ad-header-top

2014 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

112 total reviews. Showing 7 of 7 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by goldylocks1982 after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2014 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Great fun. Great actors and props. We had a lot of fun.

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Hallowed Chambers

by FlaunShmundy after attending on Friday, October 3, 2014 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

I had a blast going through this Haunt. I was very excited to see a haunt back at this location. This was my 1st haunt of the year and it was a great way to kick it off. The guy with the pick axe got me everytime! WATCH OUT FOR HIM!

Summary

Overall was a very scary and fun haunt, I highly recommend you get here and see this one!

View all Hallowed Chambers reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Alaskan Motel - CLOSED -

by heather.vandenbush after attending on Friday, October 3, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Old school haunt! The place itself is really creepy.The motel is right out of a horror flick! Actors were great! We had a blast! Careful going out there they don't have a sign up so you may miss it! Just look for the creepy motel bar out in the middle of no where! Also awesome waiting area all in side with food and drinks!

View all Haunted Alaskan Motel - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Schuster's Haunted Forest

by laura.raske.1 after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2014 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Wow!!! This place was great!!! The theme & set up was well done, the actors stayed in character & were amazing the scares were fantastic! All around great, great job! Can't wait to go back again next year! Best one I've been to near Madison yet! Highly recommend!

View all Schuster's Haunted Forest reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Wisconsin Scaryland

by laura.raske.1 after attending on Saturday, October 4, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Overpriced for what it was. Could have done much better with scares and utilization of dark spaces. Also could have had more dark spaces. Expected much more and hope that next year will be better!

View all Wisconsin Scaryland reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, September 28, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The Splatterhaus in Two Rivers is easily one of the best haunted attractions in Wisconsin. It is set in a very large building and you can count on a very lengthy walk (or run) through a cutting-edge haunted house. I often say the use of props can sometimes detract from the overall "fear factor" of a haunted attraction, but the Splatterhaus has mastered the use of high tech! It is very difficult to tell if a prop is real or not, and most of them will have you jumping, grasping the wall, ducking and pushing back the way you came. You move quickly from each scene and the flow of the entire haunt is flawless. From start to finish, there was never a moment I was not on my toe's watching out in every direction. I do not scare easily, but at the Splatterhaus, I actually welcomed the end just to be able to catch my breath! The actors have great acrobatics, and the strobe lighting is timed so well that what was there one moment will be in your face the next. The blood runs thick in the Splatterhaus, just make sure to walk guarded to avoid having yours spilled. If you want to impress your significant other by being "hardcore" then I recommend going to another haunt, as even the bravest will be frightened. If you are debating on which haunted house to go to this year, make the drive to the Splatterhaus in Two Rivers.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The Splatterhaus is located in Two Rivers and there is a large sign directing you to the parking lot. Be careful of lots of road construction if you are coming from the South.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


I attended on opening weekend, so there was no wait. Although, the wait area is indoors and there are plenty of photo opportunities and goodies to purchase. I would imagine there are more ghouls in the wait area during October.

Actors' Performance


Although it was the opening weekend, you would never be able to tell as the adrenaline and passion for fear can be felt in every single actors performance. This is not a haunt that you can walk through with your eyes closed as you need to be on guard from things above, below and on both sides of you. Strobe lights and special effects are used so effectively that the location and identification of ghouls is impossible. Just be prepared to scream and try not to run!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The Splatterhaus uses a lot of high tech animatronics. I am rarely frightened by props that are run by sensors, but these are unlike most I have ever seen. There were moments that I feared being mauled and impaled. There are so many different sets, that attempting to summarize them is difficult and no two rooms or areas are similar. Even the bravest (those willing to go first) are going to find themselves stumbling to get out of the way.

Length


The total length took 43 minutes. The path of destruction seemed endless and by the end I was ready to get out. I honestly did not think I could handle anymore!

Crowd Control


Since it was opening weekend, we were the only ones and therefore did not have any issues with crowd control The set up of the entire attraction was perfect for large and small groups. I do not anticipate any concerns with running into other groups. I do expect that closer to Halloween, this attraction will be very busy.

Most Memorable Moment


I still can not stop thinking about the impaling door that had no limits when it came to trapping us. Of course the most unique and off guard was the frightening clown the flew over head and almost removed our skulls!

Summary

In summary I recommend the Splatterhaus to anyone who is looking for one of the best in Wisconsin. It is worth a 2 hour drive just to witness the intensity inside. I do not recommend this haunt to anyone who is claustrophobic or scares easily. If you want a guaranteed scary haunted attraction, then I recommend the Splatterhaus!

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Alaskan Motel - CLOSED -

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, September 28, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Haunted Alaskan Motel is a haunted attraction set in an old 1970's abandoned Motel and Supper Club. Locals and workers have claimed to hear strange noises year round and there is a truly peculiar jukebox that will literally start and stop on it's own. It is difficult to find the Haunted Alaskan Motel as it sits behind the old supper club and when I attended there was no sign indicating it was a haunted attraction. You wait in the bar area and can enjoy food along with plenty of "spirits" which makes time pass quickly. No worries if the weather is bad as everything is indoors.

You purchase your ticket at the bar and when it is time for you to enter, you are taken out the back door to the abandoned Motel. I am personally a huge fan of haunted attractions that are inside of an actual building (not just plywood) and the Motel alone is a frightening sight. Be prepared to check in and hope that you check out alive. As you walk from the rooms, through dimly lit hallways and up stairs, all you can hear is the thumping of your own heart. The rooms are all set as if you were in a truly haunted Motel with extra sets in between. The actor's performance is phenomenal and the lighting makes it difficult to predict where the next ghoul will appear. I was caught off guard several times and I consider myself a "seasoned" haunted attraction attendee. Just when you think you might escape, you will find yourself back inside to endure more torture. Be prepared to get on your hands and knees and wear comfy shoes as there are certain area's you could lose your balance. I have never attended a haunted attraction with so many unique uses of the existing building. The Haunted Alaskan Motel is in their 3rd year, so you do not have to worry about it being over-crowded or waiting in long lines. I am certain this will become a favorite in Northeast Wisconsin, so make sure not to miss it this year! I would love to see the Haunted Alaskan Motel continue and I recommend it to adults and children over 16!

Signage / Visibility / Location


There are currently no signs. You must watch for the address or you might miss it. It is right on Hwy 42, North of Kewaunee.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is indoors inside of an old supper club with a bar! They have a great selection of beverages from your typical beer to apple caramel pudding shots. They also serve food, so come early and enjoy a great dinner and drinks. Be careful, because you never know who might sneak up behind you!

Actors' Performance


Horrifying, Blood Curdling screams, that you typically only hear in Hollywood movies, will surround you upon entrance into the Motel. There are no "dead" spots so be prepared to have "in your face" scares throughout this entire haunt. My personal favorite is the Green Goblin who is not afraid to come out of the dark, where scales meet skin and deep heavy breathing will have you ducking and running. Another favorite is the human butcher, this was one time I was seriously considering an early exit!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The motel itself is very frightening. The building is from the early 1970's and not much has changed since that time. There are stories of strange noises year round and a mysterious jukebox that randomly starts and stops without anyone around. The jukebox will decide what to play and when, it has a mind (or spirit) of its own. The sets are all original, so no overly done "animatronics" ... you walk inside a multi-level motel that still resembles a haunted motel. Gruesome blood, bodies and displaced mattresses make it feel like you are truly experiencing something paranormal. All the rooms are well themed and flow without any down time throughout. It is dead silent as you walk through the large dark hallways and into each room, the void of other screams adds to the "fear" as you can hear your own heart thumping.

Length


The total from start to finish was 21 minutes through the haunted Motel. There is not much dead time in between each set. Much longer than most other haunted attractions.

Crowd Control


We were the first ones there and the only ones as this was very early in the haunt season, so no crowd. Since this haunt is newer and located in a very small remote city I anticipate there not being any "heavy" crowds until people start discovering its location. If you hate waiting in long lines, then you will love this haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


The were two memorable moments for me. The creative use of mattress in a large dark hallway, makes you feel unstable and you can not see what might be out to grab your feet from beneath you. The second most memorable was crawling on our hands and knees only to find ourselves trapped in a very tiny room possessed by a demon doll.

Summary

I recommend the Haunted Alaskan Motel to anyone who prefers a haunted attraction that is actually set in a real (haunted) building. If you hate long lines and overly commercialized haunted attractions, you will have neither at this attraction! If you like original scenes and would like to enjoy a beverage or two before being scared, you must visit the Haunted Alaskan Motel.

View all Haunted Alaskan Motel - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 16th, 2019 5:03 a.m. CDT 1.10