ad-header-top

2014 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

112 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Pella's "Old Mill" Haunted Park

by mike.michonski after attending on Thursday, October 30, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is the haunt to see. They have scares that no other haunt has. Best part you pay what it was worth to you after you go threw so you have nothing to loose!

View all Pella's "Old Mill" Haunted Park reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by paulwallinger after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This place is just awesome. Word must have gotten out because there was plenty of people there. But they interact with you while in line which made the time fly. The houses were great, the actors scared my wife a bunch of times. I will admit, they did get me too.

I did go here last year and I heard they changed things around. I was glad to see that they just did not do the same old thing as last year. I am now looking forward to next year.

Summary

Just have to go, you won't be disappointed.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by margot.lange after attending on Friday, October 24, 2014 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is by far the best haunted house I have been to all year! Quick lines, awesome decorations, and really spooky! I'll definitely be going again!

Summary

Must visit for haunted house fans!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High presents Dark Carnival

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2014 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The final stop on my tour of haunts this year was Haunted High presents Dark Carnival. Now in its second season of their new location, Haunted High has completely shed the school gimmick and has chosen to go for more of the straightforward haunted house angle. I hold Haunted High near and dear to my heart. As an educator I absolutely love that this haunt is put on as a fundraiser for the Oconomowoc School District, and as far as I could tell, the volunteers were young, probably students as well. Of the haunts I went to this year, Dark Carnival was the most reasonably priced. Tickets are $15 for regular admission, or you can bypass the line like we did for $23 with a fast pass. If you opt for the regular admission, expect to wait around an hour to enter the haunt, with the fast pass we were in within five minutes. Dark Carnival relies on darkness and misdirection to confuse you, to a fault at times as we went the wrong way a few times and had to circle around once and had to go though a backstage area that completely ruined the illusion. We weren’t the only ones that this happened to, it happened to the people in front of us also. Dark Carnival has some of the most interactive actors in the area! These kids engaged us, from “forcing” us into areas, to squirting me in the face with a water gun, to many other fun frights, these ghouls are a blast! Dark Carnival also has a few terrain effects that make walking more difficult; which is always fun in a haunt! Anything that messes with my equilibrium I’m all for! Dark Carnival also uses a lot of motion activated sensors, so be prepared to be startled! Unfortunately there is one down side to Dark Carnival, and it is that there does seem to be a lack of space. Of the haunts I went to this season, this was the shortest one. With that being said, I still love Haunted High because of the fund raising aspect. I really like the hard work and dedication that the staff and kids put into this haunt, you can tell that they give it their all, and they are all so very nice when you chat with them. Haunted High presents Dark Carnival is a reasonably priced haunt that will deliver giant screams!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Dark Carnival is on a main street, in what I believe is downtown Oconomowoc. There is a giant banner and a tent that announce that you are at Dark Carnival!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The line area in covered by a giant tent, there were no ghosts or ghouls roaming when we were there, but I recall some in the past, so we may have come at a bad time.

Actors' Performance


The actors are the best here! Engaging and fun! They deserve an award!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Dark Carnival is dark, just like the name suggests, but when it's not the sets are awesome! I don't know if the students have a hand in decorating, but if they do, bravo! Lots of motion sensors in here.

Length


We were in there about 20 minutes. We wished it could have been longer.

Crowd Control


The lines outside were well controlled. If you have read any of my other reviews you know I hate when we catch up to other groups. They had an actor inside asking if we were part of the group that we caught up too! it was great! She held us up so we were our own group again! That's crowd control!

Most Memorable Moment


Zombie Yard!

Summary

Dark Carnival is truly a terrifying haunt that turns out the lights, and startles your senses! For the price, it's one of the best haunt around!

View all Haunted High presents Dark Carnival reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Hollow

by heidi.m.erstad after attending on Tuesday, October 28, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

We had a carload of 13 year old girls who screamed and laughed. They were startled by the live action. It was worth our drive. Thanks!

View all Haunted Hollow reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Lair Of Souls

by heidi.m.erstad after attending on Tuesday, October 28, 2014 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

No lights were on. It wasn't "open" and it said it would be. Frustrating to have a carload of kids, a long drive, and nothing to see.

View all Lair Of Souls reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by scaretactics1011 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

All I can say is OH MY GOD! I go through haunted houses every year and I always get bored because it's very hard to scare me. However, this year I thought I'd try out the Wisconsin Feargrounds. It was absolutely phenomenal! It all started when I got in line. They had actors throughout the line that were pretty impressive. They ended scaring people so bad that they didn't even want to go into the first house. The one that got me the most was the weird dude with dredds. He was crawling all over the cages, and at one point the dredds were in my girlfriend's face and she screamed bloody murder. Which was hilarious!
We got to the front and started walking into the first house, Morgan Manor, when I realized I was in for a treat. Walking through I saw many cool features and laughed so hard every time my girlfriend screamed. I had gotten to this hallway of bodies hanging from the ceiling. I was waiting for someone to be in them, however no one was. So i continued to walk into a room with a table with people sitting around eating. I start walking in when some guy on the opposite side of the room said "come on in". I was paying more attention to this guy who was in a jumpsuit while walking around the table. This chick came out of no where and growled in my ear so damn loud that I screamed and backed up behind my group. My entire group laughed at me until she did it again and then everyone started running from her room which led into a torture chamber bathroom; where this guy started cracking bathroom jokes. The one that got me was "it smells like someone left me a gift, was it you sir? did you pee yourself in the other room and decide to leave the smell here?" I laughed. I then went through the rest of the house going right into an indoor garden (as it seemed). This chick started making fun of me n my group making funny side remarks, and then she was gone and replaced by a guy who made me jump. We were talking to this guy for a good 30 seconds and when we turned around, the chick was right in front of our faces. Again, I screamed like a little girl! So far this haunted house was better than any I've been through.
We waited for about a minute it seemed, waiting to get into the next house Carnevil, emphasis on EVIL. Walking in, I was instantly reminded of my childhood. The atmosphere was definitely there. I got to this room where is was pitch black and there were these tubes hanging from the ceiling. I couldn't find my way thru this God forsaken room. I ran into the walls so many times and then finally this creepy white haired clown made fun of us and showed us the way out. From clowns to dark spaces, I was feeling a bit creeped out. We got to the end and then some weird woman who called herself Eleanor, was ranting off about how much she wants to be accepted, and then she got up into my face and said maybe if I bring you to Morgana, I will finally be loved by her. To me, Carnevil was absolutely hilarious and fun! After getting out of there, we waited in line for the third and final house, Blackout.
This house was trippy. We were hooded at the beginning and as we walked through, many things happened in which caused me to jump. I don't want to give it all away because then it would take the element of creepiness from the third house!

Summary

All in all, this was an awesome experience and I will definitely be going back. This haunted house deserved 10 stars and deserves to be #1. After all the haunted houses I've gone to, the Wisconsin Feargrounds is BY FAR THE BEST!!! I may come back this weekend again just because it was 100% worth it.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by carcrazygrrl after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We had so much fun at this place. We arrived and the people walking among us in line were awesome and creepy. There are three houses and the first one was great several unexpected scares. The second one was really creepy because I totally am creeped out by clowns. The third one wow they put a bag over your head and mess with you before you even go in the house. It was an great time I think one of my girlfirends peed her pants a bit.

Summary

Great time and if you drink before wear depends LOL

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Cobwebb after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Creeeeeeeepy! Went with all my friends and had a great time. It was really a toss up for our group..some have seen it before and were disappointed but I've been to this before and thought it was always good. In the end all agreed we were all glad we went over to the expo. Loved seeing them chase my friend around who hates clowns hahahaha.

Summary

Go check it out, from the beginning to the end we had a fun night!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Lang Family House of Terror

by jill.mundoncarlsen after attending on Monday, October 27, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Best house EVER and for a great cause. Loved it.

View all Lang Family House of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by Connie after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2014 at about 11:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Love it! !!! The special effects the element of surprise the entire package is awesome. These people really go all out to scare the crap out of you. If your into gore you will get a long lasting surprise

Summary

The best haunt hands down. Wear you big girl/boy panties/shorts because you'll need them. PLEASE TAKE ALL THE WARNINGS THEY HAVE POSTED SERIOUSLY! ! Someone didn't and payed the price!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by Connie after attending on Sunday, October 26, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I was so disappointed! ! There were very little changes from the years past. Some were identical so you often knew what was going to happen next. The parts they did change had really no fear factor to them. They also pushed us through to close to the group ahead. At one point 3 groups all jammed up ....it was a mess. I wil be skipping the hour plus drive for the next few years in the hopes they can get their creative heads together an come up with new ideas.

Summary

Splatter house was my favorite for years but not anymore.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by richrieko after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Me and my group go to a lot of haunted houses. We all look forward to when we get to go to the feargrounds. There is always great actors and props.They get better every year. If you only plan on visiting one haunted house this year this must be the one. Love it love it love it

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by MJM49353 after attending on Sunday, October 26, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I'd like to end on a high note for this review because I really did enjoy myself, so I'm going to start with the negatives. I loved that I could get my tickets cheaper online for Dr. Scary's Haunted House. I went on my computer & first tried to figure out how I was going to prove to the staff that I purchased my tickets online. I couldn't find anything that said I would either have to print my tickets, show them a confirmation e-mail, etc. I DON'T HAVE A PRINTER. So with this day & age I figured all I'd have to do is bring it up on my phone once we got there. I go through my ENTIRE purchase & then it tells me I have to print my tickets! I was beyond pissed. So I'm scrambling, trying to figure out who I can call to go on my e-mail & walk them through everything that they'd have to do. I decided on my mother. Walking her through step by step what she had to do to print these tickets was no easy task. If you ever meet my mother you wouldn't want here anywhere near a computer! 10 agonizing minutes later she says they have printed & look acceptable. My family doesn't have a lot of money. We can barely afford to feed ourselves. The government probably considers us poverty. So please don't assume that everyone has a printer! This is not the first time not having a printer has bit me in the keester. My suggestion is: when people start their transaction online; it should be posted somewhere that you'll have to print your tickets. Not after the whole purchase is complete!
The second thing that was upsetting was waiting over 2 hours in line. Yes, I understand this is probably everywhere & being so close to Halloween it was super busy but after being on my feet for over 10 hours at work and then standing in line for over 2 hours... I was not a happy camper. It's probably inconceivable to have a bunch of chairs all lined up for people to sit but I believe someone should come up with some kind of idea to make your guests more comfortable or to speed up the line. I wouldn't have minded waiting an hour or an hour and a half but that's probably my limit. A "fast-pass" option is available, of course. But like I said before we couldn't afford it. When I come back next year I will definitely be purchasing a fast-pass. It IS worth it!
On to the endless list of positives: The prosthetics and make-up on these live actors were amazing! You could barely tell that it was fake. The first clown I saw looked very very real! I also loved how there was 4 or 5 actors scaring people while we were agonizingly waiting in line for so long. It brought on some amusement. I think the only suggestion I have for this area is: when you're waiting in line for THAT long you could have more actors walking around. It got a bit boring seeing the same ones over & over. The music and music videos that were playing were disappointing and cheesy. Right before entering, a woman informs you of everything she needs to tell you and she thanks you for waiting in line for so long. That meant a lot to me, she appreciated our pain just to see this attraction!
Inside the first house, Dungeons of Terror: AMAZING! Everything you would want out of a Haunted House is what you get when you walk into this place! Very scary, the actors were quit skilled. Their hearts were definitely in it! Spectacular, realistic props.There are a few key points that stick in my brain that I have to get out. The puffs of air down by your legs was very unexpected. The gargoyle in the beginning was one of my favorites. He/she did an excellent job. The barrels & the ceiling having the effect of falling on top of you was a VERY clever idea. The animated electronics were big & impressive. The certain smells of rotting/dead bodies was impactful. I also noticed that if a ton of guests were all kind of squished together the actors would stall us going into the next room to create more space between groups. Excellent job on that. The actors screaming in my face was exceptionally effective. The only suggestion I have is: everyone knows you go for the girls in the group to scare or the people in the middle. If you see a big guy coming in first or holding up the rear, scare that man and make him scream like a little girl! LOL :-)
Between attractions: a women talks to you about coming on here and voting for them for your favorite haunted house. She was very kind and informative. I liked the little surprise we got during her speech ;-) Walking over to the second house you have to wait in, yet, another line. This line is considerably shorter than the first. I believe we waited maybe 20 minutes. Another woman warns you of what you're going to experience. Again, very kind and informative.
Inside the second house, Pandemonium: strobe lights, loud music, dense fog, dead ends, people walking in all different directions. This one is designed to confuse you... it works! LOL. I suffer from vertigo, and I stayed in there probably longer than the average person because I couldn't find my way out, but I was fine. I didn't feel sick or dizzy even considering how powerful the strobes were. We actually lost a part of our group in this one, which added to the fun. I did notice the safety measures being taken with this particular attraction. There were countless members of the staff committed to the safety of every guest. My own little personal suggestion is: when walking thru that inflatable wall thing, I apologize for not knowing what it's called. If it's possible, some should grab your feet or your legs! When walking thru one of those, I'm always very aware that nothing is surrounding my feet. It would be delightful for actors to grab your ankles or something to that affect. Ultimately great job everyone that helped/participated/worked or had anything to do with Dr. Scary's Haunted House!

Summary

Too long of a wait in line is basically my only complaint, which is expected. Everything else was beyond what I had hoped for. I would definitely recommend to a friend and I WILL be coming back next year.

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by rachxtreme after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2014 at about 11 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Great special effects, cool sets, and the PanDEMONium part was super fun! We had a great time.

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 16th, 2019 5:02 a.m. CDT 1.10