ad-header-top

2014 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

112 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by christina.galvan.5 after attending on Thursday, October 23, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunted attraction was GREAT!!! My my favorite part was the zombies, and the clowns. It was kinda foggy although it was totally worth it!!! I recommend this place to everyone who likes to get a good scare that will make u have goosebumps!!!

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by travis.cleven after attending on Friday, October 24, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Wasn't scary, just boring. Needs more scarers and a lot scarier. Lame.

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

No longer the new kid in town, Abandoned Haunted House Complex returns for the 2014 haunt season. Abandoned is two haunts rolled into one, it will take you all of 30 minutes to complete this terror filled attraction. You have two options for tickets at Abandoned, general admission, which is $20, or $30 for a VIP ticket. The VIP area is covered and heated. I opted for this as it was cold and the wait was 2 minutes! The two-minute wait is not typical however, in years past I have waited roughly 30 minutes in the VIP line. If you opt for the General Admission line, expect to wait anywhere from 1-3 hours, depending on the night and time. Abandoned does exactly what you'd expect, they turn out the lights, but that's the only thing that's expected in this haunt! Abandoned hits you with sensory overload, from touch, to scent, sight, to sound!

Ambush
The two haunts are Ambush and Hysteria, the first of which, Ambush, is an in your face, loud at times, experience, with ghouls popping out, complete black outs, blinding lights, and complete unexpected fun!

Hysteria
Hysteria, the second haunt in the complex, features more of the stuff you would expect from a haunt, only amplified by eleven! Abandoned somehow figured out how to take dark rooms and make them seem darker and scarier! This haunt is really where the senses get taken for a ride. You are going to feel, see, smell, and touch things that are unlike anything you've experienced at any haunt before. All of this plus quite a few area of uneven terrain and vibrating floors and walls! Wow, like I said, sensory overload!

When I’m looking for a haunt, this is exactly what I’m looking for. Be prepared to move! This is by far the best haunt in the area. Do yourself a favor, check it out, you wont be disappointed!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Abandoned doesn't get much easier to find. It's right off of the I94, and there is a huge spot light illuminating the sky which you can see for miles. The words "ABANDONED HAUNTED HOUSE COMPLEX" are lit up on top of the building.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The line is behind the building itself. Ghouls roam the grounds spooking the patrons as you wait! There are some props around to look at also. The VIP area was nothing to write home about. It was a covered area with a Port-a-Potty in it! Pretty boring, but hey, $10 gets you heat!

Actors' Performance


The actors are top notch. Funny, scary, and dedicated. These actors aren't afraid to play around, which I love! At one point, a hand came down from the ceiling and stole my friends hat! How fun is that?

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Living one town over, I know when they start working on Abandoned, and I can imagine how much work they put into it. With that being said, the props and sets are phenomenal! It's like you're being transferred into another world. The budget must be scary!

Length


It took me 30 minutes door to door. Take your time, enjoy yourself!

Crowd Control


The crowds were lined up orderly, no problems outside. We kept running into the group ahead of us. I don't like running into groups, I feel like it ruins the surprise of what's ahead if I can hear their reaction. This was very frustrating, and we kept slowing down, but of course would just end up running into them again.

Most Memorable Moment


There were several, without giving too much away, one involved something icky and wet, and the other involved a real tight fit!

Summary

One of the newest haunts in the area, Abandoned Haunted House Complex is a juggernaut headed for the top. Every year it gets better, and every year it I say the same thing, check this haunt out, you won't be disappointed!

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Forest of Freaks

by brian.kepecz after attending on Friday, October 17, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

While visiting Janesville on a trip from Canada, we had the opportunity to attend the Forest of Freaks at the Edge paintball field. It was a scary treat for multiple senses. Dense fog, unlit rooms and dark woods all combined to give a strong sense of apprehension. The actors at the event ranged from eerily creepy to in your face scary. The walk through took just over an hour, and is well worth the money. Highly recommended!

View all Forest of Freaks reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by Kpuppet09 after attending on Friday, October 17, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

THIS IS AN AMAZING HAUNTED HOUSE. Or should I say Haunted Houses. It is $20 bucks for two haunts. The detail of the whole place is incredible. It also has tons of actors with all different abilities of scaring you. I seen a good amount of children in line, so Im assuming its child appropriate too. I am definitely recommending this to all my friends. Plus they have a food truck and a big projection screen for entertainment while waiting. Such a cool an experience.

Summary

This Should Be A Go-TO Haunted House For Everyone.

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by Bryan after attending on Wednesday, October 22, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

BEST HAUNTED HOUSE EVER! You really do a great job and it is nice to have security there, it gives you a sense of security!

Summary

AWESOME JOB!!

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by kkcrew24 after attending on Sunday, October 19, 2014 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wow!! All I can say. Really had a great time with my friends. First time here and was really excited to try a new place. I found my new favorite place. Recommend to anyone looking for a good scare.

Summary

Only cost 20 for 2 haunted houses. Took about 40 minutes to walk through. 5 out of a 5!

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by Chelsea after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dr. Scary's is not just your average haunted house. I always find myself clenching the hand of the person in front of me afraid for them to let me go and me to be left to fend for myself but this year i had to lead which was a new experience all on its own. All five of my senses were alive. Smelling and tasting the stench of death and fear around me. Seeing all the gore and the looks of horror on people faces as i pass. Hearing the blood curdling screams of others afraid for their lives. Touching the walls around me to try and find my way because the room is so dark i cant see my own hands in front of me. You walk in knowing that something is gonna scare you and that's the first thing you look for but its always in the complete opposite place where you would imagine. It's unlike anything i have ever experienced before and its a new experience every time.

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Ghost Boat: Season of the Witch

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Ghost Boat: Season of the Witch is a haunted attraction that is put on by the Wisconsin Dells Boat Tours company. The best way to describe this haunt is this your Dells Boat Tour, "after dark". If you want to get in on the action be aware that you have to reserve a seat with the Dells Boat Tour company in order to attend. The company offers various block times for you to arrive at the ticket office and subsequently board the boat. I reserved my seat for the 8:30PM time slot (the last tour of the night). Once I arrived at the ticket office (located right along the "main drag" of the Wisconsin Dells) and got my ticket, I was instructed to wait to board in the waiting area. The waiting area is cozy and has a Halloween themed video playing over the suspended TV screens. There was some décor but minus that, there was no other entertainment or things to do. We began to board the boat to start the adventure around 8:50PM.

Now you may be thinking, "Ah a haunted boat ride...that's unique...". Unfortunately, I have to report that the 35min boat ride (to the actual attraction location) is essentially a stripped down version of the daytime boat tours. There are no scares on the boat, actors, or other entertainment save for a pre-recorded soundtrack that details a story of a witch that used to roam the woods of the Dells. Make sure you dress for the weather. With no actors or scares and a long boat ride, you will get cold on a fall night very quickly (I know I did).

The boat will take you to one of the tourist stops on the daytime boat tour...Witch's Gulch - one of the area's legendary caverns. This is where the actual haunted attraction is located. Once you disembark the boat you walk through the cavern as a large group (i.e. everyone on the boat, which is approximately 35+ people). Laced throughout the cavern are appropriate haunted house props and of course, the actors. There are only a few actual "scenes" set-up in the cavern. As you walk through, guided only by Tiki torches, the ghouls of the night come out from all areas along the winding boardwalk. It was difficult to really enjoy the full experience due to being in a mass of people and having been an actor myself I also understand how difficult it is to scare such a large group.

After you get to the other end of cavern, you come to a clearing where you can buy refreshments and food from the tour stand. Once you buy what you want (or not) you head back through the cavern and back towards the boat. This is where the cavern attraction got fun. Now the Tiki torches have been extinguished, and you are split up into small groups. You can only navigate the path by feeling for the railings. At this point the actors excelled at their job. They used every available advantage they had to create a very harrowing experience and some quality scares. There were even scares that were done that I thought could only be accomplished with plenty of space. The walk back was the definitely the best part of the entire trip.

Once you make it back through the cavern you board the boat for another 35min cruise back to the boathouse. Here you better make sure you have some warmth because this time there is no entertainment whatsoever, not even a soundtrack (so make sure you bundle up and buy some hot cocoa at the tour stand). Once you're back a the boathouse that is it...you've experienced the Wisconsin Dells in a brand new way.

Actors' Performance


I give mad props to the actors at this attraction. You are given a very limited time AND space to accomplish what other haunts do over a greater distance and time. Bravo on providing a very fun way of experiencing a Dells landmark.

Length


All together the haunt was approximately 1.5 hours long. I must note, however, the ACTUAL haunted attraction portion is only about 15 to 20 minutes long roundtrip (i.e. you get to the tour stand and turn right back around). The rest of the time is the boat ride there and back.

Crowd Control


I was let down that the first time through was so congested with no pacing what-so-ever. Just do your level best to enjoy the cavern. Don't expect to get scared during the first walk through.

Most Memorable Moment


A chainsaw in Witch's Gulch?....yes please.

Summary

For those of you (I would consider myself as such) that want to get right into the scares and the experience once you are at the start of the attraction, I would not recommend this attraction. If, however, you like creepy stories and tours, combined with scares, Ghost Boat certainly fits the bill. I feel that due to the environment that Ghost Boat was derived out of (i.e. tours) it is not as powerful, as a haunted attraction, as it could be. Ghost Boat is, however, an excellent way to experience the Dells in a much different way. For me, that was the best part. I remember visiting Witch's Gulch as a kid during the day...it was really cool getting to see that same location at night. In conclusion Ghost Boat takes a different spin on the haunt season with a focus more on "mood" than actually scaring you.

View all Ghost Boat: Season of the Witch reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by seanadobbie after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

After waiting in line for about an hour I wasn't really expecting much. By the time it was my groups' turn (I went with 3 good friends) my mood began to lighten up. We were told to proceed and moved up a flight of concrete stairs and through a heavy metal door. After it shut behind us the show finally began. We were bombarded with a thousand screams, chainsaws revving, and zombies gagging and groaning. It was no doubt the loudest haunted house I've ever been to. In all I think it was around like 20 minutes to do the whole thing, which when added up to our wait time sounds like it wasn't really worth it but in all it was pretty fun. It even made me jump a few times and im not startled easy. The actors were all around pretty good, the best ones were probably the women in the hospital

Favorite Parts:
Scarecrow
Polkadot guy
Insane Hospital

Summary

Had a long wait, but once you finally get inside it's worth it.

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Adubbya79 after attending on Sunday, October 19, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Well worth the time and money! It was absolutely the best time I had. All of the sudden the monsters poured out into the waiting area and terrified the crowd. Just seeing the terror in some of the guests eye's was amazing. Was a busy night but kept moving. Those clowns are joky, creepy and terrifying all in the same breath. That kissing clown was insane and hilarious. Carnevil proved to be fun and evil all in one.

Summary

Worth the money and the time! P.S. Bring a dry pair of pants, someone I know had a little accident.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by DarkWolf1088 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 17, 2014 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Dark Side...now this is a haunted attraction that I have some history with. I was with the Dark Side as an actor/actor supervisor when it first began in the early 2000s. This trip was my very first time through the attraction since I left for college in 2008, and this time as a customer. Needless to say I was impressed by how far the Dark Side had come. The route to the farm has always been a favorite aspect of mine. A long country back road dead ends at the haunt's parking lot. Once there you buy your tickets at the "general store" area where there are heaters, concessions, merchandise, and a tiny Halloween village displayed. Once you buy your ticket you enter the waiting line area which is inside the barn. This provides ample protection from inclement and cold weather.

The wait to actually begin the haunt was approximately 15mins (This would have been considerably longer if I had arrived any later than I did). I was a little disappointed that there was no line entertainment but I guess I was just happy that I was warm and out of the wind for the time being. After 15mins 35 of us began the walk up to The Descent and that is where the attraction begins.

The Descent
After the group was greeted by a kindly farm hand, people were paired off, and instructed to walk up the hill towards an old abandoned "mine". This was another trip were I was alone so when they got to me I made my trek up the hill and entered The Descent. The Dark Side does an excellent job of making it feel like you are going deep underground and everything around you makes you feel like you are in a legit mine. It wasn't long before the actors began to do their job....and an excellent job they did. All the actors used the nooks, crannies, and darkness of the "mine" to their benefit. Unfortunately I did not get the full experience of what I'm sure The Descent had to offer because the pacing of the groups became a bit of an issue. Shortly after entering I ran into a large group of patrons that had grouped up together. Thus I would suggest that when you make your walk up the hill that you take your time so that you can get the full benefit out of The Descent. Other than the pacing, The Descent was an environmental pleasure with lots of fun to be had.

Twilight Nightmare
You exit The Descent to a common area that has a large bonfire in the middle. Here again we waited for 15 minutes while people exited The Descent. Actors did spill out into the common area and kept all of us huddled around the fire entertained. After all 35 people made it through The Descent, we loaded up onto a wagon which begins the next attraction, Twilight Nightmare. Now this was a fun ride! With a fully "decked out" wagon that is pulled by a tractor we began our journey into the backwoods. Here, the Dark Side, shined. With actors that literally climb on the wagon and effects that completely disrupt your senses (such as gas explosions), Twilight Nightmare was a visceral onslaught. What made it even better is that this is no open field hayride. There are times that it feels like you are going to collide with trees of slip off the path into a river below. This is not a pumpkin patch hayride...this is the hayride from hell. With plenty of scares and unique effects (some that I would say are unique just to THIS haunt), Twilight Nightmare provides for a very entertaining ride.

Backwoods Revenge
Following the hayride, you are dropped off in the middle of a pine forest. Here you are greeted by an armed farm hand who reads you into what happened on the farm (namely institutionalized boys messing around with toxic waste) and warns you about what is ahead. Again the Dark Side excels in using the natural environment to set a really creepy scene. What I really enjoyed was the feeling of being able to "roam" the forest. The paths are not tight and there are even areas dedicated to one scene where you can take your time and walk around in the area. This is something you don't get to do too often in haunted houses. I was let down in that actors appeared to be few and far between in this area. I was all alone and was prime pickings to be stalked and scared, but unfortunately rarely experienced either. Chalking that issue up as a fluke, Backwoods Revenge still provides plenty of fun and a "free roam" environment that really makes you feel like you are in a movie.

Mephistopheles Lair
Once you exit the woods a wooden bridge takes you over a corn field and into the next attraction, Mephistopheles Lair. This attraction is small but, depending on your disposition, can be very frightening, or at the very least, frustrating. Without giving much away on this particular area, Mephistopheles Lair is a maze...and a really good one at that! Exiting is not as simple as you might think. There are no scares here...but it can get scary.

Schizophrenia
When you finally find your way out, you will follow a dirt path that will lead you into the corn. With deranged hillbillies calling out "fresh meat" from every which way in the corn field, you may just want to turn back. In Schizophrenia you are again given a pretty wide berth to navigate the area, letting you walk around and investigate as you please. Again the Dark Side excels at using the natural environment. Just being in a field with corn towering over you, at night, and hearing "things" move around is enough to make anyone skittish. Actors do a great job of exploiting the field and providing some top notch scares. There is no telling what is a prop and what is a "monster" in this attraction. You will just have to find out for yourself. Exciting from beginning to end, Schizophrenia could easily be a haunted event by itself.

Foxglove Nursery
Once you clear the corn you have one final trip...through the greenhouses. Foxglove Nursery has beautiful scenes and with the attraction being outdoors, everything about this greenhouse feels authentic. In this attraction you get more of the haunted house feel as flower beds and pot shelves constrict the path and close in above your head. Keep your wits about you, there are plenty of ghouls waiting inside to give you a scare. This was a great way to end the trip and by far felt the most "realistic" which always adds to the experience.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


I waited for 15 minutes at the start of the event, and another 15 minutes after The Descent.

Length


From start to finish the Dark Side is approximately 1 hour long (not including the wait times).

Summary

In the end the Dark Side uses what it has available (i.e. the farm land) to provide a very immersive experience. Unlike haunted houses where you know you'll be walking around inside a building, due to the outside nature of the Dark Side and the flow from one attraction to another, this haunt has been the one that felt the most "realistic" to me out of all the attractions I've ever visited. All the actors were committed and some amazing special effects were utilized to provide very entertaining attractions. If you like being outdoors, and having the ability to "move around" in a haunted attraction, the Dark Side is by far one of best places to visit.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Chamber of Horrors Haunted House (CLOSED)

by annette.waterworth.7 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Attended the Fall River Chamber of Horrors Haunt & Zombie Hunt in Fall River.
It was AWESOME!!! The Haunted House was great inside & out. Characters were
very realistic and the makeup was GREAT!!! Beetle Juice was in full form working
the crowd. You gotta see this guy, he was spot on! The high school students that help
at this Haunt are very polite and very professional. It's wonderful to see such great
support from the area youth. Didn't do the Zombie Hunt but people were raving
about how much fun it was.

Summary

I will for sure go back next year! Also, I wouldn't hesitate to volunteer for
helping out with the haunt.

View all Chamber of Horrors Haunted House (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by Jkaminski after attending on Monday, October 20, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Awesome! I had a great time.

Summary

Awesome. I had a great time.

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Papaya05 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The FearGrounds are amazing! They haunted houses are scary, the makeup is great, the details in every area are fantastic, and the actors are freaky! I was truly freaked out from the get-go!

Summary

Awesome haunted houses!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 21st, 2019 8:39 p.m. CDT 1.8.19