ad-header-a
ad-header-b

This is the 2015 review crew. View the current year (2018) review crew here.

2015 Review Crew

Our Review Crew members travel to haunted attractions throughout Wisconsin to give honest and unbiased reviews. Follow them on Facebook and Twitter.

Sarah (majorXpsycho)
Newbie Member

Photo of Sarah

Featured Reviews

View My Profile

Ted (Captn_DeathSchlager)
Newbie Member

Photo of Ted

Featured Reviews

View My Profile

Brett (wm)
Newbie Member

Photo of Brett

Featured Reviews

View My Profile

Expand Collapse

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 25, 2015 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Shopping, apple picking and beautiful lake views draw thousands to Door County every fall. However, travel where no tourist dare to adventure and you will find the exciting horrors of The Haunted Mansion! Back for its 10th year of screams, the Haunted Mansion is the only haunted attraction that I made a point to attend again this year.

We arrived early and the lengthy lines of victims confirmed my theory that The Haunted Mansion has quickly become a favorite for all! Aside from the location, the Haunted Mansion has changed entirely from last year with a bigger, better and more frightening main haunted house. The Haunted Mansion is 4 separate haunted attractions for only $10, but do not let the cost fool you. I have been to haunted attractions that are more than double the cost and The Haunted Mansion is as great, if not better! After waiting 30 minutes to purchase our tickets, we decided to go RIP and skip to the front of the lines.

The Haunted Mansion begins with a dimly lit walk (or run if you can) through a corn maze filled with ghouls, traps and sinking sand. The dead really come alive in the corn maze and just when you think the end is in sight, you will find yourself trapped and grasping for your life. We managed to escape only to be loaded on to a haunted bus ride! At first we thought we were safe inside the bus, but it isn't until the door locks that we realized we were far from safe. In fact, we were trapped on a moving horror ride! There is no relaxing on the bus and I have never been more excited to be back on my feet, as I was leaving the haunted bus.

When you exit the bus, you are given a number and notified that you now may enjoy one of the many attractions while waiting for your number. We decided to take our turns at the Zombie paintball and I am quite confident that if the Zombie Apocalypse happens, I will be the first to go! There are also plenty of treats to enjoy while waiting. The Haunted Mansion itself is completely different from last year and thrillingly more frightening. The ghouls are larger and the scenes are more gruesomely detailed. I love that they kept the unique aspects that make the haunt great and added more props and ghouls. I could hear the blood curdling screams of victims that had gone before us and this only added to the fear and excitement.

The spirits inside the haunt made certain no one was left alone, and if you are one of those individuals that likes to try to hide behind a friend, expect to be targeted! After 28 minutes of horror, we managed to squeeze our way out of the mansion. If you make it out, you can proudly add your name to the large "survivor" list. We made it out, but I am not certain if my trembling hands means I am allowed the honor of the title "survivor"! Overall, The Haunted Mansion feeds on what scares you most and has an excellent balance of disgusting, horrifying and thrilling.

Summary

In its 10th year of fear, The Haunted Mansion is bigger and has more fear this year! The cost far underestimates the terror you can expect to face in the 4 haunted attractions. You begin with a walk through a dimly lit haunted corn maze filled with walking dead. The haunted bus ride keeps the screams going until you arrive at the main attraction. Try your chance with the Zombie Paintball, Burial Simulator and enjoy a large selection of treats before entering the Haunted Mansion. The Spirits or ghouls inside will not want you to escape and if you do, don't forget to sign the survivor wall! If you want to make a night of fear, make sure to travel to The Haunted Mansion!

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Monday, October 26, 2015 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Inner monologue: How to write a review that doesn't sound like I'm a fanboy? How to write a review that doesn't sound exactly like last year’s review, all positives? How to write a review that emphasizes the fact that this is truly the best haunt in the area, and I'm not just saying that to just say that? That's the dilemma I seem to run into when reviewing Abandoned Haunted House Complex every year. Now in its fourth season, I'm tasked with trying to write an objective review for the fourth time, but again, I absolutely loved it! Well, believe it or not, they outdid themselves, and the 2015 version of Abandoned is the best version of Abandoned yet!

The first section of Abandoned is called Hysteria, and that's fitting for this haunt. This haunt had me jumping from the moment we walked through the door, but it wasn't the usual generic guy in a costume jumping out at me screaming "BOO!" It was bright lights, loud noises, AND great actors, along with the best sets in the game that made this haunt awesome. It was truly sensory overload in Hysteria! Hysteria was more than your typical haunt, it preyed on your senses, and shredded your nerves! What a fantastic way to start adventure! Now, we were on to haunt number two, Ambush!

Ambush was more of the traditional haunt, but this year it was by far my favorite haunt I've walked through. This year I noticed they used more leveling, meaning you will walk up and down ramps a few times. I love that! The ramps aren't too steep, so don't be discouraged, but it's a nice touch, because this isn't used too often in haunts. There are some super cool areas with grated floors where you can see below you and it reminded me of the boiler room scenes in A Nightmare on Elm Street! Super awesome idea! I don't want to give too much away about this haunt, but they got something into this it that is HUGE, and is out of place, and is amazing, and is one of the coolest things I've seen in a haunt. You'll know it when you see it! In all, Ambush is the best haunt of the season.

To sum it up, once again I loved Abandoned Haunted House Complex! It's the best haunt in the area, if not the state. Value wise, for $20, you can't go wrong!

Signage / Visibility / Location


You seriously can't miss this place, there is a giant spot light illuminating the night sky! Neon letters on top of the building, well lit, right off of the interstate. It doesn't get much easier than this!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area was okay. It's an outdoor waiting area, so bring a heavy coat! They have videos on a big screen; when we were there they were playing silly viral videos. I would have liked to have seen horror clips and scary stuff, but that's me. At one point they played a pop groups video, didn't understand that at all, that didn't fit the theme one bit!

Actors' Performance


The best! You can tell they really hire the best! No one phoned it in, they are the best A+

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The best in the area! Professional quality, nothing seemed cheap or amateurish. I can't imagine anyone can hold a candle to Abandoned!

Length


We were in and out in about 45 minutes.

Crowd Control


There were no problems, plenty of staff to control the crowd.

Most Memorable Moment


The giant thing in Ambush that I will not mention, you must see it for yourself!!!

Summary

At the risk of sounding like a fanboy I'm just going to say do yourself a favor, go to Abandoned. It is, in my opinion, the best haunt in the area. For the money, you aren't going to have a better time at a haunt. Two great haunts for $20, you can't go wrong!

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 24, 2015 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Loosely playing on the "Hills Have Eyes" film theme, the Hill Has Eyes spins a tale of similar ghouls, but this time it's trailer park freaks and backwoods creeps who are stalking your every move. HHE boasts an impressive 5 attractions for the price of 1, sounds like the best deal I've come across in my journeys! HHE Does have ALL who attend sign a waiver, more on that later. HHE is yet another haunt that I have never attended, I was very excited to get my journey started.

I made my first mistake by arriving around 9:00pm... My buddy had dinner plans, what can you do? I was routed to overflow parking, far from the haunt, it was an uphill walk, then down a dirt road. Point is, if you learn anything from me, GET THERE EARLY! This place get busy! After meeting up with my friend, we found the (heated!) ticket booth and preceded to wait in a very long line to buy tickets. A bunch of clipboards started circulating with wavers, but the man in front of me told me I didn't have to sign it because it said for those under 18. Okay, cool! We waited a bit more and made it almost to the front of the line and a gentleman handed us the same clipboard, turns out we did have to sign the waiver, they were just out of the adult waivers. So, after holding up the line a bit so I could sign the waiver that I could have signed 30 minutes earlier if someone had explained to me what was going on, we made our way to the ticket booth and decided to purchase VIP tickets. If it took that long to just buy tickets, how long would it take to get in each haunt? It was only a $10 difference, totally worth it! Skip all of the lines, we got right in!

***One quick thing, if you're worried about signing the waiver, I was never put in danger, hurt, the only time I was touched was when an actor let's say, caressed my beard (weird right?), there were these prickly things that hung down at one point that we couldn't tell if they were pricking us or lightly zapping us. With that being said, there is a bit of foul language, so that might be the basis for the waver, I'm not sure, probably just a liability thing, because there's a lot of terrain you walk through.

***A few notes on the waiting area: If I weren't there to review HHE I would have loved this waiting area! Full bar, although that could be a REAL problem if you have no control considering $3 beers are pretty cheap for an event like this. There was also a DJ laying it down, having contests and giving away stuff. Now, I don't know how they roll in on most nights, but we almost walked out immediately because within 3 minutes of walking in he played Crazy B**** by Buckcherry. I don't need that in my life ever again, and it's still stuck there! YUCK! ANYWAYS, on to my review!

Again let me reiterate, we got the VIP passes, and we didn't regret it one bit! We were able to bypass all those waiting in the waiting area, and the people waiting in the line for the first haunt, Hooded. When you get to the front of the line you are instructed to grab a black hood, from there a man leads you through a door. You will follow a path until you reach what appears to be a soldier holding you up at gunpoint. This is where you put your hood on, now you can't see anything! You are instructed to reach for a rope that is to guide you along the path, that is the only way you can find your way. You MAY NOT lift the mask! FYI, the mask is very dark, very disorienting, and kind of hot! This was unlike anything I've ever experienced in a haunt! There wasn't too much going on here other than it being dark and you had to walk kind of slow. The path was relatively straight and would turn once in a while. It would have been nice if there were more things to startle you, I mean I was expecting something, I was blind to the world, I was on high alert. The soldier plays it well, and gave me a jab or two for having plugs in my ears! After a short stroll through the woods, Hooded is done. It was a fun start to the HHE experience!

On to the next haunt, Failed Escape. We entered our VIP line but were happy to wait a few minutes because this this line was one of the only lines to offer entertainment in the form of a very loud, very charismatic clown. The clown did a great job playing to the crowd, and when he noticed that I was laughing, he asked that I was laughing at, and he called me 4-eyes! I love it! Okay, so I'm just going to say that the next two haunts were unfortunately very similar. They start out very different, but both end up about the same. This makes reviewing these two more difficult. This haunt takes you through a junk yard with some freaks leaping from car to car, then you'll take a trip through the back woods where you'll meet some hillbillies who won't take kindly to your kind trespassing on their property, if you catch my drift. The best part of Failed Escape was by far the actor who recognized my friend and called him out! Nothing like having a backwoods hillbilly knowing your buddies name! After that, the mad men in the woods came out, this was an over used theme, but it's an easy go to in an outdoor, heavily wooded haunt. Now we were on to the next haunt.

Hunger Hollow was the third of the five advertised attractions at HHE. The theme started out centered around a butchers shop. Hanging body parts and guts everywhere! As we made our way through the woods again, a group caught up to us. This group had three very hyper teenagers in it. Not HHE's fault, but I wish they would have spaced us out a little more so they wouldn't have caught up with us so quickly, and unfortunately, I was at the end at this point so I had to hear their goofiness, and I had to keep getting bumped into. Not that big of a deal, just my own pet peeves. After going through another section and more woods you'll happen upon a facade. Here they're are running a wicked church service! Pretty cool, and this split us up from the group that caught up to us, even better! They then send you off to the next section of HHE, the Scare Lift!

The Scare Lift is a ski lift that will take you back to the top of the hill for the final attraction. There were two clown like fellas manning the lift when we went, they seemed ready to entertain, but just as they were going to do their thing, the teenagers showed up and started asking silly questions, and it became about them and not about the show. So we get on the Scare Lift, and let me tell you, they really dropped the ball with this one. It's really just a ski lift with circus music playing. Now you may be asking me "Pete, what could they possibly do to make it more than that?" Well, I would have had actors riding on random carts, squirting people with water, or silly string, or something. It was just a plain old ski lift ride, kind of boring. The lift leads you to the fifth and final attraction, Carnivore.

Carnivore was one of my favorite parts of HHE because it was completely different from the rest of the haunt. Though it's relatively short, it's very fun. You'll experience a carnival style maze, very tight squeeze tunnels, and a spinning vortex, which leads to the climax, a side show featuring a human puppet show! I won't say anymore! You must witness it for yourself!

Hill Has Eyes is definitely the biggest haunt I've been to. Though I focused on the fact that they relied heavily on the mad man in the woods angle a lot, they do mix up the themes more than enough to call this haunt original. The bottom line... was this haunt the scariest I've been to? No, but the fun factor is way up there. You will jump, then you will laugh about it after, at least that's how we were. It was a fun adventure. Was it worth the money? That's up for debate, it's an expensive haunt, but like I said, it's the longest haunt I've been to.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Coming off of the interstate, there was a sign pointing me down the road I was supposed to take. There is parking control to help with the multiple parking lots (it gets full).

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area is awesome. It is heated, which is a plus, also if you so desire, there is a full liquor bar, and a DJ. There were no actors walking the area, but it was fun none the less.

Actors' Performance


The actors were okay. The areas where the themes were prevalent, the actors were awesome, but the random actors were just so-so; you could tell those actors were just bit part players.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


It was an outdoor haunt, the sets were okay. Nothing too fancy.

Length


With the VIP pass we were in and out in 45 minutes, so expect to be in there about an hour and a half if you don't buy the VIP ticket, I would guess.

Crowd Control


Crowd control was excellent! There wasn't any issues, and like I stated above, they were serving cheap beer and alcohol!

Most Memorable Moment


Hooded, though it wasn't scary, and it could have used more jumps, I've never experienced anything like being blindfolded in a haunt. I liked it!

Summary

Though a little pricy, and not the scariest haunt, Hill Has Eyes is definitely bang for your buck. It's the biggest haunt I've EVER been too. It's packed with fun! If you're looking for an amusing, exciting evening, this might be your place!

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2015 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

Back for it's seventh season, Racine's Factory of Fear looks to scare you with some old tricks, and a few new ones as well! A century ago this factory was thriving, now nothing is left but the souls who roam the halls. Also, if that's not enough, new in 2015, Zombie Massacre has been added to the fun! You'll have to defend your house from blood thirsty zombies in this interactive laser tag competition.

Let me start off my review by saying that I was very excited to review Factory of Fear, this was my first visit to the Factory, so I didn't know what to expect! We were first lead to a stairway where we were given some instructions, our group of 9 was then split into two separate teams and we were lead up the stairs where we entered two different wooden shacks. Zombie Massacre Laser Tag had begun! The object of the game was to not let the attacking zombies knock off the boards from the windows of your house, the team with the lowest score at the end of the game wins. Each team member gets a laser gun, and you defend your house by shooting the zombies in the head; they attack at random, sometimes in hoards. Zombie Massacre was a blast, and it was one of my favorite ways to begin a haunt in quite some time. We were against a family with a mother, father, and three children, two of which were under 13... Our team of four adults lost the game easily! Pretty embarrassing! After the game we were pulled into a room and huddled all together so Mrs. Bones, and puppeted skeleton could explain a little of the back story of the Factory of Fear. Next they split us up into our groups that we were in for laser tag, and sent us through two separate doors. We were off to haunt number one!

The first haunt you go through is called Devil's Nightmare, and I can attest that that name is fairly accurate, well, at least the beginning was for us! The first section was the longest, most grueling section of a haunt I think I've ever gone through! With that being said, I applaud them for it! It was so simple, yet so tedious to get though. It WAS like a Devil's Nightmare, great job Factory staff! Devil's Nightmare is an actor heavy, theme in every room, haunt that leads you though some dark hallways and dead ends. This haunt is your traditional gore-fest, with misdirection, loud noises, and great acting, In all, Devil's Nightmare is just what you're looking for in a haunt, it covers all of the bases. After we exited Devil's Nightmare we again met up with the other group from laser tag. A staff member held them up a bit, sent that group on, and then had us wait a while before sending us along, into the second and final haunt, Blind Madness.

Blind Madness wasn't my favorite haunt of all time, it is short and lacks too much interaction, but I guess that's what you are going to get when you enter a haunt called "Blind" Madness, right?! But what it lacks in duration, it makes up in sensory deprivation and overload! If anyone has read a review of mine, you know I LOVE that! Any time you mess with my senses I am all in! Blind Madness is a nice little throw in to a pretty good attraction, which makes Factory of fear a well rounded haunt.

Signage / Visibility / Location


If you're not from the area, make sure you have GPS on, it's tricky to find! The sign was pretty dimly lit, and if you weren't looking for it, I'm not sure you would spot it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The waiting area is indoors, which was nice. There was ZERO organization to it. When we got our tickets we had to give them my cell phone number, I got a text thanking me for my purchase, and the cashier told me when I got the second text that I should tell the security guard that I received a text... I didn't realize that it would take an hour and a half for the second text to come. It was just a bunch of people hanging out in a room, with no directions, for hours., waiting for texts. There were two actors in the waiting area roaming around that were VERY entertaining. One actor had an alien baby puppet that would awaken and scream, and the other had a possessed demon woman puppet attached to him that would scream. These men were great!

Actors' Performance


The actors in the haunts are are great. From the zombies in the laser tag which really hammed it up, to the giant creature on stilts, there are some great ones at Factory of Fear!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Factory of Fear does a lot with the dark. The sets and props Factory has are average, they aren't blowing you away, but with that being said, a lot can be done with a little

Length


30 Minutes

Crowd Control


Like I mentioned above, the waiting area is a joke. No structure, nobody really knows what's going on. Unless you can squeeze your way to the front and ask one of the security guards, you're going to be left in the dark. Bad set up.

Most Memorable Moment


A man in black popping out startled my girlfriend quite a bit! It's something I was expecting, but she wasn't!!!

Summary

Factory of Fear is back for year seven, and this year it's added laser tag to the mix! Factory of Fear's two haunts Devil's Nightmare and Blind Madness are two typical walkthrough style haunts. What sets Factory of Fear apart from other haunts is Zombie Massacre, the interactive laser tag! This got our night off on the right foot, and made it totally worth it! If you venture out to Factory of Fear, make sure you spend the extra $10 and play Zombie Massacre, it's totally worth it!

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Wisconsin Scaryland

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 17, 2015 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Looks can be deceiving! Driving up to Wisconsin Scaryland, it just looked like any other large building. But inside this average looking dwelling was another story!

The line for Wisconsin Scaryland was impressive! It’s clear that this is a very popular attraction, the wait was close to two hours! There are two separate wait lines: one outside and one inside. The smoke alarm kept going off as they were using a fog machine in the inside wait area. At first I thought that was just another sound effect until I saw a worker keep fanning the air by the alarm to make it stop. Although it’s very expensive, you might want to consider the 'Jump The Line' ticket. Especially on a cold night where you're waiting over an hour!

Your journey starts in an elevator where they lay out the rules. It's there that you learn that you cannot touch the actors, but they CAN touch you! It's good that they state this right up front so visitors are not too freaked out when it happens. Then you ascend to the "13th" floor and to the horror that awaits you.

There are three different themes in Wisconsin Scaryland: the Westport Penitentiary, Toxic, and the Carnevil Big Chop Circus. While some haunts would make these three separate attractions, here they flow from one theme into the next.

There were so many great staged scenes: The cemetery, the circus, the trashed bathroom (SO gross), the nursery, the dentist office... every room was done very well! They had them all dimly lit to perfection. Unfortunately not all the rooms had actors in them, but everything was great to look at.

As mentioned above, one thing that makes this haunt unique is that they the actors can touch you. This isn’t over-done, but just enough to freak you out! There were a few times where someone grabbed or lightly touched me. Their timing was great!

The haunt seemed to end abruptly. I thought we were walking into the next scene and it really was the exit. I didn't want it to end!!! In talking with other visitors, everyone seemed to really enjoy themselves. A tip that I didn't find out until after my visit: Purchase your ticket online for a nice discount!

Signage / Visibility / Location


It's pretty easy to find Wisconsin Scaryland, and you'll definitely see the crowd of people waiting in line.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There were a few actors walking around as you waited in line. Nothing scary, but definitely entertaining! It was a little confusing where you needed to purchase your tickets.

Actors' Performance


Most all of the actors did a great job and really went all out. Even the nurses that take your money were great!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


All the scenes and props in Wisconsin Scaryland are top notch. You would expect them to be, considering that Halloween FX Props designed it!

Length


It took approximately 20 minutes to make our way through all three themes.

Crowd Control


It was a very busy night, and there were several times we bumped into other groups.

Most Memorable Moment


I have to say that the one thing that I remember most was walking through a large public bathroom. The janitor was hilarious!

Summary

Long lines, but well worth the wait! All in all, Wisconsin Scaryland is a very professional and well run haunt!

View all Wisconsin Scaryland reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 16, 2015 at about 11 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

For years I’ve heard about the Haunted Barn. I always hoped that one day I would be able to take a road trip and visit this well run haunt. When the Haunted Barn went away last year, I was extremely disappointed. Another great haunt that I would never be able to attend. But earlier this year I hear that they’re back for 2015!!! I was determined that I wasn’t going to miss out on attending this year.

I have to start this review out by saying that the staff was GREAT! This was the second haunt I attended on the same night, and the first haunt ran longer than expected. When my GPS took me to the wrong place (twice), I called their number to get their correct location. When they state that they never turn someone away, THEY MEAN IT. Although we were late in arriving, they rolled out the red carpet for us. (Not knowing I was reviewing their haunt for Haunted Wisconsin) From those at the ticket booth, to the food booth, to all the actors in the haunt itself: definitely a CLASS ACT! They take pride in what they do, and they do it well. It's haunts like the Haunted Barn that do it for the love of Halloween and giving a good scare! I unfortunately didn't get any pictures of the haunt or it's actors due to not wanting to keep them any longer than needed. I hope that they continue to stay around for a long time to come, and I mean that sincerely. Thank you!

The location of the Haunted Barn is great. There’s not much around it but its also not too far out of town where you're in for a long drive. The grounds is setup very well and visually the barn is impressive when you drive up. First impressions set the stage to your experience... and my first impression, both by the staff and the look of the barn, was telling me I was in for a treat!

Considering there is limited space in the barn, they do a great job of making the most of their square footage! It seemed that every time we turned a corner there was a scare or surprise waiting for us. The bloody bride got me really good! The fortune teller was very entertaining, repeating several times that I had 'something to hide'. (If she reads this review, this is that something!) The little girl that led us to different areas was humorous and never once dropped character. Just when we thought we were done, there was one last scare that had us running! The scoreboard for those whom either wet their pants or quit the haunt half-way through is a nice touch!

I'm so very glad I was finally able to visit the Haunted Barn. One more thing off my bucket list! Here's hoping they continue to provide a quality haunt for years to come.

Signage / Visibility / Location


There's something up with both Google maps and iphone maps that kept giving us the wrong address. It's really not hard to find, just take Hwy 51 out of Stoughton. Once you're they're, you'll see it right away!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


We did not have to wait... they were waiting for US! The waiting area was setup very nice, both outside the barn and right in the main entrance.

Actors' Performance


The actors and staff are really what makes the Haunted Barn a MUST ATTEND. They're not in it to make money, but I do hope they make some! They're timing was perfect, nobody dropped character, and it was literally one scare after the other.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets are a bit rustic. In my mind there are corporate haunts and there are homegrown haunts. This haunt falls under the homegrown category. It might not be as polished as the haunts with bigger budgets, but they make up for it with creativity and great acting!

Length


It took about 15 minutes to go through start to finish. I personally would rather have 15 minutes of non-stop action than a haunt that is super long but light on scares. Kudos!

Crowd Control


We did not have to deal with any crowd control, until we were bumping into each other at the end as we were running away!

Most Memorable Moment


Beetlejuice was a hoot!

Summary

In all my years of attending haunts, and there's MANY years, I was very impressed by this entire group and their haunt. They're good people! But don't let that fool you... they're going to scare the crap out of you!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Youth Go's Haunted House

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 16, 2015 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Low

Review

The 2015 edition of Neenah’s Most Haunted presents a Terror-riffic Tour. Walk through a maze of creative room and hallway layouts, all elaborately detailed with articulately dressed and skillfully positioned ghouls. Be very careful though, an epidemic is ravaging the inhabitants of this haunt turning many of them into Zombi-riffic creatures of the night looking for more victims…will you be infected as well?

While this isn’t the scariest haunt I’ve visited it most certainly offers a ghoulishly great time…especially for younger haunt goers. Despite the kid appropriate scares here adults will definitely enjoy the clever room layouts and polished performances of the ghouls as well as the maze that awaits. While dark and potentially frustrating the maze provides a uniquely chilling experience.

Neenah’s Most Haunted is in its 30th year and the 6th year of the last 7 that I’ve visit this haunt. Each year I’ve been pleasantly surprised by the improvements and the superb job the young actors do portraying their roles. Fun & Nicely Done!

Signage / Visibility / Location


While there may not have been much in the way of signage to lead you to this haunt the location and visibility of the venue from the street make it very easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Come dressed for the elements as the wait line is outside. A few costumed actors roam the parking lot and waiting line to help build your anticipation.

Actors' Performance


Nicely done! The actors may have been youthful but their enthusiasm and ghoulish roles made their performances very enjoyable.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Elaborate set designs and secret passage ways make for a very visually stimulating experience. While this haunt may not have the big FX effects and props as some of the other venues the attention to detail and execution of each rooms theme more than make up for it.

Length


Took our group 15 minutes to complete our adventure.

Crowd Control


The waiting line was clearly roped off….but there was no line when my group attended this haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


Quite a few rooms standout....I particularly enjoyed the labyrinth of exquisitely decorated rooms connected by trick walls and confusing corridors.

Summary

Of all the haunts I’ve toured Neenah’s Most Haunted did the best job of providing a ghoulishly fun time for haunt goers of all ages. While the scares here are definitely kid appropriate, adults will definitely enjoy the clever room layouts and polished performances of the ghouls.

View all Youth Go's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Screamin Acres Haunted Houses

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 16, 2015 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

You would think with a name like ‘Screamin Acres’ that this haunt would be huge. Well, you thought right! Screamin Acres is one of the biggest haunted attractions around that includes multiple areas. There’s so much ground to cover, at some point I lost track of time! They expect to expand their haunt every year, which is mind-blowing as it’s already huge with multiple themes. While some other haunts will charge you for each theme or attraction, you get everything for one price here.

The wait area is very nice and impressive. It’s housed under a big tent, so you are out of the elements on those nights that are cold and nasty. The first thing you notice is the dj spinning the tunes. Not some cd playing on repeat, but an actual dj in a booth! The whole tent is lit up with lasers, which is another nice touch!

First up is the Slaughter House. If you’re into gore, then this will be right up your alley with a few scares thrown in. The amount of detail was crazy, those with weak stomachs beware! Then we went through the corn maze which was dark and quiet. Being out in-between the corn stalks at night is creepy! Your mind will start to play tricks on you and you’ll start jumping at things that aren’t even there. Then throw in a few actors to really keep you on your toes! You can never go wrong with a corn maze at night.

About halfway through Screamin Acres I realized something was missing. Shhh…. Can you hear that? No, I don’t hear anything! While there was a music playing in the wait area, pretty much 95% of the experience was void of music or pumped in noises. While odd at first, I actually enjoyed that! It was eerie to walk in the cornfield or down a long dark corridor with no music or automated noises. DEAD QUIET, other than some screams heard off in the distance. It made this haunt that much more spooky!

Next we entered the Crawl Space. I won’t give too much away, but smells play just as big as a role as what you’re seeing! VERY realistic, but hardly any actors. That leads you to the Last Resort, which is more a traditional style haunt. We were startled a few times in there! Just when we thought it was all done, there was Side Effects. This is a 3D attraction complete with glasses. There was a little bit of everything!

Several actors were very funny, while others were down-right scary. Some opportunities for a good scare were lost due to number of staff versus the size of the haunt. That’s really my only complaint. Many rooms looked incredible but there was nobody in them. But with that said, the amount of detail was incredible! It felt like we were walking through a big budget horror movie.

On busy nights, the Fast Pass is a good deal for only $10 more.

Signage / Visibility / Location


It was very easy to find! My GPS took me right to it and it's very well lit.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


I was surprised that there wasn't much of a wait to get in for a Friday night. As stated above, the waiting area in impressive!

Actors' Performance


All of the actors did a great job performance wise. All were in character and did a great job. More of these fine actors is what's needed for a haunt of this size.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This is where Screamin Acres shines. The scenes are incredible! I can't imagine how much time was put into creating all those great rooms, and there are a ton of them!

Length


There are five different parts to this attraction: The Slaughter House took about 20 minutes. The corn maze about another 20 minutes. The Crawl Space took about 10 minutes. The Last Resort took about 15 minutes. Side Effects took about 10 minutes. Everything together lasted approximately 75 minutes.

Crowd Control


There wasn't much of a crowd when we attended, so we did not bump into anyone during our journey other than the line before the Last Resort.

Most Memorable Moment


There was a scene in the Crawl Space that combined sound, smell and gory visuals that will haunt me for some time!

Summary

If you’re looking for a fun, large haunt in the Madison area look no further! You really get the maximum ‘bang for your buck’ at Screamin Acres.

View all Screamin Acres Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 9, 2015 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Sensationally Scary! Fantastically Frightful!! Prepare yourself to be shocked and awed…regardless of whether you’ve never been to the Burial Chamber complex or you’ve attended toured all 7 reincarnations of this haunt a terrifying tour awaits you! While the sheer size of this haunt may make first timers gasp with nervous anticipation what lurks inside will certainly take everyone’s breath away. 2015 was my 6th visit to Burial Chamber in the past 7 seasons. Amazingly, despite being familiar with the scare tactics employed by the ghouls and demons at Burial Chamber they have always succeeded in making me jump. If you’re concerned about similarities between this year’s tour and prior year’s you’ll be pleased to find several new rooms and creepy encounters to excite your senses…particularly in Insanity. Over the past 7 years as a Review Crew Member I’ve been to many of the haunts in Wisconsin and I’ve yet to find one as massive as Burial Chamber…or as talented at terrorizing you.

Of course for all you Haunt Connoisseurs out there I don’t have to tell you that it’s not always the size of the haunt that matters. When it comes to Burial Chamber, not only is this complex well endowed, it employs an amazing arsenal of creeped out corridors, crazy creatures and good ole’ fashioned in your face scares to maximize your ghoulish gratification.

Burial Chamber features two indoor haunts (Adrenaline and Insanity) that reside side by side and one (Phobia) that’s outside. The layout of Adrenaline and Insanity are similar in that they are both comprised of a seemingly endless maze of cleverly crafted corridors consisting of a variety of themes. The journey through both Adrenaline and Insanity progresses continuously without stoppages for elaborate skits. Rooms here are more like themed corridors than rooms and your pace through these haunts are determined more by how quickly you walk than it is by the creatures lurking in the shadows.

Consistent with prior years, the pace of Adrenaline is fast and furious as the ghouls are unrelenting in their quest to scare each and every visitor regardless of their position within a group. Yes, you read that correctly…you will be terrorized regardless of your position in your group as there is no place to hide from the menacing monsters lurking throughout the haunt. The lighting of Adrenaline is noticeably darker than Insanity but there was always just enough light for you to find your way without the worry of walking into a wall. The maze of dimly lit hallways of Adrenaline did an exceptional job of building my anticipation of the scares that await but unfortunately made it challenging for the true haunt connoisseur in me to appreciate how elaborate the sets and creatures were. Nonetheless, if you’re looking for a good scare to get your heart dancing like Dracula’s Discotheque Adrenaline will get the job done!

Insanity on the other hand left little to the imagination. Sets were lit effectively…dim enough to encourage you to keep your scare guard up but light enough so that you could appreciate the amazing attention to detail with the sets and costumed actors. There were fewer creatures lurking in the shadows of Insanity but enough to make you jump occasionally. Gore and special effects were plentiful with several visual abominations that will torment your mind long after your exit. Laser lighting, black lit rooms, a vortex, strobe lights, and trick floor were just a few of the visual stimuli Insanity offered up.

Unlike Adrenaline and Insanity, Phobia resides completely outside and features a terrifying tour through the woods along with occasional petrifying passages through eerie dwellings found along the way. Rustling brush and sinister sounds heighten your anticipation of what’s to come as you proceed along a moon lit path. Similar to Adrenaline, the monsters in Phobia were menacing, highly motivated and acrobatic doing an exceptional job of appearing out of nowhere to scare each and every member the tour group regardless of position.

Consistent with prior years, I find it challenging to pick a clear-cut favorite out of Burial Chambers 3 haunted attractions. By far Adrenaline was the most terrifying while Insanity offers an amazing visual experience. Of the 7 haunted attractions I’ve been to in 2015, Burial Chamber once again has my vote as the scariest most terrifying attraction!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find as it’s just a couple minutes from Hwy 41. The sheer size of this complex combined with several parking attendants flagging you into the parking lot make it nearly impossible to miss this place.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Come dressed for the elements as the wait lines for Adrenaline, Insanity and Phobia are all outside. Two large screens outside of Adrenaline and Insanity along with a few costumed actors help to build your anticipation. There's also a snack wagon parked out back to help satisfy your cravings for munchies. If you don’t like long lines and lengthy waits be sure to purchase VIP passes to take advantage of the shorter VIP lines. Burial Chamber consistently, year after year, appears to be the most popular haunted attraction in the state!

Actors' Performance


The actors were very skilled at providing quick and unexpected scares. Nothing noteworthy in terms of an academy award type performance...but in their defense these haunts weren't designed to provide an opportunity for a theatrical display. Occasionally the actors would flash a performance that may creep you out.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Brilliant use of shadows and dimly lit hallways/rooms to maximize scare and creep factor. Set designs were very effective in immersing you into the theme of the haunt. Not the most elaborate set designs I've seen but definitely better than the average haunt. Enjoyed some of the unique concepts and special effects. Trick floors, falling ceilings, vibrating walls, tripped out laser lights….there’s a little bit of everything to keep you on your toes. I particularly enjoyed the cleverly laid out mazes in both Adrenaline and Insanity.

Length


Took our group 18 minutes to complete Adrenaline and 15 minutes for Insanity

Crowd Control


Waiting lines for both Adrenaline and Insanity were clearly marked off along with the separate VIP lines.

Most Memorable Moment


Several great scares....if clowns creep you out you’ll really enjoy Insanity!

Summary

If you’re looking for a totally terrifying experience this Halloween look no further than Burial Chamber. Minute for minute Burial Chamber’s Adrenaline and Insanity haunts provide more scare opportunities than any other haunt I’ve attended. Adrenaline’s scares come early and often while Insanity showcases more gore and visual effects but still provides plenty of scare opportunities. For those who thirst for more thrills Phobia offers even more horrific haunted mayhem.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Dwelling Of Despair

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2015 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Dwelling of Despair Haunted House & accompanying Forest of Fear is a self-guided, interactive ghoulish attraction known for its scaretacular special effects, intense make-up, elaborate decor, skilled actors, unique monsters, unusual themes and chilling detail! To put it simply the Dwelling of Despair & Forest of Fear is the total package - an extremely high quality immersive event that merges SCARY, FUN and COOL into a safe environment. More importantly the Dwelling of Despair is ever changing. Accompanying the new name for this haunt are new effects, scares, characters, story lines and an extended terrifying tour. Rest assured though, this haunt has still retained the same Halloween charm that has brought guests back for the past 30 years!

The 2015 edition of this haunt presents two horrifying sections to test your wits and your desire to survive. THE Forrest of Fear kicks off your terrifying tour on a dark and twisted path patrolled by evil spirits and several fiendish ghouls. If you're lucky enough to slip past these gorish guardians the entrance of the 3 story Dwelling of Despair awaits from the 3rd floor balcony. To escape the nightmares found within the unfriendly confines of the Dwelling of Despair you must successfully navigate a maze of uniquely themed rooms and hidden passages through the bowls of the entire house. Along the way you are sure to encounter each and every inhabitant of the house...some fun, some helpful but most of all they are all quite frightful!

Signage / Visibility / Location


This may not be the easiest haunt to find. If you’re on HWY 60 in slinger look for the lighted portable sign with a flashing arrow on the north side of the road. Fireman’s park is an immediate right turn after you make turn north off of HWY 60. The Haunted House is actually tucked away after a short winding drive into the park.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


This haunt offers a wood shack with a concessions stand to comfort you while you anticipate the horror that awaits you. A tented staging area provides shelter from the elements as you undergo last minute preparations before your terrifying tour through the woods.

Actors' Performance


A great mix of adult and young actors delivered very entertaining performances. A few of them were absolutely exceptional at adlibbing and allowed you to playfully interact with them. Of the 6 haunts I've toured so far this year the performances at the Dwelling of Despair were by far the best! Less veteran haunt goers looking to get freaked out will not be disappointed. All haunt goers will be certainly be entertained.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Some very unique sets and a several outstanding special effects.

Length


Approximately 25 minutes.

Crowd Control


Numbered tickets allow you to purchase your tickets and assemble wherever you’d like while you wait. No long lines to stand in at this haunt. VIP tickets allow you to avoid the wait and skip to the front of the pack.

Most Memorable Moment


Several to choose from…. I don’t want to ruin any of the sensational surprises that await but Lorenzo's adlibs were a real treat.

Summary

The Dwelling of Despair provides an exceptional balance of scares, ghoulishly gratifying visual treats and interactive entertainment making this haunt a fun Halloween destination for both kids and adults alike. The indoor waiting area complete with concession stand make this a howling good time regardless of the weather.

View all Dwelling Of Despair reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Trail Of Terror

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 10, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Thousands of visitors travel to Northern Wisconsin every year for the breathtaking views of the trees changing colors. However, travel up a desolate road not far from Hwy 41 in Oconto, and you will find something else in the woods that will take your breath away!

Located only 20 minutes north of Green Bay, your fears of what lurks in the woods, becomes real at the Trail of Terror, known as the longest haunted woods in Wisconsin. It wasn't until we traveled 2 miles on a small rural road that we saw the sign for the Trail of Terror glowing in the distance. We had not even parked our car, and ghouls were already on us! We found our way to the ticket booth by following the large glowing light of the bonfire. There is one option for purchasing tickets and you are given a glowing necklace (so the ghouls can track you) and a keepsake wristband that states "your tears bring us joy". There is no standing in a long line at this haunt, you can purchase several goodies from hot cocoa to nacho's while you warm yourself by the bonfire. While waiting for your name to be called, ghouls will stalk you and blood curdling screams can be heard coming from deep within the woods. The fear builds while you listen to the victims who have gone before you. Our name was finally called and we were joined with two other small groups along with a few "tour guides".

The moment you walk into the woods, the ghouls are are grasping for you and they try to warn you not to continue. Suddenly, a loud "bang" makes everyone jump and seek escape. The lengthy trail is only lit by a few flaming torches along the path, so there is no way to predict where the ghouls are lurking. Around several bends your group is sent without a guide into a horror filled scene.

The "minds" behind the Trail of Terror want you to feel frighteningly uncomfortable and they make certain that if the woods alone do not "terrorize" you, one of the many scenes or ghouls will! All of the ghouls were full of blood curdling energy and they will touch you, and I don't just mean a small "tap" on the shoulder. If you think you can hide behind someone and remain safe, you are wrong! At 30 minutes long, you begin to wonder if the horror will ever end. Just when we thought we were safe inside our vehicle, the horror continued! Since there are not multiple attractions at the Trail of Terror, all of the creativity and energy is focused on making the Haunted Woods a true masterpiece.

Summary

The Trail of Terror is the longest haunted woods in Wisconsin and they specialize in making you scream. The ghouls are "hands on" from the moment you arrive to the second you leave. The length of the Trail of Terror, lack of having to stand in line, delicious treats, frightening setting in the woods, high energy ghouls, and carefully crafted scenes makes this attraction the best haunted woods in Wisconsin!

View all Trail Of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue - CLOSED

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 4, 2015 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Morgue is a 1920's haunted abandoned school house located near the Austin Straubel Airport in Green Bay. This was my first visit to The Morgue which has been at this location for approximately 20 years! It is rare that I am caught "off guard" at any Haunted House, but The Morgue is nothing like any other haunted house I have attended.

Once you arrive you purchase a wristband and you are directed to a walk through the woods. The woods was very dark and it was difficult to navigate, but we managed to make our way through. There were no ghouls in the woods, but it helped build up the fear for the main attraction. Once you exit the woods, you first notice a HUGE bonfire with lots of couches and seating area's all around. There was already a sizable group waiting for their numbers to be called in order to enter The Morgue. Everyone that pays admissions receives a wristband with a group number on it, this allows you to relax, purchase food, beverages or just enjoy the bonfire. There are also several ghouls roaming the groups outside, waiting to catch you off guard. I witnessed a young man running for his life and he lost a shoe while trying to escape.

The school house was difficult to see, so it isn't until you are inside that you realize you are in a truly paranormal environment. When your number is called, the scares begin! You do not enter the house with other groups, so you do not have to worry about other annoying crowds ruining the fear. Everything inside the haunted house was completely unexpected, starting with the very first "room". I heard someone outside refer to the inside of the haunted house as a "large playground", but I feel that is a strong "understatement". I love haunted houses that rely on real "phobia's" instead of just using "scary animatronnics" and The Morgue has mastered this technique! A bloody moving corpse isn't as scary to me as walls caving in, floors dropping and abandoned school houses. Yes, there is a slide and it is the largest slide I have ever seen at a haunted attraction, but that doesn't even begin to describe the 45 minute long experience I had inside The Morgue. The ghouls did a phenomenal job and you could tell they truly were passionate about making you scream and squirm. There was very little "down time" aside from the 3 stories that you climb on several occasions throughout the haunt. The engineering and innovation that has gone into this lengthy haunt is clearly the result of a team that understands what really makes people scream.

Summary

The Morgue is a uniquely terrifying haunted attraction that is located inside of an old 1920's school house. There is no standing in line, so feel free to cuddle up and enjoy good conversation with others around the huge bonfire. We are all afraid of "something" and if you attend the Morgue, be prepared to face that fear! While the slide increases the fun factor, it is just a small part of a much larger frightening experience. This is definitely one of those haunts that everyone should experience!

View all The Morgue - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2015 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 3, 2015 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Your worst nightmares will become real in Green Bay! No, I am not referring to the Green Bay Packers losing, but rather the terror that awaits you only 5 minutes from Lambeau Field at Terror on the Fox. For 19 years, Terror on the Fox has grown exponentially, adding length, more attractions, increased props and a large collection of souls left behind. Terror on the Fox is located at the National Railroad Museum and during the fall, the real double decker passenger train is transformed into a fog ridden ghost ride that leaves you screaming for escape. When you arrive at Terror on the Fox, the true nature of what is hidden deep in the woods is not apparent and you can only see the glowing red lights of the moving train.

We arrived shortly after the sunset in order to avoid any lengthy lines, but due to the popularity of this Haunt, the lines had already begun to grow. Prior to purchasing your tickets, there is plenty of gifts and food for purchase. There are 4 different ticket purchase options ranging from $15 - $35. Every ticket includes the haunted train ride, walk through the woods and The Omnious Sanctum (or the main haunted house). Since the lines were not too long when we arrived, we skipped the Fast Pass and chose the combo admission in order to gain access to The Pandemonium and The Omnious Sanctum. The Pandemonium and The Omnious Sanctum are two separate haunted attractions at Terror on the Fox, so I will keep the experience for both separate.

It all starts with a wait outside, while large screens play artistic scenes from inside the haunts. You can hear the blow of the train and see its magnificence pulling to a screeching halt in front of you. Ghouls roam the lines and everyone boards the haunted train for a 15 minute ride around the river. While on the train, it is lights out and fog fills the cabins. This is no relaxing train ride, ghouls are after you from above and behind. If you survive the train ride, you are escorted to a brief walk through a dark woods. If you purchased both haunted attractions, you will be directed to start at The Pandemonium.

The Pandemonium creates a very real panic throughout as control is not an option in this haunted attraction. A flashlight dimly provides you with security as you try to find the right way. Imagine being alone at night in a darkened hospital or penitentiary, you hear something coming from the right and with trembling hands, you shine your tiny flashlight only to discover horror is all around you! The ghouls can see you and by the time you see them, it is already too late. The attention to detail in every corner of this haunt was outstanding. We struggled to find our way out and the ghouls had us clinging to the floor in order to avoid their grasp. The Pandemonium took us on a 24 minute panic ridden attempt to escape.

Another brief walk through the darkened woods took us to The Ominous Sanctum. The grandeur of the exterior of this haunt builds excitement and fear at the same time. This is truly the type of artistic construction that only true haunted experts could create. Once inside, the grandeur continues with little to no "down" time. Old favorites still remain, but pale in comparison to the additions that have been made. I consider myself a pretty "seasoned" haunt attendee, but even I struggled to grasp that some of the props were not "real". We faced a lot of hesitation and uncertainty as we slowly moved forward and either something "supernatural" happened to my clock or it literally took us almost 40 minutes to escape! The presentation of the entire haunt would have been frightening even without ghouls, but the spot on performance made for a very thrilling experience.

Summary

A lot has changed at Terror on the Fox since it first began 19 years ago! The haunted train ride makes this attraction unique, but the addition of Pandemonium and expansion of the main haunt has turned this into one of the best attractions in Northeast Wisconsin. Everything, from the exterior of The Ominous Sanctum, to the ghouls rocking to heavy metal, screams that this is the work of true haunted experts! I recommend this haunt to "seasoned" attendees as it might be too frightening for anyone who can not handle fear.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

You can view previous review crews here: 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017



December 18th, 2018 6:42 a.m. CST 1.5.1