ad-header-top

2016 Event Reviews


    Disclaimer: HauntedWisconsin.com does not endorse, support, represent, or guarantee the accuracy, quality, truthfulness, or reliability of these reviews. The opinions expressed on this page do not necessarily reflect the opinions of HauntedWisconsin.com. You need to make your own judgement concerning what you read. HauntedWisconsin.com is not responsible for statements made in these reviews.

Expand Collapse

Show: Helpful All

84 total reviews. Showing 15 of 15 on this page.

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Mansion

by captjoe after attending on Friday, October 21, 2016 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

Grandma and Grandpa took three grandchildren to this event - all teenagers.
First: The Value
We have taken our children when they were teenagers to Halloween events all over NE Wisconsin. Haunted houses; haunted trains; even haunted ships. None were priced to be as family friendly as this event. Even the optional events were fairly priced.
Second: The Activity
This was a good 2 hour program that kept you moving. A "corn maze" that led you to another event that lead you to another event, that lead you to another event. All well laid out. All safe. All fun - even for us "old people."
Third: Safety
At no time was I concerned about the safety of myself or anyone in the group. All activities were set up to keep you on course. Safety signs warned you of "quicksand." Safety personal were visible on site with radios attached. Staff would inform you of safety precautions at every event. EMS staff on site too. All events were suitable even for a 69 yo grandpa
Fourth: Fun
On the drive back to Green Bay, Grandma took a poll to see what was the favorite parts. Each had a different one. One grand child, who had been to an event in Green Bay the prior weekend, said this one was better.
Overall:
For a community to rally behind an event, this was FANTASTIC. In today's world it is hard to get three people headed in the same direction. Brussels and Southern Door have the magic. To continually succeed with this even for all the years is unheard of. I am impressed and jealous.
Recommendation: GO TO THIS EVENT. YOU CAN'T GO WRONG.

Summary

Got to go.

View all The Haunted Mansion reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by Skully after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2016 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

we took a group of 10 friends to rural street, ranging in age from 18-56 we all had a great time the rooms looked amazing. very detailed & the lighting was perfect just enough. good scares plenty of actors with great energy. we yelled & laughed we had a great time.

Summary

great haunt at a great value you won`t be disappointed.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED

by Pinkforme after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2016 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

We had a blast at The Haunted Barn this year and noticed a number of improvements! A lot of details were added since we were there last a couple years ago. Many of the actors did a great job in their timing of scares! I have to say that the one thing I didn't like were that there were a few (I think 3) places where we actually had to crawl on hands and knees. I'd mentioned that I had a bad back and I'm sure I looked very awkward trying to get through. After we were done I found out they could have taken me on alternate passages; it would have been nice if someone had mentioned that to me ahead of time. Other than that, it was a lot of fun. The fortune teller was entertaining. Although, we found out she gave the same story to each group who saw her (at least to the four groups in a row who I talked to). And even though it was raining, they were very accommodating and let us wait indoors--that was nice! We hope you visit the Haunted Barn!

Summary

Great details in decor, actors were fun and provided good scares, hosts were wonderful. :)

View all The Haunted Barn Stoughton - CLOSED reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Terror on Rural Street

by Pinkforme after attending on Saturday, October 8, 2016 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Terror on Rural Street is definitely the best of the 3 haunts I've visited this season! They made some fantastic improvements in the layout from last year and the actors were AWESOME! I'm used to going through haunts and don't scare easily, but this crew had me jumping plenty of times! The actors are always in character, makeup is amazing, and details in the design and scenery was very impressive. Plus, the price is always lowest here and they are very centrally located. I highly recommend this haunt and can't wait to return!

Summary

Top notch, great design, actors, short wait time, inexpensive.

View all Terror on Rural Street reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by andrew_michalek after attending on Friday, October 14, 2016 at about 10 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I loved this place. I dont normally scare easy, but i got scared a few times. I had an had better time watching people scare the crap out of my co workers! Best haunted house iv been to yet!!!

Summary

Pure amazing, stunning, fun, greatness.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by wuzznme1 after attending on Sunday, October 16, 2016 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

All I have to say this year is WOW. This haunted house, or 3 for that matter, is always a must on my list of haunted houses to visit. This year did not leave me disappointed.

The first house, Morgan Manor, was chalk full of things to look at, and the actors were around every corner. No shortage of scares here.

The 2nd house, Twisted, was just that. This thing was filled with twists and turns...and these helpers that were less than helpful. Needless to say, my group was completely unnerved by this house.

Now onto the 3rd house, Unstable. Once again this house did not disappoint. Not quite as "red neck" as years past, but definitely scares around every dusty corner. There were some new things to look at this year that will not disappoint.

For the price, this haunt is a must see. If you are looking for something a little more budget friendly check out their early bird pricing. No matter the price you pay this is definitely a group of haunted houses to add to your October must see list.

Summary

All 3 houses are pretty amazing this year. Go see the amped up rooms.

A must stop location during the season of screams.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Camp Tapawingo Haunted Voyage

by ChuchiHer after attending on Friday, October 14, 2016 at about 9:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

It was great! Had good scares. Got my group and I running because of the scares. Also very detailed work.

View all Camp Tapawingo Haunted Voyage reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by BryanLapaz after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2016 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

This might be my favorite haunted house. The actors are terrifying, the scenery gives me goosebumps, and the screams of the haunted never seem to fully fade. I don't think I've ever been so scared, and had so much fun in one sitting! I can't wait to go back!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Scare USA 2019

by WiscoGirl4 after attending on Friday, October 7, 2016 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: Low

Review

I attended Scare USA on Friday. It was kind of a boring wait line, could have been something there besides a line. I liked how they verbally go over rules before you enter the house, it reminds customers not to touch the actors and such. I was told a couple times to "get out" and I was a little disappointed because I paid to go through the haunt, not to be told to get out... The sets were pretty neat. A lot of times I heard sounds thinking I was going to see an animatronic and it turned out to be an actor playing along with the sounds, which was cool. I did no like that almost every actor was wearing a mask, it takes away that realism that comes with makeup on actors. Not to spoil anything, but the camera bit they do at the end is a good idea.

Summary

Cool place, especially being located on a marina, I think.

View all Scare USA 2019 reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Camp Tapawingo Haunted Voyage

by WiscoGirl4 after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2016 at about 8:30 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: High

Review

This haunt is really cool. I visited it on Saturday of their opening weekend, I was so excited! I live about 25 minutes away, in Manitowoc. I messaged the facebook page and they responded pretty fast. Tickets cost $14, which is cheap compared to other haunts nearby. For the price, I got my money's worth out of it in regards to the atmosphere. The sets are really cool and creepy, I did not want to enter any of the buildings I saw because they looked empty and creepy. The girl in the black room was creepy and I thought she/he was fake. The structure with the red lights was cool, awesome music playing, got me excited. I did not like the blank spots in the woods where there is no music or sounds and after we were "done" with the haunt after the last structure, it was too quiet.

Summary

Overall, really cool atmosphere and with the small amount of actors they had working, they knew what they were doing and scared me and my friends.

View all Camp Tapawingo Haunted Voyage reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by NikkiLeighRux after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2016 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

The Wisconsin fear grounds is both creative and horrifically awesome. the detail in the scenes and props are outstanding and the actors are very convincing. It's worth going to and you will have a blast!

Summary

Awesome, fun, scary, creative.

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED)

by Captn_DeathSchlager (Senior Review Crew Member) after attending on Saturday, October 15, 2016 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Medium Fear Factor: High

Review

New location...new scares...same great scaretastic experience! Just to set record straight, here are 3 items of interest for those who haven't already checked out splatterhaus.com (1) HELLWORLD, which is presented by Splatterhaus, has moved back to Sheboygan. (2) This year’s haunt is located in semi-trailers so it's considerably more intimate than its predecessors. (3) This haunt is still presented by Splatterhaus. Rest assured that the fright fanatics who have masterminded Splatterhaus' uniquely terrifying experience in that past are still 100% dedicated to scaring the crap out of you!

From the outside this haunt looks very uninspiring. Upon arriving you will find a desolate but well-lit parking lot with temporary fencing, a small convoy of semi-trailers parked side by side, a shuttle bus proudly displaying a Zombie Assault banner and a dimly lit window with an illuminated "Tickets" sign. While there are no signs or wandering ghouls to indicate that you have found HELLWORLD the unmistakable sound of blood curdling screams will assure you that you're in the right place.

As one might expect with this venue, HELLWORLD is comprised solely of a maze of intimate creeped out corridors and hidden passages. What HELLWORLD lacks in size it more than makes up for with smash mouth style in your face scares. (Note: nothing actually physically smashes you in the face but take note of the facial expressions of the terrified haunt goers as they exit.) If you've attended a Splatterhaus haunt in the past you've certainly experienced their immersive sound experience and techno-scares. HELLWORLD certainly does not disappoint on this front...in fact this haunt is so LOUD you'll likely not be able to think! A nice mix of intimately dark corridors, explosive sound, elaborately costumed characters and terror-technology make HELLWORLD uniquely electrifying. A noteworthy point for those concerned about a haunt comprised of semi-trailers...there's no place to run or hide when the ghastly ghouls greet you inside HELLWORLD!

While waiting to tour HELLWORLD and following my adventure I had the opportunity speak with several haunt goers who ranged in age from 10 to 60+. Interestingly they all shared similar comments. (1) They were initially concerned that HELLWORLD would not meet their expectations but afterwards they were pleasantly surprised. (2) All agreed that the $10 admission fee was a bargain! (3) Note: I wound up touring this haunt with the 10yr old and his father. Judging from the 10yr old's experience and the intense nature of the scares in this haunt I, nor the haunt goers I spoke with, would recommend this haunt for pre-teens!

Zombie Assault. While I wouldn't recommend touring HELLWORLD with a group larger than 3 the Zombie Assault attraction seats 8...and there's not a bad seat on this ride! All the windows on this bus simulator bus are pimped out with video monitors that not only look like realistic windows but give you the perception that the action surrounding the bus is live. An immersive sound system, hydraulic suspension system and a few additional techno-scares make this a uniquely terrifying thrill ride that puts you right in the action!

Signage / Visibility / Location


Be sure to study your maps or set your navigation system prior to traveling to HELLWORLD. The signs leading you too this haunt are not illuminated....but there are a few for those with keen eyes.

Wait Area / Line Entertainment


Tickets are purchased outside in the elements as is the waiting area. There were no ghouls present to entertain you while wait when I was there.

Actors' Performance


The actors encountered at HELLWORLD were not there to entertain you. Their sole purpose is to scare the crap out of you...and their quite good at it!

Sets Scenes / Props / FX


The technology and sound packed into these semi-trailers is VERY impressive! How they can power their arsenal of animatronic wonders has to be one of the marvels of the world!

Length


Took my group 10 minutes to complete the tour through HELLWORLD

Crowd Control


The waiting line was clearly fenced off with several volunteers present to ensure those waiting to tour HELLWORLD did not fall victim to any of the hell hounds attempting to escape the haunt.

Most Memorable Moment


At one point I thought I could avoid an apparent scare by proceed along the adjacent wall before I was un-relentlessly jolted by a techno-scare. The experience made me realize that there's no hiding or escaping a scare when you're in tight quarters...cleverly done!

Summary

New location...new scares...same great scaretastic experience! The intimate corridors, immersive sound and arsenal of animatronic wonders found in HELLWORLD provide a unique smash mouth in your face frightful experience.

View all Splatterhaus Presents - HELLWORLD (CLOSED) reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by KatieWeissmann after attending on Sunday, October 16, 2016 at about 9 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I go to the feargrounds every year, and it just keeps getting better and better! I love the make up jobs on all the monsters and the rooms have such great detail in them!! You can definitely tell how much hard work and dedication they put in to make it a spine chilling experience!!!

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by Macknificent79 after attending on Wednesday, October 19, 2016 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

Hands down a must see!! I go EVERY year with out a doubt my favorite haunted house

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Please note: this review is for the 2016 season rather than the current season.

The Wisconsin Fear Grounds

by tazman112177 after attending on Wednesday, October 19, 2016 at about 7 p.m.

Fun Factor: Very High Fear Factor: Very High

Review

I have been going to Wisconsin Feargrounds for a couple years now and every year it keeps getting better. They always exceed my expectations. Their staff is always friendly. I would recommend anyone to go here you will not be disappointed.

Summary

Their houses have alot of detail and are always fun to go through

View all The Wisconsin Fear Grounds reviews

Comments: (0)

Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6

Previous Reviews:

2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018




August 25th, 2019 10:28 a.m. CDT 1.9