ad-header-top

2015 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

135 total reviews. Showing 14 of 15 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Adubbya79 after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2015 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Holy Man that was a busy night! But the wait was not too bad, the line kept moving and the line monsters kept us entertained. all three of the haunted houses are very well put together and the actors flow with the scene they are in. We also were in one of the last groups through the escape room. It was a blast. Very accurate to any escape room in the area except for one thing... and no spoiler here. An excellent experience overall!

Summary

Come for the haunted houses and the escape room and have the nachos on the way out!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2015 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Loosely playing on the "Hills Have Eyes" film theme, the Hill Has Eyes spins a tale of similar ghouls, but this time it's trailer park freaks and backwoods creeps who are stalking your every move. HHE boasts an impressive 5 attractions for the price of 1, sounds like the best deal I've come across in my journeys! HHE Does have ALL who attend sign a waiver, more on that later. HHE is yet another haunt that I have never attended, I was very excited to get my journey started.

I made my first mistake by arriving around 9:00pm... My buddy had dinner plans, what can you do? I was routed to overflow parking, far from the haunt, it was an uphill walk, then down a dirt road. Point is, if you learn anything from me, GET THERE EARLY! This place get busy! After meeting up with my friend, we found the (heated!) ticket booth and preceded to wait in a very long line to buy tickets. A bunch of clipboards started circulating with wavers, but the man in front of me told me I didn't have to sign it because it said for those under 18. Okay, cool! We waited a bit more and made it almost to the front of the line and a gentleman handed us the same clipboard, turns out we did have to sign the waiver, they were just out of the adult waivers. So, after holding up the line a bit so I could sign the waiver that I could have signed 30 minutes earlier if someone had explained to me what was going on, we made our way to the ticket booth and decided to purchase VIP tickets. If it took that long to just buy tickets, how long would it take to get in each haunt? It was only a $10 difference, totally worth it! Skip all of the lines, we got right in!

***One quick thing, if you're worried about signing the waiver, I was never put in danger, hurt, the only time I was touched was when an actor let's say, caressed my beard (weird right?), there were these prickly things that hung down at one point that we couldn't tell if they were pricking us or lightly zapping us. With that being said, there is a bit of foul language, so that might be the basis for the waver, I'm not sure, probably just a liability thing, because there's a lot of terrain you walk through.

***A few notes on the waiting area: If I weren't there to review HHE I would have loved this waiting area! Full bar, although that could be a REAL problem if you have no control considering $3 beers are pretty cheap for an event like this. There was also a DJ laying it down, having contests and giving away stuff. Now, I don't know how they roll in on most nights, but we almost walked out immediately because within 3 minutes of walking in he played Crazy B**** by Buckcherry. I don't need that in my life ever again, and it's still stuck there! YUCK! ANYWAYS, on to my review!

Again let me reiterate, we got the VIP passes, and we didn't regret it one bit! We were able to bypass all those waiting in the waiting area, and the people waiting in the line for the first haunt, Hooded. When you get to the front of the line you are instructed to grab a black hood, from there a man leads you through a door. You will follow a path until you reach what appears to be a soldier holding you up at gunpoint. This is where you put your hood on, now you can't see anything! You are instructed to reach for a rope that is to guide you along the path, that is the only way you can find your way. You MAY NOT lift the mask! FYI, the mask is very dark, very disorienting, and kind of hot! This was unlike anything I've ever experienced in a haunt! There wasn't too much going on here other than it being dark and you had to walk kind of slow. The path was relatively straight and would turn once in a while. It would have been nice if there were more things to startle you, I mean I was expecting something, I was blind to the world, I was on high alert. The soldier plays it well, and gave me a jab or two for having plugs in my ears! After a short stroll through the woods, Hooded is done. It was a fun start to the HHE experience!

On to the next haunt, Failed Escape. We entered our VIP line but were happy to wait a few minutes because this this line was one of the only lines to offer entertainment in the form of a very loud, very charismatic clown. The clown did a great job playing to the crowd, and when he noticed that I was laughing, he asked that I was laughing at, and he called me 4-eyes! I love it! Okay, so I'm just going to say that the next two haunts were unfortunately very similar. They start out very different, but both end up about the same. This makes reviewing these two more difficult. This haunt takes you through a junk yard with some freaks leaping from car to car, then you'll take a trip through the back woods where you'll meet some hillbillies who won't take kindly to your kind trespassing on their property, if you catch my drift. The best part of Failed Escape was by far the actor who recognized my friend and called him out! Nothing like having a backwoods hillbilly knowing your buddies name! After that, the mad men in the woods came out, this was an over used theme, but it's an easy go to in an outdoor, heavily wooded haunt. Now we were on to the next haunt.

Hunger Hollow was the third of the five advertised attractions at HHE. The theme started out centered around a butchers shop. Hanging body parts and guts everywhere! As we made our way through the woods again, a group caught up to us. This group had three very hyper teenagers in it. Not HHE's fault, but I wish they would have spaced us out a little more so they wouldn't have caught up with us so quickly, and unfortunately, I was at the end at this point so I had to hear their goofiness, and I had to keep getting bumped into. Not that big of a deal, just my own pet peeves. After going through another section and more woods you'll happen upon a facade. Here they're are running a wicked church service! Pretty cool, and this split us up from the group that caught up to us, even better! They then send you off to the next section of HHE, the Scare Lift!

The Scare Lift is a ski lift that will take you back to the top of the hill for the final attraction. There were two clown like fellas manning the lift when we went, they seemed ready to entertain, but just as they were going to do their thing, the teenagers showed up and started asking silly questions, and it became about them and not about the show. So we get on the Scare Lift, and let me tell you, they really dropped the ball with this one. It's really just a ski lift with circus music playing. Now you may be asking me "Pete, what could they possibly do to make it more than that?" Well, I would have had actors riding on random carts, squirting people with water, or silly string, or something. It was just a plain old ski lift ride, kind of boring. The lift leads you to the fifth and final attraction, Carnivore.

Carnivore was one of my favorite parts of HHE because it was completely different from the rest of the haunt. Though it's relatively short, it's very fun. You'll experience a carnival style maze, very tight squeeze tunnels, and a spinning vortex, which leads to the climax, a side show featuring a human puppet show! I won't say anymore! You must witness it for yourself!

Hill Has Eyes is definitely the biggest haunt I've been to. Though I focused on the fact that they relied heavily on the mad man in the woods angle a lot, they do mix up the themes more than enough to call this haunt original. The bottom line... was this haunt the scariest I've been to? No, but the fun factor is way up there. You will jump, then you will laugh about it after, at least that's how we were. It was a fun adventure. Was it worth the money? That's up for debate, it's an expensive haunt, but like I said, it's the longest haunt I've been to.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Coming off of the interstate, there was a sign pointing me down the road I was supposed to take. There is parking control to help with the multiple parking lots (it gets full).

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is awesome. It is heated, which is a plus, also if you so desire, there is a full liquor bar, and a DJ. There were no actors walking the area, but it was fun none the less.

Actors' Performance


The actors were okay. The areas where the themes were prevalent, the actors were awesome, but the random actors were just so-so; you could tell those actors were just bit part players.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


It was an outdoor haunt, the sets were okay. Nothing too fancy.

Length


With the VIP pass we were in and out in 45 minutes, so expect to be in there about an hour and a half if you don't buy the VIP ticket, I would guess.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was excellent! There wasn't any issues, and like I stated above, they were serving cheap beer and alcohol!

Most Memorable Moment


Hooded, though it wasn't scary, and it could have used more jumps, I've never experienced anything like being blindfolded in a haunt. I liked it!

Summary

Though a little pricy, and not the scariest haunt, Hill Has Eyes is definitely bang for your buck. It's the biggest haunt I've EVER been too. It's packed with fun! If you're looking for an amusing, exciting evening, this might be your place!

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by Kerry Koeppen after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2015 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dominion of Terror
:A Review
by Anonymous
Submitted: 10-27-15

A seemingly mundane October evening of channel surfing, blatantly died this night as I decided to tread the waters that be and dive down to our local haunted house here in Sheboygan, Wisconsin: the Dominion of Terror.
I have frequented this territory before, having gone through the past 4 years, this first thing one should know is that this little gem sparkles not only as a Spooktackular and foreboding Haunt, but one that totally rearranges itself season to season, meaning not ONE room is the same from the year before. My initial response was, shall I say TERRifying. Once again, these guys blew my mind in the opening sequence, having been all alone and left standing, querulous voices echoing amidst a draft from an entity coming from who knows where echoing its demented lament of heed! Little did I know this was the beginning of a 1/2 hour of dreaded anguish, and tingling uncertainties lying ahead of me in this labyrinth of licentiousness!
I must have counted at least 25 different rooms complete with their own sinister theme-every one detailed and meticulously created, produced an almost surreal 3-D effect of emotive madness hitting you from every angle, every corner of every room. To keep from being redundant, I will not give away the theme of each room, for this will not be my last time of going through this house this October, but will tell you this...words cannot express the cleverness and ingenuity these people put into this maze of misfortune! I came out very impressed, not just with the rooms but the atmosphere of the building itself, having been a 3 formidable Three Tiered Ramshackle of an old Warehouse.. LoL! I'm just getting the chills recreating it's appearance in my minds eye!..
So I dare You. Don't be stupid like me and go by yourself. If I wasn't as coquettish loner as I am, I sure would've packed a few extra pair of Hanes along with me; ( meaning this is not for the squirmish). Overall I give it a 4.75 out of 5. I truly recommend!

Summary

Pure Terror.

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Panic Chambers (CLOSED)

by Michellesal after attending on Friday, October 23, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Very nicely done! Many actors inside and outside. A lot of detailed work done, no boring area in the haunt! 5 stars from me!

View all Panic Chambers (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Panic Chambers (CLOSED)

by ShaneKuhn after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2015 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

My experience at panic chambers was great! The actors outside not only scaring costomers but keeping everyone entertained while we waited. The house was extremely well detailed top to bottom, along with many actors hidden everywhere. I will be going here every year from now on. Panic chambers hotel has to be one of the best, more old school type haunts in Wisconsin! Highly recommended. Its amazing what this small place is capable of!

View all Panic Chambers (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by NateWessel after attending on Friday, October 23, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I've been going sense I was 4 and next year I plan to work. I wasn't really scared but, that's because I just hi hello

Summary

Fear full

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by jessejames after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

It's hard to imagine that a fundraiser for a school system could get so many volunteers involved to pull off such a huge production. Kudos to Quietwoods Campgrounds to help sponsor this special event and allowing spooks and visitors to take over your whole complex from one end to another! It starts with a haunted corn maze, then leads to a cemetary and haunted trail, over several bridges and through the woods to haunted buses that take you to the Mansion...all for only $10.00!!! Then there are numerous chain saw ghouls that keep moving throughout the area! Great Scares! The only masks I saw were worn by campers, the Mansions make-up artists are so professional, very impressive!!! I have watched this event grow over the years, and it never disappoints. The theme, house layout, exterior and interior scares are always changing, making you want to keep coming back. It must take over a hundred volunteers to pull this off every night, what a supportive community this must be! Don't miss this event next year! You will love their Zombie Paintball and other activities while you wait to enter the Mansion.

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Estate of Terror (CLOSED)

by GabrielleWright after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I went with two other girls and we really enjoyed the Estate of Terror. The haunted mansion was so scary! I felt like I was walking through a horror film. We couldn't even make it to the end. My friend was balling her eyes out and we ran out of the nearest exit door. The haunted hayride was more tolerable. We sat in the middle so it wasn't as scary as the mansion, but it was just enough.

Summary

Overall this was a great haunted house and definitely worth every penny.

View all Estate of Terror (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by BrianGoral after attending on Sunday, October 25, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

This was my first time attending the haunted mansion! The total event was awesome!!! Very well organized, fun, and scary!!! Only critique is that the music playing during the wait time could be more Halloween themed with more songs. I think they had the same 5 songs on repeat. They were fun songs just got repeative.

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Screamin Acres Haunted Houses

by JasonRice after attending on Sunday, October 25, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Very fun place. I highly recommend it.

View all Screamin Acres Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Screamin Acres Haunted Houses

by Caitlynnj after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

I wouldn't even give this place one star. Although we didn't wait too long, half way through, some d-bag in the courtyard cussed out our entire group because he thought we tapped the window which was a "prop". He got up in all of our faces swearing and yelling at us like we were kids telling us he needed to escort us out. Security came through, gave us a warning for something we didn't do and let us go on our way. Too late the experience was ruined because of the horrendous harassing employees. It was so bad we all contemplated filing harassment charges against this place. Such a joke. Save your money or spend it on a quality haunted house with quality props, actors, and staff. Don't waste it on this joke. Horrible experience, just horrible. Plus it wasn't scary n they could've used more actors.

Summary

Go elsewhere...not worth humiliation n harassment

View all Screamin Acres Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by bonedaddy32 after attending on Friday, October 23, 2015 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

As a fan of Halloween, I go to approximately 20 haunted houses during October. On the 23rd I went to visit The Hill Has Eyes in Franklin. Upon arriving, I found some people finishing up and walking to their cars saying how disappointed they were with all 5 attractions. I then became skeptical and was unsure if I wanted to continue with this, but for the good of Halloween I had to continue. I signed a waiver and started my trek. Unfortunately I didn't jump, startle, or anything! It was very sad. The actors were very mediocre and didn't seem to have as much fun as other places. For all the hype this place created for itself, it's not all that great.
The scares weren't there, the scenery wasn't as detailed as others, and the placement of everything was so scattered and had no reason to its madness. I'm sorry to have to report this, but this attraction was nothing but hype, and is not worth the effort. If the staff can't put effort into it, then why should we?

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by FluffyBren after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2015 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I am so happy The Haunted Barn is back! And honestly they are better than ever. The actors were fantastic and had excellent timing - the sets were well planned and assisted in building the suspense of "what's around the next corner"! Well worth the admission price!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Halls of Terror

by johnyd69 after attending on Sunday, October 25, 2015 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

We took our ten year old daughter and her friend to their first haunted house. I thought she was going to cry on the way out. She was so disappointed. This is a five minute experience thru a small shed and a bus. The actors tried but really didn't have much to work with. On the ride home my daughter said it should be renamed Shed Of Shame. This is an event for the neighborhood kids by the neighborhood kids. Sorry for the harsh review but we wasted a lot of gas, time, and money and would like to give fair warning to others thinking of making any kind of trek to this to pass this one up find something more suited for your scare needs.

Summary

5 minutes of not so scary haunt.

View all Halls of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Spring Valley Scare

by AshleyDarst after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2015 at about 10:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Came to this after another one closed due to to many people. I'm glad it worked out this way. It's cheap. It goes towards a good cause, and it was honestly really good and fun. Scared the crap out of my group. One of the girls cried who's 25. Lol I never would have thought. I have been to bigger attractions that were no where near as fun as this one. This is a must see. I hope they get bigger.

Summary

Awsome Attraction

View all Spring Valley Scare reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 16th, 2019 5:41 a.m. CDT 1.10