel. Gruesome blood, bodies and displaced mattresses make it feel like you are truly experiencing something paranormal. All the rooms are well themed and flow without any down time throughout. It is dead silent as you walk through the large dark hallways and into each room, the void of other screams adds to the "fear" as you can hear your own heart thumping.

Length


The total from start to finish was 21 minutes through the haunted Motel. There is not much dead time in between each set. Much longer than most other haunted attractions.

Crowd Control


We were the first ones there and the only ones as this was very early in the haunt season, so no crowd. Since this haunt is newer and located in a very small remote city I anticipate there not being any "heavy" crowds until people start discovering its location. If you hate waiting in long lines, then you will love this haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


The were two memorable moments for me. The creative use of mattress in a large dark hallway, makes you feel unstable and you can not see what might be out to grab your feet from beneath you. The second most memorable was crawling on our hands and knees only to find ourselves trapped in a very tiny room possessed by a demon doll.

Summary

I recommend the Haunted Alaskan Motel to anyone who prefers a haunted attraction that is actually set in a real (haunted) building. If you hate long lines and overly commercialized haunted attractions, you will have neither at this attraction! If you like original scenes and would like to enjoy a beverage or two before being scared, you must visit the Haunted Alaskan Motel.

View all Haunted Alaskan Motel - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

You can view previous review crews here: 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017



December 12th, 2018 3:21 a.m. CST 1.5.1