2015 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

135 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by tonmcaj after attending on Wednesday, October 21, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We took our son and his family through the Corn Maze and Haunted Mansion at Quiet Woods South in Brussels last Saturday night and it was the best haunted experience any of us have ever had. The Corn Maze, Trail, Clown Bus Ride and Mansion are very well done and peopled by the best actors in the best makeup.

The price of $10 per person is cheap compared to the entertainment value. Also available are food and a fun Paintball Shooting Gallery and a Closed Coffin EXperience called the last ride.

Summary

Simply the best haunted attraction I've ever attended.

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Wisconsin Scaryland

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2015 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Looks can be deceiving! Driving up to Wisconsin Scaryland, it just looked like any other large building. But inside this average looking dwelling was another story!

The line for Wisconsin Scaryland was impressive! It’s clear that this is a very popular attraction, the wait was close to two hours! There are two separate wait lines: one outside and one inside. The smoke alarm kept going off as they were using a fog machine in the inside wait area. At first I thought that was just another sound effect until I saw a worker keep fanning the air by the alarm to make it stop. Although it’s very expensive, you might want to consider the 'Jump The Line' ticket. Especially on a cold night where you're waiting over an hour!

Your journey starts in an elevator where they lay out the rules. It's there that you learn that you cannot touch the actors, but they CAN touch you! It's good that they state this right up front so visitors are not too freaked out when it happens. Then you ascend to the "13th" floor and to the horror that awaits you.

There are three different themes in Wisconsin Scaryland: the Westport Penitentiary, Toxic, and the Carnevil Big Chop Circus. While some haunts would make these three separate attractions, here they flow from one theme into the next.

There were so many great staged scenes: The cemetery, the circus, the trashed bathroom (SO gross), the nursery, the dentist office... every room was done very well! They had them all dimly lit to perfection. Unfortunately not all the rooms had actors in them, but everything was great to look at.

As mentioned above, one thing that makes this haunt unique is that they the actors can touch you. This isn’t over-done, but just enough to freak you out! There were a few times where someone grabbed or lightly touched me. Their timing was great!

The haunt seemed to end abruptly. I thought we were walking into the next scene and it really was the exit. I didn't want it to end!!! In talking with other visitors, everyone seemed to really enjoy themselves. A tip that I didn't find out until after my visit: Purchase your ticket online for a nice discount!

Signage / Visibility / Location


It's pretty easy to find Wisconsin Scaryland, and you'll definitely see the crowd of people waiting in line.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There were a few actors walking around as you waited in line. Nothing scary, but definitely entertaining! It was a little confusing where you needed to purchase your tickets.

Actors' Performance


Most all of the actors did a great job and really went all out. Even the nurses that take your money were great!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


All the scenes and props in Wisconsin Scaryland are top notch. You would expect them to be, considering that Halloween FX Props designed it!

Length


It took approximately 20 minutes to make our way through all three themes.

Crowd Control


It was a very busy night, and there were several times we bumped into other groups.

Most Memorable Moment


I have to say that the one thing that I remember most was walking through a large public bathroom. The janitor was hilarious!

Summary

Long lines, but well worth the wait! All in all, Wisconsin Scaryland is a very professional and well run haunt!

View all Wisconsin Scaryland reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 16, 2015 at about 11 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

For years I’ve heard about the Haunted Barn. I always hoped that one day I would be able to take a road trip and visit this well run haunt. When the Haunted Barn went away last year, I was extremely disappointed. Another great haunt that I would never be able to attend. But earlier this year I hear that they’re back for 2015!!! I was determined that I wasn’t going to miss out on attending this year.

I have to start this review out by saying that the staff was GREAT! This was the second haunt I attended on the same night, and the first haunt ran longer than expected. When my GPS took me to the wrong place (twice), I called their number to get their correct location. When they state that they never turn someone away, THEY MEAN IT. Although we were late in arriving, they rolled out the red carpet for us. (Not knowing I was reviewing their haunt for Haunted Wisconsin) From those at the ticket booth, to the food booth, to all the actors in the haunt itself: definitely a CLASS ACT! They take pride in what they do, and they do it well. It's haunts like the Haunted Barn that do it for the love of Halloween and giving a good scare! I unfortunately didn't get any pictures of the haunt or it's actors due to not wanting to keep them any longer than needed. I hope that they continue to stay around for a long time to come, and I mean that sincerely. Thank you!

The location of the Haunted Barn is great. There’s not much around it but its also not too far out of town where you're in for a long drive. The grounds is setup very well and visually the barn is impressive when you drive up. First impressions set the stage to your experience... and my first impression, both by the staff and the look of the barn, was telling me I was in for a treat!

Considering there is limited space in the barn, they do a great job of making the most of their square footage! It seemed that every time we turned a corner there was a scare or surprise waiting for us. The bloody bride got me really good! The fortune teller was very entertaining, repeating several times that I had 'something to hide'. (If she reads this review, this is that something!) The little girl that led us to different areas was humorous and never once dropped character. Just when we thought we were done, there was one last scare that had us running! The scoreboard for those whom either wet their pants or quit the haunt half-way through is a nice touch!

I'm so very glad I was finally able to visit the Haunted Barn. One more thing off my bucket list! Here's hoping they continue to provide a quality haunt for years to come.

Signage / Visibility / Location


There's something up with both Google maps and iphone maps that kept giving us the wrong address. It's really not hard to find, just take Hwy 51 out of Stoughton. Once you're they're, you'll see it right away!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We did not have to wait... they were waiting for US! The waiting area was setup very nice, both outside the barn and right in the main entrance.

Actors' Performance


The actors and staff are really what makes the Haunted Barn a MUST ATTEND. They're not in it to make money, but I do hope they make some! They're timing was perfect, nobody dropped character, and it was literally one scare after the other.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets are a bit rustic. In my mind there are corporate haunts and there are homegrown haunts. This haunt falls under the homegrown category. It might not be as polished as the haunts with bigger budgets, but they make up for it with creativity and great acting!

Length


It took about 15 minutes to go through start to finish. I personally would rather have 15 minutes of non-stop action than a haunt that is super long but light on scares. Kudos!

Crowd Control


We did not have to deal with any crowd control, until we were bumping into each other at the end as we were running away!

Most Memorable Moment


Beetlejuice was a hoot!

Summary

In all my years of attending haunts, and there's MANY years, I was very impressed by this entire group and their haunt. They're good people! But don't let that fool you... they're going to scare the crap out of you!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Youth Go's Haunted House

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 16, 2015 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Low

Review

The 2015 edition of Neenah’s Most Haunted presents a Terror-riffic Tour. Walk through a maze of creative room and hallway layouts, all elaborately detailed with articulately dressed and skillfully positioned ghouls. Be very careful though, an epidemic is ravaging the inhabitants of this haunt turning many of them into Zombi-riffic creatures of the night looking for more victims…will you be infected as well?

While this isn’t the scariest haunt I’ve visited it most certainly offers a ghoulishly great time…especially for younger haunt goers. Despite the kid appropriate scares here adults will definitely enjoy the clever room layouts and polished performances of the ghouls as well as the maze that awaits. While dark and potentially frustrating the maze provides a uniquely chilling experience.

Neenah’s Most Haunted is in its 30th year and the 6th year of the last 7 that I’ve visit this haunt. Each year I’ve been pleasantly surprised by the improvements and the superb job the young actors do portraying their roles. Fun & Nicely Done!

Signage / Visibility / Location


While there may not have been much in the way of signage to lead you to this haunt the location and visibility of the venue from the street make it very easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Come dressed for the elements as the wait line is outside. A few costumed actors roam the parking lot and waiting line to help build your anticipation.

Actors' Performance


Nicely done! The actors may have been youthful but their enthusiasm and ghoulish roles made their performances very enjoyable.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Elaborate set designs and secret passage ways make for a very visually stimulating experience. While this haunt may not have the big FX effects and props as some of the other venues the attention to detail and execution of each rooms theme more than make up for it.

Length


Took our group 15 minutes to complete our adventure.

Crowd Control


The waiting line was clearly roped off….but there was no line when my group attended this haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


Quite a few rooms standout....I particularly enjoyed the labyrinth of exquisitely decorated rooms connected by trick walls and confusing corridors.

Summary

Of all the haunts I’ve toured Neenah’s Most Haunted did the best job of providing a ghoulishly fun time for haunt goers of all ages. While the scares here are definitely kid appropriate, adults will definitely enjoy the clever room layouts and polished performances of the ghouls.

View all Youth Go's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by paulwallinger after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2015 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

So I have gone to my fair share of haunted houses around the area, and I will admit this one is the best by far. The attention to detail is fantastic, from what I could see. I think that I got the place figured out, but they still figure out a way to startle me. (I cant admit I got scared, I would not hear the end of it from my friends.) 3 houses, plus some extras, definitely worth the money.

Summary

You cant go wrong here. You will absolutely have a great time.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Screamin Acres Haunted Houses

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 16, 2015 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

You would think with a name like ‘Screamin Acres’ that this haunt would be huge. Well, you thought right! Screamin Acres is one of the biggest haunted attractions around that includes multiple areas. There’s so much ground to cover, at some point I lost track of time! They expect to expand their haunt every year, which is mind-blowing as it’s already huge with multiple themes. While some other haunts will charge you for each theme or attraction, you get everything for one price here.

The wait area is very nice and impressive. It’s housed under a big tent, so you are out of the elements on those nights that are cold and nasty. The first thing you notice is the dj spinning the tunes. Not some cd playing on repeat, but an actual dj in a booth! The whole tent is lit up with lasers, which is another nice touch!

First up is the Slaughter House. If you’re into gore, then this will be right up your alley with a few scares thrown in. The amount of detail was crazy, those with weak stomachs beware! Then we went through the corn maze which was dark and quiet. Being out in-between the corn stalks at night is creepy! Your mind will start to play tricks on you and you’ll start jumping at things that aren’t even there. Then throw in a few actors to really keep you on your toes! You can never go wrong with a corn maze at night.

About halfway through Screamin Acres I realized something was missing. Shhh…. Can you hear that? No, I don’t hear anything! While there was a music playing in the wait area, pretty much 95% of the experience was void of music or pumped in noises. While odd at first, I actually enjoyed that! It was eerie to walk in the cornfield or down a long dark corridor with no music or automated noises. DEAD QUIET, other than some screams heard off in the distance. It made this haunt that much more spooky!

Next we entered the Crawl Space. I won’t give too much away, but smells play just as big as a role as what you’re seeing! VERY realistic, but hardly any actors. That leads you to the Last Resort, which is more a traditional style haunt. We were startled a few times in there! Just when we thought it was all done, there was Side Effects. This is a 3D attraction complete with glasses. There was a little bit of everything!

Several actors were very funny, while others were down-right scary. Some opportunities for a good scare were lost due to number of staff versus the size of the haunt. That’s really my only complaint. Many rooms looked incredible but there was nobody in them. But with that said, the amount of detail was incredible! It felt like we were walking through a big budget horror movie.

On busy nights, the Fast Pass is a good deal for only $10 more.

Signage / Visibility / Location


It was very easy to find! My GPS took me right to it and it's very well lit.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


I was surprised that there wasn't much of a wait to get in for a Friday night. As stated above, the waiting area in impressive!

Actors' Performance


All of the actors did a great job performance wise. All were in character and did a great job. More of these fine actors is what's needed for a haunt of this size.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This is where Screamin Acres shines. The scenes are incredible! I can't imagine how much time was put into creating all those great rooms, and there are a ton of them!

Length


There are five different parts to this attraction: The Slaughter House took about 20 minutes. The corn maze about another 20 minutes. The Crawl Space took about 10 minutes. The Last Resort took about 15 minutes. Side Effects took about 10 minutes. Everything together lasted approximately 75 minutes.

Crowd Control


There wasn't much of a crowd when we attended, so we did not bump into anyone during our journey other than the line before the Last Resort.

Most Memorable Moment


There was a scene in the Crawl Space that combined sound, smell and gory visuals that will haunt me for some time!

Summary

If you’re looking for a fun, large haunt in the Madison area look no further! You really get the maximum ‘bang for your buck’ at Screamin Acres.

View all Screamin Acres Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by BillyBeane after attending on Sunday, October 18, 2015 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This place was fun. The actors really got into it and was really surprised that the quality of the props was good. While waiting the Beetlejuice character came and since I use a cane asked if I needed anything or I could sit and he'd come get me, that was the first time anyplace has done that. As a matter of fact the Waukesha haunt wouldn't let me go through with it 4 or 5 years ago. It wasn't the biggest but they knew how to work it so you had scares had fun and didn't run into another group all things the other Stoughton haunt could learn from them. I really enjoyed it and hope they are able to setup again next year I will definitely Italy come back if the do.

Summary

Great haunt fun with good scares and we'll operated. Definitely the best in Stoughton area.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Screamin Acres Haunted Houses

by BillyBeane after attending on Sunday, October 18, 2015 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

I am a die hard haunt lover and I go to them all over the u.s. but this was so not worth the drive or money. The scares were scarce and the belittling and name calling were plenty. We bought the speed pass and really feel ripped off we still had lines and people that didn't pay extra going g in front of me. Their spacious guest was poor in every haunted the we were coming up on the people in front which means we slow down and the kids behind end up heel kicking me through the rest. Also a long walk through the corn field that was uneventful. It was longer than the haunts were. This was one of the few places I have been where I actually felt ripped off after the haunt. The actors seemed they were working not enjoying the haunt like most other haunts. Had on get mad because someone touched his window? Ok?

Summary

It's an ok haunt for younger easy to scare kids but just not worth the money charged. I don't k ow if paying the fast pass was worth not having to wait or getting out of there faster.

View all Screamin Acres Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by jacksonmarcr after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2015 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

My wife and I made the trip to the Wisconsin Fear Grounds again this year. It is always nice to have the frights from waiting in line until leaving the last building. The detail that is put into each building is amazing. This group always puts on a great show.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by barbwells69 after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2015 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: N/A

Review

I must say I had very high hopes for this attraction, we took a bus with 15 ppl and spent a LOT of money on tickets....
This was the worst Haunted attraction I have ever been to! I don't think my heart raced ONCE.... I would rather have small and scary as hell, then super large and nothing.... We did so much walking which was ok as long as we were scared and we were NOT... we all were worried about walking and watching the terrain more then we could enjoy any decorations or characters, the hood part was STUPID...didn't even get scared... The ending of the Puppet show was the most ridiculous thing I have EVER seen...there was not ONE part of it that was good in ANY way and that is MOST of the whole place as well! the ski lift part was a HUGE let down, not one thing on the ground to watch or anything... PLAIN AND DULL just like the WHOLE event.... I honestly feel sick that I spent 34.00 on a ticket to get some cardio in.... RIDICULOUS!

Summary

Don't waste your money to go here.... If you are a TRUE haunted house person, then this place will let you down! the ONLY good thing was the location of the event, good idea, but HUGE let down...

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by KaseyOldenburg after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2015 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I had 3 children with and we had the best time ever!!! We went to the lights up part of the haunt. This was great so my children could see what it really looks like before throwing them into the real haunt. Such a great option for beginners! Thank you for such a great experience!

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Hauntfest - CLOSED -

by clarej19 after attending on Thursday, October 15, 2015 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

It took some searching to find a haunted house open on a Thursday, it was the only day I had off because I work at a different haunted house in another city and never get to go to the others and have fun. Most of the other haunts in Milwaukee or the surrounding areas weren't open on a Thursday this early in October but then we stumbled onto hauntfest. My group and I decided to check it out. It was extremely fun! I'm actually surprised no one wrote a review on here yet. There were actually a couple of things that made me jump, which is not easy to do because Its easy for me to predict what's going to happen where. I absolutely loved the mental ward maze. I found that as an extremely creative take on the traditional insane asylum! I don't want to give too much away in case anyone who hasn't been here reads this but it's really fun! When they said we had to go upstairs for more I ended up walking side by side up the stairs with someone else in my group because the anticipation was frightening! I'm coming back this week and bringing more friends because we know they're going to love it and pee their pants! It is a smaller place but it reminded me a lot of the one I work at... Just better (don't tell my boss haha)

Summary

It's pretty cool, prices are fair, you should go!

View all Hauntfest - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by GobbleGobbleMonster after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I thought this place was great. I was ducking in fear. I would definitely go again. :DD

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by ProfessorPi after attending on Sunday, October 18, 2015 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Welcome back! And thank you so much! As a balloon artist and family entertainer, I recognize great care and attention to detail. My satisfaction was well exceeded. Waiting in line their is a sledge hammer wielding cyborg with costume that is out of this world. He pounded fear into many patrons, not to mention a very good Beetlejuice impersonator. Each person/character took their role to the extreme with tremendous care and desire to frighten or creep you out. I must say each person put their heart and soul into their role. Some maybe were not acting or were they??? You will have to decide. Also great detail to each area and two a-maze-ing mazes with gruesome characters. The monsters in the maze maybe helpful and may not be helpful Please stop by the fortune teller with terrific old country accent and scary how true her fortune telling skills. Another wonderful part was the location of many scares are unexpected and came from everywhere. Beware the walls, ceiling, and floors are alive! You can also dine from a nearby concession area and watch the gruesome ghouls terrify waiting patrons. I enjoyed the show with a hot dog and soda. Plus many other treats.

I came early and the wait time was 10 to 15 minutes. This seemed much shorter with the cyborg, Beetlejuice, and other gruesome ghouls un-nerving and frightening us. The walk thru was about 30 minutes.

Summary

I left wanting more, because so enjoyed my fright filled experience. Worth every penny.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by Nan24 after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

It was awesomely scary

Summary

Highly recommend visiting

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 21st, 2019 11:32 p.m. CDT 1.6.3