ad-header-top

2007 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

127 total reviews. Showing 8 of 15 on this page (7 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by spookygrl after attending on Sunday, October 7, 2007 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signs are quite small.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Excellent! This is the same entertainment as at Morgan's Manor...see my review of that for more.

Most Unique

The fact that two haunts could be side by side and seething with that many great monsters! I enjoyed the claustrophobic ending to the house the most! Gotta go there to see what I mean.

Actors' Performance

Wonderful! Right on. That is not an easy feat and unless you've been a monster you don't realize that. Some were just scary and some had lines.

Summary

They have done it again. I thought last year was great and they far surpassed that. There was nothing I could even say was mediocre. You earned every pumpkin and ghost I give you!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by spookygrl after attending on Sunday, October 7, 2007 at about 2:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signage was a little hard to follow. That had a lot to do with not knowing the area at all. Look for the large white, lit up sign along the road and you've found the right entrance. I think the placement/location is idea for a haunt.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Line entertainment was amazing! Those guys are great. Hats off to the old guy! I think he needs one. His antagonizer really plays the part well too. One of our group asked if those were actors or not. Bravo when someone isn't sure!

Most Unique

I love the catacombs and the library. The props were awesome. Most unique is the fact that none of the monsters stunk.

Actors' Performance

EXCELLENT! Talk about right on. I didn't notice anyone that was just going through the motions. There was a lot of growling, maybe a bit much, but it worked. It is hard to pick the few gems out because they all did so well. The little girl on the floor was great, the guy on the supper table stands out, and lets face it all the creepy crawlies (you know who you are) are awesome...takes guts to do that!

Summary

In some places I almost wished there were just a tad more light because I could see there'd been so much detail put into the scenes and into the makeup and I couldn't see it due to such dark lighting.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Youth Go's Haunted House

by fryghtn after attending on Friday, October 5, 2007 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Not easy to find, especially with the construction, but if you know where you are going you'll stumble onto it. The staff did their best to work with the situation they couldn't control.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

Pretty standard. Might be a little boring if you had to sit there for awhile, but we went in almost right away so I didn't get to check it out for too long.

Most Unique

Nothing really stood out as completely unique. The opening section was well done,. A few good "surprise" areas that I won't ruin.

Actors' Performance

It amazes me this house is put on by mostly middle and high school kids. They really get into it even if they are volunteers. (There were a few kids there I started to wonder if they were really acting.) They must do a lot of rehersals, because usually opening night is a little slow. They were on.

Summary

I've gone to Youth-Go's houses for a number of years now. These guys and the Oshkosh Jaycees put on some of the area's best charity haunts. I always like going to them because I know that if I don't like it, at least the money is going to a good cause. It wasn't one of their better years, but still very good. Well worth the price of admission. Include it in your House tours.

View all Youth Go's Haunted House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt

by vividvoid after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2007 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Just off of Jackson Street. Exit 124 East to County Y. Nice billboards on the highway. And Bright Orange Signs on the left side of Jackson Street Exit heading East. They're located right outside the fairegrounds. There's also a sign by a farm house by the intersection/lights where you need to turn at to indicate where it is. Also a big yellow truck with the sign on it again to indicate where the enterance of the fairegrounds is.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The wait area is very nice. It's inside of a big tin-roofed barn. You'll definately be out of the bad weather, wheather it be raining, extremely hot or extremely cold and windy. The line area is decorated with some halloween lights and every once in a while a few ghouls will come out to play with those waiting in line and keep everyone entertained. I went at 8:00 and the wait wasn't that long. My son and I got in pretty much right away.

Most Unique

The most unique thing there would have to be their industrial area, you'll wonder what you got yourself into. There were a lot of rooms that I liked but my all time favorite was their dark maze. It took me a while until I found my way out but I did it.

Actors' Performance

Well done. There are definately some strong actors in that group. They did some phenomenal work. Their costumes, their makeup, the way the presented their character and the way they scared people was just exceptional. It's like they were comming at you from all different angles without you even noticing them. I'm not going to lie, I almost wet myself a few times!

Summary

I went to this thing last year when it was at the fairegrounds and I thought it was just okay but I thought there was a lot of work that needed to be done to it. I didn't know if I wanted to go again or not this year but my son talked me into it and I was amazed at how much it has changed. It's all new and it completely threw me for a loup at how a haunt like that could change into something so terrifying and so different! If you thought last year was just okay you're in for a real treat this year. The sets are very creative and very detailed. Their actors are very scary, very humerous, and will take your breath away. You'll be wondering if your really there or if your having a nightmare. Definately worth going to. I can't wait for next year.

View all A Theater Of Lost Souls Presents: Nightmare Factory Haunt reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Dewane Asylum

by susanstar25 after attending on Friday, October 5, 2007 at about 5:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

There were no signs to lead you where to go. When you got close enough you would see stobe lgihts and a big sign. I suggest mapquesting it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We went the second weekend and there was no line. We bought our tickets, walked through the line and up onto the front porch and were let in right away. There wasn't any entertainment while we in the line.

Most Unique

The mattress room made me crack up. It was so funny.

Actors' Performance

I kept seeing the actors that were supposed to be in the next room in the room we were in, so they had to run quick back to their own rooms. They didn't scare very well. They all just talked to you. It didn't seem like they were trying. There was also no element of surprise. I think that the best actor was the stripper and she wasn't even meant to be scary.

Summary

I liked it better where it was last year. It wasn't very scary being downtown.

View all Dewane Asylum reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue - CLOSED

by svault7 after attending on Sunday, October 7, 2007 at about 4:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We knew how to get there from attending in the past, but if this was our first time, I'm not sure we would have been able to find it. There's a bright sign once you get there, but getting there will be the tricky part unless you have good directions. But I think that kind of lends to the spookyness of it, having it a bit outside the citylimits.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

This house has the BEST wait area. Very big, with a big bonfire and a good concessions stand. They call out group numbers, and then when your number is called, you walk up to the house. The music volume was appropriate and you could hear them annoucing the group numbers clearly, unlike in the past. Unfortunately, the scares as you walk to the house and were in the waiting area just weren't there. I hope this is because it was opening weekend. You have to walk through a VERY dark woods, and there should be people jumping out at you, at least there was in the past. Nobody came at us, so I was a little disappointed at that. Even so, walking in a dark woods at night is creepy!

Most Unique

I'm not going to give this away, but this house has something new this year that I've never seen (or felt) in a haunted house before. Very cool and shocking! :)

Actors' Performance

Again, leading up to the house was very poor. There were MANY actors just standing around talking. The age of some of the actors seemed a bit odd to me. About half of them outside seemed to be 8 to 10 years old. I know I'm getting older, but actors this young seem to suffer from not only height disadvantages... but also they just weren't into it. Once inside the house, it was a different story!!! Most of the actors were great, several actors gave us some good scares that still have us talking.

Summary

Seriously, one of the BEST houses in Wisconsin. I've been attending scares for the past 16 years, and I can't say enough good things about this one. Excellent wait area, the house is huge which means that it's alot longer than most, it's DARK and creepy the way houses should be, they really use noises and sound effects to their benifit, and it's creative.

One thing I'd like to note, and I hope people who put on haunted houses read this. When using strobes lights, you need to be CAREFUL! I'm a professional entertainer who uses strobes, and I'm familiar with the different kinds availible. There was one point in this house where it was pitch black and we were strobed with a extremely high powered strobe (750 watts!) from about 4 feet away. A smaller strobe (75 watts or even 50)would have done the trick when it's that dark. I went to bed that night still seeing the glare of the strobe. Those high powered lights are meant to be used from a distance (like a dance hall mounted up very high), you could seriously damage someone's vison!

With all of that said, you don't have to spend a ton of money to do a haunted house right... just give use scares!

View all The Morgue - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by sweetkisses718 after attending on Sunday, October 7, 2007 at about 3 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We found it pretty easy since the website gave detail as to what it was near, we also mapquested it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no line, There was an actor outside trying to scare us but he didn't succeed.

Most Unique

There really wasn't anything I hadn't already seen in another haunt already. I liked the VERY VERY dark corner where it takes a few minutes to find your next path and the bloddy kitchen.

Actors' Performance

I'd say it was a little less than average. Not terriable but good, just kind of eh.

Summary

Overall I was pretty disappointed with it.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by svault7 after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2007 at about 3:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was easy to find, pretty much right off the highway, and once you were close you could see the signs.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was hardly any wait time, I'm guessing this was because it was the opening weekend.

Most Unique

There were two scares that got us more than anything else, and they happened walking up to the house... not in the house. Also, I must give props to their website. It's excellent, the best I've seen. It's what made us want to go to the house in the first place.

Actors' Performance

The overall actors performace was ok. They were trying, but it just wasn't very scary. The focus of the house seemed to be more of the 3-D aspect than scaring you. Again, this was the first weekend so they may have been light staffed.

Summary

They use a lot of neon colors that glowed and they used lots strobes. When wearing the 3-D glasses, it gave me a slight headache near the end. The music was not scary at all. It was banjo music... no, I'm not kidding.

I'm into old school scare: Dark places, creepy music, etc.. The trend of some houses is glow colors and visual effects. This house falls into the second catagory. I might have high expectations, but then again, there are other houses that meet them.

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by kritterbite after attending on Sunday, October 7, 2007 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

You can see the spot light from 41! The location was awsome and they have alot of parking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

I was there on a sunday before they really opened and saw a real bat wich I thought was cool! They acted as they came by doing "don't kill her yet" scenes for me.

Most Unique

I think the whole thing was unlike anything I'd ever saw, or didn't see before. I wish some of the sets and actors were lit better. I really liked the bat.

Actors' Performance

Well I only saw phobia woods, and all but two actors just grr or yell at you. They wern't lit so hard to see, and only two were differant. The guy covered in blood and the wierd spotty pants guy, they said stuff!

Summary

It's not a hard trail and there is no guide. I like the terrain thing and FRED. If you go to their show do this trail as a warm up for their scarry ones.
Sorry I rate low but I'm really hard to scare. I was with a couple and it helped but, I've seen better first time woods trails.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Dewane Asylum

by kritterbite after attending on Sunday, October 7, 2007 at about 3:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Little hard to find, and parking was on the street. But the front of the building looked "Haunted house" and had nice art work on it.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The line entertainment was great! It was a sunday with a packer home game, so not too many groups. I liked the tall guy with the top hat.

Most Unique

Their doors are definatly most unique! I wish I didn't run into the group ahead of me because they gave away alot accedentally.

Actors' Performance

Most actors I caught off guard as I'm usually a group of 1, But I loved the little girls because they said lines! The cook had to help me after she scared me, ha ha.

Summary

The first room tricked me pretty bad I was expecting one thing and they did something else. I got lost feelings alot.

View all Dewane Asylum reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by x0char0x after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2007 at about 4 p.m.

Fun Factor: Low Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

It was very easy to find.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There wasn't much line entertainment. They had a movie playing towards the front of the adrenaline and blood city entrances.

Most Unique

The burial simulator was the most unique. What other haunt can you find a coffin that you get to lay in?

Actors' Performance

The actors they did have did a pretty good job. Their make up was awesome.

Summary

This year I felt this haunt wasn't what it was compared to previous years. They had too much going on and not enough staff inside and outside the haunt to entertain you. The scenes were awesome but there wasn't any actors in them to scare you.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by lysergicerberus after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2007 at about 5:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Print out directions from this site and follow them. You should have no problems. On Hwy 57, you may find yourself wondering if you may be lost, but keep going. County W is your turn and there ARE signs for the Haus. You will know when you are at the event.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

The numbering system is very efficient. The ladies in the ticket booth do a great job. In the staging area you will find concessions, mood-setting death metal (hey guys, check out Dimmu Borgir sometime!) and an easy-going crowd of Haus lovers to mingle with. The wait area has a sense of anticipation that I have rarely encountered. The Haus has that effect.

Most Unique

What isn't unique? From the killer robot to the one-of-a-kind Pinhead, there's plenty of unique scares. Every room comes at you full force. The set designs and monsters are crazy. One room stands out to me, The Claustrophobia Room. You'll know it when you find it. There is nothing stale about Splatter Haus.

Actors' Performance

I cannot possibly do justice to these guys. They are insane! It was over 100 degrees in there last night and I know they were suffering, but it didn't show. Those guys are intense and love what they do. In fact, the entire staff of Splatter Haus is top notch. This is one very well orchestrated haunt! The actors should be proud of what they accomplish. They make Haus the icon that is.

Summary

I just want to personally extend my gratitude for the hospitality shown to us Saturday night. The owners, actors, security and the rest of the staff really make this haunt a memorable experience. The observation system was insane. These guys give not only give the actors safety measures, but they provide real-time performance evaluations! Hand-built everything! That's dedication. You guys scared the hell outta me and created a true Splatter Haus fan. Thank you.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

Mars Haunted House - CLOSED-

by berbaker after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2007 at about 2:45 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Easy to find location, ample free parking.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

There was no wait when I got there. They handed me a ticket and sent me straight upstairs.

Most Unique

I enjoyed the man with the circular saw the most.

Actors' Performance

The actors did very well I thought. The rooms are pretty dark so I couldn't see exactly what everyone was, but the ones I did see did a good job on make-up and costumes.

Summary

This was the first haunted house that I attended this year, and I think it was a nice warm up for things to come. The layout of the house was very good and the environments (what I could see) were very well decorated. Loud noises do it for me the best and this place had it's share of them. The house probably only took about ten minutes to walk through, but some groups may travel at a slower pace than my two man group. All in all I say check this one out for yourself, while the lines are still small.

View all Mars Haunted House - CLOSED- reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by sweetkisses718 after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2007 at about 2:15 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

Signs are small if you don't know where it is.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We were there early, so there wasn't much going on.

Most Unique

Theres a point where it gets so dark you can't see anything and the walls are kind of side ways and its hard to find the path, we almost couldn't!

Actors' Performance

Great this haunt is VERY unique especially if you're coming in right after morgan manor and you're already shaken up. Won't give anything away but be prepared for a SURPRISE in the very begining!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2007 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by sweetkisses718 after attending on Saturday, October 6, 2007 at about 2 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Signage / Visibility / Location

We knew exactly where it was since it's located on th waukesha fair grounds, otherwise the signs are pretty small.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment

We went VERY early like 10 to 7 so there wasn't much going on and not much of a wait!

Most Unique

I don't want to give to much away. The bathroom scene was pretty disgusting, and the body bag hall and werewolf were awesome! Every Room has amazing props though.

Actors' Performance

AMAZING! I don't know if it's because it was early in the night and the actors we're ready go or what but they were definitely 10 times better than last year. They seem to come out of nowhere at times whish was great!

Summary

It may have been our timing but we had an awesome time, so from my expierence it was WELL worth the 20 bucks. (we did both haunts)

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




July 23rd, 2019 2:42 p.m. CDT 1.8.20