2014 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

112 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by isaiah.redepenningvance after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This place was absolutely amazing. I went with a group of my college friends, and we had the pants scared off of us. From the highly dedicated group of actors (who do their very best to frighten you from the moment you step on the grounds), to the state-of-the-art horror tech and effects that they use, this is an attraction you have no excuse not to visit if you live in southern WI. On top of all of this, offering the ability to buy and print tickets and fast passes from home made this experience all that much better right from the start. We will definitely be going back.

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by Cliona after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt is AMAZING! From waiting in line listening and watching awesome music videos and having clowns and ghouls roaming around the lines scaring people, to actually entering into the house and having your heart race at an unbelievable pace! Around every corner there is something unique and scary! You get scared from above, below, in front and from the back. No where is safe! At some point you feel like you will never get out of Dr. Scary's house! Speaking of, Dr. Scary pops up around the house everywhere! Once you see him the first time you think that's it, until he pops up right in front of you again in the next room!

The maze Pandemonium is also amazing! I have never experienced anything like it! From each different and confusing maze and then worrying about if someone is following you! It is an unforgettable experience! We were determined not to give up and take an "I quite door" and we finally found the "winner" door we all jumped around so excited that we had finally beat the maze!
Both attractions are amazing and worth while! We will be going back to both attractions again!

Summary

One of the best Haunts I have seen! All the actors were truly terrifying and the animatronics are all great! If you are a haunt fanatic you need to check this place out!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Screamin Acres Haunted Houses

by jj2570 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Been to many Haunted attractions, this one was pretty fun with the 3D part of it being the best.Paying the extra 10 bucks for the fast pass was well worth it.We got in in like 5 minutes compared with what looked like an hour long line.Im learning farmers re all know how to scare people.

View all Screamin Acres Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Wisconsin Scaryland

by jj2570 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

I've been to many Haunted attractions all over the state, while not terrible it is definitely not a 25 dollar haunt.The website states it takes almost 30 minutes to go through.It took me 10 and I was walking slow.I drove from Stevens Point and was very disappointed. I would give it 1 and a half to 2 out of 5 stars.

View all Wisconsin Scaryland reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by chloe after attending on Friday, October 17, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is by far the best haunt attraction around, we go every year and always enjoy the hard work and effort they put into it. They are great at changing it up every year so it is never the same and the price is perfect. However, this is the first year we "opted out" for the Black Out. I am shocked and surprised that anyone would "hood" patrons with a hood that is used over and over. We are in the beginning of influenza season and just knowing someone elses mouth and nose (not to mention hair) excrements in those hoods to say the least is disgusting and irresponsible. The 19 year old at that was the host at the door actually bullied the young girls in front of us (when they wanted to opt out) into putting the hoods on and snottily told them they were quitters and that they cant quit and said "no one has gotten lice or sick or ebola from these hoods" and then he said "they are sanitary and get dry cleaned" which they are NOT because if they were SANITIZED they would be in sealed plastic. And there is NO dry cleaner in town that would dry clean 1000s of these hoods in a night, the cost would be outrageous And "dry cleaning" is NOT even a "washing". Then when we got up I asked "if we could keep the hoods to throw away when we were done (they are a 25 cent hood that is disposable) and he said No! We didnt have a problem opting out since its a great haunt and we felt we got our monies worth but I had a guest who had never done these and I wanted her to have the full experience but this disgusting hood thing was not worth anything. He got very snotty with us and we even told him we didn't really care about missing the haunt I just wish I would have known about the hoods. (it is mentioned on their web site but you have to read all of it) So, the bottom line is the haunt was great, the hoods were irresponsible in todays world and the host of the Black out was an uneducated snotty young man.

Summary

Beware that you have to put a used gross germy hood on your head and no matter how clean they tell you they are, it is Impossible unless they are in Sealed plastic!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by ashley.dreutzer after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 11:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Was one of the last groups through this house and I really enjoyed myself the characters I enjoyed the most I saw multiple times throughout my experience here with a lot of interaction between myself and them I enjoyed the guy with a baseball bat and a gas mask he really wanted my hat. The effects were great as always but I come back every year for great acting

Summary

Well done

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Thursday, October 16, 2014 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Green Bay Fear has been around long enough now where people pretty much know what they are going to get. In the recent years they've changed it up to where it's just as much of a twisted carnival and freaky side show as it is a haunted house. Walking up to the entrance and ticket booth is impressive, with their stone pillars lit up and big top atmosphere just beyond. Once on their grounds, it's almost a 'choose your own adventure' depending on where you want to go. Off to the left is the VIP area with a nice big bonfire and a local band braving the elements for your entertainment. Straight ahead is the very funny yet slightly unnerving Baron Von Geiger as the self proclaimed 'World's Strangest Strongman'. Right next to the baron is Mr. Jingles' Funhouse and next to that is the Odditorium. Off to your right is the Hillbilly Hallow Haunted Woods and then finally the haunted house itself. Oh yeah, there's also a Voodoo gift shop and food galore. Whew! You definitely get your money's worth at GB Fear, but certain events are only for the RIP (VIP upgrade). General admission will get you the haunted woods, the house, and all the fun happening in the courtyard.

The woods was particularly chilling on this dark and windy night. They do a great job of using lighted areas vs. pitch black where you strain to see your hands in front of your face. Being this was a Thursday, the woods was not as populated as it should have been. I'm sure on a hopping weekend they have it packed with all sorts of creatures. With that said, the actors that were in the woods were superb. It was a nice mix of scary and downright funny. One section had me a little disorientated being surrounded by Christmas trees, presents and tinsel. For me, the WORST part of Fall is knowing that Winter is right around the corner... and I was taken aback by what I was seeing. Then a young girl wearing pig-tails and footie pajamas came skipping by yelling 'NO MORE CHRISTMAS'! It gave a good laugh, and I couldn't agree more. So I skipped away with her.

The house has a grand entrance that's impressive as you walk up the steps and enter its wide doors. There are twists and turns throughout with great lighting and lots of glowing neon. You can purchase 3D glasses to really make the neon pop, but you don't need them to enjoy it. Although there were a few times I really jumped, most of the house was light on actors and more fun than scary. And that's ok, because the focus at Green Bay Fear is entertainment with some scares along the way. You can definitely make an entire night here!

Signage / Visibility / Location


It's easy to find, but surprising how hidden away everything is until you enter past the ticket booth.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There are wait lines for the woods and the haunted house, but everything else you can enjoy as soon as you walk up to it.

Actors' Performance


Almost all the actors did a great job. Some where there to scare, and some where there to entertain.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


All the props and scenes are top notch. I was most impressed with the lighting, both in the house and around it.

Length


The woods will take you about 15 minutes once you're in it. The house is about another 15 minutes once in the door. Everything else you can move through as slow or as fast as you want! All things considered you will be there for a good couple of hours.

Crowd Control


There wasn't much of a crowd on a Thursday night.

Most Memorable Moment


NO MORE CHRISTMAS!!!!

Summary

Green Bay Fear stands apart from other Haunted Houses, simply because they've created an all night event with the focus of all things weird, odd or down right disturbing. Light on scares with lots of eye candy! This is a great place for the whole family.

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by ashley.dreutzer after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Second year going to this haunt love the system for getting into the house. Love watching people get scared with the defecator. wanted to try the zombie simulation but just didn't have time this year. The effects in this house are awesome but at the front of the group I seemed to miss some of them

Summary

Didn't poop my pants but will visit again

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by ashley.dreutzer after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Absolutely love this house been driving from door county for the last five years to come visit this haunt and I'm sad to see it go the actors are terrific the effects are supper and the storyline is always interesting

Summary

If you get anywhere near manitowoc during haunt season visit here

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

ScareUSA.com presents Just About Dead Haunted Attraction

by ashley.dreutzer after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Had a nice time at this haunt, effects were good seemed a little short on actors wish it had some kind of story line

Summary

Nice haunt

View all ScareUSA.com presents Just About Dead Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by pwallinger97a1df08bff740a4 after attending on Friday, October 10, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I Love the Fear Grounds!!! I just don't know how they keep getting me every year. I go to a couples haunted houses a year and this one is always my favorite. I go in thinking I know what is going to happen, but they always find a way to scare me. I give credit to them for always changing things up so you have no idea what to expect. I feel they are the best bang for the buck out there. I am already looking forward to seeing what they do next year.

Summary

A must see in all of Wisconsin.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Haunted Mansion is more than just your typical haunted house. It is really 3+ attractions for the price of one! Upon arrival, the popularity of this haunted attraction is made known by the mass groups of individuals seeking a fun filled evening of scares. Tickets to the attraction are only $10, which makes this not only a GREAT haunted attraction, but also one of the most affordable ones. There are additional options to add the burial simulator or shoot ghouls with paint balls. Expect approximately a 30 minute wait before entering the beginning of the corn maze. The corn maze is dimly lit by torches and makes an excellent setting for one to get lost and run into hidden ghouls. There are several area's of sinking sand that will keep you diligent and cautiously moving forward. Angry dogs and chainsaws are waiting to dismember you throughout the corn maze and hold on tight as you can expect to be trapped and forced to lose your balance. Once you make it out alive, you are on to a school bus. However, this is not your typical bus ride, expect to be surprised in every direction by ghouls and scenes that were not at first visible. When you exit the bus, you are given a number and notified that you now may enjoy one of the many attractions while waiting for your number to appear. Take advantage of the surrounding haunted attractions and the wait time will quickly pass. The outside of the Haunted Mansion is finely tuned to make the hair on the back of your neck stand tall. There is live feed of victims attempting to escape from inside of the Mansion. There is no turning back once you are inside so be prepared for the unexpected. You will be forced to go alone and face your fears solo and if you can make it through alive, do not worry as you will eventually be rejoined with your group. You can expect to encounter all of your phobia's throughout the haunted mansion, and you may even discover new ones! The Haunted Mansion incorporates several favorite sets including the vortex and at the end, you have to let go and hope for a safe landing! Overall, The Haunted Mansion has masterfully incorporated fear and fun into one great affordable attraction!

Signage / Visibility / Location


There are a lot of signs and directions (including a large Billboard). You will drive down a lot of dark spooky roads, but rest assured that there are plenty of signs pointing you in the right direction. You know you have arrived when you see the large entrance sign.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait is outdoors. I chose the RIP option in order to skip the lines, it is an extra $10 ... but if you are the type that likes to avoid waiting and can afford the extra $10, I recommend the RIP. You can skip to the front of the line to the corn maze, front row seats on the bus, and skip the line into the house. There are a lot of ghouls all around and you will have vistors while waiting in line. I asked individuals in the front of the line to the corn maze how long they had waited and they said approximately 30 minutes. Once you arrive at the haunted house, you are given a number that is displayed overhead so you know where you are in your wait. While you wait, you can shoot paint balls at real ghouls, purchase goodies, sit around a bonfire or enjoy other haunt related activities. It is a great opportunity to make an evening out of being frightened.

Actors' Performance


Actor's were spot on with their scares and made us scream several times. There were a few actors (out of what seemed like dozens) that did not stay in character and in fact seemed rather exhausted and bored. The actors in the corn maze and on the bus were awesome, we laughed, screamed and I believe there were some tears shed behind us. The actor in the beginning and upon entrance of the haunted house had the perfect mixture of creepy.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This is really a multi-haunted attraction. You begin with a walk through a haunted corn maze, it is dimly lit with torches around a pond that reflects the gore. It is very easy to get lost in the corn maze and there are several area's of "sinking sand" that you must be cautious of. There are not a lot of props through the corn maze, but it is really not necessary to create that eerie sense of confusion and fear of the dark. The bus ride was a completely unexpected surprise, I do not want to give too much away, but it definitely exceeded my expectations. The haunted house itself has many unique aspects, if you can't go alone, then I recommend not going. Every scene was well done and there is a great balance of animatronics and sets. It is really difficult to tell what is real and which is a prop.

Length


We entered the corn maze at 8:58 and left the haunted house at 9:45, so approximately 40 minutes between all 3 attractions. The corn maze was about 8 minutes, but we moved pretty fast. The bus ride is around 12 minutes and the haunted house is just at 20 minutes in length. If you enjoy all that The Haunted Mansion has to offer, you can plan on being there for over 2 hours. There is a lot of extra's and we unfortunately did not have the time to experience everything that is offered!

Crowd Control


In order to keep the wait under control, groups are separated, but sent through quickly to keep the line moving. We did run into the group ahead of us and those behind us caught up ... so there was some concerns with crowd control. One thing I do want to add is that in the haunted house you are separated and forced to go alone. Anyone can act brave in a group, but if you can not handle the fear alone, then consider this your warning!

Most Memorable Moment


The bus ride was one of the most memorable moment for myself, it was unexpected and something very different from any other haunted attraction I have been to. The actors were great, and there is no sitting back and just enjoying the ride. The beginning of the Haunted House was also very memorable as I found myself alone, trapped and desperately seeking an exit.

Summary

In summary, I recommend The Haunted Mansion to anyone looking for more than just a "haunted house". Paintball, bonfires, treats, bus rides and corn mazes all add to a frightful evening. One that will make you laugh, scream and for some ... cry!

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by pete.stone.37 after attending on Friday, October 10, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Went to the Wisconsin Fear grounds on Friday. All I can say is WOW!!!, this place was so cool and very very scary. They have 3 haunted houses, one of them is where they put a hood over your head and then you have to feel your way around in the dark. If you are afraid of the dark this one will freak you out. We drove up from Kenosha and we were not dissapointed..a real must see.
We bought speed passes that only cost us 20 bucks as long as we got there early.

Summary

Go see it fantastic time

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by ohayk4 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

They step it up every year! As someone who has loved haunted houses since a young age, I'm always impressed and thrilled at the new things they come up with... seriously, how do you do it?? Especially this year, we visited all three and the new addition really had us shaking in our boots! Thank you - this is why Wisconsin Fear Grounds is on my must see every October!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by nicholas.petersen.756 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 10 a.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The people that run this haunted house are seriously disturbed. I think the actors actually believe the ARE monsters! Every room is incredibly detailed and believable. The wait can be a bit long but they offer early bird specials and fast passes. Every year these guys go above and beyond expectations.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 23rd, 2019 8:25 p.m. CDT 1.6.3