ad-header-top

2014 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

112 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by Flowerchild13 after attending on Sunday, October 26, 2014 at about 11 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Worst ever my sister got an air cannon to her ear drum had to escorted out!! You would thing they would make it safer. Don't waste your money

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by wm after attending on Friday, October 24, 2014 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

I’ve heard of the Feargrounds for many years. Lot’s of hype as one of the biggest and the best in Haunted Wisconsin. This year I would finally see for myself if could deliver on the promise of fear!.

The Morgan Manor is first, and it’s impressive. It was dimly lit, but you could tell there was defiantly attention to detail. The actors are definitely seasoned. They know just when to jump out or just what to say in your ear to get a scream every time. At one point there was a huge traffic jam with both groups in front of us and behind us. People in my group were separated unwillingly for the rest of this haunt. That added to the sense of terror, but to have that many people crammed together took away from the experience. Total time for this haunt was about 30 minutes.

Carnevil is next, and it has a great 'big top' look to it. Inside are some of the creepiest clowns I’ve ever seen. They were coming out of everywhere! There were no actual walls… just the canvas sides of the tent. They really use that to their advantage as you never really know where or when they will jump out. This haunt took about 10 minutes.

Blackout is the last attraction, and the most unique. I’m not going to go into what you have to do, but trust me… you have to rely on your senses heavily. Once you think you’re done, you have one last mindbender to grasp. Blackout: it’s not just a clever name! This haunt took about 10 minutes.

Unfortunately, in all three parts of the Wisconsin Feargrounds, we were running into people from groups both in front of us and behind us. Considering this Friday night was not crazy busy, I’m scratching my head as to why this kept happening in a seasoned haunt like the Fear Grounds. There were many great scares that we did not get to enjoy because the group before us was literally 5 feet in front of us over half the time. Sometimes this happens in haunts. That's when the actors need to go out of their way to delay some groups or keep them in rooms longer to put space between their visitors.

Even with the traffic jams, we highly enjoyed the Wisconsin Feargrounds. The actors and sets are top notch! If you haven't stopped here yet, or it's been a few years, it's definately worth the trip!

<h4>Signage / Visibility / Location</h4>
<div>Super easy to find. It's huge and lighted. </div>

<h4>Wait Area / Line Entertainment</h4>
<div>The wait line is very nice and covered. They have TV’s playing difference announcements before you enter the haunt, but I couldn’t tell what they were because I couldn’t hear the audio very well. There were a few actors in the wait area that did a good job of entertaining and getting a good scare here and there. We waited for about a half hour before being escorted into a holding pen. That was freaky enough but then one actor was literally climbing on the tops of these pens and hovering over you! After about 5 minutes, we were let out and our adventure started.</div>

<h4>Actors' Performance</h4>
<div>Each actor knew their part well and went above and beyond to deliver.</div>

<h4>Sets Scenes / Props / FX</h4>
<div>This is what sets the Wisconsin Fear Grounds appart from the rest. The sets are amazing!!!</div>

<h4>Length</h4>
<div>For all three haunts, it was about 50 minutes total. </div>

<h4>Crowd Control</h4>
<div>The only real complaint. Improving this will make all the difference in the world.</div>

<h4>Most Memorable Moment</h4>
<div>Blackout by a mile. I personally have never experienced anything like it before. </div>

Summary

One of the biggest and the best, and it's easy to see why!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Descent Haunted House

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 24, 2014 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

Driving out to the House Horror Built definitely helps set the mood. Seemingly in the middle of no-where, it’s very dark and the only noise is from the passing cars. At first I thought this must be the wrong location, as it looks like any Wisconsin farm out in the country. When you approach the entrance, the lighted sign is like a beacon in the darkness letting you know you’ve come to the right place... or maybe the wrong place.

It was a mild Friday night, shortly after they opened. There were a few people before us but the wait was minimal. There are several rooms where they use a lot of fog. It’s hard to see in front of you until it’s too late, if you know what I mean. The actors were great! From the mother and her baby to the evil school teacher, they were all very entertaining. The 3D carnival was actually pretty good, even though I’m not a fan of them. Several clowns got me good!

Ultimately, the fun was over way too quick. We were walking fairly slow, and everything total was a little less than ten minutes. That was disappointing, especially since we were having a good time and we didn’t want it to end. This is a very creative haunt with talented actors in it.

There is A LOT of open ground on this farm land. It would be nice to see them add more to your experience like a maze or something either before or after the haunt. By adding to the experience, they can build on what they already have. With their awesome actors and their creativity, the sky's the limit!

Signage / Visibility / Location


It would have been hard to find if we wouldn’t have had a GPS our phone. Once you're close you'll see the lighted sign.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There wasn’t much of a wait. As soon as we purchased our tickets we had maybe a minute or two before we went in.

Actors' Performance


GREAT. They were always in character and they went all out. Even after we were out of the haunt, a few of them followed us out and were creeping behind us!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The scenes were very good, and the props were believable.

Length


As mentioned in the review, this is the one negative of this haunt. Maybe 8 minutes to go through it. :(

Crowd Control


We didn't have any issues bumping into other groups inside the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


I’ve always had a soft spot for Freddy! As soon as I heard the music, I knew that bastard was near!

Summary

A great old school, home-made type of haunt. If it would have been twice as long, it would be one of the top haunts in the area.

View all The Descent Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by wendy.smolen.7 after attending on Sunday, October 26, 2014 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Was pretty fun. Not very scary but had potential.

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by wendy.smolen.7 after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

Was terribly boring. The only thing worth the money was fast pass. Never jumped or got scared even once! So not worth it!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by bobbrieko after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Excellent haunted house. Great attention to detail, actors where great.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 24, 2014 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

You know, there’s something to be said about the simplicity of a haunted cornfield. A few props, a few people in makeup jumping out at you, maybe some radios piping in some spooky music. Well, you can forget about that when you visit Meadowbrook Haunted Cornfield in West Bend! Meadowbrook has become a staple in my yearly haunting travels for one reason, and one reason only, they do it right! The website boasts that the cornfield sits on 6 acres, and the trail is nearly a mile long.

There are two options when buying tickets here, a general admission ticket, which is $22, with this option you must wait at the bonfire for your group’s numbers to be called and then you can enter the line. For $30 a Speed Pass can be purchased which skips the waiting area and you can head strait for the line. We opted for general admission, it was an unseasonably warm evening on the night we went, and the wait didn’t seem all that bad, plus sitting around a bonfire, not a bad deal! By the time we settled in by the fire, they called our number within minutes, so the fast pass wouldn’t have made a difference for us, but if it is slam packed, that might be an option to consider. The waiting line isn’t very exciting, other than some farm animals to your right that make noises every once in a while. No ghouls’ roaming to hype you up, but the wait was short, so that was sweet.

Once you enter the cornfield, it starts out pretty slow, something you shouldn’t get used too. Soon they hit you hard and loud with animatronics and noises in the night! One of the things that has made Meadowbrook a favorite of mine over the years is their animatronics. They are ahead of the curve, especially when we talk about cornfield haunts, they are fantastic! Scattered throughout the field are several stations or houses that you have to enter. These stations are usually inhabited by ghouls or zombies that will give you a good scare! Unfortunately keeping your own pace comes with its downside. We ran into the group ahead of us rather quickly, but slowed down and let them move up, and then were greeted by a group of apparent speed walkers behind us! We finally let them pass! My advice while in Meadowbrook Haunted Cornfield, take your time and enjoy yourself. As a seasoned vet when it comes to haunts, I always want to try new things, but I always find myself coming back to Meadowbrook, year after year it’s always one of my favorites. I’m continually surprised by what their budget must be, and how much time they must put into this haunt. The dedication the entire staff puts out there amazes me every time I go. Kudos to the owners and all of the staff of Meadowbrook for your hard work and commitment, you guys are amazing!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Meadowbrook is kind of hard to find if you haven't been there before. It's down a very dark road and it'll sneak up on you, but when you see it, you can't miss it! There is ample parking once on the premises and it is very well lit.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The bonfire is awesome! The website states that is the only smoking area, so if you are a smoker, this is your last call for smoking! It's warm and there is an awesome storyteller here! Who doesn't love a bonfire in October‽ After your number is called at the bonfire you proceed to the line to wait for the haunt. This line is not a particularly fun line, but it was fast moving, and at times the farm animals would make noises, so that was interesting!

Actors' Performance


The actors at Meadowbrook are great! They have the luxury of moving through the cornfield, so, there is a lot of room to roam. One actor got between me and my friend and as she was entering one of the houses, he wouldn't let me enter, making her stay in there by herself, he was a great creep! it's actors like that make the difference! One actor broke character, but that's only because he caused a group behind us to almost run us over, that's how great of a job he was doing, he creeped them out so much, they freaked out and bolted past us. He apologized to us for their rudeness.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Again, Meadowbrook is the tops when it comes to FX and cornfield haunts! All of their stations/houses are well done, and look professional, just like I've come to expect from Meadowbrook.

Length


We were in there a little over 45 minutes. Like I said, take your time, take it all in. There is a lot to see, these people put a lot into their haunt, this is art, take the time to appreciate it, don't speed walk though it.

Crowd Control


Everything was controlled. You are at your own pace inside the the cornfield. We let the group on our heels pass us, I don't like to feel rushed when I'm in a haunt, especially when it's a special place like Meadowbrook.

Most Memorable Moment


Meadowbrook focuses on details, it's hard to pin down one moment, but if I had to pick one, it was definitely being herded like cattle and nearly squished and impaled by spikes! That was awesome! If you get the opportunity, it's great!

Summary

After all these years, Meadowbrook is still one of my favorite haunts. With first class actors and props , Meadowbrook does what few haunted cornfields are able to do, scare you and deliver a quality visual experience. Meadowbrook takes you on a journey for nearly an hour and doesn't let you go until you come out of the other end with your heart racing and your senses on edge! Once again, Meadowbrook blew me away!

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by leaper after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Just awesome terror strikes you from all around. It could be from the ceiling or from the floor. This fear grounds is unique and a must see. There is haunting entertainment from the line all the way through the three attractions. The last one, if you don't quit because you're too scared, is rathering shocking!

Summary

Must see, must do event. Check it out.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by scareseeker after attending on Friday, October 24, 2014 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Last night, four of my friends and I drove the 1.5 hour drive from Milwaukee to Neenah to visit the Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex. For years I had been looking on the Haunted Wisconsin website and eying this event (the reviews, videos, and photos looked great!), but the distance was always a bit of an issue. All that I can say now is that I am so happy that we made the trip!

Let me first say that I am an avid horror fan--I watch scary movies year-round and always visit one or two haunted houses each year. Basically, it takes a lot to scare me or to put me on edge. My four friends and I (we are all between 18 and 21 years old) are really hard to impress when it comes to haunted houses; we've been to many throughout southeastern Wisconsin, so we can tell which ones are good and worth the money...and which ones are not. I can say without a doubt that the Burial Chamber is amazing and that it is hands-down the best haunted house that I've ever been to!!!

When we got off the freeway, we saw the Burial Chamber right away because of the large spotlights that were being shone in the sky. There was plenty of parking right in front of the haunted house, even on a busy Friday night. We waited in line to buy our tickets (the line moved at a good pace), and the five of us all bought the $40 VIP fast pass (instead of the normal $30 pass). Those extra ten dollars were well-spent, and we were able to skip right to the front of the line for all three haunted houses! I am convinced that it saved us several hours of standing in line, and I highly recommend that anyone who visits the Burial Chamber buys the fast pass. All of us agreed that it was definitely worth the money, and we were really surprised that so few people actually took advantage of buying the pass. (The haunt was a good value overall--realistically, without the fast pass, each house was $10, and with the pass, each house was about $13). For those who did wait in lines, there were a couple large TV screens showing weird Halloween-type videos. There were also line actors that did a great job of startling us, even though we weren't standing in line.

Everything was very organized and seemed to run very smoothly. There was one thing that I thought would be an issue for me--groups of about ten people were sent through the house at a time. Normally I would say "that's way too many! Only the people in front are going to get scared!" However, this was NOT the case. Actors did an extremely effective job of targeting people in the front, middle, and back of the line. Also, the corridors for the Adrenaline and Insanity haunted houses were quite narrow and had a lot of turns and other obstructions, so there was always a surprise no matter where you were standing in line. (I went to a "haunted woods" once that was literally a train of people walking, and that was not surprising or scary at all because you clearly saw what was coming--thankfully, this does NOT describe the experience of the Burial Chamber at all!).

All three of the haunted houses were great and really unique! Adrenaline made me jump a lot with loud noises and actors that came out of unexpected places. Insanity was really unnerving and had a lot of unique rooms and different types of terrain to walk on, which put me on edge (not to mention clowns, which one of my friends is terrified of). Phobia was a haunted woods with a really creepy atmosphere and with actors that came at you from literally all angles. Overall, all three of the haunted houses were very long, well over 20 minutes per house!

(On a side note: one of my friends lost her phone in the first haunted house, but the workers at the Burial Chamber were very helpful, found it almost immediately, and returned it to us right away.)

Summary

I would highly recommend this Burial Chamber to anyone looking for a good haunt this Halloween season! It was the most fun that I've ever had at a haunted house, and the VIP fast pass is definitely the way to go.

Great haunt! Great actors! Great scares!
Well done Burial Chamber!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by ATW866 after attending on Saturday, October 25, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Had an awesome time! The owners know how to put together a great haunted house. Wait time was low and there was line entertainment. The rooms had alot of details and the actors seemed like real monsters! Well worth the money and time to check it out. You won't be disappointed.

Summary

Great time, excellent details and fabulous actors.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by mrs.kimberly.in.love after attending on Friday, October 24, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The haunted house was decent. It was far from the best, but worth the money. I wouldn't suggest the fast pass. Unless you know the girl at the door. Then, just tell her how many you have and she will let you jump. We got cut off a few times because of it. Other than that, I would recommend it.

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Misery Haunted House/YARD

by davina.greene.5 after attending on Friday, October 24, 2014 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I love haunted houses and didn't even know this one was just down the street from me! The characters were great staying in character the entire time. As I walked through this haunted house it was apparent that they spent a lot of time with the details...loved all the props! Awesome job..line went quick...warm clothes for sale if you're cold while waiting..as well as some thriller to watch on the big screen while waiting.

View all Misery Haunted House/YARD reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by SarahElizabeth after attending on Friday, October 24, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunted house was awesome!!! The best I have ever been to, right in my back yard. I for sure must see!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by dvillwock after attending on Saturday, October 18, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

What an event! It was awesome! They new black out haunt was amazing. They messed with my groups head and seriously made a female in our group quit right away. It was rather shocking, pun intended. It was awesome. A must see event every year.

Summary

Awesome awesome awesome!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2014 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by Cashley after attending on Friday, October 24, 2014 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Just came last Saturday and I loved it! That scarecrow and the people in the asylum freaked me out. The line took forever, but definitely worth the wait.☺️

Summary

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 23rd, 2019 1:56 a.m. CDT 1.8.19