ad-header-top

2013 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

126 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by purplesea after attending on Saturday, October 19, 2013 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my first year going to the Wisconsin Fear Grounds and I am so impressed with the attention to detail and everything that goes into making this an amazing experience! This is NOT your average haunted house!! Having three different houses to go through, each with a different theme changed it up, and kept you off balance and completely unsure what was around the next corner!

Morgan Manor was full of twists and turns and seemed to go on forever, and the actors were insane! The makeup and costumes totally tripped me out! CarnEvil was my favorite - I don't have a problem with clowns, but the group I was with had some people that are terrified of them, and the clowns SO played on that, and were amazing - my friends were absolutely terrified and traumatized! It was great! Unstable was just flat out creepy, gross and great! What a bunch of freaks! That house is just one you have to experience for yourself!

Summary

All in all, the Fear Grounds were amazing, and I will definitely be back! I live really close, and I can't believe I waited so long to come experience a really good scare!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Misery Haunted House/YARD

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 25, 2013 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

I'll be honest and say that I wasn't expecting much as I drove up to Misery Haunted House.  I know it's for a great cause (Haven of Hope Day Care).  I know they are new and I'm aware that the weather might play a part in some haunts poor turn-out.  And I also know that more often than not, new haunts with little funding behind it can be a yawn-fest.  But with all that said... I'm so pleased to say that I had a blast at Misery Haunted House!


The night began with a visit to the doctor.  What's a trip to the doctor without a wait in the doctor's waiting room?  I even had to take a number and then you have to see 'the doctor' one at a time.  Very clever...  you feel more vulnerable in a haunt when it's just you going into it.  Further in the house, an evil monkey had us jumping multiple times!  A mad hatter had us literally walking in circles.  A little girl wanted to play dolls with us but never wanted us to leave.  We even had time to saddle up to the bar for a shot of...  well, I'm not sure what it was!  There's so much more, but why don't you go see for yourselves?  Oh...  and if you see an electric organ, feel free to play a few notes on it!


If you enjoy haunted houses, give Misery a shot.  You won't wait hours in line, you get more bang for your buck, and it's a great time!  


Signage / Visibility / Location


It was pretty easy to find Misery, just a few minutes from Hwy 41 and lots of parking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There wasn't much of a wait.  I did not see anybody walking around scaring people in line, but there was a video screen playing different things throughout the night.

Actors' Performance


The actors and even the workers were all great.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This haunt is not meant to be compared to the big 'corporate' haunts.  Many of the props are home made.  Some of the sets are a bit crude.  But that's ok!  This haunt had us jumping and laughing most all the way through.

Length


It took about 20 minutes to go through Misery.

Crowd Control


There was not much of a crowd when we attended, but they did make sure to space out each group.

Most Memorable Moment


Definitely the monkey.  I don't ever recall seeing a monkey in a haunted house before.  Next year I'm bringing him a banana.

Summary

I left Misery with a smile on my face.  I was reminded of why I started liking haunts in the first place.  They are someone's hard work and imagination, and they are fun!  I look forward to Misery in the years to come...  bravo!

View all Misery Haunted House/YARD reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

House of Bathory (CLOSED)

by majorXpsycho (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 19, 2013 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The House of Bathory made me fear for my life.  I am not referring to the unexpected jump or shriek I make when something catches me off guard.  When I say that it caused me to "fear for my life", I mean that I actually feared for my life!  The haunted attraction industry has become far too commercialized and the focus has led astray from the main goal of actually making you afraid.  Unlike most haunted attractions, the House of Bathory isn't consumed with entertaining  attendee's by adding donut stands and rooms full of miscellaneous ghouls that grunt and growl.  In all honestly, not many of us over the age of 13 really get scared at Haunted Houses anymore.  I would highly recommend NOT attending the House of Bathory if you are under 13!  The House of Bathory also does not spend hours and tons of money working on marketing their attraction.  In fact, I think that they could care less if 2 or 200,000 people attend.  The only thing the House of Bathory cares about, is that you are truly frightened.  Imagine your worst fear, or a time in your life when you were so scared, that death seemed like a far better alternative compared to your current situation.  That, is the feeling you will experience during your time inside the House of Bathory. 

Finding the House of Bathory is difficult, primarily due to the one way street it is located on in downtown Manitowoc.    You will not find HUGE signs or spotlights that light the way, you will need the address.  There are no people standing outside waiting in a long line (similar to past years).  The wait for the House of Bathory has been moved inside, which is a huge relief on a cold or rainy evening such as the night we attended.  During your wait, you can expect to sit down, relax and watch an old fashioned scary movie on a large theater like screen.  It is warm and cozy while you wait, so enjoy the show and catch up with friends.  They wait until each group has completed the entire haunt before sending another through in order to make certain that the actors are prepared for their next victims.  The haunt also plays out like a real horror movie, so it is imperative that there is no overcrowding that might give away the ending.

I do not want to share too many details about the House of Bathory, as I fear it would take away from the plot.  I can tell you, that if you have been to the House of Bathory in the past, or any Dead by Dawn attraction ... this year is even better!  The House of Bathory is a FULL CONTACT haunted attraction.  That means the rule of "they can't touch me" does NOT apply and reminding yourself that they can't hurt you is OUT THE DOOR!  Humans may be harmed during this attraction.  I do not think that referring to the individuals inside as "actors" is fair, because I don't think they are "acting". They are truly twisted individuals, that live year round to divulge and release on you during the Month of October. 

In summary, if you are tired of being disappointed by haunted attractions that entertain more than they frighten you, then go to the House of Bathory.   The House of Bathory is unlike any other typical Haunted House and rephrasing the words of those who attended with me ... "HOLY CRAP (not exactly the word they used) I don't think I could do that again"! Thank you Dead by Dawn for bringing fear back to haunted attractions!

View all House of Bathory (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by MikeWalczak (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 19, 2013 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

For the first time in years, I made the trip up to Green Bay Fear located in (of course) Green Bay, WI. What I hadn't recalled was how large the event is. I made  the trek expecting to find the typical Haunted House setup of a ticket booth, queue line and haunted house. This wasn't at all what I found at Green Bay Fear; theres a stage for live music, hot cocoa, lots of food/drink options, zombie paintball, a fire pit, haunted woods and of course the main haunt.


Upon arriving to the haunt, I was immediately  drawn to the various character actors walking around. If you've read any of my other reviews, you'll recall that I'm big on this since it helps build up a visitors momentum/anxiety before a haunt. The entire haunt reminds me of a circus/carnival from hell including the freaky clowns walking around.  Of course, he was just one of the many other various ghouls parading around the area.


I was impressed with all the black light enhanced neon colors. In my opinion, this really helped to bring the event alive and make sections (that would otherwise go unnoticed) stand out. This was also carried out through many elements within the haunt which helped keep things themed similarly.


My first stop was at zombie paintball since that seemed to have the shortest line. I love paintballing and therefore used up my 10 shots pretty fast.


My second stop was the haunted woods. It was really well done and I had a lot of fun heading through it. Be prepared for actors to jump out of nowhere and scare you. There were a bunch of them too!  All in all, it took about 9 or 10 minutes.


Finally I headed over to the main haunt where I began my wait to enter. Once I finally got in, I was impressed with how intense the haunt was. There's constantly something going on. The actors were spot on in their performance and knew just who to target in my group to get the best reaction. Each room we entered was well made and unique. All in all, the haunt itself lasted about 30 minutes.


Above all, Green Bay Fear was a lot of fun. Although I'm from Milwaukee, the drive up to Green Bay was well worth it - especially since this isn't just a single haunted house event. You could spend a lot of time just wandering around BEFORE even heading into the main haunt. Also feel free to visit on an empty stomach, there was plenty of food and drink available for purchase (and it seemed reasonable).

Summary

If you're a haunted house junkie, you're going to want to visit Green Bay Fear.  It is an all around fun experience that you will not want to miss!

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by MikeWalczak (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, October 18, 2013 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Mars Haunted House boasts that they are the, "#1 Haunted House in the Milwaukee Area." Having annually visited Mars Haunted House for the past seven years, I'm always impressed with the new setups their team can come up with. This year proved no different...


It was a chilly Friday evening when my wife and I headed down Historic Mitchell Street on our way to Mars Haunted House. While the building itself doesn't stand out much (although there is a sign attached to it), you cannot miss the hearse and queue line setup along the sidewalk. We waited for about 25 minutes in the queue line before we were allowed to proceed up the stairs to enter the haunt. Fortunately we didn't encounter any rain or else we may have gotten a bit wet since the entire queue line sits outside.  While we waited, there were a couple of actors wandering up and down the line interacting with the patrons. I always appreciate that since it is a great way to built up a persons anxiety before they enter a haunt. My only criticism is that one of the actors and a security guard stopped to smoke  a cigarette for a bit. Also the girl working the front of the line was also chatting away on her cell phone.  Not big problems, but something I noticed.


After the 25 minute wait we headed up the stairs to start the haunt. Be prepared for lots of darkness, fog, tight spaces and disorientating areas. There's also plenty of sudden scares and in your face action.  We had a lot of fun trying to navigate our way through the haunt and I really appreciated all the effort that went into making the various scenes.


The haunt itself took around 20 minutes or so to get through (although it felt like seconds). The special effects were great and each room has something unique and special to offer.


Bottom line, Mars Haunted House has done it again. They've managed to put together a haunt that is a lot of fun yet very scary. If you haven't visited Mars yet this year, try to add it to your list.

Summary

Conveniently located in Milwaukee, Mars Haunted House provides visitors with a lot of fun and a lot of screams. If you're heading out there, look for the hearse and buckle in for a great time.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Scorpio after attending on Friday, October 18, 2013 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

So glad I came back. Went in thinking "o.k. I survived this once shouldn't be hard to do it again". I was spooked more times than I care to admit. The design of CarnEvil tripped me out. My favorite of the three houses was Unstable. Loved the dedication my group came across once more. So so worth the trip out.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Halls of Terror in PdC

by fruitl88p after attending on Friday, October 18, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

There were a couple good places for an obvious scare factor, but overall didn't find it a "high" scare place. Wouldn't recommend driving more than twenty minutes to attend.

Summary

Only took about 5-7 minutes to go through the entire thing.

View all Halls of Terror in PdC reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by HallowRick after attending on Saturday, October 19, 2013 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Another great time at The Haunted Mansion! The haunted trail was way cooler with the extra bridges. Some of the actors on the bus were annoying. The house was way cool again. Even more stuff than last year. The mad scientest was my favorite. That guy is crazy. Liked the RIP tickets. We had younger children with us and could not have stayed in line that long. The price was worth it.

Summary

We go every year because it's alway great, alway fun and always worth the reasonable price.

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by snogged after attending on Friday, October 18, 2013 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Terror On Rural Street is a haunted house that I never miss. I always make sure to get there every year and I always have a great time. This year was no exception!

The haunt is easy to get to and although, ToRS shares a parking lot with two other facilities, it was not impossible to find a spot to park.

My group was greeted by Frankenstein and his bride (played by two very confident stilt walkers.) Both actors appeared to be having a blast and the crowd was enjoying themselves too. We had to wait a few minutes for tickets since there were some folks in front of us, but both ticket takers were friendly AND organized.

Our wait wasn't long and when our tickets were called, we walked across the courtyard into the haunt and were greeted by an older gentleman who made sure we understood the rules and told us a few jokes to ease the growing terror.

Then, we got our cue to head inside. The sound effects and lighting were extremely well done and there were several mazes that were quite disorienting due to the strobe lights, creepy sounds, and monsters that used misdirection and surprise to their advantage.

I screamed and jumped. I batted at fishing line, rubber heads, and body bags that dangled from the ceiling and uncomfortably brushed across my skin and hair.

I was teased by monsters and I bravely laughed it off.

There were a few times when our group got split up, but the exit of the haunt makes it easy to find people again.

We had a nice shock and surprise at the end of the haunt and my whole group reported that they had a ton of fun!

Summary

Terror On Rural Street should definitely be on your not-to-miss list. It's one of the best haunts in Wisconsin!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by aliforr76 after attending on Saturday, October 19, 2013 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

My husband and I took our 11yr old & 14yr old to this haunted house & LOVED it!! My kids had a blast! Lots of screaming & laughing and they cannot wait to go back! We only went through the first haunted house and for $12 per person it was worth the money! The scenes were amazing and the scares were high. I have been going to haunted houses for 15years and it takes a lot to get me to jump/scream but this place had me doing both. If you can get there early, the line gets long fast but it is worth the wait!!

Summary

Great scenes, amazing animatronics and scary actors around every corner!!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by Patty after attending on Saturday, October 19, 2013 at about 12:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Had so much fun at The Haunted Mansion last night! So many wonderful volunteers work so hard to make sure everyone has a "frightfully" good time! Saw lots of little smiling faces come through during "lights up" show, and many of them begged their families to go through again - or go through after dark, when the monsters are "in the house."

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by Chelsea after attending on Friday, October 18, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Dr.Scary's was the first haunted house I have ever been to and I gotta say it is one of the best. The first time I went it blew my mind and I have been to lots of others since but I always find myself going back to Dr.Scary's every year. My favorite thing about DrScary's is the fact that they change it up and its not the same old thing every year.

Summary

I love the thrill of being scared and Dr.Scary's definitely delivers. This place is awesome and I hope everyone comes and enjoys it as much as I did!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by harry after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2013 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

this is a 4 event haunt with a very big time set up. They offer a speed pass and if you have children it is strongly recommended because the holding area has huge drinking crowd, but that being said it was an energetic and friendly drinking crowd that was attending to have fun. Now for the haunts. Haunt 1 an excellent haunt that delivers shock and awe from the beginning. The second haunt delivers more of the same some of the best in Wisconsin. Haunt three is in your head they try to get you to have your mind deliver the fear. Funny thing is although I thought it failed I heard several people saying how much it freaked them out. I feel they have lots of work to get that up to the standard of the first two. Finally the last haunt leaves you a little depressed because the beginning is so good and the end is quite a let down.

Summary

Overall a very good haunt with lots to offer. A pretty high scare factor and a pretty high fun factor as well. The staff was excellent friendly line workers and great actors the one thing haunts three and four would benefit from are more great actors like the ones in the first two haunts. Fun music in the waiting tent and food and drinks are also at the hill. good job.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by jacques after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

We really love going camping at Quietwoods and then going thru the Haunted Mansion. We like that you get to do the haunted corn maze, bus ride, quicksand swamp and the haunted mansion for one price. It is amazing what they can do with a pavillion! We appreciate all the hard work that goes into making this experience a success. That is why we come back every year:) We enjoy seeing the huge glowing eyed 'monster' walking around too. He is GREAT! We did not like the new RIP price though. This is the longest we ever waited in line and it is probably one of the reasons. Paid for our tickets around 7 pm. and did not finish until 10:30pm. We understand only one of the buses was running, but if that happens, they should not sell RIP tickets. Despite the wait, it was great fun and we will return again next year.

Summary

Long wait, but great fun!

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by wm (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2013 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

I haven't been to Green Bay Fear in a few years, and in the years I've been away they went from a haunted house to a full blown haunted event!  The house that is the staple of GB Fear is now the centerpiece of a carnival-type atmosphere.  There's so much to see and do, it's really something to check out.  You can just attend the haunted house itself, or you can go all out and go RIP.  If you purchase the RIP admission you get the following:  the Fast Pass, sitting by the RIP section by the fire with hot chocolate, live music, Zombie Paintball, the Odditorium, the walk in the haunted woods, and the house itself.
 
I spent the first few minutes walking around to just take it all in.  I was greeted by a sweet, Southern old lady that had the gift of gab.  After a few minutes, I realized that this Southern Bell was not a 'she' after all.  Just another night at Green Bay Fear!  There are multiple creatures and characters just roaming around the grounds.  A scary looking clown was fun to watch as he patiently waited by the porta pottys.  He wasn't waiting to get in, he was waiting for his victims to walk out.  Probably a good thing that the innocent attendees relieved themselves just seconds before!   
 
One thing that GB Fear has always embraced, almost to a fault, is the use of black lights and day-glo colors.  Zombie Paintball continues the trend, with all sorts of glow in the dark targets for you to shoot at.  I'm guessing there should have been a zombie to shoot at... hence the name.  But when I was there, it was only stationary targets. You only get ten shots, so make them count!  This took about 5 minutes to complete.  The Odditorium is like a very old side-show museum that lets you look at multiple freaks of nature such as flesh eating beetles, a mummified cat, etc...  We were there for about 10 minutes.
 
The RIP area is a nice place to sit, drink some hot chocolate, and listen to the live band.  There was even a zombie girl who twirled around balls of fire on chains.  It was very entertaining to watch!  How long you're in the RIP area is up to you. There's a concessions stand, a gift shop, and even a shop that makes potions!  The walk in the woods had us jumping left and right.  It took about 10 minutes to get through the woods, and I didn't want it to end!          
 
Being we had the Fast Pass, I didn't expect to wait in line for the house.  Truth be told, we waited about 45 minutes.  I think that's the first time I ever had to wait that long with a quick pass.  Those without the Fast Pass were waiting between two and three hours!  It was THAT busy.  By the time we made it to the entrance, they were putting multiple groups through together to cut down on the long wait in line.  The first thing I noticed once in the house is their continued use of black lights and glow paint.  I loved how their lighting flickered and different things would appear depending on what type of lighting was on at the time.  Being there was a lot of people in our group, there were only one or two times that I jumped.  The sets are very detail orientated, and each one was different from the next.  I thought at one point we were done with the haunt, as we were led outside.  But after following the winding trail, we were led back into the house.  All in all, it took about 20 minutes to make it through the house.  By the time we left, several hours had flown by!

Signage / Visibility / Location


It's easy to find GB Fear, and it's at a great location off the highway.  The parking lot attendees seemed like they had their hands full this night, and didn't bother to warn us that the old entrance to the woods is no longer in use.  You now enter through the back side of the building.  It was a little confusing to find where to get to the entrance...

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


GB Fear actors were walking around interacting and scaring as expected.  There's a lot of ground to cover, so kudos to these actors on their feet all night. 

Actors' Performance


As mentioned above, it was an extremely busy night for them...  and the wait to get in the main haunt was rather long.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The actors all did a great job.  There were multiple small children acting, and they did an excellent job as well! 

Crowd Control


For the most part, there weren't any issues with crowd control until it came to the haunt itself.  It's a good thing when you have that many people attending your haunt.  Hopefully in the coming weeks they are able to keep the lines moving at a steady pace.

Most Memorable Moment


Within a minute of walking onto the Fear grounds, a spider-looking monster came walking up to me on 4 legs.  This thing was HUGE!  I don't think I've ever seen a character like that before at a haunt!!!

Summary

Hands down, the best haunt in the Green Bay area.  I was pleasantly surprised with all the different things they have recently added to it.  If you haven't gone yet this year, make sure you do yourself a favor and face your Fear!

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 23rd, 2019 2:51 a.m. CDT 1.8.19