ad-header-top

2016 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

84 total reviews. Showing 7 of 9 on this page (2 filtered).

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by spirit44 (Junior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2016 at about 7:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Terror on Rural street is located in Hartford, just a short drive north of Milwaukee, and well worth the trip. The friendly staff and comfortable waiting area make you feel very welcome, right before the creatures lurking through the rooms and halls of the attraction scare the bejebus out of you.

It was a very well done haunt combining some classic elements of haunts, along with some great original scares. The walk through will test your senses as you encounter uneven paths, optical illusions that disorient, walls that close in on you, and of course light deprivation. Some very detailed rooms will draw you in and give you the feel of walking through a nightmare. And as you get focused on the great sets, very unexpected jump scares give you a great rush. The original use of technology and animatronics really make your trip through the haunt a very memorable experience. While the detail of the rooms was fantastic, there were a couple of elements scattered throughout that could have used a little more work to get them to have the same professional look that the haunt had overall.

I would say the rooms of this attraction are what make it very memorable, but the real stars of this attraction are the actors. They do a terrific job of selling their characters without over acting and drawing away from the scene. As you go through the rooms they are very engaging and interactive, making you feel like you are part of the scene being portrayed. The only thing I would have liked to see with the actors was more use of prosthetics to give them as much detail in their appearance as the rooms they are in.

Signage / Visibility / Location


There were many signs on the roads leading to the attraction, including a lit up marquee at the entrance to the parking lot. The haunted house does share a parking lot with another building so the attraction does not stand out on it's own. The night we went there was an event going on at the other building which made parking pretty hard to come by. However they did have security walking in the lot that were using flashlights to guide people to open spots when they became available.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The waiting area wasn't your standard waiting queue. It was a large open area with benches and concessions. We actually wished we had a little more time to enjoy the waiting area, but since it was early in the evening and in the season the wait was minimal before our ticket numbers were called to enter the attraction.

Actors' Performance


The actors were very engaging, and interacted with the guests very well. All were very convincing in their characters without over acting.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The sets were very well done. The rooms were nicely detailed and lit perfectly, with just enough light so that you could appreciate the intricacy of the scene.

Length


It took us 17 minutes to walk through the haunt.

Crowd Control


The night we went there was almost no crowd for the attraction. However they did have marked security personnel walking the parking lot.

Most Memorable Moment


Our entire family agreed that the most memorable moment of the haunt was the dining room scene. When you walk in to the highly detailed room, you enter into the middle of a discussion. It was so well done that it gives you almost a feeling of a ghostly encounter and is concluded with a very cool surprise exit to the room.

Summary

This was an evening well spent. Not only will I go back to this haunt again next year, but I am definitely recommending this attraction to my family and friends.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by NateKeeler after attending on Sunday, October 2, 2016 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Incredible what they have done since last year. Everything, minus the train, was completely overhauled. Slaughter House was simple but extremely effective. No fancy scene work aside from the amazing facade, instead it was built for the express purpose of terrifying you as much as possible. It's filled with psychotic clowns with chainsaws and they are EVERYWHERE. The maze is designed to maximize how long your in there and to give the clowns as much as an advantage as possible. The main attraction is has so much detail it's impossible to take it all in. It's the best I've seen it and is a different level compared to anything else in the area.

Summary

Definitely not the Terror on the Fox of the past few years. It feels like someone breathed new life into this. I will be back again this year!

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Dwelling Of Despair

by StuartBrowning after attending on Sunday, October 2, 2016 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Very good scenes, actor's and in 20s years of me working, building or attending houses. I seen a first. Just amazing, and good price

View all Dwelling Of Despair reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

The Dark Side Haunted Adventure

by StuartBrowning after attending on Sunday, October 2, 2016 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Medium

Review

Good length and area, just unorganized and not worth the money

View all The Dark Side Haunted Adventure reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by wm (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Friday, September 30, 2016 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: High Fear Factor: High

Review

The Burial Chamber has been around long enough now that it's one of the Halloween staples in the Fox Cities. Comprised of multiple different haunting experiences, I attended on a night where the rain kept the fair weather attenders away. But to me... the weather set the mood for a perfect night to attend a haunt.

We started out first with Insanity as it had the shortest line. Inside was a world full of clowns, dark corners and uneven ground. Did I mention the clowns? They were EVERYWHERE! I personally am not scared by clowns, and these clowns were more goofy than scary. But there were a few times that they were able to jump out at the perfect time and scare us. They use a lot of strobes in Insanity, which was blinding in some spots and ended up giving me a headache. Or was that from the clowns? Either way, the best part of this haunt was the dark, twisting obstacle course they put you through.

We headed to the outdoor attraction Phobia next, as the rain slowed down to a light mist. This attraction seems pretty much the same as previous years. I recognized many of the props and structures. But the actors made this haunt so much fun! Some will have you laughing, some will have you screaming, and some will have you wondering if these are really actors or actual outcasts that live in the woods! Phobia never disappoints and you are sure to jump multiple times.

Our last destination was Adrenaline. Again, this haunt has not changed much over the years. It would be nice to see different scenes and rooms for the repeat customers that return year after year. The one thing that gets me every time are the air canons. They have me jumping several feet off the ground every time one blasts by me! Out of all three haunts, this one seemed to have the most actors in it... and they were all great! They were around every corner and had great timing. Sometimes they were coming from above, sometimes they were at our feet. It was intense as they were everywhere and we didn't have much time to catch our breath before the next scare.

I did not go to the Last Ride Burial Simulator as I have a few times in the past. But if you've never tried it, make sure you check it out!

Signage / Visibility / Location


It's always easy to find the Burial Chamber with the huge light in the sky. This year though it's a little more tricky, as the exit I normally take off Hwy 41 is closed so I had to take a detour.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


It was raining most of the night, so the lines were minimal. Other than the actors at the front of the haunts taking tickets, there were no actors walking around.

Actors' Performance


The Burial Chamber actors always do a great job. Even on a slow, rainy night they were able to scare me many times! I noticed that some actors were scaring those in the front of the line, while others waiting to get those in the middle or at the end of a group. Very nice!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


As mentioned in my review... this is the one area that the Burial Chamber needs to change. Many of the same rooms and sets from previous years. If this would have been the first year I attended, then I would have loved it. Great looking haunts, just mix it up from year to year.

Length


Each attraction (3 total) takes about 20 minutes each.

Crowd Control


Not much of a crowd when I attended, so that wasn't an issue. Otherwise I know from past experience that they do a good job keeping the crowds moving without bumping into other groups.

Most Memorable Moment


The football player in Adrenaline! He was awesome, and kept popping up multiple times!

Summary

Overall, a great trip to the Burial Chamber! If you've never visited before, make it a point to this year. If you've been there in the past, you might be disappointed with most of the haunts appearing the same. But as I stated earlier, the actors definitely make up for it!

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by Tnjernigan87 after attending on Saturday, October 1, 2016 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The haunted attraction was great!!!!! Every corner had a scare!! This years theme was pretty good but could have been darker to heat the moments up! Found out about the second slide after going down the small slide, the only other thing I would do is change the "clowns" I honestly didn't get thrilled with the being held up and getting told to "shut up" every moment. Being held by someone in a corner...the clown thing was the worst ending of this haunted attraction. But I turly enjoyed this attraction!!!

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by P.J.Eastman after attending on Saturday, September 24, 2016 at about 11 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We got to Burial Chamber a little later than planned, and were only able to make it through Phobia and Insanity before closing, but what we saw was great! I am not usually scared much in haunted houses, but they got me a couple of times, and even when I wasn't necessarily scared, I loved the acting, costumes, and sets.

We went through Phobia first. I loved the addition of the banjo there. There are a lot more structures than there used to be. I like the structures, and the actors did an amazing job, but I'd prefer that there's a little more time in the woods, where you aren't going through as many structures. It's kind of starting to feel like another indoor haunt out in the woods, and for me the draw of phobia was always the fact that there was so much trail, with few buildings. Don't get me wrong, that's just my personal opinion, and they did a great job on the structures that are there.. but it's a very different Phobia that it has been in past years.

Insanity was wonderful as usual. I always love going through.. very creepy. The actors were playing the right characters for the house they're in. There's some awesome additions that I loved.

It was the first night of the season, and you could tell that a few of the new actors are still trying to catch their groove, but they did very well for their first night. There were no spots where I felt like there should have been someone, where there were big gaps. They did a really good job of giving you just enough time between each scare, for peak effectiveness. Good job Burial Chamber! I'll be back later in the season for Adrenaline.

Summary

I went through Phobia and Insanity, and both were very good, with new additions since last year to both. The actors did a great job as well.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Terror on the Fox

by majorXpsycho (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, September 24, 2016 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Terror on the Fox is among the best haunted attractions in the Nation. Thirteenth Floor Entertainment Group never takes the lazy route when breathing life (or rather death) into their horrific masterpiece. They devote a significant creative effort to the haunted train, woods and both houses; the resulting payoff makes visitors (experts and novices) panicked, terrified and greatly entertained. Terror on the Fox proves that with a sufficient investment of time and energy, continuing to expand a haunted attractions without losing momentum is possible! Without giving too much away, I am going to share my experience in the different areas of the attraction.

Haunted Train Ride and Woods: Seeing the massive haunted Double Decker antique train come screeching to a halt in front of you is something you will not experience anywhere else! The train ride itself takes 15-20 minutes. There are multiple disturbing creatures on board, perhaps "souls" that remain from the circus train "crash". One attendee near me asked "is that makeup, or is that 'thing' really that scary?". That is a great sign that you aren't going to find any "Walmart" quality masks at this attraction. The ghouls are not shy and don't worry, even if you are in the upper level or hiding in the smog and strobe lights, the actors WILL get you! The haunted woods is brief, but torches lighting the darkened trail make the walk seem longer.

(S)Laughter House: The (S)Laughter house is new this year! As the story goes; a train carrying circus clowns to Milwaukee derailed in Green Bay. The terrifying and hungry clowns now take residence in the (S)Laughter house and are seeking souls to devour. The (S)Laughter house took 16 minutes to escape and you want to get out quickly as the walls twist you right in to the hands of many blood thirsty ghoulish clowns. The (S)Laughter house is "intense", the kind of fear that makes your heart skip.

Dead House: The Dead House is Terror on the Fox's main attraction. If the massive exterior doesn't impress you, you probably lost all feeling while in the (S)Laughter house. The effects of the exterior provide a clear picture of the horror to expect once inside. The Dead House is an 18 minute walk through non-stop horror scenes. There is absolutely NO DOWN TIME or boring dark hallways. The Dead house uses special effects, animatronics and carefully placed creatures to create a non-stop terrifying experience. If you manage to open your eyes long enough, you will notice that there isn't an inch of the house that is not covered by disturbing props. The Dead House really is similar to something you would see on a Hollywood horror set ... only this is real ... and you are trapped inside.

Signage / Visibility / Location


Terror on the Fox is located at the National Railroad Museum in Green Bay, WI. While attending on opening weekend, we found individuals who had traveled all the way from Illinois just to experience the "hype" that is the "Terror on the Fox". Their comments after surviving, "This is the best haunted house .. and we go to a LOT"! With GPS, as long as you can navigate to the National Railroad Museum in Green Bay, you will not miss the giant train and flashing signs letting you know where to park. Being located at the National Railroad museum allows Terror on the Fox to offer something no other haunted attraction has, an actual antique Double Decker passenger train ride!

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


The moment you step on to Terror on the Fox's territory, there are ghoulish creatures everywhere. From ticket lines, to walking through the woods. You are not safe until you make it back to the parking lot! It was opening weekend, so not a lot of "goodies or treats" were available for purchase. I am not certain if this will change as the haunt season draws closer. Wait times are going to vary depending on when you go. I have been to Terror on the Fox later in the season and waited an hour, but I have also been there early and not waited at all. Terror on the Fox is popular, so expect lines to form. If you really can not handle waiting, just purchase the VIP tickets online and you can jump right in. They do a good job of moving groups a long. CAUTION: If the weather is rainy, the wait is OUTSIDE so expect to get wet/muddy.

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


Terror on the Fox uses special effects, animatronics and carefully placed creatures to create a non-stop terrifying experience. If you manage to open your eyes long enough, you will notice that there isn't an inch of the house that is not covered by disturbing props. This haunted attraction is similar to something you would see on a Hollywood horror set ... only this is real ... and you are trapped inside. Are the rumors true? Are there really catacombs with real human bones buried below the "Dead House"?

Crowd Control


Due to the reaction of other groups (some slow down when scared/trapped and some move fast to get out) it is likely you might run into another group. In my opinion, this is fine as "safety" comes in numbers. However, avoid immature attendees that might try to ruin the experience by saying really stupid things.

Summary

$25 includes everything; haunted train ride, woods (S)Laughter and Dead House. In my opinion this is a HUGE value given the fact that it is "all inclusive" and you do not have to pay for each attraction individually. Buy your tickets online at the website and you can avoid ticket lines. Add another $10 and you can skip to the front of the lines and enjoy refreshments and a bonfire.

View all Terror on the Fox reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex

by CHAIN5AW after attending on Sunday, September 25, 2016 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Saturday night was an amazing experience.
I was accompanied by my 12 year old daughter. The monsters were great.
Costumes were amazing. Special effects, makeup, lighting, timing, sound effects, were all great!! It truly was an amazing night. Thank you for the memories.
Amazing staff and professionalism.
A definite must for all to experience.

View all Burial Chamber Haunted House Complex reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




August 23rd, 2019 8:01 a.m. CDT 1.9