ad-header-top

2013 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

126 total reviews. Showing 14 of 15 on this page (1 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by padrediablo after attending on Monday, October 28, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I've been going to the Haunted Barn for the last 5 years or so. Every year it's been getting better and better and I was terribly sad when I learned that 2013 would be its final year. This place is wonderful and it's abundantly clear that it was a labor of love for the operators. I work at another Haunt in the area and therefore somewhat immune to some of the things that would scare other people. That said, some of the best scares and moments of wide-eyed "I can't believe they took the time to build this set" have come from Stoughton's homegrown Haunted Barn.

It's actors are always professional, enthusiastic, and stay in-character for the best experience. They've invested a great deal in high-quality props, costumes, and sets. It's also clear that many of the actors take a lot of personal time to prepare their costume and makeup (something that this veteran haunter appreciates a great deal!) This year's haunt (Oct. 2013) took us nearly an hour to go through! They've taken the time to build a MASSIVE outdoor maze full of actors, props, elaborate setpieces, and genuine scares this year. We genuinely got lost several times in the maze which made for a great experience. Who wants to be led by the nose through a maze, after all? It's a maze for a reason!

Kudos to the owners, operators, engineers, and actors of the Haunted Barn (just east of Stoughton on Hwy 51/Main Street). I'm genuinely sad that this will be the final season but wanted to give them an enthusiastic thumbs up for all they've done over the years. I hope they have a great season this year and maybe, just maybe will reconsider their decision to wrap it up....

Thanks for the GREAT scares this year and in the past.

Summary

An amazing haunt with TONS of great props, elaborate setpieces, committed and experience actors, and a blackened heart of gold. You will be missed, Haunted Barn.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Forest of Freaks

by ZombieRobb after attending on Saturday, October 19, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

A group of 8 of us drove out to Janesville and Stoughton for a great night of haunting. I was most excited by the idea of an hour long haunted forest walk. Unfortunately, a long walk was about all we got. There was almost nothing here. I know that outdoor haunts can be challenging, due to the need to run power, etc., but this didn't even seem like anyone was trying. We still had fun, but they really need to put some work in to this haunt if they want it to be successful.

Summary

Not much here.....

View all Forest of Freaks reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by dutchess1264 after attending on Friday, October 25, 2013 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

BEST EVER!!! Awesome attention to detail! New things every year. This has become a family tradition for Halloween. The Staff is wonderful and helpful.

Summary

Don't miss out, visit Dr. Scary's Haunted House!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Onalaska Jaycees present "Infestation"

by greaterbaatezu after attending on Saturday, October 26, 2013 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Overpriced. Short.

Summary

Go to Madison's haunted house in the park for maximum fun and fear. Neenah's burial chamber is also really good.

View all Onalaska Jaycees present "Infestation" reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by sydney000 after attending on Friday, October 25, 2013 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Every year I go to this haunted house they just get better and better! This year they added clowns and let me tell you clowns are definitely not my cup of tea but I did survive. It seemed like everywhere you went there was a new monster just waiting to do it's bidding on you and you never knew what to expect. I will definitely be back to see this event in years to come!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by Kerry Koeppen after attending on Friday, October 25, 2013 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

One couldn't ask for a better night attend a Haunted House! First the weather; perfect setting! Ominous, foreboding winds stirring up decaying leaves to the point of whirling eddies within the parking lot of Sheboygan's 'Dominion of Terror'; October, gearing its grinding teeth full throttle right at my face! ... This alone made it the perfect night for a Halloween haunt! I could've traveled 350 miles south to one of those 'most feared' places to take a ghost tour such as 'Bobby Mackey's in Wilder, Kentucky, to get my adrenalin rushing, but I didn't have to, WE have a true gem right in our backyard in the DOT. The opening sequence initiated 'panic mode' from Mother Goose having our group sit down in linear fashion while heeding us to obey the rules which were magically 'appearing' on the wall in front of us! I knew, as well as my group that we were in for a wild ride ahead! My intuitions were dead on of course; the monsters within seemed to be in their niche, almost to the point knowing their role for eternity, from slithering zombies to skulking sycophants of the dead, the 'fairy-tailed' theme decked itself out with full atrocity, with one thinking..'Can all fairy-tails be so bad???'' True to be known, as I myself had witnessed, they can take a sour-turn for the worst! I have been to over 100 different 'haunted house's throughout my 38 years, but what really stood out with the DOMINION OF TERROR is that the rooms and themes are different EVERY year, so if you come here expecting the same from last year, leave your underwear at home or bring an extra pair. This was by far with in the top 5 haunted houses I personally stepped into. Well done and thoroughly recommended!

Summary

Awesome! Was entertained and well put in my place as far as fear from the onstart! All monsters were dead-on (no pun intended..) in their roles, it was almost like each and every form within that place where in their collective niche, meaning to be there to scare all intruders who have to guts and bravado to come through. The entry-fee was very reasonable compared to other haunts, others who keep the same based theme year to year, that is..Overall, I give this years Jaycees 'Dominion of TError' spectacle an 9/10! Keeping that one point not reaching a TEN in my back pocket for next year!! ;) Very good acting, great atmosphere, monsters outside scaring the people in line were like the ones who broke their shackles within to come torture or commence fear into the ones wanting to enter. From the concessions outside, to the security, everybody knew their role and performed to job well! Sincerely Mr. Anonymous ;)

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by ZombieRobb after attending on Friday, October 25, 2013 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wow! As a 42 year old horror and haunt enthusiast, I've got pretty high standards. I grew up in Detroit, where there are hundreds of haunted house. Ive been to 100's of haunted houses over the years and been to many of the top haunts in the country. With that being said, I was completely blown away last night. You guys have an amazing thing going. Great props, great scenes, great actors, great line queuing, great staff...Then, we went through Pandemonium. This was the first time I've experienced a haunt like that. Again, I was blown away. Very creative.... This was the 8th haunted attraction that we went to this year. We drove two hours to get to Dr. Scary's and are going to drive 2 hours back tonight so that we can bring a bunch of our friends. Thanks for an awesome night!!

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by bunnehop after attending on Saturday, October 19, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Easy to find, well lite, nice concessions. We went with a group of 6 people and were led to the woods in a hearse! We then got onto a bridge and a giant flame flew out of the water which was crazy!!! The rest of the haunt was good the pirates were cool, the guy with a machete and chains was just scary. After that point we were all pretty scared. The trucks that came at us made me feel like I was on the road. This place has really changed a lot.

Summary

Lots of cool new stuff I didn't mention above but its awesome. I wish you guys had more claustrophobic type stuff and a headless horseman ridding around. That would be awesome.

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by bunnehop after attending on Thursday, October 24, 2013 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was our second time to this haunt and I would have to say it is amazing. It was easy to find, well lite, and the
front area was organized with all types of cool stuff. I wish there were more actors in the front when we went. Here are some of my favorite parts and thoughts. The people that work there are super nice and do a great job. However, I would like to of had more interaction with some of the actors then just a pop up. I wanted them to interact..get in my face and torment us. I liked a woman who called herself sinister, she was interactive and pretty awesome. Inside the haunt the details were great and the actors on cue. I wish there was some brighter areas, the overall haunt is very dark, just a few spots with more lighting so we can see the cool costumes and makeup more. Favorite scenes: the lunch lady with her stove of yuck, just would've loved more interaction. The sparks/tesla coils?? were awesome. The planking girl, if you saw her you would know who she is, she looked like a human mounted on the wall! Creepiest part the girl who looked like she was really hanging from the ceiling by her neck! The best actor was the janitor! I cannot say enough about his persona. He was funny, talkative, looked the part, and just fun! I also heard a chainsaw at the end but never saw the guy even come out. We were only a group of four and it was a slow night. Oh and the vortex, ahhhhh I like it but hate it!

Summary

Overall, great location, great attention to detail, great actors. We would like more interaction with the actors and the checkered room back with all the clowns.

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

MacKenzie Center Haunted Hayride

by izzilizzy after attending on Friday, October 25, 2013 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Nice long hayride through some lovely preservation land. Several actors of varying ages make it a much more family oriented event rather than a "scare". Worth the drive, even if all you do is ride a wagon and hang out by the community fire. No touching at this haunt, which is nice.

Summary

Take the kids, and feel safe that there is no really bad gore or heavy scare.

View all MacKenzie Center Haunted Hayride reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Horror in the Dark at Olin Park: The Castle

by izzilizzy after attending on Thursday, October 24, 2013 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Low

Review

Wasn't a bad haunt. Would have liked it better if the actors had been more into it, and if it hadn't been a touch-heavy haunt. Was grabbed a few times, and body checked once. Had a few nice features, though.

Summary

Worth the money, worth the time, take a group of friends.

View all Horror in the Dark at Olin Park: The Castle reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

CLOSED -The Haunt: Haunted Barn & Haunted Hayride (CLOSED)

by earthangel129 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 19, 2013 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

The Haunt and Field of Terrors at Pearce’s Farm Stand were my first haunts on Saturday evening.  Pearce’s Farm Stand was easy to find with help from our phone’s navigation system and once we were near there were large lights and signs identifying the haunts.  There was plenty of parking and everything was very well lit.  When we walked up from the parking lot, there was a large building where you could buy your tickets and some great concession items including some tasty hot chocolate that I tried.  We purchased our tickets and then we took a look around the attraction area.  There is a huge hay bale climbing structure and a small maze for little ones.  There are cut-outs for picture opportunities and many fire pits to sit near and keep warm.  The fire pits were just what I needed on Saturday because it was cold.  The cold wasn’t keeping other visitors away from Pearce’s, there were lots of people there enjoying the attraction with us.  We decided that we would go through The Haunt, a haunted barn, first.

THE HAUNT

The haunt at Pearce’s Farm Stand is a haunted barn.  When we got in line and waited at The Haunt the line seemed short, but quickly we realized that at this attraction, very small groups go in at a time.  So, although the line seemed short, our wait time was a little longer than I first thought it would be.  That being said, when we did get to go in, just the two of us got to go in all by ourselves.  This is not something that you get at every attraction.  Many times you may walk around a haunt with a group of five to seven people, many of whom you may not know.  I thought it was pretty exciting to go in by ourselves.  This haunt lasted about ten minutes and includes a lot of disorientating dark winding passageways and quick thrills that startled us.  This haunt is creepy and effective for young and old alike.  We saw a variety of ages of people going through the haunt and all seemed to be having a great time.  When we exited the haunted barn, we decided to go get into line for the haunted hayride.

FIELD OF TERRORS

The Field of Terrors at Pearce’s Farm Stand is a haunted hayride through a winding, creepy corn field.  When we got in line for the hayride, I thought we might we waiting a long time, the line was long and there the ride seemed long.  Then we saw they were bringing in another tractor to pull us along and our wait time only totaled about 20 minutes.  When our ride approached, a large group of us were allowed on, in the entire group there were probably about 25-30 people on the ride.  When I got on, I realized you get to sit on hay bales that are set up against the walls of the ride, as well as, along the middle of the bed.  We sat on the ride and waited for the tractor to start up.  We waited another ten minutes or so before the ride began.  Make sure you wear extra layers if it is cold outside, because I was very cold.  The ride lasted for about 20-25 minutes as it wound around twists and turns in an eerie cornfield.  The cornfield is very dark and there are not a lot of other lights around.  As I rode around, I found to my delight several displays set up throughout The Field of Terrors.  All of the displays include sound and light effects, as well as actor interaction.  There is also sound set up through the duration of the ride.  I don’t want to give too much away, but the actors in The Trail of Terrors are great.  Super surprising and creepy, there were people jumping all over the ride.  I really enjoyed the ambiance of the ride and the fact that you get to sit and be pulled the entire time you are being scared, really is a treat that I haven’t often encountered.

The Haunt and Field of Terrors at Pearce’s Farm Stand are great attractions and Pearce’s has so much more to offer.  Pearce’s Farm Stand strikes me as one of the best places to go haunting with a large group of people or with the family.  The bonfire atmosphere screams sit and chat awhile, catch up with an old friend or with your children.  I thought that the area was beautiful and very professional.  The attractions were fun and creepy and I hope to go back next year to see Pearce’s again.


Summary

The Haunt and Field of Terrors at Pearce’s Farm Stand offers a variety of fun and fright.  I thought that the hayride, Field of Terrors, was creepy and eerily relaxing.  I found The Haunt, a haunted barn to make me jump and shriek.  Pearce’s offers bonfire pits, a huge mountain of hay bales to climb, and great concessions. There is something for all ages at this attraction.  I plan on going back again next year, and you should plan your group gathering tonight.

View all CLOSED -The Haunt: Haunted Barn & Haunted Hayride (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by jessejames after attending on Friday, October 18, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

IT'S THE BEST!!! Lotsof creative unexpected scares. Hats off to all the tech. guys and the great special effects. A MUST SEE! Well worth the drive and wait in line!

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by hallowengrrl after attending on Saturday, October 19, 2013 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Wow, this was a great Haunted House, we went to all three houses and I was startled several times in each house. I am not that easy to scare but they managed to get me to jump. I don't like creepy clowns so the carnevil house really freaked me out. The place with the stables had some interesting charaters and aweful smells, Morgan Manor was very entertaining and creepy. Great job

Summary

Very creepy and a great variety of charaters. One of the Best we have ever been too!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses

by hallowengrrl after attending on Sunday, October 20, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We had a great time at this haunted house, I am really hard to scare but still enjoyed the show. We went through both haunted houses and Pandimonium is a great idea but got a bit frustrating after a while, Great place though!!!

Summary

Great haunted house

View all Dr. SCary's SCream Park: Home of Dr. SCary's Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 21st, 2019 8:44 p.m. CDT 1.8.19