2007 Event Reviews

Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.


Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

127 total reviews. Showing 6 of 15 on this page (9 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by christes91 after attending on Saturday, October 27, 2007 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

If you don't know Waukesha, which I don't, I almost missed the sign to turn at the Expo Center, but other than that, there are signs once you are on the grouds and it was easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Not bad, the staging area right outside the tent, right before you go into the house was good. There is a short distance from that area to the house and some of the creatures were "greeting" us while we waited. It was a nice touch.

Most Unique

The sets were well done and better than most of the haunted houses that I have seen around the area. It was just little things like the pictures on the walls that added to the sets. I liked it.

Actors' Performance

Great. They really interacted with you. A good example is that one of the guys in our group got to one area and said "This isn't too bad"-what a mistake. The actor in the area immeadiately popped out and stated that it was in fact very bad and when I started laughing at this he turned to me then and informed me I should change that attitude. I don't want to put what he said word for word because I don't want to give anything away but it was well done and as I stated before I really good example of their interaction with you.

Summary

We went 2x!! We loved it and if I have the chance I will go again next year.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by christes91 after attending on Friday, October 26, 2007 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Not that great, if you didn't see the kids waiting in line and the flashing lights you'd probably pass it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was a guy in some rotted flesh make-up that got in my daughter's face and tried to scare her but I think it annoyed her more than anything. It was a good effort it just didn't do it

Most Unique

The toilet. That was pretty good. I won't give it away but it was well done.

Actors' Performance

They had some good pop-outs, that is what my daughter calls it when they jump put and scare you but other than that not much else

Summary

Average costume and make-up, medium scary and way too short. My daughter and I are big haunted house fans and this one just wasn't that good and , sorry, not worth the price for 15 mins of just so-so.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED -

by Babagirls after attending on Saturday, October 27, 2007 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Not that visable. If it wasn't for friends that already got there and warned us about the small white sign, we would have passed it up (they actually did, by 3 miles).

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

LONG line, but moved very quickly!!!! Even got some hot cocoa for $1 while waiting :)

Most Unique

The "spinning" thing, crawling and ducting into places, bon fires along the way which kept us nice and warm in between getting spooked, and who could forgot that they take you in an old beat-up hearse to the woods and drop you off!!

Actors' Performance

Spot on! Never once out of character, scared the (you know what) out of me and my friends! The costumes had a lot of detail and the actors played their part to the fullest!

Summary

For $12, you will get your monies worth for sure. Very interactive, unsuspecting twists and turns, sounds from out of nowhere, flying things above you..very fun! I was surprised that there was no "touching" involved this year, as I've heard they've done that in the past. My only complaint (if you can even call it that) was that the groups brought to the woods weren't spread out enough and we ran into the group in front of us so we knew when things were going to happen sometimes. Other than that, I give it a A+! So maybe some "touching" like they've done in the past, and longer waits between groups..that would make this place *THE BEST* haunted place in Southeast Wisconsin!

View all Bear Den Haunted Woods - CLOSED - reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield

by zolmom01 after attending on Friday, October 26, 2007 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Low

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

visible from street - couldn't miss it Parking was good.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

waiting area was decorated really cool with great scary scenes

Most Unique

moving tunnel - made stomach turn upside down - very cool concept. Would like to have seen more things like that throughtout cornfield.

Actors' Performance

Actors were ok could have more interaction with "victims" - longer scare - masks and costumes were awesome though.

Summary

was hoping to see more scary scenes along the walk and would like to have seen more upon the exit of the cornfield. Wasn't quite sure we were finished.- OK for children.

View all Spooky Stalks Haunted Cornfield reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Fin 'N' Feather Haunted Woods

by lysergicerberus after attending on Friday, October 26, 2007 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The most noteworthy item I can mention is that this venue is NOT in the city. The dark, winding country roads leading to F&F certainly set the mood. Print off some directions and enjoy the cruise. There is a dimly lit sign in front of the road accessing the property. Keep your eyes open for it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area is different from most. You'll find an indoor heated clubhouse with a bar, baked goods, nice people and some entertainment. Keep in mind Fin & Feather is a shooting club, so you'll find the atmosphere to be unlike any other haunt. The volunteers helping out, both inside and out, are very helpful and great people. They'll assist with parking, finding tickets, escorting you to the Woods' entrance,etc.

Most Unique

Several unique items here. The main focal point is the venue itself. There aren't many haunted woods in the greater Milwaukee area. Something about the smells of the woods in October; that foliage and dead leaves scent, the odor of decay, it's unique to October and Halloween and it pleases the olfactory senses. Ok, what else is unique? There are scenes and props that you will NOT see anywhere else! It didn't take big dollars to create this haunt, but you wouldn't know it with some of the effects. Keep your eyes in the sky for levitating spirits and on the ground for one of the coolest effects I've seen, EVER! Unique? Umm, a pirate ship in the woods, cannon and all. Watch out for the living dead as you exit the ship! There are so many unique items at this attraction that you just have to experience them in person. Go through some fuel in your car, grab some friends and head out to Fin and Feather's Haunted Woods. You won't be disappointed.

Actors' Performance

The actors are all volunteer and friends of the club. We were surprised just how many there were within the woods. They were all very much into their roles. From the pirates to the maze-keepers. These actors are not well trained, drama students by any means, but they don't care...they wanna scare you and have fun. Don't be fooled, they can and WILL give you a scream!

Summary

I'd like to extend my gratitude to the Fin and Feather staff, the volunteers and certainly the man in charge, Butch. For only being the second year for this haunt and spending almost nothing on it, this attraction was awesome! We had a lot of fun and were sad when it was over. We truly enjoyed ourselves and got a few scares in the process. Kudos to all of you at Fin and Feather! Keep up the great work and we'll definitely see you next year. Thank you.

View all Fin 'N' Feather Haunted Woods reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by bobloblaw after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2007 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Somewhat hidden

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

very efficient

Most Unique

turning tube was awesome effect.

Actors' Performance

hit or miss

Summary

We drive over an hour every year and to have water basically dumped on you like a whitewater ride, is not cool. This needs to change. It is sometimes cold and having to be outside or drive long distances is not welcome. We will not attend again if this is still there next year. Bring a change of clothes.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Lindners Pumpkin Farm

by b2dauddy after attending on Saturday, October 20, 2007 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Location is perfect. Very easy to find, no probelems with parking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Wait line was good, not much room to wait... but I'm sure that could be easily arranged.

Most Unique

Not very, I have to admit, I would recommend others, this one is just a classic.

Actors' Performance

They were okay. As a previous review said, ther were long periods with no scare. Once getting to the actors, it was all the same original technique... Also, some need to show some self control. Girls were crying, young girls, and I don't know if they found it amusing to scare them more... but that was very unnecessary. Especially the part when I told them just to leave them alone and they got into my face and said , "Don't piss me off." Unnecessary, but most of them were good.

Summary

Actors need to have some fun with it, interacting with the crowd is just as important as scaring them.

View all Lindners Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by spookygrl after attending on Sunday, October 7, 2007 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The signage isn't very visible, but the strobe led the way.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The area outside is a bit scary all on its own. Interesting sights just people watching while in line. The actor working the line had an awesome makeup job and really was terrific. He stayed in character, got up close and personal, and is a top-notch actor. Props to you buddy!

Most Unique

I think the most unique thing about this haunt is the variety of scares.

Actors' Performance

The slithering actors were great. TV person...you especially. The little girl that could "see me" was awesome. Finally, even weeks later, the actress I remember was the psycho chick. She flew at me and was so realistic. I can't tell you how great you did that night. Were you running or were you flying?

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by spookygrl after attending on Saturday, October 13, 2007 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signage was easy to see from the road. Not hard to find using the directions from mapquest.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

I love the train ride. It really makes the wait not seem so long. As usual, the entertainment once you approach the haunt is great. We were with the VIP group, so we had a chance to enjoy a fire and cup of hot chocolate besides. Some of the waitline monsters were great. Mom and Kid, you rock. Keep up the great work.

Most Unique

Glimpses of the warm underworld are still awesome. My friends raved about Torment, but I don't have a lot of phobias. Torment had something for everyone.

Actors' Performance

The monsters didn't give up. This is a great thing! Some of the scares were cliche' but it was still good. The worms were a great touch too.

Summary

This one is another haunt that will test you if you have a problem with claustrophobia. Watch out!
I just can't rave about the Mom and kid in the wait line again. They were terrific...we saw them more than once and loved them each time. They didn't get old.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Dewane Asylum

by spookygrl after attending on Sunday, October 14, 2007 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signage made it easy to find. We looked for the strobe.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

This is where this haunt impressed me. Lots of monsters outside even though the rain made it annoying. Drizzly...or was that a monster drooling down my neck. It took us forever to get in, and that had nothing to do with a line. That was part of the excellent wait area entertainment.

Most Unique

I'd say the run around that we received trying to get in the haunt. I also like the misdirection inside that causes you to get mixed up.

Actors' Performance

The actors did well and you could tell that they enjoy what they do.

Summary

Great job...next year I have to come back on a Friday or Saturday.

View all Dewane Asylum reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by spookygrl after attending on Sunday, October 21, 2007 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Always a good time. Burial Chamber does their best to have an entertaining time while in line. I was disappointed that there didn't seem to be any monsters scaring the line for phobia, but assume that is because it was a Sunday night. I did love their queue line people in the past and noticed it has switched to videos. However, there is a lot to see in that way. My male friends especially loved the videos.

Most Unique

Burial Chamber has some very awesome rooms. The props and sets are detailed and interesting. I think that burial chamber presents itself as a professional, entertaining attraction.

Actors' Performance

Excellent. Sometimes it is obvious that it is a Sunday night, but the majority did a really good job.

Summary

This haunt provides a good way to have a fun night. There is more than one attraction, line entertainment, and concessions. Lines were a bit long, but that shows they do their job well and are attracting people.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by spookygrl after attending on Sunday, October 21, 2007 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Our group went in a convoy and we had directions from the website and mapquest....not really a problem finding it at all. There are signs, but keep an eye out...we saw the sign just as we came upon the road.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Not a very long line and they seemed to keep things moving along at a decent pace.

Most Unique

Help, the people with me in my group are possessed! Go and you'll know what I mean by this phrase.

Actors' Performance

The actors were very good. Of course you have some that are your standard monster, but there were a lot of the crew that really showed great effort and talent. The best, most outstanding character was the clown. He was insane. Bravo! I also enjoyed Santa....very good and in your face. The nun and the doctor at the beginning also make this haunt something special.

Summary

Awesome job this year. I thought I saw a lot of improvement from last year too. They get better each year I go.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by michealmyersfan after attending on Thursday, October 25, 2007 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We already knew where we were going, so finding it wasn't a problem.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

For a Thursday night, there were a lot of people there. Having the VIP made the wait a lot less. There were video screens showing some music clips and advertising for the haunt, very cool.

Most Unique

The pole dancer! if you've been through already, you know who I'm talking about. We had a blast in that room.

Actors' Performance

Very good, always stayed in character and they seemed to know who the target was in our group.

Summary

Our group came up from a different haunt, and many of us had never been through Burial Chamber before. I'd like to thank the staff and hard working crew from BC for the hospitality that they extended to us. We had a blast up there. Keep up the good work.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Hinchley's Haunts

by Andya after attending on Friday, October 19, 2007 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

The entrance is on the east side of the road about 1.5 miles south of Hwy 12-Hwy 18 on South Hwy 73. Posted by the gravel driveway/entrance is a white light shining on a black sign infront of a small red barn, easily visible from a distance especially if your traveling south on Hwy 73. Hinchley's Farm is south of Hwy 12-Hwy 18 and north of Hwy PQ.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area is indoors inside a large white tractor barn just north of the entrance to Hinchley's Haunts. First white barn to your left as you enter Hinchley's Haunts. Nearby the wait area entrance has painted and carved pumpkins. Some very creative designs. Inside are numerous picnic tables along with the ticket table. Also present is a wide variety of delicious refreshments of both hot and cold food. I decided on a hot dog and soda while I waited. One corner area contained benches and chairs where kid friendly movies like Hocus Pocus and have also seen Beetlejuice related to Halloween. The wait was about thirty minutes and they took great care to keep people moving to the haunted barn and hayride. Entertaining movies for free or from your own group.

Most Unique

A lot of creative and scary rooms very well decorated with great eye for detail. The rooms alone gave myself chills and were excellent. You never knew what kind of horror was to come next.

Actors' Performance

The actors are a few adults and mostly kids, and each one put their heart into scarrying myself and others that evening. The fortune teller answered questions asked by patrons and did a convincing job of impending doom for our group. The fortune teller room was very well decorated parlor. Another favorite was the walking through the corn field which made me forget I was indoors so convinving real and never knew what kind of ghoul would pop up that startled the lady in front of me for the haunted barn. The haunted hayride actors knew when to startle us because their was constanct screams and jumps from our group every 100 feet. Expect the unexpected and you never heard a ghoul come from the corn until they were right next to you.

Summary

I am going back again, because unable to take everything in on my first trip.

View all Hinchley's Haunts reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by pdogg after attending on Thursday, October 25, 2007 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Burial Chamber wasnt too hard to find, the search light was a big help!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The line wasnt too bad tonight, I loved the music outside of Blood City!

Most Unique

I would have to say this is the very first time Ive seen a strip club in a haunted house...

Actors' Performance

The actors were great!! Two thumbs up! This kid spooked us out right once we entered! Then kept following us to a bar area where we were questioned by another actor about the whereabouts of his cat! We also enjoyed the strip club!

Summary

Two thumbs up to the little kid that was working in the front! he/she got us good!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Reviews from other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018



May 22nd, 2019 11:36 a.m. CDT 1.6.3