ad-header-top

2014 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

112 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by carli.ihde after attending on Friday, October 10, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

One of the best haunted houses I've ever been to, bar none (haunted house is probably a bad term considering the whole tour is completely outdoors). I had so so much fun. If you need something awesome to do this Halloween season I don't think I could recommend this place any higher.
It had EVERYTHING. This includes, but is not limited to... (********SPOILER ALERT for anyone who wants to be surprised by the tour's attractions********) a haunted trailer park with mutants, zombies, Satan's Church (we loved the priest), getting a bag put over your head and wandering around in the dark, a giant slide (complete with dancing bear), riding on a rickety old ski lift, a graveyard, many chainsaws, an inflatable anal exam (Yes, I said it), a haunted carnival, beer tents, bonfires and a ton of fantastic characters/amazing scenes to experience. (*****SPOILER DONE****)
Hands down, the most fun I have ever had at a haunted house (and I've gone to at least one every year since I was 8) I traveled all the way from Madison to go to this so I also decided to buy the VIP tickets. This means we got to skip all the lines and go right to the front (I promise, it was worth every penny) Even without the lines the whole tour took us quite a while to walk through which was fantastic! Nothing felt rushed or lacking and overall I give it an A++ (Although I love them, this is something I rarely give to haunted houses) I actually want to go again, it was THAT good.
This haunted house wasn't "terrifying" per se, but what haunted house is? You know you're not going to die or be touched by the actors in anyway and that's usually enough to keep me relatively unterrified. But scary? Yes, of course it was! I was definitely clinging to my boyfriend throughout most of the haunt and I even found myself screaming at a few points. But on the whole, it was just ridiculously fun. These guys are so into their characters! You will find NO "Boos", "Rawrs" or "Hisses" at this haunt. These guys are professionals with well thought out character names and backstories. You can just tell that they live and breathe the Halloween season and they've got the sort of creepy charisma coursing through their veins that you can only experience at a great haunted house like this. They were also very complimentary telling me that I smelled good (you just don't hear that enough, you know?)
Small disclaimer: This is probably not a place for children for sure. Although I did notice the actors were very good at reading us before we got to them. (Side note: I'm 24 years old) They were able to measure our age and type of humor so it was a lot of fun to see them interact with us and joke around with us. At some points it really felt like we were in on the whole thing which was awesome (if that makes any sense) but they never fell out of character or took us out of the illusion (This is very hard to do without looking cheesy! I used to work at a haunted house as well, I know how it goes). But yeah, I probably wouldn't recommend this to anyone under 15, unless you are with a parent and are mature enough to get that this stuff isn't real (just read through the haunt guidelines, I'm not sure what their age policy is) I also probably wouldn't recommend this to any closed minded parents or people who are easily and seriously offended by language, visuals and/or scenes as well. These are great actors who are just having a great time and living off the moment (and that's what I really like to see and what we want to encourage) So this haunt should be avoided by anyone who is preparing to rain on their parade and looking for things to complain about (why would you even come?)

SO, to conclude... I had an awesome time! I highly recommend it and I hope that my review really got you fired up to go. I'll definitely be coming back next year for another walk through.

P.S. Do yourself a favor and buy your tickets online ahead of time! It will save you a ton of waiting. Also, the haunt was actually sold out the night that I went so I'm really glad i decided to I order the VIP tickets off of their site.

Summary

This haunt is incredibly fun. Great actors, scenes and concepts.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Flowerchild13 after attending on Friday, October 10, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We arrived at the fair grounds little later then planned so the line was a bit long but it seemed to go fast. There was a clown named sketchy with a chicken that one of the girls with us has to kiss. (Gross) we took our pics with him. There were guys with knives running around and a girl who sang us creepy songs. When we go to the front of the line we were rushed into cages and this crazy girl chased our friend around and then there were 3 monsters in the cage with us. The we were sent in a tunnel to enter the house the house looked differnt this year then in years past. The next two were like fun houses we had a really great time

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by emistele after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is my third year going to The Wisconsin Fear Grounds. I was brought again by my friends after a totally scary trip last year being chased clowns.
They did something really cool at the beginning this year. So we didn't have to be outside in the cold, they put us in these cage things (don't worry, there are actors there too), and then they send us in this long hallway before going into the first house, it was a really nice way to keep us warm(er).
It was totally worth the wait!
The actors this year were really fun, they interacted a lot with me this year...although it might be because I wasn't buried in my friends shoulder this year. However, there were still awesome scares, they get me every time. I mean EVERY TIME!
Really fun group time, I will come back again next year for sure to see what new things they will have going on!

Summary

Great houses with great themes! Will come back again and again!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Very High

Review

An abandoned warehouse in a dark deserted district in downtown Racine is where you'll find the Factory of Fear. While the once thriving business that inhabited it's walls is now dead and gone the spirits that inhabit this place are certainly not gone...and they've been busy...very busy manufacturing fear!

I was pleasantly surprised (literally) with my tour of the Factory of Fear. Comprised of two haunts, Devil's Nightmare and Blind Madness, this haunted attraction did not disappoint when it came to manufacturing fear. The first haunt, Devil's Nightmare, starts with a long climb up a cold and creepy stairway where you encounter a thick steel door...which no doubt is all that keeps the madness that lurks within this warehouse from escaping. Comprised of a mixture of dark corridors, cleverly crafted rooms with gruesome detail and a small army of masterfully made-up monsters, the Devil's Nightmare delivered one of the scariest journeys I've experienced this year. (...which at this time numbers 9 different haunts...) While some of the rooms portrayed themes similar to a few popular horror movies I was very pleasantly surprised by the creatively portrayed in a few of the scares.

The second haunt, Blind Madness, contains a creative mix of pitch black darkness and extreme lighting effects combined with a few skillfully positioned ghouls to provide a unique sense of fear. While the pitch black corridors of this haunt aren't over the top with regards to complexity the visual effects of Blind Madness haunt provided for a very unique experience.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Be sure to study your maps or set your navigation system prior to traveling to Factory of Fear. There were no signs leading me too this haunt from the north (Hwy 38/Marquette St.) which also brings you to the backside of this haunt that also did not contain any signage. This haunt is a lot more visible from 6th Street.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Tickets are purchased in front of the warehouse along 6th Street. While the ticket window is outside in the elements the waiting area located is located on the loading dock found behind the warehouse on Water St. While there was no entertainment for our lengthy wait there was an occasional visit by a creepy clown.

Actors' Performance


Skilled and effectively positioned the actors were successful in surprising me on several occasions.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Not the most high tech haunt I've toured this year but very effective in its use of the technology, props and set design to manufacture some great scares.

Length


Took my group 11 minutes to complete our tour through Devil's Nightmare and 5 minutes to complete the tour through Blind Madness.

Crowd Control


The waiting line meandered through the loading dock area without any real form or structure...perhaps the most disorganized haunt I've visited in terms of the waiting line. Arrive early and avoid any waiting line madness.

Most Memorable Moment


I'm not sure it had a name...but when I saw what appeared to be a 20ft creature looming over me I knew I wouldn't soon forget how shocked I was to see it!

Summary

Comprised of two haunts, Devil's Nightmare and Blind Madness, this haunted attraction did not disappoint when it came to manufacturing fear. Perhaps not appropriate for younger haunt goers, the creativity showcased by the Factory of Fear is definitely worth checking out for those who are looking to spice up their evening with a little fear.

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

A fairly new haunted attraction to southeast Wisconsin, the Hill Has Eyes, formed back in 2012, is an expansive outdoor haunted complex. This was my very first visit to this attraction and the trip certainly did not disappoint. The Hill Has Eyes welcomes you with a large tent, 2 bonfires, an audio/visual display, and (for the adults) a beer tent. The music is playing is heavy rock and accompanies the video playing on the big screen. Everything about this attraction's meeting area puts you in the mood for a fun time. Although there were no actors, at the time, prowling around the ticket line, the wait was no less interesting or fun. Due to time constraints I opted for the attraction's VIP pass (a $35 value that goes up as the season progresses). Spoiler Alert: This pass was well worth it and you will soon know why. So that being said this attraction makes a great first impression at the start. Let's dive into the meat of this haunt.

The Hill Has Eyes includes 5 attractions and each one varies from the other WHILE maintaining the theme of the haunt (check out their website) throughout the entire attraction.

Hooded
Hooded is the very first part of the attraction. When I came to the haunt I had to sign a wavier. This is a legit wavier as this is an expansive attraction that has many different components compared to other attractions of similar size. Part of that wavier advises you that you will be 'hooded' for the first part of the attraction. This is no joke. Before you enter the haunt you are required to put a black bag over your head and grasp onto a rope that runs along the trail route. All the while that you have a bag over your head and you are following a rope, the drill instructors will give you some "encouragement" and things will go bump in the night around you. A very interesting concept to a haunted attraction that pays dividends right out of the gate. Enjoy the sensory deprivation and let the attraction's actors do what they do best. You won't be disappointed.

Failed Escape
Following Hooded you get the chance to take a break at another common area that has a beer stand and a bonfire. Once you have your wits about you after the Hooded experience, Failed Escape will introduce you to the "storyline" of the Hill Has Eyes. In this area you follow a backwoods trail that leads you through trailer homes, abandoned vehicles, and dilapidated structures. All the while you will be stalked by the area's "residents". With some top notch animatronics, props, and acting, you will feel as if the title to the attraction is actually true. This a thrill ride for both your eyes as well as your nerves.

Hunger Hollow
You exit Failed Escape into the same common area you started. Again you are given the chance to warm-up by the bonfire and grab a brewsky. Once you are ready you can enter Hunger Hollow. This attraction is Failed Escape's bigger and badder brother. Again you will be overwhelmed by the amount of detail in the scenery. With great design comes great scares, and no other attraction that I have been to has proved this better than Hunger Hollow. Take your time, enjoy the sights, the monsters inhabiting the location love to play with their food. A woman that I was walking with during this trip put it best by saying, "this is like a roller-coaster". How true that line was. The Hills Has Eyes does an excellent job of pacing which allows you to have a "full" experience of the haunt versus being either really bored or overly scared. Hunger Hollow is indeed a roller-coaster ride.

Scare Lift
After you make it out of Hunger Hollow (if you haven't already turned tail and run) you come to the Scare Lift. In all honesty this is the most subdued attraction of the haunt but is creepy and disturbing in its own right. You will board an old ski lift that will take you to the top of the hill. All the while that you are suspended, there is nothing but darkness around you and the sounds of screams in the background. Although this lift may appear relaxing, don't get too relaxed, you aren't done yet.

Carnivore: The Devil's Carnival
Do clowns or carnies freak you out? Well then you are in for one final ride. Although smaller than Failed Escape and Hunger Hollow, Carnivore is a fun attraction using the twisted carnival theme. Even if you aren't scared by such a theme, the actors positioned there still do a good job of eliciting a scream or to. Watch the freak show and enjoy....just don't stay to long.. although they are just circus freaks they're still kin to the monsters you escaped earlier.

Length


Even with the VIP pass, which allowed me to pass-up the lines, the whole attraction, from start to finish is (wait for it) 1.5 hours long. The best part of that 1.5 hours? No second or minute of this attraction was boring. There are haunts that are shorter that charge just as much.

Summary

So my final thoughts on the Hill Has Eyes...No matter what entrance fee you pay (the basic or the VIP), every cent is worth it! Not only does the Hill Has Eyes have excellent pacing, strong actors, great scenes, and impressive animatronics and effects, but it feels really free. You can decide when you go on to the next line. If you want to hang by the fire for awhile, by all means. Sometimes it is just fun to watch as other people get scared. There in also lies there other great benefit to this haunt besides what I mentioned above....this haunted attraction is FUN! The Hill Has Eyes has to be, hands down, the most fun I have had at a haunted house to date (for the record I've reviewed 10 haunted house for HW and visited loads more). Even if you have the "tough guy" mentality, and believe nothing scares you, something WILL make you jump at this haunt...guaranteed. If not, well the fun you experience will still be worth your time and money. A shout out to all the actors and crew at the Hills Has Eyes...great job guys... you are MORE than deserving of the Best Haunt in the Milwaukee Area.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by creep after attending on Thursday, October 9, 2014 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This was my first time ever attending The Hill Has Eyes and I must say I was pleased with my visit. This is only the haunt's third year in operation and what they've done with those three years is pretty impressive.

First of all, Hill Has Eyes crew, you need signage on the road at the bottom of the hill directing people to the top - it was very confusing with baseball games going on to know exactly where to go. Once at the top of the hill and parked, however, the environment sets the mood right away... for the most part - a lot of bright lights far away that were confusing, but made sense later on.

The attraction starts with "Hooded" which is a really interesting idea and could really build anxiety if it was done properly. Essentially, you place a black hood over your head and walk down the hill by yourself to the rest of the attraction (oh, and you need to sign a waiver before doing this) with only your hand on a rope to guide you. At first, it was unsettling walking by yourself like this, but there were a few things I didn't like: 1- my hand kept hitting the wooden poles holding the rope; that started to hurt. 2- you walked for a long time without anything happening, so I got used to it and it was no longer unsettling. 3- scares were attempted, but failed because I could hear actors walking on the gravel. And 4- there was no ending to it.... just "take the hoods off and move on." Oh, and what was with the military? Didn't match anything else at the event.... but, nonetheless, a very cool idea and nice way to start the haunt.

After Hooded, you come upon an open area with a fire pit and what would normally be a bar on busy nights. What was cool about this, was you had time to do the 2 following trails as you pleased, having time to sit at the fire and take a break before or in between the trails. Nice touch!!

The first of the two trails started off amazing. It was a junkyard scene with cars everywhere and actors with masks looking like they were from "The Strangers." What I noticed about this haunt right away, was how raw the environments were. There wasn't anything fancy about the trails, but you were in dark woods with junk and crazy people everywhere which in it of itself is creepy. The first trail had a few good memorable places and really good jump scares, but one thing I didn't understand was the story line... There were several actors claiming it was "their land" and random actors saying they needed help and they were trapped... but I never understood why because my life or safety never felt endangered. It never felt like someone was going to take me and put me with them. Nonetheless, good scares and a good first trail.

The second trail was easily my favorite of the night. Jump scares left and right. It's hard to get me, but this was the trail that made me jump at least twice. As for the two people with me, they were screaming and laughing all over the place. At one point in particular, an actor with a boom stick had my buddy dancing he was jumping around so scared, great job there! The only thing that concerned me about trail #2 was certain points where I couldn't see anything on very hazardous terrain. I remember there being some steps that were unlit that could be very dangerous. But despite that, this trail was great. Again, they used the environment to their advantage. The ending of the trail, which I imagine was some kind of satanic cult ritual was really nifty... but it seemed empty. I think they need to expand on this idea (oh, and they should probably finish the facade so I'm not looking at 2x4's with the tags still on them...). But it was a nice setup for the next attraction -

The scare lift. Really cool and yet there wasn't anything to it. It's literally a really old ski lift and the entrance platform is surrounded by black tarp and red lights inside. I would do a better job of covering up the mechanism on the demon animatronic, but the area made you question whether or not to go on. The actors were handing out fliers explaining the ghost story behind the scare lift (as well as coupons to the bar) which would have been nice to read while waiting in line on busy nights - but we didn't have to wait so we got right on and read later. The lift itself, nothing happened. You just went up a ski lift. This is where the bright lights I mentioned earlier comes into play - the ski lift lights were on. I'm sure they have to be, but it would have been cool to ride in the dark.

Finally, we got to the Carnivore satans carnival end thing.... which was a huge let down. There was no point to this and it was done so poorly, which is a shame cause it had the right ingredients, but whoever runs this part isn't doing their job right. There was nothing psychotic or carnivoristic about this trail. Nothing. There was one actor who said she was going to play darts with my face as the target that even remotely matched the theme. The slide was fun, and might I say the teddy bear at the end of it was hilarious. They had a claustrophobia as your "anal exam" which, while funny, 1 - doesn't make any sense in a carnival, and 2- it was in the middle of the trail with nothing before or after it... it was totally random. The finale of the carnival was what I believe to be a sideshow with several booths setup. I could tell they were short staffed, but there wasn't anything going on. None of the actors were aggressive, I couldn't read any signs, and the sideshow only took about 30 seconds to walk through. To top it all off, they relied on a clown with a chainsaw as the final scare... how many times has THAT been done.... Not every haunted attraction needs clowns... this carnival doesn't work, so find a better way to end your attraction.

Summary

I think the Hill Has Eyes will continue to improve and even this year I would absolutely recommend checking it out. Even though the carnival was an awful way to end. the rest of it was just pure Halloween haunted trail fun with lots of scares along the way. I must say, though, this is absolutely an adult attraction. Actors didn't appear to have any rules about cussing and the F-bomb was flying all over the place. Not to mention alcohol can be purchased at several locations.

If you can, visit on a Thursday where admission is only $25. The price goes up on Fridays and Saturdays and I think $25 for about an hour of trails is my top dollar on this one. Overall though, a very fun place to go this Halloween season.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Forest of Freaks

by Csmith after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I arrived later than I wanted and the place was packed, so I opted for there fast pass or whatever they call it, I really appreciate places that offer this as I hate waiting ,I use it at great America to! The place was cool it was like getting thrown into a slasher horror film in the woods lots of different scenes something scary for everyone kinda deal, and it was really long it took the better part of an hour to get through glad I dressed warm! Our group had a good time!

Summary

Entertaining, really long better but I did get lost lol!

View all Forest of Freaks reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Forest of Freaks

by MatthewThompson after attending on Tuesday, October 14, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Really great walk through the woods with a bunch of freaks around a lot of fun

View all Forest of Freaks reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Youth Go's Haunted House

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 10, 2014 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Fun & Nicely Done! While this isn't the scariest haunt I've visited it most certainly offers a ghoulishly great time...especially for younger haunt goers. Despite the kid appropriate scares here adults will definitely enjoy the clever room layouts and polished performances of the ghouls. Neenah's Most Haunted is in its 29th year and the 5th year of the last 6 that I've visit this haunt. Each year I've been pleasantly surprised by the improvements and the superb job the young actors do portraying their roles. The years of experience are definitely evident in the creative room and hallway layouts, the elaborate detail found in many of the rooms and the articulately dressed and skillfully positioned ghouls. Perhaps the most noteworthy aspect of this haunt for adult haunt goers is the maze that awaits. While dark and potentially frustrating it certainly provides a uniquely chilling experience.

Signage / Visibility / Location


While there may not have been much in the way of signage to lead you to this haunt the location and visibility of the venue from the street make it very easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Come dressed for the elements as the wait line is outside. A few costumed actors roam the parking lot and waiting line to help build your anticipation.

Actors' Performance


Nicely done! The actors may have been youthful but their enthusiasm and ghoulish roles made their performances very enjoyable.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Elaborate set designs and secret passage ways make for a very visually stimulating experience. While this haunt may not have the big FX effects and props as some of the other venues the attention to detail and execution of each rooms theme more than make up for it.

Length


Took our group 15 minutes to complete our adventure.

Crowd Control


The waiting line was clearly roped off...but there was no line when my group attended this haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


Quite a few rooms standout....I particularly enjoyed the labyrinth of exquisitely decorated rooms connected by trick walls and confusing corridors.

Summary

Of all the haunts I've toured Neenah's Most Haunted did the best job of providing a ghoulishly fun time for haunt goers of all ages. While the scares here are definitely kid appropriate, adults will definitely enjoy the clever room layouts and polished performances of the ghouls.

View all Youth Go's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Robinson90 after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Omg this place has completely stepped it up this year!
I've been going here every year for the last several years, they always put on a good show! But they are really rockin it this year! Definitely worth the time and money. You can get coupons or an early bird special and get an even better deal for all 3 houses.

Summary

Had so much fun, they got me good a few times

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

New location...same great scares! I don't think I've ever been to a haunt and found myself marveling at how comfortably warm the rooms were. While the ticket line leaves you exposed to the elements the waiting area and both haunts are located in the heated confines of an abandoned Kmart...which I heard rumors was forced to relocate when demons which now lurk within moved in. The animatronic intro at Hauntfest is absolutely amazing and looks like the high tech marvels you see at theme parks like Disney.

Hauntfest is comprised of two haunts. The main attraction, "The Realm", starts with a wicked elevator ride that completely disorientates you prior to spitting you out and sending you along a dark maze of pitch black corridors and dimly lit rooms. Haunt goers who appreciate elaborate set designs with gruesome details will not be disappointed. Be warned though, over indulging in the visual treats will leave you susceptible to the ghouls who enjoy jumping out at you when you're not paying attention. While this year's edition of Hauntfest had several new twists and scares a few of the traditional favorites have survived the move...most notably the chain link fence and circus tent mazes. The second attraction, "The Big Top" features a circus like atmosphere consisting of a maze colorfully decorated corridors and energetic performers who are bent on not only scaring you but totally creeping you out.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Be sure to study your maps or set your navigation system prior to traveling to Hauntfest. There are no signs leading you too this haunt and the sign at the haunt is not on Hwy 100. The signs for Halloween Express which is located in the same building are a lot easier to see.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Tickets are purchased outside in the elements but the waiting area is located in the loading dock area of the old Kmart. A large video screen and sound system keep you entertained with music videos while you wait.

Actors' Performance


Energized and Effective! The actors may not be winning any Academy awards but they certainly had an abundance of enthusiasm and desire to provide a frightful time for you.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The animatronic intro to this haunt is amazing! Everything else pales in comparison but is comparable to what most other haunts showcase.

Length


Took our group 15 minutes to complete our tour through The Realm and 4 minutes to complete our tour through the Big Top.

Crowd Control


The waiting line was clearly roped off...but there was no line when my group attended this haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


I particularly enjoyed the twist that awaited with year's chain link fence maze...

Summary

New Location...same great scares! Quite possibly the most comfortable haunted adventure I've ever embarked on. Appropriate for all ages and themes to satisfy just about everyone's haunted hunger.

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 10, 2014 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Tantalizingly Terrifying & Fantastically Frightful!! If you've never been to the Burial Chamber complex prepare yourself! The sheer size of this complex is quite impressive and what lurks inside will take your breath away. 2014 was my actually my 5th visit to Burial Chamber in the past 6 seasons. (I do believe this is Burial Chambers 6th season...) Over the past 6 years as a Review Crew Member I've been to many of the haunts in Wisconsin and I've yet to find one as massive as Burial Chamber...or as talented at terrorizing you.

Of course for all you Haunt Connoisseurs out there I don't have to tell you that it's not always the size of the haunt that matters. When it comes to Burial Chamber, not only is this complex well endowed, it employs an amazing arsenal of creeped out corridors, crazy creatures and good ole' fashioned in your face scares to maximize your ghoulish gratification.

Burial Chamber features two indoor haunts (Adrenalin and Insanity) that reside side by side and one (Phobia) that's outside. The layout of Adrenalin and Insanity are similar in that they are both comprised of a seemingly endless maze of cleverly crafted corridors consisting of a variety of themes. The journey through both Adrenalin and Insanity progresses continuously without stoppages for elaborate skits. Rooms here are more like themed corridors than rooms and your pace through these haunts are determined more by how quickly you walk than it is by the creatures lurking in the shadows.

Adrenalin
Consistent with prior years, the pace of Adrenalin is fast and furious as the ghouls are unrelenting in their quest to scare each and every visitor regardless of their position within a group. Yes, you read that correctly...you will be terrorized regardless of your position in your group as there is no place to hide from the menacing monsters lurking throughout the haunt. The lighting of Adrenalin is noticeably darker than Insanity but there was always just enough light for you to find your way without the worry of walking into a wall. The maze of dimly lit hallways of Adrenalin did an exceptional job of building my anticipation of the scares that await but unfortunately made it challenging for the true haunt connoisseur in me to appreciate how elaborate the sets and creatures were. Nonetheless, if you're looking for a good scare to get your heart dancing like Dracula's Discotheque Adrenalin will get the job done!

Insanity
Insanity on the other hand left little to the imagination. Sets were lit effectively...dim enough to encourage you to keep your scare guard up but light enough so that you could appreciate the amazing attention to detail with the sets and costumed actors. There were fewer creatures lurking in the shadows of Insanity but enough to make you jump occasionally. Gore and special effects were plentiful with several visual abominations that will torment your mind long after your exit. Lazer lighting, black lit rooms, a vortex, strobe lights, and trick floor were just a few of the visual stimuli Insanity offered up.

Phobia
Unlike Adrenalin and Insanity, Phobia resides completely outside and features a terrifying tour through the woods along with occasional petrifying passages through eerie dwellings found along the way. Rustling brush and sinister sounds heighten your anticipation of what’s to come as you proceed along a moon lit path. Similar to Adrenalin, the monsters in Phobia were menacing, highly motivated and acrobatic doing an exceptional job of appearing out of nowhere to scare each and every member the tour group regardless of position.

Consistent with prior years, I find it challenging to pick a clear-cut favorite out of Burial Chambers 3 haunted attractions. By far Adrenalin was the most terrifying while Insanity offers an amazing visual experience. Of the 8 haunted attractions I.ve been to this year Burial Chamber has my vote as the scariest most terrifying attraction!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find as it’s just a couple minutes from Hwy 41. The sheer size of this complex combined with several parking attendants flagging you into the parking lot make it nearly impossible to miss this place.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Come dressed for the elements as the wait lines for Adrenalin, Insanity and Phobia are all outside. Two large screens outside of Adrenalin and Insanity along with a few costumed actors help to build your anticipation. There's also a snack wagon parked out back to help satisfy your cravings for munchies.

Actors' Performance


The actors were very skilled at providing quick and unexpected scares. Nothing noteworthy in terms of an academy award type performance...but in their defense these haunts weren't designed to provide an opportunity for a theatrical display. Occasionally the actors would flash a performance that may creep you out.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Brilliant use of shadows and dimly lit hallways/rooms to maximize scare and creep factor. Set designs were very effective in immersing you into the theme of the haunt. Not the most elaborate set designs I've seen but definitely better than the average haunt. Enjoyed some of the unique concepts and special effects. Trick floors, falling ceilings, vibrating walls, tripped out lazer lights...there's a little bit of everything to keep you on your toes. I particularly enjoyed the cleverly laid out lab maze in Adrenalin and the bloody pig pen found in Insanity.

Length


Took our group 19 minutes to complete Adrenalin, 16 minutes for Insanity and 14 minutes for Phobia.

Crowd Control


Waiting lines for both Adrenalin and Insanity were clearly marked off along with the separate VIP lines.

Most Memorable Moment


Several great scares....the bloody pig pen in Insanity was totally insane!

Summary

If you're looking for a totally terrifying experience this Halloween look no further than Burial Chamber. Minute for minute Burial Chamber's Adrenalin and Insanity haunts provide more scare opportunities than any other haunt I've attended. Adrenalin's scares come early and often while Insanity showcases more gore and visual effects but still provides plenty of scare opportunities. For those who thirst for more thrills Phobia offers even more horrific haunted mayhem.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by wuzznme1 after attending on Sunday, October 12, 2014 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

A group of us drove up from the Chicago suburbs again this year...once again some people in our group definitely got enough scare for their buck! This year they brought these cage/horse stall things back and they creepers start coming at you. We got there on the earlier side for us but the screams you heard while waiting in line had some of our group wondering what we were in for once we actually get inside.

Morgan Manor, the first house, always seems to have a different set up and you never know what (or who) to expect around each terrifying turn.

Then it was on to a modified Carnevil...last year it was just a bunch of circus freaks and this year it was that with a mixture of an atmosphere from a couple of years ago...only MUCH more amped up. If you don't like clowns be forewarned that they are back and more evil then ever...but I LOVED it!

As for Blackout...there are no words. You just have to experience it for yourself.

Summary

Once again the group at the Wisconsin Feargrounds do NOT disappoint. Already can't wait to see what they have in store for next season.

If you are short on time look at their online deal.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by webmistress after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds is the only haunted house I'll ever go to! Lots of fun, scares around every corner, great acting & employees, and takes just the right amount of time to finish the houses! The owner of this is also an awesome person and contributes to making this haunted house #1!

Summary

10/10 would recommend this haunted house.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Evilhill Haunted House - CLOSED -

by marci.peloquin after attending on Saturday, October 11, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

For the small price of $5 this was a highly entertaining haunt. The props, staged scenes, and actors were great. I loved that they were not allowed to touch. Lots of great scenes, haunt took about 45 mins to go through. I was impressed and so was my 12 year old son, check out this great haunt.

View all Evilhill Haunted House - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 17th, 2019 6:37 p.m. CDT 1.12