ad-header-top

2013 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

126 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Lycana after attending on Friday, October 11, 2013 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This collection of haunted houses were very interesting to say the least. The scenes are very detailed, and there are a lot of clever scares scattered about the 3 haunted houses. I am not one to be easily scared, but they startled me quite a few times! Kudos to the actors - instead of just going "rawr!" or "BOO" they actually have dialogue - some of them are pretty hilarious! There are even smells to go with the sights and sounds which helps all lot to immerse you into the world they create.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by stone8735 after attending on Friday, October 11, 2013 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

the best haunted house I've ever been to. I've been to the ones in Illinois and they are quite nice but this one has them all beat. They have 3 different sections, the ones with yhe clowns is very cool. Where else can you shoot zombies with paintball guns. Don't pass this onr up. Best of the best

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by DYLANGILJE after attending on Friday, October 11, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

the wait to enter wasnt long & was even scary. 1 House was my favorite. A lot of thought must have went into it. The clowns tent thing was so fun & lazars! & the last house was creepy, smelly, gory, & felt huge.

Summary

The 3 haunted houses all complemented each other very well! + the bonus of a zombie shooting range! what else could you ask for

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Cobwebb after attending on Sunday, May 12, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Got there with our large family and stood in line..the monsters really entertained the kids and scared some of the adults while we were waiting to enter the haunted house. That was just the beginning! Lots of unexpected scares and laughter they really did a good job over there.

Summary

We all walked away with something different, definitely was a great decision for the variety of ages in our group!! Looking forward to going back with my buddies... I didn't know you could shoot paintballs at the zombies at the end! I'm going back for that lol!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield

by JJrakman after attending on Friday, October 11, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

This haunt was pretty decent for the price of admission.

I really liked the Spooky Town models inside of the admission booth. What a great way to spookify the admission booth to get the mood going right off the bat!

Only a few people weren't in costume. One of the biggest lost opportunities here were the two gals in the front of the waiting tent. They really should have been in costume. Also, instead of boringly reciting the rules to the waiting audience, here is an opportunity to have some costumed performers give a performance every 15 minutes or so where their routine would give the rules of the haunt. In this way, it would serve two purposes by entertaining the waiting customers and informing them of the rules, infotainment if you will.

Also inside the waiting tent it might be cool to get some cheap cardboard Halloween decorations to hang on the walls, just to increase the mood a bit while waiting. You know, pictures of witches, black cats, skeletons, etc.

The maze was really cool and pretty extensive with little haunts to enter here and there. There were some pretty neat scenes in the cornfield including a UFO. Who would have thought a UFO would be spooky? Great stuff.

There was a bit too much screaming though. A scream gets you on the first or even second time, but after that screams become tiresome, they're not really scary anymore, especially from one gal who appeared to not even be in costume. I think some work here on developing different characters that say and do different things rather than just screaming would probably benefit the haunt.

Chainsaws. I really don't care to see these anymore in haunts. First because they've become cliche. But second because you can smell and breathe the gas and exhaust which have the potential to set off asthma attacks.

The "no swearing" rule was a bit strange, but it is a family friendly haunt so it's probably appropriate. I would have loved to have bought a hot dot or cup of cider or something but there were no concessions.

All in all, it needs a little bit of work here and there, but overall it's a pretty great haunt and worth the price of admission.

Summary

Solid haunt worth the price of admission.

View all Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by emistele after attending on Friday, October 11, 2013 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was my 4th year going to the Wisconsin Fear Grounds, and it never fails to entertain! I used the three haunted house combo pass this year and was not disappointed! The 10th anniversary brings the addition of "Carnevil", a sideshow/circus theme that was really awesome! Also awesome (and has been every year) is the attention to detail that was evident through all three of the haunted houses, when I wasn't terrified and tucked in my best friends back, and really took the time to look around, there are some of the coolest most intricate details. I will keep coming back for sure, my favorite!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Ghostbusters

by JJrakman after attending on Friday, October 11, 2013 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Low

Review

It was pretty neat to see the amount of hard work out into this yard display. It was huge! Definitely worth a drive by especially if your visiting another haunt anywhere in the Bay View area.

There's another big one too a few blocks away near the corner of Logan & Montana.

Summary

Cool stuff!

View all Ghostbusters reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Robinson90 after attending on Friday, October 11, 2013 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Once again, I am so glad I did not miss out on this place!
I can't always find the time to go to many haunted houses, but this one has made my yearly must see list!
I love their variety, attention to detail and just over all ambiance. So many different types of scares, instead of all the same old pop out and rawr.

Without a doubt, don't miss out on this one!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Forest of Freaks

by harry after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2013 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

Sorry to say this is not the same Forest of Freaks from the Zombie apocalypse. That was one of the best haunts I have ever attended. The new forest of freaks is missing the same zing and scare factor that it used to carry. The theatrics are also not up to par. After walking through the woods for 45 minuets we interacted with maybe 15 characters and several of those being small children. The new sets were average at best. They had some great ideas but did not pull them off.
The staff is friendly and courteous and wants you to have a good time.

Summary

Forest of freaks needs to return to their former glory to achieve the return business. We drove almost an hour to attend that incredible event from two years ago and it simply did not live up to its full potential.

View all Forest of Freaks reviews

Comments: (1)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction

by Hauntseeker after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2013 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This is my favorite haunt. I came here last year and loved it. Very hard to scare us since we have been involved in other haunted places but this place is great. This year was way better you guys do a great job. Love the first girls eyes and the grudge i hate that thing.!!!! She does a very good job!!. Also the scare crow is something ive never seen before and he/ she blends in so well. All your people are on cue. Well worth the money. My friend i thought was going to have a heart attack. Thanks again guys very good job cant wait to vist next year.

Summary

This place is set up very good. Well worth the money if your looking for a scary haunt and no huge lines check it out.

View all Factory of Fear Haunted Attraction reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by Sue Marchant after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

A great time was had by all dispite the rain, everything was open, to our surprise. The actors were wonderful we were very scared. Enjoyed it a lot. We will go again next week-end. Thanks to all the volunteers and staff members. Even with the rain the volunteers and staff kept us very safe on our journey through.

Summary

You really get your moneies worth with this one and it is scary. Allow a good hour of fun filled scares.

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Dimension of Horrors - Dismembered Souls

by thearianerae after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2013 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

I am an avid haunted house fan, so when I saw the event info for this come up on Haunted Wisconsin I was SO excited for a haunt closer to home than the Fox Cities and Milwaukee area!! When I read the description about how it was a "very high" scare factor and that their attraction featured never before seen technologies, props and effects- I was even MORE excited and just knew this had to be the first haunt to visit of the season!!! But boy was I greatly disappointed. Most of the rooms were empty (maybe because it early in the season?) When you walked into the rooms that actually did have actors in them,they were talking to each other and then would try to run and hide quick. It really took away from the scare factor. The biggest disappointment of all was that I did not notice anything that was "never before seen". It reminded me of other haunts I've been to in previous years. I normally come out of a haunted house on a high, but I, like most of the people I saw come out after me, left feeling extremely let down.

Summary

I would not recommend this to the "older" crowd of haunt goers, unless you are very easily scared. Children 13 and younger, seemed to enjoy it though.

View all Dimension of Horrors - Dismembered Souls reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2013 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

All I can say is WOW!  Terror on Rural Street is one of those haunts that I have been to so many times, I wasn't sure how impressed I was going to be.  I'll admit it now, I was dead wrong!  We arrived at Terror on Rural Street to find a very busy parking lot.  Don't be deceived though, it is a shared lot, you won't have to wait two hours to enter the haunt!  After we got our tickets, we entered the waiting area where benches are ample, and concessions are a plenty.  It's a nice waiting area, where you can relax, and grab a snack, or a beverage (adult beverages are available! {none for me though, I had work to do!}).  This area would have been better if there was any entertainment.  No ghosts or ghouls roamed, instead, you just sit and wait.  Guests are called by the number on their ticket stub to enter the haunt, and away you go...  to another waiting area.  Truth be told, this one goes fast, it just lines you up and gets you into groups for the haunt.  And now you're ready to enter!


Terror on Rural Street is a wonderful tour of fantastic sets and scenes.  Since Terror on Rural Street has over a decade of experience, their ability to set a scene is far and away their strong suit.  In Terror on Rural Street, you'll travel through many rooms, all intricately decorated with different nightmarish themes, the most memorable for me was a maze of inflated walls (we got separated from our group in this maze!). 


The most fascinating part of Terror on Rural Street was how much fun we had!  When you've been to a haunt several times, they tend to get stale, but somehow Terror on Rural Street has remained new, and relevant.  In my case, I tend to look at haunts from an artistic standpoint, and don't expect to jump, or be frightened.  Terror on Rural Street did both of those things, I definitely jumped, and my heart got pumping!  All of that, plus a detail oriented haunt makes Terror on Rural Street my surprise haunt of the season.  Hats off to the staff at Terror on Rural Street for keeping it new and fresh every year.  Great job Terror on Rural Street!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Terror on Rural Street is located in next to the Wisconsin Automotive Museum, which is pretty big, and some other businesses. There are signs that point you in the right direction.  It is also well lit.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The waiting area was pretty boring, but the wait isn't long.  You don't have to wait in a line with a bunch of people, there are benches and snacks to occupy your time..,  But, unfortunately,  no ghouls.

Actors' Performance


The actors at Terror on Rural Street are very entertaining.  They no their craft well!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


A+++ on this one! Terror on Rural Street takes their decade plus of experience and puts it all out there with amazing sets and props.  With a huge warehouse of props, they have what it takes to change it up and make it fresh every year

Length


In all, we were in the for about 20 minutes.

Crowd Control


The waiting area was under control.  If it were real busy, I'm not sure how well they could keep it under control, there aren't any corrals, so it's a go wherever you please type of thing.

Most Memorable Moment


I will never forget the maze of inflatable walls.  You have to find your way though a maze, but you cannot see anything because it's pitch dark, and you are squeezing though a claustrophobic's nightmare!  tight and confusing!  Awesome!!!

Summary

Terror on Rural Street surprised me this year!  Over a decade of haunting, and they still have it!  Top notch props and actors make this old haunt a winner!  Terror on Rural Street made this jaded reviewer believe again!  I believe that if a haunt has passion, they can make me jump, and Terror on Rural Street did just that!  I can't wait to see what they come up with next year!

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Haunted High Presents: Terror @ 212

by dubstyle_2k (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2013 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

From the ashes, Haunted High returns!  This year, it takes the form of Terror @ 212.  New location, new haunted fun!  When I found out that last October was going to be the final Halloween season for Haunted High, I must admit, I was crushed.  Haunted High had everything going for them, great staff, awesome volunteers, and a dream location, a closed down high school.  But like all good things, it had to come to an end, and the land the school sat on was sold.  So going into this season, I was excited to hear that the folks who brought us Haunted High were back, with a new venue, and a new theme. 



Not being from the area, I naturally drove right past the place, even though it is plenty lit up, and there are two large signs letting you know that it was
here!  Once there, we entered the waiting area, which, fortunately for us because it was raining, was a giant heated tent.  A few concessions were
available, most noticeably a stand selling some of those delicious roasted, sugary nuts.  Once we bought our tickets, we were directed to the corrals,
where we waited to enter the haunt.  I must admit I was a little let down that the waiting area wasn't as entertaining as Haunted High was in the
past.  A few ghouls roamed around, and a very crowd friendly Jason came through with a chainsaw, but Haunted High had that really cool warped gym
floor, and would project horror movie trailers on the wall.  I did learn, however, that the projector would return, but because of the rainy weather,
they didn't want to risk it. 



The haunt itself was amazing.  Because the new location is roughly 1/10th the size of the school, they were forced to hit hard you from start to finish,
with little down time, something the school location couldn't offer because its enormous.  This theme heavy haunt relies heavily on throwing off your
equilibrium, and challenging your senses.  From pitch darkness, to blinding lights, to smoky haze, and from complete silence, to deafening sound,
you may not know which way is up.



Terror @ 212 is split up by themes.  Jungle, carnival, and industrial are just a few of the spooky areas you will visit at 212.  The detail that the
workers put into the sets and props are what sets 212 apart from the other haunts.  I naturally take my time and try to pay attention to details, and
boy am I glad I did.  Do yourself a favor, soak it all in, this place is professional!  Sets and detail are great, but they are nothing without
good actors, and 212 has some of the best.  One of the advantages to having a smaller space is the ability to be more selective when it comes to
hiring talent.  You can tell 212 hired the best of the best.  All of the actors I encountered were dedicated to making you jump! 



I think it's fitting to give Terror @ 212 a letter grade, since after all, it is put on by the folks who brought us Haunted High, and all of the proceeds go
to the Oconomowoc Public Education Foundation.  I give Terror @ 212 a solid A+!  Bravo Terror @ 212, you made the best of a crummy situation and hit it out of the park.  If you are looking for the best fright in the area, look no further than Terror @ 212! 

Signage / Visibility / Location


Aside from my inability to see a giant lit up sign that says "Terror @ 212," it's very visible.  Because I am not a native Oconomowocian (thanks for nothing on that one google, I just have to assume that's correct) I was mesmerized by the lights of downtown, just keep your eyes peeled and you'll find it no problem

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The wait area was nothing to write home about.  Once they get that projector going, it will be a lot more entertaining.  A few more ghouls roaming the grounds would have been nice, but in all, not a bad wait.

Actors' Performance


Top notch!  Like I stated above, the actors are the best of the best.  Terror @ 212 is able to select actors that are dedicated and love doing this. 

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Detail detail detail!  The staff at Terror @ 212 and amazing, they seem to have this down to a science.  Stunning detail in the sets and props are what make 212 the best in the area

Length


In all, we were in and out, door to door, in about 17 minutes.  Now that may not seem like a long time, but believe me, it seemed like a lot longer.  This is because they pack a ton into that 17 minutes.  it's a nonstop barrage on your senses!

Crowd Control


The crowd was controlled the whole time.  There isn't much room for rowdy crowds because they have a great system for getting you in and out.

Most Memorable Moment


I'd have to say, the two clown girls at the end of the circus area were my favorite.  They really messed with us good!  Nice job!

Summary

Continuing the tradition of Haunted High should have been a tough task for the staff of Terror @ 212 to accomplish, but they did it!  From an amazing behind the scenes staff, to the frightening themes, and amazing actors, Terror @ 212 is, dollar for dollar, the best haunt in Southeastern Wisconsin.  Haunted High was, for the last few years, my favorite haunt, and now Terror @ 212 is in line to take the title this year!  If you're looking to go to one haunt this Halloween season, Look no further than Terror @ 212!

View all Haunted High Presents: Terror @ 212 reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by earthangel129 (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2013 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Terror on Rural Street was at the top of my list of haunts to review this year so when I arrived on Saturday night I was extremely excited.  Terror on Rural Street is a haunt that I try to attend each year and there is a simple reason.  Each year this haunt delivers true scares, laughs, and fun, and it manages to do so while continuously mixing things up which makes each year uniquely frightening.  My visit this year is quite possibly my favorite of any that I have made to Terror on Rural Street.

Upon arriving at the haunt, the parking lot seemed pretty full, but we managed to find a spot fairly quickly.  We later found out that this is due to the parking lot being a shared lot, but there is plenty of additional parking across the street and on a main street located near the haunt.  As we walked up to the haunt the ambiance quickly becomes spooky.  We walked right up and got our tickets.  There was no line for tickets!  After we received our tickets, we headed into a large waiting area that is warm and dry.  This was a literal warm welcome on Saturday night because the weather was doing its own part to create a creepy setting for our haunt visits.  There is a concession area that that can provide you with a variety of drinks and treats while you enjoy your warm wait with plenty of seating!  Another plus, it is not very often that while you wait in line at a haunt you get to sit down.  I waited for my three digit number to be called, and after a short wait of approximately fifteen minutes, it was. 

We were escorted past a wonderfully decorated outside area and into a dark creepy building with very low lighting.  This is where we waited to enter the haunt.  In this area, our wait
was only about seven minutes during which time we handed in our tickets and learned the rules of the haunt.  Then a door opened and the group was on our way in.  This haunt works on your senses on so many levels.  The sound effects and lighting are spectacular.  There are so many unique areas decorated with clever and realistic props.  The actors at this haunt made me jump several times, as was the case with most of our group, as we passed through the many rooms, passages and mazes that seemed to swallow me in darkness. 

This haunt brought me in contact with a myriad of characters in an impressive number of areas.  These actors were really working us and we were consistently being startled by someone or something.  I was also assaulted by ear-piercing noises, chills, moving and uneven ground, in addition to an array of completely disorientating light shows.  Then quickly the darkness returned again.  This grouping of special effects had an incredibly successful influence on our group, since as we traveled through the house our group went the wrong way several times.  Our terrifying acquaintances actually
suggested that we change leaders on multiple occasions because we kept getting lost. 

Terror on Rural Street also delivers on every level so there is something for everyone.  The variety of scenes and special effects are too high to count when you are experiencing it.  Stylized areas vary widely from an attack of the insect variety to cannibals with imprisoned victims screaming for anyone to help you.  There were also some amazing special effects that create a brand new way to experience a twisted maze.  I also was lucky enough to experience a great deal of laughs delivered by a group of great actors in the haunt.  The interaction they provided with us as the visitors was amazing.  They teased and followed us, mocked and surprised us and delivered quite a few witty lines.  I felt infected by the atmosphere and the haunt seemed to last and last.     

Eventually we manipulated our way through an amazing spinning vortex and a maze that confused and befuddled us so much that we lost part of our group.  We ended our journey on a scare and with a scream.  My time inside the haunt lasted about twenty minutes and was amazing.  This haunt pulled me in, and during those twenty minutes  I was filled with fright, excitement, confusion, and delight. 

Terror on Rural Street offers an amazing experience that is well worth the price of admission with a very professional mood.  The area is well lit, clean, and the people who work there are courteous and professional. I enjoyed Terror on Rural Street tremendously and am ready to go visit again.  I highly recommend a visit to Terror on Rural Street this year so you can experience this thrillingly fun haunt firsthand.                         

Signage / Visibility / Location


Terror on Rural Street is easily located and there are many signs to help you find your way there.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The waiting area here is more akin to  a lounge.  A warm, dry area with ample seating and concessions.!

Summary

Terror on Rural Street is a haunt that I strongly recommend.  It is terrifying and fun.  The actors are fabulous and the effects are amazing.  I was rattled and bewildered and now I just want more! 

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 23rd, 2019 2:06 a.m. CDT 1.8.19