ad-header-top

2016 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

84 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Screamin Acres Haunted Houses

by izzilizzy after attending on Sunday, October 9, 2016 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

This is a quality haunted house, where you can tell that a lot of time and effort were put into the development of it. I like the lineup that they have for admission - they have a live DJ, fog, lights, the works. There are a few members of the staff that work the line, and I think they do a fine job of getting people amped up. The attraction itself is a lengthy one, taking approximately 45 minutes to navigate, with indoor and outdoor sections, bright areas, dark areas, wide open spaces and tight narrow areas. There are a variety of scares, from shady silent characters to speaking characters, and, of course, jump scares. There are minimal animatronics, which I appreciate, and the makeup is top-notch, as they have a phenomenal makeup crew with Glitter To Gore filling that position. I think all-in-all, it's worth the price of admission. Take some friends and go check them out!

Summary

Good house, solid scares, great makeup, good price.

View all Screamin Acres Haunted Houses reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by Madcity after attending on Friday, October 7, 2016 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This haunt is top notch! I can't believe they fit so much horror into one little barn. This is definitely a must see if you enjoy being completely terrified.

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Dominion of Terror

by HollyAnn after attending on Friday, October 7, 2016 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This was the best haunt I've been to in recent years! It took about 25-30 minutes to get through, the scenes were great,the actors did not break character, & there were several actors in every room jumping out & scaring you; jumping off walls, crawling underneath stairs, hidden doors, ect. I am not a jumpy person, & they got me more often than not. I can't believe it was only $10, the line was not long, actors were scaring you while you waited, & they allowed ample time between groups upon entering. I will be back!

View all Dominion of Terror reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by ohayk4 after attending on Friday, October 7, 2016 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

As I lay here I can't stop thinking about how much we enjoyed our time at Wisconsin Fear Grounds tonight! I went with a couple of friends and really enjoyed it. We went through all 3 and couldn't stop jumping. The first one, manor, impressed me as always... I want to say more - but would hate to ruin the surprise! We went to twisted next, I have always been a fan of mazes so this was right up my alley! Wrapped up the night down in unstable. Which worked great to gross out a friend or two. All I can really say is good work to the people who run it, really hope I can go again soon!

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED)

by celbrown after attending on Sunday, October 2, 2016 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Scared the crap out of me! Amazing place!!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Walking Ghost Tour of Downtown Racine

by anonym1ty after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2016 at about 6:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Low

Review

What a fantastic walking tour of downtown Racine! We were able to view many of the places in Racine hear the Ghost Stories, Folklore and History! We even got to go in some of the buildings! It is a long tour, but it was a beautiful night to be out! Meeting the Racine Paranormal Investigators was a lot of fun

Summary

I recommend this tour for anyone in to Halloween, Ghost Stories and Folklore!

View all Walking Ghost Tour of Downtown Racine reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

A & J's Halloween House

by LyleisWeird (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Tuesday, October 4, 2016 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Once, every four years, Halloween coincides with election season. Awkward presidential masks and bumbling commentary abound. A & J’s Haunted House is a great example of how to incorporate election season without succumbing to these pratfalls.

A & J’s built some amazing props for their haunt. The custom podiums for their monster candidates stand out as having memorable, Burton-esque design. Their model White House is mind blowing. I have no idea how they put that together, but I’m inspired. The windows are even decorated with the silhouettes of classic horror icons. (Elvira for president.) Towering over everything is a haunted Washington Memorial that gives everything an epic scope. The scene is really made by all the small details. The skeleton security and zombie paparazzi make it feel like you’re really at an undead presidential debate. The design is fantastic, but the best parts of this display only happen after dusk.

The Folks at A & J’s have a strong understanding of how and where to light their haunt. Nothing washes out or is over or under lit. So many little details and surprises only happen after they flip the switch and the lights come on. Let me know if you can find Jack and Sally—they're well hidden.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Conveniently located in Milwaukee's spookiest neighborhood, Bay View.

Summary

Bay View is a great place for home haunters. Block after block of eerie decorations build up like spider webs as we approach the spookiest day of the year. Make sure to stop by and see A & J’s Haunted House and get some inspiration for haunting your own house!

View all A & J's Halloween House reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Twisted Realms Haunted House (CLOSED)

by PaigeBerrier (Junior Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 2, 2016 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Let me start by saying that I was blown away by this haunt. This is a great experience for those looking for something more interactive, but there were some truly scary moments as well.

I went to Twisted Realms on a Sunday night, right as they were opening. Although a little hard to find initially, the Elkhorn Flea Market grounds offers a lot of area to work with and clean, working bathrooms (yes!). The waiting area for this haunt is a separate room with bleachers, so no waiting in line! They also have scary carnival games available to play ($1) for prizes and a photoshoot area with a creepy throne, as well as actors to entertain. Each group is called in using a ticket number.

Within the haunt, we were first told the rules gathered around a fire, being "read tales" from a creepy witch. I thought this was not only unique but it made sure people understood what they could and could not do. After that, our haunt began! As we made our way through the haunt, we encountered some tight areas, but mostly it is larger rooms, giving everyone a chance to see and, in this case, touch! You have to find your way through the haunt looking for hidden doors, crawling through areas, and pulling on elements to reveal passages. We were offered (not at all obvious) advice by actors when needed. There were several truly scary concepts for these rooms, and all of the actors gave an amazing performance - they never broke character, screams were LOUD, and all of their warnings and musing told a cohesive story of a cult gone way, way bad.

This is a must visit. As their story continues year to year, I can only imagine this haunt will continue to improve! I was EXTREMELY impressed with every element - handling the crowds, the creative themes of the room, all of the ways we had to exit different areas, the costumes and acting of the performers, and the length and visuals. Amazing!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Unfortunately, this was the one area lacking in this haunt. It is at the Elkhorn flea market grounds, which is a large and somewhat unmarked space (but a great area!), so they definitely could use some signs by the main road. However, once in the right area things were clearly marked. I also called after being confused about their location and the staff was very friendly. One thing I really appreciated about this haunt is their full, well-lit, clean bathrooms!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


I cannot say enough good things about this portion of the haunt. The wait area is in a separate building which is circular in shape and has bleachers along the walls, giving people waiting a (huge) space to sit in their groups. They do entrance by ticket numbers, so there is no waiting in line. They also featured four carnival games for $1 each! Three games were based on skill (throwing) and one on chance. They offered prizes of (weird! creepy!) stuffed animals to those who won! Not sure if this is standard (we arrived literally when they opened on a Sunday night) but they offered to exchange 15 prizes for a t-shirt as well. They ALSO had an area with a throne and mist for photoshoots, which the staff was more than happy to pose with.

Actors' Performance


I was very impressed with the actors in this haunt. Several of the actors had amazing, shrill screams and they did not hold back! There was also a range of ages participating, so there was a lot of variety in characters. There were lots of jump scares at key moment, and the actors had a great grasp on timing. One actor even managed to separate our group (of four) at a crucial moment for a few minutes, which really added to the experience!

The actors never broke character even while our group was attempting (and failing) to exit a room. They were helpful without being obvious, and the time spent figuring out the escape route allowed each character to have their own individual "performance" that we could appreciate.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This unique haunt is centered around solving puzzles and finding doors and secret entrances to get into the next section, and I was absolutely blown away with the creativity (and creepiness!) of some of the scenarios. Our group had to work together to get into the next section. We also liked how each area was a room rather than a hallway, so everyone could see and touch around. We were encouraged to touch and move things.

They were also very consistent in their storyline (The Cult) and the haunt reflected that. We went through several different themed sections, including one that briefly went outdoors.

Length


We spent over an hour and a half throughout the waiting area (intentionally, we were playing games!) and the haunt. They were happy to let us take our time walking through did we were never rushed, only given (not obvious) hints when it was needed.

Crowd Control


We didn't experience a crowd on this night, but it was obvious they were prepared, and had an amazing system in place to handle a large crowd. I loved their waiting area!

Most Memorable Moment


There were so many memorable moments at this haunt, but I wouldn't want to give away any of the secret exits! Suffice to say we were SHOCKED with some of the reveals!

Summary

An extremely creative, interactive haunt with an amazing wait area and staff! Truly an expected gem!

View all Twisted Realms Haunted House (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Hill Has Eyes

by PaigeBerrier (Junior Review Crew Member) after attending on Sunday, October 2, 2016 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

We went to the Hill Has Eyes on a Sunday night around 9:30. Timing was a bit of a question within our visit: according to their website, their box office closes at 10pm, but when looking at their Facebook, they had 11pm listed. Their official closing time is stated, with their website stating they close approximately one hour after the box office closes. This is just something to be aware of when planning your trip – get there early to avoid both crowds and the box office closing times. We bought our tickets online ahead of time, which allowed us to bypass the box office.

Although this haunt is very long with a lot of different areas, they didn’t seem like they had their full staff that evening, probably due to the fact that it was a Sunday night. Fewer actors meant a lot of moments for scares were missed and we spent a lot of time walking alone. As a primarily outdoor haunt, there is a less of a sense of anticipation for what's to come (as you can see it in front of you), and less control of lighting, sound, etc. I also felt they utilized props in areas that actors could have performed better. There were also missing some key elements that could have really improved our experience. For example it had rained the day before, and the ground was still extremely muddy and slippery – some hay on the trail could have helped improve safety. Another thing to note would be the restrooms, which even on a slow night, didn’t seem to be receiving a lot of attention from the staff, so make sure you bring hand sanitizer along with you.

CONTAINMENT: A HOODED EXPERIENCE
This was shorter than I remembered from my last visit in 2014; a brief walk through some halls with a dark hood. In previous years, they had a string or a handrail to hold on but there didn’t seem to be one this year – just a feature I would approach with caution. Nothing popped out on while we were hooded, and soon we were removing the hoods. From this point on we walked through semi-indoor halls with a few medical scares until entering into the first waiting area. Unfortunately I felt this was the first example of a continuing theme – presenting areas with a lot of anticipation that didn’t meet expectations.

FAILED ESCAPE
This area has some great moments, including scary makeup and amazing animal masks. The story was a bit muddy, but we enjoyed walking through the salvage yard (particularly the bus) and the actors we encountered along the way. This area and the next one were a little blurry in their themes, although they had a stop in between of them.

HUNGER HOLLOW
I found this area to be the most confusing. I enjoyed the "mutant" makeup, but there were several moments of religious-type scares that didn't really make sense to the story. This area definitely seemed the most "random" in terms of the people and sets they had to scare people. In either this section or the one before it (hard to remember because these two did blend together), we received an electric shock. I remember this situation from 2 years ago when I last attended, but I was shocked (literally!) at how strong the feeling was! This is definitely something to be prepared for when coming into this haunt; as we were feeling it still several minutes later.

SCARE LIFT
I found this area to be the biggest disappointment. It is an amazing feature of this Complex, a real ski lift that is really long and goes over an amazing creepy hill. However, on our night, the laser tag that goes on underneath it didn't seem to be going on at all (whether from lack of interest or not operating, I don't know), so it was simply a ski lift ride. I definitely think adding some actors or props to the ski lift itself, as well as the event below would add significantly to this element. This element is especially frustrating to me because it is so unique and has so much potential for scare.

CARNIVORE
Some great actors in this area, but once again, a lot of opportunities missed, particularly in the maze portion of the haunt. We experienced 1 or 2 jump scares when going through the entire house, but it does include a spinning room. We realized after that we were the last people coming through the haunt for the night (of the maybe 15 other people we saw), and I felt like the actors were a bit checked out. Right after we exited (this is the last area) they started coming out and going down the hill to go home, which I felt was a bit unprofessional. Some of them kept acting and taking photos and things with us, but most of them were taking off elements of their costume and walking to their cars.

Signage / Visibility / Location


This haunt is at a large Sports Complex, however, I still felt they could have used more signs. Once you started into the Complex they did have people directing parking and a large sign. There are people around to ask if you need guidance.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Very large wait area, covered, with a DJ and a bar. We saw no actors before the haunt, other than those guiding us in. They also have a fire going before the entrance to the first section. Throughout the haunt as well there are regular stops with bathrooms (portable). On the night we went, (a Sunday), none of the stops throughout had entertainment or a bar, although when I went years prior on a busier night, both of these things were there.

Actors' Performance


There were several awesome masks and makeup jobs, and some actors were really great, staying in character and going all out. However, I felt the acting was confusing in content. Some the things they were yelling seemed sort of random; they didn’t seem to be adding up to a story. There were a lot of moments for jump scares missed.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


This haunt is primarily outdoors, so it was muddy and slippery, as it had rained the day before. Use caution when walking through and make sure you are dressed appropriately in boots or sneakers you don’t mind getting dirty.

There are five separate areas of this haunt, which does provide a variety of scenarios. However, I felt they didn't utilize some of their sets to the best of their ability (no jump scares, a lot of build up with nothing happening, etc.) With it being primarily outdoors, I felt the sets suffered from a lack of intentional lighting or sound.

I also did not care for the shocks and felt they were a bit too intense for the average attendant. They are hard to avoid as well.

Length


Very long; took us about an hour and a half to get all the way through, with some stops.

Crowd Control


There was no crowd on this night, but they did have staff waiting.

Most Memorable Moment


Getting shocked; creepy animal masks.

Summary

This is a very long, mostly outdoor haunt with 5 different areas, including a hooded portion and a ski lift. Although they have a high production value and a great space, the haunt is potentially dangerous to navigate, and, in general, they didn't follow through with their scares.

View all Hill Has Eyes reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm

by LyleisWeird (Newbie Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2016 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Well boils and ghouls, it’s that time of year again! Pumpkin spice is in the air and hauntings are revving up to full, spectral force. What better way to kick off the season, and the first day of October, with a haunted cornfield? When my wife and I heard about Meadowbrook Haunted Cornfield we were all ears.

The first night we tried the haunt we got rained out. They had still been setting up and the rain had delayed their opening. We spent about 20 minutes chatting with Rick, the proprietor. After a spell, we decided to just come back the next day rather than wait around. Rick seemed generally let down that we couldn’t stay. As a manner of apology, he gave us a jar of Meadowbrook pickles—they pack a punch!

The next day made a huge difference. The whole place was lit up with spooky goodness everywhere and a pumpkin patch with some of the most impressive gourds I’ve seen in a while. The unassuming cornfield from the night before was alive with eerie lights and the waling of the damned. The ground was still muddy, but the haunt was pretty steady with victims, er, guests, tromping through the pumpkin patch and lining up for some scares.

The haunted cornfield itself was out of this world—sometimes literally. You'll follow the winding path and run through a variety of themed encounters. It's almost like getting a few haunts for the price of one. The haunt has great pacing, giving you just enough time to catch your breath before scaring it right back out of you. The haunt's design tells a tale of an abandoned mining town before opening up to all your wildest nightmares. Far from feeling hodgepodge, it's like a measured decent to madness. As it says on their website, the haunt is physical. Be ready to stoop down under spider webs, squeeze through looming corn stalks, and crouch through tight passage ways. You can skip the gym after this one.

I shambled into this haunt with the expectations of quality scares and low budget charm, but what I got was a haunt that can rival some of the big budget productions. I don’t want to give much away, there are surprises around every turn, but at one point you will board a haunted ship and flee from an animatronic prop that would give Cthulhu nightmares. If you're looking for a frightfully good time, the Meadowbrook Haunted Cornfield is the place to be.

Signage / Visibility / Location


You might miss the turn off the main road heading to the haunted cornfield—keep your eyes peeled for the large, pumpkin-shaped signs. When you first pull in to Meadowbrook Haunted Cornfield you pass their wild assortment of pumpkins with the mouth of their haunted cornfield looming in the distance. The parking area could use some lighting, as it was a little dark; nothing dangerous, just keep someone's eyes peeled for signs and staff, and drive slow. You’ll be fine.

Actors' Performance


The actors do a killer job with their roles. They chased, jumped, screamed, crawled, and tormented us through every winding turn of the haunt. They put their hearts and souls, and maybe some other people’s hearts and souls, into their acting. We were literally chased back to the parking lot. That’s the kind of dead-icatation that’s hard to dig up.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The prop work at this haunt is on its own level. The aforementioned animatronics steal the show, but the rest of it is nothing to shake a stalk at. I would not have been disappointed to see some of these special effects at a big budget, pro-level haunt. The unassuming, bucolic farm belies the interactive props, motion sensors, and immersive sets. Rick and his team have the chops to give any haunt a run for their money.

Length


This is going to be some of the most terrifying, frantic, and enjoyable 40 minutes of your life. Their website says to expect 45 minutes to get though the haunt. We made it in just about 40—but we were running for our lives for a good portion of that.

Most Memorable Moment


I won't spoil the horror for you, but, at some point, you'll be lost in a maze with a clown that just, really, really wants some friends to play with...

Summary

I can’t recommend this haunt enough. In spite of the 40 minute drive from Milwaukee, my wife and I plan on going back at least one more time this season. 10/10 Children of the Corn recommend this haunt.

View all Haunted Cornfield at Meadowbrook Pumpkin Farm reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Abandoned Haunted House Complex

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2016 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Abandoned Haunted Complex - Burial Chamber’s sinister sister haunt is sensationally sick!! For years I’ve been proclaiming the Fox Valley’s Burial Chamber as Wisconsin’s scariest haunted attraction. While I’m not quite ready to recant this proclamation (yet!) I will admit that Abandoned has done something that no other haunt in Wisconsin has been able to do…quench my insatiable thirst for more of the unique thrills made famous by Burial Chamber.

2016 marks the 6th season for Abandoned but was the first year that I have toured the Haunted Complex. Here are some devilish details that I acquired from my terrifying tour…

This haunt features 3 haunted attractions: Ambush, Hysteria and Stalker. Both Ambush and Hysteria reside inside while Stalker consists of a mix of disturbing dwellings connected by a creeped out corn maze. The layout of Ambush and Hysteria are similar in that they are both comprised of a seemingly endless maze of cleverly crafted corridors consisting of a variety of themes. The journey through both Ambush and Hysteria progresses continuously without stoppages for elaborate skits. Rooms here are more like themed corridors than rooms and your pace through these haunts are determined more by how quickly you walk than it is by the creatures lurking in the shadows. The ghouls throughout are unrelenting in their quest to scare each and every visitor regardless of their position within a group. Yes, you read that correctly…you will be terrorized regardless of your position in your group as there is no place to hide from the menacing monsters lurking throughout the haunts. Sets were lit effectively…dim enough to encourage you to keep your scare guard up but light enough so that you could appreciate the amazing attention to detail with the sets and costumed actors. Gore and special effects were plentiful with several visual abominations that will torment your mind long after your exit. Laser lighting, black lit rooms, a vortex, strobe lights, and trick floor were just a few of the visual stimuli offered up.

Bonus note for those familiar with Burial Chamber but not Abandoned….the journey through Ambush and Hysteria is continuous unlike Burial Chamber’s Adrenalin and Insanity where you exit one and are required to get in line for the next one.

Unlike Ambush and Hysteria, Stalker incorporates a creepy corn maze with occasional petrifying passages through eerie dwellings found along the way. Rustling corn and sinister sounds heighten your anticipation of what’s to come as you proceed along a moon lit path. Similar to Ambush and Hysteria, the monsters in Stalker were menacing, highly motivated and acrobatic doing an exceptional job of appearing out of nowhere to scare each and every member the tour group regardless of position.

The haunted complex also offers a side attraction, Shoot-a-Feak, that allows you to shoot a ghoul with a paintball gun. A large courtyard with a ginormous movie screen, bumpin’ sound system and a concession stand can be found directly behind the main complex. A nightly parade of ghouls also takes place here every night at 6:45pm.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Very easy to find as it’s located on the frontage road running alongside of I-94. The sheer size of this complex combined with several parking attendants flagging you into the parking lot make it nearly impossible to miss this place.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Come dressed for the elements as portions of the wait lines for Ambush, Hysteria and Stalker are outside. As you near the entrance to Ambush and Hysteria the waiting lines are covered. A courtyard with ginormous movie screen, bumpin sound system and a concession stand along with a few costumed actors help to build your anticipation while you wait to enter the haunts. Be sure to arrive early and check out the parade of Ghouls which takes place nightly at 6:45pm. If you don’t like long lines and lengthy waits be sure to purchase VIP passes to take advantage of the shorter VIP lines.

Actors' Performance


The actors were very skilled at providing quick and unexpected scares. Only a few actors performed on sets that provided an opportunity for a theatrical display and in these situations they did not disappoint! I particularly enjoyed the performances in the Chapel Room, Gas Chamber/Shower Room and the Stalker Intro room.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Brilliant use of shadows and dimly lit hallways/rooms to maximize scare and creep factor. Set designs were very effective in immersing you into the theme of the haunt. Not the most elaborate set designs I've seen but definitely better than the average haunt. Enjoyed some of the unique concepts and special effects. Trick floors, vibrating walls, tripped out laser lights….there’s a little bit of everything to keep you on your toes.

Length


Took my group 25 minutes to complete Ambush/Hysteria and 25 minutes to complete Stalker

Crowd Control


Waiting lines for both Ambush/Hysteria and Stalker were clearly marked off along with the separate VIP lines.

Most Memorable Moment


Several great scares...the Chapel Room wins the ‘how the heck did they do that’ award!

Summary

If you’re looking for a totally terrifying experience in SE Wisconsin this Halloween look no further than Abandoned. The scares in Ambush and Hysteria come early and often thanks to an amazing arsenal of gruesome gore and visual effects that maximize scare opportunities. For those who thirst for more thrills Stalker offers even more horrific haunted mayhem.

View all Abandoned Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions

by majorXpsycho (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2016 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Green Bay Fear has opened its gates with a whole “freak show” of attractions! There are so many different things to see at Green Bay Fear, that it might be overwhelming at first to decide which one you want to attempt first. Last year was the first year I had not attended Green Bay Fear and I am amazed at how much it has changed in just 2 years. The atmosphere reminds me of a Circus Carnival minus the “rides”. There is a live band that performs on the weekends, where you can enjoy live music and a multiple option of treats. The live band makes Green Bay Fear stand out because you can spend an entire night at this attraction, instead of just standing in line for a 15-minute walk through of a haunted house.

We started with Shawano Manor, the main haunted house. With everything going on outside, we had no idea there was so much horror inside! The house itself looks like that of an old haunted mansion and the inside carried that theme perfectly throughout. This mansion even has a movie theater inside and YOU are the main showing! There are plenty of spirits inside and their performance was theatrically perfected, maintaining a seamless theme throughout. There were no “dead spaces” and every inch was carefully covered to heighten the feeling of walking through a haunted mansion. The actors were able to twist their bodies into ways that made them seem supernatural. I will admit, while it is difficult to “truly” scare me, there were multiple times throughout the Shawano Manor that I was caught off guard and disturbed. The length of the house was perfect; it took 23 minutes for us to finally escape!

The next stop was the Twisted Trail, the haunted outdoor trail. The Twisted Trail is a winding path through multiple different outdoor buildings. The lighting they use is unique because it prevents you from being able to see the ghouls coming at you! There are plenty of ghouls and even an option to pay an extra $10 to have an actual psychic reading done. If you can spare the extra $10, I recommend the psychic reading by Psycho the psychic as she was very accurate and the memory stays with you. The ghouls and the sets throughout the trail were just as terrifying as the actors inside the Haunted House. The trail took much longer than most outdoor haunted trails, but we also detoured for the psychic reading so I do not have an exact length time. I am assuming without the reading; it would have taken approximately 15 minutes to make it through!

Up next, Mr. Jingles’ Funhouse, an added bonus indoor haunted attraction. If the parking attendant doesn’t warn you or the large horrific clown painting outside doesn’t give it away, the inside of this haunted attraction is filled with blood thirsty clowns. You twist and turn throughout the Funhouse all while trying to escape the grasp of the maddened actors. It took approximately 12 minutes to escape the Funhouse and if you don’t like clowns … you will WANT to run!

Finally, after listening to The Hamburglars on the main stage and checking out the Voodoo Hoodoo gift shop, we took a stroll through the Odditorium. The Odditorium is a small collection of strange and “freaky” artifacts. There are only about 12 exhibits, but the history and displays were strangely interesting, perhaps where the name “Odditorium” came from.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Green Bay Fear is located not far from Interstate 41 on the West Side of Green Bay. They hide the massive attraction very well as we were amazed once we stepped foot in front of the midway.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Green Bay Fear is most know for the amount of entertainment available throughout the grounds. There are live bands every weekend, a bonfire, plenty of seating, gift shops, lots of goodies to purchase and ghouls everywhere. There are also multiple attractions to go to and you can pick which order you want to do them.

Actors' Performance


The Actor's were some of the best I have seen in a haunted attraction. They went far beyond your typical "boo" and gargling screams. They were acrobatic, perfectly timed and almost seemed as if they were actors straight out of a horror film.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


There is a perfect combination of animatronics and finely tuned haunted rooms. No long dark hallways and special effects enhance the terror inside and out.

Length


Green Bay Fear overall has so many things to do an individual could easily spend an entire evening being entertained/frightened. The Main Haunt is longer than most haunted attractions and it is just one several different attractions.

Crowd Control


It was a rainy night and although there were multiple people in attendance, we never had an issue with running into another group. I believe that due to the amount of different attractions, the groups are split up and prevents overcrowding at any one particular area.

Summary

If you do not scare easy and appreciate disturbing horrors, then you will truly enjoy Green Bay Fear. You can easily spend an entire night at Green Bay Fear and never find yourself bored. The Carnival like multiple attractions to choose from and the live band are what makes Green Bay Fear stand out from other Haunted Attractions.

View all Green Bay Fear Haunted Attractions reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

The Morgue (CLOSED)

by majorXpsycho (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2016 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

My experience at The Morgue last year was so great, that I had to attend again this year! It was opening night and I expected the rain would keep most away, but to my surprise, the parking lot was quite full when we arrived. The Morgue includes a haunted woods and a three story haunted house. There are a few things that make The Morgue stand out from other haunted attractions. First, the haunted house is inside a 1920’s school house that is terrifying without the addition of props. Second, the design and engineering is almost entirely custom, and you will not experience horror like that of The Morgue anywhere else. Finally, you do not have to “stand in line” waiting to enter the Haunted House; purchase your tickets and then you can enjoy hamburgers, hotdogs or a bonfire while waiting for your number to be called.

Immediately after purchasing tickets, we were directed to walk through the haunted woods. The walk was terrifying because you literally cannot see where you are going and you certainly cannot see the creatures waiting to “pounce”. It was so dark and “unknown”, that I actually grabbed a chainsaw thinking it was my husband’s hand! It took us a while to make it through the woods, approximately 12 minutes!

Arriving at the Bonfire, we checked out some of the goodies available for purchase and tried our best to avoid some of the ghouls wondering around. The exterior of the Morgue is exciting simply because you can tell it is an old building and it is not something that has been “fabricated” to look scary. While waiting, I received comments from some of the “veteran visitors” of the Morgue. They shared; “This is the best haunted house, way scarier than the other ones”, “This haunted house is kind of like a ‘fun house’ only scary, we only come to this one because it is so scary”. The journey through The Morgue is very much like a “fun house”, things are thrown at you, you are taken off balance, you crawl, climb and slide! However, do not let the “fun” fool you as The Morgue does an excellent job of turning your phobias into a reality. We had a 40+ year old in front of us that I tried to help through the house, but she just couldn’t take it, she was too scared and needed to get out.

Finally … the length!! This has to be the LONGEST haunted house I have been through. It took nearly 45 minutes to make it through. In the haunt industry, the ability to maintain heart wrenching scenes for that amount of time is rarely heard of.

Signage / Visibility / Location


The Morgue is located further out in De Pere (past the Airport) and if you do not use GPS or you are not familiar with the area, it might be difficult to locate. The Haunted House is located inside an old, creepy 1920’s schoolhouse which is a HUGE bonus in my opinion.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Best wait area around as there is no standing in line! You can enjoy a bonfire, seating and tons of reasonably priced goodies while waiting for your number to be called. Plenty of ghouls in the wait area to go around, so do not let your guard down!

Actors' Performance


The ghouls stayed in character the entire time, and their timing on their scares is perfect. I nearly lost my voice from the amount of times I screamed in surprise.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Almost completely custom made by someone who must be an engineering "genius". This means that floors move, walls move, everything is placed perfectly to create a horrific atmosphere.

Length


The length is one of the best things about this attraction. No worrying about waiting for a 5-10 minute scare, this one is around 45 minutes entry to exit.

Crowd Control


They do an excellent job of sending small groups in at a time, but we had a few groups ahead of us that were really scared and ending up stopping so many times throughout the haunt that we did catch up to them.

Summary

A terrifying "fun house" is the best way to describe The Morgue. Although, the fun is in the form of giant slides, blinding rooms, dangerous bridges, tight spaces and moving floors. The three things that make this haunted attraction stand out from the rest are: The length (45 minutes), the 1920's creepy old school house it is located inside and the custom engineered props and scenes.

View all The Morgue (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by rgsmith0522 after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2016 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We arrived early as we purchased our early bird passes online ahead of time. the line was short but was entertained with the monsters they had roaming around scaring the teenage girls in front of us. First house we went thru was the Manor or Morgana, This has been always my favorite and ideal type of haunted house. From the details in the rooms to the actors, it was like walking thru your favorite horror movie. After that we went into Twisted. Talk about disorienting! Yikes! Finally we finished with Unstable in the horse barns. This was a refreshing touch to the haunted house from past years. I continue to come back year after year as there is always something new for us to see. Thinking about taking a separate group of fiends back later this month to take it in.

View all ANARCHY, presented by the Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by BrittanyAnnBula (Junior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2016 at about 8 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Dark Side Haunted House is one of the best haunted houses in Wisconsin! The crew at the Dark Side have put their heart and soul in creating an inviting plot that tells the story of their land as you move through the attraction. They have invested the time to include much detail every time you move you never know what to expect or what is waiting in the next room. Screams and laughter fill the scene while experiencing fear, excitement and pure enjoyment!

Zombie Expedition- The expedition is not included in your basic ticket so you will have to upgrade to include the Zombie Expedition, and let me tell you, you won’t want to miss it! As you walk to the location you will soon begin to get the creepy haunted feeling before even loading the double decker wagon to go on a 15-20 minute Zombie Expedition. Each person has a spot that is equipped with a paintball gun and a pre-loaded hopper with 75 paint balls. You then are transported around an abandoned town and as Zombies attack the wagon, you shoot! Don’t worry you won’t get all painted, they don’t touch you. This was worth the upgraded ticket and sets the mood for the rest of the haunted attractions.

The Descent- As you enter the mine and go on a quest to find missing family members you will be lucky if you make it out alive. The visibility is very limited and the creatures larking in the dark will leave you with chills. The actors will be hiding in every corner and you will never know what is waiting for you around the next turn. The mine will take about 15 minutes to go through and will lead you to the next adventure that awaits; the Hay Ride!

Twilight Nightmare- All aboard the wagon and be ready for a ride like you never expected. As you take a long ride to get to the haunted trail it has you in suspense; you are just waiting for something to come attack you’ but does it? You will have to take the ride and find out for yourself to find out. The trail is full of all kinds of thrill and suspense. Same details will make this ride one of a kind. The actors put their all into the portion of the trail by jumping, hanging and attacking you while you are on the wagon. You never know when another one is about to come out! The sharp turns will make you feel like you will end up in the trees. The hay ride takes about 20 to 25 minutes and it drops you off at your next adventure; Pine Forest Trail!

Backwoods Revenge- As you enter the trail; you are hoping to be able to escape the infected children that reside in the forest. The crew really uses its natural environment and makes it feels like you are just roaming throughout the forest. You will encounter different scenes from here and there, a bit of the time is just spent walking and living on your toes since you never know when the next creature is waiting for you! The experience is really unique and really uses the natural element of being outside and it doesn't turn it into a normal attraction. The outside, forest feel is with you the entire time.

Mephistopheles Lair- Once you enter the Lair there isn’t any turning back; well you may enter many wrong doors and get turned around and end up frustrated beyond belief; but at the conclusion of the maze you will have enjoyed every turn of it!

Schizophrenia- Just after you have escaped the last maze you will enter into a whole other world-A corn maze! You will be stalked and lead astray with hillbillies all over the place. Take care and hope that you don’t become dinner that night! The natural element of being in the country and living on the farm take full effect during this adventure. A corn field at night is a thrill all in its own; add some creepy and some characters gives corn fields a whole new level of scariness!

Foxglove Nursery- You have just entered your final attraction…a normal green house; or so you think! You will be walking a strict and narrow path that leads you right to the characters and there is no way to turn around and escape. You are forced to go right past them as you are in a green house and there are shelves and planters all over the place. This last attraction was a great way to end this whole experience; details until the very last exit never ceased to amaze me!

Signage / Visibility / Location


There was one sign on where to turn off of County Road O to Hoard Road.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


There were several characters in line entertaining you while you waited.

Actors' Performance


They put their heart and soul into scaring you and keeping you entertained!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Details and the feeling of being in the outdoors on the farm were fantastic. The whole adventure flowed amazing and it was one of the best ones by far.

Length


It took us about 90 minutes to complete the entire adventure.

Crowd Control


The lines were not that long so it wasn't needed.

Most Memorable Moment


The hay ride was what we enjoyed the most since we were in a group we were split up in all the other attractions; this one we got to experience as a group!

Summary

This adventure was fantastic and our group of 5 enjoyed every minute of it! I would highly recommend attending this adventure if you are looking to be scared, have fun and being out side trying to find your way back to your car! By purchasing the Zombie Expedition you will also have the fast pass and won't have to wait in line to long. They take 35 people at a time so the lines move quickly regardless!

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




September 16th, 2019 5:52 a.m. CDT 1.10