ad-header-top

2013 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

126 total reviews. Showing 12 of 15 on this page (3 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Dimension of Horrors - Dismembered Souls

by Draxsis after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2013 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I read the review on this haunted house and I almost decided not to go, especially after seeing how new they are but my friends and I are huge fans of Halloween events of any kind so we took a chance and traveled to this event last night. It was about an hour drive but we are very glad we went. Perhaps some will find this review helpful.

After attending I must say I was a little confused on if it was the same haunt I read about so I felt compelled to add a compilation of what we experienced in "The Labyrinth of Tortured Souls.". Perhaps this will be more helpful to some readers.

- For the area, it is on the more expensive side but none of us thought it was out of line. We found it was definitely worth the money.

- Effects, props and acting were average to above average but some of the actors are young, though that seems to be the nature of the seasonal work. They still performed well and they clearly put thought into the age of the actors due to the type of scares we saw. The make-up and costumes matched the actors and scenes well. Some of the effects were as good as those we've seen in much larger, experienced haunted houses in big cities. I saw a few items that were available in stores but several items did seem to be unique. Placement of the lighting was also a treat. There are a few rooms that are 3D that they supply glasses for. These rooms were on par with what I have seen in other haunts but we all wished there were more rooms that were designed this way. The audio was also different from one area to another which was a nice change.

- The layout was clean and well thought-out. The floor plan kept us guessing on what was coming next but still maintained some connection to previous rooms. The haunt was smaller than we would have liked and it would have been great to experience more, but we all look forward to going back to see what Dimension of Horrors will brew up in the future.

- The scare factor was average to very scary. There are a variety of scares in this haunt. Some were just cool effects and others were just down right freaky. Other groups could be heard screaming in areas around you and then bam, you find yourself trying to catch your breath from what just happened. Some in our group almost gave up but managed to recover and continue. A great time by all!

Summary

Overall this haunt was a blast and while a bit more in price, well worth the trip and expense to check out. We will definitely be going back on Halloween night and have added them to our must see list for every fall season.
The biggest problem was waiting in line and it was over too fast as we found ourselves wanting more. While this is not as scary as an adult only haunted house, I agree that the suggested 12 and under parental escort is appropriate.

View all Dimension of Horrors - Dismembered Souls reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by crickert42 after attending on Friday, October 11, 2013 at about 5 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Nonstop fun!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by crickert42 after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2013 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Overrated

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Fright Factory

by crickert42 after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2013 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Fearsum fun!

View all Fright Factory reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by KyleKos after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Top notch haunted house. For $10 a haunt for all 3 it's great. Line actors did a great job of making the hour and a half wait go by a little quicker. The one downside was the long hour and a half wait in line to wait in another line for an extra 10 minutes. After the first line, all other lines moved quick and the door actors for each haunted house were spectacular and kept us laughing the entire time.

Summary

Definitely worth the money and you should definitely check it out!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Hubertus House of Horror

by KyleKos after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2013 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Excellent! The bus ride in the beginning and all the other motion platform scenes were great! All the actors and actresses were spot on and never broke character. The one downside was the line actors. They didn't do much of anything scary, but overall an excellent haunt!

Summary

Definitely worth the money. Excellent acting, makeup, and effects. A must for this season!

View all Hubertus House of Horror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by KyleKos after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2013 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: Low

Review

Definitely WOULD NOT recommend the "creepy" cornfield. For $23 I expected to have actors coming out of the corn every which way, spectacular lighting and sound, and most of all, to get scared. Throughout the entire maze we encountered maybe 12 actors, one of which threw the corn stalks into our face. Unpleasant. The signs said 45 minutes of terror, which I guess depends on the group but it took us only about 25-30 minutes. Spectacular animatronics and other creepy props in the corn but none that were used as distractions for actors or anything. Definitely not worth $23, should be a $5-10 haunt.

Summary

Do NOT waste your time/money/gas to go to this corn maze. For 15 or so actors with poor acting/scaring skills, and a weirdo telling ghost stories around a bonfire, it is definitely an extremely overpriced corn maze. Will NOT return and definitely NOT recommend to any of my friends/family/other humans.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Meddlinkidd after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Had an amazing time, the people always stayed in a character no matter how often I tried to troll them and make them mad, got scared virtually every few feet, the make-up was great, the environment was creepy if you've not gone go you won't regret it!

Summary

Amazing money well worth spent one of the best I've been to can't wait for next year to see what's next

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Scorpio after attending on Friday, October 11, 2013 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Holy wow! I thought this will be the year I told scream like a little kid. Nope the folks over at the Wisconsin FearGrounds keep amping up the amount of fear they produce. What amazed me more was the attention to detail throughout each of the rooms, whether it was the Morgan Manor or Unstable. I'm never bored or disappointed whenever I come here. Can't wait to visit again with friends. Plus who can pass up the chance of getting a little revenge shooting paintballs at zombies?

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by MMMommy after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Not fun - I got a rock. Fear Factor: N/A

Review

HORRIBLE STAFF-CLEARLY NOT CUSTOMER SERVICE ORIENTED. Was just screamed at by staff when we parked at the end of a row of cars instead of starting another row (even though it wasn't pointed out where we were supposed to go and IN FRONT OF MY CHILDREN, nice, huh). So we left but I was so upset I called management, guess who I got on the phone? The same guy who then yelled again and hung up on me. I wasn't rude, I just wanted to complain. If this is the owner/management, it's the worst customer service I have received in a long time.

So we never even went in. I have attended this in the past and it was not really very scary, hence taking my children, but I liked the set up. There are plenty of other choices in the area for both pumpkins and haunted houses.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by riddick after attending on Saturday, September 28, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

the actors where amazing really good with the scares they where on top of everything and was awesome with the popping out of no where

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by AndreaRose89 after attending on Saturday, October 12, 2013 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

First off I have to say that I loved that they had a theme. Haunted Nursery Rhymes! Wicked! Some weren't as recognizable as other ones, but it was cool once you were able to pin point what some of them were and what they were trying to "re-create" in a sense. The decorations were very well thought out and put together. Especially the Hansel and Gretel scene. The exterior of the house looked so neat! Probably my favorite set! However towards the end of the haunt there was a maze filled with hanging clothes that was so confusing, we ended up running into another group and just walked with them. On a different note, the elements of surprise were very well done and my favorite character/actor is definitely Mother Goose. Her accent was awesome! She couldn't have done better.

Summary

Overall a haunted house worth going to. You get to see the nursery rhymes you loved as a kid....go wrong!

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Kariejackson17 after attending on Friday, October 11, 2013 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

By far the best haunted house I have EVER been too! 3 different houses all equally terrifying. There is definitely something for everyone here. If there's something your scared of they have it! It was reasonably priced and they didn't have a long wait time. If you love haunted houses this is one to not miss!

Summary

Best haunted house in Wisconsin!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Kstar after attending on Friday, October 11, 2013 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I love hitting up this haunted house EVERY YEAR... THEY NEVER, and I mean NEVER DISAPPOINT!!!! Every scare is different, and fun!! My friends and I went to all three of the houses they offer and hit up their zombie paint ball too... So much Halloween fun in one spot. :)

Summary

Like I said, we went to all three... Here is what my friends and I thought of each:

Morgan Manor: A Victorian era manor, with so much detail. In each room I felt like I was actually walking through an old mansion. All of the actors costumes and make up were just fantastic, and the energy they had was amazing!! They heard us call one of our friends by name, and then you heard the whole haunted house screaming it!! What a great way to make it a personal experience!! I will say, my favorite rooms were the ones where each actor wouldn't give up, or were crawling on tables after us... SOOO not expected!!

Carnevil: This is new this year. It was a fun change from years prior. (They are always coming up with new things here!!) If you have ever been to a carnival, this is a carnival of everyone's nightmares!! If you weren't turned around, you were being shocked by an actor you had no clue was there. Fantastic look to each of them too!!

Unstable: This for me has always been a fun one, while at the same time kind of creepy. It's a lot of farm hands/hillbillies trying to show you everything they have killed, skinned and hung up. To top off the actors and all of the decorations in there, the smells just add to the experience. I was never sure where someone was coming from or how they were able to be in two spots at once!!

Again, these guys DID NOT DISAPPOINT!!!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2013 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by jacksonmarcr after attending on Saturday, October 5, 2013 at about 3 a.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have been going to this Haunted House for many years and it never disappoints. They always change things up from year to year so that it feels like a new Haunted House although the names stay the same. This year they added Carnevil and it surely is a freak show. I always take a group of friends and everyone has a great time. The fact that you can go through three Haunted Houses in one night at one location is great. One other great deal is their Early Bird special where you can save some money on seeing all three Haunted Houses.

Summary

Very well put together Haunted House that will make you want to come back year after year.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 23rd, 2019 1:51 a.m. CDT 1.8.19